SBW survives late White Buffalo onslaught
8 Feb 2013
Sonny Bill Williams beat Francois Botha on points in Brisbane after the boxing bout was controversially reduced from 12 to 10 rounds during the fight.
The former All Blacks centre was hanging on by a thread in what turned out to be the last round and would almost certainly have lost if another two rounds had been allowed.
The judges awarded the fight to Williams 97-91, 98-94 and 97-91.
‘I love Sonny Bill, but this is bullshit,’ Botha said afterwards. ‘I beat him hands free!’
Earlier, Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper won his first professional fight in a first-round knockout of Australian Barry Dunnett.
There will be repeats of both fights on SuperSport at 3pm (SS5) and 7pm (SS1).

945 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 19 » Show All
9 Feb 2013, 15:52 pm
Sonny Bill Williams’ manager Khoder Nasser has clashed with respected rugby league commentator Ray Warren as he attempted to defend his client’s controversial WBA heavyweight title fight win on Friday night.
Confusion continues to surround the status of the fight after it was abruptly cut from 12 rounds to 10, with Williams’ South African opponent Francois Botha appearing to get the better of the former All Black.
Botha believes he would have won if the fight had gone the distance, claiming he had no idea two rounds had been slashed from the bout.
Click Here
Nasser became angered when talking to Warren on Triple M on Saturday morning, insisting Botha’s camp knew all along the fight would be contested over 10 rounds.
“The WBA international belt – it’s not a WBA world title – has precedence where it’s a 10-round fight,” Nasser said.
“Because Botha saw the opportunity for a re-match, he’s going to pump it all the way.”
Warren responded: “How come the television commentators didn’t know about it and the bulk of the public were led to believe it was a 12-round fight?
Nasser: “Well Ray, you should know better. The commentators aren’t infallible; they’re not boxing experts.
“How many of them have ever been WBA champions? How many know the rules?
Warren: “I know what you’re saying but to come back at me and say ‘Ray, you should know better’… that’s ridiculous.
“Surely the television commentators were led to believe it was a 12-round bout, as a lot of people were that paid to watch.
“Why was it left so late to tell people it was a 10-round fight?”
Nasser: “That’s not my concern. My concern is that officials know how many rounds it’s going for, the opponent knows how many rounds it’s going for and my fighter knows how many rounds it’s going for.
“If you know the history of boxing, they’re always going to complain about something so they can get a re-match.
“That’s obvious.”
The Australian National Boxing Federation has backed Nasser’s version of events, confirming both camps were informed prior to the fight that it would be decided over 10 rounds.
It appears Botha’s team decided to keep that information from the 44-year-old.
Nasser confirmed Williams would fight again but would not say when.
The dual international now moves into rugby league mode and is expected to begin training with the Roosters next week ahead of his much anticipated return to the NRL.
AGAIN, TO BE CLEAR:
HOW BOUT THOSE MISSING FIFTEEN SECONDS IN ROUND TEN SONNY?
9 Feb 2013, 15:57 pm
You have turned into one of the most boring,sour posters on here,repeating the same old junk all day, every day.When last did you post anything that was not about New Zealand and their supposed cheating? I mean, you’ve been on this anti-nz crusade since 2011 and even when Nz beat SA fair and square last year you still conjured up some ridiculous conspiracy theories.
At the end of the day, your opinion is just that…. YOUR opinion and it will not change the fact that NZ are pretty good at rugby. Accept that to be the best, you gotta beat the best, plain and simple. Give this nonsense a rest and start enjoying rugby again. You were such a lekke blogger so its a shame to see you in your current state.
Sonny won, controversially yes, but it is what it is… Move on boeta.
9 Feb 2013, 15:57 pm
@the curse-597:
Pops, the Ozzie and Kiwi twitterverse and other media is alive with ‘crying’… do you suppose its all the ‘expats’ complaining?
larf
this poll from the nzherald:
Do you think Sonny Bill Williams legitimately won his boxing match against Francois Botha last night?
5050–5100 votes
Definitely. Even if the fight had extended to 12 rounds SBW would have won it. 8%
8%
Debatable. We’ll never really know. 33%
33%
way. Francois Botha was just warming up. SBW would have been out for the count if the match was 12 rounds. 59%
9 Feb 2013, 16:00 pm
This is pretty amusing:
https://www.facebook.com/sbwofficial/timeline
9 Feb 2013, 16:07 pm
snaaks:
The TAB is refunding ‘Pick the Round’ bets and SportingBet Australia are refunding all bets on Francois Botha for the controversial boxing match between Sonny Bill Williams and Francois Botha in Brisbane last night.
Meanwhile, according to Sonny Bill Williams’ boxing camp, last night’s WBA title fight against Francois Botha was always scheduled to be ten rounds.
Williams tweeted ‘we both knew it was a ten -rounder’ today, while his manager Khoder Nasser conducted a fiery two minute interview with Nick Walker from Radio Sport where he questioned where it had ever been publicised as a 12 round fight.
Nasser might be surprised to find that Williams himself was promoting the fight as a 12 rounder at Thursday’s weigh-in, the day before the fight.
“He’s crafty.
It doesn’t matter what you look like. Experience is the key … I think his last four or five fights went the distance. He’ll do 12 rounds pretty easy. Hopefully I can up the pace a bit or slow it down – fight it at my pace,” Williams said on Thursday.
When Nasser was quizzed on Botha’s reaction to the fight – where the South African claimed the fight should have gone the full 12 – he suggested the experienced pro was acting dumb.
“Are you that stupid are ya? Have you not been around boxing long enough to understand people do that in boxing all the time?”
Nasser then avoided answering a question on when the decision had been made to make the fight ten rounds.
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10864371
9 Feb 2013, 16:07 pm
@Rage-602: I am not sure even his girlfriend can say for sure whether his moaning during *** is not just another Kiwi induced fit.
9 Feb 2013, 16:08 pm
how about those missing fifteen seconds in round ten sonny?
so not only does he have to box during the round, he wa also the official time keeper?
talerted bloke obviously
9 Feb 2013, 16:14 pm
yep, because the twitter verse is where we find te truth isn’t it Bakkies?
lets wait until the whole truth comes out, SBWs for all you know may be innocent.
his manager may not.
but you continue to publically hang the man without a shred of evidence it was all his doing huh
9 Feb 2013, 16:20 pm
@the curse-608:
SomEone buggered it up big time. My money is on his coach.
9 Feb 2013, 16:22 pm
@the curse-607:
do you accept the bell was rung 15 seconds before time in the tenth?
who do you think was responsible for that?
9 Feb 2013, 16:36 pm
was SBW responsible for ringing the bell Bakkies? or like with every boxing match, the official timekeeper?
so in your mind SBWs was responsible for ringing the bell 10 seconds early?
ok then. strange universe you live in.
9 Feb 2013, 16:41 pm
@the curse-611:
i’m just asking, boet
do you think he deserves the victory?
9 Feb 2013, 16:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-612: no, your insinuating that SBWs alone is responsible for the whole fiasco, big difference..
I thought it was 10 seconds early, now youre saying it was 15 seconds early?
waste of time trying to have a conversation with you bakkies…you continue on your hating way
9 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
I have already stated how peed off I was to see the South African flag being carried into the ring upside down again…probably not intentionally but that was pure rank amateurism displayed by the promoters/boxing authorities.
What further irked me is that this was allegedly a “title fight” held under the auspices of the once-great World Boxing Association yet no national anthems were played either.
Why?
P.S. Please note that I would be peed off seeing any country’s flag being flown upside down. You just don’t do that.
9 Feb 2013, 16:53 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-614: agree abotu the flag and the anthems… but it was held in Aussie, and with no Aussie anthem to be played maybe they skipped it (pun intended)
also, the ring announcer calling him Sonny “boy” further illustrates the incompetence, this before the fight even started..
9 Feb 2013, 16:54 pm
@the curse-613:
come on Pops,
one newspaper called it ten seconds but this was probably their attempt at journalistic credibility, hence playing it safe, i am pretty certain it was rung closer to 15 or more seconds early. a lot of other people are saying the same thing, truth be told its scandalous really.
we can agree though that the bell was rung earlier than the three mandatory minute time period, right?
i ask sincerely, do you think he deserves this victory?
9 Feb 2013, 17:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-616: so rumour and innuendo pass as fact? unless you have the official time all this 10-15 seconds malarky is just conjecture
again, you keep asking SBWs about the curtailing of 10-15 seconds of round ten, was it SBWs who ended that round early, as you have alluded to often? I havent seen the fight bakkies, apart from 20 seconds of highlights, but from all accounts the first 8 rounds were SBWs, Botha only really coming alive near the end of the match..
was the fight stopped early? perhaps.. was the fight agreed to be 10 rounds by both camps? apparently yes..
do we know the truth behind it all? no we dont..
so lets hang the man before we find out who was responsible and we have all the facts available, because that makes sense..
are you certain that Botha was not complicit in any of this? yet both fighters have mentioned a rematch in Capetown?
too many unknowns for me to say for certain where the guilt lays completely and with certainty.. but SBWs is kiwi so it must be all his doing huh?
dont let it stop you though
9 Feb 2013, 17:15 pm
@the curse-617:
huh?
are you drunk?
i watched the fight
i’m telling you the tenth round was cut short by about 15 seconds
i think the time was 2:43 or something like that
9 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
@the curse-615: Sloppy all round it seems.
Anyway, I’m out for a while.
Brandy & Coke time, Keo!!!!!!!!!!!
9 Feb 2013, 17:22 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: you THINK the time was 2:43 or SOMETHING like that?
well that proves it then doesnt it…
how can we take you seriously when you watch AB/Bokke games and notice no indiscretions by your team?
seems all your caterwauling now places you in the enviable position of the “boet who cried wolf”
and we all know how that story goes
you have no credibility when it comes to observations regarding NZ/SA sporting contests…
9 Feb 2013, 17:41 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618: What did you think of Botha hitting after the bell?
9 Feb 2013, 17:42 pm
will also post this here, in case you miss it on the Sharks thread..
http://www.supersport.com/boxing/south-africa/news/130209/Botha_and_SBW_agreed_to_10_rounds
have you seen this article Bakkies, Thinus Strydom reluctantly agreed and CONFIRMS that the fight was changed to 10 rounds..
eish, now this is interesting..
9 Feb 2013, 17:43 pm
@the curse-620:
this is your best response?
9 Feb 2013, 17:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-623: yep, just because you THINK the time was 2:43 is NOT proof it was..
put up or shut up..
what say you about Thinus’ revelation that he agreed to the fight being 10 rounds, in the article I just posted?
9 Feb 2013, 17:46 pm
@gonzo-621:
not nice but Sonny started hitting after the break up and after the bell first.
why not mention this?
9 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
@the curse-624:
will you accept the bell was rung early?
this is funny.
9 Feb 2013, 17:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-626: I do accept it, but you have managed to stretch it out from 10-15 then to 17 seconds, all without proof of the actual number of seconds
will you acceopt that that both camps agreed to a 10 round fight?
(PS: Ive provided proof, you havent yet)..
9 Feb 2013, 17:56 pm
@the curse-627:
on the face of the evidence in the papers yes but it seems Botha was unaware of this and it happened right before of during the match. why was it ‘sprung’ on Strydom?
(PS: i watched the match live)
9 Feb 2013, 17:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-625: I didn’t see that. I thought Botha hit after the break up at least a couple of times and once Sonny Boy hit back.
9 Feb 2013, 17:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-628: so is it his managements fault for not informing him of the change? or is that SBWs fault too?
9 Feb 2013, 18:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-628: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-02-09/botha3a-it-was-match-fixing/4509774
They times the final round: 3:00
9 Feb 2013, 18:05 pm
@gonzo-629:
no, Sonny started doing it early on already (the hitting after the break and bell).
9 Feb 2013, 18:08 pm
@the curse-630:
lets keep our focus on the missing seconds and the two rounds.
@gonzo-631:
b.ullshit
the round was rung early
you are a really silly fool if you believe it wasn’t.
9 Feb 2013, 18:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-633:
“The ABC has since timed the last round and found it did go the required three minutes.”
the two rounds were comfirmed by Thinus to have been agreed to be dropped before the fight started.
that corner youve backed yourself into is getting smaller and smaller..
9 Feb 2013, 18:17 pm
i think i’m going to watch the whole fight in slow motion now
9 Feb 2013, 18:19 pm
@the curse-634:
i call b.ullshit
“The WBA official wasn’t officiating. The local commission wouldn’t allow it.”
With Queensland not having a Combat Sports Authority, it is unclear who Nasser is referring to.
9 Feb 2013, 18:22 pm
so bothas manager has confined the change to ten rounds, as shown in the link above, an you call bullsh1t?
doesn’t sit with your agenda does it?
9 Feb 2013, 18:24 pm
@shooter-635:
ja
time the tenth
see if the ‘ABC’ can count
9 Feb 2013, 18:27 pm
@the curse-637: sorry, Bothas promoter, not manager..
9 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
@the curse-637: I can’t figure out if it was ineptitude and Strydom forgot to tell Botha it was a ten rounder or if they’re being dishonest and claiming they didn’t know when Strydom has confirmed he did. Either way, I’m not really surprised
9 Feb 2013, 18:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-633:
Hey Bakkies,
I just read that traces of buffalo sedation pills were found in a urine sample of Frans Botha!!
Apparently the devious Ausies were trying to sedate him but because he is such a strong, good clean living, god-fearing, humble, honest, hard working well conditoned athlete his system beat the pills and therefore he woke up in the 9 th round.
It shows you, even cheating cannot keep a good buffa….. i mean athlete down.
9 Feb 2013, 18:31 pm
@gonzo-640: yeah, but as bakkies will insist, it is all SBWs fault and it was an ANZAC conspiracy..
hell, SBWs was at fault for the official timekeeper ringing the bell 17 seconds early, or thats what Bakkies thinks it was..
his agenda is so plain to see, and alienates a lot of Saffas as well..
but he persists, must be tough living life through a broken lens..
9 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
Bakkies, I have it on “good authority” that FB is actually an avid Lions supporter, do you now still like him so much?
9 Feb 2013, 18:40 pm
Quite amazed – Botha is way past it but I still would have thought he would’ve clocked him early on – sounds like she was actually getting tired which is bizarre.
9 Feb 2013, 18:40 pm
@Robzim-641:
you’re joking right?
are saying he was drugged with sedatives?
9 Feb 2013, 18:42 pm
she = SBW
9 Feb 2013, 18:42 pm
i dont farken believe this
9 Feb 2013, 18:43 pm
@Robzim-641:
now youve done it Rob, this thread will hit 1000 in the next half hour..
9 Feb 2013, 18:44 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-643:
He is the second biggest lions fan ever.
Only Jimmy Abbott is marginally bigger (by about 10 kg’s)
9 Feb 2013, 18:47 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-643:
there is some new information coming in here, BB
i need to follow up on this.
FB and Lions are ok in my book.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 … 19 » Show All