SBW survives late White Buffalo onslaught
8 Feb 2013
Sonny Bill Williams beat Francois Botha on points in Brisbane after the boxing bout was controversially reduced from 12 to 10 rounds during the fight.
The former All Blacks centre was hanging on by a thread in what turned out to be the last round and would almost certainly have lost if another two rounds had been allowed.
The judges awarded the fight to Williams 97-91, 98-94 and 97-91.
‘I love Sonny Bill, but this is bullshit,’ Botha said afterwards. ‘I beat him hands free!’
Earlier, Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper won his first professional fight in a first-round knockout of Australian Barry Dunnett.
There will be repeats of both fights on SuperSport at 3pm (SS5) and 7pm (SS1).

945 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All
10 Feb 2013, 13:56 pm
Poppa and Bakkies…
why dont you just agree to disagree? Are you ever gonna stop dissing each other and copy-and-pasting the living shite out of every thread?
10 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
@Rage-851:

They have a Rachel & Ross from Friends relationship.
I love you, I hate you, I love you, I hate you……………..
10 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
733.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 11:55 am
oh my
Botha caught doping again huh? this changes everything. he cheats before the fight no wonder he outlasted SBWs. he was doped up
but he has been a known drug cheat for years
http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/francois-botha-test-positive-to-a-banned-substance-following-sonny-bill-williams-fight/story-fndkzthy-1226574876533
can’t wait to see Bakkies posting article after article about the cheating before the fight
Sone can only presume that Drugs in sport reaches every fabric of SA society. I do hope those giving it to Aussie about drugs in sport ear their humble pie quietly in the corner now
:lol; lets see Bakkies defend this now.
disgraceful.
10 Feb 2013, 13:59 pm
@the curse-788: SA Boxing is run by one Ngconde Balfour, he the super-fit-super-intelligent one of ‘Who the Hell is Jacques Kallis’ fame. Prior to his current appointment he ran the “corruption-free” Dept of Correctional Services for a few years…
10 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
735.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:04 pm
where is kaksioek?
he was another very vocal about “trans-tasman lies”
I wonder what he says now about SA subterfuge and the need of SA sportsmen to take banned substances
gots to laugh, seems karma has come back and bitten the mosy bitter vocal “truthers”
as I sad the other day Bakkies, lets wait until the whole truth comes out.
now I can laugh and laugh and laugh, because Botha cheated BEFORE the fight was held.
eish
i will ask Transformation Forensic Services to archive these gems, Pops
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-850: yawn A drug taking Santa Claus?
Botha was positive for roids in 1996, but you continue to stick up for him
good to see youre the type who has no problem with performance enhancing drugs in sport, as your stance goes.
and thats the way, let all that hate out bakkies, dont hold back now.. we’ve all known thats how you feel about kiwi’s, your fake apologies and retractions mean fckall..
738.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:09 pm
@snivelling little kiwi pricks-736: just had your hit of the roids bru?
seems the white “saviour” is nothing but a chemists pin cushion
seems they are also rife in your schools, that explains the mental retardation of people like yourself..
10 Feb 2013, 14:01 pm
@ 852 nortierd
Indeed…they can’t live with each other,they can’t live without each other.
10 Feb 2013, 14:01 pm
743.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:13 pm
can you please tell me what all the kiwi websites you visit and post articles from have to say about your mans illegal drug taking?
can you link us to a few of these articles please?
thanks in advance
—————————
no Pops, thank you
10 Feb 2013, 14:02 pm
745.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:16 pm
@snivelling little kiwi pricks-742: hahahahahaha the white “bluffer” is a drug taking mother fcker,,
oh the serving of STFU has ciome quick and fast… beautiful indeed.
no wonder SBW couldnt knock him down, he was peaking with the amount of illegal banned substrances coursing through his veins
guess Francois didnt have the heart or guts ro face SBW without the need of “help”
——————-
nice
10 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
747.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:21 pm
where the fck is Bakkies?
if SBW had tested positive this thread would have hit 2000 posts in 5 minutes..
lmfao
Botha knew he couldnt beat SBW, so had to CHEAT before the fight
this changes everything, perhaps the fight was shortened to 10 rounds after the officials had looked into Bothas eyes and recognised the roid rage?
perhaps they were worried if it went 12 rounds his heart would have packed in, roids seem to damage this organ especially.
oh my indeed..
—————-
hello
is it me
you’re looking for..?..
10 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
Botha is a drug cheat
end of
he also lost the fight to SBW
end of
the rest is just your obfuscation because your white d.utchman tough guy got beaten by a brown skinned kiwi
10 Feb 2013, 14:05 pm
Fransie was on the same beautification treatment Shane Warne used. Only in Warne’s case he actually slimmed down.
Have some sympathy for us fat boys, it’s difficult to look good without some quick fix meds.
10 Feb 2013, 14:07 pm
oh look its a chemistry lesson:
753.the curse: Reply to this comment
10 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
Phentermine, a contraction of “phenyl-tertiary-butylamine”, is a psychostimulant drug of the phenethylamine class, with pharmacology similar to amphetamine. It is used medically as an appetite suppressant.
a psychostimulant? no wonder he claims he didnt know the fight was reduced to 10 rounds before it started, to hopped up to probably even know where he was..
10 Feb 2013, 14:07 pm
@ Stormer in a tea cup
Im not a Highlanders fan,I just feel like they can knock over quite a few teams this year.What they really need is a strong finish coz thats where they faltered over the last season or two.New recruits like Nonu,Thorn,Woodcock will certainly add a whole lotta value to their cause.
10 Feb 2013, 14:08 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-850: I’m not sure if it’s yet shown that the drug test wasn’t positive. It seems there are no real rules in boxing in Queensland and Botha may have submitted to a test that wasn’t mandatory. But failing a test he didn’t legally have to take doesn’t mean he didn’t dope.
And the whole issue with WBA, seems to add to the circus. I doubt SBW can claim to be the champ but I’m not sure anyone knew there was a belt on the line until it was being wrapped around Sonny Boy’s waist
10 Feb 2013, 14:13 pm
@gonzo-866: let him keep going, his life is so sad that he needs to feel superior on a rugby blog because both his countries sportsmen and his physical state personally have reduced him to this
let him have his moment in the sun, hyis hatred of anything NZ is well documented, I could treawl past threads and post countless hours of unadulterated hatred
thing he doesnt realise is that he can laugh at me now, but many many many of his countrymen laugh at his paranoia constantly
thts a truth hes not willing to face yet.
10 Feb 2013, 14:13 pm
This whole scenario actually makes me feel sick !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10 Feb 2013, 14:15 pm
@Rage-849: SA’s travelling Barbarians!
10 Feb 2013, 14:16 pm
@gonzo-866:
yip.
my gut feeling is its a smear but i’ll wait for more info to come out.
SBW is anything but a boxing champ, he’s a very good rugby player who could go on to be a great rugby player (meaning legend) if he is prepared to do the hard yards for a long enough period of time… but a championship boxer he ain’t.
10 Feb 2013, 14:16 pm
@gonzo-866: And the whole issue with WBA, “but I’m not sure anyone knew there was a belt on the line until it was being wrapped around Sonny Boy’s waist”
And there is the answer to why the fight had to be fixed.
If the belt fit SBW’s waist then it sure as hell would not have fit around Fransie’s.
They had to save him the embarrassment of trying to squeeze into something that he had no chance of fitting into.
10 Feb 2013, 14:17 pm
still an undefeated boxer though
10 Feb 2013, 14:20 pm
@nortierd-871:
The belt was made to measure!
10 Feb 2013, 14:22 pm
@Meno-868:
there you go
this is one time i can agree with you
its mostly sad and a little sickening too.
personally, i think SBW is a decent’ish bloke who to some extent has made and formed his moral and ethical views of how to conduct himself as a person and a man, from some of the people around and sadly or unfortunately for him some of those people around him have less than ideal moral makeups.
he needs good people who care enough and are close enough to help break the hold and influence these people exert on him.
10 Feb 2013, 14:23 pm
of course the fight was fixed
a Saffa lost
just like the rugby when you lose
it was fixed
like its always been, like it always will be
you saffas are pathetic..
e noho ra..
10 Feb 2013, 14:23 pm
@nortierd-871: Interesting that you point that out. The belt actually fell off Sonny when they tried putting it on, so maybe it was fitted for Botha. It wasn’t until a while later that someone figured out how to secure it, perhaps with string or safety pins.
Either way, the whole thing is a farce. I really hope SBW is put off the sport. He needs to focus on the rugby league world cup in November then having a decent relaxed off-season before super rugby starts. Before you know it, it’ll be the RWC, followed by Olympics. He doesn’t have time to piss around with boxing. He held his own but he’s obviously not going to go a lot further unless he drops the rugby, which would be a waste of his talent. Save it till 2017 if you ask me
10 Feb 2013, 14:24 pm
@I am a stormer-873:
hahahahha
sharp
10 Feb 2013, 14:25 pm
@the curse-872:
come on, Pops
you’re better than this, boet.
dont do this
dont go so low
10 Feb 2013, 14:29 pm
Why would Sonny Bill get himself involved in such a dubious sport as boxing?He had the adoration of millions of Kiwis and thousands of Capetonians in union ,but he chose to go down the path of league and boxing.Doesn’t make any sense at all.
10 Feb 2013, 14:30 pm
@gonzo-876:

Yep, agreed, after Olympics he can conquer Hollywood.
This is one bloke that fits as much in his life as possible and does well at whatever he chooses.
Very determined and disciplined young man.
10 Feb 2013, 14:34 pm
I wonder if a hobby will help a person who suffers from severe obsessive compulsive behaviour?
10 Feb 2013, 14:36 pm
@the curse-875: The default option, Pops.
10 Feb 2013, 14:37 pm
An obsssion is an idea or thought that constantly intrudes into a persons thoughts and that he/she just cannot let go of. If the obsession becomes too bad the person might even kill himself or somebody else. Its scary stuff..
10 Feb 2013, 14:44 pm
@the curse-875:
as Kiwis, your moral compass is badly damaged, Poppa
and no, its not a race thing at all.
fix this and make the world truly love and respect you for the way you can play sport, with an obviously deep sense of passion and desire to succeed as the best, you need to do this in that spirit of fair play we all hold ourselves to.
imho you guys can be this. you certainly are deeply talented enough at sport and are in my view more than capable of doing it the good way if you tried hard.
we Saffa’s have walked through our own valley of death to reach ‘a promise to a better land’ if we work together hand in hand, its not easy and sometimes the going is hard but we are trying to be a better people… a rainbow people…
we are competing to win, yes
but not to win at morally deplorable cost simply for the purpose of seeking to validate as appropriate some internally held perverse notion of self.
you have been a part of teaching us lessons we badly needed to learn at a terrible time in our journey
now the student has become the teacher, and the teacher the student
let us honour your teachings…
10 Feb 2013, 14:45 pm
@Robzim-883:
Yip he definitely needs some kind of help.
10 Feb 2013, 14:47 pm
Now he’s rambling.
10 Feb 2013, 14:49 pm
i’m out for a bit
cheers all
10 Feb 2013, 14:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-887:
Take a long break Bakkies, you need it.
10 Feb 2013, 14:50 pm
This is hillarious. Maybe I do like boxing after all, constant entertainment regardless of the result. Who knows what to believe
“THERE is yet another twist in the Sonny Bill Williams fight farce, with Francois Botha admitting he signed a contract for a 10-round bout.”
“We signed a contract for 10 rounds a long time ago, but since then it has changed to 12 rounds. Nasser says now this old contract is what matters, but we all said it was 12 rounds when it became a title fight.”
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/beaten-francois-botha-keen-for-cape-town-rematch-with-sonny-bill-williams/story-fndn16fm-1226574945535
10 Feb 2013, 15:02 pm
Just to make it clear, we really don’t want to claim the white buffalo as one of ours. We have hundreds just like him we want to deport.After any rugby game you can spot them with brandy + coke, shorts and red faces, all believe they are heavy weight champs and all have paunches that can compete with Botha’s. Please guys they are not really not from SA even if we’re ioffering them at discount prices.
10 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-890:
The Aussies should have put Donut Dunning into the ring with him rather. It would have been a more even match up.
10 Feb 2013, 15:30 pm
Ok. Actually watched the last 2 rounds. Couple of things were clear:
1. Botha knew it was 10 rounds. At the break after the 9th you can clearly hear his trainer saying “it’s make or break”. You could see it in the urgency Botha showed after that too.
2. Botha is a cheap shot artist with the late hits Nd double hits.
3. Sonny had to hold on for dear life in round 10. Managed to waste almost 90 seconds of the round and would not have survived otherwise.
4. The round was not blown early. Time was called with 26 seconds to go to dock SBW for holding. After time was called on the same time elapsed till the final bell.
As a boxing spectacle it was just that. A spectacle.
10 Feb 2013, 15:32 pm
@David-891: would’ve been easier to explain the stolen rounds on grounds of genetic inheritence.
10 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
Anyone else backing the Irish this afternoon. Think its going to be a great game. Not sure what weather is like though
10 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-894: with my heart, yes. With my bru, nope
10 Feb 2013, 16:01 pm
@ 892 dilligafrican
Thats a good summary right there,all fair and valid points.
@894 frankly
Im behind the Irish for this one,it should be a cracker…
speaking of Ireland,why dont they have a sevens team? I mean even minnows like the Cook Islands and Niue(sp) enter teams on some legs of the World Series.
10 Feb 2013, 16:07 pm
Let me just say that SBW deserved to win, regardless of all the controversy which still needs explaining, What is more concerning is this:
It was a vacant WBA title fight. The one challenger is an over the hill boxer who held a title years ago but hasn’t the last couple of fights he fought, and the other is the NZ heavy-weight champ who has never (still) fought anyone worth anything and has had a total of 6 pro fights?
And these get to fight for a vacant title??? Seriously?? No one has fought anyone in the top 10 in the past and they get a title shot. That is the real fix here, not the outcome.
10 Feb 2013, 16:22 pm
@stormersboy-897: it appears not to have been officially sanctioned?
Also, it sounds like one of those Daspoort’s deadliest dut.chie awards.
10 Feb 2013, 16:42 pm
In other news, anybody notice that Western Province are now the reigning champions of both rugby and cricket?
Thought not.
Well done the Cobras!
10 Feb 2013, 17:02 pm
@I am a stormer-899: Yes but some bad news: Etzebeth out for at least 6 weeks !!
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All