SBW survives late White Buffalo onslaught
8 Feb 2013
Sonny Bill Williams beat Francois Botha on points in Brisbane after the boxing bout was controversially reduced from 12 to 10 rounds during the fight.
The former All Blacks centre was hanging on by a thread in what turned out to be the last round and would almost certainly have lost if another two rounds had been allowed.
The judges awarded the fight to Williams 97-91, 98-94 and 97-91.
‘I love Sonny Bill, but this is bullshit,’ Botha said afterwards. ‘I beat him hands free!’
Earlier, Wallabies flyhalf Quade Cooper won his first professional fight in a first-round knockout of Australian Barry Dunnett.
There will be repeats of both fights on SuperSport at 3pm (SS5) and 7pm (SS1).

945 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All
8 Feb 2013, 15:38 pm
@David-95:
The rules are being re-written as we speak.
Not a problem.
@BrumbiesBoy-89:
It’s easy to make that mistake…the colours would blind and confuse even the most rabid ANC supporter.
@David-95:
Goeie punt,Botha moet appeleer en die uitslag moet gekanseleer word.
8 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
Dit was alles n vloek… In die 9de rondte het hulle gesien buffalo is besig oom die voorhand te kry want die beoordelaars was self omgeslaan met die skielike 10rondte besluit… X jammer maar dit is nie hoe jy sport bemark nie. Dan noem jy dit liewer wedstryd snoeiery… Dankie… Go to sport24.com and read what the audience have to say!
8 Feb 2013, 15:45 pm
rondte 10
ding ding!
hy het einde rondte 10 al shaky begin lyk.
8 Feb 2013, 15:45 pm
SBW is too decent for boxing. Classic example of a gym bunny and groomed streamlined technical boxer against a brute power dog eats dog boxer.
8 Feb 2013, 15:50 pm
sunni wou net vas dans in die tiende rondte.
pateties.
as hy nie n rematch aanvaar nie sal die laaste mense wat n bietjie respek vir die ou gehad het dit verloor.
8 Feb 2013, 15:50 pm
Didn’t one of SBW’s other fights get reduced by a couple of rounds just before “kick off”? He was a bit upset back then as fitness is his main advantage. For a second I thought it might cause him a problem this time too but clearly Botha had other thoughts.
Anyway, I hope almost getting his lights knocked out scares SBW enough that he starts concentrating on a real sport from now on
8 Feb 2013, 15:51 pm
Sonny Bill Williams has announced that he plans to restore his sullied reputation by challenging two heavyweights to fight him simultaneously. Anthony Mundine has pointed out, however, that he reserves the right to reduce the number of Williams’ opponents by two at any point during the fight.
8 Feb 2013, 15:56 pm
The game of rugby league was invented when Sonny Bill Williams complained that there were too many players on the field and the maximum number of players per team was suddenly, and without warning, reduced from 15 to 13.
8 Feb 2013, 15:57 pm
Cheating seems to be of no moral consequence to the people of New Zealand. Whether its rigging the referee system at rugby level (Examples include: Paddy O’Brien; “teach the Japies a lesson”; Bryce Lawrence etc) or whether its rigging boxing matches, Kiwis seem to be quite content to ignore the codes of honour, respect and honesty in sport.
Most other sporting nations (and indeed, individuals) recognise that victory only tastes sweet if it real. It’s a very personal feeling. You know whether or not you have truly achieved something and if not, then you will not have that feeling of self-respect and inner Euphoria…. It is this inner feeling which should be the driving force behind our sporting endeavors for without this, we might as well just buy trophies.
I played an online rugby game last month (A game of 3 halves) and recorded my best score. When I clicked on the page to view where I ranked, I saw that someone had a score of 99.9 billion – which is impossible as the maximum score you can get is in the thousands… Luckily, being a qualified IT developer, I was able to recognise that the player had hacked the coding and manually recorded his own score… The player was from New Zealand.
Sonny Bill Williams has been consistent with his country’s national values, by shaming a sport, shaming himself and shaming his country’s (already low) reputation.
I live in England, and I can confirm that the general consensus here amongst the English, Irish, Welsh and Scottish is that the Kiwis cheat. They cite Richie McCaw as the biggest cheat in the history of rugby and are forever poking fun at London-based kiwis for being cheaters during pub-setting and the like… The Irish are especially convinced and often cite the intentional (and unpunished) tip-tackle on Brian O’Driscoll during the Lions tour of 2005.
When a nation has no value for their own reputation or self-respect, you have to question whether they deserve anyone else’s respect… My verdict on this question is a firm and unapologetic, “No”.
8 Feb 2013, 15:59 pm
@kaksioek-110:
8 Feb 2013, 16:02 pm
how many majors have keewees won in golf?
golf is a sport with ethics and cheating is nearly impossible.
Same goes for swimming
Makes you think…
8 Feb 2013, 16:03 pm
@the authority-111: “I played a game of online rugby” Yep, sums you up mate! get a life and get outside!
8 Feb 2013, 16:05 pm
@lawsy25-114: So according to you, anyone who dares to play an online game need to get a life?
I think I’ll go ahead and ignore your opinion.
8 Feb 2013, 16:05 pm
@the authority-111: Most of the guys on here are just having a laugh but you take you NZ-hate way too seriously. Lighten up, it was a circus of a fight between a has-been and a never-will-be. Treat it like WWF, enjoy the controversy and don’t stress
8 Feb 2013, 16:06 pm
the authority
hahahaha
crying because a known drug cheat lost?
hahahahaha
8 Feb 2013, 16:08 pm
@gonzo-116: Bryce Lawrence must have been reffing!
There, you happy?
8 Feb 2013, 16:10 pm
@the authority-111:
a qualified IT developer, is that the title on your business card?
8 Feb 2013, 16:10 pm
@the authority-115: Yes! Especially those who use video games as part of an argument.
8 Feb 2013, 16:11 pm
@the curse-117:
You have a point. Steroid abuse just doesnt happen in boxing.
8 Feb 2013, 16:12 pm
@NZINCHINA-119: Sounds like a title someone might use if they were a school kid trying to pretend to be an adult
8 Feb 2013, 16:12 pm
@David-95: same thought occurred to me, David.
I’ve never known a world title bout to be only 10 rounds. I don’t think the WBA can recognise this as a title bout. In fact, the fight should be expunged from the records as an official contest – call it a pre-season warm-up friendly, a practice run, a hit out
8 Feb 2013, 16:13 pm
@Stawm-121: I disagree..
A second urinalysis test of the International Boxing Federation heavyweight champion Francois Botha has come back positive for steroids, the federation announced today.
A hearing will be held within two weeks by the I.B.F. Championships Committee to decide whether the South African will be stripped of the title he won by decision over the German Axel Schulz on Dec. 9 in Stuttgart, Germany.
Results from an initial test taken after the fight and done in Cologne, Germany, had come back positive for the steroid nondrolon. The second test was performed Thursday at the U.C.L.A. Olympic laboratory in Los Angeles.
8 Feb 2013, 16:13 pm
@gonzo-122:
sounds like it, a qualified IT developer who just got his highest score in an online game oh dear
8 Feb 2013, 16:15 pm
@the authority-111:
When a nation has no value for their own reputation or self-respect, you have to question whether they deserve anyone else’s respect… My verdict on this question is a firm and unapologetic, “No”.
like the lack of respect a country has when it has an institution called apartheid for so many years?
8 Feb 2013, 16:15 pm
@gonzo-122:
Well then theres a very big industry out there of kids trying to pretend to be adults.
In fact they write the software for your banks, cell phones etc.
Little bast@rds!
8 Feb 2013, 16:16 pm
@Fern-100:
dis goed om to ****.
ek sal skat Botha is selfs n lekker chill ou buite die ring.
Sonny sou sy moer gesien het met daai laaste twee ronde by.
—–
ek’s uit vir n rukkie
8 Feb 2013, 16:17 pm
@the curse-124:
Maybe he thought it was a weight loss supplement ala Shaney.
G*d knows he needs it.
8 Feb 2013, 16:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-128:
I dont think I want to get on Bothas nerves in a hurry. You could break a brick on his head and he wont flinch.
8 Feb 2013, 16:19 pm
@Stawm-129: that was a farce too, a “diuretic”
he should have just met Hurley’s plastic surgeon a lot sooner
8 Feb 2013, 16:20 pm
@the curse-126:
http://216.246.37.52:1935/702/702.stream/playlist.m3u8
Gaan na die skakel toe dan kan jy na Talk Radio 702 luister.
Dit is n gesels radie stasie met geen musiek en baie van die relevante en aktuele sake wat Suid Afrika aanraak word baie robuus gedebateer.
Ek is seker jy sal dit geniet want dit sal jou n beter idee gee van wat op die grond aangaan.
Die radiostasie het n baie neutrale standpunt en die nuus en opinies is baie gebalanseerd.
8 Feb 2013, 16:21 pm
@the curse-131:
Thats Warneys best catch of his life!
Liz and Mike Myers on the balcony, staring at the evening sky – Famous Quote:
Mike: “I can see Uranus from here”
8 Feb 2013, 16:23 pm
@Stawm-127: No wonder nothing works properly on that damn interwebs! Kids running the show
8 Feb 2013, 16:23 pm
@the curse-126:
Seriously bud, you should stay away from that topic. You might think you know a lot about it, but you dont.
Stick to normal every day bait.
8 Feb 2013, 16:31 pm
@Stawm-135: its very easy to find information on it, you know, like bakkies continual trawling of NZ news websites, its just that I dont use it incessantly..
but it serves as a gentle reminder on occassions that SA isnt a utopian society, especially when some Saffas like to continually point to NZs problems..
and besides, accuracy isnt a prerequisite for this site, you should know this..
8 Feb 2013, 16:35 pm
@the curse-136:
I understand both sides are guilty.
From my side, reading about something on the web and actually living through it are worlds apart.
Its a pity that that level of chat is allowed here, again, from both sides.
Lets rather enjoy the funnier side of life, like todays boxing contest.
8 Feb 2013, 16:37 pm
@Stawm-137: there was a boxing contest today?
8 Feb 2013, 16:41 pm
@the curse-138:
You didnt see it?
They’re going to replay it on the Comedy Channel tonight.
8 Feb 2013, 16:43 pm
The IRB has announced that the 2007 Rugby World Cup has been retroactively awarded to New Zealand after it came to light that the All Blacks’ quarterfinal match against France should never have gone beyond the 60 minute mark.
A panel of inquiry reached the decision after reviewing video footage that clearly shows several of the All Black players were too tired to have stood a reasonable chance of preventing 67th-minute substitute Frederic Michalak from making the break that led to Yannick Jauzion’s try.
Graham Henry, All Blacks coach at the time, graciously accepted the World Cup at a hastily arranged ceremony in Buenos Aires, where he has been coaching Rugby Championship newcomers Argentina on the finer points of clock watching and IRB lobbying.
“Better late than never,” Henry said. “I think the IRB has set an important precedent here.
“Everybody knew that we were favourites to win the tournament and would have done so had that game ended when we were ahead 18-13,” he continued. “That much is indisputable.
“Dan Carter wasn’t even on the field when Jauzion scored.”
8 Feb 2013, 16:46 pm
RIP Jan Ellis
8 Feb 2013, 16:47 pm
Springbok Rugby great Jan Ellis has sadly passed away.
The one-time joint record holder for the number of Springbok caps succumbed to cancer at a hospice in Pretoria after suffering from the disease for some time.
Ellis celebrated his 71ts Birthday in January.
He played in 38 of the 39 Tests that the Springboks played between his debut in 1965 and his final test in 1976.
8 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
Was the referee by any chance Bryce Lawrence in disguise?
8 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
@nortierd-142: RIP.
One of the greatest Bok flankers of all time, if not the greatest.
8 Feb 2013, 16:50 pm
@Stawm-135:
Help nie jy redeneer met hom nie,sy vooropgestelde idees maak dit dwaas.
Hy lees oor apartheid maar ongelukkig sien hy nie in praktyk die vergewe,vergifnis en versoening wat al plaas gevind het nie.
Hy sien nie hoe kinders van verskillend ras en agtergronde vriende word of hoe algemeen verhoudings or die kleur grens word nie.
Ek hoop hy volg daai skakel wat ek aanbeveel het.
8 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
RIP Jan Ellis.
Orals in die wereld gerespekteer.
Dankie vir die memories.
8 Feb 2013, 16:53 pm
@daydreamer-143: haha love how you guys still blame Bryce Lawrence, he is a great ref, learn to pass the ball backwards and score tries and you might win a game. Only a awful attacking team cannot in a game with 70% possession. Anyway, the ABs would have destroyed the Bokke next weekend in the semi final, ho many times has SA beat NZ in the last 25 years in NZ???
8 Feb 2013, 16:56 pm
@lawsy25-147:
A more important question to ask is, who would the Ab’s rather have faced in the semi-final?
Boks have been good in the big games.
8 Feb 2013, 16:57 pm
@lawsy25-147:
there were two or three occassions where they simple had to catch it and run in unopposed..
but the Lawrence angle makes them feel better about their own teams ineptitude..
as Henry has stated, he would have preferred to play SA because we had their number, and still do..
8 Feb 2013, 16:59 pm
@Stawm-148: Boks, any day of the week! You guys just cannot beat NZ.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All