Sharks lash lousy Leopards

The Sharks shook off the rust with a 71-8 pre-season win against the Leopards in Pietermaritzburg on Friday night.

John Plumtree’s men led 31-3 at the break after tries to flyhalf Pat Lambie, flanker Jacques Botes, right wing Odwa Ndungane, No 8 Tera Mtembu and left wing Lwazi Mvovo. The visitors’ points came from the boot of flyhalf Johnny Welthagen.

The Sharks continued to dominate after the break with Mvovo and Botes each getting a second, and flanker Jean Deysel, captain Frans Steyn and loosehead prop Allan Dell also crossing the whitewash.

The Leopards finally scored a try through replacement Elardus Venter, but the Sharks had the final say when Mtembu scored his second of the night just before full-time.

Lambie slotted five conversions for the Sharks and replacment Meyer Bosman three.

279 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-198:
    Well, according to Bakkies there is something wrong with my eyes, which I interpreted as Botha having won the fight over the ten rounds but that I did not see that clearly. :lol:

Jip…lotsa controversy re the 11th and 12th round. Botha’s assistants must come out and say whether they knew beforehand if the fight was only scheduled for 10 rounds as is claimed by the Aussies. If they did indeed know, all this kak that Bakkies is going on about, means nothing.

• 202.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-198:
    yes the two rounds missing is controversial but still open to spin of some sort or the other.
    the bigger larf is the time gone missing from the ‘last’ round when Sonny was clearly holding on for dear life and quite easily would have been knocked out without the referees or someone elses intervention.

how they will explain those missing 15 seconds from round ten will make for fun reading.

• 203.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-201: :lol: you mean Bakkies who, after watching the first half at Soccer City (ABs/Bokkes), found 21 extra indiscretions by the ABs the ref could have called, yet not ONE indiscretion from the Bokke?

maybe, seeing as he suffers from myopia of biblical proportions, he has noticed the onset of symptoms in you and is trying to help you before it becomes full blown paranoia?

• 204.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199:
    If you were certain that Botha edged 7 & 8, you would’ve said so. So, I take it that it was even.

10 points each for those rounds. :lol:

• 205.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-202:

Do you think there was some emails send before the fight :-)

You need to go see someone regarding your condition. I don’t know what more to say to you.

Good luck

• 206.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the curse-203:
    That’s the one. :lol:

• 207.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-201:
    sweet, still no mention of the missing 15 seconds
    keep it up

• 208.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207:
    Timekeepers making mistakes in boxing happen quite often. sometimes they “forget” to sound the bell and the round will last longer that the three minutes. Sometimes they do it too early. :lol:

Bert Blewet would’ve been able to give you examples.

• 209.the curse: Reply to this comment

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/rugby-union-is-incorruptible-says-top-coach-20130208-2e2qf.html

seems Jake doesnt think their is match fixing in rugby, does this mean he thinks NZ win “fair and square” ? :D

• 210.nama1: Reply to this comment

Unlucky Italy.

Would’ve been in for a try if it was not for the intercept. Now the Scots have scored on the other end.

27-3 in favor of the Scots

• 211.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-208:

Gerrie Coetzee versus Greg Page, 1984

Coetzee got stopped just before the 4th minute, in a round that went on for almost a full minute extra in error

• 212.the curse: Reply to this comment

http://www.supersport.com/boxing/south-africa/news/130209/Botha_and_SBW_agreed_to_10_rounds

have you seen this article Bakkies, Thinus Strydom reluctantly agreed and CONFIRMS that the fight was changed to 10 rounds..

eish, now this is interesting..

seems both camps DID agree to the change.

• 213.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-204:
    yet you’re certain it was drawn.

• 214.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the curse-211:
    Were there any Kiwis involved in that fight? Maybe the timekeeper was from NZ? :lol:

• 215.Fern: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: @the curse-203:
    I see the lovers quarrel is still going strong.
    If you two ever meet up it will be one big s hagfest for sure.

• 216.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-205:
    whatever keeps you believing.
    no skin off my nose.

• 217.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-215: at least Bakkies would have the guts to meet up and have a beer, youve already admitted youd be scared to front this maori..

best you stay safe down at the dam Lazarus..

• 218.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-213:
    No, no, no Bakkies. I used YOUR scorecard.

You said “even” or Botha may have “edged” it. I put it to you that if you were certain that he edged it, you would’ve said so and therefor I concluded that it was even in that rounds. :lol:

• 219.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-208:
    of course, they forgot what the time was.
    i suppose the multiple watches available to them was a factor.

larf

• 220.Fern: Reply to this comment

@the curse-217:
    I will meet you in NZ for a beer.
    I cannot be scared of you.
    Bluff boys don’t back down son.

• 221.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-208: who is Bert Blewitt? Sounds like an alter ego for Bryce Lawrence.

I assume you mean the late Bert Sugar?

• 222.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-215:
    i’m gonna moer this Kiwi first and then have beer with him when we meet :-)

• 223.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-220: but youve already admitted on this blog that you wouldnt have a beer with me? more then once too…

is this another Lazarus moment?

• 224.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-218:
    i put it to you that if you were not certain that i was certain if he edged or drew it you would have put down he drew it.
    ons ken maar mekaar mooi, ou Nama

• 225.Fern: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-222:
    a obese maori carguard that reeks of alcohol wont put up much of a fight.

• 226.Fern: Reply to this comment

@the curse-223:
    I changed my mind.
    I mean really wtf can you do?

• 227.David: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-221:
    Blewitt was a famous SA boxing commentator. :roll:

• 228.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-225: hahaha now the insults

and its a fat maori security guard in the cross mate, not a carpark guard..

a can smell the fear already.

• 229.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-226: is this the pre season bravado Sharkie fans are renowned for?

come have a beer, you can see the BOOM first hand

• 230.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-221:
    A SA boxing journalist of the past.

I think he has passed on.

Sugar was an American.

• 231.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@David-227: lol….ok. Must be before my time.

• 232.Fern: Reply to this comment

@the curse-228:
    dont use the word “mate” when responding to me.
    a maori who cant speak his own language
    what a farce
    you need to go back home and spend some time with the elders in the marea

• 233.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-228:
    if you hold on like Sonny Boy did, especially at the end, i will not be happy.
    i also dont want any of your gatgabbas near the official timkeepers, scorecards and judges.

• 234.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-232: so because I dont speak the language means I am not of that heritage? :lol:

seems Oscar Pistorius isnt the only SA with race problems huh Fern?

PS its spelled Marae..

• 235.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-233: bhawahaahaa!!!!

• 236.Fern: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-233:
    His boyfriend will get hysterical and start hitting you with a handbag.

• 237.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-234: Oscar has been banned for 2 years for illegal substances.

Bust him with WD40

• 238.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-224:
    Nou’t jy jouself seker heeltemal gekontfuse. :lol:

@nama1-230:
    Journalist/commentator/person with the biggest boxing memorabilia in SA.

@David-227:
    Is he still with us?

• 239.Fern: Reply to this comment

@the curse-234:
    no not at all
    i find your lack of interest in your own language curious
    give us the excuses why you cannot speak it please.

• 240.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-232: best you ask your mate TR about my lack of maori heritage, he knows my whanau..

• 241.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-239: and you know I have a lack in my own language how?

your assumptions only ever make you look an @rse Fern…

• 242.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-233: no need to hold on bru.. you wont get close enough, what with backtracking and running away :D

• 243.Fern: Reply to this comment

@the curse-240:
    Wow you think a lot about yourself
    Wont ask anyone anything about you,I ask you straight up.
    When are you heading back to NZ?

• 244.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-242: taken many punches in the gobber before?

• 245.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-235:
    @Fern-236:
    sometimes you to have show these naughty Kiwis that life isn’t a fairytale for their making.

#burstingkiwibubbles

• 246.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-238:
    I think he died a while back.

• 247.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-243: what relevance does it have Fern?
    why are you diverting?

you were the one who said he wouldnt have a beer with me, then when I called you on it you went to my heritage and now where I live?

I understand you are trying to save face now, but it really isnt that important in the big scheme of things..

do tell us, this fake death you had, was it done for sympathy? have you no friends?

• 248.Fern: Reply to this comment

cheers all
    have a lekker weekend.
    braai time here.

• 249.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-244: Ive had my fair share…

• 250.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-242:
    ons gaan mekaar mooi leer ken, Pops
    dis ten minste seker :D

translation:

we’re going to get to know each other very well. Pops
    that much is certain :D

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.