Lions claw committed Kings
9 Feb 2013
The Lions beat the Kings 41-31 in front of 18 000 fans at Ellis Park.
With the Kings having replaced the Lions in Super Rugby, this was always going to be more than just another pre-season hitout.
The Lions played like they had a point to prove and led 22-7 at the break thanks to tries from lock Hendrik Roodt, flanker JJ Breet and tighthead prop Ruan Dreyer, while lock Rynier Bernado went over for the Kings.
Roodt grabbed his second five minutes after the break, before the Kings responded through scrumhalf Johan Herbst.
Replacement flank Warwick Tecklenburg’s try made it 34-14 with 20 minutes to go, but Herbst and former Blues centre Hadleigh Parkes hit back for the visitors.
George Whitehead then slotted a penalty with six minutes to go to reduce the deficit to three, but the Lions put the result beyond doubt when they won a 5m lineout and Tecklenburg went over from a maul that the Kings chose not to contest.

116 Comments
9 Feb 2013, 16:17 pm
King Dragons or Dragon Kings.
Which is it?
Good performance by them. Their forwards will get hammered in the S15.
9 Feb 2013, 16:17 pm
Lions C team moers the drama queens. That’s your headline Keo.
Lions A team would have put 100 past them and not take the take their paws off their stinking throats with 15min to play.
9 Feb 2013, 16:23 pm
Is one of their foreign players a prop – they need to play him cause they will be turbo reversing all season. However if he did play today then they are farked scrum time. Not that I would mind watching S&M cruelty everyweek.
9 Feb 2013, 16:27 pm
Kings had a big weight advantage in the pack.
what happened in the scums, guys?
9 Feb 2013, 16:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-4:
Lions moered the Kings in the scrums.
9 Feb 2013, 16:29 pm
I was impressed by the Kings. They rested some of their better players and still pushed the Lions close. Jonker seemed to favour the Lions and the Kings missed two easy kicks. With 5 minutes to go, the Kings were down by 3 points – those 2 missed kicks haunting them.
They seemed very good in open play with their loose forwards and backline players finding constant gaps. I was impressed by the scrummy and by Mamajelu (probably misspelled). The style of the Kings play is more like an Oz team, with a lot more running and creative flare, rather than the pick, drive and kick style of some of the other South African teams.
Their glaring weakness is their pack. They were dominated up front by the Lions, with 4 of the Lions tries coming from forward drives. They need a high quality prop and lock.
9 Feb 2013, 16:32 pm
Nice match. Enjoyed it. Both teams played ok.
9 Feb 2013, 16:33 pm
@nama1-5:
i know, my question was to the Kings boytjies
maybe they have answers?
technique is seriously kaka in many aspects
what is the Kiwi doing all day?
9 Feb 2013, 16:36 pm
From what they showed today, I think top teams like the Sharks/Crusaders will get an easy 5 points, but the Kings may push weaker teams close. Similar to the Lions then, but hopefully on an upwards curve.
9 Feb 2013, 16:38 pm
@catchlightuk.com-9:
Agree, lots of work ahead.
As long as they continue to improve, thats all they need to do for now.
9 Feb 2013, 16:42 pm
@catchlightuk.com-6:
Mamojela – he will probably play in the vodacom team. Very promising talent though.
Only 2-4 first choice players on the field today. You will see their probable starting team on Wednesday against Griquas.
9 Feb 2013, 16:44 pm
@catchlightuk.com-6: I agree
but at no stage the Kings had anywhere near their best pack of forwards on the field … I think we’ll see something approaching their best XV vs the Cheetahs on Wednesday, fitness permitting … if so, that should be a better guage of their Super XV prospects
Well done the Kings
And well done & congratulations to the Lions (Roodt had a huge game)
I enjoyed the contest
9 Feb 2013, 16:47 pm
wow, 18000 at Ellis park? been a long time since theyve had a crowd of that magnitude there to watch the Lions play..
must have been all Kings fans
9 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
@catchlightuk.com-9:
I think we will see a better picture on Wednesday against Griquas. Solly and the New Zealand coach was not even in that game. Kempson and Maidza,the Vodacom team coaches, were there.
9 Feb 2013, 16:49 pm
@the curse-13: no, just the attraction of & excitement about the Kings
9 Feb 2013, 16:50 pm
@Angostura-12:
Griquas you mean.
9 Feb 2013, 16:50 pm
@Angostura-15: I wish them well.
9 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
@Peter Mkata-14: howzit Peter, the Kings playing Griquas on Wed? – I thought it was the Cheetahs?
9 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
@Peter Mkata-16: Oh, OK, thx
9 Feb 2013, 16:54 pm
@the curse-13: Hadleigh Parkes should have stayed with the Blues – harlot queens will have him playing in the Vodacom cup and not superrugby.
9 Feb 2013, 16:54 pm
@the curse-13:
Check the crowd in PE on Wednesday. The excitement and the prospect of having super rugby in your door step is huge there.
9 Feb 2013, 16:56 pm
@RL-20: Hadleigh Parkes isnt good enough for super rugby, he was woeful for us last year..
@Peter Mkata-21: kia ora Peter.. will do, good to see there is interest for the region, ignore the doomsayers and get behind your team..
The Lions may still have been in Super rugby if their fans did this
9 Feb 2013, 16:57 pm
@Angostura-18:
Fine thanks man.
I have spoken to family in PE just now. The excitement is huge.
Everyone was worried that the Kings will not be competitive today. Nerves I guess.
9 Feb 2013, 16:57 pm
@nama1-1: There is an episode in Fawlty
Towers where John Cleese tries to justify Manuel,s
stupidity,by sayingto a guest” He.s Spanish you know”Goodnight all
9 Feb 2013, 16:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8: True, bakkies, but that was basically their 2nd team, & like the White Buffalo, they improved as time wore on
& discipline, of course (which can be rectified) – two yellow cards to nil – very difficult to win from there …
9 Feb 2013, 17:00 pm
@RL-2:
@ RL-167 : ” A Lions C team”
a team filled with Bulls REJECTS – cronje,
tecklenburg, marnitz boshoff – a bunch of
super rugby experienced players – minnie,
coetzee, ross cronje, volminck, kritzinger…
hehehe c-team indeed
9 Feb 2013, 17:01 pm
@the curse-22:
We know those doomsayers, we grew up with them (maybe apart in SA context) and do not bother me much. They are bitter and there is not much you can do to help them.
9 Feb 2013, 17:03 pm
@Transformation-26:
LOL, some believing their own lies. I know you will always show them up.
9 Feb 2013, 17:04 pm
I knew they were missing some of their first choice players, but had no idea the Kings were fielding their 2nd team. If that is the case, they might be ruing the decision. They could have easily won today.
9 Feb 2013, 17:04 pm
@Peter Mkata-23: sizakube si pha ngamandl’ egeza mhlekazi!!!
amatikiti onyaka asezandleni!
9 Feb 2013, 17:07 pm
As much as you propagandists blow your trumpets and sing the Kinks’ praises they remain a second division team not even worthy of Currie Cup proper status and nothing is going to change that in the forseeable future.
@the curse-22: ” Hadleigh Parkes isnt good enough
for super rugby,”
funny thing is JK was crying for him when nonu came back from RC only to say he wants to switch to Landers…
Peter, I live in London, but I grew up in East London. I am going to follow these Kings closely.
@Transformation-26: nc nc nc duplictious Transformer – only Minnie is an experienced superrugby player from that list. The rest support players and bench options.
O jirre Kings….41 points scored by the Lions minus their best players. Dominated up front by the Lions !? You boys are in trouble deep !
9 Feb 2013, 17:08 pm
BrumbiesBoy – did you watch the game? You would understand the optimism if you did.
9 Feb 2013, 17:09 pm
@Angostura-25:
fair enough, but they’ve got major work to do if they are even remotely serious about playing super rugby.
we’ve all seen their 1st team play already and on those occasions the scorelines were atrocious.
am just being a realistic about this, but good luck to them all the same.
@catchlightuk.com-29:
Maybe some of these players are better than the preceived 1st team. Who knows.
@BrumbiesBoy-31: we will see how their A team goes against the Griquas, who will be minus their Cheetah exports – Griquas by plenty!
9 Feb 2013, 17:10 pm
@catchlightuk.com-29: nope, you cannot play your 1st choice team today & again on Wednesday & yet again at the commencement of their Super XV in two weeks’ time – that’s a virtual guarantee of injuries to your best players … (& they have some injury concerns already (today they played a retreated flank at hooker) – depth not comparable to those of the top SA franchises)
9 Feb 2013, 17:11 pm
@Transformation-30:
Nam ndizabe ndikhona kunye noonyana xa kudlalwa ne – Force.
9 Feb 2013, 17:12 pm
@catchlightuk.com-33: don’t you support Border? Why are so excited about some team from PE?
9 Feb 2013, 17:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-37: When did “we all” see their 1st team play, bakkies?
9 Feb 2013, 17:13 pm
@catchlightuk.com-36: No, I didn’t… I have already stated on this block that I will boycott Eastern Cape rugby until SARU has sorted this mess out to the benefit of all concerned.
That means that I will not watch or attend any of their games but reserve the right to watch when my team collects their five points from this B-section Currie Cup team.
9 Feb 2013, 17:14 pm
@catchlightuk.com-33:
I was in East London, Beacon Bay, over the the December holidays. It is a small world.
9 Feb 2013, 17:14 pm
@Transformation-32: I dont rate the bloke Trans, just my opinion..
9 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
@Angostura-43:
Am asking the same question.
9 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
@Angostura-43: when they selected 15 white players in a do or die promotion relegation match against the Cheetahs. Remember?
9 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
@Angostura-43:
against the Cheetahs in the promo/releg matches.
9 Feb 2013, 17:25 pm
@RL-34: really?
Andries Coetzee – the same player that was being plugged for Bok honours is a “support player”? lol
15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Andries Coetzee, 13
Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11
Anthony Volmink, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Ross
Cronje, 8 Derick Minnie, 7 JJ Breet, 6 Jaco
Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3
Ruan Dreyer, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 JC Janse
van Rensburg (captain)
Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Jacques
van Rooyen, 18 Gavin Annandale, 19
Warwick Tecklenberg, 20 Whestley
Moolman, 21 Deon Helberg, 22 Ruhan Nel,
23 Dylan des Fountain
9 Feb 2013, 17:27 pm
@RL-42: I support the Eastern Cape. My family live in PE. When I visited last year, I could not believe how positive and excited the region was about being in the Super tournament. It was infectious.
If the Kings are able to stay in the tournament, I’m sure we’ll see a lot of talent from East London playing for the Kings.
9 Feb 2013, 17:29 pm
@RL-48: what happened to the “raping” you were SCREAMING about the whole week?
even with Marius denying us a try, 2 yellow cards for rubbish – when your lions were high tackling willy nilly – you still only won by 10.
Goodluck vs Namibia next week, what competition is that?
9 Feb 2013, 17:33 pm
@Transformation-50: it is a weak Lions team with only 4 players you can call good enough to play for the Lions supewrrugby team – you know it and I know it.
Pfffft.
I will be sure to quote the experience of Strauss, Maku, Murray, Puke, Zorba, Buys, Sykes and Geldenhuys when they concede their first ton. To be fair I will not list the experience of the imports.
9 Feb 2013, 17:35 pm
@Transformation-52: don’t you worry about that transformer – the Force will be the first to have their way with the harlot queens in a “real” match.
9 Feb 2013, 17:39 pm
not worried about anything RL just laughing at your still grootbek self even when you team is in the bundus playing Namibia…
check for Grant10 in the crowd
9 Feb 2013, 17:40 pm
@RL-53: firstly it was ONLY MINNIE now it’s 4
porkies
9 Feb 2013, 17:42 pm
@Transformation-52: when is it a legitimate rape?
9 Feb 2013, 17:43 pm
@RL-48: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49:
The Kings 2 CC promo/relegation teams were not identical & quite different in some positions, but, be that as it may, both those teams were EP Kings teams, & not Southern Kings teams – no more than 4 (four) of either those XV’s should feature in the Southern Kings 1st choice XV.
I have no inside knowledge & am but a fan, but I reckon their 1st choice XV would look something like this (fitness permitting):
SOUTHERN KINGS – 2013 SUPER XV SQUAD
1st XV:
15. SP Marais
14. Michael Killian (currently injured)
13. Waylon Murray or Ronnie Cooke
12. Andries Strauss
11. Marcello Sampson
10. Demetri Catrakilis
9. Nicolas Vergallo (Arg.)
8. Luke Watson
7. Tomas Leonardi (Arg.)
6. Cornel du Preez
5. David Bulbring
4. Steven Sykes
3. Ross Geldenhuys
2. Bandise Maku
1. Schalk Ferreira
Nobody has ever seen these 15 players (or a XV substantially along these lines) play as a match day unit
9 Feb 2013, 17:45 pm
@Transformation-55: you are worried big time – are you going to support the saders again as soon as the tons roll in :lol
@Transformation-56:
: since when does good enoug = experienced.
Duplictious much.
9 Feb 2013, 17:46 pm
@Transformation-56:
LOL, he is probably blushing.
9 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
@Angostura-58: Ross Geldenhuys is kak.
9 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
the whole “rape” analogy is crude imo considering the nonsense happening to women & children in this country, so i won’t entertain your infantile question.
9 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
don’t get too serious with these clowns Angostura…derive only mirth from their ramblings especially RedLion formerly RedBull (when his team was setting records for losses) now RedShark.
9 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
@RL-61: that’s a mASSive improvement – I thought you deemed all of them k_ak
your irritation is quite comical, RL (its not going to have any bearing on the Kings fortunes, ne? It’s not like you’re spewing some potent muti the Kings way, ne?)
haha
9 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
@Transformation-62: right there being your duplictious self – you brought up the subject in your post – suddenly it is crude.
9 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
It is indeed. Hence the question as posed by some idiot yank
9 Feb 2013, 17:57 pm
@Transformation-63: @Angostura-64: you queens are funny. Good to be optimistic before the season starts – just hope you will still be here when the tons flow. More addressed to you angostura.
9 Feb 2013, 17:58 pm
@RL-65: weren’t you crowing about the WHOLE week, how was i supposed to ask you about it?
crude.
9 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
Will @Angostura-58:
Another possible option:
1 Engels/Gqoboka
2 Mafu
3 Ferreira/Ross
4 Sykes/Nell
5 Bullring
6 Leonardi
7 Watson/Oosthuizen
8 Engelbrecht
9 Vergallo
10 Castrikalis
11 Sampson
12 Strauss
13 Cooke/Murray
14 Grey/Killian
15 Marais
It is certainly not a worl beater but certainly not bad for a team built/recruited over 2 months.
9 Feb 2013, 18:03 pm
@Angostura-58:
you are an infuriating eternal optimist, Ango.
i fear the facts of reality will not bother your outlook on likfe and all things sunny one bit, come super rugby time
9 Feb 2013, 18:04 pm
@RL-67: RL, I’m a Sharks fan – now my 33rd year of support -
& not a johnny-come-lately flag-of-convenience Sharks supporter like you …
dankie
but I’m excited & hopeful the Kings will do well (& for me that means 2 or 3 victories & some bonus points as well) I’ll root for the KINGS big time against all comers, except the Sharks
there you have it: Go SHARKS, go KINGS
OK, out – the fun is over
9 Feb 2013, 18:05 pm
@Angostura-64:
LOL, oh my goodness that is out of this world.
9 Feb 2013, 18:06 pm
@RL-67: not as funny as you believing every year that your kak Lions will eventually come right since Ludeke, Chester, Loffie, Muir, Mitchell. even after losing all 13 games in 2010 you were still “optimistic”
9 Feb 2013, 18:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70: ja bakkies I have an optimistic sunny outlook, but as you might have gathered elsewhere, not an optimistic Sonny outlook
bwahahahaaa
OK, out
9 Feb 2013, 18:15 pm
In other news: Scotland just beat italy
9 Feb 2013, 18:15 pm
@Angostura-71: it is guppies like you that brings out the roar in me – I’m trying hard to support you guys and atone for my guppy bashing years.
It does not mean that I will not fishpaste a few guppies though.
9 Feb 2013, 18:22 pm
@Angostura-74:
cheers boet, have a good one.
9 Feb 2013, 18:24 pm
@Transformation-73: no longer the fence rider, wannabee crusader and known closet capecrusader with dreams of joining the official PE all Black supporters club, you are – but someone who has to wear his jersey and suffer in pain wekk after week knowing that the queens are destined for the wooden spoon with a few tons hidings along the way.
I pass that monk.ey to you Transformer.
9 Feb 2013, 18:26 pm
9 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
*whispers*
come to the Bulls
9 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
9 Feb 2013, 18:30 pm
@RL-78:
she’s going to learn a few tricks this season.
i will follow her progression with much anticipation.
9 Feb 2013, 18:30 pm
Don’t even think about supporting the Stormers,RL!We don’t need your type supporting us.Cross the Jukskei river for your super fix.
9 Feb 2013, 18:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80:
9 Feb 2013, 18:36 pm
@S_K-83: oh please I will first support the queens before the brokebacks!
9 Feb 2013, 18:38 pm
What an embarrassing result for the KrapKings.
They are going to be slaughtered when the real rugby starts.
It is wonderful to see Transie hopping and squirming.
The more Sharks fans the merrier – welcome to the fold RL. I predict hordes of KrapKings supporters will follow you in a few weeks time.
9 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
I will however support the KrapKings to defeat the Stormers.
Anyone but the Stormers.
9 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
We should look no further than Marius Jonker’s performance today to realise that the rugby in this country is on the edge of the cliff
And all he did was to follow ARU’s instruction
9 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
Next time I’m at the gym when see a guppy in the dance studio with his mr price jersey I will be sure to ask him if he is a johhny-come-lately-guppy.
9 Feb 2013, 18:51 pm
The Sharks have the largest support base both in and out of SA of any SA team – something which no doubt grates the Stormers fans…… who can blame people, with the boring defensive rugby dished up by the Stormers though?
9 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-90: I have noticed a decrease in guppy numbers on the roads – Lions and Bulls hound those with guppy bumper stickers!
The new craze is Rhino horns on the front bumber – me I am thinking of a real Lions claw to put on the front of my car. It will be cool.
:ccol:
9 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
9 Feb 2013, 19:34 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-90: Oh really.Give us the proof instead of making outlandish statement which I suspect this one is.
9 Feb 2013, 19:40 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-86: lol…”hopping & squirming”?
overactive imagination
9 Feb 2013, 19:50 pm
i”d say the Bulle have the most fans…
9 Feb 2013, 21:01 pm
Most fans 1st Bulls , Stormers ,Sharks……….Free state……..Pumas….Boland…Hamiltons club….Paarl Boys High……. Ventersdorp Blinde skool…………..Loserlions.
9 Feb 2013, 21:17 pm
i know this burns the stormer’s and bull’s supporters arses….
but….
there are more sharks bumper stickers in this country than any other sa team.
fact.
also, there are more sharks replica kit-wearing people in this world than any other s15 kit.
it’s a bugger hey?
9 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
My wanger’s bigger than yours so waah.
9 Feb 2013, 21:27 pm
@RL-67:
@Liewe Luiperd-86:
Didn’t the Lions beat the Cheetahs? And didn’t they pretty much destroy their scrum? Are the Cheetahs going to be clocking up century defeats as well?
9 Feb 2013, 21:34 pm
was at a function on thursday night…
the sa sports legends trust dinner.
bossie clark is the head trustee and gary teichman and shawn pollock were the guest speakers.
was amazed to learn that cricket south africa refused to acknowledge both peter vd merwe and neil adcock on their passing.
what have we become? the rest of the cricket world mourned these two greats of the game yet our small minded administrators choose to follow their politically chosen paths.
shame on them – what bitter little people they are.
9 Feb 2013, 21:34 pm
@catchlightuk.com-51: great to hear best of luck to the kings
from a sharks supporter, down with the boring lions
9 Feb 2013, 21:36 pm
@Dawn-98:
saaaarks!!!!!!!
burns your bum, doesn’t it?
9 Feb 2013, 23:00 pm
@numba4lock-101: Boring Lions huh? LOL.
You probably glad the Lions are not playing this year… they are the Sharks kryptonite these past few years.
9 Feb 2013, 23:17 pm
@numba4lock-101: Ha ha, so this is a Lions squad that lost just about every big name player except for JC van Rensburg. And they still beat the Cheetahs, beat the Kings and ran the Bulls to within 6 points. Boring? You probably find Verimark commercials riveting.
10 Feb 2013, 07:17 am
Credit to the Kings for their fightback but the Lions can not be happy with the way they let the Kings back into the game after leading 27-7 in the second half, whatever the reasons. Instead of kicking on they lost focus and became unstructured in their play.
Interesting home game attendance stats:
vs Kings – 18765
2012 SR:
Cheetahs – 19244
Lions – 23313
Sharks – 24271
Bulls – 33562
Stormers – 41919
2012 CC:
Blue Bulls – 14199
Western Province – 16859
Golden Lions – 17035
Free State Cheetahs – 17262
Natal Sharks – 21458
10 Feb 2013, 14:32 pm
So the Lion of 2013 are not of last year as they have been weakened by players leaving o oher franchises……what hope do the Kings have?
10 Feb 2013, 16:25 pm
Looks like u all forgetting its not just about winning for the kings. Its about getting superrugby to the people of the EC. Stormers and other teams were also bad in the beginning. Now all our good players don’t have to leave after school for other teams.
10 Feb 2013, 16:59 pm
@KingsArmy-107: no we want to win…people support winning teams..
10 Feb 2013, 17:03 pm
@Transformation-108:
The Lions prove you wrong.
10 Feb 2013, 17:15 pm
@David-109:
ja nee
10 Feb 2013, 17:57 pm
@KingsArmy-107: Well somebody forgot to tell Sheeky that, he tried to sneak five foreigners into the squad…
10 Feb 2013, 21:12 pm
Kings will be just fine. They aren’t expected to win the tournament…just give the locals a team to cheer for. Their big games this season will be the first one against the Force…and the two promotion-relegation games against the Lions.
Good luck to them.
11 Feb 2013, 03:36 am
@KingsArmy-107:
Kings Rule! Eastern Cape is the real Heartland of South Africa.
11 Feb 2013, 05:37 am
@KingsArmy-107:
That about sums up what is wrong with the Kings. Rugby in the professional era is ALL about winning, if it is not then don’t bother to pitch.
@Transformation-108:
Indeed and players (top players anyway) want to play for winning team.
11 Feb 2013, 10:49 am
Griquas will smash the anc queens!
11 Feb 2013, 10:51 am
haha ur a comedian!