Lions claw committed Kings
9 Feb 2013
The Lions beat the Kings 41-31 in front of 18 000 fans at Ellis Park.
With the Kings having replaced the Lions in Super Rugby, this was always going to be more than just another pre-season hitout.
The Lions played like they had a point to prove and led 22-7 at the break thanks to tries from lock Hendrik Roodt, flanker JJ Breet and tighthead prop Ruan Dreyer, while lock Rynier Bernado went over for the Kings.
Roodt grabbed his second five minutes after the break, before the Kings responded through scrumhalf Johan Herbst.
Replacement flank Warwick Tecklenburg’s try made it 34-14 with 20 minutes to go, but Herbst and former Blues centre Hadleigh Parkes hit back for the visitors.
George Whitehead then slotted a penalty with six minutes to go to reduce the deficit to three, but the Lions put the result beyond doubt when they won a 5m lineout and Tecklenburg went over from a maul that the Kings chose not to contest.

116 Comments
9 Feb 2013, 17:27 pm
@RL-42: I support the Eastern Cape. My family live in PE. When I visited last year, I could not believe how positive and excited the region was about being in the Super tournament. It was infectious.
If the Kings are able to stay in the tournament, I’m sure we’ll see a lot of talent from East London playing for the Kings.
9 Feb 2013, 17:29 pm
@RL-48: what happened to the “raping” you were SCREAMING about the whole week?
even with Marius denying us a try, 2 yellow cards for rubbish – when your lions were high tackling willy nilly – you still only won by 10.
Goodluck vs Namibia next week, what competition is that?
9 Feb 2013, 17:33 pm
@Transformation-50: it is a weak Lions team with only 4 players you can call good enough to play for the Lions supewrrugby team – you know it and I know it.
Pfffft.
I will be sure to quote the experience of Strauss, Maku, Murray, Puke, Zorba, Buys, Sykes and Geldenhuys when they concede their first ton. To be fair I will not list the experience of the imports.
9 Feb 2013, 17:35 pm
@Transformation-52: don’t you worry about that transformer – the Force will be the first to have their way with the harlot queens in a “real” match.
9 Feb 2013, 17:39 pm
not worried about anything RL just laughing at your still grootbek self even when you team is in the bundus playing Namibia…
check for Grant10 in the crowd
9 Feb 2013, 17:40 pm
@RL-53: firstly it was ONLY MINNIE now it’s 4
porkies
9 Feb 2013, 17:42 pm
@Transformation-52: when is it a legitimate rape?
9 Feb 2013, 17:43 pm
@RL-48: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49:
The Kings 2 CC promo/relegation teams were not identical & quite different in some positions, but, be that as it may, both those teams were EP Kings teams, & not Southern Kings teams – no more than 4 (four) of either those XV’s should feature in the Southern Kings 1st choice XV.
I have no inside knowledge & am but a fan, but I reckon their 1st choice XV would look something like this (fitness permitting):
SOUTHERN KINGS – 2013 SUPER XV SQUAD
1st XV:
15. SP Marais
14. Michael Killian (currently injured)
13. Waylon Murray or Ronnie Cooke
12. Andries Strauss
11. Marcello Sampson
10. Demetri Catrakilis
9. Nicolas Vergallo (Arg.)
8. Luke Watson
7. Tomas Leonardi (Arg.)
6. Cornel du Preez
5. David Bulbring
4. Steven Sykes
3. Ross Geldenhuys
2. Bandise Maku
1. Schalk Ferreira
Nobody has ever seen these 15 players (or a XV substantially along these lines) play as a match day unit
9 Feb 2013, 17:45 pm
@Transformation-55: you are worried big time – are you going to support the saders again as soon as the tons roll in :lol
@Transformation-56:
: since when does good enoug = experienced.
Duplictious much.
9 Feb 2013, 17:46 pm
@Transformation-56:
LOL, he is probably blushing.
9 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
@Angostura-58: Ross Geldenhuys is kak.
9 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
the whole “rape” analogy is crude imo considering the nonsense happening to women & children in this country, so i won’t entertain your infantile question.
9 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
don’t get too serious with these clowns Angostura…derive only mirth from their ramblings especially RedLion formerly RedBull (when his team was setting records for losses) now RedShark.
9 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
@RL-61: that’s a mASSive improvement – I thought you deemed all of them k_ak
your irritation is quite comical, RL (its not going to have any bearing on the Kings fortunes, ne? It’s not like you’re spewing some potent muti the Kings way, ne?)
haha
9 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
@Transformation-62: right there being your duplictious self – you brought up the subject in your post – suddenly it is crude.
9 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
It is indeed. Hence the question as posed by some idiot yank
9 Feb 2013, 17:57 pm
@Transformation-63: @Angostura-64: you queens are funny. Good to be optimistic before the season starts – just hope you will still be here when the tons flow. More addressed to you angostura.
9 Feb 2013, 17:58 pm
@RL-65: weren’t you crowing about the WHOLE week, how was i supposed to ask you about it?
crude.
9 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
Will @Angostura-58:
Another possible option:
1 Engels/Gqoboka
2 Mafu
3 Ferreira/Ross
4 Sykes/Nell
5 Bullring
6 Leonardi
7 Watson/Oosthuizen
8 Engelbrecht
9 Vergallo
10 Castrikalis
11 Sampson
12 Strauss
13 Cooke/Murray
14 Grey/Killian
15 Marais
It is certainly not a worl beater but certainly not bad for a team built/recruited over 2 months.
9 Feb 2013, 18:03 pm
@Angostura-58:
you are an infuriating eternal optimist, Ango.
i fear the facts of reality will not bother your outlook on likfe and all things sunny one bit, come super rugby time
9 Feb 2013, 18:04 pm
@RL-67: RL, I’m a Sharks fan – now my 33rd year of support -
& not a johnny-come-lately flag-of-convenience Sharks supporter like you …
dankie
but I’m excited & hopeful the Kings will do well (& for me that means 2 or 3 victories & some bonus points as well) I’ll root for the KINGS big time against all comers, except the Sharks
there you have it: Go SHARKS, go KINGS
OK, out – the fun is over
9 Feb 2013, 18:05 pm
@Angostura-64:
LOL, oh my goodness that is out of this world.
9 Feb 2013, 18:06 pm
@RL-67: not as funny as you believing every year that your kak Lions will eventually come right since Ludeke, Chester, Loffie, Muir, Mitchell. even after losing all 13 games in 2010 you were still “optimistic”
9 Feb 2013, 18:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70: ja bakkies I have an optimistic sunny outlook, but as you might have gathered elsewhere, not an optimistic Sonny outlook
bwahahahaaa
OK, out
9 Feb 2013, 18:15 pm
In other news: Scotland just beat italy
9 Feb 2013, 18:15 pm
@Angostura-71: it is guppies like you that brings out the roar in me – I’m trying hard to support you guys and atone for my guppy bashing years.
It does not mean that I will not fishpaste a few guppies though.
9 Feb 2013, 18:22 pm
@Angostura-74:
cheers boet, have a good one.
9 Feb 2013, 18:24 pm
@Transformation-73: no longer the fence rider, wannabee crusader and known closet capecrusader with dreams of joining the official PE all Black supporters club, you are – but someone who has to wear his jersey and suffer in pain wekk after week knowing that the queens are destined for the wooden spoon with a few tons hidings along the way.
I pass that monk.ey to you Transformer.
9 Feb 2013, 18:26 pm
9 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
*whispers*
come to the Bulls
9 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
9 Feb 2013, 18:30 pm
@RL-78:
she’s going to learn a few tricks this season.
i will follow her progression with much anticipation.
9 Feb 2013, 18:30 pm
Don’t even think about supporting the Stormers,RL!We don’t need your type supporting us.Cross the Jukskei river for your super fix.
9 Feb 2013, 18:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80:
9 Feb 2013, 18:36 pm
@S_K-83: oh please I will first support the queens before the brokebacks!
9 Feb 2013, 18:38 pm
What an embarrassing result for the KrapKings.
They are going to be slaughtered when the real rugby starts.
It is wonderful to see Transie hopping and squirming.
The more Sharks fans the merrier – welcome to the fold RL. I predict hordes of KrapKings supporters will follow you in a few weeks time.
9 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
I will however support the KrapKings to defeat the Stormers.
Anyone but the Stormers.
9 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
We should look no further than Marius Jonker’s performance today to realise that the rugby in this country is on the edge of the cliff
And all he did was to follow ARU’s instruction
9 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
Next time I’m at the gym when see a guppy in the dance studio with his mr price jersey I will be sure to ask him if he is a johhny-come-lately-guppy.
9 Feb 2013, 18:51 pm
The Sharks have the largest support base both in and out of SA of any SA team – something which no doubt grates the Stormers fans…… who can blame people, with the boring defensive rugby dished up by the Stormers though?
9 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-90: I have noticed a decrease in guppy numbers on the roads – Lions and Bulls hound those with guppy bumper stickers!
The new craze is Rhino horns on the front bumber – me I am thinking of a real Lions claw to put on the front of my car. It will be cool.
:ccol:
9 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
9 Feb 2013, 19:34 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-90: Oh really.Give us the proof instead of making outlandish statement which I suspect this one is.
9 Feb 2013, 19:40 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-86: lol…”hopping & squirming”?
overactive imagination
9 Feb 2013, 19:50 pm
i”d say the Bulle have the most fans…
9 Feb 2013, 21:01 pm
Most fans 1st Bulls , Stormers ,Sharks……….Free state……..Pumas….Boland…Hamiltons club….Paarl Boys High……. Ventersdorp Blinde skool…………..Loserlions.
9 Feb 2013, 21:17 pm
i know this burns the stormer’s and bull’s supporters arses….
but….
there are more sharks bumper stickers in this country than any other sa team.
fact.
also, there are more sharks replica kit-wearing people in this world than any other s15 kit.
it’s a bugger hey?
9 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
My wanger’s bigger than yours so waah.
9 Feb 2013, 21:27 pm
@RL-67:
@Liewe Luiperd-86:
Didn’t the Lions beat the Cheetahs? And didn’t they pretty much destroy their scrum? Are the Cheetahs going to be clocking up century defeats as well?
9 Feb 2013, 21:34 pm
was at a function on thursday night…
the sa sports legends trust dinner.
bossie clark is the head trustee and gary teichman and shawn pollock were the guest speakers.
was amazed to learn that cricket south africa refused to acknowledge both peter vd merwe and neil adcock on their passing.
what have we become? the rest of the cricket world mourned these two greats of the game yet our small minded administrators choose to follow their politically chosen paths.
shame on them – what bitter little people they are.