Eben out of action
10 Feb 2013
Eben Etzebeth will miss the start of the Stormers’ Super Rugby campaign after being ruled out for six to eight weeks with an ankle injury.
The Bok lock limped off in the first half after landing awkwardly at a lineout and a subsequent scan revealed that he tore ligaments in his left ankle.
‘It’s unfortunate for the team and Eben, but like I said after the match yesterday injuries are part and parcel of the game,’ said Stormers coach Allister Coetzee.
‘We are fortunate to have players in our squad who can step in and fill that role and that’s our focus for now – to find a player to fill that No 4 lock role.
‘At the same time, however, our medical team will also ensure that Eben recovers well and comes back strongly for the Stormers.’

192 Comments
10 Feb 2013, 17:38 pm
Injury proned Dragon
There goes Jonny Sextons’ hammy as well
10 Feb 2013, 17:48 pm
A heck of a pitch battle goes on in Dublin, in the rain and the mud, the lot!
Etzebeth has been over used, thought it was expected earlier
10 Feb 2013, 17:51 pm
Ag shame, Stormpies. Never mind, Eben. Have a nice break and rest up for national duty.
10 Feb 2013, 17:55 pm
@kaksioek-3:
Sharks fans will obviously be delighted that their team wont have to face him especially as he destroyed their lineouts in the currie cup final and also made mincemeat of Bismark a month earlier.
10 Feb 2013, 18:06 pm
@Robzim-4: It is about now I say thankfuckpants we bought Rhodes (who shoud be fit for the start of the tournie?)
Schalk won’t play guppies, neither will Eben.
So it’s Elstadt at 4……
Rhodes on the bench…..
Loose trio? Siya, Nizaam and Duane at 7?
10 Feb 2013, 18:10 pm
@Robzim …now its time for Bresler to take his rightful place as the Bok 4. Lol
10 Feb 2013, 18:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-5:
Don’t think Rhodes will be ready for the first few games.
Stormers have the same problem at lock that the Sharks have at prop.
Namely, one more injury in either position and theyre in a bit of trouble.
10 Feb 2013, 18:13 pm
Yes… I think that would be the best option… Siya started slowly yesterday but got better and better.as the game progressed. Armand should also be considered.
Fourie will probably start at 2 and be moved to no 6 later in the match like yesterday. Tireless worker, punches far above his weight…. but his lineout throws are still attrocious? Bezuidenhoudt (the Lion) seems quite a good player too.
10 Feb 2013, 18:14 pm
@Slappes-6:
He only needs to get a proper haircut and he will be the best lock in the country by a mile
10 Feb 2013, 18:19 pm
Apparently Rhodes might not be fit in time.
10 Feb 2013, 18:21 pm
Oh fark…. card for Haskell….
10 Feb 2013, 18:23 pm
Old Man O’Garra as cool as a cucumber… 6 all..
10 Feb 2013, 18:24 pm
Ja, maybe that discarded Shark can save your bacon.
10 Feb 2013, 18:28 pm
Farrell just as cool as O’Garra… 9-6
10 Feb 2013, 18:29 pm
Its a long season and Eben will be needed when the Stormers get to the business end.
10 Feb 2013, 18:31 pm
Farrell coould be the new Wilkenson…12- 6
10 Feb 2013, 18:32 pm
My heart she is broken
10 Feb 2013, 18:37 pm
@Dawn-17:
lol….and to make matter worse for U his potential replacements (Elstadt and Steenkamp) are never going to challenge Brad Pitt in the “good looks” department
10 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
@Jeraldjay-15: I just don’t see there being any “business end” for the Stormers this year. I reckon they’re in for a pretty average season. They have peaked above their abilities over the last 3 years and a 4th year will be a year too long.
10 Feb 2013, 18:41 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-19:
Also true, Sharks are overwhelming favourites to easily win the SA conference
10 Feb 2013, 18:43 pm
i knew it
10 Feb 2013, 18:44 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-19:
Thank you for that vote confidence, Wooden Spoon.
Appreciated as always.
The Sharks will go far, I’m sure.
10 Feb 2013, 18:46 pm
@I am a stormer-22: you see a “wooden spoon” in every shark supporter, don’t you. Do you need to speak to someone about it?
10 Feb 2013, 18:47 pm
Is this guy Spooner??
10 Feb 2013, 18:47 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-23:
Love your new nic.
10 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-23: i was called the same thing! Bunch of Stormer idiooooots.
10 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
@Dawn-24: no I am meant to be too prawny.
10 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
@Chico the Chihuahua-26:
Clown.
10 Feb 2013, 18:53 pm
Good away victory for England. Big Hit and Carol must be delighted, they great bloggers, just a pity they support the “wrong” SA teams. Maybe they will wake up and become honorary stormers one day.
10 Feb 2013, 18:54 pm
The Sharks are looking awesome this year.
And they have the most awesome supporters.
They will definitely be there at the business end of the competition. You can bet your house on it. The Stormers will be hard pressed to match this marvellous outfit.
10 Feb 2013, 18:56 pm
@I am a stormer-30: complex, much?
lol why do some Stormers like you have such a MASSIVE chip on your shoulders about the Sharks?
10 Feb 2013, 18:59 pm
I think you Stormers cheerleaders need something to cheer you up:
Rocking your rugby world.
6 Feb 2013 Players should be judged on performance and not the promise of performance. Selectors, coaches, media and supporters should lose their obsession with age and the restriction of four year cycles. If you read this to the end you could be the making of rugby’s revolution. To the brandy and coke okes don’t go beyond this point. The introduction of the Rugby World Cup was to give one country official bragging rights to officially being called the best in the world. It grew quickly into a commerciaL beast whose appetite to be fed will only increase. It is no longer about bragging rights but about commerce and the supposed investment of the game in the future. But those who appoint themselves as the architects of vision are merely enforcing the limitation of their vision on whoever is prepared to emulate what is deemed to be the best, when the innovators and inspirers are the ones who define success on creating and giving something unique, which is then interpreted by the chasing pack as the standard that invariably has to be matched. Unfortunately everyone wants to be the best but society’s stone-cast, yet non sensical, set of rules cater only for contradiction because while it caters for the mind to be aspirational it provides a greater immediate seduction and safety net for the mind to favour the short term comfort of conservatism. Society’s selfish cavaliers are too often the ones reinforcing the reward and restriction that gives the majority the comfort that conservative is good because there is no risk but with cavalier could come failure. With cavalier however comes something new every time and the possibility to success. Conservatism’s failure is that it brings no new reward. The rugby media and supporters are a primary exhibit of what is aspiration and what is acceptable and the ideal of being the best is always replaced with a sense of satisfaction that not coming last is the equal of coming first. The result is the core of teams in any competition and the core of people in life are conditioned that having the fantasy of wanting to be the best and the reality of never been called the worst is the most sought after emotion. It is why core of coaches will talk about breaking new ground but always revert to what they know because it’s not deemed failure. Oh to find coaches who see the adventure in selection and strength of individual skills that combined make for the extraordinary. Those investors in teams do so out of vanity so their intention is not to want the best rugby team. Supporters and the rugby media are the most powerful investors in the coach who can talk of unchartered ground and know the adventure will be a shared one with those who determine his job security, which is the supporter and the reporter. Why do the two of us actually have the responsibility and the power of influence? Because for there to be a rugby team there has to be an owner, but an owner only wants a club if he has an audience who actually pay his bills and spend the money and his players need an audience to perform. The reporter in rugby is also the game’s story teller and without the story being told, be it in print, electronic or by broadcast, the performance is reduced to a bunch of blokes enjoying a Sunday social run around. Owners and investors need an evolving audience so they need to have a story being told. More paying support and more money allows for better player purchases and dividends. The rewards are great and the risk is the story teller’s words wreck a business and don’t seduce enough to inspire this new audience to pay more than the existing ones. Coaches are restricted – and we are the worst culprits. You and me. Our opinions, pre game, demand adventure, investment of skill and something out of the ordinary, but we make the demand of wanting to see a creation without it being allowed to stumble in pursuit of seeing its capabilities. The World Cup is all about keeping the professional game one controlled by elected officials, who get the benefits of a professional game by way of sponsorship, broadcast deals and a paying support base. It’s commercial value is restricted because those who control it use it as the controlling influence of the game. The World Cup should be a tournament within rugby’s professional identity. Currently everything else is compromised because to succeed at the World Cup once every four years allows for any amount of failure. The Word Cup is a great tournament but it should be seen as tournament and not as the pinnacle of a four year cycle. All enjoyment and adventure and logic are compromised with the possibility (not probability) of our team winning the World Cup. What then, a month later this team is playing again and the chance is there to get beaten? And that’s okay? The game should be played in the current and the obvious is wanting to do better today than was the case yesterday. Think of the madness of the statement if I told you that living was about four years of toil and restriction and just maybe you will get one day in the sun and then your reward is you can at least boast toyour friends about it. The right brag your team is the best in the world once every four years apparently has such gravitas that everything is compromised and excused within those four years. The World Cup – and its four year cycle – has restricted a game yet those who control the game through elections and not necessarily intelligence – are convinced its been a revolution. Every value of selection has been compromised. The best aren’t always played for fear of injury. Performances lacking in pedigree are dismissed as not playing the World Cup-winning hand and no player is assessed on what he brings to the team in the week that team is selected. Players, not yet good enough, are picked now because in three years time they may have to need World Cup final experience. Players, more experienced, are questioned because age is again the restriction and the fear of not knowing whether he will be too old is deemed a worse one than the fear of not knowing if a player, picked on what could be, is actually not good enough. Professional rugby tournaments have forced the evolvement of a squad system, but the supporter is as amateur in his demand for one and only one starting XV as the amateur administrator is in wanting the players to be thankful someone is willing to actually to administer their game and give them the platform to play. The media is the worst culprit because the reports discuss a player being dropped when it is the workings of a squad system. The media influences the supporter who is in the professional game the most important voice because it’s the voice of the paying customer. Think about the power of the supporter but a confused buyer is a sucker of a buyer and rugby’s elected official only sell you the game they want to control and not the one you want to necessarily watch. They think the player is a liability because the supply is greater than the demand and they think the game is about the way they govern when it’s future is exclusive to those who support with their eyes and their cash. The numbers have again allowed to influence restriction because to start has a bragging right that it is somehow means a player is better than the guy who is the greatest exponent of closing out a win in the role of a substitute. The different skills of these two types of players have never been allowed to develop because those who govern and the majority who support resent the player earning money from a game in which the limitations of the game being strictly amateur have grown to legends of romance and beauty. No amateur player was exposed to a playing schedule the equal of a professional player. That is why one to 15 worked then but it doesn’t matter now who starts and who finishes. All that is significant about the number is that 15 stays on for the duration of the match. Age, another number, is the greatest curse because it means performance is secondary. Endorsing the romance of the amateur days only encourages the restriction in potential pleasure of a professional game. The coach needs to use a squad system to last the season but the supporter wants only the 15 best every weekend and everyone has ultimate escape of planning for a World Cup. The performance of the player is not the priority any more. It’s how that performance fits the four year cycle. The performance is no longer the celebration. How wrong. Player ‘A’ wins your team the Test match and he gets no sense of your joy because you have already accepted he won’t be around for the World Cup and instead of the joy of the day your focus is the possible pain of the big World Cup day. How absurd is that? What does that say about us that invariably our pleasure is from a possible bragging right once every four years and we condition ourselves to believe that living is about the possibility of feeling something extraordinary in four years time and that living to experience something extraordinary has the risk of death. Imagine the possibilities of sport if the worth of a team was determined by the pleasure gained through performance and not by relief at not losing. For rugby, like any sport, to ever be true to the supporter and give pleasure the supporter would have to change his mindset. That won’t happen because it’s about bragging rights and being defined by what you can tell others or what they will have to say about your team. Only to a few is it about the pleasure they derive from their emotional investment in a team whose pedigree as much about their belief in the manner of performance and not just the winning result in a performance. Super Rugby can’t rock your world if electric guitars and drums are a risk to your hearing. And when there’s no real sound to what you think looks like a great visual performance then no pie and beer should be enough of a lure to keep you coming back. If it is then eating pies is your passion not watching rugby. Super Rugby should be about the uncertainty of your heartbeat and not about the certainty of your heartburn. Here’s to your team rocking your world this season in the pleasure you get from their effort and not in the way it makes you feel only if they win. Now that’s a bragging right because you got reward for your emotional investment. We want our team to win but if we are watching it for pleasure then the winning is in that emotion. Rugby, like rock and roll, should never be compromised by restriction, especially not by an audience whose passion is for the pleasure felt in watching a performance. If you are the type of Super Rugby supporter so insecure in identity that your team has to win to give you a reason to smile and give your voice a growl every Monday morning at the office then let’s agree that we will always disagree because my pleasure is your pain and your pleasure, even in observation, is more torture than pain. To the minority who want the rock and roll, we’ve got every Saturday to live this season. To the oke so desperate to tell you how kak your team is he’s got one Saturday to live through what will be the pain of 80 minutes so he can feel relief that he will be able to tell you his team is the winner.
10 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
I dont give a **** wat any1 says ,the Stormers are the best south african team by fakin miles thank you v much!!!!!!
You should make every1 of them springBokke !! I will eat dog **** of a sharks jersey if they beat us and wipe my mouth with a stormers jersey
10 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
Chico, you small like a chihuahua?
10 Feb 2013, 19:03 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-31:
Not at all, mate. For me it is just feet on the ground stuff. The majority of sensible Stormers supporters on this site – yes, and there are many – just like to see the Stormers take it one game at a time and hopefully build up some momentum. That is all.
And seriously, I couldn’t give a continental about the Sharks. Or the Bulls for that matter. They must look after themselves.
You ok with that?
10 Feb 2013, 19:05 pm
@kaksioek-32:
Ok, now can I please get the executive summary?
10 Feb 2013, 19:06 pm
I spoke to Alistair after the game yesterday, and judging by what he said, He mentioned a possibility of Elstadt at 4 and Deon at 6, with Martin B starting at 2. Deon providing Hooker cover and Carr and Armand on the bench.
Alistair gave Deon some game time at 6 on Saturday when Martin B came on. Martin played really well. I’d personally be tempted to play him at 2, with Deon, Siya and Duanne.
There is still the Schalk factor though. Schalk will be assessed by the physio on Monday, and will then be put through his paces to see how he does. If all goes well it will be hard to leave him out.
Still 2 weeks before the first game so things can change.
10 Feb 2013, 19:10 pm
had a feeling this was going to be more serious than a sprained ankle…
any the view from the sunny side of the street at the brighter sudd of life suggests this is a blessing in disguise…
eben to get more rest and out-beast the beast and everyone else for the rest of the season..,!!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:10 pm
@I am a stormer-36:
Keo is smart.
We are all dof.
The World Cup is dof.
Keo is smart.
The media are dof.
Keo is smart.
Rugby coaches are dof.
Keo is smart.
Rugby is lekker.
Keo is lekker. And smart.
10 Feb 2013, 19:11 pm
@stormersboy-37:
Interesting. Schalk will be introduced gradually off the bench. AC has also stated that he will only start with those who game time over the last 2 weekends.
Bekker and Elstadt looked hungry for action – obviously missing the action. But I’m still nervous for the first 2 matches.
10 Feb 2013, 19:12 pm
Yip, definitely Sharks to win this SR …like they did in the CC. Keegan Cullen still attending therapy as are most of his supporters.
10 Feb 2013, 19:12 pm
@kaksioek-39:
Gotcha! Now please don’t ever post that again.
10 Feb 2013, 19:13 pm
@ufo-38: Hey boet howzit. Ja it’s a pity but i guess that’s how it goes, and now we have the opportunity to get Elstadt (the most impressive player on Saturday for me) in at 4 where he made his mark previously, and also either Schalk at 6 with Siya at 7 or the other way around. I would play Deon at 6, but Siya played really well too.
Still not ideal to have the hard man out. Andries also did well, got 60 minutes so all in all ok.
10 Feb 2013, 19:16 pm
@I am a stormer-40: Yes absolutely would have preferred Eben at 4 against the Sharks. They have some hard men in there and would have wanted Eben in the mix to manhandle Alberts a bit and show him how it’s done, with Elstadt providing some back-up. Keeping them honest.
I guess we’ll have to make do with just one of the “terrible twins” in action for a while……….
10 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
@I am a stormer-42: Never forget – Keo 06/02/2013.
10 Feb 2013, 19:18 pm
@I am a stormer-42: There was also something about pies.
10 Feb 2013, 19:18 pm
When is Keo going to hire Stormerboy?
10 Feb 2013, 19:22 pm
@stormersboy-44:
Yeah, Elstadt definitely looks up for it. I seriously hope he lasts the full campaign – he is one of those no-nonsense type of players – I hate to use the word enforcer. I still remember the game where he introduced himself to Bakkies at Loftus a few years ago.
This is one massive campaign. And once again, depth will be seriously tested and I think we have that covered in the loosies this year. With some of those who can cover lock as well.
10 Feb 2013, 19:23 pm
@gunther-47: You mean he doesn’t already get paid to post here?
10 Feb 2013, 19:24 pm
@gunther-47:
keo can’t afford him.
10 Feb 2013, 19:25 pm
@kaksioek-46:
Washed down with a klippies and coke. It’s all coming back to me now.
10 Feb 2013, 19:26 pm
I guess Stormersboy is too succinct for Keo. Keo smaaks to be verbose. He can like to write a moerse lot of words.
10 Feb 2013, 19:28 pm
@stormersboy-43:
hey bud… always cool thankless… you and the family…?
yeah i was very impressed with rhynhardt… best player for me too even though he only played 40…
deon also did very well at 6 so i wouldn’t question it too much if he gets the nod… but i’d personally go with siya at 6, rhynhardt at 7 and duane at 8, don armand at 4 and nizaam on the bench…
in the second half put deon at 6 if need be…nizaam to 8, duane to 7 and rhynhardt to 4… but the form rhynhardt showed yesterday it will be a pity to pack him away in the engineroom again…
@gunther-47:
he’s a natural gunther…!!
keo should really give him a call…!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:29 pm
@I am a stormer-50:
Keo can pay him in gak which I will happily take off him at a fair price.
10 Feb 2013, 19:29 pm
@I am a stormer-48:
that intro was very memorable…!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:31 pm
grrrr… damn autocorrect…
hey bud… always cool thank you…!!!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:33 pm
Haha speaking of writers I say Gareth and Simon on the list for accreditation but come match day they were nowhere to be found.
@gunther-54: I always wondered what was in all those exotic teas that you sold……..which one do i ask for next time??
10 Feb 2013, 19:33 pm
say = saw
10 Feb 2013, 19:35 pm
@stormersboy-57:
Gunthers special blend.
10 Feb 2013, 19:37 pm
@ufo-53: Ja Don Armand also did OK hey?
Steenkamp played 4 initially and did Ok, and as you say Elstadt tore through the admittedly weak Boland backline on several occasions in the first half. If he keeps that up he’s going to give some defenses a heap of trouble. Nice to have him at 7 for sure.
10 Feb 2013, 19:41 pm
@stormersboy-60:
yeah he did indeed bud… he ain’t no part-timer any more… looking very comfortable and productive in the team… but i think he’s a better lock than a flank and rhynhardt is an excellent number 7… who can slot in at lock if need be… i think it would be pity if needs be…
10 Feb 2013, 19:43 pm
please tell ac that…!!
let rhynhardt tattoo 7 on his back…!
please let him settle there and he’ll make plenty people sit up and take serious notice… please don’t chop and change him between the two positions…
10 Feb 2013, 19:45 pm
@stormersboy-60: @ufo-61:
That de Allende looked full of running – he was a surprise in the CC final. A nice back-up at 12. I like the way he gets over the gain line – even a half gap – and able to get the ball away.
10 Feb 2013, 19:50 pm
@stormersboy-60:
If you have the opportunity please whisper in AC’s ear that Dewald Duvenhage is kuk —– put it strongly to him, dont mince your words… loyalty is a good characteristic to have but he must not push it too far
10 Feb 2013, 19:52 pm
@I am a stormer-63: He is a big solid guy too. He will have to mark either Serfontein or Olivier in a fortnight so I hope he starts putting in some big hit practice.
One criticism of his play on Saturday was that he was very lateral in his running, he must learn to let the ball do more of the work, I’d like to have seen him take the ball up straighter. He’s a natural wing I think so his natural instinct is to try and go round someone.
Bash may be back soon, and he offers options at 12 too, so that place isn’t locked down yet.
10 Feb 2013, 19:53 pm
Not good news at all.Sharks will win a few lineouts at least now.
10 Feb 2013, 19:54 pm
@I am a stormer-63:
yeah stormer… ac should try and leave him at centre… put him on the bench to cover jean and juan… maybe wing in a crisis…
but he’s a big unit and does get use his size to get over the advantage as you say…
i was also impressed with hurdles… methinks bryan has been whispering in his ear… have never seen him so physical and committed to contact and l looking for work before…
if he keeps backing up his early season talk with such displays we’re gonna be very well covered in the back three too… jaco was good… joe too… byran was really hungry and sharp i thought…
yeah of course it was only a warm-up game and it was ‘only’ boland – no disrespect to them…
but most of the guys were looking good… and doing the right things…
not too shabby…
right now i’m a pretty happy camper…!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:55 pm
scuse all the typos…!!
10 Feb 2013, 19:57 pm
@Robzim-64: Haha i would never presume to do that lol.
One of the journo’s asked AC the question of who he favored at 9 at the moment and he was quite noncommittal, saying that he was not certain yet, and some of his decision would depend on the likely make-up of the Bulls team.
There were a few well known writers who put their money on Schreuder. Who actually had a great game at 10 with Groom inside him.
10 Feb 2013, 19:59 pm
Most of the practice sessions are closed this week so I think there is some stuff that AC wants to keep close to his chest. The week of the 18th will offer more media opportunities. I will be posting updates you know where.
10 Feb 2013, 20:00 pm
@Robzim-64:
all 3 scrummies betta look over their shoulders…!!
frederick muller from uwc better get a contract from ac very quickly otherwise he’s gonna torment us for years to come… we simply have to hang onto this kid…!!
a good new-gun for you to interview stormersboy… this kid got serious game…!
10 Feb 2013, 20:02 pm
@stormersboy-70:
thanks bud… i’m sure all the stormers supporters are grateful… !
10 Feb 2013, 20:03 pm
@stormersboy-70:
Where????
10 Feb 2013, 20:11 pm
@stormersboy-69:
Thats interesting… i would go for Groom without even having a second though.
I met AC 2 years ago at a sports function at DF Mallan High School- found him to be very unassuming humble bloke- very underrated as a coach despite having a WC and currie cup winning medal to show.
Re Schreader, Skoppie reckons he is better than Jantjes at no 10 … so we better keep an eye on him
@ufo-71:
I will keep an eye on him… never heard of him before, hopefully they will televise another UWC game……
10 Feb 2013, 20:19 pm
cool rob…
would be very interested in your view of him…
10 Feb 2013, 20:33 pm
@Robzim-74: Yes, I bumped into him as he, Matt P and Fobbie F were running up into their box before the kickoff, and he stopped to say hi and ask how i was. Very impressed.
10 Feb 2013, 20:35 pm
@Robzim-74: Schreuder did well at 10, I’d play him instead of Coleman to be honest. Very physical player with a monster boot.
10 Feb 2013, 20:42 pm
@stormersboy-77:
Is there any news on van Aswegen? I think he still has a contract with the Stormers, not sure though. I really rated him, will be a huge disappointment if he cannot overcome his injuries.
10 Feb 2013, 20:43 pm
Bad news this but that’s how it goes.
Don’t rush him back AC. we have adequate replacements and it just means that he will be more fresh when we get towards the business end having played about 6 less games than he would’ve.
10 Feb 2013, 20:43 pm
@stormersboy-77:
Coleman is a Vodacom cup player imo… he has a lot of flair but when the chips are down he is not the player one would like to depend on.
10 Feb 2013, 20:50 pm
@stormersboy-77:
Agree. Schreuder did well at FH yesterday.
Probably also has something to do with the service he received from Groom.
Interesting that you mention AC is considering using Fourie as a possible no. 6 for the Bulls game. It makes sense since they will probably play Steggies. Against a team like the Sharks, who does not really have a fetcher, he can go another route if he so chooses.
10 Feb 2013, 20:56 pm
@Robzim-78: He’s still in the mix but still undergoing rehab. Currently in 3rd place in the pecking order I believe.
10 Feb 2013, 20:59 pm
@nama1-81: Yes I was quite surprised. I think he was quite impressed with Martin at 2.
The line-outs are an are of concern for AC, he admitted that. I suspect Martin has more to offer there than Deon.
10 Feb 2013, 21:01 pm
@stormersboy-82:
Thks…. it will probably be is last opportunity then….lets see if he has what it takes to make a comeback (and stay injury free).
10 Feb 2013, 21:04 pm
@Robzim-80:
I agree, there’s no sense of authority, wgich is vital in a 10. The guy’s a talented footballer but lacks the personality to control a game.
10 Feb 2013, 21:08 pm
@nama1-81:
If the Sharks don’t have a fetcher it’s the best reason to play one against them.
10 Feb 2013, 21:10 pm
strange that there is no report on the sharks injuries.
captain keegan daniel – knee injury – 6-8 weeks at best(possibly the whole season).
tim whitehead – fractured arm.
tera mthembu – groin?
actually, it’s not so strange.
10 Feb 2013, 21:14 pm
@David-85:
Yeah, it just seems as if there is something holding him back. whether it is a lack of self belief or a fear for making mistakes, I don’t know. He just does not come across as someone who can take the game by the scruff of the neck and runs with it…making things happen.
10 Feb 2013, 21:19 pm
@David-86:
Ook weer waar.
Anybody watching Miracle Rising on the History channel?
10 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
@charo-87:
Seeing that the sharks are such overwhelming favourites to win the Super competition and have such great depth in resources i guess the captains of this site reckoned the loss of B graded players like Daniels and whitehead is not going to make a difference and is therefore is not newsworthy.
Are u otherwise OK Charo? Stil in Surf City?
10 Feb 2013, 21:30 pm
@Ufo, Robzim…. Frederick Muller is a star in the making. Pdv saw him at clublevel and got him a bursary at UWC, the boy is a natural 9. Watch him shine this year and hope like hell that ac contracts hime before those Mercenaryjonnycomelatelys or those inbredbluebastards.
10 Feb 2013, 21:44 pm
@Slappes-91:
I see PdV moved Muller to flyhalf for tomorrow nights game versus UKZN.. Sadly the match wont be televised… it’s always a bit of a schlept to get down to a rugby field on a Monday night
10 Feb 2013, 21:47 pm
hey slappes… yeah I agree fully there… seems have everything required for a really top 9…
plz tell Pieter to whisper in allister’s ear… this is one player we just have to keep in Cape Town…
10 Feb 2013, 21:47 pm
@Robzim-90:
@Slappes-91:
do i sniff a whiff of nervousness out of the backyard of the most incredible union in the land?
after all, we humble supporters of the minor teams have to go on bended knee before addressing you exalted folk.
hell, even one of your kind manages to deride the sharks in her nick – does that display some sort of insecurity or what?
was in your town last week – as beautiful and organised as ever.
only one problem – the friggen wind never stopped howling.
reminded me of bloodshot eyes after a day of surfing in a galeforce offshore.
10 Feb 2013, 21:48 pm
No biggy really.
You guys will find another lock, let him play 5 test matches and call him the best in the world as well……simple
10 Feb 2013, 21:51 pm
hehehe charo…
and too snobby to mix with us local yokels….
so who really has to go on vended knee…?
@Hurricane-95: nah we have the 2 best locks already. Bekker and Etsebeth. In tandem you guys will tremble in their presence!
hehehe charo…
and too snobby to mix with us local yokels….
so who really has to go on bended knee…?
10 Feb 2013, 21:52 pm
@Hurricane-95: Its not just us Hurricane the esteemed and wise rugby writer Stephen Jones reckons he can be better than Bakkies.
10 Feb 2013, 21:52 pm
Currently 14 all Fiji vs NZ Las Vegas 7′s
10 Feb 2013, 21:53 pm
oh shucks mobi Keo told me first post wasn’t
10 Feb 2013, 21:54 pm
@stormersboy-97:
the trembling has already started.
@jet jungle-99:
Well there ya have it.
Stephen Jones that rated Eben but did not rate Brad thorn at all….he knows all
10 Feb 2013, 21:54 pm
extra time, sudden death
10 Feb 2013, 21:57 pm
@Hurricane-102: There’s a conspiracy theory doing the rounds that he do not like the all blacks.
10 Feb 2013, 21:59 pm
Didn’t Estebeth have ankle problems last year? Is this a re-occurrence of that injury?
10 Feb 2013, 22:00 pm
NZ through in sudden death.
Sa up now.
10 Feb 2013, 22:01 pm
@charo-94:
@ufo-98:
Charo only mixes with skopskiet.
Fish hoek old boys club I think…. hard for outsiders to break into
10 Feb 2013, 22:02 pm
@jet jungle-104:

Yeah i heard that too.
10 Feb 2013, 22:03 pm
@ufo-98:
humblest apologies again ufo…
but…. i have a valid excuse.
needed to chaperone a scottish colleague around the mining indaba which included meetings and dinners – all around the city area.
didn’t get near to your part of the peninsular – and didn’t get time to see my boet or inlaws either.
next time – i promise.
10 Feb 2013, 22:03 pm
@stormersboy-103:
Sudden death to a Kiwi means his wife has a headache coming on, and he’s got 60 seconds to satisfy himself.
10 Feb 2013, 22:05 pm
@Ufo, Robzim… Yeah pieter has been busy in off season searching and contracting promising, talented youngsters in the west cape. If not for him these laaities would never have afforded a tertiary education, plus now theyre getting exposure. So now we await those dirtban-vultures to come looking for real talent cause f@rk knows theres nothing happening in their esteemed rugby union.
@Hurricane-102:
stephen jones is quite an expert in the world of rugby union forward play.
or so he says.
hehehe rob… yeah I know… we not good enough hey…?
just teasing charo…
I know you we’re busy bud…
heck you picked a windy week though…
10 Feb 2013, 22:07 pm
@David-110: @David-110:
10 Feb 2013, 22:07 pm
South Africa 7 – 9 up against Samoa
10 Feb 2013, 22:09 pm
@Slappes-111:
you’re trying too hard boet.
the word is dirtbin – not dirtban.
guess you lot didn’t complain when you had skinstad, grant, stransky, muir and dixon in the hoops?
10 Feb 2013, 22:09 pm
slappes…
kudos to pieter… happy it’s us benefitting from his experience and expertise…
Frederick also spoke exceptionally well when he won MoM… all round good player good guy… seriously hope we get him in the WP set up soon…
10 Feb 2013, 22:10 pm
7 all
10 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
half time
10 Feb 2013, 22:12 pm
@ufo-113:
No need for your earlier apology this morning, I didn’t even consider your comments aggressive. I’ve too much respect for you to take umbrage.
Anyway, I’m off to bed. Cheers guys.
10 Feb 2013, 22:14 pm
slappes… more importantly… really great that porter has got these young guys tertiary bursaries…
he’s changing lives right there….
10 Feb 2013, 22:18 pm
thanks David… sincerely appreciate your words…
respect is reciprocated 100 per cent…
cheers… and g’nite
10 Feb 2013, 22:20 pm
porter = pieter
damn autospell and small mobile keypads…!!!
10 Feb 2013, 22:24 pm
Great defence there by the bokkies.
Sudden death.
10 Feb 2013, 22:24 pm
@Charo… Lighten up boet and I prefer Dirtban or even DurtBan. @Ufo, agree hes changing lives and hes really enjoying working with youngsters, its always been his strongpoint.
10 Feb 2013, 22:27 pm
SA through to the final.
10 Feb 2013, 22:28 pm
Bokke over Samoa.
SA vs NZ final.
10 Feb 2013, 22:28 pm
well done blitzies…!!
10 Feb 2013, 22:30 pm
slappes…
indeed… all strength to him…
10 Feb 2013, 23:03 pm
This the direct result of playing Etsebeth in the wrong position in the wrong role both by national coach and by his provincial coach.
Etsebeth should never have been cast as hard man enforcer he should have been playing the looser athletic no.5 locking role from the start of his senior career why are these coaches all such blind imbeciles they’ve effectively reduced his effectiveness and increased his injury risk which has now caught up with the inevitable result.
Idiotic player identification and management.
10 Feb 2013, 23:44 pm
@skopdiekan-130: Yes, look at the guy playing at 5. Gets through the season with no trouble.
Oh wait….
It has nothing to do with it. He landed badly.
He has always wanted to play 4. He’s a natural. If he was a 5 he’d still be sitting on the bench.
10 Feb 2013, 23:56 pm
Etsebeth is not a natural 4 he’s playing the wrong game and wrong role. Elstadt is a 4 Bressler can play 4. Etsebeth should have been playing at 5 since the start of his senior career. Meyer got it wrong and so has Coetsee.
11 Feb 2013, 02:02 am
@skopdiekan-132: Well then, thank The Lord we have you to save us from the collective ignorance of Springbok coaches.
11 Feb 2013, 02:04 am
@stormersboy-131: 5s don’t land on their feet apparently.
11 Feb 2013, 03:31 am
Elstadt at 4. God help the Bulls.
11 Feb 2013, 06:36 am
What did Tim Noakes say about player burn-out…hmmm.
Reechee McCaw is getting managed nicely by the Keewees….but NO..South Africans have to get their pound of flesh out of their players to make that money talk pappie.
11 Feb 2013, 06:42 am
sorry skop… but this injury has nothing to do with what you assert…
happened right in front of me and I was 3 rows from.the front…
it was their throw in at the lineout… we all wondered whether he would poach their ball as he had done to so well last year…
he launched himself sideways and went up high… but from his launch his body was tilted to his right and he came down still tilted with all his weight on that one foot… and immediately crumpled in pain…
we all said, ‘oh no… that looks bad’…
after the game I said I feared it would be a serious injury… and so it has proven..,
but it really had nothing to do with and ‘enforcer role’ business…
11 Feb 2013, 06:52 am
elstadt was really really good at 7… the player of the game even tough he only played the first half… he carried it up a la juan smith (yes I know he is not juan and I’m not suggesting that…) but here is a 7 more like juan and plays mpre like him than any other local 7… and if he is giving the opportunity to settle and make his mark he will be a more natural successor to juan than any other available loose forward…
would be a great pity to waste his talent at 4…
select don armand at 4…
11 Feb 2013, 06:55 am
congratulations to the Las Blitzies…!!
first tournament of the season where they actually played to their potential…
well done…!
11 Feb 2013, 07:01 am
Yeah watched the game. Very entertaining stuff, great showing after needing extra time against Samoa
11 Feb 2013, 07:08 am
Yeah Well done Blitzbokke. Our boys always seem to do well at the Las Vegas Tournament….I wonder why? We got a Cup win last season or the season before there also.
Big blow this for Stormers but we have very good replacements. Armand or Elstadt?
Armand played well in the Currie cup at no.4.
11 Feb 2013, 07:11 am
I would like a loose trio of Kolisi, Burger and Vermeulen once Burger is fit. So I will stick Elstadt at 4.
11 Feb 2013, 07:11 am
yeah sasuke this is our second win there…
armand at 4 elstadt at 7 for me… for the reasons stated above…
11 Feb 2013, 07:15 am
We have the top three locks in SA so can cover this loss. A two month break will do Eben a lot of good and set him up to play throughout the rest of the season.
11 Feb 2013, 07:18 am
@Sasuke-142: Deon, Kolisi and Eldstadt is the best we have as a trio. Rhodes to play 4.
11 Feb 2013, 07:18 am
but schalk isn’t fit… and I don’t think will play against the bulls…
and as he hasn’t played yet should maybe come off the bench…
11 Feb 2013, 07:22 am
@ufo-146: When will Schalk be ready? Second game against the Sharks?
@garth-145: Kolisi at 8 I take it?
Oh yes forgot about Rhodes….we are really well stocked in the Lock and Loose forward department. Ruan Botha is also still there.
11 Feb 2013, 07:25 am
Well done Blitzbokke.
Well done to these fellas…. made my morning this.
http://www.news24.com/Green/News/3-poachers-shot-dead-in-Kruger-20130210
11 Feb 2013, 07:26 am
not sure bud…
11 Feb 2013, 07:26 am
damn…damn…damn….
This makes the trip to Loftus and Kings Park a little more interesting ….
AC will need to deliberate carefully ….
11 Feb 2013, 07:39 am
Did you guys check out the new sarugbymag website? I think it launched today.
11 Feb 2013, 07:43 am
For all the laatslapers, time is running out quickly now…
Come join my Super Rugby prediction game on SuperBru! It’s free and loads of fun. Just click here:
http://www.superbru.com/superrugby/pool.php?p=11047241
Pool name: Hore set for hefty ban…
Pool code: busycoon
11 Feb 2013, 07:47 am
@Sasuke-151:
Looks just like this one but without the little gnome’s face…
11 Feb 2013, 07:49 am
Bwhahahahaha!!!!
“Blessed with incredible talent that includes SA Rugby magazine editor Simon Borchardt and writers of the calibre of Jon Cardinelli, Ryan Vrede and Gareth Duncan, among others…”
Anyway, I signed up.
11 Feb 2013, 07:54 am
@Slartibartfast-153: hehehe
11 Feb 2013, 07:55 am
@Slartibartfast-154:
bit much dont you think.
I wonder how long it will take before this place is empty.
11 Feb 2013, 07:56 am
well done Blitzies.
11 Feb 2013, 07:58 am
@Sasuke-156:
Well we never came here for the quality of the articles but if keo is going to give us one lame article a day it won’t take very long. First impression is that it does look and feel the same as keo so we will have to wait and see.
11 Feb 2013, 08:03 am
@Sasuke-156:
well for one it’ll be moderated with racism/bigotry/offensive language/ certain types of flaming/certain types of trolling not being allowed ostensibly.
so either this will see it grow a following of ‘everybody other than the keo regulars’ or it will end up being JAKSW with a minimal to nil blogging community participating.
and dont we have enough of those already…
11 Feb 2013, 08:11 am
just had a look.
first things first, i would rather have boring power tools looking back at me on the left and right hand sides of my screen than a ridiculous looking sharkie on the right and an equally ridiculous looking stompie on the left. wtf?
i dont like to have men looking back at me this way
let alone this
i would rather adverts or pretty girls
will try reading an article tomorrow maybe
11 Feb 2013, 08:13 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-160:
11 Feb 2013, 08:19 am
Good morning
Nama
Ufo
Stormersboy
Pedigreed Lady
(Good grief all Stormer supporters)
Bakkies & Gunther
11 Feb 2013, 08:22 am
@Sasuke-147: Kolisi at 8. If Louw comes back I’d go for Deon(6), Louw(7) and Kolisi(8) with Eben(5) and Eldstadt(4) at lock.
11 Feb 2013, 08:22 am
hey there rye…
how you doing bud…?
11 Feb 2013, 08:25 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-159:
There is a feature to block bloggers.
11 Feb 2013, 08:27 am
@ryecatcher-162: PS deluded bunch.
@ryecatcher-162:
morning Rye,
Dawn is not a Stormer
she’s with the good guys
@ufo-164: Good Txs.You?
11 Feb 2013, 08:28 am
@Predawn-165:
usable by who?
the moderator or the bloggers themselves?
it could work, or it could be the very reason the site never takes off.
11 Feb 2013, 08:29 am
cool rye good to hear…
always good thanks…
attitude is a choice…
11 Feb 2013, 08:34 am
well this is bad news for the breezers.
because we all know that bekker will break after one or two games and then the locking crisis will be on.
luckily AC wont have to whine about not being allowed to change the rules to suit his team as it has happened early enough in the season.
11 Feb 2013, 08:43 am
@ryecatcher-162:
Ja thanks for leaving me out…!
11 Feb 2013, 08:47 am
Sorry Pal.Good morning and an especially great day wished for you.
11 Feb 2013, 08:48 am
173 for STARTIBARFAST
11 Feb 2013, 08:51 am
@The Rangerman-171: Hello Rangerman.Have a great day and spear some good fish.Regards
11 Feb 2013, 08:54 am
@The Rangerman-171: Elstadt, Rhodes, Steenkamp, Ruan Botha, Don Armand.
We are fine at lock. But thanks for the concern.
@ryecatcher-173:
Ja I am watching you…
And a great day to you too.
@ryecatcher-173: Morning fella.
11 Feb 2013, 09:00 am
@The Rangerman-171:
Sheeky.
11 Feb 2013, 09:04 am
@ryecatcher-162:
Hola Ryeman.
11 Feb 2013, 09:04 am
@ryecatcher-162: Howdy Rye
I hope you are well my friend.
As for this otherfuckingsite. I reckon most of the folk on here last exactly 2 hours before “Youarebannedfromthissite” emails are snet out en-masse.
And why would I want to block someone who irritatesthelivingbejeesusandshyteouttame? Howfuckingboring.
11 Feb 2013, 09:09 am
@The Rangerman-171: Thankyeverymuchforcaring. I think we might be covered. In fact…..if as you predict Bekker is crocked at a later stage, Eben will be back and can play at 5……with Elstadt at 4, and a loose trio of Burger, Kolisi, Vermeulen (Carr MUST get plensch game time).
Add to that Armand, Rhodes, Steenkamp (not my fave….but seems to have HTFU a little?). vd Sluys etc.
After that we are in sh y te. For now: not so much.
11 Feb 2013, 09:10 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-181:
guess who wont be hearing back from S_L, Charo, Mr Black, Puma, Sharksgirl, Dusky, HG, et al….
11 Feb 2013, 09:13 am
if the Springboks lose in the lineouts its basically the selfish you know who’s fault.
11 Feb 2013, 09:16 am
Bad news for Stormers.
Sharks lost a couple of players as well.
11 Feb 2013, 09:16 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183:
I would be gutted Bakkies….broken…..inconsolable…..devastated…bewildered…..feelings of betrayal…..
To each his or her own Bakkies…. I prefer it when there are conflicting opinions and a little spice. I find folk in general (in SA) way toofuckingprecious about what is said at the best of times. Everyone walking on egg shells ‘scared’ to offend etc. (I’m not talking slander and hate speech – different ball game)
Tohellwiththat.
I celebrate diversity, which inlcudes rugby diversity…so there will always be a place in my heart for the kakbiasedandtotallydelusionalandattimesridiculousfuckingopinions belonging to the guppie fan boys. Always.
11 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183:
Your post makes no sense.
11 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-184: ja that Bismark fella.
11 Feb 2013, 09:25 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186:
@Mr Black-187:
pleasr refer post #186
@stormersboy-188:
seriously though, i and many others have voiced this concern before.
and look what happens… it happens…
11 Feb 2013, 10:00 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186:
exactly… banning people is not the answer…
this site is all about diversity and is more representative of south africa across the board than any other rugby site IMO…
from conservative to liberal… black, coloured, white, asian… south africans, kiwis, aus, english, scot etc.. resident saffas, expat saffas… saffa lovers, saffa haters…
it is not a cocooned little enclave where you just hear what you want to hear… you’re gonna hear things that you don’t like, that hopefully challenge you and make you think…
but you gotta be on your toes… fools are not suffered lightly here… make silly posts and you’re gonna be told about it in no uncertain terms… we’ve all been on the receiving end of that…
keo just has to get a few writers and then normal service will resume… dunno what all the panic is about…
although some up-to-dating and innovation would be a good idea… keo set many trends and standards when it started… but if you’re standing still you’re going backwards… so some creative thinking, strategising and developments would be a good idea in this time of change…
11 Feb 2013, 19:42 pm
@ufo-190:
Ja. People are nice to lesbians on this site. I feel assepted by most.
12 Feb 2013, 07:02 am
keurboom@191
yeah kb… forgive my oversight…
straight and gayandlesbian people too…!!
although my point was that all these diverse characters are found on this website… it doesn’t mean everyone is tolerant of everyone else…
but I’m pretty sure most do, otherwise they wouldn’t be here…