Bok Juan Smith retires

Juan Smith was a giant of a Bok player. As a person he was even larger in stature. I’ll remember him for more than just being a great rugby player.

Smith quit the game today because he accepted his Achilles would continue to restrict his ability to deliver what his heart desired. He was honest with himself, which is the character that typified his time within rugby.

He has for me always been the unsung heroes of Bok rugby and was among the players of the tournament.

His desire to contribute to a successful Rugby World Cup challenge forced an early return to the field in 2011 but all it did was ensure he would not play at the highest level again.

There will be no bitterness from Smith. There will be no self pity. It is not his style.

Former Bok legend Andre Venter used to call him ‘Die Yster’; the man of steel.

Bob Skinstad, taking the DJ microphone in Tobby Joe’s in Port Elizabeth in 2003, told people that the Boks were in the VIP area and if there was only one player they should meet that night it was a player called Juan Smith.

‘This guy said Skinstad will become one of the greats of Bok rugby.’

Smith ruptured his Achilles in the opening round of the 2011 Super Rugby season.

He had four operations in the last 18 months to make it back and even though he played two of the Cheetahs Super Rugby pre-season games he said he knew the Achilles was too vulnerable to take the demands of professional rugby.

He told Die Volksblad Newspaper: ‘Were it not for the fans and my family, then I probably would have made the decision to retire much earlier. It was the fans who gave me the courage to – after several disappointing operations – attempt to make a comeback to the rugby field this year.

‘I appreciate all the support I received through the years from my family, Bok- and especially Free State supporters.’

He played 69 Tests and won the Tri Nations, the World Cup and the British and Irish Lions series.

269 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

• 101.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-97: Now that is something for the Nostradamus followers….. wasn’t he supposed to be the last one?

• 102.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Quite ironic that I read a report yesterday where he talks about his comeback and his farming.
    He mentions that someone suggested a special boot with the back cut slightly and how that helped and went further saying that he would like to represent the Boks again form and fitness allowing, and he also hinted on maybe finishing his career in Europe.
    Then the same evening the story about his retirement broke.
    Very contrasting articles on the same day.

• 103.garth: Reply to this comment

Testrugby team (not sure about any injured players.)
    FR Keven Mealamu BLU 0 0 $1,197,000 SELL
    FR Deon Fourie STM 0 0 $1,140,555 SELL
    LK Andries Bekker STM 0 0 $1,199,500 SELL
    LK Pieter-Steph du Toit SHK 0 0 $550,235 SELL
    LF Siya Kolisi STM 0 0 $795,500 SELL
    LF Arno Botha BUL 0 0 $550,000 SELL
    HV Johan Goosen CHE 0 0 $1,177,855 SELL
    HV Dan Carter CRU 0 0 $1,295,000 SELL
    CT Jan Serfontein BUL 0 0 $512,555 SELL
    CT Franscois Steyn SHK 0 0 $1,223,500 SELL
    OB Willie Le Roux CHE 0 0 $995,500 SELL
    OB Israel Dagg CRU 0 0 $1,215,000 SELL

• 104.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-100: Stop right there in the name of our collective sanity!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You don’t want to wake the sleeping giant of conspiracy…Skop. He slumbers…..leave him be.

• 105.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-103: Nah wait :) Too much fun to be had with this :)

http://www.davidicke.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1061311623#post1061311623

• 106.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Had a chat with Juan at Kimberly airport in May 2011 and he was on his way to Cape Town for PDV’s 50 man RWC training squad. His leg had a plastic cast and he seemed so optimistic.

Cruciate ligament and Achilles are the career enders.

Hope Duminy recovers.

• 107.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-96: Here, I’ll kick off… Beat this mofos…

The Hardest farker ever to wear the Bok Jersey was none other than…

A Rhodesian Soutie…

Andy MacDonald – Springbok Prop in the 1960s

“Andy had come from his farm in Zambia to meet with Meads and Lochore and other old hands. We all gazed at him in awe because this was the man who a couple of years before had survived an encounter with a lion. He had gone shooting with native bearers and wounded a lion. He then committed, according to African lore, the absolute folly of trailing the beast. As he came upon it, his attention was monetarily distracted when one of the boys took off at high port. The lion clawed him as it knocked him down and, all told, Andy’s body needed 480 stitches when he was taken to hospital. Survival was incredible enough. The great drama was that while MacDonald’s head was actually in the lion’s mouth, he still had the presence of mind to reach in his hand to grab the tongue. He had his thumb and one finger left of that hand, the others are stumps. It was while he was in this position, helpless, poised on the brink of old inevitable eternity if the lion tighten its jaws that the greatest drama of all occurred. All of a sudden the lion relaxed its hold. It stood and moved eight yards from him. It stood again and then it dropped dead.”

Tiaan Strauss allegedly tackling Wildebeest in his youth is positively farken g.ay compared to the above soutpiel….

• 108.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104: Ed Zachery my dear….. ;)

I was thinking of that exact text when I posted it.

I’m off to cash in my pension…..

• 109.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-99:
    oh dear… is this your ‘Pierre Spies’ moment..?..

dust in the wind, Pedi… all he was is dust in the wind…

• 110.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Really sad to see him go. He was one of the greatest Bok forwards ever to wear the jersey. Above and beyond his performances on the field he was a fine ambassador for Bok rugby. He let his playing do the talking, something many of today’s youth would do well to learn from.

Farewell and thank you for your contribution Juan Smith.

• 111.Guns: Reply to this comment

He will be missed. True geeat of the game and bok legend. Pity he wont play this last season but a career to be proud of.

• 112.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-106: So what! Juan Smith beat 2009 lions.

• 113.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108: Nah. Already had my Pierre Spies moment this morning. Plyometric training, Box Jumps (Pierre’s speciality ) and a landing that went horribly wrong……. :)

This was my Bieber moment for th day – rock star ;)

@Heavens Game-106: What did he do on the rugga field? Just asking….because what he did there amounts to survival and fight or flight. It means he is mentally tough. (as are 2 year olds/geriatrics and skinny string beans who manage to perform amazing feats when in survival mode….)
    Tough buggars on the rugga field is the topic?

• 114.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

nominees for 50 HARDEST BOKS

BAKKIES
    MARK ANDREWS
    ANDRE VENTER
    CORNE KRIGE
    JUAN SMITH
    SCHALK
    HENRY HONNIBAL
    JOHN SMIT
    OS
    RUBEN KRUGER
    AJ VENTER
    JAPIE MULDER
    PIETER MULLER
    CHRIS RUSSOUW (THE HOOKER)
    DALTON
    WIKUS V HEERDEN

sure i forgot a lot of guys please add just some guys i saw play i who i would’ve put in

• 115.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-97: Coincides? I don’t think it is a coincidence. I knew Juan would head off to Europe.

• 116.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-106:
    Johan Ackerman’s Lions are more brave just by pitching up for training in the middle of Jo’burg.
    That takes pure guts.

• 117.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-106: haha that is an epic tale! if its true absolutely the stuff of legends, doubt anyone can beat him for the nr1 spot!

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112:

you’re right, Bieber moment is more appropriate,
    he certainly does have the hair and baby face thing going for him… and a very graceful swan dive.

• 119.Eekay: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-113:
    Jan Boland Coetzee

• 120.David: Reply to this comment

Just received an e-mail advertising SA Rugbys new website. Strangely it came as a “no reply” from keo.co.za.

• 121.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-116: Strues Bob… Cheers :lol:

• 122.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-113:
    is it a coincidence Bakkies is at the start of that list? :)

• 123.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-113: After MacDonald… The hardest…

1. Ruben Kruger… legend… Scored a try with fractured leg/ankle with players piggy backing him on way to tryline…
    2. Lood Muller… Played a few games at tighthead with a feared broken neck…
    3. Lem… Also played with a fckedup neck…

Honourable mention : Buck Shelford, not a Bok granted, but lost a ballas during a game… and then continued…

Hard Muthas all…

• 124.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-100:

Well according to the Prophecies of St Malachi:

‘The Prophecies of St. Malachy_ by Peter Bander republished by TAN Books consists of comments on the saint’s life and then his prophecies regarding the future popes from the twelfth century till the end of time. Saint Malachy of Armagh, Ireland was an eleventh century bishop and saint who died in the hands of Saint Bernard of Clairvaux and who foretold the day and hour of his own death.

According to legend, Saint Malachy had a series of visions while visiting Rome which consisted of the prophecies regarding all future popes till the end of time. These prophecies consist of brief Latin descriptions of all the popes, which have born an uncanny resemblance to various aspects of each subsequent pope’s reign.

Many have scoffed at these prophecies, and some regard them to be forgeries, however they continue to hold up to scrutiny even into these modern times. Malachy predicted 112 popes ahead of his time until the destruction of the Church of Rome and the end of the world. These predictions are especially relevant to these modern times because depending on how the prophecies are interpreted, it may be that we are living near the end of days.

According to the prophecies, the deceased Pope John Paul II was “De Labore Solis”, and the soon to be elected future pope will be “Gloria Olivae”.

This pope will be followed by the last pope “Petrus Romanus”.

Malachy has written “In the final persecution of the Holy Roman Church there will reign Peter the Roman, who will feed his flock among many tribulations; after which the seven-hilled city will be destroyed and the dreadful Judge will judge the people.” Some have interpreted this to mean that following Pope John Paul II there are only two popes left. However, others more wary of this interpretation have suggested that “Petrus Romanus” need not follow directly after “Gloria Olivae” but there may be a gap. This interpretation seems to make sense.

These prophecies also predict many of the antipopes who reigned along with the popes but who were deemed not canonically elected by the church. With the death of Pope John Paul II and much speculation regarding his successor, as well as with the events of the Second Vatican Council and the subsequent crisis in the church, these prophecies are proving particularly important to consider. They have enjoyed immense popularity and consider to do so as we near the coming papal election. Indeed, it may be that we are living near the end of days as predicted by the prophets.

• 125.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who are these people

2.BarryJoBester said:
    11 Feb 2013, 20:49 pm
    RT @keocoza: Bok Juan Smith quits : Juan Smith was a giant of a Bok player. As a person he was even larger in stature. I’l… http://t.c
    3.peajon said:
    11 Feb 2013, 20:51 pm
    RT @keocoza: Bok Juan Smith quits : Juan Smith was a giant of a Bok player. As a person he was even larger in stature. I’l… http://t.c
    4.llewellyn2758 said:
    11 Feb 2013, 20:52 pm

• 126.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-121: haha no its not from the guys ive seen he would be nr.1 my opinion off course

• 127.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

My Hard men 15

1. MacDonald
    2. Bullet
    3. Lood
    4. Adri Geldenhuys
    5. Bakkies
    6. Ruben Kruger
    7. Andre Venter
    8. Keegan Daniel
    9. Robert Du Preez
    10. Lem
    11. Ray Mordt
    12. Mannetjies
    13. Helgard Muller
    14. James Small
    15. Andre Stoop (Not a Bok, but the hardest FB in CC)

Fight or Play the game – these okes will take most and fuckemup

• 128.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-122: wow awesome stories never heard it before seems like the saying they don’t make them like they used too anymore is true after all. a bit uncalled for to bring up the Ruben injury again, just saw it play in my mind again horrible, was in nz if i remember correctly

• 129.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-119:
    look, i’m being sincere when i say this.
    i do not like having two men staring back at me the whole time.
    that it’s a Sharkie and Stormpie is incidental.
    its unnerving

• 130.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-127: Wasn’t to be gruesome, just to show how farken hard Ruben, though unassuming to a fault, actually was…

Will never forget how he and Wiese out stared the greatest AB side – though not RWC winners – in the haka before the Final of the greated RWC…

May his Legend grow and live forever…

• 131.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-129: totally agree, plus lets not forget he did score in the final Bevan was crazy not 2 award that, just watched it the other day again ball was def on the ground only thing maybe wrong was obstruction

• 132.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

juan, you are one of my all time bok legends, may you find happiness in whatever you do next.

p.s. you were the player of the tourney rwc 2007. no doubt.

• 133.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-129: does the name rex greyling mean anything to you HG?

• 134.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hans Wlomeyer-130: You are right, but it wasn’t Welsh Bevan in the final… It was English Ed Morrison…

But yeah, Ruben did score without a shadow of doubt…

• 135.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, my old man was telling me on sunday how when he played collegians he took a side swipe punch from bj van zyl that nearly knocked him out in a club game.

they both played for the same team and van zyl was lining up someone on the opposing team at the time haha.

• 136.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-132: Hard farking farmer banana boy… :lol:

• 137.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-135: haha, he was in the same year as my old man at kearsney.

they both played 1st team in std 8.

rex the center, my old man at 8.

trix truter, charlie sawyer, bj van zyl, malcolm swanby etc etc.

those were the players my old man was in teams with but after school he was a lock.

• 138.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-133: o yea, whoops sorry don’t know why i thought it was Bevan, there was a bit of a fuss around Morrison before the final cause he sent Small off before, Balie Swart may warrant a mention 2 playing the semi and final with broken ribs (tight head against an ab scrum with broken ribs must be pretty uncomfortable)

• 139.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

good times good times.

kinda makes doggies usual k uuuuuuuuuuuuuu k about banana boys/sharks fans being johnny come latelies but maybe she is a relative newcomer to the sport of rugby because the natal rugby history is old and our supporters have generations of affiliation to the team.

then again, the cape bubble probably made her deaf to the fact that louis luyt allowed natal into the top tier of rugby due to the fact that kings park was consistently the second biggest rugby crowd in the country in the mid to late 80′s.

• 140.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-134: lol… I know of one instance where a team mate, a loosie, cuffed his own hooker in the midst of a bit of tight loose – not quite a ruck, not quite a maul – a bit of a mess… Said hooker in rage, stood up and swung the biggest haymaker you ever saw since Mendez on Ackford, and cut down his own lock… Smoked.

• 141.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-135: werent you a collegians player HG?

• 142.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Bookmaker Paddy Power
    9/4 Cardinal Peter Turkson (1)
    5/2 Cardinal Marc Ouellet (2)
    7/2 Cardinal Francis Arinze (3)

Bookmaker Ladbrokes
    5/2 Cardinal Peter Turkson (1)
    3/1 Cardinal Marc Ouellet (2)
    4/1 Cardinal Francis Arinze (3)

• 143.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-136: Your Old Man also from East Griqualand… Or was this Collegians team mates…

• 144.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-139: was it bj van zyl?

because if it was then it was my old man who got smoked :lol:

he laughs about it now but he got free drinks from van zyl the rest of the night hahahahahaha.

although the old man reckons it was a clenched fist backhand swing that connected as he arrived at the ruck :lol:

• 145.Hans Wlomeyer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-135: my friend just made a good point about MacDonald, the guy who ran away mustve gotten a pretty good klap when MacDonald got home doubt the story ended with the lions death!

• 146.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-142: nah, a durban boy. collegians teammates haha.

• 147.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-140: Nope, not Durban Collegians or Collegians Tech as it was called for a while…

Maybe the other better team with College in it – the current runaway Club Champs…

Certainly not those poeftahs where Hugh Reece and Tony Watson played with the funny club near the Engen service station :wink:

• 148.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Bookmaker Paddy Power
    9/4 Cardinal Peter Turkson (1)
    5/2 Cardinal Marc Ouellet (2)
    7/2 Cardinal Francis Arinze (3)

Bookmaker Ladbrokes
    5/2 Cardinal Peter Turkson (1)
    3/1 Cardinal Marc Ouellet (2)
    4/1 Cardinal Francis Arinze (3)

Interesting then is that 2 out of the early top 3 are african, that is, not from europe.

Well not too long from now we will see the smoke from the chimney from the City of Seven Hills…

• 149.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-143: Lol… and excellent story… Not sure of the players involved…

Know a good one about two brothers playing for opposite sides – one a flank, another a hooker… boet flank clubbed hooker and boetie hooker turned, swung and connected with unfortunate ref…

Fark me, what is it with hookers… Rabid little fellahs all… :lol:

• 150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-145: Some hard bu.ggers from East Griqualand… Also some big history from there too – Ebbo Ba.stard an old, famous name in NRU, came from there… and a few others too

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.