Watson leads Kings in show of Force
12 Feb 2013
The Kings line-up to front Griquas is what will face the Force in their Super Rugby debut.
The inspirational Luke Watson is back as captain following a lengthy injury lay-off and the side is considerably stronger than that which has played in previous warm-ups.
Along with Watson, other big names that get starts include Bandise Maku in the front row, Steven Sykes getting a run in the second row and the backline getting a boost with Demetri Catrakilis running the show with Andries Struass and Ronnie Cooke teaming up in midfield.
The bench includes foreigners in Hadleigh Parkes, Nicolas Vergallo and the re-imported ex-Sharks and Bulls player Dan Adongo.
Kings: 15 SP Marais, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Siyanda Grey, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornel du Preez , 5 Steve Sykes, 4 David Bulbring, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Substitutes : Edgar Marutlulle, BG Uys, Jaco Engels, Daniel Adongo, Devin Oosthuizen, Nicolas Vergallo, George Whitehead, Hadleigh Parkes, Marcello Sampson, Johan Herbst.
By Richard Ferguson

285 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All
13 Feb 2013, 01:18 am
anyway, champions league is done & this is going nowhere…
cheers fellas..
13 Feb 2013, 01:19 am
@ShaunB-244:
What should be done then considering what I have just explained and your flippen and dismissive response? You obviously respond the way you do because this media affords you some annonimity.
13 Feb 2013, 03:27 am
this team and their chairman is going to be the cornerstone of Keos salvation in regards the split from HSM..
should ensure plenty of hits and will enable keo to attract new advertisers..
need more money keo, just write another article on the Kings and count the dollars
I hope they do well this year, if for no other reason then to stick it to those who seem to blame the Kings for SARUs ineptitude…
thats where the anger should be directed, but then we antipodeans realise just how amateurish SA rugby administration is..
13 Feb 2013, 06:02 am
Die witous huil nog steeds oor cheeky en Luke en die politiese inmeng in rugby in oos kaap
Hulle wil he dat hul godsdiens rugby terug beweeg net soos dit in Danie Craven se tyd was, of ten minste in Louis Luyt se tyd.
Kannie so wees, dit moet voorentoe vorder al wil hulle hul hakkies in die stof traagies laat sleep die dringende noordsaak van transformasie in alle sport sal voordeur tot daar geen verskil is tussen die witous wie so tragedies huil oor hulle heilige godsdiens wat besig is om in te stort en die swartetjies wie glo dat rugby net n gawe sport is wat hulle ook wil mos saamspeel.
13 Feb 2013, 06:28 am
Kia Kaha…Te Tima Kingi…Kia Mau te Wehi
13 Feb 2013, 06:57 am
Since when did Keo become such an *** kisser to Cheeky? (The inspirational Luke Watson is back as captain)
13 Feb 2013, 07:06 am
@PhilT-256:
Since forever…more so since they became business partners a while back.
13 Feb 2013, 08:06 am
@Peter Mkata-252: Just the same as it affords your friend “Transformation” anonymity?
13 Feb 2013, 08:29 am
@ShaunB-232: You should know the story by now; it’s far easier to sit there and blame apartheid while holding your begging bowl out.
13 Feb 2013, 08:33 am
@skopdiekan-31:
All the Puke Twatson pom-pom boys praising their comrade and the idiot father yet conveniently not mentioning the four foreigners.
13 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@BrumbiesBoy-259: do you know wtf a begging bowl even looks like cause that silver spoon stuck in your pompous pathetic mouth has blighted your vision and you insensitive sense of humanity
@Predawn-260: which four foreigners.. are you not a foreigner yourself pretending to be a soldier for righteousness .. which type righteousness you uphold… the white is right kind? Just like this other little pompous displaced silver spoon fed twit who is most definitely sitting his prissy white arse in the wrong dark Continent of choice.
13 Feb 2013, 09:25 am
@BrumbiesBoy-258: everyone here is anonymous duh…
13 Feb 2013, 09:34 am
@Predawn-260: what about the “four foreigners” ?
13 Feb 2013, 09:37 am
@Predawn-260: Relax bru:
Not 4, but 5 foreigners, & all within the rules:
“The participation agreement, accepted by all South African franchises, makes it clear that only two foreigners are allowed per 30-man squad.
The Kings may well be arguing that the three additional foreigners are only part of their wider squad of 35 and not the official Super Rugby squad.”
I mentioned on another thread a few weeks’ ago when SARU confirmed the max 2 foreigners restriction, that one should not be surprised to see 4 of the 5 foreigners actually performing in the S15. I suspect the 2 Argentinians are listed in the 30-man squad, & the other 3 foreigners in the 5-man EPS. If any of the 2 listed foreigners are injured they will likely be replaced by other foreigners. Nothing wrong with this.
I also mentioned on this thread that SARU may have underestimated & miscalculated – Cheeky is astute & durable;he has gone the distance with the hardiest of the hard, the security police.
13 Feb 2013, 09:49 am
@Angostura-264: lol @ the “security police”
Predawn WAS the security police! hehehe
13 Feb 2013, 09:52 am
@Angostura-264: nowadays though hevis in the business of shooting infidels in remote & neglected areas like afghanistan, syria, libya but he won’t touch colombia
13 Feb 2013, 10:17 am
So SupeRugby is upon us again and the Kings are about to make their highly anticipated entry into the fray.Most people would like to see them fail,some even wishing 100 point massacres upon them but I am going to back these guys.
Sure they are a bunch of journeymen,never-has-beens and never-will-be’s and Im no fan of the Watsons but they are getting an oppurtunity and that’s all they asked for.How they got there is another matter altogether which is irrevelant now since the past can’t be changed.Those people proclaiming that they will back ANY team opposing the Kings,I rank them up there with the much maligned Capesaders..backing others above their own..Which of course is fine by me…freedom of choice and all that..so yeah…
GO KINGS!
13 Feb 2013, 10:33 am
@skopdiekan-261: What do you know about my background?
Go play in the traffic you cantankerous, belligerent old f.rt.
13 Feb 2013, 10:35 am
@Transformation-262: Tell your friend Peter Mkata that, he maybe hasn’t realised it.
Duh………
13 Feb 2013, 11:12 am
@BrumbiesBoy-269: ffs…he was talking to ShaunB you jumped in & included me now you want me to tell him?!
#deurmekaar
13 Feb 2013, 11:40 am
@Transformation-270: I know he was…read the posts SLOWLY and then maybe you’ll understand.
#Dof
13 Feb 2013, 11:50 am
@BrumbiesBoy-271: i like how infantile you get just to make yourself feel good
#cute
13 Feb 2013, 12:50 pm
@Transformation-265: the Security Police … and the Brothers:
http://www.greenleft.org.au/node/14457
13 Feb 2013, 12:54 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-268: I don’t need to know anything about your spoiled white background to see what a spoiled white is right inhumane apartheid sympathizing patronizing prick you are.
13 Feb 2013, 13:08 pm
@Angostura-273: from the top of my head..
EP – Cheeky Watson
Border – Anele Ondala
Leopards – Andre May
Lions – Kevin de Klerk
WP – Thelo Wakefield
KZNRU – Graham Mackenzie
13 Feb 2013, 13:17 pm
@Transformation-266: oy, Transformation, so is Cheeky now in the Security/Protection Services Business?
13 Feb 2013, 13:23 pm
@Transformation-275: Transie, Cheeky & I are of the same era – he was a very, very good rugby player – I remember watching EP Schools with Cheeky on the one wing & the (eventual) Springbok, Hermanus Potgieter on the other wing – what a sight!
13 Feb 2013, 13:46 pm
@Angostura: i was talking about Predawn the blogger…
13 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
@Angostura-276: Transie, talking of Wild Geese, my paternal great-grandfather was one of the early mercenaries in South Africa. He was an Austrian immigrant that settled in the Eastern Cape. It has been passed down the generations & ultimately down to me that those days it was customary among the white landowners that when they were commandeered to fight in the Xhosa (Frontier) Wars they could send an able-bodied man in their stead (& of course pay him to do so). I have calculated that my great-grandfather fought on this (mercenary) basis in the 9th & final Xhosa War (1877-79), aka the Fengu-Gcaleka War. “These mixed-race commandos were recruited locally from Boer, Fengu, Khoi and settler frontier people.”
Wikipedia reports further that “the conflict began with inter-tribal strife between the Fengu and the Gcaleka, it then developed into a war when the British entered on the side of the Fengu, then it led to a power struggle between the settler forces as the Cape Colony tried to contain the British Imperial troops, and it ended with a long guerrilla war.”
My great-grandfather was at one stage employed by Sir Percy Fitzpatrick (of Jock of the Bushveld, military & parliamentary fame) at his Amanzi Estates near Uitenhage, but digesting the history I think that must have been subsequent to the Frontier Wars.
My father has told me quite a few tales about when my great-granddad was on kommando.
The thing that strikes me about this is that our forebears (yours & mine) were probably fighting & spilling blood on opposing sides in the Eastern Cape, & today, less than 150 years later we are sharing pleasantries & thoughts in the blogosphere & jointly fighting a good fight for the Eastern Cape, our “homeland”.
Once a frontiersman, always one
Go well, Transie, Peter & all other frontiersmen
13 Feb 2013, 14:01 pm
@Transformation-278: Oh, OK, sorry, I misunderstood
13 Feb 2013, 14:39 pm
@Angostura-279: classic post!
cheers Ango!
13 Feb 2013, 16:43 pm
@skopdiekan-254:
Daardie sinnelose geradbraak en haglike spelling kan net die gevolg wees van ‘n Oos-Kaapse matriek en/of ‘n hele paar sterkerige tikdampe.
13 Feb 2013, 19:26 pm
@skopdiekan-274: Shut up and go eat your lentils you pompous prick, I repeat, you know nothing about me.
13 Feb 2013, 20:42 pm
Griquas 30 Kings 27
3 tries apiece
14 Mar 2013, 15:15 pm
Ek is nuut tot die Bloggery – maar dit is BEKOTSENSWAARDIG om te hoe die spel deur die ANC stooges en rugraatlose SA Rugby hanteer word. I will support any team that play against the Super Vomit Kings – even Zimbabwe, or Venezuela – hell even aliens from MARS but never such a bunch of Scum as the Watson’s personal vomit stooges…Cant wait to see the doos being booed to pieces at Loftus and Ellis Park especally!!! Wonder nog steeds of die gorrel hou “per ongeluk” was ..glo nie – was net nie hard genoeg nie!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All