Get ready for Super Rugby’s expansion
13 Feb 2013
Super Rugby will expand to include the Lions and Kings in SANZAR’s next broadcasting deal.
Australia won’t oppose any expansion as long as they continue to have their local derbies and the Australia Conference is strengthened by way of a possible addition from Japan.
South Africa has pushed for the Kings and Lions to be accommodated in a tournament that then services all six South African regions.
New Zealand is unlikely to want to add to their five regions but it is not out of the question, with the New Zealand RFU chief executive Steve Tew insistent that New Zealand’s only reservation would be around the playing demands on their players and also the make up of the Conference system.
New Zealand currently plays 20 derby matches and hosts 40 games in a Super Rugby season. It is anticipated that if the expansion happens it will be to Super 18 with the additional South African team, one from Japan and one from Argentina adding to the compliment.
Local derbies would remain a priority but you could find a team like the Kings playing in the Australian/New Zealand Conference and a team from Japan possibly playing in the Australian Conference/New Zealand with one from Argentina added to the South African Conference.
‘The only thing we are adamant about is that we don’t want any more rugby for our guys. We think our guys have got enough on their plates as it is. So we have to manage their workload,’ Tew told the Kiwi media.
‘But we have an open mind … nothing has been ruled out, but nothing is definite. We have to look after our players. One is that the workload doesn’t increase, two is that we don’t do anything to devalue the commercial strength of our competitions and, thirdly, they have to remain sufficiently competitive.
‘We don’t want a structure that compromises what we believe is the most competitive competition of its type in the world.’
The new format would be confirmed well in advance of it actually happening.

110 Comments
13 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
then all the ad nauseum drama can end…thank the angels
13 Feb 2013, 10:34 am
Bring back the super 12 please and thank you.
13 Feb 2013, 10:34 am
This comp is in danger of, at times, becoming less competitive than the Currie Cup.
13 Feb 2013, 10:42 am
SA does not have the strength in depth to field 4 competitive teams and yet here we are trying to make 6? Bonkers.
Also, when will SANZAR realise we don’t actually care more about local derbies? If anything, they are becoming too frequent and therefore repetitive and monotonous.
13 Feb 2013, 10:47 am
I feel the Same, Rage. Super 12 was intense and interesting, 100% of the time. Watched every match, no matter who played. Yet. the last 2 years I found myself only watching about 70% of the Bulls’ matches, as I couldn’t care less at times.
They took something that wasn’t broke, tried to fix it, and ****ed it up.
13 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
I still feel divide it into 2 seperate divisions of 12 teams each. I am sure we would be able to get 9 extra teams from both the current countries as well as external: Lions, 1 Kiwi team, Griquas, and also as mentioned, 1 Japanese team, 1 Argentinean team.
Then we need 4: 1 from Samoa, 1 from Tonga, 1 from Fiji, and one more from the Argies.
Or just 4 extra Argie teams.
Super 12 Premier League and Super 12 2nd League.
13 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
@ShaunB-4: SA has the capacity to have at least 7 teams. Griquas will eventually have to get their place. Too many of their players leave for other areas (yeah, similar to Free State and EP), but they have a massive love for rugby in the Northern Cape. The only thing that messed up SA rugby was forced combined franchises. Too much internal and external politics.
The only reason we don’t have enough Super Rugby experienced players is because most of our players never get the chance to make the step up. There are a lot of quality players that simply disappeared because of the internal politics and buddy-buddy systems in the major franchises.
Money? Only the Stormers seem to have a never-ending amount of finances. But it is to be expected, considering the weird relation SARU always had with WP over the years. Bulls and Sharks took a few years, but they’re on top now. Both the Lions and Cheetahs are much better off now than they were 5 years ago. It is a building process for teams, but you have to start somewhere. But players… there are many.
If the new club system additions start to work and the Northern Cape gets their University in the next few years, you’ll see them grow dramatically.
13 Feb 2013, 11:00 am
@Rage-2:
agree with you…
super 12… or even super 9
13 Feb 2013, 11:02 am
Super rugby must die! Useless boring competitiom. Rather launch a refreshed 8 or 10 team currie cup with the top 4 teams qualifying for 12 team Heineken cup copetiton with the Frogs and Poms.
13 Feb 2013, 11:03 am
luckily SA has all this incredible depth, we’ve seen it over the years with the 5 teams theyve had in super rugby
oh wait..
13 Feb 2013, 11:08 am
@the curse-10:
Oh nice, we have a troll…
13 Feb 2013, 11:10 am
make the competition start with an internal Currie cup type league format, and then the top three from each country go to a finals series. this way you can have an extra two countries in or more. maybe a north conference and a Japan conference and a PI conference….
13 Feb 2013, 11:11 am
@RL-9: now you talking my language
13 Feb 2013, 11:29 am
Last year I watched the least amount of rugby I have in the last 10 years, and its because of this conference system.
I want to see our teams up against the best from NZ and OZ like it was in the S12 and earlier, and not these incestuous contests between our same old unions from the last 100 years.
The fact that OZ fashions their own little domestic comp out of this arrangement at the expense of what was a great rugby tournament is sickening.
13 Feb 2013, 11:30 am
@the curse-10:
You are ridiculous. Dont you get bored with your games?
13 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
I would like to see the first leg of the comp only being a local conference home & away competition. (like in American Football). Would probably cut down a lot on the travelling.
Then the top 8 teams (by league points) go into a straight knock out after that? (1 plays 8; 2 plays 7 etc.) – followed by semi’s and a final.
13 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
@Stawm-15: you really think SA has the depth for 6 teams?
look back over the competition, two SA teams have consistently propped up the bottom of the table
just pointing out a truth..
13 Feb 2013, 11:32 am
@ Rage… if only…
It’s time for a Pool system ala Heineken Cup. It’s getting too big for the current system.
Expand it to 20 teams of 4 pools, home and away. Top finishing 2 teams go through quarters and the winners into semis and final
That way the winning team will play 8 games in the pool and 3 more to win it.
The bottom finishing teams should also go into a relegation home & away round robin play off with the bottom 2 being relegated.
Pool 1
Stormers
Canes
Blues
Kings
Japan Team
Pool 2
Chiefs
Brumbies
Tahs
Lions
Argentina Team
Pool 3
Saders
Reds
Cheetahs
Force
Samonaon Team
Pool 4
Bulls
Sharks
Highlanders
Rebels
Fiji Team
In conjunction, there could be a 2nd tier 8 team, home and away comp with teams from Japan, Arg, Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, etc, etc fighting it out for the top two promotion spots
Two problems with this, at least. First is that SA doesn’t have the depth. Already the Kings are trying to add more foreigners than SARU has entitled them to. Second, the format. We already hear enough about the travel disadvantage but if one SA team plays in the NZ conference, they’d have a massive whinge. It probably wouldn’t even be such a bad thing, they’d only need to play an extra few games on the road but imagine the infighting to decide who is in the NZ conference.
I doubt that Samoa/Tonga/Fiji could field a team but I’m starting to think the Japanese could. I’m sure their league must run at a loss and it’s just corporations paying for bragging rights. Let them buy up a bunch of foreigners and have a go.
And don’t be too quick to assume NZ doesn’t want another franchise. Tew said he wants to keep things competitive but Taranaki has talked about it and we’re now willing to prostitute ourselves for the right price
@ 8 ufo
Yes pal,in this case less is more.
@11 hoener
Hehe
13 Feb 2013, 11:34 am
@seamus-18: there’s no way the islands can field a team each. where would they get the money, sponsors, new stadium? Fiji’s international team couldn’t even find sponsorship for the november games. And Tonga, population 109,000 has very little TV viewership. SA would be bankrolling us all
13 Feb 2013, 11:35 am
@ 14 stawm
My sentiments exactly.
13 Feb 2013, 11:38 am
@RL-9:
yes
i would really welcome this.
cannot stand this farcical comp.
13 Feb 2013, 11:42 am
@Stawm-15: any more ridiculous then the rubbish we received in 2009 from the majority of Saffa supporters?
seems you dont like it now the shoes on the other foot..
too bad..
13 Feb 2013, 11:55 am
What pisses me off about this whole business, is the way the Super competition has evolved and been manipulated by the Aussies to acommodate their lack of a domestic competition. What started as a regional competition to pit the best of each countries players against each other just below test level, has morphed into one where the emphasis is on home and away local derbies.
Both SA and NZ had domestic competitions, which now take second place in attendance, that didn’t need to compete with a conference.
The only way to combat thisif the conference format persists, is to completely divorce the franchises and their players from the Unions.
13 Feb 2013, 12:00 pm
@the curse-24:
ja kobus kitty owned you that year, i think you had two public crying fits on here.
it was be-yaw-diful!
13 Feb 2013, 12:04 pm
all this talk about how we could have various “conferences” misses the point imo.
i couldnt give less of a toss for watching the sharks play the stormers 6 times a year in various competitions and then playing a kiwi and aussie side maybe 4 times IF they progress to a final?
the whole point was that it is an international comp, not a domestic comp.
and the c u n ts who run this thing simply wont listen to us.
i will watch very little rugby outside of sharks games this year and even then, only if the water is so green i cant dive.
13 Feb 2013, 12:06 pm
@David-25: Rugby has sold it’s soul to the TV Devil.
13 Feb 2013, 12:10 pm
@The Rangerman-27:
As I said, it’s all for the benefit of the bloody Aussies. They’ve managed to manipulate the whole competition for their benefit and to the detriment of SA and NZ.
13 Feb 2013, 12:10 pm
@Stawm-14: I fully agree with you, especially your first paragraph.
Super 12
Best four teams from each country
Finish and klaar.
13 Feb 2013, 12:13 pm
@David-29:
the CC was also of a superior standard when it was still s12 and even s14.
13 Feb 2013, 12:14 pm
@David-25: Fully agree David, the Aussies must sort their own mess out.
But I’ll still support them!
13 Feb 2013, 12:15 pm
pray tell…why can’t the ozzies get their own domestic tournament running?
what exactly is the problem?
13 Feb 2013, 12:19 pm
@David-29:
Every partner should have domestic fixtures and then the top 3 teams from each go through to play super rugby afterwards.
We could kill two birds with one stone by calling our domestic comp the Currie Cup.
13 Feb 2013, 12:20 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-30:
I can’t agree. The original S12 concept of the best players in each country being grouped regionally also replaced the old Springbok trials, which were also divided into regions. The emphasis was on the players, not the franchises. To exclude some of the top players based on the success of the team they play for is self defeating.
13 Feb 2013, 12:26 pm
@the curse-17:
Heres a thought:
Why dont you simply state your case plain and simple, instead of using constant sarcasm, ridicule etc, which only opens you up for retaliation, unless this is what you want (thats what I think). Therefore I said “Dont you get bored with your games?”
@David-25:
agree…
@The Rangerman-27:
absolutely…
@gunther-34:
that is the way to go…
the less is more approach
@David-29: ja, there is that side to it but its naked greed really.
they are trying to boost tv audiences by attracting as many possible viewers through expansion into non-traditional markets but what they are actually doing is diluting the core product.
i think they have forgotten why people were so attracted to the superrugby idea in the first place.
13 Feb 2013, 12:27 pm
@Rage-20:
exactly…
13 Feb 2013, 12:28 pm
the advert was obviously meant for sanzar…
who says less is more…?
MORE is more…!!
make it biiiggaaa…!!
dimtwits…
13 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
@The Rangerman-27:
Exactly. I used to watch all SA teams when they were on tour against NZ and OZ teams. Then I would watch my favs in the few derbies we had on the home leg.
Now I simply dont watch.
13 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
@Stawm-36: ag he is just an out and out doos.
and the funny thing is how some saffas try to placate him ignoring all his bile.
13 Feb 2013, 12:30 pm
@David-35: there’s no way Tac will want his Bulls partnered with the bankrupt Lions
13 Feb 2013, 12:32 pm
@David-35: Maybe, but each country should deal with their national trials, etc that as best as they see fit.
I think we all agree that there is far too much “Super” rugby as it is and now they want to increase it even further!
It’s really not so “Super” anymore IMO…
13 Feb 2013, 12:32 pm
@Stawm-41: s10 was the tops man.
we had serious strength vs strength, the comp was short and sweet and the crowds at stadia were huge.
if anyone thinks i am going to sit down and watch the rebels play the force they are out of their minds.
in fact i wont watch the rebels or the force play anyone except the sharks and even that is dire and can be given a miss, even if the sharks lose i couldnt really be bovvered.
and there are so many match ups like that it leads me to missing 80% of the games through lack of interest.
13 Feb 2013, 12:34 pm
@The Rangerman-42:
I hope you dont mean me trying to placate him, I couldnt care less.
It just gets a bit tiring when a nice rugby thread gets full of childish vitriol spewed to and fro. Yes HG, you are included in this childish brigade.
13 Feb 2013, 12:36 pm
@The Rangerman-45:
Agree 100% again.
I now use that time for better things. Beach, mountain, kids, garden etc.
A real pity though, I used to really look forward to Fridays, every weekend had that Long Weekend feel because there was great rugby from Fri onwards.
This competition is becoming more and more watered down. Would welcome the Super 12 back.
@Transformation-43: promo relegation on a yearlly basis bud.
thats the spur towards professionalism that we need.
and players will stay with their franchises if they know its a year out but they get showcased in a strength vs strength cc which is allowed to be front a centre due to a shorter superrugby schedule.
instead we sit with this sh i t.
13 Feb 2013, 12:39 pm
SANZAR, are you listening?
Was just think I don’t recall ever seeing EVEN ONE BLOGGER suggesting that we need MORE rugby.
And I’m pretty sure bloggers etc on other sites feel exactly the same.
13 Feb 2013, 12:40 pm
@The Rangerman-49:
Start the year with the CC.
Then Group phases of the international comp.
Stop for the international window.
Then play semis and finals. Maybe in one country on a rotational basis.
Then the Rugby Championship.
Then a break.
Then the EOYT.
13 Feb 2013, 12:42 pm
@Stawm-46: nah not you.
@Stawm-47: ja, me too. friday nights and sat the whole day.
now i seriously only watch if there is nothing else to do.
unless its the sharks of course.
thing is that i love rugby, all styles, played in all conditions. but i dont appreciate poor skills and manafactured rivalries.
13 Feb 2013, 12:42 pm
@ Rangerman
Have you seen that movie Sanctum? Scary stuff,based on a true story,made me gain a lotta respect for divers!
13 Feb 2013, 12:43 pm
Didn’t I already tell you that money is the root cause of all evil in sport…
now it gonna bite yourass.. money is gonna bite its own arse and kill itself dead…
in short this short term outlook of mercenary money making marauding mayhem called ‘professionalism’ in sport sucks..
its already a big sham showbiz bullshit story and its getting worse.. there is not one decent sport left in the world untainted by money.. boxers getting bought.. cricketers getting bought.. rugby players getting bought.. soccer player the great prima donnas of showbizness … cyclists and athletes riddled with uppers and blood oxygen masking agents
professional sport SUCKS.. bring back what sport was designed around when sport was supposed to enlighten and uplift the soul of man as a means to a engender a spirit of competitive appreciation for athletic prowess and strength and endurance..
man’s greed will destroy everything ever worthwhile in the aspirations of men.
13 Feb 2013, 12:46 pm
Oh no, why did I have to see this article? Bakkies, do not read it, it may be harmful to your health.
http://www.iol.co.za/sport/boxing/i-was-offered-cash-to-throw-sbw-fight-1.1469221#.URttOB2LCJc
13 Feb 2013, 12:47 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-50: they arent listening and dont care bud.
they have the idea that they have a monopoly on the SH rugby viewing and so they can force feed us a k u k product and we have no choice.
a mistake made by far sharper people than this bunch of greedy clowns.
13 Feb 2013, 12:49 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-55: P.S. Interesting to note the poll results (down near the bottom of the article).
But nobody tell Pops, please!
13 Feb 2013, 12:51 pm
@gunther-51: eish man, thats so convoluted and rowded though?
what about starting with superrugby, a 12 team format. 13 weeks long and its done.
then cc (two tier,8 and 6 teams) til the RC which is biennial (rugby tours every other year) and then the autumn internationals.
13 Feb 2013, 12:51 pm
@The Rangerman-56: Yeah, you’re right about them suits & ponytails (TV broadcasters).
13 Feb 2013, 12:55 pm
a new Guppy supporting scribe for Keo, RichFerg…
Mark Keohane
@ mark_keohane
24h
Welcome to Richard Ferguson who
will be writing daily news stories on
Keo.co.za . Richard also runs
@sharksworld Many talents
13 Feb 2013, 12:55 pm
@Rage-53: i havent, is it about saturation divers like the guys working on rigs?
have a few buddies in that industry.
i freedive though, no bubbleblowing. must be very dissapointing to the bubbleblowers at sodwana when me and my buddies dive 20m onto the reef with them haha (without guns, safety first).
13 Feb 2013, 13:00 pm
@Transformation-60:
I thought sharksworld was the place where you weren’t allowed to mention Keo?
I guess you certainly won’t now.
13 Feb 2013, 13:01 pm
@Transformation-60:
Welcome Rich.
He’s sure to be less one eyed than Cardinelli anyway.
13 Feb 2013, 13:02 pm
I really do think SANZAR is trying to kill their rugby players, with all this rugby!! They have to think about travelling through time zones, the SH is not europe!!
Realistically they should go to a S18 comp, remove the conferences, have 2 groups of 9 teams with the top 2/4 going through to the playoffs. The bottom 4 teams in one group change with the top 4/5 in the opposite group and vice versa each year.
13 Feb 2013, 13:05 pm
@race of tan-64: i think the conferences are sh i t though.
once again, you will end up with mismatches and only play certain teams in certain years.
nah, s12 all play all was best.
13 Feb 2013, 13:07 pm
****. How about Super 100?
Games I have always enjoyed the most are Kiwi teams touring in South Africa, clash of the systems in hostile environment – not derbies. Seems like they will become even more rare while derbies all the time.
13 Feb 2013, 13:09 pm
@skopdiekan-54: you are insane if you think sport has EVER been truly amateur.
from “gifts” to jobs to favours etc etc, sportsmen and woman have always received something for their exploits if they have stood out from the crowd.
additionally how does an amateur take half his year out from work to play rugby?
not realistic old timer sorry.
13 Feb 2013, 13:12 pm
I mentioned it before but my suggestion is that the rugby is managed on a four-year cycle, with elements of all competitions in each year but with a different focus every year:
Y1: Super Rugby (15+ teams and everyone plays everyone else at least once)
Y2: Tours (Lions Tour); Domestic Competition
Y3: 4Nations (include games against the super franchises)
Y4 World Cup
13 Feb 2013, 13:13 pm
@The Rangerman-58: Exactly. No more bonus point donors, no crowding schedule and folks will eagerly await every game.
Nah, it won’t happen though, “more (bigger) is better” is motto these days. I guess even Coke and beer tasted better 20 years ago.
13 Feb 2013, 13:14 pm
@polaris-66:
Agreed.
Watching the cheetahs play the lions for the second time in a season is about as much fun as a DIY vasectomy with a pair of pliers and a monkeywrench.
The fact is this new format is 80% bubblegum and only 20% tits out.
That needs to change.
13 Feb 2013, 13:14 pm
@Transformation-60: How the hell did you manage to vote 59 times on the poll
13 Feb 2013, 13:20 pm
@polaris-69: ja, will never happen sadly
13 Feb 2013, 13:20 pm
The Sharks
1. Tendai Mtawarira
2. Craig Burden
3. Jannie du Plessis
4. Anton Bresler
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Jacques Botes
7. Jean Deysel
8. Lubabalo Mtembu
9. Cobus Reinach
10. Patrick Lambie
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Francois Steyn ( C )
13. Paul Jordaan
14. JP Pietersen
15. Louis Ludik
Replacements
16. Kyle Cooper
17. Allan Dell
18. Wiehahn Herbst
19. Pieter-Steph du Toit
20. Francois Kleinhans
21. Charl McLeod
22. Meyer Bosman
23. Odwa Ndungane
24. Riaan Viljoen
13 Feb 2013, 13:30 pm
@grant10-73:
Much stronger side.
Pretty much in line with what I thought the lineup was going to look like.
Alberts still has a shoulder niggle. Coetzee took a bump last week so not considered.
Kanko apparently needs another week for strength and conditioning. Feel sorry for him, Mark Steele is going to be ruthless.
13 Feb 2013, 13:51 pm
I dont understand the noise coming out of RSA about not wanting derby games yet want their CC. surely when RSA gets their sixth super franchise that is fullfilling the provincial requirements and now RSA can amalgamate the top tier CC and super games. that will be strength vs strength.
who wants to watch Boland vs Blue bulls or Leopards vs province…sounds like the current CC format is being kept for keeps sakes yet maybe it is time to drop those excess games.
13 Feb 2013, 13:54 pm
@John Galt-74: well Kanko chose to line his pockets instead of playing for boks……now the poor bugger gone soft….
He was on fire last month of superrugby….hope he finds his mojo quickly, especially with Keegan out.
13 Feb 2013, 13:56 pm
Ok so who cockedup the formatting by not closing their italics block???
The formatting police are gonna getcha!
13 Feb 2013, 13:56 pm
@RL-9:
that wish has been going on for 12 years now…whats not happened and why?
13 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
@wallabie.-75:
It would exclude Griquas as a separate entity, but I agree that the 2 competitions should be combined. Four matches between 2 teams per year is too much, plus whoever meets in the CC semis and final plus the Super playoffs.
13 Feb 2013, 14:07 pm
@David-79:
very true and can see why the derby games in RSA is over kill. There is a lot of history in Griqua rugby but is this the team that a hard decision needs to be made?
13 Feb 2013, 14:32 pm
Not going to happen…
13 Feb 2013, 14:35 pm
@bryce_in_oz-81:
If this goes through the S16 will be the new CC and the CC the VC… pretty much the way it should be now…
Currie Cup title with no Boks and against several shite teams outside of the big 5… or Super conference with the best RSA offers both home and away… hmmm… not rocket science…
13 Feb 2013, 14:35 pm
@wallabie.-80:
I think I’d separate the franchises and their players from the CC and combine the CC and Vodacom into one competition. Let the conference be the main domestic competition and promote it as such.
As for Keos suggestion that the 6th SA team play in the Australian conference, it’s a bit silly. If NZ or Oz don’t want a 6th side, let the Argies play in NZ and Japan in Oz.
13 Feb 2013, 14:38 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-33: I’m not sure but it’s probably because the country is so big, the number of player so small, and the players concentrated in Sydney and Brisbane. Perth and Melbourne would struggle to field a team and would spend half their time multiple time zones away.
We’re very proud of our NPC in NZ but it’s half bankrupt so hardly a model for the Aussies to aspire to
13 Feb 2013, 14:59 pm
@gonzo-84:
I’m pretty certain that the Super competition is also responsible for the demise of the NPC.
13 Feb 2013, 15:14 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-33:
They do… it’s called the Super Rugby conference…
13 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
@ 61 Rangerman
Its about cave diving…cant imagine anything scarier than being stuck underground surrounded by nothing but water.I did a bit of snorkelling when I was in high school so that’s something I’d like to take up again…freediving sounds pretty cool too.Im in the Mossel Bay area so plenty of oppurtunities for me to get back into the waters and enjoy the ocean!
13 Feb 2013, 16:30 pm
this will do nothing good for the game or keep interest of fans in this
competition.
team from Japan?
a joke. I cannot see this happening because of travel involved and there is far too much rugby already
Bring back full tours by international sides. cut back on Super rugby
13 Feb 2013, 16:40 pm
@wallabie.-80: the currie cup has its place and it has a dollar value of about $80 millon over 4 or 5 years. Why would we want to kill our domestic and feeder competition?
13 Feb 2013, 16:55 pm
@RL-89:
i certainly enjoyed last seasons CC, right up until the semis.
13 Feb 2013, 17:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90: I too enjoyed it. Compared to superrugby having to wake up early in the morning and to listen to kiwis talk kak about your team – then smacking yourself over the hands when you tune into a convict match accidently – breaking your osssie rugby boycott.
Give me Saturdat afternoon and evening currie cuprugby any time.
13 Feb 2013, 17:13 pm
- Further diluting the competition
- Increase in empty seats which is already an embarresment
- The increase in traveling cost will result in further introduction of inadequate referees, further deop in the SR quality
And all that what for?
We were OK with the Super 10, the Super 12 seemed artificially expansion but tolerated, still, the Super 14 was a farce and the SR15 is already 60% unwatchable
13 Feb 2013, 17:15 pm
I personally think the long term trend in world rugby is going to be a CLUB based game. The nationalism is going to be ended by pro rugby.
See the advent of Superrugby and Heineken Cup in NH.
13 Feb 2013, 17:16 pm
But if there is no Province, who am I going to hate then? lol
13 Feb 2013, 17:36 pm
@Hondo-92:
“- Increase in empty seats which is already an embarresment”
Do you see the irony.
13 Feb 2013, 17:47 pm
@RL-91:
couldn’t have said it better.
in addition to them talking kak about our teams the way they crow about their own and how some players are ‘really just playing on the very edge of the laws’ which is why its ‘all good folks’ is larfable.
who believes s.hit like that.
13 Feb 2013, 17:56 pm
@RL-95:
Sure, it’s done on purpose to press the point in
Saying ‘further decrease in match attendance’ won’t cut it in
13 Feb 2013, 20:10 pm
For the first time ever I agree with Hondo…post 92
13 Feb 2013, 20:58 pm
RL
you only want CC because your leeu-sers couldn’t compete at super level
I agree, it’s about time we got rid of the useless saffa teams, they have brought the standard way down.
13 Feb 2013, 21:02 pm
SA rugby should go back to isolation
lts at the same standard and will save us from having to listen to the tears of people like Bakkies.
14 Feb 2013, 00:19 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96:
Here we go.
A thread about another SA team being included into super rugby yet Bakkies has a crack at kiwis again….. lay off clown. Hate reading your cr@p everyday like your country and people are so fukn perfect.
14 Feb 2013, 01:06 am
@Hurricane-101: spot on hurri
and people wonder why I post the way I do… I used to respect the old enemy, then i found this site and realised that there are many Saffas who have absolute hate for NZ, and its a shame because Im certain there are a few good saffas around
Rangerman – hahaha KK was just another d.utchie who soon disappeared once 2010 came around..
he who laughs last laughs the loudest, and I have been having a right chuckle since 2010..
so you guys can all clamour about 2009, one year out of 15 is really worth celebrating ne?
14 Feb 2013, 01:49 am
No pops, you post the way you do because you are a complete tool. If you have a problem with an individual feel free to have a go at that person, just like Hurricane did above. But you use this forum to make gross generalisations about South Africa and her people, spewing bile without coming up for air.
Bakkies does not represent the majority of South Africa just like I assume you don’t represent the majority of NZ. Grow up, talk rugby and stop using this forum to have a go at people you obviously dislike in the name of ‘returning serve’.
14 Feb 2013, 01:55 am
@the curse-17: Thats not because of teh lack of depth. Thats because of the lack of professional management structures from the unions… the players we have!
14 Feb 2013, 02:43 am
Wasn’t it shown the other night by Liew Luiperd that Poppa is actually a closet g.ay?
Come on Poppa, this is the 21st century, stop suppressing your inner feelings by taking out your frustrations on South Africans and this forum.
14 Feb 2013, 02:49 am
was it Shaun? or are you just projecting your own fantasies.
14 Feb 2013, 07:52 am
@BrumbiesBoy-55:
already commented on it.
14 Feb 2013, 07:57 am
Pops,
lately i dont know if you’re talking to me or at me?
use your ‘reply to this comment’ arrow.
@Hurricane-101:
you are becoming such a bitter person towards me, Hurri.
lets build a bridge and meet under it?
14 Feb 2013, 08:42 am
Come join my Super Rugby fantasy game on SuperSport Fantasy to see if you can pick a better fantasy team than me! Just click here:
http://fantasy.supersport.com/superrugby/pool.asp?p=9472
Pool name: The League
Pool code: 13133687
Also on Fox Sports
Southern Skilled Ninjas 367-5866 (Classic league)
Smash Up 367-5868 (Head to Head)
15 Feb 2013, 07:18 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108:
Surprise surprise… under the bridge ya troll.