Griquas edge Kings

Griquas got the win but Southern Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons got questions answered in his team’s final Super Rugby pre-season outing.

Griquas scored late to win 30-27 and Solomons told Keo.co.za on the balance of performance the right team got the winning result.

‘Pre-season matches are about more than the result but every player and team wants a winning one,’ he said. ‘We did not get enough ball to enforce our way of play and all credit to the effort of Griquas. They dominated the lineout and denied us a platform. It is hard to play any game without ball from set piece and if the boys didn’t know that they certainly will now.’

The Kings historic Super Rugby debut is Solomons’ focus and he said bigger than the result in Port Elizabeth was that captain Luke Watson and lock Steven Sykes got through the match in what was their first appearance after lengthy injury lay-offs.

‘We gained from those objectives in that the players returning from injury got the necessary hit out, but in any sport the objective is to win. That we did not get and we did not deserve a winning result. There has never been any illusion about the challenge in Super Rugby proper but we will be in a position to field a match squad close to full strength. That wasn’t looking possible a few weeks ago.

‘It is a credit to our medical and conditioning staff and to the desire of the players.’

Solomons said he was thankful for the commitment of Griquas and how important the match would be in the mental preparation for the historic season opener in a week.

‘Griquas approached it like it was a Super Rugby match and it was the physical and mental preparation you can’t replicate at training. We’ve got lots to work with in the next week. But take nothing away from Griquas. They came here to win and they did so.’

The Kings play the Force in Port Elizabeth to start their Super Rugby history.

807 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 51.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-49:

Ja, oom wynie. That oke must pop rescue remedy or calmettes by the dozen by the side of the field. Smoking and dopping are strictly prohibited. :D

Volgende vrydag begin dit alweer. Dit gaan ‘n moerse lank seisoen wees.

• 52.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

keo

Now that you’re getting your ducks in a row, how about an exclusive cricket thread tomorrow?

If I have to hear skittlesticks once more from skop, I’m going to vomit.

• 53.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Skittle sticks is the f’ng pits man it is not a legitimate honest sporting endeavour and beside its downright pathetically boring.

As for EP being poorly managed who gets the credit for that? The current management or the previous
    system

• 54.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

It always saddens me when people in any walk of expertise are lured to offer their loyalty and affection elsewhere from their own home bed of nurturing. All it shows is that money his a far greater appeal to sport participants than the feeling and emotions that should come with representing and contributing to your own regional association first before filling your pockets with the tainted silver that lured you away . Judas Iscariot comes to mind in these instances every time.

• 55.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-53: But blaming the Sharks and Bulls is ok? Who get the credit for that? Any good player will look somewhere else if your region is poorly manage. You think the stars of Monnas etc will look at the Lions in their current situation? Nah… they will go somewhere else. Blaming other unions it’s just silly. Hopefully the EP and Lions can sort out their rubbish.

• 56.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-55: Of course, the Storming mountain moffies are completely innocent in this. I wonder where po€$ face thinks Peter Grant came from ?

Huh ou suip lap kraal brak ?

• 57.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-54: and kontkop – why are you up after 12 ? You got the p0rn going again tonight ?

• 58.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

EP trying to dig itself out of a hole it has been dug by system of poor management handed down through incompetence in previous regimes of management not the current one. But the ‘assist’ and encouragement they getting from those who would be the greater losers if EP ever had to become strong enough to hold onto her own grass root bred player base namely Bulls and Sharks is about as much goodwill as Israel asking Iran for assistance in nuclear protection.

• 59.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Who asked you pathetic little runaway chickenshit piece of colonic cowardice. You got fckall to say or comment about a nation or country you pathetic little whitey coward turned your lily liver arse and ran away from pisswilly little rancid punk

• 60.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-58: stop saying the same thing over and over again stink hol. Is jy f0kken stupit ? Say something new suiplap.

• 61.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-59: careful, you are almost back to assigning flavours to my a-hole. Almost.

• 62.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-59: Hey Chlamydia – where did Peter Grant go to school swael asem ?

• 63.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

WELL DONE GRIQUAS!

DOWN WITH THE QUOTA KINGS!

• 64.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

I’ve been keeping my return back for next week’s clash between the Bulls and the Briesies, but this is just too good to let go….

GRIEKWAS!!!!

Little Lulu Twatson and his fellow honorary quotas must prepare themselves for a rogering of note this season. Their belief in themselves as capable players will be damaged after suffering big loss upon bigg loss to the extent that they will all take up jukskei. Lukie will probably fake a career ending injury after the 2nd game.

Go Bulls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 65.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Haaaahaaaahaaaa!!! Sheeke’ Twatson’s empire mirrors that of the ANC…proof that enforced elitism is nothing more than sheep dressed up as mutton.

• 66.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Question: how are we going to do in super rugby?

Answer: HKGK!

• 67.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-58: any other excuses you have to offer?

• 68.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-67:

He also blamed the Bulls and the Sharks…

• 69.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

a world of hurt, boys… a world of hurt…

• 70.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-68: but bulls aren’t meat eaters?

• 71.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-69: awesome to have a team for my yearly dose of schadenfreude. :)

• 72.RL: Reply to this comment

If the duplicous transformers enters and tries to spin excuses, with his usual misinformation, disinformation and fake transformation tell him that this was really the Griquas Vodacom cup team —missing 7 players to the Cheetahs superrugby squad.

Ask him about the missing 7.

• 73.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-70:

That is what happens when you smoke your greens instead of eating it…

• 74.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-41:
    not entirely true, Tac
    you’re being a little disingenius.
    the Bulls field two rather different teams for their CC and Super teams, most often. is it even the same squad they are draw from? or is it to an extent a ‘two part’ squad?

same for the Stormers, no?

• 75.gunther: Reply to this comment

Biffs 100th test in charge of the Proteas today.

Simply magnificent.

I love the smell of linseed oil in the morning.

• 76.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Who did the kings supporters support prior to this competition?

• 77.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-22: :D :razz: ;) :shock: :cry: :twisted: :roll: 8)

• 78.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-76: nobody!

• 79.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@gunther-75:

I thought 100 was last week?

I know if he wins he will overtake that little **** from Australia with the most wins as captain…

• 80.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-71:
    ‘wry interest’ is the state of mind with which i will approach the Kings matches.

at the end it wouldn’t surprise me if they win a newly created ‘Sports Ministry’ award or two, possibly even a bonus of some sort.

the inaugural ‘Perseverence In Adversity Award’ for the 2013 Super Rugby season goes to…. :)

• 81.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-76:

50/50 Stormers Crusaders

• 82.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-76:

Transformation was an ardent Sharks supporter…

• 83.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-79: That 100 included one as captain of a world XI.

• 84.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

All the wishing wide eyed witous reveling in the trials of the downtrodden shows the state of their jaundiced deflection of design. It’s good to witness the raving intention of antitrust because at least the lambs entered into the arena of tribulations
    can be under no illusions as to where their real

• 85.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@gunther-81:

Now it is 50/50 Kings Crusaders

• 86.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-83:

Aha well congratulations yet again Biff, hope you roll them quickly again.

• 87.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-78:
    now now, that’s not entirely true.
    do tell us about your admiration for Wayne Smith and the crusaders style of play, again?

• 88.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

can be under no illusions as to where their real

Skop fell off the back of the bakkie it seems…

• 89.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-87: I’m all ears!

• 90.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-79:

Last week included a test as captain of the international team.

This week is the real deal.

All hail the biff.

• 91.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-78: kakprati!

@Slartibartfast-88: out of airtime.

• 92.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-86: Yes, successive hundreds. Well done.

• 93.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-82:
    really? :shock:

what happened there?

• 94.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@gunther-90:

Yip amazing record no matter how you look at it…would not mind a 100 from him in his 100th test as captain.

• 95.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

I’m still trying to figure out what’s more funny – the Kings’ ‘performance’ against the Griquas Vodacom Cup outfit – and at home, nogal! – or Keo’s ‘Comical Ali’ attempt to put a positive spin on an inept performance overflowing with serious skaam. Your ‘credibility’ – if ever such a thing existed at keo.co.za- is shot, Mark Koehane. And as for the Kings…ah well, that’s what you get when entitlement overrides merit.

• 96.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-92:

Amazing!

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93:

You will have to ask him…

• 97.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-89:

yes… yes indeed… when Transie waxes lyrical it truly is a sight to behold. it is a sight of ‘arresting envelopment’ and i have not seen him wax the lyrical in a while, come to think of it.

its almost like listening to cool rap beats drenched in funky house tunes with soothingly spoken but hard hitting, evocative, ‘spoken word’ lyrics washing all over you…

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

to be fair, Transie did call a Griquas win though.

• 99.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Maybe the kings will forfeit their participation as a late redrawing due to the fact that their common sense just prevailed and will ask for inclusion in the varsity cup

• 100.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oscar Pistorius shot his girlfriend this AM thinking she was a burglar

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.