Griquas edge Kings

Griquas got the win but Southern Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons got questions answered in his team’s final Super Rugby pre-season outing.

Griquas scored late to win 30-27 and Solomons told Keo.co.za on the balance of performance the right team got the winning result.

‘Pre-season matches are about more than the result but every player and team wants a winning one,’ he said. ‘We did not get enough ball to enforce our way of play and all credit to the effort of Griquas. They dominated the lineout and denied us a platform. It is hard to play any game without ball from set piece and if the boys didn’t know that they certainly will now.’

The Kings historic Super Rugby debut is Solomons’ focus and he said bigger than the result in Port Elizabeth was that captain Luke Watson and lock Steven Sykes got through the match in what was their first appearance after lengthy injury lay-offs.

‘We gained from those objectives in that the players returning from injury got the necessary hit out, but in any sport the objective is to win. That we did not get and we did not deserve a winning result. There has never been any illusion about the challenge in Super Rugby proper but we will be in a position to field a match squad close to full strength. That wasn’t looking possible a few weeks ago.

‘It is a credit to our medical and conditioning staff and to the desire of the players.’

Solomons said he was thankful for the commitment of Griquas and how important the match would be in the mental preparation for the historic season opener in a week.

‘Griquas approached it like it was a Super Rugby match and it was the physical and mental preparation you can’t replicate at training. We’ve got lots to work with in the next week. But take nothing away from Griquas. They came here to win and they did so.’

The Kings play the Force in Port Elizabeth to start their Super Rugby history.

807 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 101.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-100:
    omg! :shock:

• 102.David: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-100:
    The burglar story is only speculation. Haven’t there been problems between them before?

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I don’t know David, just read it on Twotter!

• 104.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-102:
    yes, it does immediately raise a few suspicions.
    did he not know she was going out and expected to be back at 04:00?

• 105.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-100: Sad sad story.

• 106.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-103:

Remember reading a story of him threatening to break Mark Barchelor”s, former soccer star, legs for running after his girl. Is it the same lady?

Very sad.

• 107.gunther: Reply to this comment

I’m not buying that story. Burglar indeed.

Lets wait this one out.

• 108.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Come join my Super Rugby fantasy game on SuperSport Fantasy to see if you can pick a better fantasy team than me! Just click here:

http://fantasy.supersport.com/superrugby/pool.asp?p=9472

Pool name: The League
    Pool code: 13133687

Also on Fox Sports

Southern Skilled Ninjas 367-5866 (Classic league)

Smash Up 367-5868 (Head to Head)

• 109.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher-95:

Not quite so lippy about Biff now are you?

Chippy little ******.

• 110.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

terrible story either way.

• 111.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-100: Tragic. On valentines day as well.

• 112.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110:

Well whatever it is its certainly a novel approach to Valentines Day.

• 113.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Talking of that Bulls song.

Anyone remember this steaming **** of an team song?
    You’d think every team in the land would avoid players singing at all costs after this effort.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kXCLZEhI8X8

• 114.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110:
    Latest update from 702 says that Oscar is saying he thought she was an intruder. So that’s going to be his defense. 2 shots.

• 115.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

eish…kak one…..at 1st take it sounds a bit dodgy I must say.

• 116.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@gunther-112: sorry but I had to laugh at that one :)

• 117.gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-114:

Double tap.

• 118.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Must be a very concerning result for the the Kings.

I imagine they would have been taking this game forgranted and as a result not exactly the confidence boost they would be looking for before superrugby starts.

Ironically, I do believe a win in their opening game against the Force in PE is not beyond the realm of possibility.

• 119.RL: Reply to this comment

Horrible news. That legless fcker nearly crashed his sponsored Hundai into a truck a few years ago while turning Rivoina road in a rage incident. You don’t do such things when your name is on the side of the door.

I don’t buy his Quade Cooper burglar excuse, obviously a very angry man with psyco tendencies.

• 120.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-112:
    love hurts.. ?..

@David-114:
    how do you not know when your girlfriend is out for the night? were they living together? no, its wierd.

• 121.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@RL-119: Didn’t he cause kak on the vaal dam a little while ago too?

• 122.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-112: She should’ve jumped the gun?

Sorry.

• 123.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-74:

That’s a different argument. The fact that the Bulls or Sharks don’t have their full squad available for the entire Currie Cup does not refute in any way the fact that the entire Bulls and Sharks Super rugby squads come from their home union.

Meaning that the franchise concept is a myth, since none of the franchise players come from any outside unions. There is no “amalgamation of unions” to strengthen the franchise.

Hence, it is perfectly reasonable to have the top 4 Currie Cup teams just progress to Super Rugby. In the case of the Cheetahs they can use a Cheetahs/Griquas franchise, no problem, but there’s no need for that amongst the Bulls or Sharks, and probably not for the Stormers either.

• 124.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-119:
    my feelings too.
    i’ve always felt he’s a doos, going by the things he’s done in public, and have never liked him much, if at all.

• 125.gunther: Reply to this comment

Look I don’t want to jump the gun as it were but from my days as a navy seal we used the double tap to make sure the target stayed down.

Seems odd.

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bakkies: calm down squire, i can admire a coach’s ideas without being a fan of the team he coaches eg. hawies fourie is a favourite of mine.

ufo swears that jk is the TRUTH but he is not a Blues fan now is he? :-)

Kings RULE!

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-125: ja this story will go on for a while yet, with lots of speculation and rumor.

As you say, we’ll just have to wait this one out.

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-91: no joke, since 2005 i have NEVER supported any Super Rugby Franchise!

• 129.David: Reply to this comment

It’ll be interesting to find out which room the shooting occurred in, and whether Oscar sleeps with his legs on.

• 130.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124: don’t like him either – first time I saw him in the flesh he was acting all windgat and agro towards a poorly educated truck driver.

May he rot in prison.

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: repear that again Bakkies :D

98. i_love_u_bakkiesbotha said:
    14 Feb 2013, 08:12 am
    to be fair, Transie did call a Griquas win
    though.

it’s warm-up games ;)

• 132.gunther: Reply to this comment

Every year the bullshit around the State of the Nation Address gets worse.

The entire ******* place is at a standstill.

Now is the time to rob a bank.

• 133.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-131:

On a more serious note, how many wins do you predict for the Kings this year, Transie?

• 134.gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-129:

How else would he put his slippers on?

• 135.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-123:
    yes i agree, the Bulls and Sharks Super squads come from the home unions, this much is true.
    however, you did alluded/insinuate that the Sharks pick the exact same players in the exact same teams to play both Super and CC rugby from a wider squad, no?
    you also said this for the Bulls.

also, it’s worth stating that a great many, in fact probably a majority, of those players who now make up the Bulls wider squad/s from which the Bulls CC and Super teams are drawn were brought into the Bull union from outside of their ‘traditional’ player bases/feeder areas.

is this any different to the concept of a franchise area in which players from one or two unions are picked?

• 136.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-132: I like the way you think.

• 137.RL: Reply to this comment

@David-129: if he had time to put his legs on and arm himself (excuse the pun) then I do not buy that “I was taken by surprise by a burgalr story).

• 138.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-131:

I’m sure you guys will turn it around.

• 139.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-131:
    warm up games?
    warm up to what?

you dont really believe this stuff, do you?

• 140.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-136:

Hail to the Thief.

• 141.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135:

Yes, because all the players are contracted and owned by the Bulls, as opposed to the Bulls only getting them temporarily during the Super 15.

And should they wish to, and injuries and national call ups permit it, they could potentially have their full Super Rugby team running out in a Currie Cup final.

• 142.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-140: We take our cue from our leaders.

• 143.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-139:

Warm up to their relegation battle with the lions.

They’ve got 14 more scheduled.

• 144.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-143: I predict that there will only be a promotion/regation game should the Cheetahs by some stroke of bad luck finish last in the SA Conference.

Should they not finish last SARU will once again come up with a c.ck-and-bull story and shift the goalposts again.

• 145.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-133: 3 or 4.

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-141:
    so your sticking point are contractual specifics and degree of ownership, then?
    two things which could easily be dealt with in the same way the BBC does now.

they would only do that well after the fact of the Super season ending so its moot or pointless, or both, to state that. intentionally, there are two different teams from ‘almost’ two different squads competing for the Super as well as the CC titles.
    and rightly so, these are two equally important trophies for the Bulls and they do compete to win both.

• 147.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-142:

Transie says we get the leaders we deserve.

You’ve clearly been a very bad little boy.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-141: I’ve said the same thing each year. 4 teams max,and let them earn it,

• 149.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-145:

OK, fair enough. Thanks for the honest prediction.

My honest response is that I think that would be a miracle outcome, if achieved.

Still, it’s good to know what the expectations are.

• 150.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-143:
    oh i see.

this is sensible i suppose but i dont think they’ll win the promo/releg games, judging by the strength of the Lions. it would be a surprising upset if they did.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.