Griquas edge Kings

Griquas got the win but Southern Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons got questions answered in his team’s final Super Rugby pre-season outing.

Griquas scored late to win 30-27 and Solomons told Keo.co.za on the balance of performance the right team got the winning result.

‘Pre-season matches are about more than the result but every player and team wants a winning one,’ he said. ‘We did not get enough ball to enforce our way of play and all credit to the effort of Griquas. They dominated the lineout and denied us a platform. It is hard to play any game without ball from set piece and if the boys didn’t know that they certainly will now.’

The Kings historic Super Rugby debut is Solomons’ focus and he said bigger than the result in Port Elizabeth was that captain Luke Watson and lock Steven Sykes got through the match in what was their first appearance after lengthy injury lay-offs.

‘We gained from those objectives in that the players returning from injury got the necessary hit out, but in any sport the objective is to win. That we did not get and we did not deserve a winning result. There has never been any illusion about the challenge in Super Rugby proper but we will be in a position to field a match squad close to full strength. That wasn’t looking possible a few weeks ago.

‘It is a credit to our medical and conditioning staff and to the desire of the players.’

Solomons said he was thankful for the commitment of Griquas and how important the match would be in the mental preparation for the historic season opener in a week.

‘Griquas approached it like it was a Super Rugby match and it was the physical and mental preparation you can’t replicate at training. We’ve got lots to work with in the next week. But take nothing away from Griquas. They came here to win and they did so.’

The Kings play the Force in Port Elizabeth to start their Super Rugby history.

807 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

• 201.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-187: ” ok, i will have to revisit some of this info.
    for now i take your word for it.

nothing to “revisit”, that is the truth…you like arguing without providing facts…only when SANZAR allowed SA the 5th franchise did Border EP leave the Coastal Sharks franchise, SWD leave the Stormers franchise, the Cheetahs left the Cats franchise!

EP were NEVER bought out of the Coastal Sharks, let it sink in Bakkies ;)

• 202.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-199: everybody is doing it because money rules and traditional sporting allegiances come second to money grubbing mercenary business..

that why you got crooked refs and crooked systems and crooked betting syndicates and crooked competitions and crooked administrators because money comes first and home based sporting allegiances come last

• 203.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-198:

well, apart from being one of the 10% odd of the population actually contributing to the fiscal dynamic of SA and paying tax , I am one day hoping to bump into you. And find out for myself how tough and morally fckupadilly upstanding you are face to face.

If you are indeed Jack Black behind a keyboard….or Quasimodo?

• 204.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-198:
    because this country would fall apart otherwise.

as much as you have it in for ‘the man’ and by rights have many good reasons to say and be so, why cant you also admit that our principle strength is our racial and cultural diversity?

blaming everything on apartheid is becoming such a tired excuse really.

• 205.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-168: “The myth that the Sharks bought them out, is just that. The Sharks only paid for the rights to hold all the games at Kings Park.”

The Myth?

You mean “paying for the rights to hold all the games at Kings Park” is categorically not “buying them out”?

Fucksakes… Your attempts at spin just make you look disingenuous at best, and a farken liar at worst…

• 206.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-201:
    ok, so the accepted view is that EP chose to go it alone then?
    ok.

• 207.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-202:
    are you saying we should return to an older way of doing things as far as sports teams and where the players hail from are concerned?

• 208.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-202:

what bladdy planet you from? You sound communist to be fair. As if everyone working elsewhere other than where they wer born is a money grabbing mercenary.?

the Zimbo’s and Nigerians will not like that. Or the somalians.
    Oh wait, what about a doctor from, say, PE….who wants to start a practice in Joburg? Is he also a money grabbing mercenary OR some oke just coming up with the best plan to earn a living?

Or the best example…..what of all the Xhosa’s in Cape Town? Also money grabbing mercenarys? Why aren’t they back in PE and EL ? Or wait…you are from the Cape right? Didn’t I read that you located to Joburg? What’s that all about?

you are one kind of nutjob.

• 209.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-200: Auckland were once the NZ powerhouse who won the comp in its early stages year upon year.. Canterbury down at the Bottom.. same with Brumbies and Reds doing about turns up and down the ladder from top to bottom

Your Bulls were the WORST performing SA franchise for 3 whole years of diabolical performances.. so your Bulls should have gotten the CHOP if your cutthroat principles you like to administer to others you would be so eager to administer to your own.

If EP had the financial clout to retain the Serfonteins, Bassons, Kirchners, Ndungane’s, Potgieters, Engelbrechts, Mapoe’s, Stegmans, etc. that you buy up off Craven week they would be at the top of the system and your franchise down where it rightfully belongs.

How does that clout come about, through which austere form of fiscal financial artistry?

• 210.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Just heard that Oscar Pistorius shot his girlfriend at 4 this morning, mistaking her for a thief! How tragic! Condolences to the family of the deceased.

• 211.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-202: The only reason that WP has rugby talent anyway is due to historic entrenchment of whitey exclusivity… Whether through Afrikaans Universities or National Service enticements to force rugby players away from other provinces…

This myth of exclusive or superior talent in the Western Cape is due to apartheid and perpetuated now by the DA – the same party with the NP as political DNA… Demonstrated by Godzille calling South Africans refugees in their own country, this superiority now extends to rugby… What next – Rugby refugees…?

How ironic… You Cape fools are imprisoned by separate development:
    - The Superior Western Cape WP – exclusively Cape blonde talent
    - Now the Bantustan Eastern Cape Kings

Trapped in the past mofos…

• 212.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-188:
    truth is, i would support a permanent promo/releg system in the SA Super conference. it would make it more interesting i think.

• 213.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Got my tickets for the Bulls vs Stormers game on Friday 22nd. Can’t wait.

• 214.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-209:

dude, it is not about the financial clout of PE in my opinion as I have already written.

It is the fact that a kid would rather be a Bull/Stormer or even Shark (evil) than be a King.

• 215.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-213:

bladdy hate these friday night games.

Wish they were all at Loftus on a Saturday after noon at 15:00.

• 216.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-209: Talk about worst performing…

At least the Bulls were actually there in Super Rugby…

The Superior Western Cape wasn’t… Their Christmas Tree wearing team werent farken good enough to play…

Real Super Rugby Johnny come latelies…

Still chuckle at their “Men in Black” campaign, a blatant copy of the Sharks, because they were so embarrassed at their own Christmas Tree jerseys…

Also ironic because the “brains” behind the Stormers “MIB” was none other than Bob Skinstad…

the last time I checked – this WP “legend” went to school at Hilton College… and his Pops is a Doc in Gillits…

Now I dont know of any Hilton College and Gillits in Cape Town… Maybe Im just mistaken…

• 217.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-215:

Yip I have to agree. Have a few at Eastwoods and watch the earlier game and then off to Loftus on a Saturday a win win situation. Anyways that is the draw and I have my tickets anyway.

• 218.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: I’m saying money has ruined the traditional allegiances that should be the backbone of what sport is essentially about.. sport should be about participation for altruistic and patriotic principles.. not about personal monetary gain above all else..

that is why the Olympic games and international WC competitions is the epitome of world sport participation because tat is when the true reflected moral achievement of an individual is measured toward the uplift of his patriotic altruistic ideal representing the country or region he hails from..

professional sporting allegiance has eroded that.. club sport participation which is essentially what this professional franchise business is about is a superficial ideal compared to national or regional or home based allegiance.

• 219.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Just because Oscar is levels doesn’t mean he’s unarmed

• 220.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-217: Burger and beer special followed by a few more beers and down the road to Loftus…..what a day!!

• 221.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-219: legless even

• 222.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

I think Kevin de Klerk is still sitting with a boner

• 223.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I await the Kings first game with glee…

They play the Force…

This should be the King’s best and probably only chance of a win in the entire campaign…

If the Force fuckthemup…?

Actually, it might become feasible to cancel the rest of the Kings fixtures due to health and safety concerns for the poor players involved… especially after the 3rd or 4th 100 pt score rogering they take…

• 224.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-222: I am too to be honest…

This season is going to be fun on Keo…

Especially for Transie… Fark the poor fool gonna be rogered all season long for the sake of his embarrassing team…

So much so he might actually turn into an ntombi… Who knows, maybe Rossi might have to turn lezzy to come right with him from this season forward….

• 225.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-216: WP were excluded in 1997 ONLY.. that year being the ONLY year that the S12 participation was awarded to the top 4 finishers in the CC of 1996 when Cheetahs took their place as a result of them finishing higher in the CC. Northern Transvaal, Natal Sharks and Transvaal being the other 3 SA representative teams.

Prior to 1998, South Africa did not use a franchise system for the Super 12, instead sending the top four unions from its domestic competition, the Currie Cup, into the Super 12. In 1996, the Stormers qualified and competed in the Super 12 as Western Province. In 1997, they did not qualify, the 4th South African team being the Orange Free State

The same years that Bulls were systematically coming stone last in the competition went as follows:

1999 Stormers finished 2nd overall, 2001 they came 7th and 2002 they came 7th

• 226.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-218:
    yes, those really nice and laudable ideals and principles, Skop

unfortunately i think we are too far gone to be able to go back.
    the best thing is to deal with it the best we can and strive to keep as much of the ‘old’ principals alive as possible.

• 227.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

WELL DONE GRIQUAS!

DOWN WITH THE RACIST TRANSFORMERS.

• 228.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-224: Yip. These Kings boytjies are in for a tough one and to be honest they are being laughed at because of their management and his little puker.

• 229.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-225: ” WP were excluded in 1997 ONLY”…

You are a farken liar at worst, fantasist at best…

Here we go… The proof:
    Pool A

Auckland
    Natal
    Western Samoa
    Queensland
    Otago

Pool B

Transvaal
    New South Wales
    Northern Transvaal
    North Harbour
    Waikato

In 1994, New Zealand were represented by NPC champions Auckland, along with Waikato, Otago and North Harbour. South Africa were represented by Currie Cup champions Transvaal, along with the Natal Sharks and Eastern Province. Western Samoa were once again the representatives from the Pacific Tri-Series.

Only in 1995 did the WP johnny come latelies actually participate in Super Rugby…

And lets not mention the other years of non participation….

BWAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAA….

Farken dumbfuck

• 230.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-203: you still in the wrong continent you hate it here with a vengeance.. so wtf you actually doing here? you pat yourself on the back at what an upright contributor you are at upkeep of your status quo yet you still hang around as if you are a morally superior martyr for punishment.. if you so despondent at the surrounding gloom of inefficient debauchery facing you daily.. then leave.. wtf is actually keeping you here?

• 231.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-227: :lol:

• 232.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-228: Not only the management and his puker but for the blatant lies for their inclusion…

- this little stadium money making scheme and cash siphon

is painted by SARU as development and “transformation”

The people of the EC are suckers in this one…

Poor sods…

• 233.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-232:
    i forgot all about that shady stadium business.

can anyone shed more light on that, please?

• 234.gunther: Reply to this comment

Apparently Oscar shot his bird 4 times?

Sheeshkebab.

• 235.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-232: The whole manner in which these dose wormed their way into Super rugby is rotten to the core. I dont give hoolla hoopin’ fark how poor the Lions were.

• 236.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-229:

you talk absolute garbage man where were Canterbury Crusaders or FS Cheetahs or ACT Brumbies or Wellington Hurricanes in 1993 .. it was based on what principles of participation then? They also all johnny come lately’s in your fck’d up estimation?

With the launch of the Super 12 in 1996, both Australia and New Zealand adopted franchise-based models for their provincial teams that were to compete in the new competition.

However, the South Africa teams were to be determined by the results of the previous season’s Currie Cup, with the top four sides gaining entry in the Super 12. Newlands did see Super 12 competition during the era when this model of competition was used, with the Western Province gaining promotion for the inaugural season of 1996. However, the team did not perform that well, winning only three matches from 11 fixtures, and finishing second last on the table, though Transvaal and the Wellington Hurricanes both won the same amount of games as the Western Province, they finished higher, due to a superior for and against.

• 237.gunther: Reply to this comment

Stanis are in pieces.

• 238.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-235: And so say lots of us.

• 239.cosca: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-211: Are you and skopdiekan related?

• 240.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-235: Yes… Farken crookery to the core…

From Saru to Cheeky to Puke via Stadium management and franchise funding…

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-236: Super 10 – super rugby, no?

A fib is a fib my little Vegan “kenner”…

You just been Punk’d fuckface…

• 242.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-214: ” dude, it is not about the financial clout of
    PE in my opinion as I have already written.
    It is the fact that a kid would rather be a
    Bull/Stormer or even Shark (evil) than be a
    King.”

Sergearl.Pietersen – craven week player of the tournament – has chosen to be a KING over the Bulls, Sharks & WP… EISH :-)

• 243.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cosca-239: Nope… I am a real African… Not one of these Nimby Cape “oh so superior” pretend Europeans who reckon they are the shining lights of liberalism when back at the ranch they call South Africans in their own country refugees for daring to breach their self defined Fish Dorpie exclusivity…

• 244.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-242: “Wow”… :lol:

Even the son of WP’s “Prince of Wings” preferring the Sharks over WP cant compare to that….

You spinning yourself shitless like a farken top, Doctor…

• 245.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Please keo, would you please make your predictions for the weekend so that I can pick the other teams.

• 246.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-242: Career limiting move….pity

• 247.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-244: Eina…that one had to hurt.

• 248.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-244: fyi jean-luc was overlooked for paul jordaan’ brother & another youngster :-)

the Sharks were an option where he can get gametime & not his first choice, who is spinning now?

• 249.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-211:

should we highlight how much ‘rugby talent’ your marauding bunch of mercenary mogul managers of deception bring through the ranks of the KZN hotbed of rugby breeding one more time for the record..

Dale Chadwick – KZN
    Allan Dell – EP
    Jannie Du Plessis – FS
    Wiehann Herbst – GP
    Tendai Mtwawarira – ZW
    Julian Redelinghuis – GP
    Craig Burden – KZN
    Kyle Cooper – GP
    Peter Dixon – ZW – KZN
    Bismark Du Plessis – FS
    Monde Hadebe – KZN
    Franco Marais – GP
    Anton Bressler – NBA
    Peter Steff Du Toit – WP
    Jandre Marais – FS
    Peet Marais – FS
    Franco Vd Merwe – WP
    Willem Alberts – GP
    Jacques Botes – GP
    Marcel Coetsee – KZN
    Keegan Daniel – EP
    Jean Deysel – FS
    Ryan Kankowski – EP
    Francois Kleynhans – KZN
    Lubabalo ‘Tera’ Mtembu – EP
    Charl Mcleod – GP
    Cobus Reinach – FS
    Patrick Lambie – KZN
    Riaan Viljoen – GP
    Meyer Bosman – FS
    Paul Jordaan – EP / FS
    Francois Steyn – EP / FS
    Tim Whitehead – EP
    Lwazi Mvovo – EP
    Odwa Ndungane – EP
    JP Pietersen – WP
    Sibusisu Sithole – EP
    Louis Ludick – GP
    Gouws Prinsloo – EP

1 prop
    3 hookers
    2 flanks
    and 1 fly half..

That is the sum total of your home bred Johnny come lately KZN contribution to your sharkshit foreign legion mercenary team – 7 players from a squad of 40 players – less than 20%

The rest are all bought in merchandise .. now do the same for WP and see the difference

If all the EP and FS players went home then Cheetahs and Kings would kick your johnny come lately backsides all the way back to sport Pienaar VC status back where you belong.

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-248: So you trying to say Du Plessis Jr is no longer at the Sharks, and maybe never was there…?

Or just another top spinning lie…?

Fark, do you also lie to yourself after waking up and then looking in the mirror, Chumi….

You cant help yourself can you? :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1117 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.