Griquas edge Kings

Griquas got the win but Southern Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons got questions answered in his team’s final Super Rugby pre-season outing.

Griquas scored late to win 30-27 and Solomons told Keo.co.za on the balance of performance the right team got the winning result.

‘Pre-season matches are about more than the result but every player and team wants a winning one,’ he said. ‘We did not get enough ball to enforce our way of play and all credit to the effort of Griquas. They dominated the lineout and denied us a platform. It is hard to play any game without ball from set piece and if the boys didn’t know that they certainly will now.’

The Kings historic Super Rugby debut is Solomons’ focus and he said bigger than the result in Port Elizabeth was that captain Luke Watson and lock Steven Sykes got through the match in what was their first appearance after lengthy injury lay-offs.

‘We gained from those objectives in that the players returning from injury got the necessary hit out, but in any sport the objective is to win. That we did not get and we did not deserve a winning result. There has never been any illusion about the challenge in Super Rugby proper but we will be in a position to field a match squad close to full strength. That wasn’t looking possible a few weeks ago.

‘It is a credit to our medical and conditioning staff and to the desire of the players.’

Solomons said he was thankful for the commitment of Griquas and how important the match would be in the mental preparation for the historic season opener in a week.

‘Griquas approached it like it was a Super Rugby match and it was the physical and mental preparation you can’t replicate at training. We’ve got lots to work with in the next week. But take nothing away from Griquas. They came here to win and they did so.’

The Kings play the Force in Port Elizabeth to start their Super Rugby history.

807 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1217 » Show All

• 301.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@cosca-300: If the cops don’t have sufficient evidence against him he’ll walk

• 302.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Nike may want to review their ad with Oscar? – the one that says “I am the bullet in the chamber”

and Bullet for my valentine’s wikipage has allready been modified to show Oscar as lead vocals….didn’t take long did it?

Sad ending for a very pretty girl.

• 303.cosca: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-301: The State will oppose bail this afternoon because the police had been out to his address on a number of occasions for domestic violence.

• 304.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-290: You, my son, are a Capie apologist… An Uncle Tom…

Nevertheless, this white as snow, blue-eyed aryan is still, definitely more african than you will ever be…

Sorry to say, but you just cant be – no matter how many kays you walked on the Caprivi preventing swartgevaar in your meat eating youth…

• 305.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-293: You in such a topspin now you clearly mistaking me for Rossi… :lol:

• 306.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha skopskiet you old fa r t.

what makes you “more african” than the rest of the whities in sa by virtue of you being jewish?

(sits back, clicks knuckles and waits, this should be good har har)

• 307.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-298: Barritt was a victim of “Transformation”…

Good on him for cracking on and succeeding in the mother country when the country of his birth wouldnt consider him because of the colour of his skin or because he wasn’t Capey enough… :lol:

• 308.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

if being a mercenary means not plying your trade in your place of birth then snoeky is farked hahahahaha.

• 309.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

and as for his jibes regarding saffas who have moved overseas to work go, by his own admittance his son lives and works in italy.

what now?

• 310.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-308:

Look even on a good day Cunteye doesn’t ply much of anything.

• 311.cosca: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-304: There is no such thing as an aryan,Walter .

• 312.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cosca-311: Yes, cocksack, I am sure you maybe right… But this time you forgot to “think”, therefore maybe you could be wrong…

Aryan Africans… Of course you get them… They running around everywhere…

PS. Welcome to my fan club… A welcoming Noddy badge on its way in the post, just for you

• 313.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-310: single ply snoeky

• 314.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cosca-311: wtf are you on about?

thats like saying there is no such thing as an african.

stupid comment.

• 315.cosca: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-312: Thanks,Walter.

• 316.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-307: Hello Virgil. What say you about the guppie invasion round here? All your little friends from the guppie tribute site pulling in :)

I’m looking forward to some good Shark on Shark action….

• 317.Transformation: Reply to this comment

” Barritt was a victim
    of “Transformation”

bwahahahaha is francois steyn a player of colour? that is the player that snatched barritt’s spot at 12 in d.ick muir’s team :mrgreen:

• 318.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-309:

They guy just probably wanted to go to a place where he could eat a steak in peace.

• 319.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cosca-311:

The term Aryan originates from the Sanskrit word ?rya, in origin an ethnic self-designation, in Classical Sanskrit meaning “honourable, respectable, noble”.[3][4]

forget the rest of your argument because its meaningless what meaning people have assigned tot he word, much the same way as one of the ways i define myself is as a spearfisherman, aryan is originally a self-designation so if HG wants to be an Aryan then you cant stop him can you now?

• 320.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-318: :lol:

surprised he went to a place with so many wet noodles though.

• 321.cosca: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-314: Correct .Studies,undertaken by esteemed world professors,concluded that there is no true race in this world ,but only ‘the human race.We are all basically a mixture of different cultures.

• 322.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-316: Dunno about guppies and their supporters, but this poster is a Sharkie through and through…

If you talking about Sharksworld winkies then bear in mind the moment they started slating Plum and punting Jimmy Stonehouse as the next Sharks supremo thats when I even stopped reading their codswallop…

I mean FFS, Megatron aka Transie, was one of their “star” writers… :wink:

• 323.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cosca-321: but aryan is an ethnic, not racial, designation?

the opposing argument to your theory is taht we are all africans because africa is where we originated.

so yes, there are africans and yes there are aryans.

they are simply terms that bind certain groups identtity much like samoans, kiwis etc etc.

• 324.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-317: You sure about that, Transie?

Not 10… or 15, before 12?

Was Fransie even there when Barrit was around?

Sheezus…. and you are one of Sharksworld’s star writers… I would have thought you would be an expert by now :lol:

• 325.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cosca-321: “esteemed world professors”….

You “think”? :lol:

As my new No 1 fan, you cracking me up cocsac… Heheheheheheh

• 326.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-322: They are here HG….they are here….and they are reporting for this site.
    Sharksworld winkies in the house……

Hark, I hear a BOOM.

• 327.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cosca-321: wtf is that load of k uk anyway?

there is no race in this world blah blah blah.

of course there is.

no matter how many kiddies my wife and i pop out, none of them will be black buddy.

that bs of trying to sidestep the fact of racial difference is just as bad as trying to justify racial superiority in my book, its lefty liberal bs hand wringing.

• 328.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cosca-321: anyway, what you jumping on HG for when he claims he is aryan?

why dont you go have a little chat with snoekskiet, the oke is more hung up over race than the national party was.

• 329.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-304: @The Rangerman-306: you two little displaced colonialists priding yourself on being “african” go pull another cork out your keg of bewildered misplaced colonic idiocy .. you ain’t african by the hair of your lily white heads and never in a thousand generations will you ever possibly be.

who you trying to kid you dumb fck fools.. yourselves or who exactly?

Barritt ran and ducked for the mother country same way as you two colonic bred misluks should do.. thats where you belong in mother hubbards country.

• 330.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

that is correct there is no such thing as race its you dumb fck whiteys that still think you f’ng superior than the rest of humanity

fck of back to your aryan roots if that where you think you hail from.

• 331.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-320:

Maybe he likes to be reminded of home.

• 332.Ho3n3r: Reply to this comment

While I don’t like the fact that the Lions were replaced by these palookas, it does have it advantages for SA teams.

Most of us will have a guaranteed 8 points extra (though Ludekak might find us a way to lose), and possibly another 2 for tries scored.

Also, instead of only 14 hours travel for most overseas teams, they now land in old Lions land, and still have to do another 2 hours extra towards P.E.

So, since we’ve had to make peace with it, the positives are many.

• 333.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-326: Farkenhell… Saw Oz Bryce calling them “happy clappy’s”

Fark me…

Looks like we really gonna see holier than thou worse than skopskiet proselytising about legumes on a good day…

Invasion of the guppies truly… The Jimmy Stonehouse fanclub…

But this poster remains a Shark…

Supporting Black and White…

Dynamite…

BOOM! :wink:

• 334.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-329: “go pull another cork out your keg of bewildered misplaced colonic idiocy ”

“you two colonic bred misluks”

:) I am in awe. I bow down.

• 335.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-327: you’re a racist .. a bullshitting racist and no amount of hand wringing denial is gonna change you from what you think you are not… same as your rhodesian pushpig escapee .. same type racist who likes to think he’s superior while bullshitting himself he’s a white ‘african’ with zero racist tendencies. f’ng bullshitters alike.. you wouldn’t know a non racist if you had to trip over one and kick its head in inadvertently.

• 336.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Ho3n3r-332:
    10 points are as likely as 8.

• 337.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-330: Bliksem but you can for like to be deur die kak.

1st you say there is no such thing as race, then you classify them as whiteys?

ookmaarlekkerfokkinstoopid…..

so, the arayn loks just like an asian, an aborigine or an inuit?

• 338.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-329: The only colonic idiocy here is when you open your mouth and make a post pretending not to fib…

This is my continent… My country… You must fckoff back to yours somewhere east of the Sinai where you can while away your days eating figs and picking olives where you belong…

Like I do here…

Africa is for Africans… And I am African…

• 339.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-329:
    So being born on the African Continent doesn’t make you African?
    You clearly are the weakest link………goodbye

• 340.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-334:
    misluks also had me chuckling :)

Skop is such a larf sometimes

• 341.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-335: Talking about bullshittters and bullshittting…

Can I just remind you of the post that said something to the effect of “Stormers/WePee only ever missed Super Rugby in 1997″

Fark… Thats about as honest as a sabra from springs saying hes never touched bacon…

• 342.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-337: race is a derivation of what? what determines one persons race as ulterior to another? and what gives anyone the inclination to assume that their race is superior to another.. which is happening here on this blog, in this society and in every walk of human life day in and day out, minute in and minute out?

people pretend to be non racist when if you scratch a little beneath their haughty superficial self righteous opinions of themselves you will find they are riddled with racist tendencies where in their racial assumption their race represents a superior echelon of human society in their racist minds over somebody else.

• 343.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-342:

Race is a classification system used to categorize humans into large and distinct populations or groups by anatomical, cultural, ethnic, genetic, geographical, historical, linguistic, religious, or social affiliation….that’s the official version.

Genetically no difference as we are all (well, not so sure about you) **** sapiens sapiens.

But race exists…

• 344.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-338: @nortierd-339:

you ready to marry an African and have African children?

not a f’ng chance.. you no africans.. you are displaced europeans living in africa and maintaining your european ancestral independence (apartheid) in africa.. in other words at best you are european colonialists who like to think of yourselves as african .. but african you are not.

• 345.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-343: Baruch Hashem there’s only one of him.

• 346.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-333: I hate to say this HG…… But I would take you every day of the week and on Saturdays (not Sundays), before I take a choir of voices all singing fuckingfalsetto.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-340: Skop: He ARE Legend. (He IS legend doesn’t do the great man justice)

• 347.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-329: it is not important how you define me snoeky, but rather how i define myself.

• 348.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-343: so all wars and hatred meted out between one ethnic division of humanity.. one tribe against another … comprises a belief or ideology of what form of intolerance or bigotry.. if we are all essentially and genetically the same?

• 349.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-344:
    You ready to eat a Macdonalds or Spur burger the way humans are intended to.
    Lay off the bean curd and get real.
    You really must remember to take them meds in the morning, you are delutional again.

• 350.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-324: in 2008 Barritt played for the Sharks so no player of colour was preferred before him, in 2008 JEAN DE VILLIERS was the Springbok 12 with Olivier the back up…again no player of colour chosen in front of him…

So tell us how was he a victim of Transformation

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1217 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.