Clyde cracks a super start in comeback

RICHARD FERGUSON updates followers on the latest Super Rugby news from Australia.

Rathbone completes return to rugby

Clyde Rathbone has successfully completed a return to top class rugby after being selected in Jake White’s starting XV to take on the Reds.

Rathbone, who hasn’t played since 2009, being forced into retirement as a result of depression, starts on the wing in place of the talented Joseph Tomane, much to the surprise of the fans.

Ben Mowen will captain the side while David Pocock makes his debut for the side after signing from Force at the end of last season. The front row is an impressive combination of Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore and Dan Palmer.

Brumbies: 15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Andrew Smith, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Clyde Rathbone, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (Captain), 7. David Pocock, 6. Peter Kimlin, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Scott Fardy, 3. Dan Palmer, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Ben Alexander. Replacements: 16. Siliva Siliva, 17. Ruaidhri Murphy, 18. Colby Faingaa, 19. Fotu Auelua, 20. Ian Prior, 21. Joseph Tomane, 22. Robbie Coleman.

Reds delay naming team

Reds coach Ewen McKenzie has delayed naming his starting team to face the Brumbies this Saturday.

Instead, McKenzie named 23 players that will travel to Canberra and only confirm the team tomorrow. As reported, James Slipper will captain the team in the absence of regular captain James Horwill.

The Reds face a tough few rounds as they take on the Waratahs in the second round of matches, with Australian derby matches known to be close, tough encounters.

Reds Squad:
Forwards: Nigel Ah Wong, Albert Anae, Jarrad Butler, Saia Faingaa, Liam Gill, James Hanson, Greg Holmes, Ed O’Donoghue, Eddie Quirk, Jake Schatz, Rob Simmons, James Slipper (c), Adam Wallace-Harrison

Backs: Quade Cooper, Chris F’Sautia, Nick Frisby, Mike Harris, Digby Ioane, Jono Lance, Ben Lucas, Dom Shipperley, Ben Tapuai (vc), Aidan Toua