Game breakers and match makers

There has been plenty cross-franchise movement in all three countries. Who will make the biggest impact in this season’s Super Rugby tournament?

The SMH’s rugby experts identified their top 20 transfers of players they believe will influence the fortunates of their new respective teams.

Here’s the list (in no ranking order)

1. Butch James (Lions to Sharks)
2. Gareth Anscombe (Blues to Chiefs)
3. Fumiaki Tanuaka (Otago to Highlanders)
4. Peter Betham (Sydney University to Tahs)
5. Clyde Rathbone (retirement to Brumbies)
6. Jason Woodward (Wellington to Rebels)
7. Hugh McMeniman (Reds to Force)
8. Elton Jantjies (Lions to Stormers)
9. Ben Franks (Saders to Canes)
10. Tony Woodcock (Blues to Landers)
11. Alby Mathewson (Blues to Force)
12. Scott Higginbotham (Reds to Rebels)
13. Ma’a Nonu (Blues to Landers)
14. Jaco Taute (Lions to Stormers)
15. Israel Folau (Aus Rules to Tahs)
16. Brad Thorn (Japan to Landers)
17. Michael Hooper (Brumbies to Tahs)
18. David Pocock (Force to Brumbies)
19. Sarel Pretorius (Tahs to Cheetahs)
20 Graham Henry (All Blacks to Blues as technical advisor)

Of the list I rate Henry as the individual who will have the most impact. The man who guided the Blues to two titles in three finals, also experienced the winning feeling when technical advisor for the Blues prior to his appointment as All Blacks coach. This was on his return from Wales.

Hooper and Pocock will be huge, Jantjies if played will make a difference to the Stormers ability to score tries, Israel Folau is the kind of player the game needs and will prove an inspiring cross-code switch.

Fumiaki Tanuaka is a Japanese scrumhalf who plays the game very differently and at a pace that will make him effective in the last quarter to half an hour of a game. His energy against tired legs, especially those lazy pillars of defence at the breakdown will add a dimension to the Highlanders.

Brad Thorn will give the Highlanders leadership and gravitas but when looking at the list of 20 I would say that the fortunes of the campaign influence is limited to just five names in Henry, Pocock, Jantjies, Hooper and Folau. Henry as the tactician and the others as players are all individually good enough to turn the ordinary into the extraordinary.

Your thoughts?

63 Comments

• 1.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Agree on Henry.
    Also Jantjies and I’ll go for Nonu

• 2.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

1-taute
    2-folua
    3-nonu
    4-jantjies
    5-thorn

• 3.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Keo, any picks for the weekend?

• 4.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-2: Taute natuurlik

• 5.keo: Reply to this comment

I will do my picks first thing in the am

• 6.keo: Reply to this comment

Gut feel is Reds and Rebels but I have to first see finalised run on XV of Reds

• 7.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Butch James? I’ll wait and see

• 8.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@keo-6: Thanks. I have Brumbies and Rebels

• 9.Transformation: Reply to this comment

butch? they are drunk.

• 10.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Tweets from the Oscar Pistoleros Police Press
    Conference…:

EWN Reporter @ewnreporter
    #OscarPistorius SAPS Beukes: “We were very
    surprised to hear over the radio that
    allegations were made that he mistook her
    for a burglar.”

EWN Reporter @ewnreporter
    #OscarPistorius SAPS Beukes: “The person
    who has been arrested is co-operating with
    the police.”

6m EWN Reporter @ewnreporter
    #OscarPistorius SAPS Beukes: “I can confirm
    that there have previously been allegations
    of a domestic nature at Mr Pistorius’s home.”

• 11.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

How about Sias Ebersohn? Maybe he will get back to his best at the force. They been needing a proper flyhalf.

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-10:
    jealousy drove him temporarily insane.

• 13.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-10:

Poeps is going to love this.

• 14.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Oscar has always had a few issues. It’s just that SA and most of the world, chose to ignore them and focus on the ‘amazing’.

Anyone ‘shocked’ by this has simply refused to read between the ‘fame and wow factor’ that is Oscar P.

Tragic from A-Z.

• 15.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@gunther-13:
    So is Captain Fckadily.

All this movement bewtween franchises is going to be the death of him.

• 16.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-15: i count two moves to the stormers there.

both mercs no doubt.

unlike butch who is coming home :lol:

in other news, its less than a week til paindaine so now i am getting excited.

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-13:
    anything to take some heat off Sonny Boy.

• 18.gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-15:

According to him every time somebody changes franchises a fairy dies.

• 19.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Ok first of all, the Blues are going to be terrible this year. Kirwan isn’t the right coach, and he definitely doesn’t have the right players to do anything this season.

Graham Henry won’t do anything to change that.

The biggest moves are in the Australian conference:

Michael Hooper to Waratahs – Will make a huge impact and Waratahs could well end top of the Australian table for the first time in a long time.

David Pocock to Brumbies – Lost Hooper, but got a guy who is more refined, has more experience and comes to play in big games. The Brumbies got the worlds best openside… how is that not bigger then Graham Henry being a consultant?

Israel Folau to Waratahs – He’s going to be something special. Will pick up the game with ease and should be making everyone’s Team of the Year. Another great pick-up.

• 20.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-16:
    Excellent. Very jealous pal.
    My folks are currently up in Mozam. Staying at a friends place next to Machangulo Lodge. Right on ***** Gate.
    Apparently catching plenty.
    Returning all GT’s but keeping some couta and Dorry’s. Obviously.

• 21.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-18:
    bwahaaha

• 22.shane_keohane: Reply to this comment

RT @keocoza: Game breakers and match makers: There has been plenty cross-franchise movement in all three countries. Who wi… http://t.c

• 23.Cheetahs01: Reply to this comment

Sadie to Cheetahs. Hopefully he will be at his best in the Cheetahs jersey. Will see plenty of ball – his defence will be tested though.

• 24.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-20: where is machangulo lodge bud?

so you say the fish are on?

awesome news!

• 25.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs01-22:

Much as I love the Cheetahs & wish they’d do something special – and then manage to hold onto their players… I just can’t see their depth holding up.

Also their midfield is going to leak tries left-right-and-centre. Neither Ebersohn or Sadie are good defenders.

• 26.Cheetahs01: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-25: Defensively those two are going to be targeted. Very lightweight midfield. In all departments depth will be tested as it is every year.

Just think that Sadie will get ample opportunity with ball in hand to show us what he is capable of. I live in hope at least.

• 27.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs01-26:

Add Rhule, Willie and Goosen… the smallest backline in the competition…

• 28.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Can’t really say anything about either move the stormers made in this list until the season really gets going and how the players will be utilised becomes completely apparent.

The Aussie conference has the most interesting moves for me, with a few teams noticeably getting (potentially) stronger while the others either weaken or stay put. Should be a tighter conference there this year, and could be any one of 3 finishing top instead of just the Reds. Brumbies shouldn’t be surprising anyone this year, and Rathbone actually might be just as astute a pick-up as Pocock – get an older, experienced head in there to keep things calmer at crunch time. Pocock is going to change games for sure, but in the end, mentality can win matches.

Blues’ll be interesting. As much as Henry may help there, I don’t think they’ve the depth in personnel to be serious contenders. Their starting backline is going to be fireworks though.

• 29.Cheetahs01: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-27: Yeah backline is small but they’ll have to hold their own. Ebersohn is not a bad defender, just doesn’t take opposition back in the tackle. Willie le Roux on the other hand is a terrible defender going on a few errors from last season. Hope it has improved.

• 30.klugz: Reply to this comment

Guys if you looking for an alternative Fantasy League. I have found a new one guruleagues.com. It looks like its a new site, but seems pretty cool. Give it a go

• 31.fantasyrugbyscout: Reply to this comment

Hi Mark
    I agree, with the top 5 with exception Folau who has yet to prove himself in Union but he could prove me very wrong. I would replace him with Ben Franks. The Hurricanes have a devastating backline and if he can sure up the tight 5 they could make the playoffs.

• 32.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Just saw that atrocious blue bulls singing k@k on Boots. Eish my ears and eyes are bleeding. What were they thinking, they look and sound like a bunch of hill billys on moonshine.

• 33.the curse: Reply to this comment

Gunther @13

I actually think it’s a tragedy, domestic violence is never funny

unless of course you are referring to kiwis after losing a test match, then it’s given quite a bit of gravitas on this site.

I’m just thankful it wasn’t a kiwi sportsman, otherwise we would have had Bakkies posting 50 different articles on the incident.

On the subject of this article, I disagree about GH, only so much you can do with limited talent, and The Blues forward pack is imo very much in this category.

Folau, depending where he is played could have a bigger impact than SBWs, he is a superb athlete.

I also think the Landers and the Rebels acquisitions are probably going to be the other astute signings.

• 34.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@the curse-33: “I actually think it’s a tragedy, domestic violence is never funny”

That’s true, & very gracious of you

• 35.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Oscar , Oscar , Oscar!!!

With all the initial evidence it does look like that Oscar does not have a leg to stand on!!!

• 36.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-19:

Henry and the Argies were seconds away from beating your Bokke, I wouldn’t be so quick to discount Henry he’s done it all before and some. He was also the technical director for the Blues in 03′ when they won the title.

• 37.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the curse-33:

Well said Pops I could never understand why people on this site talk about wife beaters etc and casually throw it around as if its a joke, clearly it’s a big problem back home and here in China clipping your wife after a night on the sauce seems to be quite common. What a terrible tragedy for that young woman and her family.

• 38.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-36:

Don’t have to wait much longer to find out what they can do… I’d be very surprised if they don’t finish dead last in the NZ conference, and near the bottom of the SR table.

Anyway… Sasuke, if you’re reading this – my fantasy line-up for Round 1 (might make a couple of tweaks before kick off tonight though, go with gut feel):

Props: Ben Alexander & James Slipper
    Hooker: Ged Robinson
    Locks: Hugh Pyle & Toby Lynn
    Loosies: Scott Fuglistaller, Liam Gill & David Pocock
    Scrumhalf: Richard Kingi (who will actually be on the wing)
    Flyhalf: Christian Lealiifano (who will actually be at inside-centre)
    Centres: Ben Tapuai & James O’Connor (who’ll be at fullback)
    Outside-Backs: Chris Feauai-Sautia, Digby Iaone & Henry Speight.

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-38:

Look you could be right but lets not forget only two seasons ago they were beaten semi finalists, they don’t have the experienced forwards to win it this year but they’ll take a few decent teams at the garden of Eden this season.

• 40.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-39: Of course they will. I honestly don’t get all this ‘Blues are wooden spoon contenders’ sh yte.
    Yes: there are tight forward issues to contend with, but if they manage to hold their own,even without taking a clear advantage, the backs are going to be a handful…….

Folk seem to be focusing purely on the negative season of 2012. 90% of the Blues issues last year were of a mental nature. The entire camp had an air of negativity from start to finish: coaching, injuries, player attitude, discipline etc. This is where their problems lay,with carry over onto the field IMHO.

That negativity is gone……and youngsters (of which there are quite a few) energise and feed off whatever the coaches are dishing out – look at Jake’s Brumbies last year.

Nah, the won’t win the tournie, but they are not going to be the joke many hope them to be. And I will have my camera ready for those ‘scrambled egg on faces’ snapshots. ;)

(There are folk on here who don’t beieve they will win one game – seriously??????????????)

• 41.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-38: howdy hendrikp,
    who are the 4 designated first choice kickers for today for the 4 Aus franchises playing today?
    Do you know?

• 42.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-41:

Don’t know for sure, but almost surely:

Rebels – James O’Connor
    Western Force – Sam Christie
    Brumbies – Christian Lealiifano
    Reds – Mike Harris (if he starts which he surely will)

• 43.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-42:

Look for tonights game being a high-scoring affair, possibly both teams getting into the high-20′s with the winners scoring somewhere in the 30′s.

Tomorrow nights game will be closer.

Thinking about that alone makes me want to get rid of those Reds players in my back line.

• 44.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-42: Thx, I wasn’t sure whether it’ll be O’connor or Beale, so I opted for Harris.

• 45.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-44:

Beale is alright long distance, but his accuracy is terrible. They’d be crazy to give him the job.

I’m very surprised that they’ve got O’Connor at the back with Beale at 10. If anything it should be the other way around. Why you would want erratic at 10 over a more level-headed consistency from O’Connor I can’t understand… though if Jason Woodward were fit then they’d look even better with:

10 Kurtley Beale
    12 James O’Connor
    15 Jason Woodward

They still won’t win many games lol.

• 46.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-45: Why Beale & not O’Connor at 10?
    probably coz Beale surprised on the upside (imo) at 10 for the Wallabies

But agreed I’d also rather swap them around.

• 47.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-38: I thought you could have no more than three players from each team.

• 48.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-40:
    all will be revealed, Pedigree… all will be revealed…

• 49.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-33:

Ja whatever Poep.

You’ve sunk lower than that here day in day out.

So nobody really buys your tragedy vibe buddy.

Good luck for the Blues though.

Lets hope the Bulls take them down to funkytown.

• 50.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-49: you can cast all the aspersions you like, but if you think I take delight in a woman being shot four times then you are sadly mistaken..

as you were..

• 51.gunther: Reply to this comment

@the curse-50:

You seem to take vicarious delight in all sorts of tragedies that befall this country, aids, rape, murder etc.

Why should this be any different?

As you were indeed buddy.

• 52.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-50: i have to agree with gunther poopsie.

you are lower than snake sh it in my estimation.

you clearly have control issues and are like an office aquaintance that steps up to the water cooler to find the conversation suddenly dies and and uncomfortable silence descends.

this is because in your rational moments you are quite a friendly sociable chap but when something goes the way you dont like, the red mist comes over you and any weapon, be it secrets told in confidence or weaknesses gleaned through your insatiable desire to fit in, are used to try and hurt others.

i know your type well and avoid them at all costs but luckily here, on this forum, i dont have to stand around a watercooler and wait for you to ***** off.

• 53.the curse: Reply to this comment

@gunther-51: @The Rangerman-52: yawn… on a crusade gentleman? yet youre both willing to allow NZs social problems to be highlighted without nary a whisper..

that says just as much..

now, enjoy your day..

• 54.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-53: you are the crusader here pellie, defending nz’s “honour” by posting the worst filth you can dredge up, calling people the K-bomb, trying to justify your behaviour as some kind of counterattack.

you are pathetic and your credibility is zero in my eyes.

you enjoy your bitter angry life ok?

• 55.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the curse-53: i couldnt give a toss what people post about nz’s ills or south africas ills buddy.

i dont try to use excuses to wallow in the gutter like you do because of the actions of others.

the people who post negative things about nz basically own you and you dance like a puppet whilst they pull the strings.

makes you a poorer person buddy, not me.

• 56.the curse: Reply to this comment

hehe I uses the k bomb once mate, years ago. but you hold on to that ok?

the mere fact tht every time I post you have a rant is bew di ful

like I really care about your opinion?

hahaha big up yourself son.

• 57.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

“big up yourself son”?

whatever pel.

• 58.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-24:
    Ranger, Machangulo is on the mainland point just south of Inhaca Island. There is that narrow channel called H ells Gate that runs right between the mainland and the Island.
    Paradise.

• 59.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-58: ah ok, i heve spent time in the ele reserve, beautiful area.

less than a week to go.

i am very excited.

gotta go man, chat laters.

• 60.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-40:

As long as they beat the Bulls all will be good.

• 61.fantasyrugbyscout: Reply to this comment

Hey Mark,
    just thought I’d bring it to your attention that these guys are stealing your ideas:

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/super-rugby/all-aboard-the-playergoround-20130214-2eg3d.html

That’s not on!

• 62.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

hey guys; if you play SUPER BRU – join ” Paarl Pool” – it should be good fun

• 63.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-47:

I play on FoxSports which is a maximum of 5 players from each team.

Their scoring system is also far better. Comes down to the players performance/stats rather then what the team is doing which is just silly.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.