Rebels off to winning start

RICHARD FERGUSON reports on the Rebels securing four points in the Super Rugby season opener.

The Rebels took advantage of the Force’s poor discipline to win 30 – 23 after trailing 10 – 11 at half time.

The Force got off to a fantastic start, running out an eleven point lead in the opening half hour of the game. With the amount of possession and territory the Force had, they would have been disappointed to only score one try through Alfie Mafi.

Scott Higginbotham was yellow carded on debut for punching and the Force managed to score 8 points with the one man advantage. Higginbotham returned to the field of play and helped push a rolling maul over the line, Ged Robinson falling on the ball.

There was a reverse of fortune in the second half as first Chris Alcock and then Alby Mathewson was yellow carded, the Force having to play with thirteen men for seven minutes. The Rebels used this advantage to score their third try through Richard Kingi and get a healthy lead, before the Force hit back with a try of their own while still being a man down, Richard Brown scoring the try.

The Force will be disappointed that they lost this match, their goal kicking and discipline costing them this match. On the contrary, James O’Connor converted all his kicks to score half the team’s points. The Force are still without a win in the opening round of a Super Rugby season.

This Australian derby was far from the dull and boring that we had to sit through in 2012 and is a positive start to the new season.

244 Comments

• 1.polaris: Reply to this comment

Finally.

Hosts to win both games.

• 2.dr dre: Reply to this comment

Red Dragons to feel the Wrathbone.

• 3.dr dre: Reply to this comment

The Doctor has spoken and it will be so.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

go the Rebs…

• 5.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Would prefer the Force to win but from what I’ve seen they’re a pretty “new” team because of lots of changes in player personnel, etc so who knows.

Rebels, may the Force……be against you!

• 6.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

If you guys want to know WHY the Namibia vs Lions match was cancelled, I managed to find this link with a real in depth explanation… on a side note, it is actually a very good read with some interesting news on the “Biltongboere”.

http://wp.me/p2QxT1-8R

• 7.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

goyougoodthingForce

• 8.Caper: Reply to this comment

I really hope these teams to better this season.

• 9.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

On the tune of Michael Jackson’s ‘ Will you be there’

Kerrie, die vrou maak net kerrie
    Ma’ sy vigiet van breyani

• 10.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

‘Hulle was nooit by Kentucky nie

Hulle ietie by die Spur nie

Want die burgers en die waffles is expensive by Spur’

Alen Abrahams © 2012 – Cape Town, Republic of South Africa

• 11.hulk: Reply to this comment

Foxsports fantasy League: 12335-5900

• 12.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

These two sides make the Aussie conference a joke. If Cheetahs could play sides like these every second week they could also qualify for playoffs easy .

• 13.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-12: We have Kings now, nice tussle to see who props up league standings

• 14.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I’ve scarecly started the fantasy league thing and it’s already p issing me off. You can only pick O Connor as a 12, not as a 15 which he is playing today.

Seriaaasly man.

• 15.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

hey guys; if you play SUPER BRU – join ” Paarl Pool” – it should be good fun

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Congrats to O’Connor, the runaway early leader for kukest hair style of the season. Will take something special to beat him….

• 17.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Philander on Phire

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16: Amen to that. Let’s see what Frankie Hougaard has up his sleeve before we give him the trophy though.

• 19.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16:
    Agree with that comment.

• 20.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force just needs a few players to run back on the angle as decoy and they would create space on the outside. Right now its too predictable ball down the line kind of stuff. Great to have the Rugby back on.

• 21.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18:

Or the entire Bulls squad, for that matter.

• 22.Angostura: Reply to this comment

another pheiffer for Vern
    (the dude’s amazing)

• 23.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Higginbotham yellow carded

• 24.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Try Alfie Mafi

• 25.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18: My money’s on Elton J…

• 26.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force 11-0 Rebels

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

Philander you beauty!

• 28.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Stem saam

Fantasy league is like a tamagotchi (sp)

Needs too much attention

But that’s just me

• 29.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

I tipped the Rebels…..I’m hoping this is not the start of an early season Superbru implosion.

• 30.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Only thing worse than O’ Connor’s hair is the way the Rebels play and the whistle happy Force is my chommies ref

• 31.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-22:
    I’ll drink to that…

• 32.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Higginbotham back on

• 33.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-30: I think ConBieb looks rather ‘flash gordon’….

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

Enjoying this game….

and tomorrows should be very good!

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

nice Rebs

• 36.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Try Ged Robinson

• 37.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force 11-7 Rebels

• 38.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

There is hope…. and so there should be, I tipped Rebels by 11….. Fucknows why I do the Superbru thing…it’s stressful.

Brumbies by 2 anyone?

• 39.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33:
    A real ” what were you thinking moment”
    Hair by Mr. Bean now open in Melbourne Mall

• 40.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The Force definitely got weaker and the Rebels supposedly stronger… supposedly. Still look to have all the same problems.

• 41.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force line out is bad and matched only by Rebels scrum. Its only first game back. 11-10

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

blues 31

highlanders 29

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-39: :) “Hair by Female Toddlers”? Looks like what I used to do to my ‘Cindy’(these days it’s Barbie) doll’s hair way back in the day…..

Cut it, scrape it back, add glue, plait it and when finished throw the doll against the wall….

• 44.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Shees, hows this Kings fan on the Vodacom ad? Transie? :)

@grant10-42: Indeed….. I don’t quite want to say ‘told you so’ to fellas like Bakkies just yet, as these are warmups :)

• 45.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-24: Hey mate, welcome back, I’ve mised your posts.

Have you been on a sabbatical?

;-)

• 46.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

go johnny rebs go!

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-44: As long as they dont give Stormers the blues I am happy…

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

lets clean this damn Pakistan tail man…

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-44: what ad? :-)

• 50.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-49: The ‘He’s got supergees’ ad :) The oke on the Bull, the Cheetah dude in the shop, the guppietwat with his fin etc.

The Kings supergees dude is legend……

The oke in the car is wearing a ‘crown’ – but the supergees dude looks like Zuma on one of his wedding days, full regalia :)

• 51.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Why do the teams I pick for Superbru always play shitrugby?
    That’s it, from now on I will only pick the Sharks and Bulls to win

• 52.grant10: Reply to this comment

cool Reb try that

• 53.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

CLose game. Expected the Rebels to be further ahead.

• 54.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-53:

These two always play tight ones.

• 55.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok so at the moment my decision to choose O Connor as kicker is working out well..

• 56.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

How is the game? Boring or fast paced?

• 57.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-53:

Boom ripping it up in Fantasy. Made some last minute changes! LUCKILY put Alfie Mafi in instead of that Chris two-fathers chap who ended up being on the bench for the Reds. Made Ged Robinson my captain.

Props: James Slipper & Ben Alexander
    Hooker: Ged Robinson
    Locks: Hugh Pyle & Toby Lynn
    Loosies: Liam Gill, Scott Fuglistaller & David Pocock
    Scrumhalf: Richard Kingi
    Flyhalf: Christian Lealiifano
    Centres: James O’Connor & Mike Harris
    Outside-Backs: Henry Speight, Alfie Mafi & Digby Iaone.

• 58.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-55: mine too and as captain. Got Mafi too in my team.

• 59.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-57: Boom? Good change

1. Faulkner & Holmes
    2. Faainga
    4: Lynn & Carter
    6. Pocock, Higginbotham, Schatz
    9. Kingi
    10. Beale
    12. O’connor & Andrew Smith
    14. Mafi, Digby, Mogg

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

cool game this

• 61.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

From the Fox stats I can see Rebels are making lots of errors….Higginbotham and Beale got minus points :-(

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

aussies all wanting to make national squad for the B Lions

• 63.grant10: Reply to this comment

13 men!!

• 64.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-59:

Ooh gonna be a tough week for you :P Higginbotham let you down with his stupidity (no surprises there).

Looks good though join my league ’448-3409′. Just me and my friend in it at the moment lol.

• 65.grant10: Reply to this comment

superb….loving this game !

• 66.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-58: No mafi for me.

• 67.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-59:

Boom just kiwi slang for “yay” I suppose.

• 68.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

O Connor on fire.

• 69.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-64: Ja i thought he would be motivated on his debut and have a blinder.

Ok cool thanks.

Join mine too

367-5866 Classic league

367-5868 head to head

• 70.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-63: ????

@stormersboy-66: Unlucky

@hendrikp-67: Ok cool

@stormersboy-68: Great!

• 71.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Yessshhhh Kingi!!!

• 72.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-69:

I’ll join classic league think it’s a bit late for head to head no? I’ll give it a go see what happens cheers.

• 73.grant10: Reply to this comment

game on

• 74.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-72: oh yes thats true.

• 75.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Huh?

Jarrod Saffy plays for the Rebels.

• 76.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-75:

Scrap that just got changed to Richard Brown.

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

new 5 second rule is working well….

• 78.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Rebels come on hold out for these last 10 minutes.

• 79.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-77: At ruck and scrum time?

• 80.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-45: sabbatical indeed, good tobe back. This has been an enenjoyable opening game. Foleys coaching philosophy has done a 180 and kept the ball in hand. Massive contrast to what we saw with the tahs.

• 81.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-80: Foley is coaching the Force now?

• 82.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

The Tab had $23.00 for a draw in this one. Seven point gap at the moment. You never know….

• 83.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-81: yep and we were use to the kick-a-thon when he was at the tahs. Tonights game has been ball in hand. Great stuff.

• 84.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-52: do old folk use the term ‘cool’? :)

unlucky force, well done rebs

• 85.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Rebs by 7, nice start to me ‘bru 8)

• 86.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Sias is stupid. No wonder the Cheetah’s got rid of him.

• 87.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force will be feeling that Mathewson yellow card, that was a shocking call by the ref. It was the difference in the end.

• 88.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

off to a winning start on Bru (Paarl Pool) with margin points

• 89.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Peterson wraps up the the tail
    Pak 338

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-79: ja

• 91.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I will expect one or two citing announcements for the yellow card events today. In the case of both fights the ref only got the retaliation, and not the first offense.

• 92.John Galt: Reply to this comment

That Irfan is a BIG unit.
    His knees were level with the bails!

AB and Elgar were having a good chuckle at themselves standing next to him.

• 93.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Sigh…. I made Beale my captain instead of O’Conner thinking he would kick. Dammit people nobody answered my question about this!

• 94.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-84: cheeky sod

• 95.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Boom im off to a **** -25 points in fantasy rugby… long season ahead. No sympathy needed.

• 96.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Wow I cant say “c.r.a.p” on here

• 97.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

When grown (men – boys) guessing they’re men , start playing kids games like fantasy rugby and superbru for prizes and suchlike then you start to know the world gone kinda haywire into a flat spin of irrelevancy.

Sias Ebersohn chucked that game away for Force just like he chucked so many away for Cheetahs before they should have left him off the field if they needed a win 7 points down. Typical saffa flyhalf put ball to boot at first instinct. When possession is name of the game and required and you in the attack zone and you kicking the ball out to hand over possession 3 times in succession then you got no business being a pivotal player looking for a win.

• 98.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-91:

Good theming Eben wasn’t out there today or he would have donnered someone for sure.

• 99.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-95: Is that good???

• 100.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-93: unlucky

60 from o connor as captain.

• 101.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-97:

Kinda like posting on a blog Skop.

Besides, no prizes involved. It’s a bit of fun.

• 102.S_K: Reply to this comment

Another fiver for John Galt …oops,I mean Big Vern. :D

• 103.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Was this a real game, or only fantasy?

• 104.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@S_K-102:
    Yeah great effort by Big Vern.

Always said he was a good one.

• 105.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-104: Home Town Glory

• 106.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Yeah well posting on a blog is enough of a waste of time and attention I just can’t imagine wasting such a whole lot more time and attention on any more useless and fruitless pursuits out in fantasy land.

• 107.S_K: Reply to this comment

That’s not what Nama is saying. :D

• 108.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@S_K-107:
    That’s because Nama is a lyingcunt.

• 109.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-91: The Force treating it as a warm-up fight for next week?

;-)

• 110.Angostura: Reply to this comment

haha

• 111.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Blues just beat the Highlanders.

• 112.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-111:
    They only start next week – must be a warm-up game

• 113.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-98: Ja, those Aussies are just annoying to start with, it would take much more to send one over the edge..

• 114.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

It seems, like most of us, Keo doesn’t really work on Fridays

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-112:

Yer it was but promising stuff from my Blues.

• 116.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oscar Pistorius to remain in custody at the Brooklyn Police Station until his next court appearance on Tuesday when he is expected to be charged with premeditated murder..

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

“we understand that police have (CCTV
    footage) evidence that (Reeva Steenkamp) arrived at quarter past six in the evening before her death. Which therefore undermines any suggestion that she was at the complex by surprise.” Karyn Maughan eNCA Live from Pretoria Magistrate’s court.

• 118.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117: ouch.

• 119.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oops! It gets more incriminating by the minute; this guy is deep, deep in the dwang, methinks.

• 120.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117:
    I this is true then s hi t is gonna get even more real for him.
    Disgusting that the poor dead lady does not get as much attention as him.
    My thoughts and prayers are with her family and friends.

• 121.Transformation: Reply to this comment

piers morgan picking fights :-)

Piers Morgan
    @ piersmorgan
    11m
    Extraordinary that so many South
    Africans seem totally oblivious to
    their country’s incredibly high gun
    murder rate. The stats don’t lie.
    View details ·

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Fern-120: her family lives here i PE, Miramar & apparently the mom was hysterical after the cops called her @ 08:00 in the morn with the sad news.

tragic

• 123.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-122:
    Let’s hope her death will not be in vain and something good will happen,like for eg The Burry Stander Foundation that aims to bring down cyclists deaths on our roads.

• 124.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-121:

Is it easy to buy a hand gun in SA legally?

• 125.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-124:
    Ask Poops he will give you the facts with glee.

• 126.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-125:

Can anybody walk into a gun shop and legally buy a hand gun?

• 127.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-126: I think Nortied will best be able to answer you.

• 128.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-126: nope. Background checks are done, competency tests have to be passed, etc.

• 129.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-127:

Loose gun laws like in the US are a disaster, you only need to compare the US and Canada to see the difference it makes.

• 130.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-128:

So you need to get a firearms licence first then?

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-130: yes but we have a s.hiload of unlicenced firearms, what with police selling gats to criminal syndicates who pull off cash-in-transit-heists…

• 132.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-130: indeed. You also have to provide referees to vouch for your character and I understand they also speak to your other half as well.

Inspection also done so as to ensure you have a safe to keep in.

Despite this incident it is generally the illegal arms you have to worry about, not the legal ones.

PS: see Oscar’s dad shot himself before. In the gonads!

• 133.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-130:
    First have to go for training in the category, eg. Handgun, rifle or shotgun.
    Then once training certificate has been obtained ( both theoretical exam of the Firearms Act and practical, shooting at the range) a person applies for a competency certificate.
    Here background checks, interviews, fingerprint reports etc. are done.
    Once you have obtained competency only then can you apply for the license.
    Then you must indicate for which purpose and also motivate why you require the firearm

• 134.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-131:

Genuine question, would the average SA household have a weapon for self defense?

• 135.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-131: best gun to have is an unlicensed one – cant be traced back to you :)

• 136.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-134: In middle class I would think so.

• 137.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-132:
    @nortierd-133:

Sensible laws then, unfortunately the illegal stuff is virtually impossible to control.

• 138.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-134: Yes, but that
    “hasn’t made South Africa a safer place to live. Last November, Lulu Xingwana, South Africa’s minister for women, warned that they are three times more likely to die if there’s a gun in the house, a statistic which came from the International Action Network on Small Arms (IANSA).”

• 139.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-134: i actually don’t thinkso…i personally don’t have one but my dad does & he ain’t parting with his gats…

• 140.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-136:

Wow that’s interesting there must be thousands of hand Guns floating around.

• 141.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-136:
    Nope
    If you consider the amount of citizens to the number of licenses, then it won’t reflect that.
    Majority is for hunting and sport shooting.@NZINCHINA-137:
    True
    Also, to be found competent you must be a SA citizen and older than 21.
    Unless you are a dedicated sportsman or hunter, or gainfully employed.
    Then you can apply under 21

• 142.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-137: on the real though, illegal guns are the bane of our existence, they’re just too easy to get. thugs waltz into police stations, hold up cops & force them to handover heat that’s storage/safes @ the police station.

• 143.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-141: there must be more sidearms than hinting rifles surely?

• 144.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-143: hunting even.

Although a shot from a hunting rifle would be a pretty strong hint.

• 145.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-138:

In NZ hand guns are not a major problem in domestic incidents they prefer the kitchen knife.

• 146.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-142:

And probably too many guns in the system already to ever fix the problem

• 147.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-143:
    Not even close.
    You may only own one firearm for self defense.
    Then if you are not a dedicated sportsman, you can apply for one more handgun for sport shooting.
    The normal person who has competency for say handgun, shotgun and rifle may own 4 firearms.
    Usually one handgun for self defense, two rifles and one shotgun for occasional hunting, or 3 rifles.
    Dedicated status you may own more than 4, still motivated though, and these are serious sportsmen or hunters

• 148.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-146: far too many. Can pick up an AK for couple of hundred bucks, if not less.

• 149.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-147:

So once you get the licence you can carry it around with you in public?

• 150.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-148:

Crikey that’s a shambles.

• 151.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-147: I get that but there are way less hunters than ordinary citizens wanting for personal defense?

Unless of course there be a bunch of bullshitting “hunters” out there. :)

• 152.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-149:
    Not open
    Must be concealed in a holster as stipulated by the Act, or if a woman or Shark supporter, a handbag :-)
    You must be able to have control over it at all times

• 153.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Tweet from the Cricinfo site.
    “Ajmal is showing just how badly South Africa need a world-class spinner: someone who can get wickets when the ball gets older and the does less for the quicks. This South African still look like they are missing one crucial piece from being an all-time great time.”

Could agree with you more.
    You have a look in the dictionary under ‘Bang Average Cricketer’, there is a picture of Robbie P there.
    With his hands in the air.
    Looking like he almost got a wicket.

• 154.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-151:
    Dilli
    What I’m saying is that if there is say 2 million licensed firearms, there won’t be 2 million individuals owning licenses.
    Maybe 300 000 to 500 000.
    The minority of license holders own 1 firearm for self defense.
    Most license holders own 4 or if dedicated or collectors, much more.
    These numbers are not in anyway the reflection, just an example

• 155.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-133: @NZINCHINA-130:

re background checks, interviews etc. in the licencing process:

I have a friend who is a provincial shottist, his house is full of medals & trophies he has won at inter-provincial shooting championships (sporting). A few years ago all firearms had to be declared to the Police & re-registered (I think, coz I’m not a gun owner); one day I received a call at the office from the Police & they proceeded to question me about my mate, all sorts of questions to establish & validate that he was a fit & proper person to own & possess firearms. I cannot think of any one more fit & proper. He only uses firearms for sporting purposes, & other times they are locked away in a gun safe. And he is one of the best shottists in the country – yet he had to go through this whole process again.
    But the criminals – well, that’s a different story – no “licencing” there, & sorry, to say, many guns apparently disappear out of police possession and/or custody, & then presumably straight into the hands of criminals.

Tis not easy & quick to legally obtain a firearm in SA; but, most disconcertingly the converse applies to illegal possession of firearms (even military type semi-automatic, hi powered stuff!) & ammo.

In SA bearing arms is not a right, but a privilege – and our problem is entirely different to that of the USA.

• 156.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-154: ok. Gotcha. Can gov force me to give up firearms I legally had on my possession prior to the 1 handgun rule?

• 157.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-152: ‘

Ha so on any given day would you see many cowboys packing in the Main Street of a major city like Cape Town for example?

• 158.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-155:

Tough laws for the good guys huh

• 159.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-158: could Fc.uk your mate over nicely on that one :)

Imagine the call – “do you know one Joel Tafelberg? He are looking for firea protection for when he go draws the R100 wages every week for the 2 okes on the back of his Datsun 1400″

• 160.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-158: Exactly – crime is our problem, & many of the criminals are (illegally) armed & dangerous

• 161.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-155:
    That was from 2004 when the new act came in
    They had to comply and reapply, but would have gotten the new licenses without too much issues.
    The serious sportsmen comply in all aspects
    .@Dilligafrican-156:
    At this stage, until the SA Hunters case is finalized all old licenses are still valid.
    I would personally suggest that those who haven’t go for the training and competency and reapply.
    If the case goes to the Goverment side, they will have to in any case, so those who went are already far ahead of the others

• 162.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-157:
    No, you wouldn’t notice an armed person, unless he or she was not to bright.
    You don’t advertise your firearm, makes you a target.

• 163.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Proteas floundering – 4 wickets down
    HKGK

ciao & out

• 164.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-161: Hi Nortied, I ended up handing mine in (WITHOUT COMPENSATION I hasten to add) when that April deadline came round a few years ago.

My question is do you know if anything has developed regarding compensation with regards to this? The last I heard was that the “SA Gun Association?” was preparing to fight the government in court but have since heard nothing.

• 165.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I’m out, interesting stuff tonight but sadly as a result of a shooting – cheers

• 166.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-164:
    Yes
    They lost the case earlier this year
    No compensation
    They will probably appeal now and then drag it out some more
    I speak under correction, but I think it was the False Bay Club that brought the case up

• 167.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-165: Cheers mate.

• 168.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-166: Thanks.

Pah, I thought as much!

:-(

I’ve always been suspicious that my trusty old .38spl would’ve ended up in the wrong hands.

Sickening.

• 169.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-168:
    Probably melted long ago.

• 170.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-169: I sure hope so.

• 171.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Ban the goddamn killing machines outright no civilian should be entitled to own or be in possession of firearms none. How many more careless murders society want to keep making pathetic excuses for. Ban firearms and guns and alcohol while they about it just like they ban drugs and society start evolving towards civilization.

• 172.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-171: or ban intolerant patronizing douchebags

• 173.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-172: And lentils!

• 174.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier waar in Pta woon jy?

• 175.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-174:
    Olympus se kant toe.
    Naby Fearrie Glen

• 176.Fern: Reply to this comment

O nee okay Nortier,n mens sal nie so se nie.
    Traffic in die Olympus area is nag.
    Waar ek woon vat dit my 25min om 5km tery werk toe.

• 177.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-176:
    Watter deel?
    Ek is a 8 jaar hier bo, maar my rigting is maar sleg.
    Ken die pad van huis na werk en dan min of meer by my surroundings

• 178.Fern: Reply to this comment

Ek bly in Rooihuiskraal wat net verby Centurion is.
    Ek gaan more vir vriende kuier wat op n plot bly daar verby Mooikloof op die Welbekend pad.
    Ek was n plotrot op Boschkop gewees op n stadium.

• 179.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-178:
    Het die AFCON met n paar mense wat Rooihuiskraal bly gewerk.
    Het een gaan optel daar
    Nice area, herinner my aan my Bellville/Parow dae die area.
    Nice groot erwe en huise, baie soos die Kaapse Noordelike voorstede

• 180.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Go Jake!!!

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/pressure-on-brumbies-after-buildup-20130215-2eiwl.html

• 181.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-180:
    More precise, go, but by 6 points

• 182.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Fern-178:

> Ek gaan more vir vriende kuier wat op n plot bly daar verby Mooikloof op die Welbekend pad.
    Ek was n plotrot op Boschkop gewees op n stadium.

My swaer bly by Boschkop

Ek ken die area goed

Ek het aan die Noordekant van Cullinan gebly, oorkant De Beers se natuurreservaat

Baie oggende oppad werktoe het ek Kameelperde, Koedoes en Rooibokke gesien

• 183.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

http://www.brumbies.com.au/News/Article/tabid/1213/ArticleID/8383/Default.aspx

• 184.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-182:
    Hi VB
    Boschkop net om die draai van my.
    Soos Fern se, van die kant af is die verkeer woes, dis hoekom ek al voor 6 op kantoor is, nie gebou vir verkeer nie

• 185.Fern: Reply to this comment

Ek het gekoop want dis in n nice area,purely n investment.
    Ek het geen emotional ties met die plek nie,dis maar net waar ek woon en werk as ek nie by die dam is nie.

• 186.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-181: Sorry, but I would prefer 5…log points that is!!!

• 187.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-186:
    No problem, they can win 66 to 60 and get a bonus point for tries and I’ll still be happy and so will you

• 188.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-187: :-)

• 189.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-184:

Ek het meer Noord gebly, as jy met Zambezi reguit aangery het Cullinan toe, het jy links gedraai by die Mamelodi kruising en nog so 7km aangery

Mooi bosveld wêreld

• 190.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-189:
    Jy moet vir Skop vertel hoe julle kameelperd nek gebraai het

• 191.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-184:

Die verkeer is swaar want hulle het baie uitgebrei in die Ooste maar nie veel nuwe paaie gebou nie

My pêl bly in Mooikloof en die verkeer is net so swaar, en al die Malls wat hulle bou help ook nie

• 192.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-191:
    Hier gaan omtrent elke week n nuwe mall op.
    Het jy vanoggend se game gekyk?

• 193.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-190:

Nee het nog nie een geëet nie

Maar een jaar toe my ma hulle nog daar gebly het, het De Beers ‘n BEE die kontrak gegee om voorbrande te maak en hy’t nie die regte toerusting en genoeg mense gehad nie en omtrent die helfte van die wildtuin afgebrand

Toe die veld weer uitloop het al die wild daar kom wei op die gras wat uitloop

Een dag bel ons buurman haar en sê sy moet gaan kyk waar haar honde is

Toe sy gaan kyk was haar Jack Russells besig om die wild rond te jaag onder andere ‘n Kameelperd ook. Dat hy hulle nie vrekgeskop het nie was ‘n wonderwerk en die myn se ouens sou hulle ook geskiet het

• 194.Fern: Reply to this comment

Vicbok daai kant van die berg lyk soos Bosveld en die weer is anders as Pta.

• 195.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

This pic’s especially for Skop.

;-)

http://www.news.com.au/sport/rugby-gold/act-brumbies-coach-jake-white-forecasts-queensland-reds-ambush-in-canberra/story-fndpt9s1-1226579039727

• 196.Fern: Reply to this comment

Ek het al kameelperd biltong ge eet.
    Daai stuk biltong was maklik n meter lank gewees.
    Geproe soos gewone wildsbiltong.

• 197.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-193:
    Jong ou maat, dis so n perfekte aand hier
    Eerste naweek wat ek af is sedert die 10de Januarie so ek braai nou te lekker.
    Ons het elke week so 3 of 4 keer sommer gebraai tydens die werk, maar dis nie dieselfde nie.
    Vanaand is absolutely perfekte weer.

• 198.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier dis koel en daar kom nie reen nie
    Braai self lekker pork rashers vir die mense
    Snoekskiet sal my menu kief vind!

• 199.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-192:

Nee Boet ek het geslaap

Sal seker eers begin kyk as ons spanne speel

Dis ook moeilik want die Vrydag aand wedstryde (SA) is vroeg oggend ons tyd

As hulle gewone tyd in die middag speel in Nz is dit sesuur in die oggend hier

Jy moet sien as ons die toetse teen die All Blacks kyk, die ouens bring koffie en muffins want dis vroeg

• 200.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-198:
    Dis die perfekte aand vir braai
    Ou Skoppie kan maar n mielie op die rooster gooi en n aartapel bak in die kole, selfs hy sal die aand en weer kan benut

• 201.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-195:
    You reckon the Brumbies will top the Aussie conference?
    I’m quite looking forward to seeing the Waratahs in action.

• 202.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Fern-194:

Dit is mooi bosveld en nog lekker wild

Ek het Koedoes, vlakvarke en bosvarke daar gehad.

Ek het altyd mielies geplant wat ek gestook het en gemaal het vir die skape

Die ystervarke en bosvarke het baljaar veral aan die vêrste kant van die land waar jy hulel nie kan sien nie

En die patryse (Swainsons) het die mieliepitte uitgehaal voor die mielies nog behoorlik uitgeloop het

• 203.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-197:

Ja jou gelukkige bliksem, dis nou eers 09:03 die oggend en hulle bêre mos die week se k@k vir Vrydae

Die ding wat ek die meeste hier mis is ‘n lekker lamstjoppie, hulle eet mos nie eintlik skaap nie en die wat jy wel kry kom van Australië of New Zeeland af en hulle sny die tjop meer as ‘n duim dik en sny boonop die vetjie af

• 204.Fern: Reply to this comment

Vicbok jy weet ook nie of n keewee daai vleis van binne af gemarinate het nie.
    Karoo tjop maak maar nog steeds nag.

• 205.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Fern-196:

My pêl het eenkeer een vroegoggend geskiet

Hy’t vir my die fotos gewys van hom en sy pêlle toe hulle die oggend begin slag en een so teen sesuur die aand toe hulle besig was om klaar te maak. Die manne was goed die bliksem in, hulle het gesê as hy weer een skiet skiet dan skiet hulle hom

• 206.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jaaa ou swaer

• 207.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-204:
    Ha ha
    Spring jy my voor, wou ook so iets comment
    .@victoriabok-203:
    Ek het juis n halwe Karoo lam nou die dag gekry, n kollega se mense boer nog daar.
    Die boud is besig om te defrost, skat so tussen 2 en 3 kilo’s, n regte meneer.
    Garlic en bacon is klaar gekry, so ek druk hom more aand laat in die oond en Sondag is dit lams boud tyd

• 208.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-200:

> Ou Skoppie kan maar n mielie op die rooster gooi

Jong miskien sal hy eerder wil mielie rol

Ek dink hoeka al wat jy nodig het is drie goed, ‘n goeie pakslae, ‘n goeie skyt en ‘n goeie spyker om van al sy frustrasies ontslae te raak

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skiet hulle

• 210.Fern: Reply to this comment

Vicbok ek het al gehoor van maats wat dronk lanks die bos tv sit.1 ou sien n nagapie se ogies verder weg.Skiet hom tussen die ogies toe drop die kameelperd langs hulle.
    Drank
    Euwel
    Vog

• 211.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-208:
    Die pakslae en spyker kan nog tesame gereel word, net vir die missus 50 Shades of Grey koop en Bob’s your uncle.
    N Huisgenoot sal werk vir die 3de een op jou lys

• 212.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Fern-204:

Dink jy die stories dat hulle skape spyker is waar?

Ek wonder waar kom dit vandaan?

Ek is bederf met goeie lam, ek het elke maand lammers slagpale toe gevat en een vir die huis gehou so ek’s gewoond aan goeie vleis

• 213.Fern: Reply to this comment

Gaan kuier daar Vicbok en se my dan

• 214.Hondo: Reply to this comment

It didn’t look promising for the Kings, these two Aus. bottom teams should whack the Kings if what we saw is anything to go by
    Even with Jason Jaftha, Jonker, Joubert and Co swindling it :)

• 215.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-211:

Nee ek het bedoel “hy” nie “jy” nie

• 216.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Fern-213:

Nee ek vra maar net

So as hy praat van sy ou Skapie dan het sy regtig wol?

• 217.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-211:

Ek sien al vir ou Skop met sy gat “Fifty shades of Purple” gemoer :-)

Die Huisgenoot sal werk veral as Amore of Jurie Els daarin is

• 218.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-201: And a lekker aand oook for KFC!

I feel it’s too tight to call right now. Like most people I hate this conference system as it rewards mediocrity, and that burns my a.se big time.

We all saw how the Brumbies “choked” at the death last year but what hurt me more was that we once again lost out due to a lack of bonus points; it has cost us playoff places so often in the past..

• 219.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-217:
    @BrumbiesBoy-218:
    I agree
    They were unlucky last year, they played well

• 220.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-218:

> was that we once again lost out due to a lack of bonus points;

They should add a second try bonus point for six tries

It would make the game even more entertaining and the strong teams would play harder and keep their star players on the pitch for longer

• 221.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-220:
    Good idea
    I always thought maybe at 8 tries, or a bonus per 4 tries, but the six tries sounds good as well

• 222.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-221:

Six tries is doable and most teams would go for it

It makes scoring tries a habit and translates well into the test teams too

After it was introduced the Tri Nations teams scored more tries against their NH counterparts as well, at least for the first couple of years

• 223.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Die mense hier praat mos darem n helse klomp kak

Looking forward to see if Ewen McKenzie can teach that overrated pompous pony who thinks so highly of himself a thing or two about coaching rugby.

Brumbies are super hyped up they’ve employed an ex Nrl head coach as their ‘collisions coach’ to nullify Cooper out the game with David Pocock being designated as the assassin destroyer in chief. They going all out to blitz Reds off the park typical Jakey Fakey all guns blazing moer hulle sag roughshod physical first think last rugby.

I’m hoping McKenzie teaches him one more time who’s boss in the strategy dept though Reds are down couple players no Horwill or Genia and Higginbotham gone to Rebels so with Pocock and Mowan Brumbies could have a leg ahead at the crunch line breakdown collision points which is obviously where Jake’s been focussing all his attention at the attrition levels and unsettling Reds off their natural game.

Go McKenzie teach this prick one more time how the game of rugby works.

• 224.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-223:
    “Die mense hier praat mos darem n helse klomp kak”
    Maar dit is ten minste amusant
    That’s why you should have joined the Superbru
    You could have predicted the Reds to win with what ever points difference you think it will be, and then we could see who got it right and who didn’t.

• 225.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-223: you have issues, bro.

All the very best to our fellow countryman, Jake White, our RWC deliverer. An astute coach and if true, bringing in an NRL expert is just typical of Jake’s positive attribute of always looking to bring in innovative ideas and coaches who add value to the team. Other coaches may often be too arrogant or proud to do so. I will be backing the Brumbies to beat the Reds.

• 226.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

This Jake the fake can only but talk himself in utter circles. In 2005 he proudly proclaims that rugby union got values and traditions and principles and league players are bunch of rowdy raggamuffins who are disruptive and bad for team morale. Now he’s sucking up to league coaching to come teach his players all the finer nuances of how to study the opportunities and opponent weaknesses and using league techniques in the tackle and collisions game etc. Then he also tells the whole world back then that he don’t need no open side to the ball fetchers in his team. Now he lavishly lauds Pocock as the ultimate fetching flank who he’s been so sorely seeking as his mainstay platform in the breakdown and turnover areas of the game. He also famously boasted how no Irish players apart from maybe O’Driscoll would ever make his Bok team and then they respond by promptly whipping the Boks at Lansdowne Rd that weekend, O’Gara reading him the riot act and kicking the Boks to pieces

• 227.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jake reckons he’s such a student of the game. All he is is a piggy back artist on other peoples ingenuity. In 2007 he was so far out his league been thumped 49-0 the year before then went on to lose 7 more 3N tests before he ran to E.Jones to bail him out his forlorn dead end street who takes the Bok team and turns them around and gives them some shape and direction.

Now he’s sucking up and utilizing rugby league coaching techniques after boasting back when he was a novice that he got all the structure and traditions right in his manual of rugby management.

He’s still a student of the game let see if the master McKenzie can teach him a few more lessons and tricks in due course. I’m guessing if it comes to that he’s humiliated ego may not take it all that kindly.

• 228.polaris: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-220: @nortierd-221: Better another bonus point for scoring FOUR TRIES MORE than the opposition.

• 229.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@polaris-228:

No because it seldom happens

But if you can score four the possibility of scoring another two is quite realistic

• 230.polaris: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-229: Exactly that’s the point. Makes not just rush into attack searching for a score but also keep defence in order. Very valuable bonus point, rewarding all-round performance.

• 231.the curse: Reply to this comment

Fern
    I don’t take delight in posting them at all, I do it to shut up those of you like yourself who continually mouth off about NZ

You know, the way you consistently mouth of with GLEE about our mothers, sisters, wives, nieces etc.

but you’re too thick to see the hypocrisy aren’t you? I’m not, and I will continue to post the facts so long as people like yourself continue their tirade

understand.

• 232.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poops when last have I said anything about your woman?
    Keep on posting it makes you happy.
    Why not drop the k-bomb again?

• 233.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-232:

You stated on this blog that NZ woman were all whores and ugly.

• 234.Fern: Reply to this comment

No china
    In general I find SA woman prettier.
    You ran away and married a chinese lady.
    Fact.
    I stated researched promiscuity stats
    Fact
    As you were.

• 235.Fern: Reply to this comment

When you generalize it does not mean eveyone.
    When are you going home?

• 236.Fern: Reply to this comment

China you being a well travelled racist did place SA woman in your top 5 according to looks and there was no place there for your own womanfolk…

• 237.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-220: I don’t think the Aussies and New Zealanders would agree to that.

They only play the Kings once.

• 238.S_K: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-233: It didn’t stop him from molesting them,though. :D

• 239.S_K: Reply to this comment

I really don’t know why Skop is getting so worked up over Jake and Aussie teams!Watching Aussie teams play rugby is like watching paint ,dry.

• 240.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-153:

For a second I had given you the benefit of the doubt but you are in fact clueless.

World cricket have been been blessed with once in a life time spinners like Murali and Warne over the past decade.
    To compare any spinner to the two mentioned above is ridiculous.

Robbie P like Roger Harper, does what is required and is not expected to take 5′fers.

• 241.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-240:

Robbie P’s major asset over the other spinners is that he’s handy with the bat and is more than decent in the field.

(Apart from that sitter in the last test)

I see him as the go to for the foreseeable future.

• 242.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-241:

Since readmission Shaw, Eksteen, Symcox and Harris have all been average spinners that held up an end with Symo the only one with some batting ability.

In terms of all round cricketing ability Robbie P is at the top of the list.

• 243.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-242: Yet, there is no reason why we can’t unearth, nurture & develop another Hugh Tayfield, Paul Adams, Alan Kourie or Denys Hobson (or two or three of them) if only we would recognise the fact that potentially match winning spinners (at Test level) are essential to a well balanced Test side.
    This should be a priority for CSA, in particular their coaching & development structures.
    Perhaps it is, but doesn’t look like it, dunno?

• 244.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-243:

The basis of any good spinner is the ability to turn the ball, but in doing so they initially would have to sacrifice accuracy.
    So at junior/school level they try and “rip” the ball which leads to long hops which gets hit out the park.
    That same bowler will then be told to concentrate on accuracy which cancels out the spin.

Its a vicious cycle.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.