Rebels off to winning start

RICHARD FERGUSON reports on the Rebels securing four points in the Super Rugby season opener.

The Rebels took advantage of the Force’s poor discipline to win 30 – 23 after trailing 10 – 11 at half time.

The Force got off to a fantastic start, running out an eleven point lead in the opening half hour of the game. With the amount of possession and territory the Force had, they would have been disappointed to only score one try through Alfie Mafi.

Scott Higginbotham was yellow carded on debut for punching and the Force managed to score 8 points with the one man advantage. Higginbotham returned to the field of play and helped push a rolling maul over the line, Ged Robinson falling on the ball.

There was a reverse of fortune in the second half as first Chris Alcock and then Alby Mathewson was yellow carded, the Force having to play with thirteen men for seven minutes. The Rebels used this advantage to score their third try through Richard Kingi and get a healthy lead, before the Force hit back with a try of their own while still being a man down, Richard Brown scoring the try.

The Force will be disappointed that they lost this match, their goal kicking and discipline costing them this match. On the contrary, James O’Connor converted all his kicks to score half the team’s points. The Force are still without a win in the opening round of a Super Rugby season.

This Australian derby was far from the dull and boring that we had to sit through in 2012 and is a positive start to the new season.

244 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.polaris: Reply to this comment

Finally.

Hosts to win both games.

• 2.dr dre: Reply to this comment

Red Dragons to feel the Wrathbone.

• 3.dr dre: Reply to this comment

The Doctor has spoken and it will be so.

• 4.grant10: Reply to this comment

go the Rebs…

• 5.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Would prefer the Force to win but from what I’ve seen they’re a pretty “new” team because of lots of changes in player personnel, etc so who knows.

Rebels, may the Force……be against you!

• 6.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

If you guys want to know WHY the Namibia vs Lions match was cancelled, I managed to find this link with a real in depth explanation… on a side note, it is actually a very good read with some interesting news on the “Biltongboere”.

http://wp.me/p2QxT1-8R

• 7.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

goyougoodthingForce

• 8.Caper: Reply to this comment

I really hope these teams to better this season.

• 9.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

On the tune of Michael Jackson’s ‘ Will you be there’

Kerrie, die vrou maak net kerrie
    Ma’ sy vigiet van breyani

• 10.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

‘Hulle was nooit by Kentucky nie

Hulle ietie by die Spur nie

Want die burgers en die waffles is expensive by Spur’

Alen Abrahams © 2012 – Cape Town, Republic of South Africa

• 11.hulk: Reply to this comment

Foxsports fantasy League: 12335-5900

• 12.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

These two sides make the Aussie conference a joke. If Cheetahs could play sides like these every second week they could also qualify for playoffs easy .

• 13.FrenklyMuDeah: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-12: We have Kings now, nice tussle to see who props up league standings

• 14.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I’ve scarecly started the fantasy league thing and it’s already p issing me off. You can only pick O Connor as a 12, not as a 15 which he is playing today.

Seriaaasly man.

• 15.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

hey guys; if you play SUPER BRU – join ” Paarl Pool” – it should be good fun

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Congrats to O’Connor, the runaway early leader for kukest hair style of the season. Will take something special to beat him….

• 17.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Philander on Phire

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16: Amen to that. Let’s see what Frankie Hougaard has up his sleeve before we give him the trophy though.

• 19.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16:
    Agree with that comment.

• 20.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force just needs a few players to run back on the angle as decoy and they would create space on the outside. Right now its too predictable ball down the line kind of stuff. Great to have the Rugby back on.

• 21.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18:

Or the entire Bulls squad, for that matter.

• 22.Angostura: Reply to this comment

another pheiffer for Vern
    (the dude’s amazing)

• 23.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Higginbotham yellow carded

• 24.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Try Alfie Mafi

• 25.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18: My money’s on Elton J…

• 26.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force 11-0 Rebels

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

Philander you beauty!

• 28.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Stem saam

Fantasy league is like a tamagotchi (sp)

Needs too much attention

But that’s just me

• 29.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

I tipped the Rebels…..I’m hoping this is not the start of an early season Superbru implosion.

• 30.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Only thing worse than O’ Connor’s hair is the way the Rebels play and the whistle happy Force is my chommies ref

• 31.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-22:
    I’ll drink to that…

• 32.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Higginbotham back on

• 33.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-30: I think ConBieb looks rather ‘flash gordon’….

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

Enjoying this game….

and tomorrows should be very good!

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

nice Rebs

• 36.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Try Ged Robinson

• 37.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force 11-7 Rebels

• 38.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

There is hope…. and so there should be, I tipped Rebels by 11….. Fucknows why I do the Superbru thing…it’s stressful.

Brumbies by 2 anyone?

• 39.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33:
    A real ” what were you thinking moment”
    Hair by Mr. Bean now open in Melbourne Mall

• 40.Tartan: Reply to this comment

The Force definitely got weaker and the Rebels supposedly stronger… supposedly. Still look to have all the same problems.

• 41.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Force line out is bad and matched only by Rebels scrum. Its only first game back. 11-10

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

blues 31

highlanders 29

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-39: :) “Hair by Female Toddlers”? Looks like what I used to do to my ‘Cindy’(these days it’s Barbie) doll’s hair way back in the day…..

Cut it, scrape it back, add glue, plait it and when finished throw the doll against the wall….

• 44.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Shees, hows this Kings fan on the Vodacom ad? Transie? :)

@grant10-42: Indeed….. I don’t quite want to say ‘told you so’ to fellas like Bakkies just yet, as these are warmups :)

• 45.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-24: Hey mate, welcome back, I’ve mised your posts.

Have you been on a sabbatical?

;-)

• 46.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

go johnny rebs go!

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-44: As long as they dont give Stormers the blues I am happy…

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

lets clean this damn Pakistan tail man…

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-44: what ad? :-)

• 50.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-49: The ‘He’s got supergees’ ad :) The oke on the Bull, the Cheetah dude in the shop, the guppietwat with his fin etc.

The Kings supergees dude is legend……

The oke in the car is wearing a ‘crown’ – but the supergees dude looks like Zuma on one of his wedding days, full regalia :)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.