Brumbies boss breakdowns to beat Reds
16 Feb 2013
RICHARD FERGUSON reports on the Brumbies beating the Reds and starting the season with a win.
The Brumbies beat the Reds 24 – 6 after leading them 8 – 6 at the break.
The first half of Super Rugby for these teams was just that, a first outing that saw little cohesion and penalties a plenty. Both teams’ kickers battled for accuracy as the wind played havoc. The Brumbies did manage to score a try with the first attacking move of the game, Jesse Mogg dotting down in the corner after about 10 minutes.
The Brumbies streaked ahead in the second half, keeping the Reds scoreless while kicking their own penalties. The kicking was a woeful display, so much so that the Brumbies used four different kickers with little success. Mogg scored his second try of the match on the sound of the siren, which was converted by replacement Robbie Coleman.
Clyde Rathbone had a solid return match, but in a match dominated by forward play and the backline not getting much room to move, he did not exactly shine.
The talking point throughout the match was the breakdowns and the referee’s interpretation of the new laws, which resulted in a stop start match. The Brumbies, and in particular David Pocock, adapted to the referee’s calls and took full advantage in the second half.
The score line does give a false impression about how close this match was, with the Reds’ defence holding strong for long periods of time. What would be a concern for coach Ewen McKenzie though, is the fact that the Reds never really looked like scoring a try all match.
The Brumbies now face the Rebels in Melbourne while the Reds head into a tough encounter with the Waratahs in Brisbane.

404 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
16 Feb 2013, 10:13 am
Go Jakey flakey dragons!
16 Feb 2013, 10:15 am
Bad omen.
This dragon eagerly hung his Brumbies jersey on the cupboard door last night.
And rushed to put it on last night.
But horror of horrors, why’s it so tight around the midriff?
No, it’s not what you think it is…
In my haste I put it on back-to-front!!!
Silly me.
16 Feb 2013, 10:22 am
@BrumbiesBoy-2:
Be glad it wasn’t a Shark jersey, they tend to be tight around the neck
16 Feb 2013, 10:27 am
@nortierd-3: At first I thought I must’ve eaten too much KFC last nigh!!!
16 Feb 2013, 10:29 am
@BrumbiesBoy-4:
Can’t be the KFC
The amount of grease they use, you would probably slip in and out of the jersey with ease
16 Feb 2013, 10:34 am
@nortierd-5: I had to “Twister” it off…
16 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
@BrumbiesBoy-2: hit the tar fatboy! bwahahaha
16 Feb 2013, 10:42 am
@Transformation-7: You been at the ganga again?
16 Feb 2013, 10:42 am
Reds to sort out these pretenders.
16 Feb 2013, 10:43 am
@Transformation-7: bwahahaaa
McCaw’s Law
16 Feb 2013, 10:44 am
Fake coach plus fake ex-lions supporters.
16 Feb 2013, 10:51 am
Jesse Mogg – goyougoodthing.
16 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@Angostura-10: yeah Kearnsy is a LARF!
#McCaw’s Law
i’m watching this game with a haze in front of my eyes….birthday buzz.
16 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@S_K-11: Couldn’t be happier boet, no political bullsh.t to worry about regarding merit selection.
16 Feb 2013, 11:06 am
These Aussie games are,what can be regarded,as just a necessary evil that has to be endured until the real rugby starts next week.
16 Feb 2013, 11:09 am
This game is a bit of a disappointment. We’ve had about a million penalties so far.
16 Feb 2013, 11:27 am
Ajmal making Proteas fans mal …
16 Feb 2013, 11:46 am
Damn, am working and was hoping to get out and watch it but now I can’t.
16 Feb 2013, 11:57 am
@BrumbiesBoy-18: You’re not missing much.
16 Feb 2013, 11:58 am
So far so good.
Wonder if how many times Skop has thrown his slippers at the TV.
Doubt he will be happy if Jake’s team wins this.
For shame
16 Feb 2013, 12:04 pm
@nortierd-20: Skop who?
16 Feb 2013, 12:08 pm
That’s poetic justice. QC took a quick throw with the wrong ball and the reds almost scored, but now the Bumblies have a shot at goal.
16 Feb 2013, 12:08 pm
The goal kicking in this game has been putrid by both teams.
16 Feb 2013, 12:09 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-21:
#1 was especially for him!
16 Feb 2013, 12:10 pm
Must be a lot of Kiwis in the crowd. Much noise when QC gets near the ball.
16 Feb 2013, 12:11 pm
Pocock’s influence is HUGE
16 Feb 2013, 12:12 pm
@I am a stormer-24:
Jake the fake?
P.S. Hang in there, boys!!!
16 Feb 2013, 12:14 pm
Now for one unconverted try by the Reds and I’m happy
16 Feb 2013, 12:15 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-21:
Skop, aka The Oracle
16 Feb 2013, 12:15 pm
Quade has been nowhere in this game.
16 Feb 2013, 12:16 pm
Perhaps he should stick to boxing.
16 Feb 2013, 12:17 pm
Jake said he wanted to win the OZ conference. That’s like being the best referee in Ireland!
@26 Yes the most penalised on the field.
16 Feb 2013, 12:20 pm
@kaksioek-30: Quade who?
16 Feb 2013, 12:20 pm
Well done Brumbies. But Mogg just messed with my bru.
16 Feb 2013, 12:21 pm
For f’s sake.
So close to being within 5 then a damn intercept on full time.
Why Superbru irritatestheSHIToutofme.
16 Feb 2013, 12:22 pm
Worried Tarts are top of the table with four points for a Bye
16 Feb 2013, 12:22 pm
Skoppie
Did Jake the fake just own McKenzie or what?
16 Feb 2013, 12:23 pm
@nortierd-29: Don’t worry. In no time McKenzie will know what exactly he did wrong with selections and tactics.
16 Feb 2013, 12:25 pm
By all accounts that was a hiding. 3 tries to nil says it all. And the Reds didn’t look like scoring.
16 Feb 2013, 12:25 pm
Brumbies going to upset a few teams this year. Jake doing things right. Still an a.shole… but good coach.
16 Feb 2013, 12:26 pm
@polaris-38:

One call to the Oracle in Fish Hoek and the Reds will be back on track in no time
16 Feb 2013, 12:26 pm
They gotta change the breakdown laws or fix the refs interpretation of them because Reds were blown out this game by consistent slowing by Brumbies on the ground and kickable penalties offered to home team.
16 Feb 2013, 12:28 pm
@skopdiekan-42:
They were owned by Pocock.
Great coaching is what I think made the difference, having a World Cup winning coach certainly showed
@nortierd-41: See? It was matter of minutes.
The first law of an excellent politician
“Confidently predict what will happen and then convincingly explain why it didn’t”.
Boring game typical stampkar rugby being instilled into Brumbies philosophy they’ll run out of ideas before long and all the flair get coached out of them
16 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
QC is a poor man’s Spenser. It was just like the Evil Wizard’s pass acceptance in Sydney at the RWC Lottery of 2003.
16 Feb 2013, 12:30 pm
@polaris-44:
16 Feb 2013, 12:30 pm
@Tuna-40:
Nice one!
16 Feb 2013, 12:31 pm
Go Jake you biscuit!!!
16 Feb 2013, 12:33 pm
@skopdiekan
He did coach the Bokke to a RWC Lottery win, but I agree that it was as lucky as the statistical aberration of 2003; almost.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All