Brumbies boss breakdowns to beat Reds
16 Feb 2013
RICHARD FERGUSON reports on the Brumbies beating the Reds and starting the season with a win.
The Brumbies beat the Reds 24 – 6 after leading them 8 – 6 at the break.
The first half of Super Rugby for these teams was just that, a first outing that saw little cohesion and penalties a plenty. Both teams’ kickers battled for accuracy as the wind played havoc. The Brumbies did manage to score a try with the first attacking move of the game, Jesse Mogg dotting down in the corner after about 10 minutes.
The Brumbies streaked ahead in the second half, keeping the Reds scoreless while kicking their own penalties. The kicking was a woeful display, so much so that the Brumbies used four different kickers with little success. Mogg scored his second try of the match on the sound of the siren, which was converted by replacement Robbie Coleman.
Clyde Rathbone had a solid return match, but in a match dominated by forward play and the backline not getting much room to move, he did not exactly shine.
The talking point throughout the match was the breakdowns and the referee’s interpretation of the new laws, which resulted in a stop start match. The Brumbies, and in particular David Pocock, adapted to the referee’s calls and took full advantage in the second half.
The score line does give a false impression about how close this match was, with the Reds’ defence holding strong for long periods of time. What would be a concern for coach Ewen McKenzie though, is the fact that the Reds never really looked like scoring a try all match.
The Brumbies now face the Rebels in Melbourne while the Reds head into a tough encounter with the Waratahs in Brisbane.

404 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
17 Feb 2013, 13:31 pm
if i was hougie i would distance myself from this…
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/reeva-steenkamp-close-friendship-pistorius-1714096
17 Feb 2013, 13:35 pm
Advantage Proteas!
17 Feb 2013, 13:36 pm
153. John Galt said:
15 Feb 2013, 16:18 pm
Could agree with you more.
You have a look in the dictionary under
‘Bang Average Cricketer’, there is a picture
of Robbie P there.
With his hands in the air.
Looking like he almost got a wicket.
eish
17 Feb 2013, 13:38 pm
@I am a stormer-249:
its hard to say what drove me down there
17 Feb 2013, 13:44 pm
@NZINCHINA-250:
typical of you Kiwis
***** around first
ask questions later
17 Feb 2013, 13:45 pm
@Transformation-251:
It was always going to be a crime of passion.
17 Feb 2013, 13:53 pm
Messy article Tranny he’s gone.
17 Feb 2013, 13:53 pm
@bryce_in_oz-123:
You are right, it’s 24-14 now
The numbers must have been revised from when I watched it after the match, it’s not the kind of error I do usually, I make a leaving from interpreting numbers
In any case the stat imply a no dominance by either team but result was a runaway for the Brumbies, how come
17 Feb 2013, 13:54 pm
Lol, wild celebrations at Robin Petersen claiming 3 wickets
What an epic feat.
17 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-133:
Was a mess no doubt, I couldn’t figure it out why the Reds were penalised at the rucks while the Brumbies weren’t for seemingly same ‘foragings’ of the ball (Pocock)
17 Feb 2013, 13:59 pm
Hondo which refs are on the take this season?
17 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
@Hondo-258:
“I make a leaving from interpreting numbers”
I would leave that industry soonest and make a living elsewhere.
17 Feb 2013, 14:14 pm
Wasn’t a runaway for Brumbies they got one lucky try when Mogg ran round Ione to score an opportunist try in the corner then it turned at 5-6 to Reds at halftime. Then ref proceeded to blow Reds out the game giving Brumby about 6 Penalties in range which they converted 4 to go 17 – 6 up which is only when Cooper decided to break out his shell and try contest the gain lIne whIch Is when he tried a hail Mary skip pass for Mogg to pick off for his second lucky packet try
17 Feb 2013, 14:15 pm
@I am a stormer-262: hondo claims a whole lot of things without proof. he makes a “leaving” (sic) from placing bets….
17 Feb 2013, 14:19 pm
@NZINCHINA-261:
They aren’t on the ‘take’, that’s where you are wrong
Nor was Bryce Lawrence, they all have their orders from SARU or else face the music,,,,
And these orders might have initiated at levels above SARU, that’s why scrapping the concept of neutral referees played into the hand of the SA conference
(Exclude Kaplan and Mark Lawrence)
17 Feb 2013, 14:22 pm
@ShaunB-259: And why, ShaunB, are you as, presumably, a South African, dismissive of RobbieP’s feat?
5 wickets in a Test is statistically an above average performance, & that from a bowler that is generally regarded as only average. With his performance graph on the rise does that not make you happy? If not, why not?
And add to his above average bowling performance his Proteas first innings top score (outperforming several world class batsmen in the process), he has thus far been one of the outstanding players in this Test.
Well done RobbieP
17 Feb 2013, 14:23 pm
Yes it’s all the ref’s fault. The Brumbies didn’t actually win it…it was all a conspiracy….huge government cover-up.
17 Feb 2013, 14:25 pm
@I am a stormer-262:
Why, I am doing rather well
Numbers can be revised, it happened all the time, everywhere
Like Aplon’s height and weight for instance
Or JdJ’s tackles per game
17 Feb 2013, 14:28 pm
Brumbies beat Reds same way Australia beat S.A. at WC and NZ beat France at WC. Pocock and co. slowing Reds ball down and getting all the favors and penalties from ref who was obviously in Jake’s back pocket. You know how rugby works it’s run by refs who get kick backs for keeping the home sides fortunes on the bright side.
17 Feb 2013, 14:29 pm
Don’t be a chop.
It is plain for all to see that SA is a world beating side lacking only in a world class spinner.
Well done to Petersen getting 3 wickets in an innings.
But would we be congratulating Warne, Murali, Kumble, Singh, and even “better than average” spinners like Swann for getting 3 wickets?
Just what are you trying to insinuate Angrystura?
@Hondo-268:
hahaha………just leave it.
@Predawn-267:
It’s a SA plot to have Jake outwit, out coach and outshine his Australian counterparts so when Deans get shafted Jake can become Aus coach.
This is where the plot thickens, Jake will then proceed to coach the Wallabies in such a way that the Boks can beat them, thus ending second on the Championship log behind the All Blacks.
This is a very well planned conspiracy and worthy of a James Bond movie in the future with Jake being the villian. Movie to be written and produced by an unknown director living somewhere in the Western Cape who was last seen on scout location in the Westdene area of Johannesburg.
17 Feb 2013, 14:31 pm
@ShaunB-270:
Did you think Steyn deserves a congratulations for his 3 wickets?
No comments that he only managed 3 wickets and not even close to 80 plus runs.
17 Feb 2013, 14:32 pm
Oh so the SARU calls the shots now, I thought Paddy was the man
17 Feb 2013, 14:37 pm
@nortierd-273: keep it to bowling please (or else I could remind you of Steyn’s highest test batting score).
We’re talking bowling.
That is why they are in the team.
Steyn regularly takes 5 wicket hauls. Even 10 wicket hauls.
Petersen not so much….
The only reason we are chuffed with Petersen is because his performance this test was above average for him. As we have said, well done.
But it is still rather average compared to other world beating test team spinners.
If you are happy settling for mediocrity then good for you. Petersen is not the long term solution.
17 Feb 2013, 14:38 pm
I’m feeling alot better about the loss to the Poms now, somebody at SARU or higher gave orders for that to happen, I knew something was fishy.
17 Feb 2013, 14:38 pm
@ShaunB-270: No, bru
If henceforth Peterson on average takes 5 wickets per Test, he’ll be the answer to our spin bowling prayers & go a long way to transforming the Proteas into a world class team comparable with the all time greats.
The fact that you don’t recognise that makes you the chop …
17 Feb 2013, 14:41 pm
Brumbies play boring kak stampkar rugby same as Jake’s lousy Springbok team used to play just before Eddie Jones tweaked their loose strings. Nothing like the flair that Brumbies used to play under Gregan and Larkham and Matt Giteau in their heyday years. Someone got to fix the grey area’s at the breakdown officiating because each and every ref blows these so called laws in his own inimitable initiative and game altering influence.
17 Feb 2013, 14:46 pm
@ShaunB-275:
We are talking about this particular match, and if you are not willing to concede that Robbie has has the biggest impact so far, then it’s your choice,
His knock, coupled with the wickets he could could be the difference between a win or a loss.
SA has NEVER had a world class spinner in the Warne or Muralist class and I doubt we will have one soon.
Don’t think anyone is claiming Robbie will be the answer to God’s gift of spinning, but he is doing the business and it’s good to see.
17 Feb 2013, 14:49 pm
@skopdiekan-278:
Maybe that’s because they don’t have the Gregan’s, Larkham’s or Gitteau’s playing anymore.
You play with what you have.
The Red’s, with your Hero in charge, thinks they are still the team that won the competition 2 years ago, and still try to play like they are on top of the world, hence they got their @rse handed to them on a plate by a team playing the more astute brand of rugby.
17 Feb 2013, 14:51 pm
@Angostura-277: “If henceforth Peterson on average takes 5 wickets per Test”
Dream land.
17 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
McKenzie is under no illusion that he’s playing with only half a deck of cards currently. He’s lost Higginbotham and got no real open side either that little blonde open side from last year also not there. So just like last year when they lost lot of their frontline players to injury they got to go to battle half done. Horwill and Genia are crucial just like Pocock and Mowen are to Brumbies. Reds were leaderless under Slipper who made some poor decisions when he should have been busting for tries and opted for long range iffy penalties instead. Horwill and or Genia wouldn’t make such mistakes.
Jake is nowhere near McKenzie’s league only some JW arselickers don’t realize this yet.
17 Feb 2013, 15:09 pm
@nortierd-280: Good post there, Nortier, although I believe Giteau is overrated.
Saw him make lots of questionabe decisions imo, and together with his often below-par goalkicking cost us so badly in the past.
17 Feb 2013, 15:10 pm
@skopdiekan-282:
Ewen James Andrew McKenzie is a former Australian Rugby Union prop and now professional coach, currently with the Queensland Reds who won the 2011 Premiership. Before taking his current coaching role he coached the NSW Waratahs, reaching the final of the Super 14 and the French side Stade Français. He was born 21 June 1965 in Melbourne, and educated at Scotch College, Melbourne and the University of New South Wales.[1]
[edit]
Jake White (born 19 March 1963 as Jacob Westerduin[1]) is a rugby union coach and former coach of the South Africa national rugby union team, the Springboks. His most notable achievements as coach include leading the Springboks to victory in 2007 Rugby World Cup and the 2004 Tri Nations title. White also coached the U-21 Springbok side to victory in the U-21 Rugby Union World Cup in 2002. He is the current Head Coach of the Brumbies in Super Rugby.
On 24 October 2011, he was inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame, alongside other World Cup-winning head coaches and captains through the 2007 World Cup.[2]
Looking at what Wikipedia says, you are right, they are not in the same class, White is streets ahead of McKenzie
17 Feb 2013, 15:11 pm
@ShaunB-281: No, that’s not my expectation, I used that analogy to prove the point that Peterson’s bowling performance in THIS Test (5 wickets) was worthy of high praise, and not the derision coming from you.
Since you dropped in here you’ve shown yourself to be either an ignoramus or a troll … or a person with an even more sinister agenda.
But taking only the spinners YOU mentioned, their career wickets per Test rate is as follows:
Harbhajan Singh – 4.12
Graeme Swann – 4.24
Anil Kumble – 4.69
Shane Warne – 4.88
Muttiah Muralitharan – 6.02
Murali & Warne are the greatest spin bowlers the world has known.
So I tell you that RobbieP’s performance of 5 wickets in this Test is worthy of very high praise.
Now run along like a good boy …
17 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-283:
Not since Rod McQueen started the Brumbies have they had someone who will plan for their future like Jake will.
He will put the structures back in place that was lacking when the big name players ran the show with success, but success due to their brilliance more than coaching.
17 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
Far too often for my liking, our top SA sports people are praised in other countries but derided with glorious satisfaction in our own country.
It is time for all of us to be proud of what we have on our own door step.
@nortierd-284:
Good on you.
@Angostura-285:
Good on you.
17 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
White don’t have the intelligence or intellectual rugby nous that McKenzie got even if he did catch a lucky fluke WC trophy when his mentor and bail out pal coached his team to a non contest WC penalty shoot out final. McKenzie is light years ahead and White is just a side kick jockey who rides on other coaches expertise.
17 Feb 2013, 15:19 pm
@Angrystura-285: you are proving to be quite a sensitive chappy. Telling me to run along, lol, typical reaction of a defeated person.
“Since you dropped in here you’ve shown yourself to be either an ignoramus or a troll … or a person with an even more sinister agenda.”
Again, another reaction typical of someone defeated in an argument
I will however just pick you up on one error.
“(5 wickets) was worthy of high praise, and not the derision coming from you.”
If you hadn’t overreacted completely to my posts you would have seen my posts 270 and 275 actually praised Petersen for his bowling in this match.
As I said bro, you seem a little “jumpy”, perhaps you should relax a bit more
17 Feb 2013, 15:23 pm
@skopdiekan-288:
Yes Skop, White rode on our finest coach ever expertise.
Man when he took over from Straulli we were on top of the world weren’t we?
Straulli didn’t make us the laughing stock of world rugby.
Straulli didn’t make us the embarrassing mess we were known as.
Lucky Jake, taking over at such an easy time and then having the cheek to win the World Cup that promised 8 years before.
The Brumbies heyday years were before Giteau when Gregan Markham Mortlock Roff ran in the backline. Giteau not in the same class as that vintage.
@skopdiekan-288:
Yes Skop, White rode on our finest coach ever expertise.
Man when he took over from Straulli we were on top of the world weren’t we?
Straulli didn’t make us the laughing stock of world rugby.
Straulli didn’t make us the embarrassing mess we were known as.
Lucky Jake, taking over at such an easy time and then having the cheek to win the World Cup that Straulli promised us 8 years before.
17 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
White is light years ahead of your backward *** – he’s forgotten more about rugby than you’ve ever known – stop talking kak and blaming the ref whenever white wins .
17 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
Giteau was pure class – there’ve been few better game breakers in the pro era – he’s cocky and a bit of a baby but that felka was pure rugby intelligence in making things happen.
17 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
Anyone could have taken Streaulis fckup with the players that Kiss at Lions Louden under Meyer at Bulls and Campese and Muir developed at Sharks with couple Stormers like Paulse Barry and de Villiers and Barry’s centre partner in the backline and make a success of it. Yet Jake took all this talent handed him on a plate and lost 49-0. Plus he lost 7 from 10 vs Nz plus he won 1 from 4 vs France plus he never beat Ireland in Ireland and lost 2 from 3 vs England away.
The only thing Jake ever did right as a Springbok coach was hire someone with far better rugby ingenuity than him to coach his team through the world cup which is what is giving all you JW arselickers the fake impression that Jake’s this grandiose accomplished rugby coach when if you look at his pathetic record prior to the Eddie Jones marriage of convenience he most certainly wasn’t or isn’t.
17 Feb 2013, 15:51 pm
I’m not making a good leaving at the moment
17 Feb 2013, 15:52 pm
@ShaunB-289: nope, your posts 270 & 275 were only forthcoming after nortierd & I challenged you about your post 259; & besides they were mere partial qualifications of your earlier derision of Robbie’s praiseworthy performance.
17 Feb 2013, 15:53 pm
Brumbies played at home. Brumbies under this heart and soul renaissance that they so desperately in dire need of. The whole Clyde Rathbone reawakening revival
Fairytale song and dance with a ref that gives Brumbies about 8 shots at goal in kicking range while Reds get nada in comparison and get blown off their own go forward ball. While Reds playing with a depleted team lost their captain and vice captain and international no.6 flank and scrum half. Any betting syndicate would back the home side under such conditions.
17 Feb 2013, 15:55 pm
In spite of this McKenzie is still thousands of light years a more wily rugby coach than palooka White could ever dream to equal or emulate.
17 Feb 2013, 16:00 pm
Giteau never scaled the heights of Larkham who McQueen discovered at full back and turned him into a devastating game breaking fly half. Giteau had talent but too much of a petulant spoiler and not anywhere near Larkhams class.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All