Brumbies boss breakdowns to beat Reds
16 Feb 2013
RICHARD FERGUSON reports on the Brumbies beating the Reds and starting the season with a win.
The Brumbies beat the Reds 24 – 6 after leading them 8 – 6 at the break.
The first half of Super Rugby for these teams was just that, a first outing that saw little cohesion and penalties a plenty. Both teams’ kickers battled for accuracy as the wind played havoc. The Brumbies did manage to score a try with the first attacking move of the game, Jesse Mogg dotting down in the corner after about 10 minutes.
The Brumbies streaked ahead in the second half, keeping the Reds scoreless while kicking their own penalties. The kicking was a woeful display, so much so that the Brumbies used four different kickers with little success. Mogg scored his second try of the match on the sound of the siren, which was converted by replacement Robbie Coleman.
Clyde Rathbone had a solid return match, but in a match dominated by forward play and the backline not getting much room to move, he did not exactly shine.
The talking point throughout the match was the breakdowns and the referee’s interpretation of the new laws, which resulted in a stop start match. The Brumbies, and in particular David Pocock, adapted to the referee’s calls and took full advantage in the second half.
The score line does give a false impression about how close this match was, with the Reds’ defence holding strong for long periods of time. What would be a concern for coach Ewen McKenzie though, is the fact that the Reds never really looked like scoring a try all match.
The Brumbies now face the Rebels in Melbourne while the Reds head into a tough encounter with the Waratahs in Brisbane.

404 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
17 Feb 2013, 20:51 pm
Well done Greame Smith and his men. GS now the captain with the most victories behind his name.
Also, congratulations to Robbie :Air Punch” Peterson for winning MoM. His knock in the 1st innings was what win it for us.
Well done boet and also welcome to the Cobras.
17 Feb 2013, 20:51 pm
@Dawn-350: Thoughtless rats do.
17 Feb 2013, 21:13 pm
@Dawn-350: Dawn.I,m so so sorry.
I have had an emotional attachment to your folks since you spoke about
the awful time they had when you took them to hospital.
Nothing anybody can say will make you feel better.But know that they have
the support of 100% of the people on this site.Good night my girl.Letting them know that you love them is the best thing you can do.
17 Feb 2013, 21:23 pm
Thanks Rye
17 Feb 2013, 21:24 pm
Sorry Dawn. The world is a work of traumatic experience it begins in trauma and ends in trauma it’s creations idea of all soul sojourn from purity through distress and back to harmony. Life is a fickle routine of activity whereby we seek solace in tranquility yet life is the avenue we traverse seeking to evade pain and to cling to pleasure though nature’s decree is neither are permanent and attachment to either will be short lived.
Such is the gauntlet of life
between birth and death
17 Feb 2013, 21:25 pm
sheesh dawn…
that is sad and disheartening news… sincerely sorry to hear…
according to the rhyme… words can never harm us… but they can encourage and warm us… in this crazy country of ours we have to look to small mercies for hope and strength… the positive of such an snnoying event is to be happy and thankful that your dad is okay and unharmed…
and you personally have a lot of friends on keo who will feel your loss and anger and frustration and problems shared are are problems diminished…
if your folks need help to get somewhere let me know and I will try and help out…
17 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
@Dawn-350: And telling them that other
people love them is not a bad idea.
17 Feb 2013, 21:36 pm
Thanks all!
He just looked so lost and suddenly so frail.
Standing there with her meds and the car is gone. And it was a little Ford Laser and they loved it.
17 Feb 2013, 21:44 pm
@Dawn-350:
Sorry to hear that, Dawn.
As someone who went through a similar experience (my vehicle was also stolen in Cape Town while on holiday), I know exactly how it feels.
Hope your folks are doing better now than Thursday.
sterkte vir julle almal.
17 Feb 2013, 21:51 pm
Thanks Nama
17 Feb 2013, 21:53 pm
Am over and out! Traffic dept tomorrow
17 Feb 2013, 21:54 pm
Sorry about hearing that Dawn.
Someone also stole Karen’s car end December, and similar to your fathers case, it’s not the monetary value of the vehicle, it’s the freedom that is taken away.
The saddest part is to these criminals they won’t even stop to think for one second that the car they are stealing is all that stands between someone getting their kids to school and then to work, or as in your case, to get medicine or someone to the hospital or clinic in an hour of need.
I sincerely hope your family copes and things turn for the better.
17 Feb 2013, 21:55 pm
Thanks Nortie
I’ll be there for them whatever happens!
17 Feb 2013, 22:04 pm
@Dawn-363:
Shocking.
Mail me if you need some help.
17 Feb 2013, 22:08 pm
@Dawn-361:
Few rules which stood for me, family and friends over last 30 years
Rule 1: always have a good Crook Bar installed
Rule 2: Have a gear lock installed, the one with the 14mm U-Bolt
Rule 3: Make the insurance company install the alarm, never use auto electricians to do it
Rule 4: Always use the Paid Parking lots
The odds will swing into your favour, each rule by itself doesn’t ensure immune to theft but the combination is awesome.
17 Feb 2013, 22:09 pm
@Dawn-363:
sorry to hear about this, Dawn.
hope things work out for your folks.
17 Feb 2013, 22:19 pm
@Hondo-365:
I had all the precautions you’ve mentioned but I had a brake and clutch safe like this as well
http://www.magnumsafes.co.za/CUSTOM%20SAFES.html
You hook it behind the clutch and brake pedal and then locked the safe door
You can lock your valuables in it as well
They never even tried to steal my bakkie
17 Feb 2013, 22:23 pm
@nortierd-362:
Hallo Nortie, speel jy die Rugby Fantasy League?
Ek het geregistreer maar ek kan nie ‘n span kies nie, op die screen waar al die posisies op die groen veld is bly hulle grys as ek op hulle kliek en gee my nie verdere opsies nie
Weet jy hou dit werk?
17 Feb 2013, 22:27 pm
@Dawn-350: 82-year-olds shouldn’t be driving cars. at that age they become a danger to other road users.
17 Feb 2013, 22:29 pm
Thanks everyone for hints and tips!
Am on lookout for reasonably priced replacement, if anyone knows of anything!
17 Feb 2013, 22:31 pm
He is a good driver and I won’t let this become a personal slander against my dad.
17 Feb 2013, 22:32 pm
These things happen in crime-ridden SA .Deal with your problems and move on.
17 Feb 2013, 22:33 pm
@victoriabok-368:
Het dit een keer gespeel, maar kon picks maak.
Snaaks dat jy sukkel met dit, maak nie sin dat as mens geregistreer is mens nie picks kan maak.
17 Feb 2013, 22:34 pm
S_K@369
what a prejudiced and insensitive generalisation…
dawn… ignore the little man…
as said earlier… if you need a hand just shout…
17 Feb 2013, 22:35 pm
@S_K-372:
Man you suck.
If you have nothing good to say, then rather keep quiet.
17 Feb 2013, 22:39 pm
No need to cry about your problems in SA .Crying won’t sort the problem.get proactive to sort out your mess.
17 Feb 2013, 22:42 pm
@nortierd-373:
Ek sal volgendee week kyk, miskien was dit die lockout vir die wedstryde maar hy wil nou ook nie werk nie
Anders los ek dit net
17 Feb 2013, 22:44 pm
yeah… you don’t cry about your problems…
you run away from them…
you’re too scared to confront your problems in real life so resort to cowardly anonymous keyboard-cowboying on keo…
brave man…
17 Feb 2013, 22:46 pm
A few years back two policemen headed a car theft syndicate.they would escort the stolen cars wearing police uniforms and cars.maybe SA is just to fcked and nothing will help to sort out the mess.well,I guess it’s every man for himself…survival of the strongest or most evil it seems.
17 Feb 2013, 22:47 pm
@victoriabok-377:
Ek het dit net die een keer gespeel.
Superbru is vir my lekkerder en minder dinkwerk
17 Feb 2013, 22:58 pm
@Dawn-371: So sorry Dawn, truelly hope they can find his car ASAP, I know he might be insured and will beable to then buy another car, the problem is is the emotional styress he is being put through at his age.
Styress= stress
@victoriabok-368: Fantasy League in Lock out for Team selections & Transfers (from 1 hour before kick off of 1st game of a round), & will only unlock again next week some time.
You probably tried to make your selections after lock up set in.
PS: I just checked it out & lock out is now over, & the Manage Your Team Box is active again, so you can select your team. However, probably not advisable selecting & SAVING your team prior to the team sheets becoming available. Once you’ve saved your selections/transfers you cannot change them for the current round.
Next lock out occurs in 4 days, 8 hours, 36 minutes
17 Feb 2013, 23:07 pm
@Dawn-350: Dawn,
so sorry about your dad’s loss … theft is a *******, & the lack of mobility/independence is just as big a *******
I hope the problem will be sorted soon
17 Feb 2013, 23:14 pm
@Dawn-358:
17 Feb 2013, 23:20 pm
@S_K-372: S_K, I don’t know who you are, but seems you are also only here to stoke fire & cause trouble …
Poor form, man – very poor
18 Feb 2013, 02:00 am
Angrystura
I mention my opinion that Robin Petersen is an average journeyman spinner and you suggest I must have an “agenda”?
Pray tell, what agenda would that be?….
If it helps you sleep better at night I will also tell you that Paul Harris was also an average journeyman spinner. What does this viewpoint say about your “agenda”?
18 Feb 2013, 02:01 am
And jislaaik bru someone mentioned you actually support the Sharks. Quit gatkruiping with all the Stormer get a long bumchum gang bru.
Black and White nothing else matters.
18 Feb 2013, 02:57 am
And so SK continues to show the fool that he is…
“Australian public won’t be rushing out for Lions tickets…”
All three tests gone in under 5 minutes…
And as for that other fool Skopskat saying Brumbies fans are pissed at JW’s supposed Rathbone bias…
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-news/rathbones-comeback-has-crowd-in-raptures-20130216-2eklp.html
So many interweb dumb fcuks on this site!
18 Feb 2013, 05:14 am
@Dawn-370:
Hi Dawn
Hope ya parents are feeling better. Its rubbish losing a car and especially if they have gotten quite attached to it makes it that much harder.
I could ship over a 300 hp Mitsubishi evo for them
Ya dad would be kicking a$$ on the corners and motorway. Makes S_K look silly in his 7th hand datsun with multiple coloured doors.
18 Feb 2013, 05:20 am
@S_K-379:
Mate car thieving is everywhere. Its full on here in NZ.
We have so many different makes of cars available and Japanese imports are relatively cheap most have a good car in the garage. We have a lot of cars like skylines,evos and wrxs that are cheap and are sort after in the thieving market due to the speed these things are capable off……really make sure you are insured. In fact insurance companies charge more per year if you have these sorts of cars over here.
18 Feb 2013, 07:23 am
@S_K-372: Were you born a doos?
or
Have you practiced being one until you reached perfection.?
or
Did you have it thrust upon you.?
18 Feb 2013, 07:29 am
@Hurricane-390:
That’s your buddy Capo you are talking about.
But you are right.
That’s why I drive a Piccanto.
Nobody steals a Piccanto.
18 Feb 2013, 07:30 am
@ryecatcher-392:
18 Feb 2013, 07:31 am
@ryecatcher-392:
Delivered anally.
18 Feb 2013, 07:40 am
@ryecatcher-392: When some people are born the doctors slap their mother…
18 Feb 2013, 07:42 am
Yes indeed at his age it ain’t easy!
We gonna sort insurance and traffic stuff today.
18 Feb 2013, 07:44 am
And I’m working the Gumtree!
18 Feb 2013, 07:45 am
@Dawn-397:
Would you like me to send my driver?
18 Feb 2013, 08:27 am
Please!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All