Dan’s million dollar question
16 Feb 2013
Dan Carter can command any price to play rugby in any country. Japan coach and former Wallabies coach Eddie Jones hopes the All Blacks flyhalf turns to Japan for his off-shore sabatical.
Japan host the World Cup in 2019 and Jones, fluent in Japanese and married into a Japanese family, wants the national squad to ideally be that of Japanese-born players and not foreigners who have been playing in Japan for three or more years.
Jones appreciates the value of off-shore players, but he believes their investment should be on how they nurture and mentor Japanese players to be better international players.
Carter, outside of what he would do playing club rugby, would be huge.
Jones has seen the value of what players like Fourie du Preez and Jaque Fourie have done in mentorship. He also acknowledges the impact of Sonny Bill Williams, regardless of how short his stint was in Japanese rugby. It is what these quality of players teach the local player.
‘Dan Carter would get close[to what Williams earned]. A player of Carter’s class would go close to that without a doubt,’ Jones told Rugbyheaven.co.nz Richard Knowler.
Carter has a clause in his New Zealand Rugby Union contract allowing him to miss a Super Rugby season, which will be next season. Carter has not committed to playing in France or to taking a break from rugby, but a Japanese stint could give him a million dollar pay day and get him rejuvenated for one last World Cup appearance in 2015. He will be 34 in 2015.
‘He would be fantastic,’ said Jones. ‘Players like that not only come here and play well, they also teach players around them how to do things at a higher level. When you look at Carter play, he always plays like it is his last game. He could make a huge difference.’
Carter, should he be fit during the international season, will also become the first All Blacks flyhalf to play 100 Tests. He is the current world record holder for most international career points scored and no flyhalf in the history of the game has scored more Test tries.

101 Comments
16 Feb 2013, 03:21 am
“…Jones, fluent in Japanese and married into a Japanese family…”
Erm. Jones’ mother is Japanese.
16 Feb 2013, 04:10 am
” He is the current world record holder for most international career points scored and no flyhalf in the history of the game has scored more Test tries.”
Pretty much says it all.
We should all be honored to be able to watch the best flyhalf ever.
And it still is a bit weird to be waiting in line with your groceries and he is beside you with his….
16 Feb 2013, 04:39 am
@ShaunB-1: Thats why he was given a name with no Ls or Rs in it.
16 Feb 2013, 05:20 am
@Hurricane-2: He straightened the line, did he?
16 Feb 2013, 09:01 am
a reasonably good flyhalf who, to be fair, bottled when the really, really big games came calling. however, he was helluva consistent and more often on his game than off it, although prone to periods of poor form in which he was often rescued by his team.
i would have respected him more and certainly liked him if he had done a little less of his paymasters dishonest bidding.
16 Feb 2013, 09:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5:
haha…lol
16 Feb 2013, 09:57 am
@Hurricane-2: Don’t know if he’s the best flyhalf ever, but he’s definitely the best I’ve seen.
16 Feb 2013, 09:59 am
You must make sure you get the latest SA Rugby
There is a great article by Keo on Richie, I get the impression you ghost wrote it for him.
16 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
@Te Rangatira-6:
Yip he’s getting worse as time passes, a little sad to be honest.
16 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
Bakkies that is not the great DC.
16 Feb 2013, 10:15 am
@Hurricane-2:
why weird?
where else must he buy his groceries?
16 Feb 2013, 10:21 am
@Fern-11:
More surreal.
I get that a lot at Woodlands Mall.
Most of the Bulls players go there and one still sort of double take when you are in a restaurant and one of them are there.
Last week Dewald Potgieter was there and I was surprised at how big he really is, because he is dwarfed on the field next to the other players.
Gave me new perspective of how big the guys really are nowadays.
16 Feb 2013, 10:21 am
@Te Rangatira-6:
hi TR, last i checked SA is still a free country
it’s my opinion on the guy but i’m sure you will have a different one.
@nortierd-8:
sounds good, Nortie
i certainly will.
@NZINCHINA-10:
yes China, it is.
perhaps he’s a little more than ‘a reasonably good flyhalf’ but the rest is spot on.
16 Feb 2013, 10:23 am
@nortierd-12:
People act like that when they are around me aswell.
16 Feb 2013, 10:23 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:
The most complete performance by a 10 ever, Lions 2nd test 2005 the great DC.
16 Feb 2013, 10:27 am
@Fern-14:

Couple of years ago my sisters son came to visit for Christmas, but with a broken leg.
Asked Matfield to sign his cast and he was quite nice with the laaitie, considering that he was having down time with his family.
They just go about their business, same as us.
16 Feb 2013, 10:29 am
@NZINCHINA-15:
sadly forever to be overshadowed by the All Black thuggery in the 1st Lions test.
O’driscoll was a key player, obviously he was taken out.
now there’ll always be a question mark around the extent of his performance.
i.e. would not have been so easy if O’driscoll was there.
shame.
16 Feb 2013, 10:31 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-17:
It’ll never be overshadowed as no 10 will ever replicate what he did that night.
16 Feb 2013, 10:33 am
@NZINCHINA-15:
on a previous thread you accused me of calling kiwi females ugly wh ores.
You are well travelled and when asked your top 5 countries in your opinion as regards to pretty females SA made the list and nz not.
You ran away from utopia that nz is and married a chinese lady aswell
When are you going back to NZ?
I said that I find South African woman prettier than keewee woman,as did you inadvertently with your top 5 list.
The promoscuity I stated was based on research done in nz,so it is emperical fact.
I made a generilisation,I did not say 100% of keewee females.
You get pretty keewee woman aswell,and a good couple of beautifull keewee woman that are known internationally for the beauty.
I could give you a list of 5,but I dont have the whole day to search the interwebs.
Have a nice day everyone.
C hunt du Fernly has to roll,lots to do.
16 Feb 2013, 10:35 am
@nortierd-16:
Ch unt du Fernly has signed many a boo b back in the day when I was. single.
16 Feb 2013, 10:36 am
@Fern-19:
Shouldn’t you be taking care of your sick girlfriend, I hope her health has improved.
16 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
@Fern-19:
It’s like lets say take a stat that 20% of SA men have r aped,and then coming to the conclusion that for every 10 SA bloggers on here,2 must have r aped a woman before.
Context
16 Feb 2013, 10:39 am
@NZINCHINA-18:
yes, it has.
do a ask around in any pub anywhere, boet
Question: ‘B&I Lions tour 2005, you thoughts..?..’ ..
Answer: ‘All Blacks got away with murder, as usual. what an absolutely despicable assault on O’driscoll’
16 Feb 2013, 10:40 am
@NZINCHINA-21:
actually battling with a bacterial stomach infection.
dont insult me by your blatant lies
Should you not be spending time with your family?
16 Feb 2013, 10:40 am
@Fern-20:
You joke.
One year I flew to Durban for a Korfball Nationals and was seated smack bang in the middle of the Sharks CC team who played at Newlands the Saturday.
Was next to Jeremy Thompson and Muir.
So when the kids on the plane started getting autographs, they gave me the paper as well after they signed.
Somewhere there is someone with the Sharks team sheet of 1996 who probably still can’t figure out who the hell Nortier is and what position he played.
Great bunch of guys, but stout gat.
16 Feb 2013, 10:42 am
@nortierd-25:
Thompson is a very good mountain bike rider,always in the top 3 for his age group.
16 Feb 2013, 10:44 am
Bakkies we put the Lions away without too much trouble, other sides really struggle against them, DC was the master that night a flawless 10 but you watched it and know this already.
16 Feb 2013, 10:50 am
Fern it is you who has the long nose my friend.
16 Feb 2013, 10:50 am
@nortierd-25:
16 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@NZINCHINA-27:
keep fooling yourself, China
the fact remains, all people remember of the 2005 Lions tour is the shameful O’driscoll assault.
16 Feb 2013, 10:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-30:
Flawless Bakkies the complete performance.
16 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
Cheers all,really gotta go.
China,feck you and feck off.
Do not adress me as friend.
From here on in let’s not adress each other at all,directly or indirectly.
16 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
@NZINCHINA-31:
are you drunk?
16 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
@Fern-32:
Have a good day Pinocchio.
16 Feb 2013, 10:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-33:
why do you struggle against the Lions, genuine question?
16 Feb 2013, 11:15 am
@NZINCHINA-35:
well, for starters we dont cheat anywhere near as much as the AB’s do and we also dont look to seriously injure and possibly end opposition players careers by targetting key players to take them out of games.
anyway, we won the 2009 tour convincingly and before that we lost (1997) due to bad selections (Lubbe, du Toit, etc..).
the 1980 tour was won convincingly.
the 1974 tour was the same team that beat the AB’s convincingly in 71, they were good and dirty.
16 Feb 2013, 11:22 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36:
In 09′ you won the 2nd test by way of a last second 50 meter injury time penalty to win by a point or two, you lost the 3rd test.
16 Feb 2013, 11:24 am
Got to run Houston, if you want to watch a flawless performance by a 10 download that test simply magnificent – cheers.
16 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
A fan report on yesterdays play on Cricinfo.
Looks like Grant 10 was there.
“I also saw a drunken man in a Speedo and an androgynous fairy with green wings”
16 Feb 2013, 12:08 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: “anyway, we won the 2009 tour convincingly”
Hehe, good one. Saved by cheating sneaky smuggling Smit back on the field to save a fast sinking ship in the 1st Test and saved by Brycie in the 2nd when Bokke should have play with 14 men whole game.
16 Feb 2013, 12:31 pm
Who cares what you think.
@Fern-11:
Fern you way behind in technology.
You don’t even have to leave home to get groceries. Our supermarkets deliver to the door.
16 Feb 2013, 12:36 pm
@lepel-7:
MOst tries , most points…..
In 30 years time they will be saying DC was the best ever, it seems no one can be the best ever that is playing right now. I for one think DC is the best ever…… no one compares to him on paper. When was the last time you saw a # 10 take apart a whole team like in 2005 lions games….. seriously show me one.
16 Feb 2013, 12:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13<
Yep…Houston, we are free to voice an opinion and free to voice an opinion about your opinion.
For me, Carter is the best and Ella the Greatest.
16 Feb 2013, 13:20 pm
@ 25 nortier
Classic !
16 Feb 2013, 13:32 pm
@NZINCHINA-37:
@polaris-40:
do you honestly believe the Boks were going to lose to the Lions in 2009.
@Hurricane-41:
Hurri, you’re letting all this get you on a personal level and its affecting your personality. it’s not worth it.
these are my opinions only and that’s all they are, others may feel the same and they may not.
@Te Rangatira-43:
thanks TR, for your opinion.
16 Feb 2013, 13:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-45:
No Bakkies.
Hurricane is not letting “all this” get to him.
I just read your post #5.
Hurricane is correct in dismissing your opinion as irrelevant. It was the post of a vindictive unsporting prize prickle.
16 Feb 2013, 13:54 pm
@cane-46:
hi Caner,
not true, Hurri has been gunning for me for a while now and lately only has insulting, dismissive responses to make to my posts and has been insulting a few times by using ‘strong language’.
16 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
Greatest nr. 10 I have had the pleasure to watch.
Only weakness IMO is his drop kicking, but I will concede that the way the AB’s and Crusaders play, drop kicks are largely an irrelevant way of accumulating points.
Maybe the 2007 loss to France could have been saved with a couple of drops, but who knows?
He got the one that counted against Ireland to save their blushes, but missed the one against Aus that could have made them the team with the most wins.
16 Feb 2013, 13:58 pm
@cane-46:
i have never used foul language against him.
the only two people i have used it against is Grant10 for the things he says about John Smit and you for the way you defended the Auckland bottle throwing scum.
i have apologised for my outbusrts most times though and if i recall have apologised for the things said about both you and Grant10, if not to you.
not a single one of you (Kiwis) and Grant10 are capable of the same i have noticed. it does not matter or bother me, but i have noticed it all the same.
16 Feb 2013, 14:01 pm
@nortierd-48:
too true, blocking and not too subtle obstructive running rather is the more prefered manner.
16 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-45: Who knows Bakkies about the 1st, the momentum was clearly with the visitors since Smit was subbed and scoreline was changing fast despite Brycies view that Beast scrums better than Big Phil, so Smit’s smuggling was a desparate move.
As for the 2nd you know and I know, Bokke were gonna lose for damn sure had Brycie balls to send him off.
16 Feb 2013, 14:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-50:

Bakkies, you know we will never agree on this.
I am a huge AB fan and love the way they play and it’s a pity we can’t be as successful, but I still support the green & gold.
16 Feb 2013, 14:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5: “who, to be fair, bottled when the really, really big games came calling.”
Name them Bakkies. And do not bother to mention 2007 QF as Carter went off injured in 56th minute when Blacks were ahead.
16 Feb 2013, 14:48 pm
“Dan Carter can command any price to play rugby in any country.”
not to be pedantic mark but this is nonsense.
everybody has a price, its just what the markets are willing to pay.
16 Feb 2013, 15:04 pm
I’d rather see him playing in France again so we can watch him playing with proper opposition in proper tournaments. Fingers crossed, without another Perpignan style injury.
16 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
@polaris-53:
most recently the Ozzie game and yes, the 2007 WC game too and there have been others.
@nortierd-52:
good for you, Nortie
@polaris-51:
i dont think there is a person in the world who would agree with that assesment.
16 Feb 2013, 16:15 pm
@polaris-51: Not surprised at all, Bakkies, you would not see them anyway.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: If not winning 2nd ranked team away from home means “bottling”, well, fine. As for 2007, if injury well before the end means bottling, I guess Brussow bottled it as well four years later.
As for others, please name a few.
16 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
@polaris-57:
he bottled in 2009 and, i’m sorry to say it, in 2011 too.
more recently against the irish and english.
16 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
wasn’t he at the 2003 WC too?
16 Feb 2013, 17:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-58: Alright, Bakkies. If any loss counts as bottling, ok, Bokkes have bottled countless times, and id we go further and qualify as bottling even close wins, just let’s count – last November England, Ireland, wirh England series complete bottling, how about bottling vs Wales and Samoa in WC etc. etc.
Bunch of bottlers.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-59: He was on the bench, so I guess that counts as another bottling for you.
16 Feb 2013, 17:17 pm
AB de Villiers is really going for it behind the stumps when Peterson is bowling.
“Ohhhhh Robbie; Yessss Robbie; Good boyyyy, lovely ball, you beauty”………ohhhhh! ”
No wonder Robbie Peterson looks scared.
16 Feb 2013, 17:22 pm
@polaris-60:
the point is, he’s had his moments.
anyway, he’s let me down more in the way he’s obstructed/blocked and similar than any time he has been off form.
16 Feb 2013, 17:26 pm
@polaris-60:
did he not play at all in 2003?
who knows, perhaps he may have been the spark the AB’s needed to get over the Ozzies.
similar to Wilkinson sitting out the English loss to the Boks in 99.
16 Feb 2013, 17:26 pm
@Robzim-61:
16 Feb 2013, 17:37 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-64:
I am scared of what he might say in the unlikely event of peterson getting a wicket.
An “Oooohhh Robbie, I love you ” might just be a bit too much even for the mostly liberal Cape Town crowd
16 Feb 2013, 17:40 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-62: Bakkies, each and every player has his “off games” and Carter is no exception like every other mortal human.
The point is you are implying he had many flops IN THE GAMES THAT REALLY MATTERED, basically implying (in retrospective, of course) those games were the ones the ABs lost, very convenient. The only game that really mattered where we can point a finger on him was perhaps Australia last year because of upcoming record, but hey all players seemed very off song that day. English’12 and SA’09 games were just Test losses, to name them as “really mattered” (as if other Test wins did not matter or mattered less) sounds weird even looking to the world through the Bakkies glasses.
16 Feb 2013, 18:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-63: Bakkies, he did play in pool games and sat whole playoffs on the bench. We can only guess and speculate what could/would happen, had he played. Mind you, he was just a talented greenhorn yet then. Similar to Jonny, he only year ago experienced Tour to Hell (0-76 or something), who would have known he’ll be a superstar one day?
16 Feb 2013, 18:55 pm
@Robzim-65:
well if its gonna happen anywhere in the country its gonna happen in CT.
@polaris-66:
look, the important thing here is to focus on the fact that he has bottled a few times and was more than open to playing a little dirty for the win.
you’re focussing on the wrong stuff
@polaris-67:
the fates are cruel that way. take the right guy off at the wrong moment or the wrong guy at the right and it becomes one for the history books.
16 Feb 2013, 20:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: Nobody’s perfect, you know. And yes, so much depends on the right choices in the right time – and often one will know what the right choice was when it’s way too late.
17 Feb 2013, 01:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68:
So we are focusing on the wrong stuff?
He has an 88% win ratio in AB jersey in approx 94 test matches.
So 12 % of the time he is off. Every loss is not his fault but you think it is.
A loss can be due to the forwards being dominated etc. But you think the 3 or 4 losses that you consider his fault even though one of those games he was injured and left the game while the ABs were leading is a joke and of a sour puss cry baby jealousy spewing forth numbskull proportions.
And know you are calling him a cheat as well….. give up man. What you guys would do to have a player of Carters skill in your team…..
17 Feb 2013, 12:29 pm
@Hurricane-70:
easily 70% of those victories were undeserved.
17 Feb 2013, 13:09 pm
@Fern-19: Interesting. There does seem to be a lot of hot blonds etc in Saffieland. I would agree that generally most kiwi girls are pigs.However, percentage wise we probably have more ‘good looking ‘ girls than you, taking into account all you ‘white folk’ are a minority
17 Feb 2013, 21:57 pm
the following posts will be my impression of Bakkies (and Fern, not delighting in this at all) just posting news worthy articles like Bakkies does..
Alex Duval Smith in Cape Town
The Observer, Sunday 17 February 2013
Oscar Pistorius and girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp in November. Photograph: Lucky Nxumalo/AFP/Getty Images
Oscar Pistorius was the perfect South African sporting hero because victory over his disability made him a universally admired figure in a still-divided society. The profoundly macho culture he grew up in spans racial groups and provides some explanation for the country’s shocking rates of domestic violence.
“Black South African men are expected to prove their manliness by carrying knives and having lots of girlfriends,” said Rachel Jewkes of the South African Medical Research Council. “White Afrikaners like Pistorius do not need to have several girlfriends. But his love of guns speaks to the same hunger to prove his masculinity in the South African context.”
The full facts about the death of model Reeva Steenkamp have yet to emerge, but to South Africans her death came on the eve of the Black Friday Campaign for Rape Awareness in honour of Anene Booysen. The 17-year-old died after her ex-boyfriend and others allegedly gang raped and disembowelled her on 2 February.
“The massive problem we need to understand in South Africa is the level of men’s violence against women and against each other,” said Lisa Vetten, a researcher who specialises in domestic abuse. Police statistics on domestic violence are limited. But 15,609 murders and 64,500 reported rapes in 2011-12 suggest massive levels of violence in South African homes.
Household surveys by the MRC have found that 40% of men have hit their partner and one in four men have raped a woman. Three-quarters of men who admit to having raped women say they did so first as teenagers. The MRC found that, while a quarter of women had been raped, just 2% of those raped by a partner reported the incident to police.
Experts say South African society features all the known causes of rape and violence, including a historical culture of “might is right”, a wealth gap that makes men feel weak, an unequal relationship between women and men, lack of adequate childcare, which results in the neglect of boys, and high male unemployment.
Jewkes, a British doctor and director of gender and health at the MRC, said: “Having a father at home is really unusual here. South African children are more likely to be raised by a non-biological parent than by both biological parents. So you see high levels of neglect, humiliation and abuse, which develops into domestic violence. We also have a high rate of teenage pregnancies and those young mothers are not equipped to raise their children.
“South African men think women should be under their control. There is an idea that violence is justifiable as a means to keep women in their place. This has not changed in 20 years and even though the South African murder rate has dropped by 50% since 1999, rape figures have not,” said Jewkes.
Jewkes and Vetten argue that Pistorius’s love of guns and fast cars illustrates his relationship with South Africa’s macho culture. “Afrikaner men are very patriarchal,” said Jewkes, “and within that culture gun ownership is seen as part of masculinity.”
Vetten believes that the pressure on Pistorius may have been compounded. “Disabled men and women often struggle with their sense of masculinity or femininity because they are to some degree dependent. I have seen examples of them placing particular pride on physical attractiveness. Maybe he struggles with that. The guns and sports cars gave an impression that he was over-compensating so as to be seen as ‘normal’.”
But the tragedy in South Africa is that the most “normal” thing of all is violence against women. Under the polygamous President Jacob Zuma, known for his traditionalist and sexist remarks, there is also a sense of men getting away with it. Minister of human settlements Tokyo Sexwale is currently fighting a divorce case by his wife Judy which cites emotional mental and verbal abuse. But his political career has been unaffected.
The media raise the issue with regularity. Column inches were occupied last month with wonderment at the outpouring of grief in India over the rape of a New Delhi student on a bus. Commentators asked why such a reaction in South Africa, where gang rapes are a daily occurrence, is unthinkable. Black Friday, during which radio chat show hosts called on listeners to wear black, was a media attempt to create a reaction. But South Africa appeared largely unmoved.
While the country has a Domestic Violence Act that enables police to intervene if a woman fears attack, it is poorly implemented. Jennifer Williams, director of the Women’s Legal Centre, said: “There is a problem of resources and police training. Too often the women who come to us have been told by the police, ‘He seems like a nice guy, surely you can sort it out’. Other women are turned away from courts because there is a shortage of magistrates. We have a national emergency, yet rape crisis centres are closing.”
perhaps this will quell the whole highlighting NZs “domestic violence” problem, but probably not…
17 Feb 2013, 21:58 pm
his families sticking by him..
Oscar Pistorius murder charge: bloodied cricket bat found at Paralympic athlete’s home
Police in South Africa are reportedly investigating the discovery of a bloodied cricket bat at the home of Paralympic athlete Oscar Pistorius.
By Aislinn Laing, Johannesburg9:47AM GMT 17 Feb 2013
Local reports stated police believe he may have used the bat to attack girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp before shooting her dead on St Valentine’s Day morning, according to a local report.
Detectives are working on two other theories concerning the bat: that it was either used to break down the door of the bathroom where she hid, or that she used it to defend herself against Mr Pistorius, South Africa’s City Press reported.
One bullet cartridge was found in the champion sprinter’s bedroom and police are looking at whether he “chased” his girlfriend and fired the first shot before she locked herself in the bathroom and he fired three more through the door, the paper said.
It cited three sources “close to the high-profile investigation” who said the police had a “rock solid” case against South Africa’s former golden boy.
A post-mortem examination on the body of the 29-year-old model revealed that as well as bullet wounds to the head, arm, hand and hip, she suffered a fractured skull, it reported.
“There was lots of blood on the bat. Forensic tests will show whose blood it was,” one source was quoted as saying.
The latest revelations, under the headline The Case Against Oscar, come after his family launched a fightback campaign saying the police had no evidence to sustain a charge of murder.
Mr Pistorius’ father Henke told the Telegraph in an exclusive interview that the family had “zero doubt” that Mr Pistorius shot Miss Steenkamp dead mistakenly thinking she was intruder.
He said the entire Pistorius family was “heart and soul” behind the athlete and would do “whatever needs to be done” to help him clear his name.
The family also released a statement in which they described the 26-year-old athlete as “numb with shock as well as grief” over the events of the past three days.
“We have no doubt there is no substance to the allegation and that the State’s case, including its own forensic evidence, strongly refutes any possibility of premeditated murder or indeed any murder at all,” they added.
A close friend of Mr Pistorius told how the athlete called him moments after Miss Steenkamp was shot.
“Oscar called me at 3.55am saying that Reeva had been shot. I said to him, ‘What are you talking about? I don’t understand you.’ He then repeated himself – ‘There has been a terrible accident, I shot Reeva,” Justin Divaris told the Sunday People.
“Next thing his neighbour picked up the phone and told me it was true and told me to get to Oscar’s home. I was in total shock. I asked the neighbour, ‘Is she OK?’ Did the gun go off by accident?’ She replied, ‘No. She’s not OK. You need to get here’.”
According to City Press, Mr Pistorius also called his father and sister and asked them to come to the house at around 3.20am on Thursday.
When they arrived, it said, Mr Pistorius was carrying his girlfriend’s body down the stairs – her head and arms were “dangling”, it added.
The athlete’s sister Aimee has allegedly given a statement to police saying her brother told her he had shot the FHM cover girl thinking she was an intruder.
Miss Steenkamp was said to be still breathing as security guards, neighbours and Mr Pistorius’ family gathered, and he tried to give her mouth-to-mouth resuscitation.
But once police and paramedics arrived on the scene, she was declared dead.
According to a source cited by City Press, Miss Steenkamp was wearing a nightdress, an overnight bag was found at the house and her iPad was on the bedroom floor.
“It was clear that both of them had slept in the bed,” the source added.
The holster of a 9mm pistol similar to the weapon recovered by police was found on one side of the bed, the paper said. A bullet cartridge was also reportedly found in the bedroom and police are investigating whether Mr Pistorius fired one shot then “chased” Miss Steenkamp to the bathroom.
“The suspicion is that the first shot, in the bedroom, hit her in the hip,” one source was quoted as saying. “She then ran and locked herself in the toilet. She was doubled over because of the pain. He fired three more shots. She probably covered her head which is why the bullet also went through her hand.”
Police asked for blood taken from Mr Pistorius to be tested for steroids, City Press claimed, in anticipation that his defence team might claim he acted in “roid rage” – an aggressive condition associated with taking large doses of performance-enhancing drugs.
The sensational new claims come after Miss Steenkamp, a law graduate from Port Elizabeth on South Africa’s south coast, appeared posthumously on the reality television programme, Tropika Island of Treasure, which was screened by the country’s national broadcaster, the SABC, last night with her family’s blessing.
In the programme, filmed in Jamaica, Miss Steenkamp was seen alongside other bikini-clad contestants taking part in a hunt for treasure to win £73,000 in prize money.
In a poignant interview, filmed just days before she died as she prepared to return home, she spoke about the importance of leaving a positive mark in life.
“Not just your journey in life but the way that you go out and make your exit is so important. You have either made an impact in a positive way or a negative way,” she told the camera.
On Saturday, Miss Steenkamp’s father Barry insisted that they did not “hate” Mr Pistorius for what had happened.
“He must be going through things that we don’t know about,” he told the Mail on Sunday. “There is no hatred in our hearts.”
He said he and his wife June and the rest of their family were struggling “to find some reason why this happened to our lovely daughter”.
“This is a very difficult time for us,” he told the paper. “June is inconsolable. We just need to find some answers. We ask the Lord every day to help us find a reason why this should happen to Reeva. She was the most beautiful, kind girl in the world. She had love for everyone and she was loved by everyone who knew her.”
Mr Pistorius’ uncle Arnold and sister Aimee read a statement on Saturday in which they said that he had cared deeply for his girlfriend of four months.
“All of us saw at first hand how close she had become to Oscar during that time and how happy they were. They had plans together and Oscar was happier in his private life than he had been for a long time,” they said.
They said their entire family was “in a state of total shock”.
“Firstly about the tragic death of Reeva who we had all got to know well and care for deeply over the last few months,” they said.
“We are all grieving for Reeva, her family and her friends. Oscar – as you can imagine – is also numb with shock as well as grief.”
On Friday, during his first court appearance, Mr Pistorius repeatedly burst into tears as prosecutors discussed how they would charge him with murdering his girlfriend.
Standing behind him, his father and brother were seen reaching out to clasp his shoulder and pat his back. Henke Pistorius told the Telegraph that they were a close family and had no doubt of his innocence.
“I let him know that all of us are in heart and soul with him,” he said.
“That’s why we were there and whatever needs to be done we will do.”
He said there was “zero doubt” in his mind that he had acted in fear of an intruder, he added. “Without any doubt there was no purpose in it, it’s not an issue for us,” he said. “I have zero doubt (that he thought it was an intruder) – it’s totally absurd to even suggest anything different. “When you wake up in the middle of the night – and crime is so endemic in South Africa – what do you do if somebody is in the house? Do you think it’s one of your family? Of course you don’t,” he said.
17 Feb 2013, 22:01 pm
this from the New York Times.
“His arrest is a stark reminder that violence is an everyday face of life in South Africa, where fear of armed robberies and carjacking prompt the wealthy to take refuge in heavily guarded gated compounds and arm themselves with handguns.”
17 Feb 2013, 22:03 pm
Pops, stop stirring and give me some insight regarding the NZ teams after the warm up matches.
Did they televise them there?
Got some picks to make this weekend, so any inside info will be appreciated, and not just Blues bias please
17 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
you just couldn’t help yourself, could you…
17 Feb 2013, 22:15 pm
so much for telling off Gunther and i for thinking you would delight in this story.
what were the words you used..?..
“I actually think it’s a tragedy, domestic violence is never funny.”
didn’t take long to show yourself did it…
17 Feb 2013, 22:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-77:

Bakkies, now don’t be the pot calling the kettle black.
If this was a NZ sportsman you would have been all over it like a bad rash.
17 Feb 2013, 22:23 pm
@nortierd-79:
hi Nortie,
truth be told i dont think i would have taken cheap shots at a story of murder involving a poor young woman.
certainly anything to do with drugs, cheating, manipulated dishonest outcomes and sports in general but mostly rugby and rugby players masquerading as boxers would get my attention, like a bad rash.
this is Poep’s opportunity to take a cheap shot at us, he’s free to do as he wishes.
17 Feb 2013, 22:27 pm
anyway, i have an early day
lots to do
17 Feb 2013, 22:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80:
Enjoy the rest
There is no right or wrong in these stories, just what is really necessary and important and what is posted to tick people off
17 Feb 2013, 23:04 pm
Bakkies.. you take cheap shots at NZ every moment on this blog, look back over the first page of this thread and you’ll see…
these are not my views and I didnt post them to delight in the situation..
how is my posting these articles any different to the 50+ you posted on SBWs which you stated unequivocally proves not only him but all kiwis as cheats?
The articles posted are form SA and America, and as this is front page news around the world and your undoubted fascination with posting articles I am surprised that you havent posted 50 plus on this story?
should I take these articles to imply all Saffas are like this?
As Nortie stated, if this had been a prominent NZ sportsperson you would have littered this thread and EVERY thread with articles related to it..
why is that okay but now you take umbrage when I am only sharing articles on the tragic circumstances in this case..
Do you think the blood on the baseball bat further incriminates Pistorius? why the sudden revulsion at a story that has reached every corner of the globe?
is it because it entails a SA and not a Kiwi that means this story is off limits?
do think about it..
What I find the saddest of all out of this whole mess is newspapers around the world posting photos of Reeva in a swimsuit, there seems to be little respect for her family or her personally in the media, it is senstationalism and cheapens her life considerably..
17 Feb 2013, 23:12 pm
@nortierd-76: kia ora Nortie, hoe gaan dit? I did not see the practice matches, so cant really give any solid comment on the NZ teams, I will see them for the first time this weekend as will you.
I do think our conference will probably be the toughest once again, and I will be tipping the blues on head this year, not heart (it cost me plenty last year)..
Chiefs/Highlanders will be a very tough call, do think the Chiefs will edge it away.
Blues/Canes…. another tough one to tip, and I will probably give it to the canes due to home ground advantage. From the results of the trials, it appears the Blues still havent realised that defense is also an important component to a successful team..
17 Feb 2013, 23:17 pm
I do have to laugh at you crying wolf now though Bakkies..
one rule for one nation, a different rule for another? doesnt work that way chump. Perhaps in future you may think before posting inane crime stories from NZ, though wont hold my breath.
I do expect plenty of people on this blog to give it to me for posting these articles, it will be the same ones who continually sit in silence when you do it..
ho hum…
17 Feb 2013, 23:26 pm
in fact Bakkies, many have posted jokes about Pistorius because of his disability, yet I haven’t done anything like that at all
but that must have slipped under your radar huh?
17 Feb 2013, 23:30 pm
and before you say this isnt rugby related, there are rumours and innuendo of a love tryst with a Bulls scrumhalf.
and as youve proven time and again, rumour and innuendo is all you need..
17 Feb 2013, 23:34 pm
@the curse-84:
Going well, thanks and you?
Yep, can’t wait for next weekends matches, will be the proper start to the competition.
Agree with you on the Canes, home ground might sway it, but the Highlanders might just pip the Chiefs.
SBW is going to be a huge loss for the Chiefs
17 Feb 2013, 23:41 pm
@nortierd-88: all good here Dankie.. its so good to have rugby back on our screens again. Was quite impressed with the standard the Aussies displayed, big year for their players and many want to impress.
Agree on the loss of SBWs, but think taumalolo is a bigger loss for them. Highlanders normally start very well, so would not surprise if they do beat them, but I think Cruden is key for the Chiefs, and if given enough quality ball he will imo be the difference.
Am excited to see both NZ and SA teams competing this weekend, whats your take on the SA matches this weekend?
I think Stormers will beat the Bulls, and am tempted to tip the Cheetahs over the Sharks.
Kings very much unknown at this level, and the Force will be hurting after their loss, so maybe I will toss a coin for this game.. Think the Kings players will be amped, especially with a good home crowd and this can lift them considerably.
17 Feb 2013, 23:53 pm
@the curse-89:
Hope the Stormers can do the business, although Etzebeth is a huge loss.
Will have a look at the team sheets.
Sharks should beat the Cheetahs, Sharks have a strong side.
I thought the Kings might win a couple of games, especially against the Force, but after their warm up game where their strongest side couldn’t even beat a Griqua side without there on or two decent players, I can’t see them winning anything to be honest.
18 Feb 2013, 00:05 am
@nortierd-90: I think the Stormers will be SA’s strongest challenger yet again… the Shorks are all flash in the pan, their inconsistency will be highlighted again imho.. theres is too much fizzle in their boom to be serious contenders, though I may be fishing for remora here
I would like the Kings to do well, but am not as proficient in their players as someone from SA will undoubtedly be, so will have to assess them more on watching their games… first few rounds of Superbru are the hardest.
are you going to give me the margin as well in their game?
18 Feb 2013, 00:15 am
@the curse-91:
Cheetahs do traditionally upset the Sharks at home, but can’t see it happening this year. They have ok backs, but zero forwards, and with Juan retiring and Brussouw still out, they will struggle. Sharks comfortably
Bulls have a strong side on paper, as usual, but the Stormers with their strong defense might squeak it, I really hope they do, and there won’t be a lot in it.
Kings will get walloped most of their matches, big scores, unless the opposition decide to rest their front line players against them.
Doubt the Force will beat them to far, but between 10 and 20 should be my guess, only because they will struggle in the competition as well
18 Feb 2013, 00:19 am
@nortierd-92: still upset that I wont get to see Juan play anymore, was an exemplary player and the perfect role model rugby needs to promote. really enjoyed the way he played hard but fair, and has been my favourite SA player for a long time now.
Cheetahs are probably the SA team I support the most, moreso because i think they have the same mindset as NZ teams do in their approach to the game, and when they do play this approach they score some scintillating tries.
Bulls have no hope mate, they lost to the rabble that was the Blues last year at Loftus, so dont think they will have found any improvement
18 Feb 2013, 00:27 am
@the curse-93:

I agree with Juan.
The biggest accolade any player can get is to be praised and respected by the opposition.
I was surprised by the Bulls last year, expected them to do much worse with all the players they lost after 2011.
Maybe it catches them this year?
Cheetahs won’t do well, they will score some great tries, but that’s no use if you concede more than you score.
They will beat the Kings and some Aussie sides, maybe pox a game away, but that’s about it.
Same old same old
They bring nothing new this year, in fact, they are worse off than last year with their player loss
18 Feb 2013, 00:42 am
@nortierd-94: not discounting the Bulls full stop, but so long as the Blues thrash them again this year all will be good in the world
players do and will step up, but agree with the loss of those two stalwarts the Cheetahs may struggle. I think its the over reliance on big big men in forward packs that hurts SA rugby, their lack of mobility often exploited in the last quarter of a game..
18 Feb 2013, 00:51 am
@the curse-95:
Think it’s more a lack of brains than mobility
If you think you can run over anyone, because you believe your own press and supporters, then you deserve to be knocked back.
Problem is, if you put the ball underneath your armpit, then the opposition is pretty sure you won’t be looking to offload.
Won’t be shedding to many tears if the Blues take the Bulls again, will be dropping some F-bombs if I had happened to pick the Bulls though.
18 Feb 2013, 00:57 am
@nortierd-96:
f-bombs? we kiwis set the example in 81 with f-bombs mate, tough act to follow
yep, keeping the ball out in front creates uncertainty in the defense, and I often feel SA teams dont use the short interpass between forwards as effectively as NZ do.. a pop pass to another forward on either shoulder often gives good gains, as well as providing space out wide for the backs to exploit if there is a quick recycle. I feel SA forwards go too often for the one out hit up.
18 Feb 2013, 01:09 am
@the curse-97:

You haven’t heard me when I’m bang on the score and there’s like 5 minutes to go.
Past 1 am here, so I’m turning in, was good catching up and chatting.
You must have a good day.
18 Feb 2013, 01:11 am
@nortierd-98: cheers Norite, always a pleasure.. Its like you need your team to kick one more penalty to be spot on, then when they score another try youre delighted but annoyed at the same time…
sleep easy boet..
18 Feb 2013, 06:47 am
@the curse-87:
save it you pathetic schmuck.
18 Feb 2013, 07:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100: Im pathetic, read your assesment of carter, who is universally regarded as one of the finest 10s in the modern game
and all you can do is mention cheating and the like..
pray tell, what do you spend your weekends doing now that super rugby has started and you no longer watch it?