The sin of Schadenfreude

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes South African rugby should be about hope and not hatred.

In Canberra a South African rugby celebration continues to grow in excess. In Port Elizabeth this Saturday a celebration unrivalled in the unified history of South African rugby should also be about excess.

But individual and team triumph will be torture to a resentful audience. The freedom fighters are apparently the terrorists and Schadenfreude will be the champagne of choice when the Southern Kings play the Western Force in their Super Rugby debut.

The majority of South African rugby supporters have expressed their hatred for the Kings. Hate is the word that has constantly been emphasized, with bloggers delighting in supporting anyone who will be playing against the Kings. There is so much hatred, in especially the perceived failure of Luke Watson, who will captain the Kings this season.

It is a hatred so many white South Africans in the rugby community felt – and feel – towards former SA under 21 captain Clyde Rathbone when he moved to Australia and played for the Wallabies.

This hatred was extended to 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White when he left South Africa last year to coach the Brumbies.

Watson’s crime was to criticize Afrikaners in 2007 and to say they controlled South African rugby. The blasphemy was to say he never grew up in a household that celebrated the Springbok jersey, and it was seen as a symbol of oppression. He told a group in informal discussion he loved the idea of playing for his country, but the Springbok jersey, in its traditional guise, was something he could vomit on given the historical association it held from his up bringing.

He was subsequently trialed, condemned, convicted and sentenced within sectors of South African media and society, as the sinner without a soul.

These same individuals also prayed to God for their own redemption for being vulnerable to daily mistakes in life choices. These same people are oblivious to the contradiction and hypocrisy.

Watson has publicly apologized to Afrikaners for his words. He has said he would have articulated his thoughts differently had he been more mature. He has said he wants to be a part of all that is good about rugby and South Africa. He said he was used as a political pawn and his move to England, where he captained Bath for two seasons, made him realize just how much he was used by politicians and how he allowed himself to be used.

He has said that in hindsight he would have done so many things differently. He has said sorry.

Watson has spoken of the privilege and responsibility to live in South Africa and to be leading the pioneers of Kings rugby.

The young Watson, schooled to oppose the Springbok jersey, is very different to the Watson of today who makes his own choices and wants to make a contribution to the life South African rugby and South African society as it is, and not to helping end what once was.

Apparently youngsters can’t make mistakes, can’t admit to them and can’t expect any forgiveness if they happen to be Luke Watson. They can only expect continued hatred from those whose joy is defined by another’s perceived failure.

In a unified South African rugby community, the division has never been stronger. How sad for those unwilling to forgive and incapable of celebrating change, be it in a view or in an action.

How sad for our rugby that so many have voiced their pleasure at the prospect of foreign team stuffing up the Kings. What betrayal to a young group of South African rugby players.

Port Elizabeth, this weekend is the greatest story in South African rugby’s youthful unity, but when the parents (SARU) can’t celebrate the first steps of the child they bought into this world, it can’t be expected of the haters not to indulge in Schadenfreude.

Clyde Rathbone’s comeback from injury, depression and a dark place in his life is a celebration, as is White’s wonderful influence as coach of the Brumbies.

They are South Africans, as is Watson and the Kings, but those unaffected by their respective choices, triumphs and mistakes, detest them for these choices, triumphs and mistakes.

Euphoria for so many within South African rugby is proportionate to the relative failure of others.

It is as if they can only be successful if another fails.

Resentment ravages redemption and Schadenfreude is the stimulant when it is the sin in our rugby – and society.

905 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1119 » Show All

• 1.Cannon: Reply to this comment

Mark when the kings came about I think alot of people were excited about a new franchise utilising the talent in this area of SA, I think where the resentment has come is the way they have gone about there player selection. Everyone was under the impression that the whole purpose of the kings franchise was to use local talent, which they are not. Defying SARU’s ruling of only have two foriegn players is’nt helping either. Granted the lions have struggled but at least they used there own players to do it.
    Lions supporters were always going to have there noses out of joint just because of the way SARU handled the whole handover.

• 2.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

It’s your great white knight in shining armor in Canberra that started all the divisive garbage. Then you expect everyone to turn the other cheeky and forgive and forget. Everywhere people are looking to create either heroes or villains to either worship or vilify. Just stop with all the ridiculous hero worship and let people be who they are vulnerable insecure frail fallible incomplete mortals projecting their egos to heights they cannot possibly expect to attain.

• 3.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

It’s “schadenfreude” — in Afrikaans skade+vreugde. Literally “damage joy”.

But it’s schaden, not shaden.

• 4.Angostura: Reply to this comment

A timely, positive article, Keo – sadly sure to unleash the coconut shy brigade …

• 5.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah mark… excellent article again…

have long maintained that many south africans interested in rugby are neither lovers or supporters of the game or of any team…

instead of being happy with their team’s success and celebrating joyfully along with their fellow fans… they derive more twisted sneering pleasure from the loss of the teams and players they hate than the positive pleasure they should enjoy with their own team’s success…

just read the ungracious and undignified comments by winners and losers alike after each game… as a nation we seem to be bad losers and even worse winners…

whoever watches rugby for the pitiful pleasure of seeing another team lose instead of hoping for success for their own team has forgotten the point of sport in general and rugby in particular…

I would also suggest few of these haters have ever played a meaningful game of rugby themselves because one of rugby’s finest traditions is sharing a beer with your opponents after the game… not insulting, belittling and trading insults with them…

• 6.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Oh happy clappy day

• 7.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I have no idea how God got dragged into this.

Yes you are right…we do despise Puke Twatson and will continue to do for for one reason and one reason only…his remarks were grossly inappropriate given that the country was more than a decade into the new regime’s control, so why bring up the past like the other dinosaurs that still walk around with chips on their shoulders? He should have instead been reveling in the fact that like the other oppressed youths; he could now enjoy the fruits of the new enforced elite. Perhaps Puke was trying lamely to curry favour with the comrades to show that he has the right struggle credentials? Pathetic. Sheeke’ must be so proud to have passed on his indelible bitterness to his son.

As for Jake White…the only coach in South African history to have fought and beaten the cancerous growth that is SARU and walked away with a gold medal. Typically, with all things associated with the new regime, our brightest and skilled professionals (read Jake White) are being forced out of the country only to become a first world countries gain. To SARU and its nefarious affiliates…FAIL.

Clyde Rattlebones….he sought a better life in a first world country because the new regime could not and still cannot offer him his democratic right to live in safety in his own country. Many like him have followed. Our talented young rugby players are leaving in droves to ply their trade in Europe and Australasia.

The inherent character of South Africans to rejoice in others failures is indeed an issue that I have experienced personally….my successes seem to irritate some. What is more disappointing is that it does indeed transcend colour…which means that as a nation we have achieved zero in the almost twenty years as a fake democracy. People of influence in this country will continue to harp on about the past to deflect away from their present failures. That is the problem right there…leave the past in the past.

• 8.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

is it a deliberate play on words?

why not schadefraud or shadenfraud then?

• 9.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

All first world colonial country seeking affiliates should stop moaning and jump then they can raise their high hopes and revel in the same ultimate joy and unbound vreugde that Clyde and Jokey Jakey have found.

• 10.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Who can explain to me in less than 1000 words why there is so much genuine hatred between Sharks/Bulls fans towards all things Cape Town, Tranny tried to tell me it was good old fashioned rugby banter it runs a lot deeper than that.

• 11.keo: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-3: Apologies and the correct spelling is now in place.

• 12.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jealousy. Simple as.

• 13.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-10:

It’s all in good fun bru. Don’t take this blog so seriously.

• 14.keo: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-10: Isolation created provinces akin to countries and these ‘countries’ still prosper as individual entities with difference despite sitting around a table in the guise of a national governing body.

• 15.keo: Reply to this comment

Bulls v Stormers could easily be Eng v France ito culture, even if there is no war to reference the dislike and distaste for what one represents in relation to the other

• 16.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Tackles to the grammatical spelling rescue once again.

• 17.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I am a proud Shark and always will be. The Last Outpost Of The British Empire.

• 18.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-10:
    well, to start with they are very similar to you lot, a bunch of windgat arrogant poeftas masquerading as brekers who think they are the be all and know all of rugby when the facts show otherwise. the minute a real team takes it to them in contact they cry foul and fix the rules.

of course a saving grace for them is the fact they are no even remotely close to being as dishonest as you lot are at rugby (and boxing) and will not stoop to any and every low for a win.

• 19.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-13:

Sure is good fun.

@keo-14:

So isolation was the kicker, interesting – pre isolation there was plenty of love then.

• 20.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-18:

Good morning Bakkies, you all set for another 18 odd hours of moaning?

• 21.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@keo-14:
    well, long before rugby these WERE seperate countries as far as some provinces go.

• 22.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-19:

Think of it as the former Yugoslavia.

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well, thats not quite true.
    they dont fix the rules as much as they fix the refs, and where they cannot fix the refs they choose to ignore the events which transpire and make believe it never happened.

oh and, i am of course referring to WP.

• 24.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-22:

Ethnic cleansing then.

• 25.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Truth be told…the Bulls own the bragging rights to Super Rugby since 2007.

The rest of us are still trying to play catch up.

The Sharks owe it to the fans to rectify the wrongs of the past. The pressure is more on The Sharks than the Gaylords.

• 26.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:

Stormers my favorite SA team.

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-20:
    i do think though, that most SA’s are united in their disgust and dislike of NZ rugby and the sham that it is, as far as competition is concerned.

• 28.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-24:

I will cease to comment at this stage to avoid offending the hippys and Puke Twatson wannabes..

• 29.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-25:

Correct they don’t have much to brag about 96′ through 2006′ except for a very large wooden spoon collection.

• 30.skunk: Reply to this comment

Keo your words are wasted. really doubt individuals like Dusky and Predawn are capable of seeing things with any sort reason. Its the us vs them mentality that people in our rugby have.

• 31.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-25:
    absolutely, Sharks are their own worst enemies at times.
    its mental and all the pressure’s on themselves to go all the way.

nothing about the Stormers style of rugby is enjoyable, at all, except Eztebeth.

• 32.desorg: Reply to this comment

Agreed that hatred should stop, but so should references to terrorists/freedom fighters and other such divisive language. Remember it is difficult to turn the other cheek in South Africa. Also sad that many South African stars including Watson, Rathbone and White make outrageous comments when they leave South Africa. By all means go and ply your trade elsewhere but do it with dignity like many others who have gone overseas and not complained about the discrimination in the new South Africa.

Mandela is a legend because he showed us what forgiveness is all about.

• 33.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-26:
    hehe Kiwis are very popular in CT, China.

• 34.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27:

It’s called admiration Houston, beautiful free flowing try scoring footy

• 35.skunk: Reply to this comment

desorg

Show me an expat who is not bitter about the country.

• 36.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-28:

Go on spice up the morning a little here on KEO.

• 37.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-34:
    no, its not.

• 38.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i honestly hope you dont actually believe the kaka you speak.

• 39.Baylion: Reply to this comment

From Aussie news:

“THE Western Force is bracing for a hostile reception at the 48,000-seat Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday night.

It will be a big night as the Southern Kings, representing the Xhosa rugby playing tribe of the Eastern Cape, will be making their Super Rugby debut.”

http://www.news.com.au/sport/rugby-gold/western-force-ready-for-hostile-reception-against-newcomer-southern-kings/story-fndpt9s1-1226579457414

the Xhosa rugby playing tribe of the Eastern Cape? LOL

• 40.ufo: Reply to this comment

bakks I would suggest you represent the minority with your claim that south africans hate kiwi rugby…

they’ve always been our fiercest and most respected rivals… and, fact is, in the recent past are quite simply just better than us…

we should do better against them… we should win more games…

but the truth is, it is just such an attitude that inhibits us and prevents us from becoming the world’s consistently best team…

hopefully heyneke rewards form this year and selects the best current players and we start to reverse the widening loss:win ratio between our sides…

I love rugby… I’m a passionate bok & WP supporter… but no ways do I hate the ABs… or sharks or bulls or kings…

• 41.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-37:

Come now Houston when we tore you to shreds during the 2nd half at Soccer City you couldn’t help but marvel at the rugby skills on display.

• 42.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-33:

The Kiwis have to like the Gaylords by default. Half their profits on All Black jerseys are because of the toothless ones.

• 43.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ufo-40:

Morning UFO, the voice of reason, we also admire the power and grunt of SA rugby our fiercest rivals.

• 44.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Ethnic cleansing pretty much nails it on the head if most ardent ware Jakob rugbyiefhebbers could ethically ethnically cleanse the Watson led EP rugby aspiring franchise out of existence they wouldn’t hesitate to exercise their designed desire for maintenance of their false perception of ethnic superiority.

• 45.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-36:

My reputation alone should be enough.

• 46.desorg: Reply to this comment

35.skunk said:
    18 Feb 2013, 07:14 am
    desorg
    Show me an expat who is not bitter about the country.

There are plenty, you may not have met them, but they are there. Most of the people that are not bitter have established better lives outside of South Africa like expats from many other nations

• 47.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-44:

I know you don’t rate Jake the Snake and I’ve never rated him that highly as a coach either as he just lost too many tests while he was Bokke coach but you’d have to admit he’s done some great work at the Brumbies in a very short time.

• 48.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

But it’s not about Luke, Keo.

You say he realises now that he was indoctrinated as a child, that he grew up in a house that was anti-Bok, that it took his exile in England to open his eyes.

Fair enough, I can accept that. I still don’t like him, simply because he comes across as a self righteous a-hole, but I can accept a lot of it was due to his upbringing.

But here’s the kicker. The guy who brought him up that way, the real prime evil who was the very origin of Luke’s warped view on life, is the very guy that is the driving force behind the nefarious, politically driven, falsely promoted King’s idea. He is the real problem, and Little Luke, for all his claims of a Damascus road about turn, is still very much simply the Anakin to this Emperor insidios, Palpatine-like puppeteer.

And the Kings are his stormtroopers.

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ufo-40:
    no Ufo, they were respectable when they had the guts to play us fair and square.
    they havn’t been able to do that in about 15 years now. my theory is the mental scars of being chokers at WC’s pushed them over the competetive edge into desperado do anything territory.

make believe if you wish but nothing about their rugby has been attractive or comendable in the last 10 years.

@NZINCHINA-41:
    have some self respect, China
    you’re best letting 2010 go away and be forgotten.
    most disgusting display of match outcome manipulations if ever i seen any.

• 50.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-45:

Yes you are right.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1119 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.