The sin of Schadenfreude

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes South African rugby should be about hope and not hatred.

In Canberra a South African rugby celebration continues to grow in excess. In Port Elizabeth this Saturday a celebration unrivalled in the unified history of South African rugby should also be about excess.

But individual and team triumph will be torture to a resentful audience. The freedom fighters are apparently the terrorists and Schadenfreude will be the champagne of choice when the Southern Kings play the Western Force in their Super Rugby debut.

The majority of South African rugby supporters have expressed their hatred for the Kings. Hate is the word that has constantly been emphasized, with bloggers delighting in supporting anyone who will be playing against the Kings. There is so much hatred, in especially the perceived failure of Luke Watson, who will captain the Kings this season.

It is a hatred so many white South Africans in the rugby community felt – and feel – towards former SA under 21 captain Clyde Rathbone when he moved to Australia and played for the Wallabies.

This hatred was extended to 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White when he left South Africa last year to coach the Brumbies.

Watson’s crime was to criticize Afrikaners in 2007 and to say they controlled South African rugby. The blasphemy was to say he never grew up in a household that celebrated the Springbok jersey, and it was seen as a symbol of oppression. He told a group in informal discussion he loved the idea of playing for his country, but the Springbok jersey, in its traditional guise, was something he could vomit on given the historical association it held from his up bringing.

He was subsequently trialed, condemned, convicted and sentenced within sectors of South African media and society, as the sinner without a soul.

These same individuals also prayed to God for their own redemption for being vulnerable to daily mistakes in life choices. These same people are oblivious to the contradiction and hypocrisy.

Watson has publicly apologized to Afrikaners for his words. He has said he would have articulated his thoughts differently had he been more mature. He has said he wants to be a part of all that is good about rugby and South Africa. He said he was used as a political pawn and his move to England, where he captained Bath for two seasons, made him realize just how much he was used by politicians and how he allowed himself to be used.

He has said that in hindsight he would have done so many things differently. He has said sorry.

Watson has spoken of the privilege and responsibility to live in South Africa and to be leading the pioneers of Kings rugby.

The young Watson, schooled to oppose the Springbok jersey, is very different to the Watson of today who makes his own choices and wants to make a contribution to the life South African rugby and South African society as it is, and not to helping end what once was.

Apparently youngsters can’t make mistakes, can’t admit to them and can’t expect any forgiveness if they happen to be Luke Watson. They can only expect continued hatred from those whose joy is defined by another’s perceived failure.

In a unified South African rugby community, the division has never been stronger. How sad for those unwilling to forgive and incapable of celebrating change, be it in a view or in an action.

How sad for our rugby that so many have voiced their pleasure at the prospect of foreign team stuffing up the Kings. What betrayal to a young group of South African rugby players.

Port Elizabeth, this weekend is the greatest story in South African rugby’s youthful unity, but when the parents (SARU) can’t celebrate the first steps of the child they bought into this world, it can’t be expected of the haters not to indulge in Schadenfreude.

Clyde Rathbone’s comeback from injury, depression and a dark place in his life is a celebration, as is White’s wonderful influence as coach of the Brumbies.

They are South Africans, as is Watson and the Kings, but those unaffected by their respective choices, triumphs and mistakes, detest them for these choices, triumphs and mistakes.

Euphoria for so many within South African rugby is proportionate to the relative failure of others.

It is as if they can only be successful if another fails.

Resentment ravages redemption and Schadenfreude is the stimulant when it is the sin in our rugby – and society.

905 Comments

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 » Show All

• 651.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@RL-646:

> our resident 51 year old, boy loving, toothless ouma

Who?

• 652.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 649 dillinger…
    Madibaz on the receiving end of a dodgy call or 2…pleasantly surprised that they have been able to keep up with Maties for so long though.

• 653.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-647: who threw Kev on the head with a bottle :lol:

• 654.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-653: SomedrunkanddisorderlyfuckingfitterandturnerfromsomeheavenforsakenfuckingdumpinPretoria.

• 655.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-649: They’ve received more than a few dodgy calls…. don’t think anyone will deny that.

• 656.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-651: Ask him again. I am also curious. It can’t be me, as he thinks I’m a she-male……….

• 657.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-647:
    big big difference, Pedigree

the Bulls as a team and as the coach and management apologised unreservedly to Kevin ‘headbutting shoulder blade breaking’ Mealamu as well as the Blues union in person, verbally, live on air and in writing.

furthermore that gemors and the heks who came with him were ejected from the stadium and banned too. a case of assault was opened against the bottle head and the Bulls implored the police and justice system to let the law run its course.

those filthy Auckland bottle throwers on the other hamd enjoyed the fortune of a tacit and well orchestrated skillfully quiet cover up by the NZRU, Blues Rugby Uion, Eden Park Stadium Management and coaches, player, management.

however much they try to hoodwink innocents like you, their bevaviour is noted.

additionally, the dirty hits they carried out in that Bulls-Blues game were not forgotten.

• 658.RL: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-651: it will dawn on you … one day :razz:

• 659.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

in short

you backed the wrong blue

this time

baby doll

get ready to touch the void

• 660.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@RL-658:

Toothless you say?

How do you know, has she “gummed” you a bit?

• 661.RL: Reply to this comment

Eeeeeewwww!

• 662.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-659:
    well, i’m pretty sure you will touch the void
    but one can never be too sure these days
    boy, i really wish Pierre would HTFU and run straight

• 663.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-657: :) “you backed the wrong blue

this time

baby doll

get ready to touch the void”

I don’t touch anything unless I’m well in the mood…. :)

Side note: Are the Blues your most hated Kiwi specimens Bakkies? :)

• 664.S_K: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-657: heks? Is that now the way to degrade people from Danville? You should be ashamed of yourself,you privileged little confuse boy! :D

• 665.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-658: So Dawn is the object of your attempt at pub humour? Is it because she finds you about as desirable as Bert le Clos in a Speedo?

And of course having met her so many times….you know exactly what she looks like etc?

In your dreams guppiemanwhore….in your dreams.

• 666.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-662:

> boy, i really wish Pierre would HTFU

We’ve been waiting for him to “fulfull his potential” for how many seasons now?

He’ll probably HTFU right after Skop ate a steak at the Spur and Keo cut all ties with Puke and Daddy

• 667.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-665: jealous latley?

• 668.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-667: I highlight the structural weaknesses in your ‘joke’, and you call me jealous…..

Okey dokey then.

Guppies……………..(and guppiemanwhores)

• 669.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

And there that name pops up again.

A certain Bulls scrumhalf that plays on the wing.

• 670.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-662:

Wat dink jy van ons kanse Vrydag nou dat Hougie onttrek het?

Gaan dit nie die span baie ontwrig nie?

• 671.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-669:

That youngster from the Cape?

• 672.Dusky: Reply to this comment

GO FORCE ! First time in my life I will support an Australian team.

• 673.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-669: Seen enough of his name to last a lifetime in the last few days…..

• 674.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-663:
    in this case its a grudge match, Pedi.
    i hope the Bulls send them straight to hell.

but i probably dislike the Crusaders more, although, considering they’ve been our bunnies rather often i have come to like them a little bit, especially after a loss. the look on Reechee;’s face… priceless .. :)

Crusaders, Blues, Chiefs in no particular order.

@S_K-664:
    hello, Capo

you’ve been gutter trash again, why?
    honestly, i dont understand the things you said to Dawn and again you’re on Gunther about little boys and old men.

you need to be a better person, please.

@victoriabok-666:
    this is it for me, Vic
    its the last chance saloon as far as i’m concerned.
    if he doesn’t set a marker at the beginning of the season i honestly he gets dropped.

• 675.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-670: Sou die span dalk meet ontwrig het as hy gespeel het. Mens weet nie wat die outjie deurmaak op die oomblik, en waat sy kop is (veral na van die beweringe wat nou rondgegooi word ens…..)

Ek dink dit was dalk ‘n wyse besluit, vir hom definitief asook die span?

• 676.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Could it be that the 9 sent an sms at the wrong time?

Could it be that the sms was intercepted although perhaps not intentionally? Maybe the interception came about because of the time of sending it – very late.

Or was the content perhaps the problem?Could it have sparked a chain of events?

Well I certainly hope it’s not but at this stage you cannot rule anything out.

Fast cars,guns, fame, chicks, too much money, charm => all the ingredients for chaos

• 677.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

You got to love the fools in here that think they know everyone, and of course throwing insults at someone that does not even come into the site.
    Typically they like with their team is wrong, but of course in their own shallow way they will still try and act all cool and smart whilst acting like 2 year old school girl.

I however am not surprised and i also have to laugh at those thinking not only is it me but that i am angry or going to throw a tantrum? Lawdy me but you people should get a life down in Cape Town.

Scrolling back even a Nikita woman trashed me and spoke about how I dissed her? :lol: :lol: :lol: The poor girl must be in dire need fopr attention thus her rants to someone she does not even know or who never said 1 word to her.

Actually for the smart kids in here, why not get Keo to check my IP and tell you where i live in SA, and then ask those that know SL or As I also go to Rugby_talk and know him from there ask him where he lives?

Me thinks some fools in for a big surprise. But hey whatever floats your little boats? row away~~~~

• 678.David: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-672:
    Who cares?

• 679.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-625: for being an arse, poppa is going to roast you :D

mobile.news.com.au/world/banned-steroids-reportedly-found-in-oscar-pistorius-home-after-death-of-reeva-steenkamp/story-fndir2ev-1226580656875

• 680.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Quite the coincidence that pretty much 90% of the toothless hags who call themselves Sharkishits supporters are at the forefront of the hate directed at kings and the Watson’s.

All it shows actually is that bunch of last bastion two face lowlife scum are the derelict garbage that are holding this country back from progress

• 681.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-674: your soapbox getting smaller?

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/02/18/oscar-pistorius-shooting-banned-steroids-found-olympian-death-reeva-steenkamp_n_2709279.html

• 682.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-671: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-673:

Bear with me. I did not have an opportunity to share my thoughts.

1stly – words cannot the extent of the tragedy; it is diabolic in its nature to the core

One’s heart goes out to all the affected parties, all of them

But now our collective psyche needs closure. And that’s where we can expect a few snags.

The chronological flow of events is known to some, but will now be presented in a favourable way for the accused. The problem is: you cannot replace someone’s life. And for that reason we need to get the facts and the truth.

We have become psychological punching bags with one horror event upon another; you’ve hardly had a chance to come to terms with one and another story breaks!

• 683.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-677: Sharks_Lover……Sharks_Forever…Sharks_are_gonna_get_you…….

You used to be in CT, but have since been forcibly removed from the Cape of Good Hope, and now reside in Pretoria? Durban? Commute?

Who cares…. you are unique and as such, easyasfucktoidentify.

• 684.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-681: The UK papers had this 24 hours ago already…They are paying the cops here more for info it seems…… Much more.

In fact, I have actually followed this case using the English print media for info and updates. Telegraph, Guardian etc.

• 685.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David-678: You ? You responded….just saying….

• 686.Dusky: Reply to this comment

It would be delightful if the Kings get ripped first game up against the lowly Western Force. Not impossible. Even the weakest team in the Super 15 has a 30 to 40 point superiority vs the Kings.

• 687.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-677: Oh and just to add to my 1st post…

Read this sentenceveryfuckingcarefully, yes I know you wrote it….butreaditagain, and then tell me how it is I am 100% sure it is YOU? (In fact, it is YOU who is telling me, it is YOU)

“I however am not surprised and i also have to laugh at those thinking not only is it me but that i am angry or going to throw a tantrum?”

Ok, read it again? Good. Now go back to the bit where you write, “I also have to laugh at those thinking not only is it ME…….” Ummmmm, you are saying it is you dumfuck…

If you were someone else, you would have said, “I also have to laugh at those thinking not only I am Sharks_lover…..”

The tribehasfuckingspoken……

• 688.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-670:
    dis mooilik om te se, Vic
    ek sal dink dit sal, veral miskien so ver as hulle hom sou nodig gehad het maar wie weet.
    Hougaard het glo verlede week al klaar uit n spel ontrek en dit word gese die rede gaan oor die skietery voorval.

vir my is die hele storie net tragies al is hy hiermee betrokke of nie.

• 689.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-675: dog food I would like to help you. I know what you are going through – I know the pain in your heart you have because of the guppy – I know the anger you feel towards the guppy – I know the comtempt you have for the black and white because I was in that same dark place you are in … Although I did not have guppy in my nic.

I was like you. You could say that I spawned you, the fruit of my nuts. You are my wannabee and I can heal you. So let me heal you so that one day you can let go of this guppy hate once and for all.

It is late know and we will need a few sessions to address all the issues – what do you say. If I could change then so can you.

:razz:

• 690.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-679:
    @Transformation-681:
    oh dear lord, can this story get any worse.
    this has genuinely hit me for a six.
    i dont know what to say, i’m speechless.

shocked… really shocked…

• 691.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-657:
    Good morning Houston, how have you been? Yes, like you I’m looking forward to the Blues giving the Bulls a lesson in crowd behaviour after last years hideous assault on our upstanding captain by that heathen Pretorian geriatric.That will never be forgotten,, the way the little looney in Bulls regalia, crazed and demented, came at our Kevvie, disgusting stuff, plastic can cause serious injury you know . Now I wish Kevvie had performed the double suplex on the pensioner, Bod stylez with a sly headbutt to remember the game by…Seriously though Houston….all the best to your team for 2013….and always take time to remember that famous fable.. The Boy who cried Bulls.

• 692.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this has come as a complete surprise and shock to me but in hindsight it explains so much of what has transpired.

why? why?

• 693.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

what is happening to us?

• 694.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-687: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA ” Ok, read it again? Good. Now go back to
    the bit where you write, “I also have to
    laugh at those thinking not only is it
    ME…….” Ummmmm, you are saying it is you
    dumfuck…” :mrgreen:

yoh, i haven’t laughed this much in a while rotflmao

• 695.S_K: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-677: get a life Sharkslover !you are supposedly new on here ,in your own words,two weeks,but you know who capo is. :D . Capo is bringing all your so-called newbies down as you can’t resist having a dig at him. :D . Stop your kuk now and move on and start congratulating WP for beating you varkies in the CC final. :D

• 696.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 683 pedigree

Bwahahaha…nailed

• 697.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 694

I also laughed out loud….thats just kak funny.

• 698.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

One big fckup you likely to find 90% bulls players also shooting it up on roids they were all thick as thieves together living this delusional high profile life fast cars fast guns money for nothing and chicks for free. Its bound to all come cascading down in an avalanche of soul searching disaster when the facade of all this
    bullish bravado gets torn away

• 699.S_K: Reply to this comment

The clown uses the phrase ‘the sharks are gonna get you’ .on rt he is talking about the same kid that apparently text him with that sick oompie message. :D

• 700.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-691:
    hi TR,
    i appreciate the trash talk and as much as i do wish for the Bulls to beat the Blues badly, i am unfortunately a little off balance right now. i’m sorry i cant respond better at this moment.

there has been a new development in the Oscar murder case and its too much for me to take at this time.

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.