The sin of Schadenfreude
18 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes South African rugby should be about hope and not hatred.
In Canberra a South African rugby celebration continues to grow in excess. In Port Elizabeth this Saturday a celebration unrivalled in the unified history of South African rugby should also be about excess.
But individual and team triumph will be torture to a resentful audience. The freedom fighters are apparently the terrorists and Schadenfreude will be the champagne of choice when the Southern Kings play the Western Force in their Super Rugby debut.
The majority of South African rugby supporters have expressed their hatred for the Kings. Hate is the word that has constantly been emphasized, with bloggers delighting in supporting anyone who will be playing against the Kings. There is so much hatred, in especially the perceived failure of Luke Watson, who will captain the Kings this season.
It is a hatred so many white South Africans in the rugby community felt – and feel – towards former SA under 21 captain Clyde Rathbone when he moved to Australia and played for the Wallabies.
This hatred was extended to 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White when he left South Africa last year to coach the Brumbies.
Watson’s crime was to criticize Afrikaners in 2007 and to say they controlled South African rugby. The blasphemy was to say he never grew up in a household that celebrated the Springbok jersey, and it was seen as a symbol of oppression. He told a group in informal discussion he loved the idea of playing for his country, but the Springbok jersey, in its traditional guise, was something he could vomit on given the historical association it held from his up bringing.
He was subsequently trialed, condemned, convicted and sentenced within sectors of South African media and society, as the sinner without a soul.
These same individuals also prayed to God for their own redemption for being vulnerable to daily mistakes in life choices. These same people are oblivious to the contradiction and hypocrisy.
Watson has publicly apologized to Afrikaners for his words. He has said he would have articulated his thoughts differently had he been more mature. He has said he wants to be a part of all that is good about rugby and South Africa. He said he was used as a political pawn and his move to England, where he captained Bath for two seasons, made him realize just how much he was used by politicians and how he allowed himself to be used.
He has said that in hindsight he would have done so many things differently. He has said sorry.
Watson has spoken of the privilege and responsibility to live in South Africa and to be leading the pioneers of Kings rugby.
The young Watson, schooled to oppose the Springbok jersey, is very different to the Watson of today who makes his own choices and wants to make a contribution to the life South African rugby and South African society as it is, and not to helping end what once was.
Apparently youngsters can’t make mistakes, can’t admit to them and can’t expect any forgiveness if they happen to be Luke Watson. They can only expect continued hatred from those whose joy is defined by another’s perceived failure.
In a unified South African rugby community, the division has never been stronger. How sad for those unwilling to forgive and incapable of celebrating change, be it in a view or in an action.
How sad for our rugby that so many have voiced their pleasure at the prospect of foreign team stuffing up the Kings. What betrayal to a young group of South African rugby players.
Port Elizabeth, this weekend is the greatest story in South African rugby’s youthful unity, but when the parents (SARU) can’t celebrate the first steps of the child they bought into this world, it can’t be expected of the haters not to indulge in Schadenfreude.
Clyde Rathbone’s comeback from injury, depression and a dark place in his life is a celebration, as is White’s wonderful influence as coach of the Brumbies.
They are South Africans, as is Watson and the Kings, but those unaffected by their respective choices, triumphs and mistakes, detest them for these choices, triumphs and mistakes.
Euphoria for so many within South African rugby is proportionate to the relative failure of others.
It is as if they can only be successful if another fails.
Resentment ravages redemption and Schadenfreude is the stimulant when it is the sin in our rugby – and society.

905 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All
19 Feb 2013, 00:12 am
@nortierd-840:
> Rolling in the hay more like it
Net as sy droog is
Of oud soos Hougie hulle like
19 Feb 2013, 00:15 am
@nortierd-838:
I managed to pick my side on the fanatasy league
What to you think of my team?
I just HAD to pick the Hore
o Sias Ebersohn
o Jan Serfontein
o Andrew Hore
o Israel Dagg
o Will Genia
o Bjorn Basson
o Jesse Mogg
o Scott Higginbotham
o Cobus Reinach
o Steven Kitshoff
o Conrad Smith
o Hugh Pyle
o Coenie Oosthuizen
o Eben Etzebeth
o Rynhardt Elstadt
o Tony Woodcock
o David Pocock
o Kieran Read
o Zac Guildford
o James O’Connor
o Pieter-Steph du Toit
o Morne Steyn
Captain for this round is Bjorn Basson.
Vice captain for this round is Zac Guildford.
Kicker for this round is Morne Steyn.
19 Feb 2013, 00:15 am
@victoriabok-850:
I doubt he is involved.
With so many newspapers vying for a scoop on the same story, most of what is published is ****.
19 Feb 2013, 00:18 am
@victoriabok-852:
the hore is great hooker (doesnt sound quite right), kiwis had mealamu and hore, which were out of this world good, we got bismark and fourie and they dont want to pick fourie. foure is a splititng image of hore. gritty ballwinner and tough as nails marauder. the powers that be actually got rocks in the head. steven moore was actually brilliant too – SH hookers way out in front imo.
19 Feb 2013, 00:20 am
@victoriabok-852:
You think Basson is going to score so many tries?
Carter would always be my 1st choice kicker and fly half, but Steyn can bring in points if he is the player of old, and if the Bulls win more than they lose.
Too many Sharks players for my liking though
19 Feb 2013, 00:23 am
@victoriabok-852: is Guilford even playing? thought he had off field problems and as such was stood down?
19 Feb 2013, 00:25 am
@nortierd-855:
Basson was one of the top scorers last year
Morne seldom gets injured and will score some points in every game
You’re only allowed three of each team
I picked Reinach over Hougie as I’m sure he’s got a bright future
19 Feb 2013, 00:26 am
@the curse-856:
Etzebeth also out for a couple of weeks, but with a long season and so little transfers, good squad to have.
19 Feb 2013, 00:27 am
@cab-854:
Coenie, Hore and Kitshoff for a front row looks impressive with Woodcock for backup
19 Feb 2013, 00:27 am
@the curse-841:
Hey Poppa! Just have time, for now , to give you these more or less up to date figures for murder in S.A. (amongst other these numbers and per centages emanate from SAIRR )
On the last year 15000 murders occurred in S.A. Of that number of 15000, 2500 were females. Up to 80% of that 15000, guns were involved and in 50% (of that 15000) alcohol played a role.
Now if you think that that figure of 15000/yr is bad consider that that is a figure that has dropped by 54% since the mid- to late 1990s.
In that period up to 32600 murders/yr. were effected.
I will address any of your questions a little later as time is not available now to so do.
Also drug use in the case of Os Pisto-(l)-rius has been suspected many days before his cowardly deed.
19 Feb 2013, 00:28 am
@victoriabok-857:
One Shark, is one to many.
19 Feb 2013, 00:29 am
@ET.-860:
“On” should read ” In the last year … “
19 Feb 2013, 00:30 am
@the curse-856:
He’s still on the team roster, I’ll have a look if he’s playing
Still a brilliant player
With Dagg, Conrad Smith and O’Connor this team should be able to score a couple of tries
19 Feb 2013, 00:31 am
Rugby schools on S.A. currently WP are out front that why Bulls and Sharks scouts come nose their ways around Paarl for new recruitment every year.
EP and FS are next with Natal Pta and Jhb / Krugersdorp / E. Rand filling in the numbers.
19 Feb 2013, 00:32 am
@nortierd-858: ok, just thought that Guilford wasnt playing the season or has this changed?
@ET.-860: not interested in those stats boet, I only ever use them when others seem to post NZ crime figures as some sort of one upmanship.. though many think I delight in those stats, when nothing could be further from the truth… one murder anywhere is one too many.. I do take that as proof though that this fat maori kings cross security guard has got under their skin
19 Feb 2013, 00:34 am
@victoriabok-863: ok, thought the saders had let him go and havent kept up with the story..
I do like the make up of your squad, but would have had Perenara instead of Sias, but I presume you can only have so many from each country?
19 Feb 2013, 00:35 am
@the curse-865:
Isn’t he going to Japan after the S15?
19 Feb 2013, 00:36 am
@nortierd-867: honestly dont know boet? as a blues fan Im not too keen on the Saders
@nortierd-867:
Sorry, think Maitland is going to Japan, zack is the going to rehab isn’t he?
Once EP get on the map that wellspring of potential will burst it’s banks and S.A. rugby will go places it never been before. That is what Watson and Solomon’s are aiming for except the closed minded privilege white set of support who still believe rugby should remain a privilege white sport are adamant they don’t want to see EP rugby get off the ground.
@nortierd-869: Maitlands in Scotland, think he has made their 6 nations squad..
19 Feb 2013, 00:38 am
Crusaders wing Zac Guildford has withdrawn indefinitely from the Crusaders for the 2013 super rugby season, following another incident involving alcohol.
from an article posted 26/1/13
19 Feb 2013, 00:39 am
@the curse-871:
@the curse-872:
Thanks
19 Feb 2013, 00:40 am
this from tank lennings website
Reports out of New Zealand suggest that perennial booze offender Zac Guildford could be set for a return to the Crusaders sometime this Super Rugby season.
According to The New Zealand Herald, assistant coach Aaron Mauger has told a local radio station that they’re hoping Guildford, who’s on indefinite leave following another alcohol-related incident, can get through the next few weeks and potentially make a return.
so might be back, but without knowing for certain do you want to keep him in your fantasy squad?
19 Feb 2013, 00:43 am
@nortierd-873: Maitlands grandparents emigrated to NZ in 64… hence he qualifies with this draconian rule..
19 Feb 2013, 00:44 am
@the curse-874:
I wouldn’t.
Anyway, I’m out, have a good day further, 4 more to go till kick off
19 Feb 2013, 00:44 am
@the curse-875:
Scotland’s gain.
Good player
19 Feb 2013, 00:47 am
@the curse-866:
Yes and you’ve got a budget so you can’t just buy all the best players
It’s the first time I’m playing so I’m still learning
19 Feb 2013, 00:48 am
@the curse-874:
No, I’ll look for a replacement
Any suggestions?
Preferrably a Kiwi wing or fullback?
19 Feb 2013, 00:51 am
Nortie. cheers boet
Victoriabok – have never played myself so don’t know all the rules. perhaps Savea, Taylor (canes) or a chiefs winger may be good, though I expect the first two I’ve mentioned may be a bit pricey
19 Feb 2013, 00:55 am
there are also big wraps on Piutau from the Blues. also Halai (7s player) could be a cheap option as a winger.
19 Feb 2013, 00:58 am
@the curse-880:
Thanks I took Savea
Now I’m looking for a lock to replace Etsebeth while he’s injured, any suggestions?
19 Feb 2013, 01:01 am
Dusky, Bobo is another born and bred Capie. You’re embarrassing yourself now. Stop before you look even more stupid. Laugh-out-farking-loud!
19 Feb 2013, 01:03 am
Skop, leave Dusky alone. Poor Sharkvarkie clutching at straws already.
19 Feb 2013, 01:03 am
@victoriabok-882: from any country or NZ specifically? if from NZ, as an outside bet I would select Boric, but other than that I would think Thorn wont let you down… though again price would dictate, remember Boric has been out for a while with injury, but was starting to look the goods before it, so if he can regain that form then a good option imo… and will get a lot of work with a Blues pack that I dont have a lot of faith in..
19 Feb 2013, 01:05 am
@the curse-885: also, the Chiefs captain from last year Clarke… I thought he deserved a call up to the ABs on his form last season, was one of the chiefs best all year imho
19 Feb 2013, 01:27 am
jason Eaton another cheap option also..
19 Feb 2013, 01:36 am
@W.P-883: Actually Bobo was born in King William’s Town, EP.
Embarrassing for you bro.
19 Feb 2013, 02:44 am
@victoriabok-852: I’m not sure how fantasy rugby works, if you can change players week to week but I thought Genia was still injured, Zac as everyone mentioned is in rehab but i suspect he’ll be back after a month, I thought Higgenbotham was cited for punching, not sure how long the ban will be. Someone mentioned Carter but he picked up an injury, not sure if he’ll be back after the bye or not.
Hang on, you’ve made a mistake, you forgot to put at least five Blues players in your team. Please, have some confidence in us
Piutau could be an interesting dark horse for top try scorer during the regular season
19 Feb 2013, 05:15 am
@ShaunB-888: Stupid supporter of a team full of Joburg mercenaries. Taute and Jantjes might only be on loan but watch these poachers do their best to keep them there.
Schalk Burger was born EP too so I guess if the measure is birth, that puts a whole new spin on things. By birth, probably even more mercernaries in the mountain moffie team.
19 Feb 2013, 05:22 am
@W.P-884: You’re a dumb f$@k. I feel sorry for you.
19 Feb 2013, 05:24 am
@@whistle@blower@-789:
See the two columns part is the problem.
SA does not cheat nor break the rules…..only NZ teams that beat Bakkies teams. IF we lose its ok we didnt cheat.
19 Feb 2013, 06:04 am
@ ShaunB. I attended school with Gcobani from primary school. We played rugby together. I was in the team when he was banned as a schoolboy. Dreads and dagga nearly messed up his career.
@ Dusky you’re just plain stupid. Won’t even debate with you. Google is your friend if you need help. Farking inbred.
19 Feb 2013, 06:11 am
So being born in EC but moving to WP as a pup, attending school from the get go at Paarl Gym, makes Schalk a mercenary? Next……………
19 Feb 2013, 06:22 am
Dusky, by the same token what does that make Butch James? A Lion? Hahahahahahahaha.
19 Feb 2013, 09:37 am
Oh, come on KEO.
I rarely read anything about people hating the Kings. Heck, even Watson’s stupid statements… the only people who really kept that incidents alive was you, the journalists.
People hated how the Kings saga was handled, but most people would love to see a strong EC team. Watson’s problem was the fact that they misused the media to propagandize themselves into high positions. Once again, especially Keo and SA Rugby mag were the main culprits in this issue. In the modern world the public is quick to pick up on this type of ****. His statements and the results was just a backlash from the hype.
In other words, you, Mr Mark, and your colleagues, are largely to blame for the supposed resentment towards the Kings and the Watsons.
We all know the Kings will fail… it is to be expected, but your reporting over the past decade has cast the shadow over the Eastern Cape. Not the fans.
19 Feb 2013, 09:59 am
@Bouts-896:
You should read some of the comments on News24 whenever the Kings is mentioned.
19 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
@David-897:
I don’t think you should use news 24 as evidence of anything other than total insanity.
it’s packed with nutjobs across the political spectrum.
19 Feb 2013, 10:20 am
@Bouts-896: excellent post
19 Feb 2013, 10:21 am
@ryecatcher-899:
Howzit.
Settled into your new digs?
Bar up and running?
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All