The sin of Schadenfreude
18 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes South African rugby should be about hope and not hatred.
In Canberra a South African rugby celebration continues to grow in excess. In Port Elizabeth this Saturday a celebration unrivalled in the unified history of South African rugby should also be about excess.
But individual and team triumph will be torture to a resentful audience. The freedom fighters are apparently the terrorists and Schadenfreude will be the champagne of choice when the Southern Kings play the Western Force in their Super Rugby debut.
The majority of South African rugby supporters have expressed their hatred for the Kings. Hate is the word that has constantly been emphasized, with bloggers delighting in supporting anyone who will be playing against the Kings. There is so much hatred, in especially the perceived failure of Luke Watson, who will captain the Kings this season.
It is a hatred so many white South Africans in the rugby community felt – and feel – towards former SA under 21 captain Clyde Rathbone when he moved to Australia and played for the Wallabies.
This hatred was extended to 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White when he left South Africa last year to coach the Brumbies.
Watson’s crime was to criticize Afrikaners in 2007 and to say they controlled South African rugby. The blasphemy was to say he never grew up in a household that celebrated the Springbok jersey, and it was seen as a symbol of oppression. He told a group in informal discussion he loved the idea of playing for his country, but the Springbok jersey, in its traditional guise, was something he could vomit on given the historical association it held from his up bringing.
He was subsequently trialed, condemned, convicted and sentenced within sectors of South African media and society, as the sinner without a soul.
These same individuals also prayed to God for their own redemption for being vulnerable to daily mistakes in life choices. These same people are oblivious to the contradiction and hypocrisy.
Watson has publicly apologized to Afrikaners for his words. He has said he would have articulated his thoughts differently had he been more mature. He has said he wants to be a part of all that is good about rugby and South Africa. He said he was used as a political pawn and his move to England, where he captained Bath for two seasons, made him realize just how much he was used by politicians and how he allowed himself to be used.
He has said that in hindsight he would have done so many things differently. He has said sorry.
Watson has spoken of the privilege and responsibility to live in South Africa and to be leading the pioneers of Kings rugby.
The young Watson, schooled to oppose the Springbok jersey, is very different to the Watson of today who makes his own choices and wants to make a contribution to the life South African rugby and South African society as it is, and not to helping end what once was.
Apparently youngsters can’t make mistakes, can’t admit to them and can’t expect any forgiveness if they happen to be Luke Watson. They can only expect continued hatred from those whose joy is defined by another’s perceived failure.
In a unified South African rugby community, the division has never been stronger. How sad for those unwilling to forgive and incapable of celebrating change, be it in a view or in an action.
How sad for our rugby that so many have voiced their pleasure at the prospect of foreign team stuffing up the Kings. What betrayal to a young group of South African rugby players.
Port Elizabeth, this weekend is the greatest story in South African rugby’s youthful unity, but when the parents (SARU) can’t celebrate the first steps of the child they bought into this world, it can’t be expected of the haters not to indulge in Schadenfreude.
Clyde Rathbone’s comeback from injury, depression and a dark place in his life is a celebration, as is White’s wonderful influence as coach of the Brumbies.
They are South Africans, as is Watson and the Kings, but those unaffected by their respective choices, triumphs and mistakes, detest them for these choices, triumphs and mistakes.
Euphoria for so many within South African rugby is proportionate to the relative failure of others.
It is as if they can only be successful if another fails.
Resentment ravages redemption and Schadenfreude is the stimulant when it is the sin in our rugby – and society.

905 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All
18 Feb 2013, 15:00 pm
Bissy and Alberts are going to be missed .
18 Feb 2013, 15:01 pm
@RL-397: They also forget why the Sharks did not want to be linked to them as the EC any longer.
Not only were the stadiums empty when the Coastal Sharks played in EL or PE but the few supporters there were supporting the kiwi team “a-la-capecrusaders”
Disgraceful to say the least.
18 Feb 2013, 15:03 pm
Cape Town – Stormers captain Schalk Burger has been ruled out of his team’s opening Super Rugby clash against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Friday.
Kick-off is at 19:10.
As a result, centre Jean de Villiers will skipper the defending SA Conference winners, the Stormers’ management has confirmed.
The Stormers team will be named later on Monday, with the Bulls’ side due to be confirmed on Tuesday
18 Feb 2013, 15:03 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-402: why did they steal the sharks colours?
18 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
@grant10-401: Deysel has been very good in the 2 matches so far Grant and he also ended last season very strongly, i feel he will cover for Alberts, no problem.
Bissy is the loss most felt. I know Burden might start? but in the warm up games i felt Cooper was more impressive.
18 Feb 2013, 15:06 pm
@RL-404: Eish who knows RL you know they have no idea, so it is easy to steal from a succesful union
18 Feb 2013, 15:14 pm
hehehe fatfcuk is back
how much do you weigh now? 105kg?
in your dreams tl tl tl
18 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-399: Bismarck and Chadwick we can live without… Burden, Cooper and the Hadebe will fill in adequately for the battleship and Beast will be a force of nature…
Alberts and Daniel no problem… We got more loosies than we know what to do with… Have you seen that Kleinhans character – a beast. And Mthembu not bad.
Whitehead and Butch not a problem at all with Jordaan and Bossie more than adequate…
Sad about Hoffman… I really rated him, but also with McLeod and Reinach, we are okay…
18 Feb 2013, 15:17 pm
I don’t hate the Kings, nor EP for that matter. I hate Cheeky and Luke Watson with everything I have. For this reason and this reason alone I want to see them fail.
@Transformation-407: Who you talking to, Mega….
Rossi?
Yoh… Ntombi wakho zoshaya…
The DHL Stormers team to take on the Bulls is as follows:
15. Jaco Taute
14. Gio Aplon
13. Jean de Villiers (captain)
12. Damian de Allende
11. Bryan Habana
10. Elton Jantjies
9. Nic Groom
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Rynhardt Elstadt
6. Siya Kolisi
5. Andries Bekker
4. De Kock Steenkamp
3. Pat Cilliers
2. Deon Fourie
1. Steven Kitshoff
Reserves:
16. Martin Bezuidenhout
17. Frans Malherbe
18. Don Armand
19. Nizaam Carr
20. Dewaldt Duvenage
21. Gerhard van den Heever
22. Joe Pietersen
18 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
@grant10-411: Bull are gonna fckthemup something chronic at Loftus…
Cant wait…
18 Feb 2013, 15:19 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-379: On the subject of jersies….
“Speaking of sponsors and whatnot. Can some lone shed some light on why the sharks replica jerseys are ot such poor quality compared to the other teams? Why on ours is the sponsors and s15 logos plakked on when its integrated in other teams jersey fabric? And then they charge as much…
Rant over”
wow…..
9 and 10 equals a more ball in hands approach for Stormers…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-413: That’s Mr Price for you I guess…..
Everyone else rocks Adidas and Canterbury……
18 Feb 2013, 15:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-413:
Not to mention tight around the collar, causing severe choking
18 Feb 2013, 15:22 pm
@Heavens Game-412: It’s a Bulls home game. They should win yes? Home games are must wins are they not? Drop home games and yourshytegetsreal with a BOOM?
Dinkumseriousquestion.
Funny that the “howwid” Mr Price Sharks Jersey with integrated dynamite is the most sold jersey out of all Super Rugby teams…
Oh dear…
@Heavens Game-412: Bulls will fark it up in the selection room…
@Transformation-407:
@Heavens Game-410:
drums for bums Rossi is back – I never knew. Soon we will be seeing impromptu haka’s all over blog world.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-417: Defeatist little Brokeback…
As you were
18 Feb 2013, 15:23 pm
@grant10-414: Good team,
18 Feb 2013, 15:24 pm
@Heavens Game-410: there’s only one double-chinned fatfcuk here
18 Feb 2013, 15:25 pm
@nortierd-416: Monsieur Price is a ‘one size fits all mom and pop’ jeanpantstore……
Tight collars with possible choking hazards are printed rather clearly on the ‘Care label’ inside said collar.
At 49.95 a truitjie, I dunno wtf else these guppie fans expect?
Not exactly top drawer shy t e they peddling.
18 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
@RL-420: Hehehehe
18 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
@Transformation-400: Hahaha, just yanking your chain bud.
I for one will support the Kings this year, don’t you worry.
18 Feb 2013, 15:28 pm
@Transformation-423: isdudla…. One Fatty boom boom Mega….
Wena?
18 Feb 2013, 15:30 pm
@grant10-419: They can afford to I reckon, especially if Stormers come out blazing not wanting to score tries like the whole of last year…
Lightning wont strike twice at Loftus…
18 Feb 2013, 15:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-424:

Good for polishing those bling bling rims usually associated with the wheels of choice for the Guppies
18 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
22 Feb Rebels vs Brumbies Melbourne - Brumbies by 15
22 Feb Bulls vs Stormers - Bullies by 6
23 Feb Hurricanes vs Blues - Hurricanes by 7
23 Feb Reds vs Waratahs - Reds by 3
23 Feb Cheetahs vs Sharks - Guppies by 11
23 Feb Kings vs Force - Force by 30+
18 Feb 2013, 15:32 pm
@Heavens Game-421: I’m being Mr Price truitjie serious.
The top teams (contenders) need to win their home games.
Yes or no?
If the Bulls or guppies entertain any ideas of conference glory
they will need to put the Stormers away at home….otherwise it’s almost an 8 point turnaround. Simple.
18 Feb 2013, 15:33 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-415: we rock Puma…quality brand
aren’t guppy jerseys made by Reebok?
@grant10-411:
Still one reserve short.
Isn’t it supposed to be 23 players?
@RL-430: You been very generous to the Kings…
18 Feb 2013, 15:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-431: You mean its not made by Reebok?
Your myopia just strengthens your Cape insulated stereotype…
Poor little brokeback cowgirl…
18 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-168:
That’s put more eloquently
But genuinely Bakkies, is it a general dislike by supporters of major teams? Or is it a South African thing?
If you take the emotion out and carefully dissect All Black matches, will you come to the same conclusion every time. Win or loose.
I’m asking because I’m interested to know if there is a genuine favouritism towards All Blacks, or whether its a matter of sour grapes.
@nortierd-429: Guppies like bling – fact.
Gold chains…..man chains…..rings…..floral boardshorts in lime green……mocassins…ponytails…..windbreakers…..and stickers on their cars (lotsoffuckingstickers)
@Heavens Game-427: mina? bwahahaha buza banshee uyayazi xhosa anaconda
22 Feb Rebels vs Brumbies Melbourne – Brumbies by 15
22 Feb Bulls vs Stormers – Bullies by 6
23 Feb Hurricanes vs Blues – Hurricanes by 7
23 Feb Reds vs Waratahs – Reds by 3
23 Feb Cheetahs vs Sharks – Guppies by 11
23 Feb Kings vs Force – Force by
30+50+there we go – all fixed.
18 Feb 2013, 15:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-431: Stormers away “at home” is appropriate for the Sharks… After all, Newlands last year, was home away from home for the Black and White Dynamite…
18 Feb 2013, 15:38 pm
@Heavens Game-428: Yes…hoping those skop en jag and tackle is a thing consigned to the scrap heap for AC…..it killed me last year …
18 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
@Transformation-438: Anaconda… Ha we… Nca, voessek… Mhlawumbe mopani kancane khona… Hamba donsa ucingo wakho , blaadyshit
18 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
@Transformation-432: Shhht. Msrr Price is their brand….. The Reebok emblem is the size of a thumb nail. Mssr Price is the name (the only name) the punters see
Guppies.
18 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@Heavens Game-440:
Every stadium in SA except Kings Park is home away from hope for the Guppies.
They even save on hotel fare by letting the players stay at their parents’ home
18 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@Heavens Game-418: It’s the price…… R49.95 vs R700-00 for the other franchises.
18 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
@grant10-441: I hope it isnt… And then the dynamite riders of the defensive Storm come bamboozle with Carlos Lambie at full powers of attacking persuasion during the next Black and White visit to Blue and White…
18 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-177:
I saw one of the documentaries. Didn’t know he was from Durban. A most complicated salvage operation because of the coral, And there are giant mussels that need to be removed and returned after the salvage operation
18 Feb 2013, 15:43 pm
@Heavens Game-435: The only name the rest of the world sees is this one http://www.mrpricesport.com/
@Heavens Game-440: And when it counted (when it REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLY MATTERED); “Dynamite Park”, was home away from home for us….and we have photos of K-Dog sulking mid tantrum to prove it.
18 Feb 2013, 15:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-445: You should stop buying fake jerseys by the Nigerians on the street corner,
18 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
@Heavens Game-446: stormers 9 and 10 cant spell skop en jag……
fark…hope they can tackle though!
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 … 19 » Show All