Bad to worse for Bulls

RICHARD FERGUSON reports that the Bulls are without four key players for the Stormers clash on Friday night.

The Blue Bulls confirmed yesterday that Springbok Dean Greyling and Wilhelm Steenkamp will both miss the Stormers match due to a stress fracture and an AC joint injury respectively.

This was followed up with news that more Springboks in Akona Ndungane and Jacques Potgieter will not be considered for the clash on Friday night, leaving the Bulls short of four key players at the start of a very long competition.

Greyling is expected to be back in training on Monday while Steenkamp is set to miss two weeks.There was no time frame put on the injuries to Ndungane and Potgieter.

Francois Hougaard starts at scrumhalf ahead of Jano Vermaak and there has been no rushing of SA under 21 midfield sensation Jan Serfontein, who will be slowly introduced to Super Rugby.

Teams:
Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Mornè Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandrè Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Mornè Mellett Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouchè, 22 Francois Venter
Stormers: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Jean de Villiers (captain), 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff Substitutes: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Don Armand, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Dewaldt Duvenage, 21. Gerhard van den Heever, 22. Joe Pietersen

49 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

go stormers. go boys!!!!

• 2.Baydu: Reply to this comment

RT @keocoza: Bad to worse for Bulls: RICHARD FERGUSON reports that the Bulls are without four key players for the Stormers… http://t.c

• 3.iceman: Reply to this comment

This is still a good team and should pull through at home.

• 4.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Match 23? You sure about that Keo? I think its just internationals that have 23 match squads.

• 5.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@iceman-3: Stormers have beaten them for the last two seasons at “home’ will be a close game with the Stormers taking it with between 3-5 points.

• 6.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Honestly those 4 missing is not a great loss for the bulls , some of them might can even be seen as blessings !

• 7.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Greyling and Potgieter will be badly missed on Friday. Their physicality would be useful.

I’d prefer Mapoe at 13 with JJ at 14.
    the Stormers nicked a win at Loftus last season that they had no right to. Dominated in possession and territory. If the same senario transpires and Morne has sorted his act out,Bulls will win this one. I’d hesitate to say even comfortably….but it is the first game and things are generally very messy at the start.

Noticed that Viccy M is very excited to see how the Bulls attacking structures go against the best defensive side these past couple of seasons. Viccy M knows how to own the Stormers.

• 8.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-6: True, Greyling and Potgieter give away lots of penalties.

• 9.gunther: Reply to this comment

JJ should not be starting at centre.

Great to see what Mapoe can do in Blue.

• 10.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-7: Agreed on the Mapoe and JJ switch.

• 11.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-10:

I’d love to see Surffountain get a go.

• 12.Stoetbul9: Reply to this comment

Unlike last year, the Bulls forwards start to look like a settled pack. They also have lots of depth in all positions so the loss of Steenkamp and Potgieter is not too big. Steenkamp would not have started anyway. Spies, Dewald and Stegmann was the loosies when we last won the S14, in my opinion a very good loose trio with a specialist fetcher amongst them.
    Greyling will be missed, but I rate Mellett and injuries are part of rugby.
    They backline is better off without Akona, he is getting too slow now and not nearly fast enough compared to the top Super Rugby wings.
    It will be interresting to see who will be on the bench, Serfontein or Venter. Iam sure the Bulls will go with 5 forwards and 2 backs on the bench.

• 13.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Stoetbul9-12:

not sure they can go 5-2 because they do not have flyhalf cover on the bench then.

• 14.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-13:

I’ve read some posts withregards to Hougaard. I imagine that if there is any drama, it is that Ludeke wants him on the wing or on the bench because he covers more than one position and hence allowing Ludeke a possible 5-2 split for the game.

• 15.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-14: He can still cover other positions from starting 9. He must start.

• 16.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-15:

Only if his head is right.

• 17.garth: Reply to this comment

I don’t think you guys realise how k@k your team really is.

Here is the comparative ratings of the players for Friday:
    Jaco Taute – Zane Kirchner WP
    Gio Aplon – Lionel Mapoe WP
    Jean de Villiers – JJ Engelbrecht WP
    Damian de Allende – Wynand Olivier WP
    Bryan Habana – Bjorn Basson WP
    Elton Jantjies – Morne Steyn WP
    Nic Groom – Francois Hougaard Bulls
    Duane Vermeulen – Pierre Spies WP
    Rynhardt Elstad – Dewald Potgieter WP
    Siya Kolisi – Deon Stegmann WP
    Andries Bekke – Juandre Kruger WP
    De Kock Steenkamp – Flip van der Merwe Bulls
    Steven Kitshoff – Werner Kruger WP
    Deon Fourie – Chiliboy Ralepelle WP
    Pat Cilliers – Morne Mellett WP

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Why did I think that Juandre Kruger was playing overseas?

• 19.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-18: I think he’s going after this season

• 20.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Given that they were a new team and yet so troublesome last year, Coetzee’s assessment that they are a better team in 2013 can be taken as an ominous sign by the other teams.

“Definitely, I definitely think they will be a better side this year, much better,” said Coetzee.

“They have an extra arrow in their quiver this year in the form of Victor Matfield. We all know what he has achieved and what expertise he can bring as an attack and lineout coach. He was a successful player and will know what to do to help them start winning consistently. There are certain things that Victor will bring to the side and I think that there are many areas where we can anticipate them executing better.”

Reminded that many were regarding the coastal franchises as the sides vying for the conference trophy, Coetzee seemed surprised by the assessment.

“The Bulls will always be in the mix. They are the only South African franchise to have won this competition three times, and they are a very proud team and union. They have a quality pack and we have seen in the pre-season that Morne Steyn seems to be back to his best, both in kicking out of hand and at posts.

“They are also a settled team. I haven’t seen their team yet but I don’t expect any changes. They have three good centres to choose from, they have a quality halfback pairing who have played a lot of international rugby, and even if Jacques Potgieter doesn’t play they have Arno Botha, who has toured with the Boks.

“With all that depth I don’t know how anyone can write them off and say that only the coastal teams are in the race.”

While the long-range predictions are for the Stormers and Sharks to battle it out for the conference, the bookmakers have apparently given the Stormers a five-point start in Friday’s game, meaning they go to Loftus as underdogs.

“We will have to wait until after the game to find out if they are right or not,” smiled Coetzee.

“But I suppose whoever plays at Loftus has to be the underdogs because of their history. As I said before, they are a very proud franchise and are particularly difficult to beat on their home ground.”

Not that Coetzee is too concerned about his team’s ability to make it a third successive Super Rugby win at Loftus.

“We have a lot of depth this year, and it is the first time since I have been involved with the Stormers that we have had the sort of depth we have now. It’s a big game for us against a quality Bulls outfit at Loftus, but I feel that with the team we have selected we have covered all our bases,” he said.

• 21.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-19: Ok. Wondered why I was thinking that.

• 22.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-20: Much of what AC said yesterday was in response to some fairly leading questioning from some of the journo’s. AC was just responding in a PC way, giving credit to the opposition etc.

Not too much to be read into it.

• 23.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-22: I know.
    Just thought I’ll give some rugby news on this site

• 24.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Bulls team for Friday
    Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke named an experienced outfit to face the Stormers on Friday at Loftus Versfeld in the opening match of the local 2013 Vodacom Super Rugby competition.
    Ludeke named two debutants in his starting XV, with Lionel Mapoe and Mornè Mellett set to start at wing and prop respectively, but also named two centurions and a host of players with more than 40 caps.

Mapoe has played 23 matches for the MTN Lions and five for the Toyota Cheetahs before, whilst Mellett toured with the Bulls last year, but did not play in any matches.

Pierre Spies, who captains the side, is one of 11 players who have 40 caps or more at this level.

“We do have an experienced core of players this year and it is something that hopefully will benefit us,” Ludeke said in Tuesday.

“Even Mornè Mellett, who will start in his first match, has toured with us and played well in last year’s Currie Cup. In this competition one will always be looking at the experienced guys in your team and we are lucky to have a lot of those in important positions,” Ludeke said in announcing his team.

Three Springboks, Dean Greyling, Akona Ndungane and Jacques Potgieter were not considered due to injury, whilst Emerging Springbok lock Wilhelm Steenkamp is also out of action of another two weeks due to a shoulder injury.

Vodacom Bulls captain Pierre Spies said they are looking forward to the start of the season, despite the fact that they are facing the Stormers, who won both encounters between the two sides in 2012.

“They are a formidable side, but this competition is all about measuring yourself against the best out there, as a team and on a personal level. It will be a massive game, as it is not only the traditional North/South derby, it is also two teams with good records in Super Rugby wanting to stake the first claim,” Spies said.

“We are at home and would like to give our fans something to look forward to this season. The first step is to start well against the Stormers.”

The team (with Super Rugby caps): Zane Kirchner (71), Lionel Mapoe (28), JJ Engelbrecht (17), Wynand Olivier (103), Bjorn Basson (42), Mornè Steyn (106), Francois Hougaard (45), Pierre Spies (89, c), Dewald Potgieter (54), Deon Stegmann (60), Juandrè Kruger (17), Flip van der Merwe (48),Werner Kruger (75), Chiliboy Ralepelle (52), Mornè Mellett (0). Replacements: Willie Wepener (53), Frik Kirsten (15), Grant Hattingh (9), Arno Botha (10), Jano Vermaak (88), Louis Fouchè (10), Francois Venter (8).

Milestones:

•Lionel Mapoe and Grant Hattingh, who played for the MTN Lions in 2012, will make their Bulls Super Rugby debut, while Mornè Mellett will make his debut in the competition.
    •Mornè Steyn is the leading points’ scorer in South Africa in Super Rugby. He will be looking to extend his points’ tally of 1201 (11t, 210c, 218p, 24dg).
    •Wynand Olivier (29) is the leading Bulls try scorer in the competition and with 103 caps also the most capped Super Rugby centre in South Africa.

• 25.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-23: Ja thanks. ;)

@Atlas-24: That’s a very good team. We will have to play out of our skins to beat them.

• 26.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-24: No place for Serfontein.

• 27.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-23: hahaha shame man Keo is struggling on his own.

• 28.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-25: I think you guys will beat us but I live in hope

• 29.gunther: Reply to this comment

Stormers are favourites to take this.

However Bulls could pull it off.

• 30.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-24: Yoh thats a lot of points by Morne Steyn.

• 31.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@gunther-29: Will be a close game, could go either way by 3-5 points.

• 32.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-27: I’m just helping out ;) @Sasuke-26: They will start the season with experience and bring the youngsters in later

• 33.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-30: Still the best

• 34.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-31:

Pretty much.

Thats been the form for their last few super rugby games.

• 35.Atlas: Reply to this comment

I’m off to the losie to clean it and order some booze
    Can’t wait for Friday

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@gunther-29: It’s a tough call. Tank used to say that Loftus was the toughest stadium to play at in the world as an away team.

• 37.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Jaco Peyper is another swindler in the service of SARU but he is more sophisticated and far less blatant in his cheats than Jonker, Joubert or the quota brigade
    Playing at Loftus is always a challenge, once the Bulls brings their bench onto the field and clear out the tokens, it will be a stroll in the park
    Early prediction: bulls by 12-15

• 38.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Its gonna b close. All depends on the form of 8 9 10 and 15… And the battle in the scrum. Will b interesting to watch.

• 39.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-38: With Cilliers there Stormers scrum is much stronger than last year.

Shame Brok missed out on a spot. Thought he would atleast make the bench. His work rate and tackling technique will be vital in the closing stages of the game. Also he can cover 1 and 3.

• 40.W.P: Reply to this comment

Sheesh some predicting a runaway victory for Bulls. They could sneak a win – they’re not a bad team at all – looking at the two teams you’d have be a die hard Bulls supporter to predict a Bulls win though. Then again UCT did beat the Sharks in last years CC final so. Stormers by 5-7

• 41.W.P: Reply to this comment

How do the votes for the various teams keep climbing at such a rapid rate?

• 42.wls1: Reply to this comment

How exactly is deon greyling a loss to the bulls? when he plays he is a benefit to any other side? how is he even playing super rugby?
    what a joke, kak journalism.
    You can only say its a loss if the player benefits the team>?

• 43.blueboy: Reply to this comment

As a loyal bulls fan all i can write is what a start to the super rugby season we play the 2nd raters at loftus,and i hope it is a winning start for the bulls.Cummon bulls kick the stormers arses all the way back to slapstaad wher the belong.That is still a good bulls team and they are capeable of winning this game,dare i say by 5 points.Common bulls Go you Good THING.

• 44.Saffex: Reply to this comment

Its a typically conservative side selected by Ludeke. Olivier ahead of Serfontein is poor as is the inclusion of the sorely exposed Werner Kruger at 3. Frik Kirsten is a far better option at 3. Leaving the impressive Arno Botha out of the starting 15 is also short sighted.

SA and Bok rugby is really blighted by conservatism

• 45.Saffex: Reply to this comment

@ garth

Disagree with your takes

15. – Stormers
    14. – Bulls
    13. – Bulls (Jean is a poor 13 and past it)
    12. – Stormers
    11. – Stormers
    10. – Stormers
    9. – Bulls
    1. – Stormers
    2. – Bulls (only just)
    3. – Stormers (only just, dont rate either – Malherbe and Frik Kirsten are better options for both sides)
    4. – Bulls
    5. – Stormers
    6. – Stormers
    7. – Stormers
    8. – Stormers

• 46.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

i thought you were allowed 23 players ? why are none of the teams selecting 23 in there teams then ?

• 47.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#44 Saffex Serfontein will get his chance this season as he is to good to sit on the bench,but ludeke wants experience in his first super rugby game of the season and that is why olivier is starting ahead of him,and olivier is a experienced player in super rugby and he ” knows the score”.

• 48.W.P: Reply to this comment

Game is there for Stormers to lose. Bulls would do very well to win.

• 49.gunther: Reply to this comment

@W.P-48:

That’s good to hear.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.