Why winning isn’t everything

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day Sport Monthly column, says we live in a miracle country and it’s time we started appreciating the miracle of sport.

Sport is entertainment and it is also about effort. A fixation with just the result is going to lead to a lot of heartache.

It wasn’t that long ago when South Africa wasn’t allowed to compete internationally. Familiarity breeds contempt and irrationally so.

Feel good about the joy of indulging in the performance of South Africans, who are among the best ever produced in their respective codes.

We put huge pressure on our performers to produce every time, but the fans and the media have as much of a responsibility in their performance post match.

We also need to grow up and show some perspective to the effort of the individual or team and give credit to the quality of the opposition. There are times when they just are better and they actually win and we actually lose.

For those who are inspired to live in this country only when South Africa wins, take some responsibility for your own emotions. Similarly, don’t blame a poor SA performance for your depression. No player is losing deliberately and no national player should be subjected to the hate and vitriol published on Twitter.

It sickens me that people can actually feel a justification in the abuse and believe they are owed something by the player and that the player has a responsibility to ensure their happiness. The abuse is disgusting and can never be justified. There is so much to applaud and there is a generation of South African performer that is the best ever produced in this country. What a privilege it is to watch them at their peak.

Look beyond the need for a winning result and imagine South Africa being in sporting isolation. It is pathetic how fans think players are there to instil nationalism. Go do that yourself and start enjoying the sport and keep perspective.

There is life the next day and sport always gives your team or the individual a chance to get it right or to flop.

It is an honour to play for one’s country, but it is not a crime to lose and supporters need to take their insecurity and deal with it.

In the days of isolation we never played anyone and never lost. So we allowed ourselves to believe we were the best in everything. The reality is we are not the best in all things sport and that does not deserve the crassness I read on Twitter.

I get irritated with a lot of our sports media coverage, especially in newsprint. It is always all or nothing, as if every win defines the miracle of this country and defeat brings the possibility of doom. Inspire me with a solution instead of repeating what I saw on television 24 hours earlier and what I have read on the Internet a day earlier.

The media is more guilty than the fans in the buzz and the blowout. I have been as guilty as anyone at times of my career so I certainly don’t preach from a pedestal of purity, but rather from a place of apology.

The daily sports media though need to get a grip and invest in some perspective.

An example was the Proteas ODI series defeat against New Zealand. The Proteas did not play well but the game was apparently in crisis after the series defeat and the euphoria of being the best Test team in the world a few days earlier was an afterthought.

The hysteria was excessive, just like the condemnation and ridicule of New Zealand’s tour only a few days earlier. Appreciate the players and the fact that it’s not you out there on days when all is failing save the potency of the opponent.

There’s an added spice when you know you are watching a performer unrivalled in their field and at the peak of their performance.

The South African bowling attack gives me that sense of awe. Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis evoke a similar emotion and Graeme Smith is just never going to get the reward for his effort. No other Test captain in the history of the game has achieved as much.

Smith, having gone past 100 Test matches as captain, still has his doubters. Give him a break. There is a serious projection of insecurity and delusion among many of the South African fans in the way they react to the players.

A guy like Smith must be judged on how he plays and not for how his gum chewing may irk you. It is massive what he has achieved yet there are so many who burden him with not wearing enough flags on his T-shirt and not being proudly South African.

This is sport. Nationalism looks after itself and it can’t be all taken from the player’s performance. We owe the player the simple courtesy of a dignified interaction that does not start with an attack on his mother’s hair colour and outright abuse.

Grow up you trolls or inspire with your cleverness.

Oh, and one last thing, why the obsession with having to feel the need to retire great players at the start of a season because they are supposedly blocking the path of a 21-year-old?

Give the more mature form players the necessary respect. They’ve earned the right through performance to a bit of loyalty. Our rugby players offer the promise of silverware in Super Rugby but the enjoyment must also be in the performance.

Bafana, in African soccer’s big bi-annual one, were brave and belligerent in a tournament I hoped they could win but never quite had the conviction to believe it was possible. They lost in the quarter-finals on penalties, which was a cruel yet also a dignified exit for the hosts. Dignified in it allowed us to dream of what could have been without confronting the reality of what would most likely have been had they advanced to the semi-final or final.

Bafana played with passion and the support of a nation was a boost, but there are limitations to the current side and the desire to associate with success should also not be confused with the expectation that if they don’t win a tournament they have failed.

Equally our Super Rugby teams.

– This article first appeared in the March issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, which is distributed FREE with the newspaper on the second last Friday of every month.

1,128 Comments

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2223 » Show All

• 801.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-799: Unfortunately it’s his job. I know at school level the teams use other players (from time to time) than the hooker but at professional level you need be able to do it.

• 802.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/cop-dropped-from-oscar-case-report-1.1474395#.USXg-R2LCJc

• 803.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-801: But what if the one you have just can’t? Just can’t do it? Ever?

I say: make a plan, think out of the box, and stop wasting attacking platforms because the fella lobbing it in throws to the birds in the sky, floating left or right 9 times outta 10 :)

Have a great day all. Off to the Southern Suburbs for lunch. (You see ET, I do leave the laager at times)

• 804.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-798:

Notice I said: ‘ he could have said…’

• 805.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-797: Why should (certain) hookers be made to throw in the ball (if clearly they can’t)? Why could it not be the fetcher flank (or some other) doing so?
    Honest question

• 806.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-805: Used to be the wing.Underarm nogal

• 807.the curse: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-802: eish

On Thursday morning police confirmed Botha has seven charges of attempted murder against him.

is it typical of people named Botha to be thugs? :mrgreen:

• 808.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-806: yeah, rye, in my playing days :-)

• 809.cab: Reply to this comment

Police detective now that would be a moerse interesting job – guess its not too glamorous with all the crime in SA. Policeman, criminal lawyers, doctors – some cynical professions where you get exposed to pretty much most of human extremes.

• 810.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-805: My point is, if you play a hooker who is the best fetcher in your team (which isn’t a primary job of a hooker) then why can’t the, say, “fetcher flank” throw in the ball (if he is better at it than the hybrid-hooker selected)?
    (& on a facetious note) especially if your team’s tactical brains trust has a penchant for Brok or Schalk at fly-half & Bekker on the wing? What’s in a position, ne? One for all & all for one? Lekker flexibility & versatility – just waiting for Gio to pack down at tight head :-)

• 811.cab: Reply to this comment

Seems like this poor oke ain’t got much of a clue by media accounts, maybe he’s an inspector clouseau..

• 812.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the curse-807: this could be damage control or the work of the UK spin doctor…whatever it is SA has never seen sh.it like this!!!!

8.54am GMT
    Jacaranda FM are now reporting that
    Hilton Botha and the police have both
    denied dropping Botha from the case.
    But the police will be bringing in a
    “provincial task force” to “bolster” the
    prosecution’s case against Pistorius, the
    radio station says.

8.47am GMT
    South Africa’s Jacaranda FM is
    reporting that Botha has not been
    dropped from the case, citing police
    brigadier Neville Malila:

• 813.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Where’s Hore-atio when you need him?

• 814.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

My gut feel is that Pistorius will be granted bail.

His brother apparently looks ‘relaxed and upbeat’

• 815.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-812:

Strange that someone “reportedly” under suspicion of 7 attempted murders is even allowed to work on such a case?

• 816.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the curse-815: 9.26am GMT
    Nair says he has allowed the woman to
    speak, even though he did not have to.

— Alex Crawford
    (@AlexCrawfordSky)
    February 21, 2013
    #oscarpistorius Magistrate says ‘we
    are at an advanced stage. Not in
    interest of justice.’
    9.25am GMT

A woman wants to bring a
    “constitutional application” to the
    court. She is a non-practising female
    attorney who says the constitution of
    South Africa is affected by the case.
    The application “addresses Pistorius’s
    mental state:”. The judge, prosecution
    and defence are all unhappy. Both Nel
    and Roux (for Pistorius) protest.

— David Smith
    (@SmithInAfrica)
    February 21, 2013
    A female South African attorney is
    standing up, quoting the
    constitution, describing a motion she
    brought and baffling magistrate
    Nair.

• 817.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@the curse-807: Eish, I was secretly hoping & praying that you wouldn’t spot the connection!

You see it all started with PW Botha all those years ago and now, when BB sees your latest comment I hereby place on record that I cannot & will not be held responsible for my fellow countyman’s actions.

;-)

• 818.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-815: the timing is rather suspicious…..

How was Bryce’s daddy allowed to vote him as ref of the year? :)

• 819.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-816: oh dear.Rossi gone bonkers?

• 820.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-814:
    My gut feel is that Oscar SHOULD get bail and that he is, at the very most, guilty of manslaughter.

That’s my gut feel.

• 821.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-807:
    @BrumbiesBoy-817:
    He’ll just claim they were adopted

• 822.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the curse-815: he allegedly shot at a taxi with 7 passengers :D

charges were provisionally dropped in 2009 only to SURFACE yesterday!

charges dropped >>>> he can go back to work.

• 823.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

And the circus continues……

• 824.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-822:

Howzit Mr T.

Good luck on the Kings this weekend, i reckon they can take the Force.

• 825.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Holy cow!

Google “Bakkies cited” and see what comes up…

Enough to overload a reasonable sized server I would imagine!!!

• 826.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@the curse-815: It is one incident involving 7 victims; the case was withdrawn and the docket sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions for a decision; but the DAY BEFORE Botha was due to give evidence, DPP conveyed his decision that Botha (& others) would be charged & tried.

Draw your own conclusions…

PS: I agree, he should have been removed from detective work pending the DPP’s decision (& assigned less sensitive work, say, admin work), but it seems that this decision was outstanding for quite some time (until Wednesday, that is) – incredible timing.

• 827.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is a circus now!

— David Smith
    (@SmithInAfrica)
    February 21, 2013
    The mystery woman is told about
    procedure, collects her plastic bag
    and walks across the court to the
    exit. Nair frowns at it all.
    9.27am GMT

She wants Pistorius’s mental health to
    be evaluated and proceedings to take
    place in camera. She is told to go and
    to take her appeal to the high court.

— Barry Bateman
    (@barrybateman)
    February 21, 2013
    #OscarPistorius Nair says there are
    rules and we won’t be hearing any
    app from anyone other than the
    counsel involved. BB

• 828.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-817: and what about Louis Botha, huh?

• 829.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-820: Would you agree that firing 4 shots was overkill? (no pun intended)

• 830.David: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-799:
    In the past it used to be the winger who threw the ball in.

• 831.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-824: thanks…history in the making on saturday!

can’t wait!

• 832.S_K: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-827: Probably on her way to Weskoppies again.

• 833.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-818: because we run the IRB bru, catch up :D

@Transformation-816: how is the constitution effected in this womans eyes? sounds like shes grandstanding for her own status to me..

@BrumbiesBoy-817: hehe I will defer any further incriminations towards you in the “world vs Botha’s” case

@nortierd-821: :lol:

@Transformation-822: dropped in 2009 and brought back in yesterday? dodgy indeed.. I assume the DPP doesnt want Bothas testimony at all, hence trying to discredit him? there was a big case in Queensland a few years ago, all to do with corrupt police..

@Angostura-826: definitely more than coincidence one would think.

@Transformation-827: I would have thought standard procedure in a case like this is to have the accused’s mental capacity ascertained as soon as possible.

this case may rival OJs one, but it shows no matter what country you are in that justice is a term rather than a reality imo

• 834.Transformation: Reply to this comment

— Mandy Wiener
    (@MandyWiener)
    February 21, 2013
    #OscarPistorius Gerrie Nel, true to
    form, cracks a dry joke, saying ‘there
    goes my case’.

9.32am GMT
    — Daniel Howden
    (@howden_africa)
    February 21, 2013
    Prosecutor jokes ‘there goes my case’
    as #pistorius arresting officer
    summoned

9.31am GMT
    The court adjourns for 15 minutes to
    bring Botha in.

9.30am GMT
    Nair says he is concerned his plan for
    the morning has been thwarted. Is
    Botha here, he asks.

• 835.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-828: To be totally honest the only one I know is the famous road in Jhb.

Never bothered to find out anything about the one it is named after.

A bad oke I presume?

Ah, wait, the name General Louis Botha comes to mind. Is that who you’re talking about because I’ll have to Google.

• 836.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-835: Oh, and Debben’s (old) airport also named after him?

• 837.S_K: Reply to this comment

Where is Bakkies? Haven’t seen him since loverboy got cited again.

• 838.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-829:
    If your intended target was visible…yes.

If not, shooting four shots randomly in the general direction of the target… not that much. (That is if he indeed shot randomly through the door and not aimed in a specific direction.The bullet holes and the trajection of the bullets found in the toilet will indicate this.)

I know they’ll argue a small confined space and that she did not have any place to hide but… that’s my view.

• 839.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-805: I get it but I’m just saying that it’s the job of the hooker. Now the fetcher flank (e.g) has to learn how to throw in the ball as well. When say Fourie gets injured, Bezuidenhout will proceed with the lineouts. You therefore have a situation that the flank has practiced throwing at lineouts but he is only required to do that job if the hooker, who isn’t able to do a proper job, leaves the field or isn’t picked.
    IMO it is a bit unfair towards the “new thrower”

• 840.the curse: Reply to this comment

@S_K-837: maybe, like HG, hes taken to holidaying in france? :lol:

• 841.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@S_K-837: i’m looking for him too…i got treats for him too

• 842.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the curse-833:
    Remember, this is only the bail hearing. It’s not the trial.

• 843.Transformation: Reply to this comment

a 4bar manson without panic buttons to security?

the owner gets up & pumps 4 in the direction where he thinks a burglar is, hhmm?

if reeva was sleeping as oskido “assumed” she would’ve been woken by 4 blasts of a gat…

• 844.S_K: Reply to this comment

@the curse-840: :D . I just wanted his take on the following statement by a blogger on another site.

no blou those excuses are copy right and sold exclusive rights of the bulls . we could go with altitude excuse. and we all know the nz refs will be wearing bull pink tops this year . . pity you could not bribe enough to get your names printed on them too

• 845.cab: Reply to this comment

Sounds like a gdam circus , then again u couldn’t make it up from the start – even the lawyers are completely clueless with all their comments to the media.

• 846.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-842: understand, but surely a bail hearing is more to get the defendants plea then the magistrate determines flight risk etc? Not clued up on criminal law and court proceedings (only through escaping detection :lol: ) so not sure what is involved in a bail hearing?

• 847.the curse: Reply to this comment

@S_K-844: he wont believe that unless you provide the link :D

• 848.S_K: Reply to this comment

The legal world has gone crazy.Yesterday a case in the UK was thrown out because the jury asked the judge what the term ‘beyond a reasonable doubt’ implies. The judge was naturally not amused and said that that was the first time he was asked that question in his long career on the bench. :D

• 849.the curse: Reply to this comment

@S_K-848: was just reading that too…

thought it was the phrase “will was overborne”

danger of the judge leading the jury I guess

• 850.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-838: he fired 4 times into a very small room knowing that he could kill whomever was inside.

If he believed it was an intruder well that pretty much places him in the same position as Bees Roux

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 2223 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.