Why winning isn’t everything

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day Sport Monthly column, says we live in a miracle country and it’s time we started appreciating the miracle of sport.

Sport is entertainment and it is also about effort. A fixation with just the result is going to lead to a lot of heartache.

It wasn’t that long ago when South Africa wasn’t allowed to compete internationally. Familiarity breeds contempt and irrationally so.

Feel good about the joy of indulging in the performance of South Africans, who are among the best ever produced in their respective codes.

We put huge pressure on our performers to produce every time, but the fans and the media have as much of a responsibility in their performance post match.

We also need to grow up and show some perspective to the effort of the individual or team and give credit to the quality of the opposition. There are times when they just are better and they actually win and we actually lose.

For those who are inspired to live in this country only when South Africa wins, take some responsibility for your own emotions. Similarly, don’t blame a poor SA performance for your depression. No player is losing deliberately and no national player should be subjected to the hate and vitriol published on Twitter.

It sickens me that people can actually feel a justification in the abuse and believe they are owed something by the player and that the player has a responsibility to ensure their happiness. The abuse is disgusting and can never be justified. There is so much to applaud and there is a generation of South African performer that is the best ever produced in this country. What a privilege it is to watch them at their peak.

Look beyond the need for a winning result and imagine South Africa being in sporting isolation. It is pathetic how fans think players are there to instil nationalism. Go do that yourself and start enjoying the sport and keep perspective.

There is life the next day and sport always gives your team or the individual a chance to get it right or to flop.

It is an honour to play for one’s country, but it is not a crime to lose and supporters need to take their insecurity and deal with it.

In the days of isolation we never played anyone and never lost. So we allowed ourselves to believe we were the best in everything. The reality is we are not the best in all things sport and that does not deserve the crassness I read on Twitter.

I get irritated with a lot of our sports media coverage, especially in newsprint. It is always all or nothing, as if every win defines the miracle of this country and defeat brings the possibility of doom. Inspire me with a solution instead of repeating what I saw on television 24 hours earlier and what I have read on the Internet a day earlier.

The media is more guilty than the fans in the buzz and the blowout. I have been as guilty as anyone at times of my career so I certainly don’t preach from a pedestal of purity, but rather from a place of apology.

The daily sports media though need to get a grip and invest in some perspective.

An example was the Proteas ODI series defeat against New Zealand. The Proteas did not play well but the game was apparently in crisis after the series defeat and the euphoria of being the best Test team in the world a few days earlier was an afterthought.

The hysteria was excessive, just like the condemnation and ridicule of New Zealand’s tour only a few days earlier. Appreciate the players and the fact that it’s not you out there on days when all is failing save the potency of the opponent.

There’s an added spice when you know you are watching a performer unrivalled in their field and at the peak of their performance.

The South African bowling attack gives me that sense of awe. Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis evoke a similar emotion and Graeme Smith is just never going to get the reward for his effort. No other Test captain in the history of the game has achieved as much.

Smith, having gone past 100 Test matches as captain, still has his doubters. Give him a break. There is a serious projection of insecurity and delusion among many of the South African fans in the way they react to the players.

A guy like Smith must be judged on how he plays and not for how his gum chewing may irk you. It is massive what he has achieved yet there are so many who burden him with not wearing enough flags on his T-shirt and not being proudly South African.

This is sport. Nationalism looks after itself and it can’t be all taken from the player’s performance. We owe the player the simple courtesy of a dignified interaction that does not start with an attack on his mother’s hair colour and outright abuse.

Grow up you trolls or inspire with your cleverness.

Oh, and one last thing, why the obsession with having to feel the need to retire great players at the start of a season because they are supposedly blocking the path of a 21-year-old?

Give the more mature form players the necessary respect. They’ve earned the right through performance to a bit of loyalty. Our rugby players offer the promise of silverware in Super Rugby but the enjoyment must also be in the performance.

Bafana, in African soccer’s big bi-annual one, were brave and belligerent in a tournament I hoped they could win but never quite had the conviction to believe it was possible. They lost in the quarter-finals on penalties, which was a cruel yet also a dignified exit for the hosts. Dignified in it allowed us to dream of what could have been without confronting the reality of what would most likely have been had they advanced to the semi-final or final.

Bafana played with passion and the support of a nation was a boost, but there are limitations to the current side and the desire to associate with success should also not be confused with the expectation that if they don’t win a tournament they have failed.

Equally our Super Rugby teams.

– This article first appeared in the March issue of Business Day Sport Monthly, which is distributed FREE with the newspaper on the second last Friday of every month.

1,128 Comments

Pages: « 113 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 » Show All

• 901.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So there we were… Crack an invite to Loftus to watch the Bulls vs Stormers tomorrow…

Will have to bite the bullet and go support the underdogs…

Yep, it seems the Light Blue are heavy underdogs against the “awesome” “incredible” Stormers despite playing on their home turf at Cathedral Versveld.

The way the blogosphere are carrying on it looks like Stormers are shoe ins to win the Conference “Title” yet again already…

So, in the face of these incredible odds, I will lump my Dynamite lot in with the feeble Blue Davids against the Streeptrui fearsome Goliaths…

Its going to be hard… its going to be tough… But I shall “stand by” the Bulls tomorrow – the team of the city of my abode – against these overwhelming odds facing the invaders from the South…

Ye… Just for tomorrow my blood is Light Blue, until the clock strikes the witching hour and it reverts to the colours of Dynamite – Black and White…

• 902.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-895:

Jy is ‘n Dagbreker.

• 903.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@the curse-896: I’m very chilled, curse
    Sorry mate, that was not derogatory of you or anybody else
    Just a recollection of something that occurred to me as I read your word “ghey”

With these two lines,

“ghey (actually it should be spelt, ‘gei’) donderbalkie, ghey bliksemstraaltjie
    enigste lig in donker Afrika?” **

commenced the beginning of a dramatic soliloquy that freshmen at our university residence had to memorise & perform on demand, holding a burning match in one hand, to seniors during initiation. I went through the process as a freshman, & later on as a senior committee member dished it out as well – all silly stuff, really, but part of residence culture then.

** Translation:
    gei (cannot be translated, but maybe, “hey”?) thunder stick, hey lightning flash,
    only light in Darkest Africa

As you can see nothing scornful, just a spontaneous recollection of good times had.

Sorry that I gave you the wrong impression

• 904.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-901: will you be able to get coverage in the south of France? do they show super rugby over there ?

• 905.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-903: no probs, glad it brought back fun memories for you, my online translator didmnt know the references :lol:

• 906.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-903:

Ek was in Seksie 8, 18 en weer 8 vanaf 2001 tot 2003.

• 907.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-903:

Brand, bliksem, brand!

• 908.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-899: I am serious as well, rye
    when I started watching & later playing rugby, that is exactly how the wing threw in the ball
    I’m not a spring chicken :-)

• 909.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-904: :lol: Twat!

Fark, Poops… Where in France is the Stadium Loftus Versveld…?

Me, I thought it was in Pretoria…

Hellsteeth, I must be going as senile as these old farts Rye and Angostura…

• 910.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-907: Nee, WP, ek was in ‘n ander koshuis, by ‘n ander universiteit, maar die dinge is seker maar baie dieselfde orals oor :-)

• 911.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-910:

Janee…waar was jy, RAU?

• 912.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-909: isnt it near Calais? now Piet, youve only just had your ban overturned, no running on to the field to “speak” to the ref ok?

• 913.gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-906:

Animal husbandry?

• 914.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-911: UPE (NMMU)

• 915.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@nama1-886:

No..premeditated in that he mean’t to shoot her. Premeditated does not mean that he sat down and planned it…there was an intention to shoot her.

• 916.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-913:

Hehehehe.

• 917.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-835: And the original name of the merchant navy academy at Gordons Bay.And an orphanage
    in JHB.
    I would love to have met de la Rey.A boys own type hero.

• 918.Angostura: Reply to this comment

No, premeditation is more than just intention – but the Magistrate should explain all of that in his judgment

OK, guess it’s time for Superbru & Fantasia Rugby
    Have those slack Tahs & Forcerers announced their teams already?

• 919.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Hi HG.What is “kehla”A mild or acerbic insult.My 20 Hail Mar,ys to atone
    for late posts will start with my drinking on Friday night.And a continuous
    litany of “GO SHARKS”
    Have always hated being “premature”in my actions Regards.

• 920.John Galt: Reply to this comment

On a seperate subject, I see Amla has stepped away from the SA T20 side now.

I really think they should drop internationaly T20s and only keep ODIs and Test competitions between countries.

Leave T20 at the franchise level for a bit of fun.

• 921.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-917:
    Always been a favourite of mine. Brilliant general and a totally independent character.

• 922.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-904: I spose so… If I was there. But am not… Clearly.

Well clearly to okes that know a bit of geography that is…

No Loftus in Perpignan… Loftus in Pretoria…

Both have light blue as colours though, so maybe it is confusing for the average sheepshagger who got no conception of life beyond North Harbour :wink:

• 923.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-919: Kehla = “old man” ngesizulu… Not derogatory at all…

• 924.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@David-921:

I am a descendant of his.

He was strongly opposed to the decision to declare war on the British Empire when it was debated in the ZAR’s Volksraad. Upon being accused of being a coward, he responded something to the tune of: “If this honourable assembly decides to declare war, you will find me to be the first to be on the field of battle, and I can assure you that I will remain on the field of battle longer than many other gentlemen present here.”

He was also remarkably liberal for his time when it came to race relations.

• 925.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-912: No, “bro”…

Now go do some work for a change… :lol:

• 926.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-924: “I am a descendant of his”…

• 927.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-926:

Look it’s always either Smuts or De la Rey.

Those to must have bred like rabbits.

(Not with each other obviously)

• 928.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-909: F.U.from this old ****.

• 929.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-922: North Harbour? eish, thats been Saffa territory for a while now..

and the cross is quiet tonight for some strange reason, no fun to be had turfing drunk expats out of the club bru.

• 930.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yes… Looks like Stormers favourites again for this Conference thingy…

Sheesh from the sounds of arselickers like afkak moh.ammed and co. you would think that these Super Rugger Johnny Come latelys must be “winning-est” team in Super Rugby, without having won a damn thing yet ever…

Unless you count this Conference “Title” as something that actually counts…

Dont think even the Sader’s have won as many Conference “Titles”…

Totally Awesome…

Bulls gotta be shittting themselves tomorrow…

• 931.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-928:

Quite right.

Kick him in his hamster balls

• 932.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-927: Big cannonballs released around the Laager…

Spawning descendents forever after ensconced in the fairest fishdorpie under the mountain…

Both must have been WP supporters too…

• 933.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-923: Thanks pal.Retract the F.U.Stopped supporting anything W.P.when I went to Tvl
    in 1964.Saw all the good players there who were more deserving of
    being Boks than the Maties who got selected.and others.
    Not bitter about it as it did not affect me.
    Have a rule of supporting the Province which affords me a living
    and where I live.That has been Natal for a hell of a long time.

• 934.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-927:

Nope, I’m definitely not a descendant of JC Smuts.

But the Lion of the Western Transvaal was one of my ancestors.

• 935.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-928: Thats more like it kehla… A bit more ballas in the post…

Less emo…

Some dynamite…

• 936.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-933:

And I stopped supporting Transvaal when I moved from the West Rand to Cape Town in 1998.

• 937.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@gunther-931: de la Rey,s book
    Kommando a hell of a good read.He was quite a stunt(No spoonerisms please)

• 938.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-929: Your turf… Where the “bros” work “hard” and clearly Saffas need to be imported to get things done and actually do some work it seems…

PS: Here’s a good one you’ll appreciate…

Coupla maoris standing at the bar when a willowy young fella sidles up and whispers in Hone’s ear “Would you like a b.lowjob?” Hone instantly smashes him to the floor,kicks him to a pulp then turns back to his beer. “What the hell was that about?” says his mate. “P.rick offered me some sort of a job!”

• 939.grant10: Reply to this comment

nerves farked….

totally….

Thankfully a busy Friday looms….to take my mind off the game……

But I will be a farken wreck come 7 pm….

• 940.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where is Keohane with another tearful article.

• 941.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-938: :lol: how long where you out on the floor for?

too right about importing the Saffas, though they dont like this fat maori giving them orders…

• 942.gunther: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-937:

You are thinking of Deneys Reitz.

• 943.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pretoria – The holding cells at the Brooklyn police station in Pretoria where murder accused paralympian Oscar Pistorius is being held have no beds, Beeld reported on Thursday.

Pistorius is therefore sleeping on the floor, presumably on bedding supplied by his family, and sometimes has to share his cell with other detainees.

• 944.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-939: Maybe Neon Deon could sling a few lineout throws Morne’s way…

Will be funny if he had to take a droppy in the process…

• 945.David: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-924:
    He was a fascinating and complex individual and, as you said, far more liberal than most people are aware of. He’s certainly not the right wing character that some people have made him out to be.
    You must be very proud to be a descendant of his.

• 946.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-937:
    It was Lion of the West.

• 947.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-941: Giving them orders… lol… That implies “work”….

Farkoff man you been funny now…

• 948.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Only Pistorius was screaming – lawyer

Pretoria – Only athlete Oscar Pistorius was screaming the night he shot his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp, his lawyer Barry Roux said in the Pretoria Magistrate’s Court on Wednesday.

Witnesses could also not say it was Pistorius who was heard arguing, as claimed by witnesses the State said earlier it would call upon.

Roux said one of the residents who gave a statement about screaming lived 600m away.

Investigating officer Hilton Botha said police still needed to measure the distance.

Roux said Pistorius usually slept on the right side of the bed, which faced the balcony.

“But because of the pain in his shoulder that evening he slept on the left side,” said Roux.

• 949.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-943:

Frontendloader.

• 950.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@gunther-927: FROM THE TRIAL.
    I see that a wet dream is technically called a nocturnal emission.
    Had one a couple or 6 years ago.Did not know whether to be embarassed
    or proud.

Pages: « 113 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.