Steyn slays Stormers

Morne Steyn kicked the Bulls to a winning Super Rugby start as the hosts easily beat the Stormers.

The Bulls won 25-17 after leading 9-0 at half time.

A Loftus crowd of 44 272 watched the opening match to the South African season.

The match was poor in quality with both teams a mess in the line outs and ineffective on attack among the backs.

Defence was good and the physicality was, as always, prominent, but neither side threatened with ball in hand. The backs on both sides moved it too lateral and this was a match won in the trenches by the more dominant and composed pack.

The Bulls at scrum and in the collisions were the stronger and superior team, especially in the first 40 minutes. The go forward and momentum was with the Bulls for the majority of the match and despite a brief rally from the Stormers after half time the visitors offered little.

Stormers captain Jean de Villiers admitted afterwards the better team on the night had won and that the Stormers had been forced into too many mistakes.

Steyn, man of the match, kicked seven from seven, and impressed with a composed and mature tactical kicking game. Steyn, with his forwards in charge, controlled the game and the Bulls played the match in the right areas of the field.

There was very little flow to the game and it wasn’t helped because of periods in which there were uncontested scrums. This favoured the Stormers whose pack took a beating.

Elton Jantjies suffered in his debut for the Stormers and one felt for the young Bok flyhalf, who suffered the tragic loss of his father less than a month ago. Jantjies is an outstanding goal kicker with a Super Rugby career average of 80 percent, but his radar never functioned and he missed four successive penalty kicks. Joe Petersen was introduced for Gio Aplon and kicked all three efforts, but the match was one influenced by the Bulls forward effort and sealed by Steyn’s flawless goal kicking.

Steyn and Pierre Spies excelled for the hosts, and predictably Victor Matfield’s planning in combating Andries Bekker and the Stormers line out paid dividend. It was also aided by Deon Fourie’s experiencing a night at hooker the equal of Jantjies’s goal kicking.

Jean de Villiers was a strong presence for the Stormers and Bryan Habana’s night did not lack for effort. Siya Kolisi was the best of the Stormers loose-forwards but with the Bulls, as a unit, the more cohesive and impressive up front, Steyn was good enough to slay the Stormers.

613 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

go Stormers!!!!!!

Nerves are moertoe!

• 2.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Joy is me, my stress is over and now I can sit back and relax…

Good luck to both teams, extremely difficult one to call and perhaps I can only lean slightly to one side because of HGA (home ground advantage).

• 3.RL: Reply to this comment

Stormers are the overwhelming favourites.

• 4.S_K: Reply to this comment

Come on Stormers!Should be an epic encounter,but I fully expect the Stormers to come out on top against this leaderless Bulls team.

• 5.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Nah i bulls by 10

• 6.S_K: Reply to this comment

@RL-3: you not busy with internationals this weekend? :D

• 7.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Sitting in a pubin China waitingforthr game… Struggled my nanna off tofind a pub that shows the game

• 8.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Bad grammer i know.Struggling with the keypad not wasted yet haha

• 9.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@kaalvoetklong in China-7: What’s the pub’s name?

“Wugby World?”

• 10.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Mcaullys dont know if i spelled it right but i know its an irish pub

• 11.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Where you at brummbiesboy you in china, im in shenzhen

• 12.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@kaalvoetklong in China-11: No, I’m in SA.

But there’s a blogger on this site called NZINCHINA and I think he might’ve said he’s in that same city.

He should be on here later I’m sure.

Check around you maybe he’s in the same pub!

;-) :-)

• 13.kaalvoetklong in China: Reply to this comment

Cool thanks man

• 14.RL: Reply to this comment

@S_K-6: Capo are you not ‘busy’ with poodles :mrgreen:

• 15.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Go stormers

• 16.S_K: Reply to this comment

@RL-14: very lame,my little guppyboy. Surely you can do better? Why not draw a picture ? :D

• 17.RL: Reply to this comment

Woof woof woof

Run my little `@@”>

Capo is on the loose on a mission to impregnate you.

Sic.

• 18.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the USN bulle vs the Stormpies…

let’s go

• 19.China Bell: Reply to this comment

Peyper must be worth at least 15 points to the Bulls

• 20.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Go ssssssstttttttoooooorrrrmmmmmeeeerrrrssss. !!!!!!!

• 21.RL: Reply to this comment

Transformer I worked out the maths.

Nutritech (iffy at best) harlot queens are +40 points to the antipode teams and +80 to the ‘derby’ teams.

• 22.Theres something about stormers: Reply to this comment

Cmon guys- just a walk in the park…

• 23.Fern: Reply to this comment

Go Bulls!
    @Kaalvoetklong you should hook up with NZinChina,he is short on mates.

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

wynand chows de allende

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

deon kak at throwing

• 26.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Obviously Deon farked it up.

• 27.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Goooooooo Bullssssssssssssssssssssssss

Janjties misses 2 tackles already as Meisiekind ran over him

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

WTF happened to Timotei’s hair

• 29.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Terrible start by t stormers

• 30.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

3-0 Bulls

• 31.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Deon Dourie is the Bull’s secret weapon in the lineouts.

• 32.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

fast paced match so far, also both teams flying in

• 33.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-31: Well according to the revered Skop you big mate, :lol: F
    fourie is the best Hooker in SA

• 34.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Steyn v Jantjes kicking sesh this should be interesting.

Wierdly Stormers lineout looks good as does Bulls attack. Still waiting to see The cape boys playing in the Bulls half

P.s why are they wearing such similar kits grrrrrr

• 35.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Morné?@RuggaWorld

Meisiekind went through Jantjies easier than my curry went through my digestive system two days ago.

• 36.polaris: Reply to this comment

Stormers look potent like eunuchs in brothel sofar.

• 37.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

What a terrible game,,’!!!!

• 38.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Jantjies misses from in front. thats unlike him.

• 39.Fern: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn playing well,if he keeps it up he can be the second choice 10 for the Springboks behind Lambie.

• 40.Transformation: Reply to this comment

both hookers nowhere!

• 41.Fern: Reply to this comment

Same that happened to your front teeth Prawnie,it’s gone.
    Atleast his hair can grow back.

• 42.polaris: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-37: This is the first game of “real rugby”, so we were told.

Even last weeks Aussie derbies now look like thrillers in this borefest.

• 43.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Fern shutup

Goosen, Lambie and Jantjes the future forget Steyn

• 44.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Lame… cant get into this game after seeing the NZ conference clash earlier. Kirtchner sucks…

• 45.Fern: Reply to this comment

Rhys go and read again what I posted…

• 46.polaris: Reply to this comment

Hehe, hotspot.

• 47.polaris: Reply to this comment

A wicket.

• 48.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Klap hulle, Stormers!

• 49.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@polaris-47: :lol:

• 50.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Penalty Stormers

• 51.Fern: Reply to this comment

Keurboom is back,was gushing last time how pretty it finds the Deben boys.

• 52.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Fourie cannot and will never be able to throw… it is actually a joke at this level.or at any level even.

• 53.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Fern-51:

Girls, my bra. Lesbians is lekker. Vra vir meisiekind….

• 54.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

South Africa’s top Hooker looses another lineout for the Stormers

• 55.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

I heard the speed and skills of the chiefs earlier today was phenominal. This game is the pits!

• 56.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Dis lekker hier op Loftus

• 57.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Stormers should have kicked that penalty which would settle Jantjes nerves and the team would have some points. JdV bad call again.

• 58.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-56:

Is Oscar daarso?

• 59.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Sckalk Burger sit in die losie bo myne. Photo ops wat skrik vir niks

• 60.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Send these f’ng lions players back to Jozi.
    I knew that Jantjes was not the answer for Stormers pIvot and he’s busy proving it.

• 61.Fern: Reply to this comment

@58
    Stop being a dh oos,on the news they said he is in the holding cells at Brooklyn and going home tomorrow,plus even if he was there are thousands of people there…
    Ook naar fekkin onosel.

• 62.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Have to feel for Dewald Potgieter

Hes a great player shame that he keeps getting injured

• 63.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Oscar is cleaning his bathroom

• 64.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Stormers won Currie Cup because Fourie was 6 which is where he thrives and Ntubeni was at hooker. Thats the key

• 65.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well that’s what happens when you ask a Lion to act like thunder without the lightning

you end up with a gemors

the poor guy does not know what he wants to be

• 66.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-62: Great? I wouldn’t say that. He’s a journeyman imo. Apparently quite a bright guy though.

• 67.Transformation: Reply to this comment

penalty masjien steggies

• 68.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Rusty. Fark…..

• 69.W.P: Reply to this comment

As I said before…………….Deon Fourie is an openside.

• 70.cab: Reply to this comment

Looks like stormers going down – what’s the team sheet.? Can’t believe it

• 71.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-60:

Te veel buttons gerook

• 72.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes shouldn’t be kicking for goal the kicking out of range and out of hand is pathetic. Jantjes going to fck Stormers season just as I suspected.

The one kick that jdv gave him to go gorgeous poles at 45 mts was way off. Should be going for line out every time unless it’s less than 30 mts out.

Jantjes was a very poor purchase big fck up happening because of dumb selectivel buying.

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where is Ntubeni

• 74.Fern: Reply to this comment

@63
    How can that be?
    Part of his bail conditions prevents him to go back to the scene of the crime…

• 75.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Née fok Jantjies

• 76.polaris: Reply to this comment

Kakkest half in the season sofar by a mile.

• 77.Hondo: Reply to this comment

So Jantjies The Relegator still on the field?
    I put money he will be off after the 25th min, I must be wrong then

• 78.W.P: Reply to this comment

Stormers are piss poor! Deserve to be behind. Jantjies having a shocker!

• 79.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Both of these sides are stale… Same old, same old. Creativity lacking in our rugby across the board. Oh, well we’ll accept the rusty excuse for the time being and carry on being strung along. Too much kicking, too conservative and just too one dimensional and static.

• 80.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-67:
    wrong, Stegmann did not give that penalty.
    it was the tackler.

• 81.lightie: Reply to this comment

It’s like night and day between this match and Kiwi’s earlier. The defensive structure and physicality is better but I mean come on!? The Stormer’s line is so deep at times it’s silly.

• 82.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-72:

Too early in the season to judge him on his kicks.

Please don’t start an anti Jantjies campaign.

• 83.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-72:
    Too late,
    he is there as a plant to counter the Jonker/Peyper/Pro Legota/Jafta effect of swindle Stormers opposition teams

• 84.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Stop giving Jantjes kicks at goal can’t you see this idiots out of his league here ?

Send him back to Jozi before he fckd our whole sears in its moer. Big fckup starting Jantjes for this game. Everything he touches turns to sh’t

Pity is the coaching is got zero brains. How come is obviously a fckup and everyone think Jantjes the answer to Stormers pivotal problems. If we’d have started Pietersen at 10 we’d be winning whiz game hands down.

• 85.W.P: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn kicking the leather off the ball – handing possession to Stormers – only for them to knock it on. Farking hell lol. Rusty beyond belief. I hope they get to pull a rabbit out of the hat in the second half!

• 86.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

guess who’s just played himself right back into the Bok team…

• 87.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

and who’s played himself out…

• 88.Transformation: Reply to this comment

msteyn is terug!

• 89.ET.: Reply to this comment

My first live game this S15 season and I am subjected to this ‘k a k’ bore-fest, even ‘boer’-fest, game of meaningless kicking and running ‘rugby’?

Not even a hint of any creativity amongst all the backs, or anybody for that matter, and not a sight of skillful anything.

Unlikely to watch this to completion. A Friday lunchtime beer and salad would be infinitely better.

• 90.W.P: Reply to this comment

Bulls look slicker of the two units. If Steyn could kick less they could score more points.

• 91.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Stormers handling shocking.You cannot hope to win the Super 15 by employing
    a kicking game.The Chiefs will run you ragged,

• 92.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@ET.-89: I’ll see how the start of the 2nd half pans out. If the the players can at least inject a bit more intensity- if not I’ll also call it a night.

• 93.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Very boring game with terrible handling skills

• 94.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the stormers play worse than my Kings…

• 95.W.P: Reply to this comment

Big mistake to pick Steyn for the Boks. The AB’s will punish the Boks if we kick the ball back to them. Julle wil nie **** nie!

• 96.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes at pivot is the entire fckup here nothing else

All Stormers needed was a settled pivot and they’d be humming. Jantjes is faking up the entire Stormers rhythm beside missing 4 pisseasy kicks at goal.

Stormers shouldn’t kick at goal period. Run everything through the hands and go for line out every kick unless it’s within 30 and bang in front.

• 97.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Looks like Skopdiekan was correct?
    Lions & Stormers don’t gel?

FuxSake, did I not read here today that some bloggers were slagging off the Aus Conference as poor (relatively speaking)?
    Jeesh, let’s be honest, this is the poorest rugby of all the games since this year’s Super Rugby started a week ago.
    :-(

• 98.Transformation: Reply to this comment

penalty masjien steggies weer

• 99.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

That’s better run everything through the hands. Now why the fck give Jantjes another 3 points to miss.???

• 100.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Imagine Lambie missing 4 kicks to poles??? the flack he would be copped??/

Justsayin

• 101.polaris: Reply to this comment

Sheesh. Kinks can’t be worse than ex-Lions, can they?

• 102.Fern: Reply to this comment

Boring game
    Hope the Bulls win.
    Sharks to show everyone a attacking winning brand of rugby tomorrow.
    Boom!

• 103.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Quotas are here to stay
    Sit back and enjoy the farce

• 104.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-94:

• 105.lightie: Reply to this comment

There no pace and too much depth. Play a bit flatter and fix some defenders. Almost every contact situation in the Chiefs v Highlanders game the first reaction is to free the arms and get the head up, here it is head down moer hulle and recycle. It’s like watching 2nd XV club rugby but with more muscles.

• 106.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes losing this game on his own.

WHO The fcks bIg idea was it to buy Jantjes and lose Pollard and Du Plessis and whoever else through that absolutely idiotic decision ?

• 107.polaris: Reply to this comment

Both teams look like drugged, at least Morne scores. 4-0 vs Elton John’s 0-4.

Stormers simply diabolical. Bulls – no need to be even good to beat that bunch today.

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-100: calm down lambie se pa…

• 109.polaris: Reply to this comment

Give Elton the 5th chance, cmon :)

• 110.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

NOW GO FOR LINE OUT DO NOT GIVE JANTJES ANOTHER KICK AT GOAL !!

• 111.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 47
    Chiliboi faked tackle om Vemulen, Mapoa actually had stopped him

• 112.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Haban a spent force can’t make the half yard to the line

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

b.ullshit

• 114.ET.: Reply to this comment

@88

Since you are the new guru on the molecule IGF-1 can you enlighten me whether you are talking IGF-1 — receptor, insulin, signalling, brain, prostate, muscle, diabetes, bone, breast, exercise or more?

What does the I refer to? Inhibitory, intrinsic, Insulin, Insult, Indecent?

And the F?

Hope you know the difference between matter, molecule, element, atom, compound, mixture, isotope, and more before you attempt an answer.

• 115.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Didn’t I tell you we don’t need Jantjes should have started Joe Pietersen at 10 and we’d be creaming this game by now.

• 116.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Soon as Stormers run the ball they fck the one dimensional Bulls off the park. We should never have been behind in this game if we’d trusted our possession running game from kick off.

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

should have been a scrum penalty to the Bulls

• 118.W.P: Reply to this comment

That’s better

• 119.RL: Reply to this comment

Why do these bloody brokebacks destroy every single Lion player that they poach. Always turning a very good player into mediocrity.

• 120.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@RL-119:
    Keep him there, where he belongs

• 121.ET.: Reply to this comment

Look at this growing list of sportsmen with Italian connections; Armstrong, Spies, Pisto-lrius.
    They must love the outgoing Popo.

• 122.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Good players love “the bomb”.

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

JDV behaving like a Kiwi

• 124.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 60
    Kolisi gifted a penalty in front of the posts although JdV got the call
    Hehehe

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jean should get a YELLOW!

• 126.RL: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-120: that is the one sensible thing you said so far. :win:

Lionel Cronje the jersey is yours.

• 127.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-124:
    He dyes his hair Like a Brokback though

• 128.W.P: Reply to this comment

Fark Stormers are giving away soft penalties.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-114: msunuwakho is the receptor :D

• 130.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes should never have been bought by Stormers never in a thousand years. Shoulda stayed at Lions of gone to those fckup mercenary arseholes the Sharkishits.

• 131.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@RL-126:
    I make money off that game, the ultimate proof
    Keep him there, the blond brothers each is a far better FH and there is Lionel too who is big and strong

• 132.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transform-125:

No answers to the questions on your @88 post, Guru?

Name just one macro-molecule.

• 133.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-123: :grin:

• 134.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-129:

What about the other questions?

• 135.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@RL-133: RL, aint it nice to be a Sharkie?? :wink: :lol:

• 136.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-131: ja we know you make “leaving interpreting numbers” :D

• 137.garth: Reply to this comment

Time to switch Swiel to 10. No point in having 4 fullbacks and no FHs.

• 138.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-132: are you suur?

• 139.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

:lol: The Stormer savior is suddenly being wished away by the Stormer supporters??? :lol: now we hear he is KAK :lol:

• 140.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Chilliboy may have scored

• 141.RL: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-135: :wink: SL

Game over brokebackS the overwhelming favourites denied a losing bonus point.

Bullies I knew you could do it – CONGRATULATIONS.

• 142.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Try Bulls

• 143.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@RL-141: Hehehe, yup well done to the Bulls

• 144.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Terrible decision.
    How on Earth can this TMO say the boot touched the ball. All you can see from that angle is the ball in front of the boot. no way to tell how close the ball is to the boot there

• 145.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

look, i’m going to put it out there

for the record

i’m not convinced by the tmo’s call regarding that try

• 146.ET.: Reply to this comment

And now the cries will reach wailing proportions for the next week, at least.

And then watch the doubts creep in and the attacks on Rich, Tom and Harry with emphasis on the well tanned ones.

Still a K a K game.

• 147.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Let’s just say Sckalk and De Jong don’t look too happy

• 148.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145: cheating took place by crooked TMOs?

• 149.W.P: Reply to this comment

Stormers piss poor. Steyn’s penalties put them in an unassailable lead. Well played

• 150.Ho3n3r: Reply to this comment

So what about Habana holding the ball on the ground before the Stormers scored? And that boot by 17 was no less clear than Kirchner’s alleged touch on the ball from 45 metres out to cause a 5 metre scrum.

Nobody cost you anything, so stop bitching. The better team by FAR is winning at the moment.

• 151.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Backline 1000 Times better with Duvenhage at 10 compared to Jantjes fcking Stormers game to hell and back.

How come I knew this and nobody else including the dumb klutz coaching didn’t

• 152.W.P: Reply to this comment

Stormers have lots to worn on. Their tight five were nowhere tonight

• 153.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Eish – Lions got a mental block when it comes to Super Rugby …
    Must be the years ‘n years of losing
    Damaged goods?

• 154.W.P: Reply to this comment

Eish farking auto correct

• 155.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Stormers pretty rubbish, Bryan the only livewire

• 156.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-153: but sold voetstoots

• 157.norman: Reply to this comment

that was no try by the bulls
    both the ref and tmo were wrong
    the ref asked if the ball was touched by an opponent but did not know that the ball has to be intentionally toched to place an offside player onside

• 158.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-138:

Nee. Waarom, as jy wel net niks weet waarvan jy so ‘copy’ en ‘paste’?

Wat rol kan die receptor wel speel? Dit is in sel menbrane so wat verstaan jy daarvan.
    Kan jy dit verduidelik?

• 159.RL: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-151: if that is true then why is the score the same for your broke back team. Should they not have scores 4 tries by now or 1000×4. Tik maths?

• 160.Predawn: Reply to this comment

So Jantjies has gone from saviour of Gaylord rugby to enemy number one in 60 minutes. Even Pistorious has a bigger following.

• 161.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Bulls without being spectacular have been solid.
    @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145: The ball did toch the boot of no17 thus it is a try, also if you look closely you will see after Hougaart kicked the ball he ran forward into Kolisi, that had actually also put Chilli on side.

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-148:
    lets not not be too rash and rush to judgement, RedspeckledGuppie.

but a review of the tmo’s work tonight might be in order.

• 163.ET.: Reply to this comment

Where are my fellow, shallow, yellow Capies?

Why do they leave me alone here to face the storm?

• 164.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-155:
    you need to look up ‘livewire’ in a dictionary, boet.

• 165.RL: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-156: Queen Guppy – don’t tell me you have brokeback tendencies too. :grin:

• 166.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Bekker scored
    Mapoe and Kirchner didn’t cause him any missed sleep I could tell

• 167.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-161:
    really?
    well then i take it back
    my eyesight is not what it used to be.

• 168.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sel menbrane

• 169.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162: I agree with with the zionist commentator – we need hotspot.

• 170.Transformation: Reply to this comment

wynand owned de allende

• 171.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-151:

Deon Fourie lost the game for the Stormers in the first half already. When he missed his jumper in the 25 th minurte (attacking line out 5 meters from the Bulls line) for the 4th time i knew it was all over. If I was Bekker I would refuse to play unless they replace the plonker at no 2.

Congratulations to the Bulls.

• 172.Willehonde: Reply to this comment

Fourie should only be considered as a no 6. He is just absolutely useless in his primary duties!!

• 173.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Wank wank wank, where’s the ******* rugby?

• 174.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Predawn-160:
    in your dreams maybe
    Always been ‘The Relegator’ in reality, not sure how they called him at the Cape’s ancyl though

• 175.Robzim: Reply to this comment

At least the Cobras are winning.

• 176.ET.: Reply to this comment

Kolisi absolutely nowhere in this game.

What is wrong in the Cape?

• 177.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Nah, bulls were better side.
    Honestly just think its a joke that if your job is as a TMO then you should at least be able to figure out your angles and what’s conclusive and what isn’t.
    But then I except our commentators to remember who’s playing as well… Lost causes stealing a living

• 178.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Congrats Bulls, well played

• 179.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Load of krêp

• 180.ET.: Reply to this comment

Cell membranes for the limited plus challenged

Note the plural.

• 181.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

there is something very understated about Louis Fouche.

well done Bulls, a better start to the season than lasts.

WP is killing South African rugby.

• 182.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Well done, Bulls.

• 183.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-178:

I feel like a Madagascar Pepper Fillet now….. good stuff :)

• 184.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Well, Stormers should not be to sad as it was an away match

• 185.Smallzm: Reply to this comment

F you Keo.it’s cause you lost those other guys that you getting it right.good prediction! The curse is wearing off!

• 186.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No sel menbranes?

• 187.ET.: Reply to this comment

And the moans and groans and loans and maybe some sloans build up menacingly.

• 188.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Winning is not everything — Mark Keohane, Febr 2013.

• 189.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I enjoyed the game, relaxing. Bulls were a lot better than what a lot of you said they would be. A very determined side.

Hmm Spies, my pet hate, played better than expected I thought. M Steyn looked to be enjoying his rugby again.

Stormers, feck I don’t know, they are confusing. There is no set solid something or the other to say the game was like this or that, same with the players.

• 190.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-171: The entire Stormers pack was outplayed – not just Fourie (tho’ he was the weakest link)

• 191.ET.: Reply to this comment

Oh god how effin dump can you be?

• 192.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bulls play one way of playing & they stick to it…

• 193.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-164: relative to the rest of them ????

• 194.RL: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-173: playing with youself is not something you should be doing in a rugby blog.

@Robzim-175: commiserations.

• 195.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-169:
    perhaps but the Bulls were the better side hands down either way.

• 196.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-190:

Yip, huge disappointment- lets hope the kings do better tomorrow.

• 197.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-183: Bad luck there on the loss,

• 198.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Good win Bulls

• 199.ET.: Reply to this comment

And dumb can you be

• 200.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-196: Kings will show up…

• 201.Angostura: Reply to this comment

but I’m the unsung “guru” …
    I had 2 Stormers in my Fantasy 22 – Guess who?
    Deon Fourie & Elton Jantjes, as my kicker nogal!!!
    bwahahahaaa

Time for a drink …

• 202.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@RL-194:

Thks… I will survive…. they should hit their stride during the 3rd – 4th week of the comp i think (hope)

• 203.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

RL Take you klein klontjie en vat hom terug huis toe I never wanted Jantjes at Stormers and I been warning since the big fat overrated buy in that it was a big fckup of a decision. Jantjes fckd this game for Stormers solo. Any other pivot. Pietersen or Duvenhage or our other number 9 at pivot and we would have creamed this game. Jantjes missed 5 kicks Steyn kicked 6 and bulls scored a Bullshit try to top it.

• 204.Helderberg: Reply to this comment

Load of k?k Both teams are pathetic. These Lions rejects needs to go play for puke. At the end of the day both teams would concede 30+ against Chiefs, Highlanders, Crusaders etcetc nothing has changes except the Stormers-Lions were Mega ****. Oh and Bulls you also got huge problems

• 205.W.P: Reply to this comment

That was pretty diabolical by the Stormers. Tight five nowhere. Jantjies kicks and that strange decision to award a try didn’t help either. I am pretty disappointed by the way the Stormers played. Grant’s kicks helped them win close ones last year and that accuracy was sorely missed tonight. Lets leave be honest though 17 handling errors shouldn’t win you a game. Deon Fourie is a flank……….and a damn good one at that. Replace Elstadt with him and it should go much better!

• 206.ET.: Reply to this comment

Laporte says “Bakkies does not talk a lot”.
    I wonder why? Is he shy?

• 207.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You said “dump” you stupid micro molecule

• 208.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-200:

Lets hope they shut a few mouths.

• 209.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

Well that was a typical Saffa game sadly. Lots of huff and puff but basic skills just not there.

For the Stormers, I thought Vermuelen was good,rest of the pack were average. The 12 did well and Habanna was his usual hard working self. Elton, we know he is a good kicker, you don’t average 80% in your career otherwise and I thought he did nicely with ball in hand. Not gonna write him off yet like so many have already. Gotta give him 4-5 starts.

For the Bulls, didn’t really look dangerous. Sure they will kick you back into your territory but they just seem to play like the boks and endlessly kick the ball back to you and look average with it. I thought Zane was excellent, Venter did well, front row scrummed well, Houghard looked more confident. Good win for them just need to keep ball in hand more.

• 210.W.P: Reply to this comment

Skoppie we didn’t deserve to win. Aside of the kicks our tight five never dominated and I told you last season – Fourie is our premier openside. I do agree the decision to award that try was poor but that wasn’t the reason why the Stormers lost. That famed defence also let them down tonight.

• 211.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-201: :lol:

• 212.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-200: you do realise showing up and playing are two different things, right.

Is Mbiyozob going to show up?

• 213.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-193:
    if you mean in a snail versus tortoise kind of way then, yes.

• 214.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ET.-206:
    because he prefers to let his rugby do the talking.

• 215.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Jantjies and Fourie lost it for the Stormers. De Allende breaks to the inside 90% of the time and disrupts the backline.

Morne, Spies and Olivier was good for the bulls.

Interesting game

• 216.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My opinion:

Steyn brilliant with the boots but the Bulls never made any attacking breaks, the Stormers didnt make hardly any either.

Jean de Villiers, reminder he is bok captain, was absolutely **** at raising the team. He was apalling.

The Stormers would have won that game despite their lineouts, had Jantjes kicked his goals. Also JDV made terrible calls when 20m infront of the sticks to kick for corner when Jantjes would have settled with one of the easier kicks.

Positives for Stormers:

Habana, Vermeulen, De Allende & Pietersen

Positives for Bulls:
    Good set pieces, good kicking game, solid front 5

The Stormers have been dubbed winners of super rugby this year, well let me tell you that will not happen if they play like this. Losing Burger and Etzebeth and De Jongh cannot harm the team that much, they must learn to deal with it.

Also have to question Alistair Coetzee picking Jantjes and he should have never picked Elstadt, hes terrible hes **** he runs too high! Don Armand was great in CC final.

Stormers will be frustrated
    Bulls happy
    Both teams need to work for next week

• 217.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes Cilliers and Taute were all kakas Just give me back the Stormers of last year and pls keep Schalk the hulk out the mix also.

• 218.W.P: Reply to this comment

Bulls didn’t cover themselves in glory BUT didn’t make as much unforced errors like the Stormers did. Last season Steyn was missing them from everywhere and it cost the Bulls. Same thing happened this game. 12 points down the tube. I am a JP fan and would have him ahead of Taute who I do not rate at all. That said its the start of the competition and I’ll rather lose an away game………as long as its not the Sharks :)

• 219.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-203:

Yes you sour old ****. Just as bullshlt a try as the ons scored by De Villiers. Groom knocked, Habana was out. Peyper and his cronies tried their best to let the briesies win. Even the 5 sec rule favoured your kak team.

All I can say is Bullssssss!!!!!

• 220.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-189:
    pretty much spot on.

Stormers are a gemors at the moment.
    i think the sunday evening drum circles are not working.

• 221.polaris: Reply to this comment

The less worse team won easily this borefest. Stormerions deservedly got vokkol. Handling skills atrocious for both, creativity close to Force level.

Neither of them will win a damn thing, and don’t think more than one of them will feature in the playoffs.

• 222.RL: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-203: I’m sure you were one of the brokebacks who rejoiced his arrival at Newlands – many a brokeback did. Tell me the nic you used back in October so I can check the archives myself.

And FYI it was that skeef eyed Fourie and that spinless light 5 and impotent centre pairing that cost the Stormers a bonus point, yes that is all they were ever good for thanks to the mediocre AC and his less than usless coaching staff.

Blaming one mourning player in his first match in brokeback colours is what you toothless brokebacks do.

• 223.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Stormers team for next week:

15 Gio Aplon
    14 Gerrard Van Den Heever
    13 Jaco Taute
    12 Damien De Allende
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Joe Pietersen
    9 Dewaldt Duvenhage
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Don Armand
    6 Siya Kolisi
    5 Andries Bekker
    4 Michael Rhodes
    3 Francois Malherbe
    2 Deon Fourie
    1 Deon Carstens

16 Martin Buzidenhout (Spelling)
    17 Pat Cilliers
    18 Rynhard Elstadt
    19 Nizaam Carr
    20 Nic Groom
    21 Elton Jantjes
    22 Jean De Villiers

• 224.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Duane Vermeulen won the 8 battle hands down

Bok 8 queue

Vermeulen
    Kankowski
    Watson
    Botha
    Botha

• 225.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

The Bulls front row had the briesies front row in their customary position. Bent over arse pointing skywards….

• 226.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-224:

Yeah if you say so….Dumb Dwayne got owned by Spies

• 227.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-217:

Skoppie, why do you keep quiet about Fourie’s weaknesses at no 2.
    No team in the world will ever win a serious rugby competition with a hooker who cannot find his jumpers.
    Fourie should compete for a openside flanker position in the team or he must fark off to France or Timbaktoo or wherever asap.

• 228.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Sorry Spies
    Botha *

• 229.W.P: Reply to this comment

Its no trainsmash. Get rid of the handling errors, replace Elstadt with Fourie @ flank and JDV back at inside centre.

• 230.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

there is no credible reason not to believe the Stormers are about to go on a three match losing streak.

• 231.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Interesting how much better the Bulls scrum is sans Kruger & Greyling, but that not a surprise

Congrats Bulls

• 232.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oscar 1 Shrein 0

• 233.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Stormers have only themselves to blame for losing this considering they missed 4 or 5 penalties.

• 234.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

I wish the Bulls would do the right thing and dump Pierre Spies to their Vodacom Cup team. What a useless excuse for a rugby player.

• 235.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Go check all you like I been telling you since October I don’t want Jantjes at Stormers. Said it about 1000 times on this site against all you rejoicing Jantjes disciples that he was going to be Stormers messiah. Any other fly half started today and Stormers would have gone into half time ahead. While you about it please take your other Joburg jobless back to Jozi we far better off without any of them. Cilliers might come on handy in the long run.

Bulls had upper hand in front row and on the kicking tee.

Stormers didn’t deserve to win because these coaching fundis got zero clue about selection policy.

Anyone thinking Fourie lost the game got no clue. Game was lost at 10 through the first 50 minutes entirely.

• 236.W.P: Reply to this comment

15 – Pietersen
    14 – Aplon
    13 – De Allende
    12 – JDV
    11 – Habana
    10 – Jantjies
    9 – Groom
    8 – Vermeulen
    7 – Kolisi
    6 – Fourie
    5 – Bekker
    4 – Armand
    3 – Cilliers
    2 – Bezuidenhout
    1 – Kitshoff

• 237.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

Hey guys, here’s a link for the FORCE team for tomorrow’s KINGS match… thought you’d wanna know:

http://wp.me/P2QxT1-3S

• 238.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

Both teams were still rusty and unsure

Bekker missed Etzebeth they work in tandem, like Vic and Bakkies used to

Taute wasn’t that bad, we had a hard time stopping him

Jantjies had a bad day with the boot but he brings more to the game than Grant, give him a couple of games to develop

Habana never stopped trying, he’s the player he used to be again

We missed Dewald, we should start with Arno if he’s injured for a long time. Stegmann played well and our front row was a pleasant surprise

Wynand played well too, he’s no Bok but a very good at Super rugby level

We should release Juandre Kruger, his heart isn’t in it

Our pack lacked fire in the loose we need an enforcer and a busy flanker

• 239.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-233:

We lost at Newlands last year because Morne missed too much, it happens

Jantjies will improve he’s a quality player

• 240.RL: Reply to this comment

15 – Taute
    14 – Aplon
    13 – De Allende
    12 – Nizaam Carr
    11 – Habana
    10 – Jantjies
    9 – Groom
    8 – Vermeulen
    7 – Elstad
    6 – Kolisi
    5 – Bekker
    4 – Don Armand
    3 – Cilliers
    2 – Bezuidenhout
    1 – Kitshoff

• 241.blueboy: Reply to this comment

What a start to our super rugby season,the game itself was poor but i dont give a toss the bulls kicked the stormers arses and that is a fact,the scoreboard proves it.It is always good to beat the 2nd raters and with a good crowd at loftus the bulls deserved their win despite what skoppie and the rest of the losers think.A win is a win even an ugly win.Spies showed who is boss vermeulen deffinately came off second best,mellet in his first super rugby game played well better than penalty machine greyling.If greyling could cut out all the penalties and pettiness in his game he would be a really good loosehead.All i can say now the 2nd raters came of second best again HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

• 242.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

The line outs lost on own throw were about even Bulls and Stormers both lost own line outs . Giving Jantjes the 10 jersey and persisting with a weak link for a full 60 minutes stuffed Stormers in reverse gear till they woke out the delirium when Pietersen and Duvenhage came on too late.

• 243.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Pat Cilliers probably asking his agent right now to check for an exit clause in his contract. That tooth pick overrated “parkiebank” investor is doing fckall behind him come scrum time. Good luck Patrick…

As for Jantjies. I know the circumstances is different this year but the problem with him is, it takes 3 -4 games for him to settle. Mitchell made the same mistake with him in not playing him in the warm up games and he struggled in the first few games for the Lions in 2012. The other problem is with him, when he gets into his groove… he gets crocked.

• 244.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-239:

Congratulations to your team.
    Not a good match for either team but a win is a win.
    And you are right about Jantjes… he has shown in the past that he is a 80% kicker and there is no reason that he will not reach that standard again.
    It will be a massive mistake to bring Peter Grant back into the team… it will all be back to square one.

• 245.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Also… Bullies should start with Jacques Potgieter and Arno Botha. Dewald and Deon is hondkak.

• 246.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Chelsea has got Fernando Torres and the Stormers Elton Jantjes.

• 247.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-239: Of course he is a good player, and yes it happens that a players loses form, thats sport, but you know and i know had it been Lambie missing those kicks he would have been copping so much flack in here it would have been scary.

My point being that people are quick to trash players, now next week Jantjioes has a blinder, you watch the Stormers supporters go into a frenzy again :lol:

• 248.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Please rewind your PVRs to the crowd shot immediately after M Steyn made the score 9-0. Finally I know what Bakkies looks like!!!

• 249.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer-234: Duane Vermeulen was pretty pathetic in his own right.

• 250.blueboy: Reply to this comment

The bulls forwards outplayed the the stormers pack of that there is no doubt and that is why the bulls won the game.I never saw jantjies play as badly for the lions as he played tonight and i am glad he played so bad,as he made it easier for the bulls.The bulls were scrappy but i am sure we will greatly improve in the weeks ahead.

• 251.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-245: Deon gave away a few penalties tonight.

• 252.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@Xkreni-WP-225: No wonder they want to move to the stadium in Green point.

• 253.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-251: That’s the only time when you see him in the game. How they let CJ Stander go is beyond stupid. Arno Botha is a machine..

• 254.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-242:

> The line outs lost on own throw were about even Bulls and Stormers both lost own line outs

Early season jitters and rust, will improve with time

It’s a shame both teams didn’t start against the Force and Kings to iron out the bugs

> Giving Jantjes the 10 jersey and persisting with a weak link for a full 60 minutes stuffed Stormers

Jean should have given the kicking duties to Pietersen after the second miss, he didn’t need the extra pressure for his first game and Pietersen is a very good kicker

• 255.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-253: Agreed, CJ is a huge loss for them

• 256.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Jaco Peyper, a qualified barrister demonstrated his elegant style of swindling results, his refereeing was worth the Stormers about 10 points but he did it in such elegant manner: turned blind eye on the Stormers’ infringement while with possession, penalising the Bulls where he should in fact have penalised the Stormers
    The try was iffy, wasn’t there a knock of the ball behind the scrum? Peyper had a view look at it from his position.
    Stars of the day: Kirchner, Mapoe, Aplon, Habana and Kolis who faked/missed tackles like there was no tomorrow :D

• 257.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Well called, Keo! I presume you also switched to the vegetarian steroids that Oscar is using. Just kidding. Your game analysis was spot on.

• 258.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-254:
    Pietersen wasn’t even on the field until the 50th minute

• 259.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shurrup hondo

• 260.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Well done Bulls. Just returned from Loftus. Bottom line is they deserved the win. You can’t put your kicks over then you deserve to lose. Had a lot of fun and had a few beers with a regular blogger here… Good start for the Bulls…

• 261.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@RL-222: Try fitz1ella?

• 262.blueboy: Reply to this comment

here is my summation of the bulls players out of ten
    kirchener-solid 7/10
    mapoe-had a reasonable 1st game for bulls-6/10
    jj cant comment injured
    sub venter poor for bekkers try 6/10
    olivier-good game on his return-8/10
    basson-solid-7/10
    steyn-good game-8/10
    hougaard just above average-6/10
    spies-also good game on his return bossed vermeulen-8/10
    potgeiter-above average-7/10
    steggman-just above average-6/10
    kruger-good solid game-7/10
    flip-as kruger-7/10
    w krugerup until he got injured average5/10
    rallepele good game 7/1o
    mellet-in his first super rugby game a really good game-9/10
    and that is my ratings.

• 263.W.P: Reply to this comment

Let’s hope its just a early competition jitters. Two more tough games coming up!

• 264.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Jantjes’ diabolical performance was poetic justice. Last year he threw the semi-final to get WP in the final in order to secure his Stormers’ contract. Today he had to prove his mettle but without Uncle Carlos to motivate him, he fell to pieces.

• 265.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-244:

Dankie man, die jong ouens het dit nodig gehad

> And you are right about Jantjes… he has shown in the past that he is a 80% kicker and there is no reason that he will not reach that standard again.

He’s a good player, just needs to settle in a new team, give the kicking duties to someone else

Our front row was impressive, I was worried about suffering in the scrums beforehand but the new guy played well

We missed the Potgieters, both Dewald and Jacques, in the loose to go over the line

• 266.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-258:

That’s what happens if your watching rugby at work at 09:00 in the morning

• 267.W.P: Reply to this comment

I never thought that the Stormers would miss Etsebeth as much as they did. Forwards struggled to get over the advantage line.

• 268.W.P: Reply to this comment

The Bulls should change their gameplan for NZ teams. Those field kicks and bombs will play right into their hands.

• 269.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-260:

We lost the game at Newlands last year because Morne couldn’t kick the penalties, it happens

JdV should have stepped in earlier

• 270.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#256 Hondo I never like slagging refs,but i have to agree with you on this one, he really made some wierd decisions against the bulls,even the commentators were a bit confused by his whistling.

• 271.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-269:

For sure mate… The Bulls deserved the win – no doubt…

• 272.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

RAHHH!!!ba dub dub
    three Stormers in a tub

Rusty, yet satisfying, hey Stormersboy and Rage-o-matic? ;)
    Arno Botha should start as the regular, and Kirchner needs to be sold to a circus.

• 273.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjes has always been an overrated fly half and the swagger he walks with belies his ability. He will never get Stormers backline going he fckd up a good few games for Lions last year when he wasn’t in mourning. Lions were a far better outfit with Butch at 10 than with Jantjes at 10.
    Anyone thinking they rather have Jantjes at 10 ahead Ogden Grant or Duvenhage or Pietersen or

• 274.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-271:

We needed it more that they did

They’re the favourites to win it this year as well as the Sharks, we need to settle our young players for next years

We have found a better prop than Greyling, we missed his fire and abrasiveness in the loose though

We need a lock with more fire than Juandre, he’s a powder puff, he reminds me of the milquetoast guys I work with

Hougie played good, he’s playing better than last year

• 275.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

Hey guys, what do you make of the cartridge cases found on the scene in the Pistorius case?
    1 in the passage, 3 in the bathroom.

The passage make’s an L-shape into the bathroom, the toilet is in the corner, 1.4m inwards perpedicular to the main passage.
    I’m willing to bet that the bullet that missed Reeva hit the left-side wall of the toilet.
    She was found hit with the remaining 3 shot on her rightside as she cowered down, because Oscar walked a few paces into the bathroom to be able to get a better angle INTO the toilet room, that he couldn’t from the passage, so that he was sure to hit the occupant.

So I bet the first round missed, and Reeva started to scream, and then he moved forward and to the right so that he could shoot around the corner to his left. Seems unlikely that he would feel threatened and do that. :?:

• 276.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

Sorry, I haven’t been on here for a while, do we have a no-speculation policy here?

• 277.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Anyone thinking they rather have Jantjes ahead of Grant or Duvenhage or Schroeder or Pietersen or Van Aswegen and rather have one of the other hookers ahead of Fourie got no clue about this game.

Stormers problems are simple to fix buying Jantjes was going in exactly the opposite direction to fixing them. And dropping Fourie out of hooker is not seeking the simple solution either.

• 278.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The Andries Bekker try reminded me of the consolation try the Stormers scored in the Soweto final, after the game was already in the bag for the Bulls.

In fact, wasn’t that scoreline almost identical to today’s?

• 279.cab: Reply to this comment

If Fourier, cilliers, elsstadt, etsebeth, kolisi and vereulennin same pack – bulls won’t get close but I dunno who was selected.

• 280.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-275:

Have you ever seen how far an ejected case travels at a shooting range?

Imagine the same case bouncing off walls and tiled floors

• 281.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-277: 3 games into the season and peashooter Grant will also be kak again?

@cab-279: What??!

• 282.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-275: @Tuna-281: This really the place for that kak? Didn’t you get enough during the day? Wait till June and then wait some more…

• 283.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab-279:

Well, of those Fourie, Cilliers, Elstadt, Kolisi and Vermeulen were all in the “same pack” today.

Just Etsebeth was missing. And the Bulls did more than get close. They dominated the physical contest today. I was very impressed, and I’ve been pretty skeptical about where the Bulls are in their development process at the moment.

The Stormers will be better next week, no doubt. But still not good enough to beat the Sharks in Durban. So that will be two losses out of two for the men from Cape Town. Not sure who they face in round 3.

• 284.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

275 AT&T
    Cold blooded merciless murderous killer Oscar Pistorious. In a real system of equal justice for equal desperate deadly deed he should hang at the gallows tomorrow.

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

281 tuna – stormers pack too good if they pick right. – but sounds like etsebeth and kolisi and elsstadt out – put elsstadt and etsebeth into lock and the team transforms overnight

• 286.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-277:

> Anyone thinking they rather have Jantjes ahead of Grant

He’ll settle and give you the bonus points needed for a home final

You’ve tried the Grant option and it’s not working, time for a new flyhalf

Remember how long Habana took to settle?

• 287.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-280:

Yeah, but in that scenario it seems pretty confined. around the corner, we’ll have to wait for ballistics, but it seems that he got closer to fire off the last 3 rounds “around” the corner of the toilet with a better angle.

If he was closer, he could shoot at the previous angle, but being further gave him a smaller angle, so most like hitting further back the left-side wall of the WC.
    So Im better one bullet wont match where the other 3 went, if they are able to puzzle it back together.
    It’s not just the cases, it just makes me think that a man who feels threatened, fires one shot, walks on his stompies a few paces further and fires three more. That looks a lot less like defense.

• 288.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-287:

Botha could have kicked it walking around in the house

• 289.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-282:

Sorry, I didn’t get any at all.
    I didn’t read the comments.

• 290.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@cab-285: Elstadt and Kollisi was there. They were not on par. I’ll give Kollisi the benefit of the doubt becuase of his long lay off. As for Elstadt once dubbed the “Bakkies killer” on here…. he was no where.

• 291.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-288:

I doubt it, they take photos as they find it, even if he is incompetent, he is unlikely to screw that up.

• 292.cab: Reply to this comment

283 Tacitus – well then I’m slightly amazed.

Etsebeth and elsstadt should be paired together tho – the current locking combo is ultra-kak for a barney with the bulls.

• 293.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-287:

Hell no. If you really feel threatened, if you REALLY believe there’s a guy with a gun about to shoot back at you, then you aren’t going to stop with one shot. This idea that you pop off one speculative round and that this will somehow make the bad guy immediately disappear in a puff of smoke, that’s nonsense.

• 294.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-287:

If your life’s not threatened you have no right to fire, and you can’t see through a door

If an attacker chased you in your house and you ran inside the bedroom or bathroom and he tried to break down the door it’s another story because the threat has been established

• 295.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth is injured. Out another 5 or 6 weeks.
    Bekker and Steenkamp were at lock

Kitschoff Fourie Cilliers front row was overpowered by Bulls but possibly the lack of power was transferred from 2nd row.
    Back row of Vermeulen Elstadt and Kolisi was better than Bulls back row. But Elstadt should perhaps go back to 4 and Carr to 6 Kolisi 7 Vermeulen 8.

Bench Steenkamp Armand or Rhodes.

• 296.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab-292:

Yeah, so am I. What surprised me the most were the Bulls two young props. Amazing performance by Mellet and Kirsten.

But the Bulls pack in general just had the much vaunted Stormers Boks on the back foot for most of the game – excluding the first 15 minutes of the 2nd half, when the Stormers launched a spirited fight back, which then led the Bulls to raise their game to a higher level for the next 20 minutes after that.

• 297.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-292:

Till your hooker can find his locks in the lineout, you can have Bekker, Etzebeth, Victor and Bakkies in your team and you still won’t get any linout ball.

Deon’s throw ins was poor

Again it’s early in the season

• 298.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@cab-292: I tell you what. Forget about Bekker… fck give him the no 14 jersey because that’s his position choice. Let Elsadt and Rhodes pack in the second row. Your scrum will do much better. The tooth pick is the weak link and the blame went sole onto poor Brok’s shoulders. Bekker is kak.. finish and klaar.

• 299.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-294:

Indeed. Firing indiscrimately through a closed door, without certain knowledge of a guy with a gun about to fire back, is a pretty stupid thing to do. He will almost certainly be found guilty of something.

But that’s still a far cry from deliberately murdering an innocent woman.

• 300.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-287:

You must send your theory to Vinesh Moonoo , hopefully he can sort out the mess.

I wonder whether the magistrate has been fair in his criticism of Hilton Botha…. maybe the poor bloke just did not have enough time to follow everything up and to double check everything.

It’s been a rush to get the bail application done … somehow i think it was to the disadvantage of the state?

• 301.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-295:

What are you talking about?

Vermeulen was taken out of the game utterly. Kolisi was hardly ever even seen.

The Bulls loosies dominated their Stormers counterparts. But as usual, this was mostly as a result of the domination by the front 5. Still, it is ludicrous to claim that the Stormers back row were even in the game, let alone “dominating the Bulls loosies”

• 302.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-293:

Yeah, of course. But if ballistics can show that you fire one from a slim angle, walk closer and fire 3 at a different angle, then I don’t know if that is a man under threat all of a sudden.

If that first shot from the passage missed. Reeva mostly likely screamed. she huddle as far from the door as possible, and the other 3 were at a different angle towards where she cowered and pretty grouped if you take into account where they hit, so Oscar got a better idea of where the occupant was after the first shot.

• 303.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-293:

> This idea that you pop off one speculative round and that this will somehow make the bad guy immediately disappear in a puff of smoke, that’s nonsense.

Hey it happens that way daily on television? :-)

The best is when they stab a guy once with a knife smaller than a Swiss Army knife and he drops like an ox, as.s over tea kettle

• 304.cab: Reply to this comment

Mind u Becker and steenkamp not a bad combo – wtf bulls got in there pack – maybe some new blood – can’t see anything out here in Oxfordshire

Early doors yet – but big win for bulls no doubt

• 305.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-301:

Yep, the only Bulls try came from a barging Bulls loosie passage that took the ball from a Steggies gather in our half right up to the line, going through each loosies hands, it was on frmo there.

Other than that ours were everywhere, where was Kolisi? Practically nowhere.

• 306.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-300: Botha was a cocky fck. He was arrogant and tried to be clever. Most of those questions Roux asked could have easily been handled with this line. “I don’t know it’s still being investigated or we still waiting on the results”. Don’t worry…. Mnr Nel’s got an ace up his sleeve. He milked the defense case on all their “positive” points.

• 307.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-296:

> Amazing performance by Mellet and Kirsten.

Hulle het my ook verbaas, ons kan Dean vir ‘n sub gebruik van nou af

• 308.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Stormers loose trio was better than Bulls all of them.
    Bulls had upper hand in the tight but not in the loose ever.

Stormers problems are in the engine room front row and 2nd row. But in spite of that had we started with Pietersen or Duvenhage at 10 today and not Jantjes we would have
    won.

• 309.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-294:

Yeah, Im just saying while the shooting was in progress, to change your vatange point like that is pretty incriminating, especially if it was the first round that missed.

• 310.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Bulls and Bulls fans.
    Back from Loftus and was a nice evening out.
    The result sucked for me :-) and the rugby was not to bright from both sides.
    Lots of work if we want to come close to the type of match we saw this morning.

• 311.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-306:

Yeah, he said far too much, i agree. But who briefed him? I get so cross when they **** up like that… nearly the same as the Inge Lotz case here in Cape Town, total fark up by the police…

• 312.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-300:

I’m not so sure. As they said, it’s a high profile case that could have had that delegated to assistants if he couldn’t get around to it.
    Obviously they didn’t present half of the evidence, and even the postmortem result haven’t been confirmed, this issue of her empty bladder.

Did Reeva’s family charge for rape as well? They must’ve had the details from the postmortem then. That in itself doesn’t make him guilty, but proves conflict.

• 313.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-310:

Dankie Nortie

As julle gewen het was jy seker nou nog by Sin Bin of Eastwood?

• 314.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-309:

One step forward while shooting, the case hits a corner and flies in a totally different direction

• 315.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-311: How do you brief the head investigator? Surely he must know his stuff? The thing he cocked up but valuable info was gathered by the state on how the defense will go forth with their case. Pistorius is going to sit…. it’s just how long is he going to sit. Also the Steenkamp family has info and they will come forth in the trail. They were very quiet.. Some interesting things still to come.

• 316.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-310:

> and the rugby was not to bright from both sides.
    > Lots of work if we want to come close to the type of match we saw this morning

Still early days, our big guys only get really match fit after about a month

We sure had a lot of injuries tonight

• 317.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-313:
    Ha ha
    Nee wat, ons parkeer sommer so 5 minute se loop by die een ou se huis wat hy as students digs ingerig het. Dan braai ons voor die tyd daar, maak n kap of twee, stap af, kyk die game, neem n nightcap gesels bietjie stront dan kies elkeen pad huis toe.
    Baie gerieflik.
    Hoe het die game op TV vertoon.
    Dit was maar vrek vervelig en swak uit die paviljoen uit

• 318.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-314:

Unlikely at that angle, even if he was up against the wall, it’s around the corner, ejected into the passage.

And it seems more than a few steps, we wait for ballistic evidence, but I think Hilton Botha also could make out, even if he conceded that he wasn’t sure, that the shooter walked about 1.5m from the door and shot diagonally into the toilet to make sure he hit the occupant.

If the first bullet missed and was shot from the passage, you can’t explain that away.

• 319.W.P: Reply to this comment

Wouldn’t say the Bulls loosies were better. Spies poor as usual then again Elstadt was worse.

• 320.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@W.P-319: Spies was better than Vermeulen tonight. Take of your goggles.

• 321.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-308:
    The Bulls did all the basics right and should have won further.
    We started pathetic, right from the kick off we made our first mistake and didn’t stop making mistakes for the next 80 minutes.
    We are in deep ****, Sharks will murder us next week and I shudder to think what the Chiefs will do to us the week after.
    So after 3 games we are not going to be anywhere on the log

• 322.W.P: Reply to this comment

What are you thoughts on the try awarded to the Bulls? If Hougie kicked a grubber – irrespective if a Stormers player touched it – should it be called offside? Does it differ to a charge down or was the decision correct?

• 323.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-317:

Ons het altyd in Arcadia straat parkeer

Ek het die game op die rekenaar gevolg so tussen die werk deur, op die einde kom my f****n baas in en ek mis toe die einde

Ek het nie veel verwag van die game nie, ons jong stutte het beindruk

Die Blou truie is ook mooi, ek wonder watter kleur hulel alternatiewe trui is?

• 324.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-323:
    Die nuwe trui wat ek jou Ge e-mail het is Maandag te koop in Pretoria.
    Dalk gaan hulle dan daarmee begin speel ook

• 325.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@W.P-322:

No idea, but what I will say is that both teams scored some dodgy tries tonight. That try from De Villiers looked totally screwed up.

• 326.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@W.P-322: How about that try of the Stormers? Did you see that forward pass? They even had it in slow mo. Remember?

• 327.W.P: Reply to this comment

Tuna, you’re taking in too much through the gills, Vermeulen wasn’t at his best but he tackled well, took the ball up and won a couple of turnovers. Spies had one bullocking run and missed tackles as usual. He was anonymous.

• 328.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-314:

3 Bullets:
    Relatively small grouping; Reeva’s right ear, elbow, hip. Oscar must’ve been close for that.
    1 Bullet:
    Into the wall.

3 Shots:
    In the bathroom at a closer range.
    1 Shot:
    In the passage entrance, with a slim angle on the toilet.

Which do you think was which?

Do you think if Reeva was cowering, and the first shot came through the door and hit the left wall, she wouldv’e not made a sound as Oscar took 2 or 3 seconds to walk in and fire 3 more in a close grouping with a closer, better angle down the main axis of the WC?

• 329.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-321:

Are they facing the Chiefs in round 3? My goodness. Could be a start from hell for the Stormers. Guess Mitchell had the fixture list partly in mind when he said the Stormers were going to start slowly this season.

Could be 0 from 3 after 3 rounds of play for them.

• 330.W.P: Reply to this comment

At the end of the day it doesn’t matter anymore as the Bulls won and deservedly so

• 331.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Kolisi had a big game and so did Vermeulen. The problem with Stormers small front row and lacking grunt in 2nd row. Elstadt didn’t have a busy outing at 7 because the tight 5 were getting hammered.
    Elstadt should go back to 4 Rhodes or Armand or Kolisi to 7. Carr go to 6. Fourie stay at 2.
    Jantjes out the 22
    Groom Duvenhage / Pietersen Habana Jdv Taute De Allende Aplon

Bench Schroeder Peterson/Duvenhage

• 332.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

And Van den Heever no. 22

• 333.Suidkapenaar: Reply to this comment

This game was an embarressment for SA rugby. Nothing can hide the fact that the Stormers lost a match to a Bulls side with Kirchner, Olivier, Steyn and Spies. The least said about it, the better.

• 334.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-329:
    Yep, looks that way.
    Sharks in Durban next week then the Chiefs at Newlands.
    From what I saw tonight, doesn’t bode well.
    Not sure how it looked on TV, but from the stands it was torture.
    De Villiers saved our butts a few times on defense by coming out, and 5 years ago he would have taken the intercept, but pity he knocked on.
    Bekker started **** from kick off, the forwards are all over the backline and no quick ball.
    If they do that against the Chiefs, they are going to be taken apart

• 335.W.P: Reply to this comment

Prefer playing the tougher teams at the beginning of comp.

• 336.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-329:

Yep, and we all know how long a kicker can take to get his eye in ;)
    Easily 3-0 down with a very small margin going forward.
    Their Lions buys looking very out of place, hence our tactical kicking was a leisure.

• 337.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@W.P-335:

Well, glad we could help, W.P. ;)

• 338.W.P: Reply to this comment

The Stormers backs stood very deep tonight. I would switch De Allende and JDV around. We looked better when Jean played at inside centre.

• 339.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-334:

Well, coversely, the Stormers were on the rack in each of those instances, with the Bulls having orchestrated clear overlaps through patient phase play. Only De Villiers and Habana shooting up out of the line in desperation saved them from certain tries against them. If the Bulls can work on their handspeed a bit, those could be three tries in the bag next time.

• 340.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@W.P-322:

Both tries except Bekker’s were a bit iffy

• 341.W.P: Reply to this comment

A kick up the backside badly needed. I hate to say it but if they play like this against the Sharks it will end up like it did tonight. Let’s see if we can turn it around next week.

• 342.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-339:
    Definitely, they looked the better side as the game went on.
    Only the 10 odd minutes at the start of the second half did the Stormers look like playing, the rest we were overpowered.
    Having said that, for all the field and ball they had they were only 3 points up, and if Jantjies kicked half decent it could have been level, or if you opt for a 5 meter line out instead of 3 points, then you bleddie well should win the line out.

• 343.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

Is it just me or is there some chemistry going on between Alister Coetzee and Schalla in that Super Rugby campaign ad?

• 344.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-342:

The Bulls dont have that much of an adjustment to make, the Stormers…..ja.

• 345.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-324:

Nee die trui het die Blou Bulle wapen op

• 346.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-342:

> or if you opt for a 5 meter line out instead of 3 points, then you bleddie well should win the line out.

You should train Deon to throw in, you’re an ex hooker yourself?

• 347.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Stormers can beat Sharks but not if they start or even play Jantjes in the 22.

If we don’t ditch Jantjes we’re fckd. As shaky as we played today and missed line outs if we started either of Pietersen Duvenhage or Schroeder at 10 and not Jantjes we would have won. Nobody misses 5 kicks in succession and hopes to win and beside the poor kicking Jantjes running game is dismal plus his field kicking no better. Even missed a penalty to touch.
    Jantjes paralyzed Stormers in every facet of play. Playing off the back foot because the pivot is downright hopeless.

• 348.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-344:

Ons moet net vir Spies uit die span adjust

• 349.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-342:

Look, the Stormers have the tightest defense in the competition. So as Ludeke said in the post match interview, if a defense is that tight, the space is behind them, hence the tactical kicking.

Against a side like the Chiefs, the tactics will change, as their defense is weaker but they run the ball back from deep much better.

I think the Bulls are in transition, and it will take Matfield 5 or 6 games to get his attacking game sorted out. Then the tries will come.

Also, the injury to Engelbrecht cause a reshuffling of the entire backline, which couldn’t have helped the attacking coordination. I’m just happy with the 4 points, truth be told, and having a first game win under the belt.

The pressure was on us, as it was a home game, so it was a must win. The Stormers will have their chance in the return leg, but crucially, the fact that they didn’t get a bonuspoint will mean the Bulls just have to come within seven to come out on top from the two clashes.

• 350.S_K: Reply to this comment

Congrats bulls,but an extremely poor game of rugby.hopefully the sharks will play a different type of rugby to the **** witnessed tonight or we might as well already hand the trophy over to one of the kiwi franchises .chiefs to retain the title or the crusaders to take it.

• 351.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-348:

Neeee, ons moet net vir Spies adjust.

• 352.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-347:

> Jantjes paralyzed Stormers in every facet of play. Playing off the back foot because the pivot is downright hopeless.

Nope your forwards didn’t dominate, you were tackled on the advantage line

The two times you had go forward ball you scored

• 353.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-351:

Ek sal hom adjust as jy hom vashou?

• 354.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-344:
    They did everything they had to do.
    With Steyn on song, they played the field, got the points and won the game.
    Easy peasy game.
    Been a while since I saw a fly half kick so well for position.
    Usually everyone just boots it straight to a defender. Steyn put the ball behind the players and just kept turning them.
    Our Lion acquisitions, the less said the better.
    Pietersen would have been better on from the beginning and even Aplon would have been better than Taute.
    Poor Aplon had to come off to make way for a kicker.
    When Jantjies played against the Stormers or WP he hardly ever missed, now he can’t kick his own arse playing for them.

• 355.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Anairetes agilis-351:

I have to laugh.

Old Anti-Bull Stransky was practically popping his load in glee when the Stormers made their comeback in the first 15 minutes of the 2nd half. He then gloatingly said it was now time for Spies to show his leadership skills to get his team back on the front foot, as the Bulls were under pressure.

Lo and behold, the Bulls suddenly shifted to a higher gear and went from 12-7 to 25-10 in the next 20 minutes, with the Stormer never coming in sight of them again.

Maybe old Spies isn’t such a bad captain as you guys make him out to be.

• 356.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-352:

Rugby is a mental game, especially for inexperienced players.

I think that very first crash ball where Wynand used Jantjies as a speedbump took all of Eltons confidence away, and he imploded from that point onward.

He is a good player, but was just mentally unsettled by the physicality of the Bulls today. They targeted him with their strong runners early on, and it took him out of the game.

• 357.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-353:

Kyk, ek het krag in my hande, maar daar is genoeg geweld in ons landjie. En ek wil nie die toorn van die Spies sien as hy daar loskom nie, maar ek dink ook hy moet net bietjie kwaad raak haha.

• 358.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-352:
    Yes and no
    I agree with Skop
    Jantjies doesn’t have right footed kick, he was almost caught close to the try line and managed to dodge 2 defenders before clearing with his left foot.
    This is a Springbok, ffs, he should be able to clear with both feet.
    On attack, I won’t place all the blame on him though, our props, locks and loosies all think the are God’s gift to backline players and keep interfering and trying to run the show

• 359.S_K: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-349: so ,you already accept that they will lose,but you will be happy with a bonus point? how will one point be of benifit to you in the greater scheme of things or are you only interest in scoring more points than the Stormers over the two games?

• 360.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@S_K-359:

At the start of the season we were told we wouldn’t win a single game against the Stormers. If we end up with more points than them from our 2 matches, then it means we only need to do the same to the Sharks to end top of the SA log, potentially, with a home semi.

After that, anything can happen.

• 361.cab: Reply to this comment

I’ve never understood jantjies hype – play joe p or grant still way better , popgun boot or not still the closest to honiball SA rugby produced and knows how to take it to gain line

• 362.Anairetes agilis: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-355:

Ja, haha, I switched to Kobus Wiese and his “Is dit die vonk wat die Stormers benodig!?” every 10 minutes anyway.

• 363.cab: Reply to this comment

I think that frills Kirsten I saw number of years back in jnr SA rugby side – he damn good but I never know to what extent they come thru at snt level – kitschoff still young but needs to impose himself, strong as an ox

• 364.S_K: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-360: fair enough.i think it might take more than victories over fellow Saffa sides to end on top of the conference,but I accept it won’t do the bulls chances any harm if they can beat their main contenders in the points race over the two games.

• 365.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab-363:

Kirsten arrived at the Bulls with great promise, but was out for almost 2 years with a serious neck problem. He is fully recovered now and if he can make it through a ful season we might see him reaching the potential he showed at junior level.

But yes,I was very surprised that the powerful Stormers front row from last year were totally dominated by the rookie Bulls props today.

Last year Kitshoff was the next big thing, with Pat Cilliers being the next big thing in Heyneke’s Bok squad last year.

Today two nonames drilled them into the ground at Loftus. Strange game, this rugby.

• 366.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@S_K-364:

I think you’ll find that the team that did the best in the local derbies also ended up top of the SA conference in the last two years.

• 367.S_K: Reply to this comment

@cab-361: it was his first game,bud. Let us give him a chance to get it right .it is enough that we got Skop going mental regarding his horror show tonight !

• 368.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-365: That’s because the 2 no names have two LOCKS behind them. Not a lock and wing wannabe.

• 369.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-361:

> grant still way better , popgun boot or not still the closest to honiball SA rugby produced and knows how to take it to gain line

No no no, that’s sacrilege or blasphemy, your pick, comparing Grant to Lem, the Bos scored tries with Lem in charge

How many bonus point tries with “take it to the gain line” Grant in charge of your backline last year? zero

Even the Bulls with Morne “skop en jaag” got 6 points for scoring more than 4 tries

• 370.S_K: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-366: correct,but then the bulls at least needs to beat the Stormers or sharks twice this season to win the conference title.i don’t see an extra two points over their main rivals clinching it .just my opinion.

• 371.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@S_K-367:

> it is enough that we got Skop going mental regarding his horror show tonight !

He goes mental every night

He’ll start swearing soon

Like in his song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwXrBe4QbMU

• 372.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

I couldn’t f’ng believe it Jdv was giving this guy tough kicks at 6-0 down which I knew would miss and then keep giving him more chances to miss from way out. Every one of those kicks in first half should have gone to touch and Stormers would have been in the game if not in front at half time.

Worst f’ng decision ever by Stormers management to buy Jantjes biggest fckup purchase ever and there been some bad ones before now. He will never get Stormers backline going ever. Grant is 1000 Times better pivot for Stormers than Jantjes. When Duvenhage went to 10 suddenly some shape and direction in backline and Pietersen kicking more difficult kicks from touchline over.

I been saying from outset that buying Jantjes was a big fckup and what’s worse is I reckon if they hadn’t have bought him there’s a good chance we might have kept Pollard or Du Plessis. Now we got saddled with Jantjes who is NOT Ever going to be the pivotal force Stormers need.

• 373.the curse: Reply to this comment

HM will be pleased with Steybs kicking form

can see him being first choice for the bokke if he continues.

• 374.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-372:

> to buy Jantjes biggest fckup purchase ever and there been some bad ones before now.

After the 1999 WC the Bulls bought Jannie de Beer, Os and Naka.

I don’t think Jannie ever played a full game for us, Os played a few, but they were mostly injured

Naka on the other hand unfortunately played many games for us

The worst purchase ever was the Force(?) buying Abdre Pretorius

• 375.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-372:
    Grant is better, but even with him we don’t really rake in the tries do we?
    We must get rid of these fat, tall and lomp forwards that keep taking the first receiver pass.
    Even with Brock Harris not playing, some other plod just takes his place.

• 376.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-375:

I though you’re going with Brock on flyhalf?

Jantjies missing the first couple could be understood, why Jean persisted with him should be questioned

• 377.cab: Reply to this comment

Jantjies doubts himself, which is a problem, unless he’s fundamentally brilliant skilful talented, which he’s not – so u got a kak bang fkthalf where instead stormers need to be smacking it over gain line with their robust mobile pack and halfbacks getting on over it.

Grant always been v underrated by a predominantly skop-befok flyhalf rugby public, but Joe p has IMO the makings of a great fkthalf after goosen for boks.

• 378.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

NORTE 375
    Problem is NOT Grant problem is Stormers game plan and conservative mind set.

If the pathetic coaching would give the backline the directive to play running ball in hand rugby like we only started doing at 12 – 0 or 15 – 0 down today we would see plenty more tries. I have been very disapproving of Stormers coaching and game strategy for long time. It better change soon or we going absolutely nowhere in any kind of hurry.
    Jantjes is not the answer at 10 I knew this long before they even signed him when they were so eager to do so.

If we played Schroeder or Duvenhage or Joe P at 10 would be huge improvement to Jantjies but Peter Grant is also far better option to Jantjies in every respect. Kicking or running game. Both.

• 379.cab: Reply to this comment

Tho VB has a point honiball was the gdam meneer. Where’ve all the great fly halves gone?

• 380.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-377:

Neither Joe nor Grant has the X factor, Jantjies will come through

• 381.S_K: Reply to this comment

I am sorry Skop ,but you are an idiot to go on about Jantjies like this .a guy that had an 80 percent kicking success rate last super season can’t just suddenly be a flop after one game.

• 382.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-378:
    I like Grant at 10, always have.
    I agree that We will have to make changes, but is it just game plan or is it mindset?
    The players are like robots in SA

• 383.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Grant got fckd around in S.A. rugby should have been Bok 10 in 2008 pdv would never have looked back. But he is not a kick chase big boot fly half. Boks play an archaic game that went out in the dark ages. If HM plays Morne Steyn at 10 he will see his arse big time again.

• 384.cab: Reply to this comment

S_k
    He’s got a phenomenal offload, but it appears wholly coached by the kiwi magician no 10 whose name I forget. not sure hes a natural and he gets one hard shot and its normally tickets .

• 385.S_K: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-380: exactly.convincing cab and Skop will take some beating. :D . I now believe that the sarugbymag guys were right in saying that Jantjies should not have started on Friday night.

• 386.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-381:
    It wasn’t just his goal kicking that was poor.
    He brought zero to the game today.
    Steyn outplayed, out kicked and outclassed him.
    If this was a trial game, which in a sense it was, he failed.
    I realize our stupid forwards mess the backline up, but he still managed buggerall with the ball he did get.
    And I’m not just knocking him, Taute also brought zero, so he also looks like a dud buy

• 387.S_K: Reply to this comment

I really don’t see how grant is Bok material .he is at best a crash ball merchant .no boot on him as well…and a ten needs a good boot on him irrespective whether the team is playing a kicking game or not .

• 388.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@cab-384:

Strange game indeed like Tac said, two years ago Etzebeth took the game to Bakkies and no-one expected it

Last year Morne couldn’t hit the posts if he stood next to them and lost us the Stormers game, yet today he couldn’t miss

We expected to be slaughtered by your front row, but our youngsters did the Eben thing to your frontrow

Wynand bullied Jantjies, we expected him to run us ragged

• 389.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is a kak fly half and will not do Stormers any good we got way better options at 10 from Grant to Pietersen to Duvenhage to Schroeder to Van Aswegen. Wtf these morons were thinking breaking the bank to sign Jantjies when they should have far rather been concerned with retaining Pollard and / or Du Plessis they got sweet f’all rugby brains between their numbskull ears.

Jantjies is a poor purchase and he will never amount to a top rate game winning 10 definitely not at Stormers we don’t need a kicking 10 we need a hard running one who at least gets some tough kicks over . 5/5 missed in one game isn’t poor kicking it’s downright diabolical.

• 390.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-386:

How many games did it take before Habana settled, a whole season?

• 391.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-386: What quality of ball did Jantjies get? In the first half the possession was 70% to 30% in the Bulls favor. Also territory was all Bulls. No I don’t care who you are… you will struggle. Also he did not have the luxury of the warm up games.
    Judging people on the first game of the season?
    Last year Grant was kak. Duvehage was kak etc etc now they the answer again?

• 392.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-386:

What did you think about Hougies game?

He looked better than last year

Maybe Skop was right about him eventually living up to his potential?

• 393.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-386: you are prepared to say that after one game ? Give the two chaps a few games more and we can pick up this conversation again. Us supporters are normally a fickle bunch and I fully expect the tune to change when these guys have brilliant games .it’s just the nature of the SA beast.

• 394.cab: Reply to this comment

VB
    Not my front row, I just think stormers currently got pre-eminent pack in SA rugby but beating the bulls in PTA never easy maybe they gone soft again after breaking the voodoo – always capetonians problem too laidback too much boom too much gdam mountain beauty, that’s why they won’t beat the ernstige boere for too long – but there’s a great deal of natural talent

• 395.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-392: Box kicking still ****. He needs a big season. Ruan Pienaar not the answer.

• 396.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-390:
    Jantjies is only there for one season.
    You know that the fly half must run the show.
    I feel sorry for him, it’s not all his fault.
    They should never have started with him after the tragedy of his father passing away and him not being involved in the warm up games.
    I suppose his mind was a whirlpool today knowing his dad wasn’t in the stand.
    Fact is, he was selected and did play, but played poor.
    We have all lost relatives, but still had to go back to the office and do our jobs, so in a manner of speaking, he went back to the office today, but stuffed up his job.

• 397.S_K: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-389: pollard and du Plessis are schoolboys or were.what the hell is your problem with Jantjies.i don’t think you have ever seen du Plessis play ,but it fits your agenda to go on an anti-Jantjies tirade.

• 398.cab: Reply to this comment

Speaking of mountainous beauty, yodelee ooo ooo

Night

• 399.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

And I don rate Lambie either also overrated fly half but he’s couple notches better than Jantjies presently. Fr Fcksake we fckdup Sharks with Katraklis at 10 and he is also never going to be a world rated 10 either.

• 400.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-392:
    Was still slow and caught a couple of times.
    If I was the Stormers, I would have been in his ear all game about how he caused the shooting etc.
    I know it’s dirty, but all’s fair in love and war.
    Reckon he would have lost it if they gave him some verbal.
    @S_K-393:
    SK
    I am talking about today, that’s the only point of reference we have on him so far regarding the Stormers.
    He was poor, and see my post 396 for possible reasons and that the selectors are also to blame, but it doesn’t change the fact that he failed today’s test

• 401.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-400: I don’t dispute that fact ,but I’ll have this chat with you again when Jantjies and Taute have a few games under the belt rather than being labeled as duds after one game.

• 402.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-401:
    I really hope so.
    I am worried this year, with the loss today and the Sharks and Chiefs next up, we can be in deep doo doo after 3 weeks

• 403.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-396:

> Jantjies is only there for one season.
    You know that the fly half must run the show.
    I feel sorry for him, it’s not all his fault.

I think you’ll take him over once his Lions contract has run out

Same with Taute

• 404.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jantjies shouldn’t have been in the team today shows what a bloody retardant the Stormers coaching fraternity is. F’ng idiots of mammoth mismatch propensity. Stormers 1000 times better soon as Pietersen started taking kicking and Duvenhage running at pivot like chalk vs cheese

• 405.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-403:
    If he does decide to stay, he must take charge.
    He must chase the forwards out of the backline and play as he sees fit.
    If he stuffs up while trying something exciting, I won’t be so bothered, but if he plays like a per programmed drone and still stuffs up, well that’s worth getting irritated with.

• 406.S_K: Reply to this comment

I am out of here .keep the faith Nortierd.the boys will get it right, sooner rather than later.

• 407.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-406:
    We have no choice, we must.
    Enjoy the evening

• 408.S_K: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-404: I agree with you on that point ,Skop . He should not have played against the bulls.

• 409.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Just got home from the game
    Who is that no 12 from WP again?
    All he did whole game was telling Jantjies and Taute were to stand
    Pretty angry dude
    Won’t want him in my team

• 410.S_K: Reply to this comment

Gone now.cheers

• 411.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-409:
    Damian DeAllende
    Was a crappy game to watch from the stands.
    Enjoyed the vibe, but not so much the match

• 412.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Would have invited you for a beer if I knew you were going
    Had lots of fun
    First game everyone were rusty
    I think it was 50/50 support?
    And thanks for the name. He seem like a doos

My phone sucks so I’m out
    When you want tickets to a game at my losie we can chat

• 413.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Running late
    And no sign of Nama? how come
    Well with the 10-15 points that Peyper gifted the Looters it surly raises the question:
    How many points did Jantjies cost them?
    Another question is: what was the combined contribution of Jantjies, Aplon and Habana in this game?
    That’s not to say that Kirchner, Mapoe and Basson contributed much more,
    How the hell these two rugby unions plan to face the NZ teams this year is beyond me.

• 414.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-412:
    Thanks, will be fun
    Enjoy the evening

• 415.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Oh. One last thing. All the Strompies said they will own us in the scrums…..

• 416.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-415:
    You murdered us.
    If it wasn’t for the uncontested it would have been worse.

• 417.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the Bulls for their win but it’s pretty ugly stuff to watch.

• 418.lightie: Reply to this comment

The teams seemed so slow, compared to the other games today. Steyn and Vermeulen stood out as top performers for their team. But neither side really stepped up to any degree, ineffective backline play for the majority of the game and the Bulls tight five slighty edging the counterparts. Gotta hit them kicks.

• 419.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

You Breezers make me laugh :-)

• 420.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@lightie-418:

Clearly there was no extra training put into back line play during the off season, Steyn is going to have to kick a lot of penalties against teams like the Chiefs.

• 421.polaris: Reply to this comment

Wasn’t it the very FIRST game Sir Elton played in his new team skipping all pre-season warmup games due to compassion leave?

In that case, AC decision to make him debut in probably the most hostile rugby place in SA without any prior rehearsals backfired big time with his confidence sinking faster than Titanic.

• 422.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-420:
    China…Bro…I went for the Bulls on the back of Morne being a proven match winner and the home ground advantage. Plus I agree with Skops sentiments regarding Jantjies, probably not as vehemently, that he is somewhat flaky and has yet to really prove himself against the top sides in this comp.

• 423.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-422:

He’s certainly done it for them many times before at Loftus so good call, I’m looking forward to the NZ backs getting amongst these SA teams.

• 424.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-423:
    The way the Chiefs and Highlanders came outta the blocks last night with them taking it to the line, going to be very interesting when they come up against the Sa sides who will try and grind them out in the forwards and kick the up and unders

• 425.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-424:

What a game the skill level just keeps rising but more importantly our beloved Blues kick off tonight.

• 426.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Tonights game with the Blues v Hurricanes is another game that may get a tad loose…I’m hoping the Blues take them on in the forwards with the pick and go and good drives from lineouts and mauls.

• 427.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-425:
    Yep…so glad we have a coaching staff JK & GH, that have the true interests of Auckland Rugby at heart….No mercy for them Canes…

• 428.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-425:
    Oh yes the skill level, wonderful advertisement for running rugby….

• 429.lightie: Reply to this comment

I enjoyed the game earlier but the first 30 minutes from a defensive structure and discipline in the tackle area was quite poor. It’s crazy how simple things like trying to hit the arms evade some players, backs trying to run over props etc, eish! The 10 channel looked vulnerable in that Chiefs game. The enterprise and offloading was sublime though.

• 430.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-427:

Couldn’t get any Bluer than those two, the Canes have got some superb backs on show tonight so there should be plenty of tries, the reason why we watch the game.

• 431.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@lightie-429:

When the Bulls won the super title in 09 or 10 they leaked plenty of tries, sometimes letting in 20 or 30 points a game but still won.

• 432.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-430:
    Yep…the Canes backs are slippery and very skilful…the Perenara guy is another who needs to be watched closely.

@lightie-429:
    Yep, the defence needs to tighten up and everyone needs to put their body on the line when they come up against teams from Sa…..if you can’t match those sides in the tight, they’re going to run over you.

• 433.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-431:
    The Bulls forwards from that vintage were very very good….they were the difference…plus the rules suited them to a tee.

• 434.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-433:

They knew they could overpower sides in the 2nd 40 at Loftus but they still leaked plenty of tries.

• 435.lightie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-431:

Fair point. Exception to the norm perhaps. I still think it’s a different game now and defences are only getting better. I should probably wait till week 3 or 4 before I judge teams, let them get some form and momentum. I must say the scrummie options in New Zealand are scary at the moment.

• 436.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Funny thing is Rangi when they were doing it, it was vintage rugby when a NZ side does it it’s called basketball.

• 437.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@lightie-435:

Yer of course very early days but I still think the Loftus crowd would love to see a return of the Bulls throwing it around and scoring 5 tries, they got the win last night which is the most important thing but a bit of entertainment wouldn’t go a miss either.

• 438.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-436:
    hehe…..We know what our sides are about, China……ball movement….

• 439.lightie: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-438:

And pace.

• 440.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-438:

The Blues shouldn’t have let Anscombe go, he looked very composed last night.

• 441.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-434:
    Yep….but there have been a few sides throughout the history of the comp, that carried a confidence about them….that the winning result seemed inevitable….

• 442.grant10: Reply to this comment

Stormers flatter to decieve….again.

D Fourie needs to concentrate on playing openside….that lineout throwing is now beyond a joke…

well done Bulls.

all in all a rather unflattering advert for the state of SA Rugby….I hope the Sharks can reproduce the last month of last years form, or the Aussies and Kiwis are going to be laughing at us again…..

• 443.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-440:
    He was treated rather shabbily imo, especially last year when they kept on going back to Hobbs….he will grow in the Waikato and it will be our loss…Good for him though…

• 444.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-441:

The semi against the Crusaders, I can’t remember the year but the Bulls were down by around 20 and still powered back to thump them impressive stuff, you must be including the Blues sides of 96 or 97 with that comment they never looked like losing, ah the glory days.

• 445.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@lightie-439:
    Yes Lightie and pace…that’s across the board..

• 446.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-443:

He was, I’m hearing big things about the Blues 15′ though sorry I can’t remember his name.

• 447.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@grant10-442:

Wasn’t much of a spectacle for the crowd!

• 448.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-444:
    Oh the glory days…(.I saw Jonah today….hes looking ok, still needs another kidney)…The skill level in that team was sublime

• 449.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-446:
    Theres Charles Piutau…a rampaging brute of a player from the back…I think he was U/20 player of the year in 2011….if he can combine with Ranger….fireworx

• 450.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-448:

Poor b ugger I hope he pulls through ok, GH did a great job with that team but they probably would have done it without a coach they were so good.

• 451.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-449:

Yer that was him lets hope he has a blinder tonight, I was born in Wellington so I can’t lose tonight he he

• 452.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-450:
    Is sad about Jonah….I have to agree, the leadership core in that team was beautiful….in a manly way…

• 453.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-451:
    What….haha…When I watch North Auckland play Auckland, I feel the same way…

• 454.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-452:

My brother is good mates with one of the guys in that pack, so we always got the good stories especially the ones when Auckland played Harbour they hated each other in those days, Zinny used to call for the pushover try when scrumming on the half way line.

• 455.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Technically poor game with no apparent plan to get over the adv line. Yes they did but it just seemed they did it by accident.
    Lots of Hester skelter!

• 456.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Well CHINA…I’m off to my Sister in Laws Birthday, to drink their refreshments for pre-game warmup….Go the Blues and I will catch you up during the game…hope its another one like last night….give the crowd on Keo plenty to think about.

• 457.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-454:
    Zinny what a man…..the epitome of what was/is Great in Nz Rugby…

• 458.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-454:
    I hate North Harbour too….bunch of blouses…

• 459.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-456:

Cheers Rangi

• 460.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-459:
    Yeah Bro….Cheers

• 461.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

I said the Bulls the would win.

I said the Stormers would NOT pick up a bonus point.

…………………………………………

I said the Stormers would finish 13th……..

’tis true.

• 462.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

STORMERSHITS SUCK!

• 463.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

BULLSHITS ROCK!

• 464.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

SHARKSHITS RULE!

• 465.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

SKOPISHIT NEEDS TO WEAR A DIAPER.

• 466.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Haha, I’d like to thank the following:

Robzim
    Ruck/Dog Pedigree
    I am a Stormer
    stormerboy
    S_K (Capo the c…nt)
    Transie
    WP
    haha at least the Bulls won. Anyone but the Stormers

• 467.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

f*ck the Stormers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13th place.

• 468.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Apologies to the decent Stormers folk out there but with “supporters” like Skopskiet & S_K (wnbb) on their books I’m so glad the Stormers lost.

• 469.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I think some of you are a bit harsh about Jantjies, yes he had a bad game….BUT….I think he is very much a confidence player and was desperate to do well in his first game playing in a new team.

He should have been taken off when it became apparent he was not coping, no support from his Captain, and his Coach should know better.

In saying this, I don’t think he is Bok material even though he has had games when he just couldn’t do anything wrong. He is to much like Ruan Pienaar, cept he doesn’t get that defeatist look about him.

• 470.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-468: many of them went bulls on bru.

• 471.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Stormers must be miffed about their two Lions hand me downs. Pathetic showing by the Stormers. As usual all the pre season hype amounts to bugger all for the Cape clowns. See Habana has not lost his acting abilities in the off season either

• 472.W.P: Reply to this comment

Rather at the beginning of the season. Also ShaunB its the first game of the competition for. There’s plenty of games left for the Sharks to prove you wrong. :)

• 473.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Interesting to see how Keo mentioned good defense…… easy to defend against either team that have attacking prowess of a pack of worms.

• 474.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Elton (Candle in the wind) is pretty useless without Uncle Carlos to hold his hand.

With Fat Pat and Red John to anchor the scrums, the Stormies will end up in Row K in the scrums against most teams. Fortunately for them, the Bulls also had babies packing against them.

Perhaps a better idea to pick Bekker at Spare Wing. I think he finds the rucks and mauls too claustrophobic.

• 475.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Well done Bulls.But above all gO SHARKS

• 476.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

2 teams who dont play stamkar rugby.Judging by selections,think it will be
    match of the week end.Go Sharks

• 477.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

stampkar

• 478.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-473: Good luck to your team in a few, they better not drop me, i have you guys winning on SBru. :mrgreen:

• 479.nortierd: Reply to this comment

1) again congratulations to the Bulls
    2) Loftus remains a fun place to watch rugby, the Bulls support gives goosebumps.
    3) ShaunB, as long as you are happy :-) I don’t think we will end 13th though
    4) Jantjies had a poor match, but by the same token, so did Taute.
    5) If Jantjies was still not over his grief, he should not have played.
    6) They should never have started with him in the 1st place after no warm up games. He could have been on the bench.
    7) The Bulls deserved the win, but it’s not as if they set the field alight, they were just so much less poor than the Stormers.
    8) From a SANZAR point of view this match did not come close to what we saw between the Highlanders and Chiefs.
    9) If the Stormers persist with having props and locks and loosies in the backline, it doesn’t matter who plays at 10.
    10) I hope the Sharks win, I am so desperate for Superbru redemption that I will gladly read from the HG’s and ShaunB’s how good they are just so that I don’t slide any further. :-)

• 480.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-476:

The match of the weekend involving the Cheetahs, we’ll see but I doubt it.

• 481.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-479:

Norty somebody needs to teach these boys how to attack with ball in hand.

• 482.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-479: Howzit Nortie. I think start of season rust will be a thing of the past come next but yes this was hardly a showpiece for SA rugby. Just we put one over the Stormpies

• 483.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-473: No comments collumn Hurri. We won it, no matter how ugly. We should win at least 4 of our first 5 games going forward which should give us the start and the momentum going forward.

• 484.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-481:
    Difficult for a backline to attack when the first receiver is a fatboy prop or lanky lock.
    @KWAGGA ROBERTSE-482:
    Hope so, for all our sake, but again, geluk Boet, julle het verdien om te wen.
    If it wasn’t for uncontested scrubs, you would have murdered us towards the end, the Bulls were definitely the fitter and stronger side by then

• 485.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Think the Drifta must be on this afternoon.
    Kings playing the same time as Eng vs France, and the latter is definitely my first choice to watch, with respect to the Watsons, :-) , I don’t think the Kings will match them in viewer stakes.
    Maybe even Cheeky will have that match on in the losie

• 486.Grizz: Reply to this comment

That was the worst performance by a Stormers team that I can remember seeing! What have happened to Jantjies, he had a dreadful game? The Bulls were not much better but at least their kicker could slot the ball through the poles. After watching the Highlands v Chief game on Friday morning, if these are South Africa’s best teams, we have major problems.

• 487.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@479,
    I have not posted here in a while but want to tell you two things that some other bloggers can learn from you.

A little class goes a long way.
    You dont have to flook the world to make a point

Very nice post.

• 488.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-487:
    Thanks

• 489.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-483:
    And well done for the win.
    Correct no matter how it is a win.

• 490.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-479: Hi Nortie, I haven’t read any comments except for this page. I concur with most of what you have said!
    First of all – well done to the Bulls !
    Jantjies was always going to be under cooked and as you have said, perhaps he should not have started.
    Fourie had, as was predicted by many Stormers supporters (myself included) a dreadful night at lineout time. AC and especially Proudfoot will have to come up with a plan but this situation will never cease while Fourie has to feed the lineout. You can’t play rugby if you can’t even get decent first phase ball.
    Too much was said about Mellett’s so called scrummaging weakness: do the talking on the field. It is fairly stupid IMO to say beforehand that you are going to target an inexperienced player. It only provides motivation to the opposition! Mellet did very well IMO
    If you leave 12 points on the field against the Bulls by missing your penalty kicks, you are going to pay the price for it.
    Fortunately the Super competition isn’t won in February !!

• 491.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-490:

very impressed withour scrum

Good win but we need improve on attack

Spies answered his critics

• 492.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-490:
    Hi Charles, you are right.
    I mentioned earlier last evening that if you opt for a 5 m line out instead of the 3 points, then you must win the line out.
    As much as I like Fourie as a player, he is too light and out of his depth as hooker.
    I hope Tiaan and Scarra get fit soon.

• 493.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-241:

How insightful clever boy

• 494.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Do racists C*nts like Hondo really exist or his kind is just a keyboard warrior?

• 495.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-491: I missed the match, however playing at home against a weakened Stormers pack does not constitute “answering his critics”

Let him play away in NZ vs Crusaders and handle Reeche etc .. THEN we can say he is answering his critics. Sorry but the Bok no8 is still DV for me but hopefully this year we will get more balance if HM doesnt keep picking 7′s in all back row.

• 496.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Well played Bulls. Took all the points that came your way while we were wasteful almost nonchalantly.

Stormers not gelling lekker yet.

Overall the game was too tactical for a matchup so early in the season.

Hope the Gups & Cheetahs are prepared to take more risks.

• 497.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-490: Your problem is AC as coach, he is not progressive enough .. Proudfoot is ok should be doing better but for Stormers to make the next step in winning the S15 they need a coach in the quality of Ewan M, Jake snakey or a Robbie D.

• 498.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-494:

You must be on drugs.

Do you honestly think that the entire ANC is not awash with racist bigots…and you have the cheek to ask such a dimwitted question???

• 499.Predawn: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-457:

One of the gentlemen of rugby.

• 500.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@the curse-373: Steyns tactical kicking
    sublime

• 501.Rage: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the Bulls and their fans.Steyn the difference….hope u enjoyed the afterparty Agile

• 502.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

It’s amazing that, after beating a very poor Stormers outfit which left 12 pts on the table, the bulls are suddenly very good and Steyn a superhero.

• 503.nama1: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Bulls and their fans. A very good win for them.

They stuck to their game plan and it worked for them.

Stormers seemed to be stuck in the wrong gear but maybe it was because the Bulls never allowed them to shift gears. Hopefully they’ll “click” as early as next week.

Again, well done Bulls.

• 504.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-413:
    Had a very, very late night.

Sorry to have disappointed you. :lol:

I thought Kirchner was very good for the Bulls, Chilliboy scored a contentious try while Basson was good on defence. He did not get much chance on attack.

How did you rate Steggies’ game? The Bulls locks lost quite a few balls on their line out, didn’t they?

• 505.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Stormers are overwhelming favourites to win the conference “title”.

• 506.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 505
    And you are the overwhelming favourite to win the most-iritating-doos-of-the-year “title”.

• 507.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@506

Fantastic!

Anyone but the Stormers.

• 508.W.P: Reply to this comment

Comp is long. Teams will take knocks along the way. Let’s see if ShaunB sticks around or if he pulls a HG on us when the Sharks see their @sses.

• 509.W.P: Reply to this comment

So Shaun, last year when UCT raped the Sharkies, where were you?

• 510.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Rage-506:
    Oh really?

Who entered me in that little competition? You?

• 511.Rage: Reply to this comment

@510 nama

Wees kalm en kyk reg vi wie di post bedoel is ek sê.

• 512.W.P: Reply to this comment

Lol

• 513.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Rage-511:

Nama is so gewoond daaraan om ‘n doos genoem te word dat dit ‘n eerlike fout van hom was :-)

• 514.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-505: Om conference te wen is soos om n drukkie in n knockshop te kry. Verheug die siel maar verneuk die…..

• 515.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Shitabrock… The Stormtroopies first game of the season and this thread is only just plus 500 posts…

Sniff sniff Boo farken Hoo… Why is it so quiet here?

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAHAAAAHHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAHH

BOOM!!!

• 516.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Rage-511:
    Sorry bra’. Verkeerd gelees. :oops:

• 517.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-513: dis eintlik ET se show daai

• 518.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Enjoyed Loftus last night for the first time in the five times I have been there…

The atmosphere was good before and after… Got a hangover from Hades today still… and its only 2 hours from kickoff to Super Rugby proper…

Yes, the 1st game for the Super Champs 2013 elect…

We are Black
    We are White
    We are
    We are
    FuckingDynamite…

Them Sharks are gonna get you…

• 519.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-515: Lek wonde daar in die Kaap…….onder andere

• 520.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-513:

• 521.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518: Got your boytjies by 8 on bru but you have a knack of farking things up in Bloem. Lets see

• 522.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518:
    You reckon your boys can beat the Cheetahs in Bloem?

• 523.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518:

I saw plenty of Bulls okes wearing the pink jersey last night at Loftus. What size did you purchase, Bullshark? :D

• 524.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Of course I was supporting the Light Blue last night…

And fark me they were full value for the win even though according to the “kenners” on this Stormfront propaganda site, they were overwhelming underdogs…

They played more with the ball… were far more enterprising than the Brokebacks… and their setpiece was a step above the “vaunted” Stormer pack…

Fark… it was actually embarrassing the scrums and lineouts… looks like the Visdorpie team is reverting to type… Powderpuff pack… but without the so called traditional enterprise in their backline…

Fark me the way they played last night they might not even make playoffs never mind win their cherished Conference “Title” that they reckon is theirs to own until Kingdom Come….

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAHAAAHAAAHAAAHAAA

• 525.cab: Reply to this comment

1st game of the season and it was away – remember newlands is the new fortress of SH rugby, they’ve got something like a 90% win record over the last. 3 years or so, not so?

• 526.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-521: Ja, we shall see… Will be a good game, with tries guaranteed…

Lambie vs Goosen… Very juicy matchup.

Maybe Beast against Coenie too…

JPP vs Rhule also…

And Steaming Willie against Stimela Mvovo…

Yep, a potential game of BOOMING excitement…

• 527.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-522: In short. Yes.

• 528.Rage: Reply to this comment

@513 mr black
    Hehehe

@516 nama
    Daasi pyne ni bru

• 529.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-524: For the last two years we have had to sit through countless threads of supposed Stormers superstars. Parkiepiel, Brock and the newest cape posterboy, their wingnut hooker. I reckon they will and should bounce back but for now the bragging rights is up north.

• 530.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-523: Was wearing light blue for the first time in my life…

I felt naked and a little bit dirty at first… But fark me I was singing “Marching to Pretoria” with the best of them at 25-10…

Today though I am all Black and White…

The colours of Dynamite…

You know what comes next…. :lol:

• 531.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-529: Fuckright… the bragging rights stay up North…

Its no longer Shitabrick either…

Its shitabrock…

And it was beyootiful in Cathedral Loftus last night…

(Couldnt bring myself to shout “SPPPIIIIIEEEEESSS” though… to be honest)

• 532.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-526: Always a mouthwatering prospect as there is always a twist in their somewhere. Think you should have the goods over the Bloem boys though.
    Missed Loftus last night unfortunately but damn it looked as though there was fun to be had by all. Trademarx and Eastwoods must have been pumping last night!

• 533.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-526:
    Hello HG
    It took long for the spirits to get out of your system from last night to now.
    Sounds like you really got on the Blou Trein.
    Expected the bada bada boom to come much earlier
    Loftus was nice last night, not the match outcome for me, but the vibe was great.
    I must warn you, I picked the Sharks on Superbru and so far I am 1 from 5 for this weekend and am obviously putting a serious curse on the teams I picked.
    If the Cheetahs win at least you can put it down to me picking the Sharks and not the Sharks playing poor.

• 534.Rage: Reply to this comment

Now Ive heard everything…the Sharks’ self-proclaimed biggest supporter wearing blue to Loftus….draadsitter deluxe.

• 535.nama1: Reply to this comment

I have the Sharks by 2. Don’t mess up my bru any further now. Stormers already did a good job of it by losing last night. :lol:

• 536.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-530:

a little boom

I enjoy going to Loftus. The fans of both sides mix well. I had one old toppie sitting behind right behind me giving a non-stop commentary – I thought I was going to be deaf by the end of the game until he started to lose his voice even before half time.

• 537.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-529: Sheezus… Neon Deon the apparent and undisputed “2nd best hooker in SA” was a farken joke last night… He makes Burdens throwing in seem like a laser guided cruise missile…

Chiliboy farken outclassed him six love and straight sets… Funnyshit :lol:

• 538.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-536: stormers was well represented last night. More so than usual.

• 539.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Speaking of booms – will the breezes stick with Elton or bring in 20 metre Peter?

• 540.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-532: Yep… Was great… weather was awesome too… And the women were farken beyooties too…

…. girls in their summer clothes… Eish

Pretoria women… the best in the land… Undoubtedly

But farkme the state we were in, we impressed no-one last night :lol:

• 541.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-533: Yes Nortie… Rest assured though… Never fear when the Sharks are near :wink:

• 542.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-535: Ditto for you Nama… All good when choosing Dynamite

• 543.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-538:

We were going for a hatrick of consecutive Super rugby wins at Loftus. It didn’t quite work out as planned.

Well done to the Bulls. Enjoy the victory.

The Stormers have plenty of work to do before next weekend.

• 544.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-537: Yip long year ahead of him if he carries on in this vein. You might pick up a lot more ‘aaag nee po@s’ on the ‘veld ore’ if this is his modus operandi going forward.

• 545.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Rage-534: Draadsitter? That means I dont choose sides…

You are wrong… Last night I did… I supported the underdog, who prevailed…

Today I support the favourite… Who will prevail too…

Draadsitter my lily whitearse…

• 546.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-536: Lol…

• 547.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540:
    I’ll tell my wife you saw her there last night, thanks, you can look but touch, capish :-)
    @Heavens Game-541:
    Ha ha
    I hope for your and my sake you are right, I have been free falling in all my pools and it feels like when I pull the ripcord a damn piano comes out and no parachute

• 548.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540:

I saw one oke outside Trademarx late last night who was totally out of it. Didn’t know whether it was New Year or New York. Don’t tell that it……………………….

• 549.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-544: Hehehe

• 550.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-547: I hope you meant “dont touch”… Nevertheless if you didnt, I promise I will be naaice :wink:

• 551.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-543: I’m sure you’ll bounce back after this one. We needed this though from a confidence point of view. @Heavens Game-540: it happens quite easily at Loftus. Watched a Friday game there a couple of years back that started out as breakfast at Eastwoods. Never again……eina bliksem.

• 552.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-548: Twasnt me… Strues.

I dont do Trademarx.

But if you saw a good looking aryan farker with a bit of a farked up accent with a Pommie inflection relieving himself in the middle of B field…

I may have to put my hand up…

• 553.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-550:
    Lol, yes, please put the don’t in, lest I be mistaken for a pimp :-)

• 554.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-552: Paalpister?

• 555.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-551:
    Suppose it ended as a Sunday lunch :-)

• 556.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Pakistan weet nie meer waar om te stani.

• 557.Rage: Reply to this comment

HG
    I can appreciate that but actually going so far as to wear the colours of the Stormers’ opposition illustrates the extent of your unhealthy obsession with the Stormers…what will you do when the Stormers play the Kings? Push a spear up your behind?

• 558.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-554: No… Die Pale were nowhere near…

Twas in the center meneer Venter…

Allegedly :wink:

• 559.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-555: thankfully not but I had a babelaas until then.

• 560.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-552:

Normally go to Eastwoods but decided on Trademarx this time around. As you said, there are plenty pretty poppies in P’town. It was a long day – and thank god for goodfellas.

• 561.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-504:
    Steggie was rusted and not his old self, combined with ineffective Spies that was a give away
    They should start with Ano Botha imo, the Stormers were stronger there although both loose trio were pathetic in general, the difference maker was Peyper, about 12-15 points to the Stormers.
    Kirchner is good as a good joke, and Basson the defender tackling of Aplon (once) was the highlight of the match.
    I missed on my margins of 10, but the Stormers better remember that at the Playoffs they may not have the services of Pyper, Jonker, Joubert or Pro Legota.
    And then what?
    :(

• 562.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Rage-557:
    He doesn’t need a match to take place for that to happen.
    Normal Friday evening S&M ritual for our Shark friend.

• 563.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Rage-557: Nope… It was supporting the team of the City I live in… Simple.

The fact that the opposition was the Stormers just made it that much sweeter when supporting the underdog…

No, I wont be wearing a Force jersey today… But I will be opening a can of whoopas mixed with schadenfreude when the Bantustan Kings catch their first smack after a real super rugby game has been played already between the Dynamite and Vrystaat…

Simples… :lol:

• 564.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Rage-557:

I don’t call him Bullshark for nothing! He wears that lable with pride. :D

• 565.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-560: Not a kak call in Pretoria nowadays.

• 566.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-561: Exactly right… Even with Peyper on their side, the “favourites” got fuckedup last night… It was schweeet

• 567.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-560: A verry long day… And long morning too…

Now for the main game in 1hr 20 mins…

• 568.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-562: Nearly got it right… You just forgot to mention the cohort of dwarves…

No S&M session complete without a few little people to toss… :lol:

• 569.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-568:
    So you have small hands?
    @Heavens Game-563:
    Pity the Kings are playing the same time as the Eng v France match.
    6 Nations match will be the better choice to watch

• 570.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-569: Maybe… But I got farken big feet…

• 571.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-570:
    Ha ha
    If you ever decide to change your nick, may I suggest changing it to Zoolander

• 572.Rage: Reply to this comment

…and a farken long nose

• 573.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-571: Ja nortie ja…

@Rage-572: Not really… Was quite a Roman nose a long while back… But is quite skwonky now…

So, more crooked than long… capishe?

• 574.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outtahere…

Nearly time for the main game…

Warmups… Elbow stretching before full contact.

• 575.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-574:
    Enjoy, and I would have said good luck, but obviously when it comes to the BOOM Dynamite, no luck involved or necessary

• 576.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-574:

I note that gift that keeps on giving affords you the means to keep them on their backfeet with all their expected defeat and the accompanying moans, groans, loans and chuck in some sloans.

Enjoy this but you should be doing it often this season.

• 577.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Kings 4 Life!!!

can’t wait to get to the Slaghuis :D

yeehaaaaaa Super Rugby is here

• 578.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-577:
    You going to watch live Transie?

• 579.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-578: yes Nortie gates open @ 16:30 big screen to show the guppy vs states match & THEN it’s SHOWTIME!!!!!!

People are excited, jostling for last minute tickets….

• 580.gunther: Reply to this comment

Good effort bulls still a lot of work to do.

Some players looked very rusty.

Interesting to see the Stormers vaunted loose trio bossed.

Didn’t expect that.

Didn’t expect to dominate the scrums either.

But we’ll take the win.

• 581.cosca: Reply to this comment

Kings! Kings! Kings! Kings !
    History boys !
    Die vleis is gespice
    Die bier is op ice
    Super rugby in die Baai!
    Die Here is goed .

• 582.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-577:

hahaha at Slaghuis!

That’s kak funny.

You also going through your warm-up routine? Enjoy the day.

• 583.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-579:

Some shisa nyama outside the ground followed by some quiet lagers

Enjoy you guys have waited a long time!

• 584.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-579:
    Enjoy boet
    Good luck to your side
    Hope the stadium is packed out.

• 585.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-580:

The Stormers have plenty work to do ths coming week. There will be some gruelling training sessions ahead – plenty af-kak.

Trust you have been savouring the victory.

And it’s good to see the Proteas on top of things. Again. Despite prostestations from those who said it won’t be done.

• 586.Rage: Reply to this comment

@cosca-581:

sjoe ma jys omtrent excited

• 587.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-585:
    Who is Abbott and where does he come from?
    Watching the cricket now and see this bloke bowling, no clue who or what or where he is from
    :oops:

• 588.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@cosca-581:
    :-D
    Enjoy and good luck to the Kings

• 589.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-587:

He’s a laaitie from the Dolphins. Also never heard of him. But he was the leading wicket taker in the 4-day comp at a very impressive average. He was also surprised to get a call-up when Kallis pulled up lame.

• 590.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-566:
    I compounded that Peyper factor too, as a counterweight to the detrimental effect of Jantjies on the Stormers, but Bekker’s try ruined my earnings, but then when Kirchner and Mapoe are in his way, what would you expect? :(

• 591.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-589:
    Oooohkaaay
    Thanks, never heard of him or saw him before.
    Shows how much I know ( or more specifically don’t know) about domestic cricket at the moment.

• 592.gunther: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-585:

The young bowling bowling talent coming through sounds very encouraging.

• 593.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-591:

and he grabs another.

• 594.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@gunther-580:
    “nteresting to see the Stormers vaunted loose trio bossed.”
    That was expected, or wasn’t it?
    Spies and Steggie are a spent force, ineffective, more so with their rather soft tight five
    I thought that playing Pottie, Arno Botha and Stander would have been a far better option, the Bulls loose Trio nearly cost their team the match

• 595.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-591:

and another – what a debut!

• 596.gunther: Reply to this comment

Abbott on a hattie.

Where is ou Drieballas?

• 597.ET.: Reply to this comment

Kolisi looked to me to play without much motivation or passion yesterday. He appeared to be merely going through the motions for much of the 2nd. half.
    Is there something amiss? Is he trying to indicate that he may not accept his bench role when the like of Schalk return or possibly the persistence of playing him with slowcoach ,’domkrag’-types like Elstadt and DV(who truly cannot do that job or play the genuine loose-forward role in that unbalanced trio)?

The best advice to Siya would be to return to the E.Cape as there he and even Carr will be more able to express themselves as loose-forwards in the role they desire.
    That blond Schalk look-alike Devon Oost does not compare favourably to either loose-forward I advise to move. Their learning curve will move upward measurably with all the opportunities they will get in the E.Cape.

• 598.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-594:

Well Stander is gone so no crying over spilt milk.

Once Potgeiter limped off Spies Botha and Steggies outplayed their counterparts.

Much to my surprise.

Fourie was a disgrace at hooker for the Briesers.

• 599.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-596:

BEHIND YOU!!

• 600.ET.: Reply to this comment

Dit lyk vir my asof die gatkruiperige ************* ‘n slagoffer van ‘n skedel wat vergruis is, wil wees.

Kan die onkultuurde met my gesels in ‘n ware Suid Afrikaanse taal?

• 601.gunther: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-599:

It’s that Eastern Standard time of day.

• 602.ET.: Reply to this comment

All the stars = w e r f …………….

Ek sien sy suiger is nie ver agter nie. Suig boeta suig hom droog.

• 603.nortierd: Reply to this comment

5 wickets on debut.
    Well done Abbott
    Now I know who he is

• 604.ET.: Reply to this comment

Praat boeta praat ‘n ware S.Afrikaanse taal as jy ‘n ware S.Afrikaner is.
    Of is jy onvolledig in daardie gebied?

• 605.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-601:

Timing is everything. :D

• 606.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-603:

Allan Donald recently made a comment that he was concerned about our lack of depth in the fast bowling stakes. I don’t think he has too much to be worried about.

• 607.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-606:
    Doesn’t look like it.
    This test side of ours is unbelievably good at the moment

• 608.ET.: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer- MOFFIE-605

Hou jy daarvan om te suig?

Jy is mos ‘n ware:moffie ,nie so nie?

• 609.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ET.-608:

hahahaha you are so kak funny.

You are so far up HG’s arse that you can wear him as a hat.

• 610.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-607: Abbott has been around for a while but he was quite chubby before. Apparently he lost about 10 kg or more and therefore the step up in his bowling.
    Lance Klusener has worked quite hard with him. He has bowled the second most overs in the domestic four day league which has finished recently.
    I know he can bat a bit as well

• 611.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-610:
    Thanks Charles
    My ignorance regarding the domestic scene is very clear for all to see.
    Honestly the first time I have seen or heard of him.
    Brilliant debut

• 612.ET.: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-MOFFIE609:

Only across the oceans of your ‘mind’ and all know that spells out a total lack of credibility.

• 613.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@ET.-604: Leer die taal self praat voordat jy soos n stoepkakkertjie sit en blaf.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.