Steyn slays Stormers

Morne Steyn kicked the Bulls to a winning Super Rugby start as the hosts easily beat the Stormers.

The Bulls won 25-17 after leading 9-0 at half time.

A Loftus crowd of 44 272 watched the opening match to the South African season.

The match was poor in quality with both teams a mess in the line outs and ineffective on attack among the backs.

Defence was good and the physicality was, as always, prominent, but neither side threatened with ball in hand. The backs on both sides moved it too lateral and this was a match won in the trenches by the more dominant and composed pack.

The Bulls at scrum and in the collisions were the stronger and superior team, especially in the first 40 minutes. The go forward and momentum was with the Bulls for the majority of the match and despite a brief rally from the Stormers after half time the visitors offered little.

Stormers captain Jean de Villiers admitted afterwards the better team on the night had won and that the Stormers had been forced into too many mistakes.

Steyn, man of the match, kicked seven from seven, and impressed with a composed and mature tactical kicking game. Steyn, with his forwards in charge, controlled the game and the Bulls played the match in the right areas of the field.

There was very little flow to the game and it wasn’t helped because of periods in which there were uncontested scrums. This favoured the Stormers whose pack took a beating.

Elton Jantjies suffered in his debut for the Stormers and one felt for the young Bok flyhalf, who suffered the tragic loss of his father less than a month ago. Jantjies is an outstanding goal kicker with a Super Rugby career average of 80 percent, but his radar never functioned and he missed four successive penalty kicks. Joe Petersen was introduced for Gio Aplon and kicked all three efforts, but the match was one influenced by the Bulls forward effort and sealed by Steyn’s flawless goal kicking.

Steyn and Pierre Spies excelled for the hosts, and predictably Victor Matfield’s planning in combating Andries Bekker and the Stormers line out paid dividend. It was also aided by Deon Fourie’s experiencing a night at hooker the equal of Jantjies’s goal kicking.

Jean de Villiers was a strong presence for the Stormers and Bryan Habana’s night did not lack for effort. Siya Kolisi was the best of the Stormers loose-forwards but with the Bulls, as a unit, the more cohesive and impressive up front, Steyn was good enough to slay the Stormers.

613 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

• 501.Rage: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the Bulls and their fans.Steyn the difference….hope u enjoyed the afterparty Agile

• 502.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

It’s amazing that, after beating a very poor Stormers outfit which left 12 pts on the table, the bulls are suddenly very good and Steyn a superhero.

• 503.nama1: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Bulls and their fans. A very good win for them.

They stuck to their game plan and it worked for them.

Stormers seemed to be stuck in the wrong gear but maybe it was because the Bulls never allowed them to shift gears. Hopefully they’ll “click” as early as next week.

Again, well done Bulls.

• 504.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-413:
    Had a very, very late night.

Sorry to have disappointed you. :lol:

I thought Kirchner was very good for the Bulls, Chilliboy scored a contentious try while Basson was good on defence. He did not get much chance on attack.

How did you rate Steggies’ game? The Bulls locks lost quite a few balls on their line out, didn’t they?

• 505.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Stormers are overwhelming favourites to win the conference “title”.

• 506.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 505
    And you are the overwhelming favourite to win the most-iritating-doos-of-the-year “title”.

• 507.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@506

Fantastic!

Anyone but the Stormers.

• 508.W.P: Reply to this comment

Comp is long. Teams will take knocks along the way. Let’s see if ShaunB sticks around or if he pulls a HG on us when the Sharks see their @sses.

• 509.W.P: Reply to this comment

So Shaun, last year when UCT raped the Sharkies, where were you?

• 510.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Rage-506:
    Oh really?

Who entered me in that little competition? You?

• 511.Rage: Reply to this comment

@510 nama

Wees kalm en kyk reg vi wie di post bedoel is ek sê.

• 512.W.P: Reply to this comment

Lol

• 513.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Rage-511:

Nama is so gewoond daaraan om ‘n doos genoem te word dat dit ‘n eerlike fout van hom was :-)

• 514.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-505: Om conference te wen is soos om n drukkie in n knockshop te kry. Verheug die siel maar verneuk die…..

• 515.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Shitabrock… The Stormtroopies first game of the season and this thread is only just plus 500 posts…

Sniff sniff Boo farken Hoo… Why is it so quiet here?

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAHAAAAHHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAHH

BOOM!!!

• 516.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Rage-511:
    Sorry bra’. Verkeerd gelees. :oops:

• 517.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-513: dis eintlik ET se show daai

• 518.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Enjoyed Loftus last night for the first time in the five times I have been there…

The atmosphere was good before and after… Got a hangover from Hades today still… and its only 2 hours from kickoff to Super Rugby proper…

Yes, the 1st game for the Super Champs 2013 elect…

We are Black
    We are White
    We are
    We are
    FuckingDynamite…

Them Sharks are gonna get you…

• 519.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-515: Lek wonde daar in die Kaap…….onder andere

• 520.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-513:

• 521.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518: Got your boytjies by 8 on bru but you have a knack of farking things up in Bloem. Lets see

• 522.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518:
    You reckon your boys can beat the Cheetahs in Bloem?

• 523.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-518:

I saw plenty of Bulls okes wearing the pink jersey last night at Loftus. What size did you purchase, Bullshark? :D

• 524.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Of course I was supporting the Light Blue last night…

And fark me they were full value for the win even though according to the “kenners” on this Stormfront propaganda site, they were overwhelming underdogs…

They played more with the ball… were far more enterprising than the Brokebacks… and their setpiece was a step above the “vaunted” Stormer pack…

Fark… it was actually embarrassing the scrums and lineouts… looks like the Visdorpie team is reverting to type… Powderpuff pack… but without the so called traditional enterprise in their backline…

Fark me the way they played last night they might not even make playoffs never mind win their cherished Conference “Title” that they reckon is theirs to own until Kingdom Come….

BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAAHAAAAAHAAAHAAAHAAAHAAA

• 525.cab: Reply to this comment

1st game of the season and it was away – remember newlands is the new fortress of SH rugby, they’ve got something like a 90% win record over the last. 3 years or so, not so?

• 526.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-521: Ja, we shall see… Will be a good game, with tries guaranteed…

Lambie vs Goosen… Very juicy matchup.

Maybe Beast against Coenie too…

JPP vs Rhule also…

And Steaming Willie against Stimela Mvovo…

Yep, a potential game of BOOMING excitement…

• 527.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-522: In short. Yes.

• 528.Rage: Reply to this comment

@513 mr black
    Hehehe

@516 nama
    Daasi pyne ni bru

• 529.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-524: For the last two years we have had to sit through countless threads of supposed Stormers superstars. Parkiepiel, Brock and the newest cape posterboy, their wingnut hooker. I reckon they will and should bounce back but for now the bragging rights is up north.

• 530.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-523: Was wearing light blue for the first time in my life…

I felt naked and a little bit dirty at first… But fark me I was singing “Marching to Pretoria” with the best of them at 25-10…

Today though I am all Black and White…

The colours of Dynamite…

You know what comes next…. :lol:

• 531.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-529: Fuckright… the bragging rights stay up North…

Its no longer Shitabrick either…

Its shitabrock…

And it was beyootiful in Cathedral Loftus last night…

(Couldnt bring myself to shout “SPPPIIIIIEEEEESSS” though… to be honest)

• 532.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-526: Always a mouthwatering prospect as there is always a twist in their somewhere. Think you should have the goods over the Bloem boys though.
    Missed Loftus last night unfortunately but damn it looked as though there was fun to be had by all. Trademarx and Eastwoods must have been pumping last night!

• 533.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-526:
    Hello HG
    It took long for the spirits to get out of your system from last night to now.
    Sounds like you really got on the Blou Trein.
    Expected the bada bada boom to come much earlier
    Loftus was nice last night, not the match outcome for me, but the vibe was great.
    I must warn you, I picked the Sharks on Superbru and so far I am 1 from 5 for this weekend and am obviously putting a serious curse on the teams I picked.
    If the Cheetahs win at least you can put it down to me picking the Sharks and not the Sharks playing poor.

• 534.Rage: Reply to this comment

Now Ive heard everything…the Sharks’ self-proclaimed biggest supporter wearing blue to Loftus….draadsitter deluxe.

• 535.nama1: Reply to this comment

I have the Sharks by 2. Don’t mess up my bru any further now. Stormers already did a good job of it by losing last night. :lol:

• 536.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-530:

a little boom

I enjoy going to Loftus. The fans of both sides mix well. I had one old toppie sitting behind right behind me giving a non-stop commentary – I thought I was going to be deaf by the end of the game until he started to lose his voice even before half time.

• 537.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-529: Sheezus… Neon Deon the apparent and undisputed “2nd best hooker in SA” was a farken joke last night… He makes Burdens throwing in seem like a laser guided cruise missile…

Chiliboy farken outclassed him six love and straight sets… Funnyshit :lol:

• 538.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-536: stormers was well represented last night. More so than usual.

• 539.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Speaking of booms – will the breezes stick with Elton or bring in 20 metre Peter?

• 540.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-532: Yep… Was great… weather was awesome too… And the women were farken beyooties too…

…. girls in their summer clothes… Eish

Pretoria women… the best in the land… Undoubtedly

But farkme the state we were in, we impressed no-one last night :lol:

• 541.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-533: Yes Nortie… Rest assured though… Never fear when the Sharks are near :wink:

• 542.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-535: Ditto for you Nama… All good when choosing Dynamite

• 543.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-538:

We were going for a hatrick of consecutive Super rugby wins at Loftus. It didn’t quite work out as planned.

Well done to the Bulls. Enjoy the victory.

The Stormers have plenty of work to do before next weekend.

• 544.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-537: Yip long year ahead of him if he carries on in this vein. You might pick up a lot more ‘aaag nee po@s’ on the ‘veld ore’ if this is his modus operandi going forward.

• 545.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Rage-534: Draadsitter? That means I dont choose sides…

You are wrong… Last night I did… I supported the underdog, who prevailed…

Today I support the favourite… Who will prevail too…

Draadsitter my lily whitearse…

• 546.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-536: Lol…

• 547.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540:
    I’ll tell my wife you saw her there last night, thanks, you can look but touch, capish :-)
    @Heavens Game-541:
    Ha ha
    I hope for your and my sake you are right, I have been free falling in all my pools and it feels like when I pull the ripcord a damn piano comes out and no parachute

• 548.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-540:

I saw one oke outside Trademarx late last night who was totally out of it. Didn’t know whether it was New Year or New York. Don’t tell that it……………………….

• 549.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-544: Hehehe

• 550.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-547: I hope you meant “dont touch”… Nevertheless if you didnt, I promise I will be naaice :wink:

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.