Blues bash Canes

The Blues got their Super Rugby season off to a bonus point winning start.

The Blues beat the Hurricanes 34 – 20 in Wellington after trailing 11 – 13 at half time.

After a slow start to the game, the Blues were first to score a try, through Frank Halai, who turned villain later in the match, before scoring what has to be the match altering try late in the match.

The Hurricanes replied through Julian Savea and a few penalties from Barrett to have a slight lead at half time.

The second half started much the same as the first – slow and steady as the teams got to grips with playing full impact rugby. Savea was in on the action again, chasing a kick ahead which nearly resulted in a try. Upon consulting the TMO though, a penalty try was awarded and Halai given a yellow card for interfering and intentionally forcing the ball dead – an incorrect call in my opinion, based on the video evidence.

This only pushed the Blues to attack more, going on to score four tries, first through fullback Piutau, then Ranger with a brilliant individual effort and then Halai from a turnover, practically killing the match and giving Blues coach John Kirwan a winning start to his career at the Blues.

Kirwan will be happy with his senior players standing up in this match, Weepu clearly a different player and the likes of Ali Williams and Rene Ranger proving the difference.

This match was not quite as entertaining as the New Zealand derby we witnessed yesterday, but was still a pleasure to watch and more entertaining than either of the other two matches yesterday. The New Zealand teams seem to be on a different level altogether, and look set to dominate Super Rugby 2013.

By Richard Ferguson

166 Comments

• 1.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Canes dragons

• 2.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Sorry our Kiwi Blues friends, TR and Pops, but I am with Hurricane on this one

• 3.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Canes must start well this season.

• 4.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Goodness! The ref’s jersey…

• 5.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Boy 6 and 8 for the Blues look the goods.

• 6.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@AiDoc-5:

No. 6 keeps over running the ball though. Fullback is gonna be a handful this season…

• 7.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-2:
    All good….Blues will take this…as I type we score

• 8.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Sort the kick offs out…nice tackle to hold up Franks

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Woopsie

• 10.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-7:
    I will be glad for you if you do.
    It’s a Superbru thing.
    I have fallen further than Lance Armstrong this round so far, so I guess after rock bottom you can only go up.

• 11.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-7:
    Lol, as I typed the Canes scored.
    Guess this one will come down to who of us types the most?

• 12.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-10:
    Yes…a Blues win will help my Bru…..wish I was a betting man now.
    @nortierd-11:
    Typing is not my forte…therefore I’m Farkd

• 13.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-12:

• 14.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-12: but youve got to bet with your head bro..

• 15.AllBlacks1974: Reply to this comment

I never thought I would see the day when the canes had another side under scrum pressure.

• 16.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-13: not happy with your stormers Nortie…

• 17.Petri: Reply to this comment

Good on Glen Jackson for ignoring the TJ’s interference.

• 18.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Assembled Kiwis, I have to admit that the Chiefs versus Highlanders game was absolutely sublime – and quite frightening.

• 19.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@AllBlacks1974
    I remember watching the Samoans and the Tongans playing the Village Idiots and the Cavemen and thinking, “Wow these guys have learned how to scrum”. They both won comfortably.

• 20.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@ 17 Petri
    Hear Hear!

• 21.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-16:
    Neither am I Pops.
    We got drilled, plain and simple.
    Bulls played the basics.
    If we continue like last night, it’s going to be a poor first 3 weeks.
    Sharks and Chiefs to come, it doesn’t get easier

• 22.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the curse-14:
    Hmmm….I saw your pick for this game…

• 23.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-22: I saw yesterday he went for the Canes.
    Does this mean you are going to suspend his membership of the Blues for Life Club?

• 24.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-22: @nortierd-23: if they lose I still win :)

didnt see the Bulls/Stormers game, did you take your sign Nortie?

• 25.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-23:
    No….hes probably more an Auckland Rugby man tham me, having spent his childhood at Eden Park, I was up the road at Carlaw Park with my League Mad Family

• 26.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-24:
    Lol, no.
    The Stormers hardly did enough to warrant airtime for their supporters.
    Was a disappointing match to watch, especially after the Chiefs/Highlanders match earlier.
    But, still very early days for both sides, lots of room for improvement.

• 27.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Phew, close game?!

Working but just logged on now.

Good luck to all supporters and may the best team win.

• 28.Fern: Reply to this comment

Cane is propably sh itfaced by now,on the verge of passing out.

• 29.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Yes….nice build up to that try….

• 30.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Lucky for the Canes Piri is taking a leaf out of Elton’s kicking guide.

• 31.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-26: very early days mate…still, you would have come home with plenty of beer yes?

• 32.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Nz rugby about 20 light years ahead of S.A. rugby. When we ever going to get out the straight jacket of conservative fearful rugby we wove for ourselves?

• 33.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-31:
    No, I we were the only Stormer supporters in our group, plenty of other supporters in the stadium.
    The Bulls support is really good, they get behind their team big time.
    I don’t know if there are any bad vibes in the pubs afterwards, but then it’s probably due to booze more than ill feelings.
    You got to take the loss on the chin without resorting to being petty is what I say, even if it hurts.

• 34.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Farken joke…penalty try

• 35.the curse: Reply to this comment

pathetic call.. ridiculous

• 36.Jared: Reply to this comment

That is one of the harshest calls I have seen. Seriously, not on.

• 37.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

That was a huge call – but suits me.

• 38.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Fark that Monroe creep

• 39.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Big call that.
    Penalty try and yellow, will hurt the Blues big time

• 40.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Skop, sorry mate but how shite were your Stormers? As I told you before: Fourie is a 6 and Elstadt is a 4. And all those Lions players don’t seem to be helping. But if Jantjies comes good later in the season, don’t try and claim you backed him all along after you nailed him to the wall on the Stormers thread.

• 41.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Wasn’t that an early tackle from the Canes.
    Could have been a penalty try and yellow to the Blues.

• 42.Fern: Reply to this comment

I bet that Nortier still has glitter in his hair after meeting up with other bent,fairy brokeback stormers supporters.
    Sickning lot.

• 43.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

That has got to be the ‘s hi ttest’ penalty try and yc I have ever seen,

Can kill this game for the Blues

• 44.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-39: Chuck me Farley
    The Officials are Nuts!
    The Blues are on Fire!

• 45.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Sai’ili will replace Kaino and the AB’s will be back to strength. Six was a weakness for them in 2012.

• 46.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-42:
    The glitter I could get off, it’s the bleach on the a-hole that I am struggling with. :-)

• 47.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Blues backs are busting them wide open…a little more composure on the last pass….we’ll take this game

• 48.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-33: :D

• 49.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Jackson is a fricken joke

• 50.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Stormers were rusty but they were undermined by a pathetic imploding Jantjies who should never have been picked for that game. Jantjies destabilizing the entire Stormers offensive in everything he touched. If Stormers had played Pietersen or Duvenhage at 10 they’d have won yesterday. When 4 kicks at goal missed in first half alone they only began playing when 12-0 down. Stormers were the more effective team in open play but weaknesses at set pieces. Any other fly half and Stormers would have won.

• 51.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-49:
    If you grab a bloke by the collar it’s automatically a high tackle isn’t it?

• 52.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Blues are now my favourite NZ team.

• 53.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Good morning folk.

1stly, Congrats to the Bulls, a well deserved win and a good start to the season.

Sadly, almost to script in terms of what Robzim and I discussed a few days back – Deon Fourie and his throwing in, as well as Elton being severely undercooked and probably still rather emotionally wrecked.

Then again, very few Stormers played well.

Glad the guppies enjoyed the Stormers loss though. It gives them something to cling to as the season surges forward.

The Blues folk. As I thought would be the case, I seriously like what I am seeing….. :) Backline magic. And forwards not half as kak as what some were hoping :)

• 54.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Fourie must stay at 2. Carr to 6. Kolisi to 7. Elstadt to 4. And Duvenhage or Pietersen or Schroeder to 10 Aplon to 15

Taute to 13 or bench Jantjies out the 22 don’t need him.

• 55.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poops I really hope you find a girlfriend and get to go out and have a social life.
    Hopefully you can find a South African woman.

• 56.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-51:
    Not if a Blues player did it…hehe

• 57.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-52: Only now? Anyone with any sense would have been a Blues groupie for years.

Never too late though! :)

• 58.Jared: Reply to this comment

Raaaaaaanger!

• 59.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Sorry Hurricane
    Looks like I put my Superbru curse on your team.
    :-(

• 60.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-55: Lazarus, why dont you go down to the dam and take a long walk off the short pier..

your attempts at stirring are pathetic at best, pitiful at worst

I do pity you.

• 61.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Yessssssssssssssssssssss, something for me to smile about!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ohthanktheruggagods.

• 62.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Canes are Snake-less. Looking forward to the counties player.

• 63.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Hold them out boys……awesome defence……..gutsy

• 64.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Blues playing the more effective rugby. 12 and 13 overshadow AB midfield.
    Nz rugby still streaks ahead of S.A rugby in terms of offloading and keeping ball alive throughout phases.

• 65.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-54: Fourie can stay at 2, if someone else does the throwing in. I said to CharlesM the other day that we need another player to throw in….
    Anyone.
    It is allowed and we simply have to look at it as an option now.

Klaar. (This is not a new problem…..)

He can’tfuckingthrowinanditsnevergonnachange.

• 66.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Such a pity for SA Rugby that Jakey’s lost to them (probably for good).

I’m sure AC and his management team could’ve benefitted from some expert advice last night.

• 67.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Yes…………………………………….

• 68.the curse: Reply to this comment

yeah go blues,fck superbru..

TR – you may snatch the lead bro..

• 69.Jared: Reply to this comment

These young boys are guns

• 70.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Amazing stuff!

• 71.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

Poetic justice perhaps but I do not understand how the Horrorcanes did not get a penalty at the breakdown. One player on the ground and three Canes standing over him?

• 72.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

NZ churn out quality backline players … the rules are shifting the game to a hybrid style and as such SA will not be able to match them.

Its time SARU address’d this and started clinics with NZ coaches for backline .. otherwise we will only score from rolling mauls.,.

• 73.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Justice for the man who was wrongly carded. And that should give them the game.

• 74.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

You farken beauty

• 75.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-68:
    Congrats, very good win away from home.
    It’s such a pleasure watching the NZ sides play.

• 76.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Ohsweeeeet……………………………

Smilinggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

The mightyBlues shut up their critics simple as……….

• 77.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

S.A. are you watching how to play creative rugby as opposed to your usual and limited ‘domkrag K a K’ ?

• 78.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Did Pops pick the Canes????

• 79.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

That’s enough scoring….Blues

• 80.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Blues. As it lets poppa smile again. I think the NZ conference is going to be an interesting one to follow.

Seeing that the Sharks already have the SA conference sewn up.

• 81.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-75: cheers Nortie, very happy but again, long season

@Dawn-78: indeed I did, win win as far as Im concerned

• 82.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Blues deserve the win here. Another advert for how the game of rugby should be played. Wonder if it gonna take another century of introverted insecure ineffective ineffectual inefficiency before S.A. rugby get out the kick chase deficient defensive laager.

• 83.Angostura: Reply to this comment

The Blues tonight – the outstanding performance of the SR 2013 thus far

Imagine if Weepu was on song with his goal kicking!

• 84.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

And my Superbru is saved….for now…

Still have Cheetahs beating the guppies to look forward to. ;)

• 85.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poops why are you always angry?
    Are you not into woman?

• 86.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Another great game to watch.
    Sharks vs Cheetahs should be more open than the Bulls vs Stormers, but they will struggle to match the NZ games for excitement and skill.

• 87.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-83:

Imagine if Elton was on song with his goal kicking last night :sad:

• 88.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-74:
    China Bro……..we did it…….Blues
    @the curse-68:
    Pops Bro……..sometimes the heart is all you need……Blues

• 89.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-88:
    Congrats TR
    You can thank me later for putting my Superbru curse on the Hurricanes :-)

• 90.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-85: whose angry? youre the one whose come out fists flying trying to insult everyone..

let me give you a hint, you need at least half a brain to be effective at it..

do try again though, I need the laugh..

• 91.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-57:

LOL! I only started watching SR in 1999, the Hurricanes had Cullen, Lomu and Umaga in their backline….

When it comes to NZ teams, I tend to pick one after the first game of each season. The last time I backed the blues was in 2003 when they had Caucau, Howlett and a young Rokocoko. With King Carlos running the show.

• 92.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-87: haha, YES, & like a d00s I had Elton as my Fantasy kicker … :-)
    psst … don’t tell anyone :-)

• 93.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Rangi you beauty, big big GH influence.

• 94.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-92:
    Ouch

• 95.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh boy, once again this kind of scoreline immediately raises ‘flags of concern’.

is it going to be a ‘laissez-faire’ attitude from the Kiwi refs, again..?…

i hope not

no point in making pretty rules if you dont have the personnel to carry it out.

:roll:

• 96.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-88: yeah, though playing bru over the last few seasons the blues have cost me plenty, seems theyre going to do it to me again

• 97.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-91:
    Don’t forget, the Crusaders haven’t played yet, so maybe you must wait till next week then decide.

• 98.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-89:
    Thanks Nortie….Please keep picking against the Blues…

• 99.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-92:

A Shark supporter selects a Stormer as his FH and kicker. :D

Wanna hear something funny?

Guess who my FH and kicker is? None other than Patrick.

• 100.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies we’re all celebrating, come back later with the silly digs.

• 101.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-98:
    Ha ha
    Picking Sharks and Bulls all the way now. :-)

• 102.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-95:
    Why the concerns….Houston? The Tmo tried to shaft the Blues…the infamous Vinny Monroe

• 103.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier,hoe warm is dit die afgelope 2 weke?
    Ek is bly daar is n swembad in my kompleks.

• 104.the curse: Reply to this comment

NZinChina

boy cant help himself. must have slipped the straight jacket again..

sad really, obviously a soccer fan, because he has no idea..

• 105.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-92: Hehehe

My lips are sealed!

• 106.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-103:
    Erg gewees, vanoggend is dit vir my bietjie koel.

• 107.the curse: Reply to this comment

congrats TR

provisionally at the top of bru at this moment

• 108.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-102:
    Viinny Munroe..?.. :shock:

good god, i thought he was retired after that Crusaders playoffs debacle?

seriously, i could’ve sworn i read somewhere that he was out of rugby… wtf..?..

• 109.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Die lammetjie :-)

• 110.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Quite a demonstration of backline performance from the Blues and the Chiefs this round
    Can’t see any SA team making it in the playoffs if they don’t purge their Aplons, Mvovos, Bassons and their Kirchners, simply standing no chance
    no chance whatsoever.
    :(

• 111.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-97:

Never liked the Crusaders!

• 112.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-95: Bakkies, congrats on your Bulls….seriously.

But comparing what the Bulls and Stormers dished up ad nauseum to the Kiwi games we have seen this far, is scary……(for us….all of us.)

I expect the guppies to be a little more Kiwi like, but I’m also expecting the Cheetahs to beat them.

Our rugby, by comparison (as Saffas) has not shifted, and will not shift, and say I: itsafuckingtragedy.

(No-one can tell me watching the Blues win like this, didn’t make their hearts beat just a little faster……hellIwasjumpingupanddownandairpunchingguppiestyle)

• 113.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-101:
    Hey Nortie…I’ve gone to the top of the Hore Bru……Go the Reds & the Kings

• 114.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Well done TR with being in top spot.
    Congrats to VB as well, climbed 104 places so far this round.

• 115.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-110: But I thought we’ve bought off the officials? Haven’t we?

• 116.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-111:
    Then it’s settled, you are a Blue for 2013

• 117.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the curse-107:
    Thanks Mate….You know what they say…..”the only way is down”…..

• 118.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-113:
    I saw, it’s great.
    I have fallen further and harder than Lance Armstrong

• 119.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

it’snotfuckingimpressivetoomitspacesfromyourpostsisyourfuckingspacebarbrokenorwhatffs

• 120.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-117: best not to come first too early bro :)

• 121.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-113: Well done, TR

• 122.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier dis al klaar warm.
    @ Te Ranged
    Kia ora koutou ehoa

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112:
    if you are having fun then i’m glad for you, Pedi

with all due respect, i would ask you to rate the reffing but i doubt you are capable thereof. it’s really the only thing that interests about the Kiwis games right now.

• 124.polaris: Reply to this comment

Well done, Blues, good start for Kirwan.

2nd best game sofar.

Followed by Aussie derbies in any order.

And ended with kakfest the supposedly “real rugby” bunch of blokes dished up in the Veld – probab;y the only game Bakkies watched. :D

• 125.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

There goes my superbru…

• 126.the curse: Reply to this comment

@polaris-124: bakkies doesnt watch rugby

he sees dead people

• 127.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-117:
    ja, well done all the same, TR.

• 128.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-123:
    Then watch the Reds vs Tah’s.
    Ref cam being used

• 129.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-118: Lance is managing to milk big money even while his reputation is falling quicker than Ronaldo. Unlike us who just keep crashing down the ladder. :D

• 130.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@polaris-129:
    Ha ha
    That’s true
    This is costing me money as one group we put something in the pool.

• 131.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Hondo the best players for the Blues were “non-white”… No pains with that?

• 132.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@polaris-124:
    it is the only game i’ve watched and to be honest there is a lot of work to do for the Bulls. yes. they’ll be happy to take the win but they need to get their scoring game back on. it’s not as if they’re unfamiliar with scoring tries.

i suppose some credit goes to the stormers defense for that but they (Bulls) did not exactly cover themselves in glory either.

• 133.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier ek speel ook in n cashpool,dinge lyk maar sleg sover vir my.

• 134.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern-122:
    Fernly…..Kia ora e hoa….e pai ana to reo…Well done

• 135.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-128:
    ja, i read about that.

your thoughts on the Kiwi reffing?

• 136.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: hahaha what a sad individual..

lets not mention Marius or Jaco, two fine upstanding SA refs

• 137.Fern: Reply to this comment

Dunno what it means Te ranged,my mate greeted me like that in a email I got this week.

• 138.the curse: Reply to this comment

Fern has mates?

hahhaa dont believe it..

• 139.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135:
    Wasn’t happy with Jackson, even though he gave a dodgy penalty try and yellow against the Blues, he ignored some high hits from them.
    But then again, if I had picked the Blues I would not have any complaints.
    Honestly Bakkies, I watch to see the players and not the ref, and there are not many better to watch than the NZ sides.
    @Fern-133:
    Ek is so naby aan rock bottom ek kan net op gaan

• 140.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the curse-120:
    haha……yes not good if your by your lonesome…..reminds me of an old Tip story….

• 141.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier of jy kan net daar bly.
    Stop fishing poops

• 142.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-141:
    Ook waar, maar ek skryf nou maar die week af.
    Dis nog baie games om te gaan

• 143.polaris: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: You are polite man, Bakkies, I would say that apart from Morne finding his radar and confidence back, Joe Pietersen doing basics what any FH should do and Bulls youngsters in the pack there was absolutely nothing else to watch there. Absolutely dreadful borefest with both teams having almost no handling skills or brain-cells whatsoever.

I can only wonder why you choose to rob yourself by ignoring real rugby out there and concentrating on 24/7/365 moaning about them.

• 144.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-121:
    I see you went for the Kings….mate…I think we’re on to a winner

• 145.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Just sent my best mate who is a Cantab a text message re next weeks game at the garden of Eden, it read ” we take you next week”.

• 146.polaris: Reply to this comment

Oh, dear, looks like The Lord is determined to screw up everything and anything for me when it comes to Superbru picks.

• 147.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-111: Then you are truly a Blues person :)

• 148.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-136:
    the whole point of my concern is cheating, right?
    we’ve been through this but again i tell you i am prepared to accept the high level of dishonesty in Kiwi play and make my peace with it.

the only real matter of interest to me now is the extent to which the Kiwi refs will apply the laws of the game this season as well as the positive impact, if any, the new tmo trail maw ammendments are having on the game.

• 149.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-148:

Two weeks until we shred you at the garden of Eden

• 150.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-139:
    ok, so the tmo system has so far failed and the refs are not blowing adequately?

thanks.

• 151.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-148: why dont you turn your eye on your own mob and admit to their cheating also..

you wont, its just a soapbox because you cant handle kiwi sides being better then your sides..

learn to live with it bakkies, it aint gonna change

• 152.the curse: Reply to this comment

what is exceptionally laughable though is you didnt watch the game, yet are quite willing to assume based on your own paranoia?

run forest run

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@polaris-143:
    well i do hope the Bulls improve drastically and for the Stormers i can only fear that even if they get their game going they are still killing SA rugby.

AC has only taken half the leaf out of the great Bulls book.

@NZINCHINA-149:
    i cant farking wait

• 154.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-123: Glen fuckedup. But it would be to the detriment of the Blues, not the Canes. So the result was never in question.
    I find 95% of the refs from all 3 Sanzar countries way under par.

However, it is positive as helltosee Sanzar at least trying to improve on it, is it not?

Leave the reffing, and focus on the rugby – what you see before you. Look, even from a Stormer it was nice to see Morne back on ‘song’ with his kick kick kick. ButfuckemeBakkies, there is more to rugby than this. We see there is more than this, every time a Kiwi team runs out.

Anyways, that’s just me. I don’t want us to reinventthefuckingwheel, and do away with 10 man rugby entirely, as it has its place. But we deserve more than that (and most of us want more than that, franchise fans and Boks fans.

I’m feeling more than a little depressed at what both the Bulls and Stormers dished up. Sorry, can’t help it.

• 155.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-152:
    its alla bout asking the right questions and reading between the lines.

enjoy your rugby, Pops.

• 156.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Anyway Bakkies, I have something far more pressing to ask you. Maybe you can answer me or do some investigating up north?

I believe someone has stated that OP and his ‘wild mates’ (referred to as rugby players) live the life of drugs, alcohol, fast cars, women and recklessness in Pretoria.
    I alluded to something similar last week, in terms of rugby players running in the same wolf pack as him…..

Who are these players Bakkies? Who are the Bulls players who could possibly be in the wolf pack?

Seriously just curious….

• 157.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-154:
    yes, you see the is thing i’m picking up from different sources that the reffing has so far been poor. it is foolish for us to discount this factor.

even the Bulls-Stormers game presented questions on the reffing and tmo.

the difference for our sides is they dont cheat as much, ergo the refs & tmo’s come under less question.

anyway, i’m out for a bit
    cheers till later

• 158.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-155: indeed , from the small reel of highlights I seen of the bulls/stormers, the bulls were constantly going off their feet at the ruck…

was shameful how the ref ignored it

• 159.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-156:
    to tell you the truth Pedigree i was shocked to hear these stories of steroid drugs and other unsavoury stuff.
    i always figured Hougaard for a ‘bad apple who could be made good’ and to my mind is the exception which proves the general rule of the Bulls as a team and organisation being morally upstanding, of good character and which espouses a good christian doctrine which is itself not too overbearing on others or intolerant.

there is a core foundation which is unshakeable but perhaps the older generation embodies it better than some of the youngsters coming up.

i’m out
    chat later

• 160.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@the curse-158: :) :) :) To be fair to Jaco Peyper, he did tell the Bulls to ‘stop it, stop it, stop it’ about 50 times.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-157: Cheerio Bakkies.

• 161.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Michael Cheika looks like a guy I work with. Both seem to be overly self-confident, with no apparent reason to be.

• 162.cane: Reply to this comment

well done blues, a well deserved win.

• 163.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Thanks Cane,

Woohoo, and were off to a great start. Blues fullback will be a handful in 2013, he’s quick, athletic and with gas to burn.

• 164.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@cane-162:
    Caner…..Thanks……your guys were getting held up off the ground in the tackle, perhaps three or four times…maybe even more….certainly something to work on for Hammet

• 165.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Well done JAFA bloggers.
    Nice start with some new players that are fukn huge and fast.
    But i still saw a glimmer of hope with our Canes team…we dropped so much ball and blew so many chances…if we click……LTFout.

• 166.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Hurricane

First game jitters, team’s that run the table at seasons end will feature in the playoffs. Plenty of hope, we do have a massive back line don’t we.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.