All hail the Kings

The Kings scored an historic Super Rugby victory in their tournament debut in Port Elizabeth.

The Kings won 22-10 in front of a crowd exceeding 30 000 against Australia’s Western Force.

What a magnificent achievement. What a wonderful night for rugby in the Southern and Eastern Cape. What a night to remember.

South Africans be proud of a team that played for themselves, their region and their country.

Hopefully now the hatred with subside.

Luke Watson, a former Grey High captain, led out the Kings and proved inspirational in the opening 30 minutes before an accidental elbow to his larynx ended his evening. His replacement Jacques Englebrecht was as imposing as every Kings player stood tall in defence to turn a 10-5 deficit into a 11-10 lead and ultimately victory.

The Kings players with Super Rugby experience like hooker Bandise Maku, lock Steven Sykes and midfielders Andries Strauss and Ronnie Cooke were outstanding but it was a local teenager, winger Sergeal Petersen, who stole the hearts with a brace of tries to be named man of the match.

Petersen was in school at Grey High just three months ago and what made the night even more monumental was the first try should go to local lad from the region’s greatest rugby institution and that the player of the night should be a product of Grey High.

Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons deserves every accolade, as does coach Matt Sexton.

‘It was an incredible defensive effort,’ said Solomons. ‘We turned over a lot of ball and made a lot of mistakes but they will learn at this level. But their commitment can’t be faulted. It was a huge effort.’

Kings stand in captain Andries Strauss said the players were always confident they were good enough to win.

‘We will enjoy the night, but we are a grounded unit and we know it just gets tougher with each match.’

The Kings were given no price and no chance and done no favours.

The Kings lead the South African Conference after week one and that alone is a screen shot that makes this year among the most historic in South Africa’s Super Rugby history.

The Kings were everything but an embarrassment. They were an inspiration and they deserve every bit of applause for what was achieved in Port Elizabeth on Saturday night.

No new team in the competition has ever won in their first match. That bit of history belongs to the Kings.

944 Comments

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 1819 » Show All

• 601.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-598: Also, Lucky Luke is earning R4m this year – up from R3m last year. That struggle sure is rewarding, isn’t it?

• 602.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What next from SA Rugby?
    2012-10-16 11:30

Sport24 columnist Graeme Joffe (File)
    Related Links
    Bakkies’ fine debut dummy
    Coenie out of Springbok tour
    Nonu set to join Highlanders
    Graeme Joffe
    I fully understand that the Lions/Kings Super Rugby saga has been flogged to death, but the sooner SA Rugby can answer the questions posed in previous columns, the sooner the issue can be put to bed.

The rugby public has a right to know the truth.

I received an email from Andy Colquhoun (GM Corporate Affairs and Strategic Communications Manager at SA Rugby) last week, which I thought would answer some of the questions, but unfortunately his response was not for quoting.

I replied saying that I find it rather strange that you object to my remark about SARU “taking the fifth amendment when the questions get tough”, yet you invoke it by stating that your response is not for quoting.

Andy’s response was that it is for the CEO or president to be quoted on these matters, not himself. But I can forward questions to him and he shall arrange to have them answered.

Hmmmmmmm…

Not sure why he then replied to me in the first place with an email which got a “thanks Andy” from SARU president Oregan Hoskins.

Anyway, I have forwarded the following questions and await a response from CEO or president of SA Rugby.

1. On January 31, 2012 – did the unions vote in favour of a proposal that the bottom team in 2012 be relegated and appear in a promotion playoff at the end of the 2013 campaign OR did they vote for the Kings inclusion, not at the expense of another SA union?
    2. What else did SARU put on the table?
    3. Why was the onus on the Unions to come up with a solution – when in fact SARU put the cart before the horse with a “16th” franchise?
    4. Did SARU and Jurie Roux not say “no other SA team would fall out of the Super Rugby for the Kings inclusion in 2013”?
    5. What changed?
    6. Were any of the Unions that voted the Lions out promised any incentives from SARU ie Test matches, money?
    7. How much money has SARU put into the Kings since becoming a shareholder?
    8. Is SARU compensating the Lions and their fans in any way?
    9. Is SARU taking any disciplinary action against Mark Keohane or the Kings for being an unaccredited agent/manager of Luke Watson?
    10. Why is the onus on the provinces to confirm that an agent acting for a player is properly accredited? Surely, the onus is on SARU?
    11. Why did SARU not look at including the Kings in the Currie Cup 3-4 years ago?
    12. Was there any government intervention in the Kings decision?
    13. Is the government and SARU involved in a sec 21 company to assist with growing talent in the Eastern Cape?
    14. What dates will the Super Rugby promotion/relegation playoff be next year and the format?
    15. If Kings finish in the relegation spot, will the goalposts be moved again?

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, it seems as if SASCOC and their CEO, Tubby Reddy is still clocking up the air miles. In his latest SASCOC column, he says: “I am currently in China for debriefing with Team South Africa’s kit supplier, Erke.”

So, you telling me during Tubby’s month long stay in London for the Olympics and Paralympics, he wasn’t able to have a debrief with Erke officials? No, rather spend more public money to go to China (business class of course) for another holiday and I just wonder how many SASCOC officials or family members have gone with him this time?

Yet, SA swimmers are told to pay for part of the costs if they want to go to the FINA World Short Course Championships in Turkey later this year.

Where is the SASCOC police?

Are they also hiding behind bus stops and bushes trying to catch drivers on their cell phones for a little extra Xmas pudding?

In April this year, the Sunday Times were made aware of the SASCOC abuse of funds and I was told by the editor that week that they were about to blow the lid on all of the abuse but they were just waiting for one more piece of information regarding Tubby and co’s travels to a volleyball meeting in Africa.

Five months later and still no SASCOC abuse of funds story in the Sunday Times.

I have repeatedly emailed the editor and also left messages for editor-in-chief, Ray Hartley but got no reply from either.

Last week Tuesday, the Daily Dispatch, a member of the AVUSA group (the same as the Sunday Times) published a story about the abuse of funding in the sports ministry and spending on the Olympics.

Two days later, the Daily Dispatch issues a retraction and apology, saying the report included inaccurate facts and analysis.

Hmmmmmmm…

Back at the other ranch, sports minister Fikile Mbalula has been engaged in a war of words with suspended Cricket South Africa (CSA) CEO Gerald Majola for calling him an apartheid-style minister.

Mr Mbalula said, “we want to place on record that we stand by our decision to intervene in Cricket SA when we received alleged reports of mismanagement, fraud and dereliction of duty.”

Mr Minister, how much more do you need to receive re: SASCOC before you call for an independent inquiry?

• 603.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@cab-595: it takes a little aggression to fck up all your fake self delusional attachment to merciless killing as a civilized humanitarian activity … dumb fcking ignorant scientists that take life indiscriminately and call themselves the high priest know it alls of life and randomly selected dimwits who think conscious creatures were evolved in creation to satisfy their blood lust.

• 604.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-602: who is reading all this kak.. you over in goolongwanaland digging your head into all this politico disingenuous garbage with the view to discredit those at the helm of the franchise who if they succeed will be the direct threat to your socceroos playing in last bastion of imperialism country?

Is this where you ply all your attention to seek out a reason to perpetuate your inherent hatred for Luke and his father Cheeky?

• 605.cab: Reply to this comment

Kings deserve their win and they be v good for SA rugby and the country which is the most important thing.

I’m not so sure about all the so-called and chosen ones, but you believe whatever grabs your fancy. The stand they took was a just one, but I know others that have taken the same stand without enriching themself from the process.

• 606.cab: Reply to this comment

603 your aggression ain’t fkd up anything, makes me do the opposite out of sheer principle, I only listen to something if it makes sense.

• 607.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

SASCOC is sicker than sick
    2013-01-30 08:57

Sport24 columnist Graeme Joffe (File)
    Related Links
    SASCOC toy with IOC ban
    Sam re-elected president
    Same old Gideon Sam
    Graeme Joffe
    South Africa’s IOC executive member, Sam Ramsamy, celebrated his 75th birthday at a four star hotel in Umhlanga at the weekend. A birthday bash attended by the SASCOC big wigs, other high profile people, some Olympic athletes and the SASCOC PR team.

I applaud some of the work Mr Ramsamy has done for SA sport but who gives SASCOC the right to use public monies to pay for guests, airfares, hotel accommodation and of course the extended stay for some to watch the AFCON game between Bafana Bafana against Morocco in Durban?

Wouldn’t surprise me if they paid for the party as well but my calls and messages to the hotel were not returned.

SASCOC may have got in before me.

It is just sickening how SASCOC continue to spend on themselves and friends while the majority of SA sporting codes and athletes are suffering.

One hand continues to wash the other and I’m disappointed in Mr Ramsamy, who as an IOC executive member, should be making sure SASCOC runs a clean ship.

Chances of that happening are slim and none and slim just left town.

Mr Ramsamy and SASCOC CEO, Tubby Reddy go back a long way and the former even wrote the letter of support for Reddy when he stood for president of Africa Volleyball (CAVB) in 2011.

Mr Ramsamy wrote: “Tubby Reddy has now become one of the most respectable leaders of Sport in South Africa, the African continent and indeed the world.“

I’m going to throw up!

Mr Ramsamy, volleyball in South Africa has been completely destroyed by the complete lack of Mr Reddy’s ability and ethics. From being a premier televised sport 10 years ago with annual world series events taking place, we can’t even get 20 men’s teams to compete at a national championships!

Is that good leadership?

He should be collecting UIF but instead, he is rewarded with the position of SASCOC CEO.

Ironically, Reddy only got six out of a possible 47 votes at the CAVB election – the only other candidate, Dr Amr Elwani got 41 votes and was re-elected. So much for one of our most respectable leaders on the African continent, never mind the world. Needless to say, a whole SASCOC delegation went over to Sudan for the CAVB elections and no doubt a good time had by all with public monies.

Spike!

“SASCOC’s new spokesperson”, Shane Keohane, tweeted from Durban at the weekend: Durban you have been an excellent host to honour a legend who has given his all to SA sport. Happy 75th Birthday to Sam Ramsamy

How does Shane Keohane, a New Zealander who has been in SA for a few years and with no PR experience, know what contribution Mr Ramsamy has made to SA sport? Give me a break.

A “proudly South African” SASCOC spokesperson, just like the Olympic clothing deal with the Chinese manufacturer, Erke.

Shane Keohane has seemingly assumed the position of SASCOC’s PR spokesperson, taking over from his brother who resigned in disgrace just before the London Olympics. Still to this day, no tender for the SASCOC PR account, which SASCOC awarded to HSM and Gideon Sam’s old “Bok” mate, Mark Keohane.

In September last year, Mark Keohane tweeted: Gideon & Tubby. I had pleasure of seeing the work put in over 4 yrs. Stay strong, stay united. There’s not a better Pres/CEO combo

Keo, come up for some air!

No doubt, you’ve seen a recent upsurge in Luke Watson PR and “good” publicity. Luke apologising for his Afrikaans insult and saying the Lions have been treated unfairly with Super rugby relegation.

Well, the spin doctor, Mark Keohane is Luke’s agent but when exposed that he wasn’t an accredited SARU agent, he quickly threw the hospital pass to brother, Shane, as the cover up.

The HSM stable also “own” the SA Rugby magazine to aid their spin but SA Rugby (SARU) have conveniently turned a blind eye.

In short, SA Rugby is not the registered trademark of HSM and if they use it they should be paying SARU a rights fee – which they haven’t. SARU also paid HSM a stipulated annual amount to produce Fifteen and other publications.

They’re all in bed together.

So, you can see why SARU never took any action against Keohane for being an unaccredited agent and why I got hogwash answers and lies from SARU to a number of my related questions in a previous column.

More importantly, SA sport is in turmoil due to the failings of SASCOC.

One of SA’s sporting greats, Ernst van Dyk just recently resigned from the board of Cycling SA, saying: “The glimpse I got into the politics in sport at the recent SASCOC elections also gave me second thoughts on any plans for future involvement in the administration of sport. I had no disillusions about my chances of getting elected and I only went through the process as I wanted to see how these things unfold.

Unfortunately what I witnessed during that process with certain last minute withdrawals of candidates to not split the votes on other candidates and then those late withdrawals simply got co-opted on to the board at a later stage was very informative and I now understand it’s not a place or a space where I want to be or function.”

Yes, SASCOC “fixed” the election and Gideon Sam is getting caught up in his own lies.

Then you hear how top SA sprinter, Anaso Jobodwana, had to spend two nights at the airport in Portugal on his way back to university in the US after the London Olympics because SASCOC didn’t organise a flight for him.

This makes my hair stand up (the little I have left) and it’s nothing short of an absolute disgrace.

Rumour has it that after AFCON 2013, SA will have a new sports minister. Please let it be someone who knows about sport and is willing to implement a full forensic audit of this “sicker than sick” SASCOC gravy train

This current SASCOC administration cannot be entrusted to take our athletes to Rio in 2016!

Email Graeme at: graeme@butterbean.co.za

Catch Graeme Joffe on SportsFire every Monday and Thursday at 17:30 on Radio Today, 1485am in JHB, National on DStv audio channel 169 and streaming worldwide on http://www.1485.org.za. Follow Graeme Joffe on Twitter: @joffersmyboy

Disclaimer: Sport24 encourages freedom of speech and the expression of diverse views. The views of columnists published on Sport24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Sport24.

• 608.jb: Reply to this comment

good on the Kings
    sad about the bile spewed on this site
    I thought SAffas would be pleased with the result; but apparently not

• 609.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-596: The Watson aspect is the main dividing reason that mostly Natal and Pretoria based rugby supporters hate the Kings

If you look deep into the backbone of those two franchises you will see that huge percentages of their player bases are educated and developed in the EP region.. Bulls and Sharks are the two franchise who plunder the EP youth developed players and offer them big futures through their own high stakes money created academies…

If EP under Cheeky Watson is successful then Bulls and Sharks will become the two franchises most hard hit by that region becoming independently successful of their mercenary activities..

Beside that there is still a huge ideological rift in this country where rugby is regarded as the game played and aspired to by the privileged based heritage of upper crust white dominated schooling and cultures.

• 610.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@cab-606: you need to visit a few more abattoirs you stupid intolerable dumb delusional unscientific schmuck.. then the penny might drop as to what a barbarous uncivilized backward killing merciless blood thirsty killer you actually are…

• 611.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-607: you spinning yourself a pretty story to try corroborate all your inherent hatred for Luke Watson and his pa Cheeky… pity for you they may just become successful at their endeavor.. I wonder where that might leave all your unfounded hatred hanging then?

• 612.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Olympic spokesman Mark Keohane quits amid *** and drugs claims
    Submitted by admin on June 3, 2012 – 8:02 amNo Comment
    JACQUES PAUW

Celebrity rugby writer Mark Keohane resigned suddenly on Friday as spokesperson of South Africa’s Olympic team – hours after M24i confronted him with allegations that he abused drugs and was a *** pest.
    Former female employees of Keohane claimed he suffered from “sad gross cocaine addiction”, used prostitutes and sexually harassed them.
    Over the past two years several have approached the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration (CCMA), claiming they were unfairly dismissed.
    They claimed they were sexually harassed by Keohane and alleged they had witnessed him using drugs.
    The allegations against Keohane are currently being widely distributed among sport writers and are being tweeted about on Twitter.

On Friday afternoon, three hours after M24i confronted Keohane, he replied and said he had informed the CEO of SASCOC, Tubby Reddy, that he was resigning as spokesperson for the Olympic team and that he would not be going to the Olympic Games any longer.
    He has also resigned as publishing director of Cape Town-based Highbury Safika Media (HSM) with immediate effect.
    Keohane was in charge of 30 magazines and the leading website keo.co.za. More than 700,000 vistors from 220 countries visit the site every year.
    He is also the writer of several books and has been South Africa’s sports journalist of the year.
    Keohane told M24i there was an “agenda” against him and that he could not allow “disgruntled and malicious former employees, one of them who was retrenched, to undermine the credibility and integrity of either HSM or SASCOC.”
    Female employees have claimed that they were sexually harassed and were victims of his erratic behaviour allegedly brought about by drugs.
    Their allegations include:
    -That during the kick-off game of the Super 14 series in 2010, he sexually harassed an employee and allegedly tried to kiss her. Keohane had said afterwards he had only asked her for a date;
    -Keohane wrote off his car in November 2009 after he allegedly went on a two-day cocaine binge;
    -He apparently tried to “change his ways” after the accident, but was a month later back using cocaine;
    -One woman said in a statement: “I realize that I have been like an abused woman. I have been put through hell and back by having to accept the blatant illegal use of drugs. I have had to sit back and allow my female staff to be sexually harassed, which breaks my heart and makes me ashamed as a boss.”
    - During SA Breweries’ annual sports awards in 2009 in Johannesburg, Keohane and several other sports writers snorted large amounts of cocaine before the function. Afterwards, they had hired three prostitutes for the night.
    Another of Keohane’s former employees, who occupied a managerial position, said it was well-known that he was often “totally off his face” as a result of his excessive cocaine use. She claims that she had an emotional breakdown as a result of his erratic behaviour towards her.
    Keohane has been a controversial figure since his days as communications manager of the Springbok rugby team under the ill-fated regimes of trainers Harry Viljoen and Rudolph Streauli.
    He resigned after a racial incident involving the Springboks Geo Cronjé and Quinton Davids. He started keo.co.za and sold it to HSM.
    Keohane and HSM were also involved in a partnership with former Springbok coach Jake White – Jake White’s Winning Ways, but the relationship disintegrated and ended in the Cape Town High Court.
    Keohane is widely involved in other business enterprises of HSM, among them managing Springbok flanker Luke Watson, who was brought back from the United Kingdom to the Eastern Cape to captain the Kings.
    Since 2008 HSM and Keohane had a contract with SASCOC. They do all the publicity for SASCOC and South Africa’s Olympic team. The contract is said to be worth R12 million.
    Keohane said he had engaged lawyers to deal with the allegations. He added: “I have nothing to answer for in relation to the said allegations of former employees.”
    Tubby Reddy of Sascoc said the contract was between them and HSM and not with Keohane as such and that HSM had nominated Keohane as spokesman.
    Reddy said if the allegations against Keohane were true, “such behaviour is certainly not in terms of SASCOC’s image, nor that of any of its athletes”.
    HSM CEO Kevin Ferguson said Keohane was a valued and productive member of staff and his numerous awards attested to that.
    He said the company regarded the allegations as extremely unfortunate and that there was clearly an opportunistic element to them.
    Ferguson said he could not comment on allegations of cocaine abuse, but said that a complaint of sexual harassment was made against Keohane two years ago. He was asked to take leave, it was investigated and the issue was resolved.
    “It is strange that they are surfacing now, more than two years later,” Ferguson said.

• 613.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

http://www.m24i.co.za/2012/07/09/sa-olympic-boss-changed-story-communications-deal/

• 614.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@cab-606: this cold blooded insensitve murderous killer thinking its in a position to determine what makes sense and what don’t… you don’t have the faintest idea about what makes sense and what doesn’t you like a blind raving blood thirsty senseless conditioned killer and you reckon you can know what makes sense in life and what doesn’t…

• 615.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

There’s so much out there, it’s unbelievable. Kiwis: Just Google Keohane, SASCOC, Kings, Watson and find out what is really going on here. It’s quite unbelievable.

• 616.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Get a life its beyond midnight, you wont change peoples minds just like I wont by writing to counter you kaki

Once the Watsons arent so involved in SA rugby will you then be ok with the Kings? If so you are s certified puck. Stop clogging posts up with utter boring bull s h i t e

• 617.cab: Reply to this comment

That is simply not true Skopskiet

Are you honestly arguing that the bulls and sharks dont want the kings to succeed because it will take away there feeder system? That’s complete rubbish.

There are many white rugby supporters that do that want the kings to fail because it is associated with transformation, this has nothing to do with team affiliations but purely racist leftover remnants. Many of these ppl dislike the Watsons on similar grounds.

There are others tho who are also very weary of the various motivations at play and the manner that deals are made and brokered. The ends supposedly justifying the means and all that goes with it.

You pick your own heros, but mine are cut from a v different cloth.

• 618.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-611: Unmoved, I imagine?

• 619.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-612: keep it going boytjie.. you spin doctoring yourself into oblivious delusion.. thinking you can pin your hatred at some people because they represent the antithesis to your inbred colonialist separatist hatred.

• 620.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

How SA Olympic boss changed his tune over communications deal
    Submitted by jeannevdm on July 9, 2012 – 12:49 pmNo Comment
    JEANNE VAN DER MERWE and ATHANDIWE SABA

SOUTH Africa’s Olympic president Gideon Sam misled the public about a lucrative communications contract awarded to media firm Highbury Safika Media (HSM).
    In April, Sam – president of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee – said on Radio Today and DStv that HSM had tendered for the contract, speculated to be worth more than R12m, but this month Sascoc admitted after an access to information request by Media24 Investigations that the contract did not go out to tender.

Listen to Gideon Sam’s to Sportsfire host Graeme Joffe

The admissions have sparked questions over why Sascoc, the official representative of the country’s sports codes and which, according to its latest available annual report, is a beneficiary of nearly R12m in taxpayer funding and nearly R50m in lottery funding, falls outside government procurement laws.
    A director in the firm, Mark Keohane, resigned his job as publishing director and as HSM’s appointed spokesman for the Olympic team last month following allegations about drug abuse and sexual harassment of female colleagues.
    HSM is contracted to run and populate Sascoc’s website and publish the quarterly magazine Road to London 2012.
    Asked by Sportsfire host Graeme Joffe whether Highbury had tendered for the contract, Sam said: “They did. They did.” (see below for full comments)
    However, Sascoc’s Jean Kelly, a manager in CEO Tubby Reddy’s office, told Media24 Investigations: “This matter was not put out to tender and we are not obliged to do so, but we conducted our own investigations and were satisfied with the good track-record of [Highbury], and thereafter arrived to an agreement to the satisfaction of both parties.”

• 621.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-619: Believe what you will. But if you actually look into it, you will be surprised. Goodnight.

• 622.cab: Reply to this comment

606 you saying you don’t like biltong or what ?
    Stop talking ****, even vegetarians love biltong, everyone knows that

• 623.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-609: “The Watson aspect is the main dividing reason that mostly Natal and Pretoria based rugby supporters hate the Kings”

Another fib.

Do you remember when Newlands vociferously booed one of their players? One Puke Twatson?

Get off your “its a Natal and Pretoria” horse, hypocrite.

• 624.ET.: Reply to this comment

{{{{ Teenager Petersen stars as debutants Kings stun Force :

PORT ELIZABETH: Teenager Sergeal Petersen scored two tries as the Kings of South Africa made a dream Super Rugby debut on Saturday with a 22-10 victory over the Force.

Petersen made a seamless transition from schools to provincial rugby union by touching down in each half as Kings turned a 10-5 half-time deficit into a 12-point victory before a jubilant 35,000 crowd.
    “You cannot ask for better than this,” said Petersen after being voted man of the match, “and a big thank-you to everyone who supported us. We played as a team and that was what brought us victory.”

Former Cheetahs centre Andries Strauss took over as skipper when Luke Watson was injured and he revelled in the win as the Kings made a much better start than many South Africans expected given the inexperience of the squad.
    “This was a match we had to win so that the public would support us and the players would believe in themselves. We have worked hard since last November and now we must fix the mistakes we made and try to win some more matches.” }}}}

Choke on that you subhuman bunch of racist haters and thus big time losers.
    Now why don’t you all just gather your guns and f’ ck-off from Africa. Who needs such a pathetic lot?

• 625.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Actually I got no hero’s none in the rugby fraternity at least..

The Watsons are simply human like everyone else.. but if you want to start comparing humane and human traits and underhanded activities and determinations.. I reckon the Watsons are no worse.. and quite possibly a whole lot better than most of those who hate and despise their Christian principled guts….

They hate the Watsons because they dared to stand up against the encrusted racist ideology that was festered and bred through rugby like the religious indoctrinated ideology of white supremacy principles that it was founded on.

• 626.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@ET.-624: but you’re not even in Africa?

• 627.cab: Reply to this comment

Yeah the gdam Christians and huiliges with all their values from the pulpits are the first ones you gotta watch – if ever there’s a warning sign, it’s the ou doos who starts to ascend the mount for a sermon, then u can almost bet your bottom dollar, then what follows is bound to be bullshit.

• 628.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

Ah Luke watson you biscuit! dude was phenomenal for the time he was on the field. ok maybe “phenomenal” is stretching it but given the context of the team and his role as captain his effort was immense.
    The kings were supposed to get an asswhopping of epic proportions – i guess they didn’t get the memo/txt/tweet or facebook message or whatever.

I wonder if Luke has a blinder of a season will he get the call up to the boks? HM will be in tight spot to leave him out

• 629.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-572:

Why do people hate the Watsons?

If it is because Cheekys vision to get super rugby into the eastern cape…noone should fault him for his passion to do so. Everyone wants a job and have a passion or two and there should be nothing wrong going for what you believe is right and work.
    If Cheeky got there because someone else was lacking should we not focus on the poorly prepared!
    Cheeky has a belief and he has worked the administration – who is benefitting? I believe the Kings are and if he is doing so in the interim – well – good on him! the Lions had many years to sort their politics and administration out bit no they were greedy and greed leads to laziness.

I think why many have chosen to have a bad taste in their mouths about Cheeky its because what he stands for – the huge history with him and politics and his anti segregation stance. Every politician calls in their chips at some stage and he stood by the ANC on their anti-apartheid vision back in the years now he is making sure this is now being followed through.
    He has always been a crusader for equal rights and I read somewhere he could have been a Bok if he did not go and play for the blacks. I believe Cheeky is making sure rugby is going to be played by all. He is fighting hard to spread rugby to grass roots and this is the way to do it. Yes he is going to have a bumpy road but that is with all things new.

I think saffas need to get behind the Kings and encourage the spread of rugby to grass roots – this will be advantage RSA.

I cant help to think their is a link between peoples view of the Kings and Cheekys history. Yes the SARU administration was a disaster but one cannot fault Cheekys desire to continue to do the work what he set out to do way back when he left school. Take rugby to the masses even if it is to bend the noses of the minority and in this case he had to and he forced the government to help him.

Many blacks will thank him but many whites will choose to continue to have the bad taste in their mouths – those who will thank him are the majority!!!

That is why I think it could be racism!!

• 630.ET.: Reply to this comment

620:

Did you expect anything to be done honourably?

How many within the ANC do anything based on principles(you need less than the fingers on one hand)?

• 631.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

a thoroughly good win for the Kings and hope for more to come so that they can incorporate more local players.

• 632.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-623: I sat in the stands that day.. and it was a pathetic indictment on the feeble boorish dumb and backward thinking brandy and coke swilling punks the likes of you who haven’t grown up beyond your backward thinking brainwashed boorish petty hating barbarism ..

was me and a Muslim rugby player from the old saru days when PdV and him were classified as second class citizens so they couldn’t play in the white mans leagues sitting there and listening to some neanderthals from behind the biltong and brandewyn curtain booing their own

• 633.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-629: strange that a woolongonian can see what so many saffa who got the wool over their eyes cast by colonial entrenched upper crust political leanings cannot…

Cheeky and his son might just succeed where so many dyed in the entrenched old political hierarchic traditional wool archetypes could not… that will be a sour bile sore stuck in their unbending and hate indoctrinated craw..

• 634.lepel: Reply to this comment

I find it sickening, embarrassing and entirely pathetic how people kept bashing the Kings on the blog throughout the game. They are still South Africans and for that alone deserve our respect and support.

I’m truly embarrassed if this is the rugby culture we have in South Africa. Truly pathetic and indicative of what is really wrong with our country. Disgraceful in every respect.

Excellent stuff from the Kings!

• 635.lepel: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-629: Thank ****… someone who isn’t brain dead.

The hatred for the Watsons stems directly from inherent racism that people are simply too afraid to let go of. Someone’s always out to get the poor Afrikaner!

• 636.cab: Reply to this comment

It’s not strange at all – it’s exactly what’s been sponged to him via the media – it’s a thoroughly understandable viewpoint – precisely like why Charlie Perkins should not be given all the land rights he always claimed which white Australia stole clear away from them all in inflicting nothing short of a genocide on the aboriginal people’s of Australia. Then again, that’s just my simplistic take

• 637.ET.: Reply to this comment

626:

Are you so confused to not know the world is a stage?
    Have you ever read anything about a global economy? Do you understand the word global?

How many different passports do you own? I have a single bottle green covered passport.
    I was barely a month ago in my home in Cape Town and was home(SA) for more than 8 weeks. Much of that time was spent in the E.Cape. Which of the above can you claim?
    When uncle Sam is tired of paying me a salary then I will spend more time in my home but you have long to wait yet..

• 638.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

well the white degenerates from Europe who came to colonize Queen Elizabeth’s draconian empire and convert it all to the new white religion called Christianity knew no better .. they all thought that everything not born with a white skin was an uncivilized abomination to be subdued and exterminated.. hence they found it relatively easier to accomplish in scantly populated indigenous populations like north America and Australia.. but not so easy to do in Africa… to commit rampant genocide as is the want and desire of this homosapien called ‘civilized man’.

• 639.ET.: Reply to this comment

How the rest of the global rugby community sees The King’s inspirational captain, even presently:

” Luke Watson came to Bath for a fresh start in English rugby, and after all he’s been through it was an understandable move. He insists he wasn’t hounded out of South Africa, but life there had become horrendously uncomfortable.

For the past two-and-a-half years, the rugby community in his homeland have cast the 26-year-old back-row forward in a number of unwelcome roles — hate figure, scapegoat, political pawn, anti-patriot and a player out of his depth. Never the good guy, always the villain in a vicious pantomime.

The whole sorry saga would fill a book, but in summary it goes like this: Dan ‘Cheeky’ Watson, Luke’s father, was a rugby player in South Africa who came to prominence in the Seventies as a white wing who rejected the chance to represent his country in order to take a stand against apartheid, competing in non-racial competitions to draw attention to the plight of the then voteless black community.

• 640.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-629: Hallelujah now we getting racism preachers from the land of Oz. I guess you guys got the credentials though. You are fighting the corner of the wolves in sheepsclothing dude. They are the ones that cant let go.

• 641.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@ET.-637: There you go again Eugene with your delusions of grandeur. On the worldstage nogals, ons het so gelag.

• 642.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Jet

Very poor attempt!

There are bad apples in every tree buddy but once there are more good apples only then wil the tree’ s perception to produce good fruit will change.

Unfortunately on this topic of the Kings the hate towards them is bad apples and lots of it if we read the saffa forums. Why?

• 643.ET.: Reply to this comment

So William Shakespeare’s ” .. the world’s a stage” in As You Like It becomes your ” On the worldstage nogals,”

Don’t stop laughing but do look into the mirror as you do so for the joke is on you lot as you further delude yourselves by invoking the ‘spook’ of your ‘great leader’, Eugene Terre

‘Lag maar lekker’

• 644.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-642:

Unbiased eyes, as yours, see many good things and say them too.

The Jets have a culture of bad apples only unfortunately. History and decades of isolation have so shaped them

• 645.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.-642: Personally I do not have a problem with them but read some of the stuff Kaksioek got on them ( the watsons) and decide if you would want them at your party. I am just so sick of the racecard in SA it pollute everything and everybody and grensvegters like ET and skopdiekan just make it worse. Corruption and incompetence is the new apartheid that needs to be adressed for this country to not tear itself to bits but these dinosaurs are still fighting their personal crusades from the safety of their sofas.

• 646.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@ET.-643: I would not quote Shakespeare my geleerde vriend, if you really know his works and understand it you will realise that he is mostly taking the p out of wannabees like yourself. ons het so gelag.

• 647.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-645: good post. both skopishit and ET preach against racism but it doesn’t take much to realise both of them are obsessed with race and are, simply, racist dinosaurs. The kind that SA will be better with once they have passed on.

• 648.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@ET.-643: Jammer ET uit jou geleerde gebrabbel het ek gedog jy probeer ironies voorkom, die bruin Eugene maar ek besef nou dit was dalk a bridge too far. Vir my sal jy altyd die onverskrokke held van soweto wees.

• 649.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-647: Exactly the poisoned apples that poisen the rest, left and right ingraining the divisions not realising that nobody is going to gain anything positive out of this.

• 650.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

It’s going to be a tough job weeding out the good and the bad but time will always expose people’s agendas whether good or bad.

Pages: « 18 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 1819 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.