All hail the Kings

The Kings scored an historic Super Rugby victory in their tournament debut in Port Elizabeth.

The Kings won 22-10 in front of a crowd exceeding 30 000 against Australia’s Western Force.

What a magnificent achievement. What a wonderful night for rugby in the Southern and Eastern Cape. What a night to remember.

South Africans be proud of a team that played for themselves, their region and their country.

Hopefully now the hatred with subside.

Luke Watson, a former Grey High captain, led out the Kings and proved inspirational in the opening 30 minutes before an accidental elbow to his larynx ended his evening. His replacement Jacques Englebrecht was as imposing as every Kings player stood tall in defence to turn a 10-5 deficit into a 11-10 lead and ultimately victory.

The Kings players with Super Rugby experience like hooker Bandise Maku, lock Steven Sykes and midfielders Andries Strauss and Ronnie Cooke were outstanding but it was a local teenager, winger Sergeal Petersen, who stole the hearts with a brace of tries to be named man of the match.

Petersen was in school at Grey High just three months ago and what made the night even more monumental was the first try should go to local lad from the region’s greatest rugby institution and that the player of the night should be a product of Grey High.

Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons deserves every accolade, as does coach Matt Sexton.

‘It was an incredible defensive effort,’ said Solomons. ‘We turned over a lot of ball and made a lot of mistakes but they will learn at this level. But their commitment can’t be faulted. It was a huge effort.’

Kings stand in captain Andries Strauss said the players were always confident they were good enough to win.

‘We will enjoy the night, but we are a grounded unit and we know it just gets tougher with each match.’

The Kings were given no price and no chance and done no favours.

The Kings lead the South African Conference after week one and that alone is a screen shot that makes this year among the most historic in South Africa’s Super Rugby history.

The Kings were everything but an embarrassment. They were an inspiration and they deserve every bit of applause for what was achieved in Port Elizabeth on Saturday night.

No new team in the competition has ever won in their first match. That bit of history belongs to the Kings.

944 Comments

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All

• 851.ET.: Reply to this comment

For the record and because it is historical and mostly for the PAIN it inflicts on all the haters, racists all – history has absolved the TRUTH :

Joint
    Brumbies 2 2 0 0 54 19 35 0 9
    Chiefs 1 1 0 0 41 27 14 1 5
    Kings 1 1 0 0 22 10 12 0 4
    Blues 1 1 0 0 34 20 14 1 5

Pool SA
    Kings 1 1 0 0 22 10 12 0 4
    Bulls 1 1 0 0 25 17 8 0 4
    Sharks 1 1 0 0 29 22 7 0 4
    Cheetahs 1 0 0 1 22 29 -7 1 1
    Stormers 1 0 0 1 17 25 -8 0 0

It cuts a good picture and it hurts everybody who hates sometimes

• 852.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-850:
    ek **** jou Nortie en waadeer die advies maar nee dankie vir my.
    dis vir my te mooilik om die flippin games te geniet waneer soveel konstante en deurlopende gekullery uitgevoer word tydens die spel.
    dink van dit wat jy wil en jy’s natuurlik ook vry om dit te sien soos jy wil, maar vir my is dit n klug.

anyway, that is the absolute last and final word on the subject from me.
    moving on… :-)

• 853.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-852:

ek **** jou = ek h o o r jou

• 854.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-852:
    100%
    Beteken nie dat jy nie kan online kom en strooi met ons praat nie :-)

• 855.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Innings win by the Proteas, what a fantastic summer of test cricket they produced.
    Well done

• 856.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Fantastic achievement by the Kings. Sergeal Petersen had an awesome debut. I just wish the Kings weren’t associated with money-grabbing leeches like the Watsons and the Keohanes.

• 857.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Well done Proteas. 3 – 0 says it all really. No wonder they’re top of the pile.

Despite some who say:

“It cuts a good picture and it hurts everybody who hates sometimes.”

• 858.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-854:
    dit sal my plesier wees.
    alhoewel ek effens bekommerd is oor Hurricane se welstand :lol:

• 859.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well done proteas

• 860.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-858:
    :-D
    Ha ha
    Hulle welstand is jou skuld.
    Jy spring mos sommer met albei voete in.
    Maak asof jy by die Kaapse see is, dip net eers een toon in

• 861.nama1: Reply to this comment

Well done Graeme Smith and your team.

6 victories in a row now, I believe. Still a long, long way away from the record set by Steve Waugh’s Aussie side (17, I think).

Also, congratulations Graeme on 50 victories as captain.

• 862.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Sheet, Scotland leading Ireland 12 to 8 with 6 minutes to go

• 863.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-860:

ja nee, jy’s reg… ek sal dit volgende keur doen.
    saggies saggies is somtyds beste :-)

• 864.nama1: Reply to this comment

Good win by the Scots.

Jockbok will be chuffed. :wink:

• 865.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-864:

He’s not here as regularly as before. But I think he reads our nonsense more often than he posts.

And he would definitely have doffed his cap at the Johann Sadie try. Well, I did anyway. :D

• 866.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-864:
    My 6 Nations miss pick for the round
    Was smiling when Ireland was 8 nil up, not smiling now

• 867.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-865:
    He made a brief appearance when Scotland won their 1st match.

@nortierd-866:
    There’s always that one game that messes it up. :lol:

• 868.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-867:
    Too true
    Or in Super Rugby week 2 of 2013, always 5 games that messes it up

• 869.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-866:
    @nama1-867:
    for that reason i am amazed Hondo can make a living out of sports betting.
    i dont think i’ve ever gotten all my weekend picks right.
    i suppose if you lower the odds and bet on two or three teams at most it should be possible to win.

• 870.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-869:
    I take my hat off to someone who can make a living out of that.
    I get to emotionally charged up, strip my moer te vinnig :-)
    I prefer Sun City, so am going there this weekend.
    Will watch the matches, but no Internet, so I went and put in my picks for round 3 last night.
    No clue who is injured, who is playing and who isn’t, just went with a dartboard and gut feel.
    Can’t be worse than this week when I tried to think about things.

• 871.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nortier!

I got a call from undercover WO saying he is investigating car theft syndicate where cops may be involved.

• 872.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Very hush hush

• 873.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-871:
    Damn, that is bad.
    Do they think they were responsible for your father’s theft?
    I hate these rotten apples who make everyone look bad, I hope they catch the b@stards Dawn

• 874.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-870:
    sounds good, enjoy the weekend.
    i’d wish you luck on your picks but who’re we kidding… it probably aint gonna happen :lol:

• 875.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Levi on fire, hope he continues and stays in

• 876.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-874:
    Gaan skuit
    Watch my, as VB 105 plekke kan opskuif dan kan ek ook, kan nie laat hy my klop nie

• 877.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-868:

I was lucky to get 4/7.

• 878.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@nama1-877:
    4 is good, some surprises that happened this week.
    Don’t think anyone got a grand slam

• 879.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That car is gone for good but at least I hope they catch the guys

• 880.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-879:
    I really also hope so Dawn.
    Life is hard enough without having to have some sorry sons of b 1tches coming and making it even harder.

• 881.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-879:
    Don’t get your hopes up.

When my bakkie was stolen in Kuilsrivier, they only took a statement and that was the last I heard of that case.

• 882.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Cobras smashing Dolphins
    Where’s HG and ShaunB when you need them? :-)
    Feel like talking cricket with them

• 883.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Interesting article written by Alan Dershowitz, the lawyer that successfully defended OJ.

This weekend, Oscar Pistorius is walking free in South Africa. The prospect of being caged in prison has receded, at least for the moment.

The double-amputee Olympic athlete has won bail – but at what cost to his future liberty?
    Beyond his sporting prowess, Pistorius has been a national hero, an inspirational role model, and, above all, a global celebrity.

Yet that could prove his downfall, as Pistorius, like so many celebrities, is focused on living for the moment. By securing his freedom today, he may have taken a huge gamble with his future liberty.

It is, perhaps, the fatal flaw  of a celebrity in the legal  cross-hairs: a fixation on the immediate repair of their tarnished image, rather than a long-term strategy best suited to their ultimate freedom.

I have represented dozens  of celebrities in the US – professional athletes, film  stars, mega-wealthy tycoons, musicians and political figures.

People ask me all the time: Does being a celebrity help or hurt the case? Well, sometimes it helps, sometimes it hurts, but it is never irrelevant.

Representing a celebrity poses distinct challenges to a lawyer. Celebrities often care more about today than tomorrow. They are concerned about the immediate impact of the case on their image.
    Pistorius’s image is worth millions of dollars and every day that passes reduces that value.

I am certain that he instructed his lawyers to get him out on bail now, even if  that meant compromising his longer-term chances of freedom. The best proof of  that is the unusual affidavit he signed, laying out his defence  in some detail.

He was not required to do that, but I’m certain his lawyer told him that he would increase his chances of getting bail if he put forward a plausible defence. However, there are great risks in submitting an affidavit before all the forensic evidence is in.

Scientific evaluation of  the crime scene may show inconsistencies with the defence proffered in the affidavit. That would hurt Pistorius further down the line. 

Alan Dershowitz said the Pistorius legal team went into unusual detail in his affadavit in a bid to win bail

When a celebrity is placed on trial, the legal system often becomes distorted. This is true even in a country such as South Africa, which does not have trial by jury. Professional judges, though they often deny it, are also influenced by their perception of the defendant, which they have garnered not from the evidence, but from the media and from watching the celebrity perform.

Judges go out of their  way to pronounce from the bench that they will not be influenced by the defendant’s notoriety. Methinks they protest too much.

When I represent a celebrity,  I base my actions on the belief that celebrity matters. Oscar Pistorius is not only a celebrity, he is a beloved son of South Africa; a man who overcame significant handicaps; a hero.

Celebrities’ lawyers are often too anxious to please their clients and sometimes sacrifice professionalism in the interests of not being fired. I’m not suggesting that filing the affidavit in Pistorius’s case was an example of this, but I am saying that the defence lawyer should have been darn sure that his client was telling him the truth before he allowed him to lock in his story so early.

Most lawyers would not have submitted such an affidavit. But the defence attorney knows more than I what is in the public record and may have made the right decision.

In granting Pistorius bail, the judge drew attention to the affidavit – so the trial lawyer’s tactic worked in the short term.

Only time will tell whether it will work in the long term.

• 884.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-876:

ons gesels maar weer volgende sondag :lol:

• 885.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-883:
    Oscar and sport celebrity crimes on Carte Blanche now

• 886.the curse: Reply to this comment

Fern

you seem to spend a lot of time worrying about my life.

maybe if you spent more time worrying about your own you wouldn’t need to fake your death on a blog would you Lazarus

and your comment re bakkies and I. really? so you spend your time thinking about two male bloggers having se.x together? wtf?

you’re on the wrong site

try
    takingtheboystothedam.com

might be more up your alley so to speak

• 887.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-886:
    Howzit going Pops.
    See TR is nr 1 this week, that’s a huge achievement.
    You are also well placed.
    Bad enough that your sides stuff us up, now we must face seeing you fellows doing the same

• 888.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-886:
    you tell him, Pops

• 889.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Great weekend of rugby I enjoyed the Kings Passion and team spirit . I will be honest and say I did not expect them to win, but was great to see. Lets not get too excited since on 1st round win does a season not make :) But a good start, even if it was against the weakest Aussie team in SR
    My Stormers were disappointing, they looked half interested the game was not very good and the selection of Elton just plain dumb after limited practice and the loss of his father.
    Dont write of the Cheetahs Goosen in 2nd half really good Sharks well they were expected to win well and struggled a bit.

Chiefs Blues Highlanders and Canes all looked good I must say, and the 2 games were very enjoyable to watch Typical NZ rugby where the forwards can handle and run and off load like backs and the backs run hard and straight and seldom kick away possession.
    Brumbies look solid and may top the Aussie Div

• 890.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@ET.-851:
    Its just the 1st round. Show the log again in August lets see if its anything close to that?
    lets not get to carried away with the great win by Kings
    Chiefs next week I believe :) Hmmmmm let see after that game
    obviously I hope they win

• 891.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-883:

{{{ ” Alan Dershowitz, the lawyer that successfully defended OJ. “))) Really now? Then where do Cochrane, Shapiro, F.Lee Bailey or Kardashian and more feature?

Quite some way off the truth/ mark(for the simple you). It is this sloppy you that makes you so dangerous and untrustworthy to the non-racialism cause, as you sit on the fence with that stake paifully up your arse.

The O.J. Dream Team in order of importance were :

1. Johnnie Cochran : led Simpson’s “Dream Team” of defense attorneys to an acquittal by hammering home to the jury that there was enough doubt about the crime that Simpson shouldn’t be found guilty .

2. Robert Shapiro : Defense lawyer Robert Shapiro has made a career of defending celebrities and famous athletes, including O.J. Simpson, Darryl Strawberry, Johnny Carson, and the Kardashians. He was named the lead counsel of Simpson’s team soon after the double-murders, but was later pushed aside so Cochran could become lead counsel.

3. F. Lee Bailey : was asked by his friend Robert Shapiro to help run the “Dream Team” defense of Simpson. Bailey made his mark on the case by cross-examining investigator Mark Fuhrman,

4. Robert Kardashian : O.J.’s “Dream Team” included his old friend and defense attorney Robert Kardashian, whose prominent role in the case made him the center of speculation about whether Simpson was guilty. Kardashian later said that he had doubts about Simpson’s innocence, saying, “The blood evidence is the biggest thorn in my side, that causes me the greatest problems.”

ALAN DERSHOWITZ

High-profile defense attorney Alan Dershowitz served as the appellate advisor for Simpson’s defense team
    Recently asked about the Simpson case, in an interview for the ABC News:
    “We didn’t win the case, they lost it. They blew it, they made the worst possible mistakes,” Dershowitz said. }}}

Note the word ” advisor” (noun) and the adjective “appelate” before the noun.

The whole TRUTH always matters. take the lesson to heart you arse-creeping fool.

• 892.ET.: Reply to this comment

Actually and correctly it is the HISTORIC first log which gives the Kings a 100% record for at least 10 days.

• 893.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-858:
    Do not worry about me.
    I think you should really take a good look at yourself in the mirrior and think ” do you really need to be like this”

• 894.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

So my wife nudged me awake at 04:00 this morning, “Pssst, pssst”.

I said: “What”?

She said: “I’m going for a pee, please don’t shoot”!

• 895.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-893:
    well i do worry about you.

and while you’re at it with the searching questions don’t you think the same could be asked of Richie McCaw..?.. or any AB for that matter… hmmmm..?..
    its a chicken and egg situation really and i ask you which came first, his constant cheating or my constant whining about it?

i will certainly lessen my complaining of it on here as i will not participate in super rugby blogging (ironically he too will not be participating this year) but this in no way makes it any less true. the Kiwis, principally led by McCaw, have ruined the last ten years of the game (and i’m being kind).

i did not become the monster you see for no good reason, sir.

anyway, that absolutely is the last and final word on the matter from me.

lets move on.

• 896.nondoda: Reply to this comment

Am glad Ronnie Cooke is back in SA.

He was his usual competent and fit self.

Kings fullback is promising.

Sykes is prone to a yellow card or two.

The Greek god at flyhalf will become an important player for the Kings. Good thing he can kick at poles. His tactical kicking was also spot on.

What i dug about the king

• 897.nondoda: Reply to this comment

What u dug about the King’s game is the fact that they made fewer aimless tactical kicks than what i had seen over the weekend.

The little i saw of the Sharks suggests there was less reliance on the high bombs.

It’s time we stepped off JW Winning Ways blueprint.

• 898.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-895:
    Dont worry about McCaw….he is enjoying his rugby unlike you.
    Yeah but for your sake move on…i do not see too many on here backing your strange thoughts.

• 899.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nondoda-897:
    JW winning ways with a just over 60% win ratio does not seem a successful game plan….. yep really time to put that myth away and start playing some winning rugger.

• 900.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-899:
    And in one post you went from just another blogger to Skop’s best friend for life.

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.