All hail the Kings
23 Feb 2013
The Kings scored an historic Super Rugby victory in their tournament debut in Port Elizabeth.
The Kings won 22-10 in front of a crowd exceeding 30 000 against Australia’s Western Force.
What a magnificent achievement. What a wonderful night for rugby in the Southern and Eastern Cape. What a night to remember.
South Africans be proud of a team that played for themselves, their region and their country.
Hopefully now the hatred with subside.
Luke Watson, a former Grey High captain, led out the Kings and proved inspirational in the opening 30 minutes before an accidental elbow to his larynx ended his evening. His replacement Jacques Englebrecht was as imposing as every Kings player stood tall in defence to turn a 10-5 deficit into a 11-10 lead and ultimately victory.
The Kings players with Super Rugby experience like hooker Bandise Maku, lock Steven Sykes and midfielders Andries Strauss and Ronnie Cooke were outstanding but it was a local teenager, winger Sergeal Petersen, who stole the hearts with a brace of tries to be named man of the match.
Petersen was in school at Grey High just three months ago and what made the night even more monumental was the first try should go to local lad from the region’s greatest rugby institution and that the player of the night should be a product of Grey High.
Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons deserves every accolade, as does coach Matt Sexton.
‘It was an incredible defensive effort,’ said Solomons. ‘We turned over a lot of ball and made a lot of mistakes but they will learn at this level. But their commitment can’t be faulted. It was a huge effort.’
Kings stand in captain Andries Strauss said the players were always confident they were good enough to win.
‘We will enjoy the night, but we are a grounded unit and we know it just gets tougher with each match.’
The Kings were given no price and no chance and done no favours.
The Kings lead the South African Conference after week one and that alone is a screen shot that makes this year among the most historic in South Africa’s Super Rugby history.
The Kings were everything but an embarrassment. They were an inspiration and they deserve every bit of applause for what was achieved in Port Elizabeth on Saturday night.
No new team in the competition has ever won in their first match. That bit of history belongs to the Kings.

944 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 … 19 » Show All
23 Feb 2013, 21:10 pm
@CharlesM-314: Yes that’s not a bad call, especially on the Elstadt call. Steenkamp just doesn’t do it for me, and you need a deck player against Botes who is looking sharp.
I’d play Elton at 10 but put Joe in at 15. Taute on the bench.
23 Feb 2013, 21:10 pm
@Tuna-342: Well said!
23 Feb 2013, 21:11 pm
pedigree is dog popo-333:
You saving some face (what little is left) by ‘gatkruiping’ again?
‘Pis liewer in daai gatlappertjies wat jy draai en daarna kan jy jouself drrog mmak’
@kaksioek-349:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-333: Ialsothinkit’sawesomethatyounamedyourselfaftertheteamyoudespisesomuch#
@Fern-3: hindsight is a b*****
23 Feb 2013, 21:12 pm
@ET.-353: Hi ET congrats on your team, dude, they showed a lot of heart!
Congrats kings, what a great second halve. Marais, sergeal and engelbrecht really impressed me.
And denying the force a bonus point made my night.
dont even bother with the haters
the hate runs deep and we all know the real reasons
simpy f*ck em
surround yourself with those who believe in what is and what can be
both sport and country
savour this lovely moment
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-347: was it not Sykes that had desires on becoming a paddy.
23 Feb 2013, 21:13 pm
@kaksioek-349: Stormers loss or not…(expected and predicted sadly…)
Come end of the season, there will still be more gold plating in the teeth of guppie fans (or around Tyrone’s neck), than there will be in the guppie trophy cabinet…. Kaching.
23 Feb 2013, 21:14 pm
China Bell must be smiling
They not a bad side but need more depth upfront – solomons is sharp as – engelbrecht and the outside backs look v good
@fantasticbarnsmell-338:
Ah…No…I’m 8 from 8
23 Feb 2013, 21:15 pm
Kings have done better in their debut season after just ONE game than the entire might of the bully breker Bulls of 1999, 2000 or 2002 or the johnny come lately last bastion long lost losing Sharks of 2000 or 2005 or the useless perennial lost up their own decrepit arsehole leeuser Lions of 2002, 2004, 2005 and 2010
showing all those two face decrepit apartheid wishing woesies of the last bastion guppy yuppie degeneracy the way home.
Viva Kings.. Viva Luke .. Viva Cheeky.. Viva Solomons.. Viva Transformation..
Viva Ananzi.. Viva SA.. Viva EP rugby. Viva !!
One more thing.
This Louwrens Van Der Merwe chop is going to cost teams games this year.
Fcking poor all round.
Where is Transie?
He must be dancing in the streets right now
23 Feb 2013, 21:16 pm
Watson was colossal tonight.Pity about the injury .Great player and great leader .The Kings Army marches on!!!
Kings
Bulls
Sharks
Cheetahs
Stormers
Standing in SA conference
35k fans at NM stadium, well done PE! Lions take note…. Bwahahaha
23 Feb 2013, 21:17 pm
@skopdiekan-365: at the end of the season they will follow your log bottom dwellers as the only teams to be relegated.
@RL-360:
its speculation but i think the false racism allegations ruined his contract with Leinster because they let him go soon after even though he was exhonerated in the investigation. i suppose they did not want the bad publicity.
this put paid to any ideas of playing for the Irish.
@China Bell-362: True
@ET.-353: Fuckoffracisttwat.
I have been in the Kings corner for quite a while….for the right reasons.
You on the other hand are in their corner for all the wrong reasons….see?
Now switch back to Neilanate.
(PS: I find it sad that you don’t seem to see that most of the fellas who buttcracks you lick round here, hate the Kings…but that’s ok with you of course…fuckinginterwebrefugee)
@stormersboy-351: Yes with Joe P there we’ll have at least another reliable goal kicker if Elton has another bad night.
I’ve said it numerous times that I don’t rate De Kock at all!
I guess the biggest call will be at 2! We know that Deon wants to play hooker but AC & co will have to do some serious thinking: we simply can’t afford so many shy te lineouts !!
Any idea when Tiaan will be ready ?
@Te Rangatira-364:
Congrats. You’ve had a kickass start to bru.
23 Feb 2013, 21:18 pm
Btw Lions en Bulls..
Julle kan julle f@kken record hou!!!!!
Sergeal MOM.
He probably get some punani tonight.
@cosca-368:
He had a huge impact when he was on.
Congrats, you were so excited before kick off, you must be smiling from ear to ear
23 Feb 2013, 21:19 pm
watch Kings fck up Jake Whites Brumbies.. just to set the record in true perspective.. that will be the day of ultra lekker reckoning.. watch net en huil…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-361: we’lljusthavetowaitandseeaboutthat
butIwagerthatnextweektherewillbemorehumblepieinthemouthsofstormersfanslikeyouandthatwillbeabeautifulthing#
Just read through some comments again now and after months of debate and arguing the results speak for themselves !! I am happy to say to all the haters go fark yourselves lol
23 Feb 2013, 21:21 pm
@Tuna-366: Agree on that. Kings can consider themselves lucky a few times in the game.
Battle of the number 10′s down to two.
Steyn
Lambie
Distance
Goosen
Katrakillis
Jantjies
@kaksioek-381:
185.kaksioek said:
23 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
Time for the Kings – hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Are you still laughing??
23 Feb 2013, 21:22 pm
All teams that play genuine, real, passionate, motivated, committed, skillful and running rugby are mine e.g. Reds, Blues, Chiefs, ‘Saders, Kings, ABs, Wallabies, Wales(of old) etc.
That is what William Webb Ellis wanted all those years ago.
‘Domkrag’ never existed then and was born in ‘verkrampte’ S.African areas much to my utter disgust..
@ET.-353: Trying afrikaans again tietkop?
@Dilligafrican-371: they vcannot do worse than Lions of 2010 or Bulls of 2002 or Sharks of 2000
They have ALREADY surpassed those mammoth fckup achievements already in their FIRST Debut Game..!!
Suck it up loser.. your wishful thinking 100 points klap didn’t materialize.. not even close…
Dumb f’ng loser is all you are go circle your ox wagons because the true test of SA courage is on the horizon whether you ready to accept it or not…
23 Feb 2013, 21:23 pm
@Mr Black-384:
After round one, spot on.
Maybe Katrakillis over Goosen, but the top 2 is undisputed.
23 Feb 2013, 21:23 pm
@CharlesM-375: As we were saying the other day, something has to give….and fast. When I said the other day that we have to find someone else to throw in for now? I’m guessing we’re going to have to do that until Tiaan is back.
What else is there to do?
We knew before the game this shytewasgonnabereal, and that nothing would have changed. The overthrow to Spies that had so many is shock, when we were 5 metres out? Those I was watching with, were cheering when the lineout set. I told them to expect a fuckup and I put my head in my hands (because that is what I do when he throws….)
Voila…
23 Feb 2013, 21:25 pm
Brumbies will eat them alive.
Kings done v well tonight but it’s the perfect oppo first up.
23 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
@Robzim-385: Sure, why not? A South African team with an ex-Shark in it defeated an Aussie team – what’s not to like?
It doesn’t change the fact that the Kings are a Lucky Packet team run by a scumbag blackmail artist and captained by his odorous son, who he previously strong-armed into the national rugby team. But they will get what is coming to them.
23 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
@kaksioek-381: If you can’t win your home games (that’s you fellas next week) you’refucked.
Home teams are usually faves…no?
And as both of our teams saw last year – it doesn’t always work out that way….
23 Feb 2013, 21:27 pm
@nortierd-389:
And Fulbacks
Marais
Daniller
Krusty
Ludick
Taute
23 Feb 2013, 21:28 pm
The reality is, we face the Sharks away and the Chiefs after that, so odds are we will be 0 from 3, the Kings already have 4 and another 4 next week.
It’s going to be a loooong season
23 Feb 2013, 21:29 pm
@Mr Black-394:
Yep, you are being generous to Taute even having him in the top 5
23 Feb 2013, 21:29 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-390:
AC will start with him again against the sharks and he WILL fark the lineuts up again.
AC is a nice guy and good coach but his dowfall is that he is too loyal to certain players…… Duvenhage… Grant…… and the worst of them all…. Deon (as hooker)
I did not even close my eyes when he missed the 4th one- I switched to the Cobras cricket match in the Paarl.
23 Feb 2013, 21:30 pm
@nortierd-379: He was magnificent ! Daar gaan maar min geslaap word vanaand jong!Ek is moers toe bly.Thanks for the congratulations…you are a true gentleman .
23 Feb 2013, 21:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-390: Yes – I’m not going to repeat what I’ve said but a hooker needs to be able to do the basics well. One essential aspect of that is to throw the ball in properly!
I know you want “us” to the think out of the box – but my views were expressed above with Deon and Siya as flanks etc
But like SBoy said the other day – we are only former members of the front row – what do we know ? (tongue in cheek)
23 Feb 2013, 21:31 pm
I managed the grand total of 2,5 points in 7 games on Superbru

Not my finest weekend of rugby
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 … 19 » Show All