Lambie’s light shines brightest
23 Feb 2013
Pat Lambie scored 19 points as the Sharks downed the Cheetahs.
The Sharks won 29-22 and were forced to dig deep to secure the victory. They led 26-5 with 20 minutes to go before the home team launched a fantastic comeback.
The Cheetahs got off to the ideal start, scoring a try early in the first half from a rolling maul, Philip van der Walt falling over the chalk. Johan Goosen missed an early long-range penalty and the try’s conversion.
Lambie on the other hand, slotted three consecutive penalties to take the lead for the first time and converted the Mvovo try to contribute 11 points in the first half alone. Mvovo’s try came from broken play after a messy lineout ball was wildly tapped on the Sharks’ side, which Mvovo ran onto at pace and ran to the tryline untouched.
The Cheetahs threatened late in the first half, but the Sharks’ defence was impressive and the home side could not reduce the deficit before half time.
The second half continued in much the same vain, the Sharks scoring another 10 points through a try from Marcell Coetzee, and the conversion and another penalty from Lambie. The Sharks had a 21 point lead and the game seemed all but over.
But step up Sarel Pretorius, who was the kick up the backside the Cheetahs needed. His speed and quick service almost single handedly got the Cheetahs back in this match. The Cheetahs hit back to score 17 unanswered points, two tries, both converted by Goosen and a penalty to bring the match to within three points for the home team.
The Sharks managed to held on though, their defence being the best attribute on the day. Lambie, who was announced man of the match, scored his 21st point late in the game, slotting his fifth penalty.
A poor crowd turned out for this season opener in Bloemfontein, but they were treated to an exciting, running game, something that has become something of a given at a Cheetahs match.
The Cheetahs’ slow start could well be as a result of Johan Goosen not having had any preseason gametime and taking some time to find his feet, his decision making and kicking letting him down in the first half. Piet van Zyl was also not in the best form, Sarel Pretorius pushing to start the next match after his magnificent performance tonight.
The Cheetahs battled in the set pieces, their lineouts were a complete shambles, probably as a result of their two first choice locks being out injured, while they struggled to get the upper hand at scrum time.
For the Sharks, one cannot say much more about the game plan at this stage, but their maturity showed as a Sharks team of two years ago would not have held on for this victory. Whether this comes down to the leadership within the team, Frans Steyn being the new captain, or just experience of past results finally paying dividends, remains to be seen.
They dominated at scrum time, and the backline showed some pace from speedsters such as Mvovo, Pietersen and Jordaan. Coach John Plumtree should be happy, but knowing the perfectionist he is, he would like the team to improve on their handling and possession lost stats.
The Sharks now host the Stormers in Durban, a match that is a repeat of the semi-final last year, a match that will go a long way indicating the top South African conference team.
By Richard Ferguson

249 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All
23 Feb 2013, 16:38 pm
Time for the main game of the weekend.
Go Sharks.
23 Feb 2013, 16:41 pm
The main event indeed and my first match as a guppy.
23 Feb 2013, 16:46 pm
RL u becoming a supporter?
23 Feb 2013, 16:47 pm
Go sharkshits moer these farmshits.
23 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
The last 2 years since I have been playing fantasy rugby my weekends consist of just that, rugby. No longer is it late nights to watch the odd game. I will even stay up to watch the force play the kings, never in a million years I would have thought. This should be the best SA game of the round. Good luck to all.
23 Feb 2013, 16:49 pm
skopshit will be praying for a Cheatshit win.
bittershit.
@Predawn-3: by invitation only I can assure you.:mrgreen:
Hoping this young Goosen has an injury free season. Big fan.
23 Feb 2013, 16:50 pm
Time for the Stormer fans’ second cry of the weekend.
23 Feb 2013, 16:50 pm
Aha.
23 Feb 2013, 16:52 pm
pheiffer 4 Kyle Abbott on debut!
23 Feb 2013, 16:55 pm
@Angostura-11:
Make that 6 of the best
23 Feb 2013, 16:57 pm
@Angostura-11: @nortierd-12:
Really do have a brilliant bowling attack when you can bring guys in and they do that on debut. May we continue dominating test cricket for the next 50 years
Oh and, go CHEEEEETAAAAHSS!!!!!
23 Feb 2013, 16:58 pm
@hendrikp-13:
Agree on that.
Brilliant test side at the moment
23 Feb 2013, 16:58 pm
@kaksioek-9:
Go Cheetahs!
But I’ve got the Sharks to win on superbru.
It’s called an emotional hedge. A win-win.
23 Feb 2013, 17:00 pm
@hendrikp-13:
Marchand de Lange did something similar.
@hendrikp-13: yeah, & we still have another young buck, Marchant de Lange, who has just recently come back from a stress fracture injury who took 7 on debut
Abbott 6 for 27 from 11 overs. Who says we don’t have bowling depth.
It was the general consensus on this website that the Free State was one of the anti-Lions voters in the Kinks debacle so in that case…..GO SHAAAAAAAAARKS!!!
23 Feb 2013, 17:01 pm
Vrystaaaaaat!
23 Feb 2013, 17:02 pm
Great debut in the cricket by Kyle Abbot from the Dolphins.
Coached by Zulu Klusener.
Natal okes coming through yet again.
Naais!
23 Feb 2013, 17:03 pm
Australia’s fast bowling riches even more impressive (re quantity, not quality, tho)
23 Feb 2013, 17:05 pm
Go Sharks!
Black and White Dynamite!
23 Feb 2013, 17:06 pm
Stunning day at King’s Park.
Seven on debut. Well done to the guppy Abbott.
Well done Kyle Abbott. Well done Proteas.
Correction,in Bloemfontein.
23 Feb 2013, 17:07 pm
Cobras = Proteas
23 Feb 2013, 17:08 pm
See that Stormers? It’s called rugby.
23 Feb 2013, 17:08 pm
@Angostura-22: talk kak or do you also have convict tendencies?
23 Feb 2013, 17:09 pm
SHARKssssssssssssssssssss
23 Feb 2013, 17:10 pm
Wow Fransie Steyn looking skraal,dropped some weight.
Good on him.
23 Feb 2013, 17:12 pm
@Fern-32:
First couple of months as a newly wed does that to a person
23 Feb 2013, 17:15 pm
Well so much for those that say Mvovo is slow.
23 Feb 2013, 17:16 pm
Go Cheetahs, no free lunches for fatties.
Very good rolling maul and try to the Cheetahs.
Against play.
Eish try Cheetahs
No problem let them have that try. Boys must HTFU or these Cheats will run away with a big lead.
My Superbru curse already in play.
Sorry Sharks
Min 7
1st turn over for the Beast in this match, lost the ball in the ruck
Why’s it so quiet in here?
23 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
@I am a stormer-41: Because most of the Stormers fans are in mourning.
23 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
No 1,2,3,4 and 7 were all standing next to the assistant ref when those cheats drove over.
23 Feb 2013, 17:19 pm
@kaksioek-29: You mean the try of the Cheetahs ?
23 Feb 2013, 17:19 pm
A Shark supporter goes to the vet with his goldfish.
“I think it’s got epilepsy,” he tells the vet.
The vet takes a look and says, “It seems calm enough to me.”
The guy says, “Wait, I haven’t taken it out of the bowl yet.”
23 Feb 2013, 17:20 pm
@CharlesM-44: Jislaaik, that’s funny Charles. Stick around – we need more of that.
Raymond Rhule is a future Bok.
1 wicket for 0 already
23 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
Go Cheetah’s! Beat these pretenders!
23 Feb 2013, 17:23 pm
@kaksioek-46: You are the one “dissing” the Stormers’ fans! I haven’t said anything about the Sharks!
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All