Lambie’s light shines brightest

Pat Lambie scored 19 points as the Sharks downed the Cheetahs.

The Sharks won 29-22 and were forced to dig deep to secure the victory. They led 26-5 with 20 minutes to go before the home team launched a fantastic comeback.

The Cheetahs got off to the ideal start, scoring a try early in the first half from a rolling maul, Philip van der Walt falling over the chalk. Johan Goosen missed an early long-range penalty and the try’s conversion.

Lambie on the other hand, slotted three consecutive penalties to take the lead for the first time and converted the Mvovo try to contribute 11 points in the first half alone. Mvovo’s try came from broken play after a messy lineout ball was wildly tapped on the Sharks’ side, which Mvovo ran onto at pace and ran to the tryline untouched.

The Cheetahs threatened late in the first half, but the Sharks’ defence was impressive and the home side could not reduce the deficit before half time.

The second half continued in much the same vain, the Sharks scoring another 10 points through a try from Marcell Coetzee, and the conversion and another penalty from Lambie. The Sharks had a 21 point lead and the game seemed all but over.

But step up Sarel Pretorius, who was the kick up the backside the Cheetahs needed. His speed and quick service almost single handedly got the Cheetahs back in this match. The Cheetahs hit back to score 17 unanswered points, two tries, both converted by Goosen and a penalty to bring the match to within three points for the home team.

The Sharks managed to held on though, their defence being the best attribute on the day. Lambie, who was announced man of the match, scored his 21st point late in the game, slotting his fifth penalty.

A poor crowd turned out for this season opener in Bloemfontein, but they were treated to an exciting, running game, something that has become something of a given at a Cheetahs match.

The Cheetahs’ slow start could well be as a result of Johan Goosen not having had any preseason gametime and taking some time to find his feet, his decision making and kicking letting him down in the first half. Piet van Zyl was also not in the best form, Sarel Pretorius pushing to start the next match after his magnificent performance tonight.

The Cheetahs battled in the set pieces, their lineouts were a complete shambles, probably as a result of their two first choice locks being out injured, while they struggled to get the upper hand at scrum time.

For the Sharks, one cannot say much more about the game plan at this stage, but their maturity showed as a Sharks team of two years ago would not have held on for this victory. Whether this comes down to the leadership within the team, Frans Steyn being the new captain, or just experience of past results finally paying dividends, remains to be seen.

They dominated at scrum time, and the backline showed some pace from speedsters such as Mvovo, Pietersen and Jordaan. Coach John Plumtree should be happy, but knowing the perfectionist he is, he would like the team to improve on their handling and possession lost stats.

The Sharks now host the Stormers in Durban, a match that is a repeat of the semi-final last year, a match that will go a long way indicating the top South African conference team.

By Richard Ferguson

249 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

• 101.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

How did Johno Kaplan not see that?

• 102.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Lambie is still a machine.

• 103.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Nice try…..SHARKS !!!!!!!!!

• 104.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortier
    Snoekskiet.
    Braai going,friends here
    Eating billies hung by me
    Cold beer
    Cool pool
    Naais!

• 105.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Fern……most my minkeys, are dead, murdered.

• 106.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-104:
    Sounds like the place to be.
    Gooi a mielie op die kole vir Skop ook

• 107.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Lambie!

• 108.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Guppies looking as good as they said they would be…

• 109.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Steyn owned Jantjies last night, Lambie owning Goosen today

• 110.Fern: Reply to this comment

@tree
    Wtf?
    You had plenty.
    Respect to Beast,when he got money he built his mom a house in Deben and relocated her from Zim.

• 111.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Aai aai
    Stormers in big trouble next week.

• 112.Fern: Reply to this comment

Ag nee Nortier,dis baie beter by die dam:-)

• 113.carol: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-105:

Hi Hugs, really sorry to hear that….. Will catch up on FB

• 114.RL: Reply to this comment

@carol-95: thanks for the tip ;)

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

Yessus Hondo – what game u watching, beast has doodpoesed coenie binne in die hol, beast drilling them

• 116.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Lambie indeed lokks better, let’s hope the astute Messrs Straulie and Van Zyl are not contemplating in their wisdom bringing back Michalak which badly affects Lambies’ confidence

• 117.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-112:
    Ek mis so nou en dan die see.
    Ek gaan maar Ocean Basket toe as ek lus raak vir vis, hengel en dam nie my sport nie.
    Drink sommer uit die kombuis kas uit :-) te ver om dam toe te ry

• 118.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Will tell you little after the game, think professional marksman. Cops, me, threats, more ARA lawyers, stuff from my younger activist days being taken off the plane in Frankfurt brought up, by authoroties in this country, feck knows how they know.

• 119.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Oh chit ! Cheetahs score.

• 120.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Good, 1 back for Cheetahs.
    Need Sharks to win by 11
    Anything more is redundant

• 121.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

Good try that

• 122.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-94:

I like Lambiekins. He’s the beesknees. I want to see how this fantasy stuff works.

• 123.Fern: Reply to this comment

Nortier ek het in Deben groot geword met rock and surf.
    Ek vang bass in die dam en dis private,niemand loop verby of piekniek soos as jy n see erf het nie.

• 124.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-122:
    Ha ha
    Read that sentence of yours carefully.
    Lambiekins and fantasy in the same sentence.
    No wonder they call us brokebacks.

• 125.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

FFS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Catch a wake up Sharks. Good try by Cheetahs though.

• 126.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Johann Sadie picked up an allergy in Pretoria.

And got rid of it in Bloemfontein.

• 127.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 63
    Ndungane on the fields is a bad news for the Sharks
    Try Cheetahs

• 128.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-123:
    Nice
    In die Kaap groot geword, maar geniet Pretoria.
    Lekker plek om te bly

• 129.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Wish Sadie stayed a stormer. We missed creativity of Sadie or De Jongh last night

• 130.Rage: Reply to this comment

Hondo stfu please.

• 131.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-127: haha, good to see nothing changing around here

• 132.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

So yes Goosen getting schooled…

• 133.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Come Cheetahs run these overrated yuppie guppy poefta professional profiteering princess pricks off their overrated poefta feet fck them all the way back to Sharkishits country.

• 134.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

We’ll done Oddone

• 135.Fern: Reply to this comment

Good comeback by the Cheetahs
    Great game

• 136.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-124:

that’s plain dirty :D

Angostura picked elton as his FH and kicker in his fantasy team.

I went for the Shark – crazy I know.

• 137.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Keeping the Beast on the field past the 25th minute defies rugby logic
    The Sharks will pay dearly

• 138.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-136:
    Yeah, heard him complain about that last night.
    Bad week to make that pick

• 139.Rage: Reply to this comment

@136 IAAS

also went with Jantjies at 10…Piri at 9 yielded me a few points though.

• 140.W.P: Reply to this comment

C’mon FS – do what UCT did to them in the CC final last year hahahahahahahahahaha

• 141.RL: Reply to this comment

Sweet and mellow, simply entitled:

O thou great Guppy

Guide me, O thou great Guppy,
    Swimming through this sterile sea;
    I am weak, but thou art Mighty;
    Hold me with thy powerful fin:
    Ocean of heaven, Ocean of heaven
    Feed me frenzy till I want no more.
    Feed frenzy me till I want no more.

Open thou the crystal Oyster
    Whence the healing stream shall flow;
    Let the fiery, cloudy water
    Lead me all my journey through:
    Strong deliverer, strong deliverer
    Be thou still my strength and scales.

When I tread the verge of Posiedon,
    Bid my anxious fears foes subside;
    Death to choking, and winning trophies,
    Land me safe on Super Rugby glorious side:
    Dream of winning, Dream of winning
    I will ever give to thee.

• 142.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Rage-139:
    Piri at 9 is a great pick
    Bonus points

• 143.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs alway are a team missing just that little something.

• 144.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-133: NOW you speak up :lol:

• 145.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Geez, one converted try for the Sharks and I’m smiling.

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

similar to the Hurricanes and Chiefs of old

they have the potential to be a really great side

if they can add that extra two inches

• 147.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs really cranking up the pace… Sharks need to slow this down to see this through

• 148.Guns: Reply to this comment

Good to see Goosen finding some confidence.

But come sharks!!

Damn unlucky PSD!

• 149.cab: Reply to this comment

This bugger Pieter step du toit looks outstanding – that’s a dodgy decision looked ok to me

• 150.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Fern and Treehugger…back for two weeks. Just enough time to check up on skopshyte to see that he is still kneedeep in faeces building those ANC thrones.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.