Long live the Kings
25 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day, writes the Kings turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.
They played in black but it was all Grey when it came to the Southern Kings historic and winning Super Rugby debut in Port Elizabeth.
Grey High School, academically and culturally strong, is also Port Elizabeth’s most renowned sporting and rugby institution.
Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons was schooled at Grey. Kings captain Luke Watson went to Grey and Saturday night’s two-try wing wonder Sergeal Petersen finished matric at Grey High just three months ago. The past, present and future of the region were all primary to a victory for the Southern and Eastern Cape, for South African rugby and for the country.
This was indeed a victory for the locals made possible by locals. It was a momentous occasion that demanded celebration and the necessary outpouring of emotion.
The Kings, as a squad, are limited in pedigree but not in passion.
The haters of the Kings called the team an embarrassment to South African rugby. This was before kick-off.
Those haters again displayed every quality of a bully and coward and stayed clear of social media forums on Saturday night. They would have taken the Kings 22-10 win against Australia’s Western Force personally. It is their way.
The haters will be back this week with boasts that the Kings won’t win again this season. This distorted thinking will give credence to their vindictiveness.
The haters don’t see the Lions winning 15 from 90 Super Rugby matches and losing 17 in succession as an embarrassment. The haters don’t recall the Bulls winning two out of 22 matches in Heyneke Meyer’s first two years as a Super Rugby coach. The haters don’t remember the Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks, Cats, Stormers and Bulls all taking 50-plus point beatings in the history of the tournament.
Never have so many South Africans done such a disservice to a South African Rugby franchise.
The argument that Super Rugby participation has to be earned is flawed. How did the Rebels and Force earn the right to play in the competition? They were included to grow the game in Australia.
The Sharks (as Natal) were given Currie Cup status in an expanded structure and went onto become the most successful South African province a decade later.
Griquas and the Pumas, as two examples, were given Currie Cup status by way of another expansion from six to eight teams.
The Kings were reluctantly and resentfully officially declared participants in the 2013 Super Rugby season in August 2012, and there was no guarantee beyond one season.
Few players of Super Rugby quality were willing to leave other provinces in South Africa or return from Europe to play for a region in which uncertainty was the only certainty.
It was assumed – among the anti Kings’ contingent – that the shame of defeat in every match would dull enthusiasm for Super Rugby in the region. It was never a consideration the Kings would lead the South African Conference after the first round of matches.
The Kings on a historic night in our rugby played without a jersey sponsor. They were made to feel like paupers.
They were treated like renegades and played like revolutionaries. They turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.
Brumbies loose-forward David Pocock tweeted his best wishes to the Southern Kings on Saturday afternoon and wished them all the best.
The Zimbabwean-born captain of the Wallabies, a man of integrity and substance, who has never forgotten his African roots and who once tweeted he never missed an issue of South African Rugby Magazine as a youngster, cared enough to known what the Kings would mean to the future of the game in Southern Africa.
Pocock, in 140 characters, showed more goodwill to the Kings than the National Governing Body has done in the last 140 months.
Cheeky Watson, an activist against apartheid in South Africa, continues to fight apartheid in South African Rugby. He refused and refuses to compromise on the Kings’ presence in a unified South African Rugby landscape.
It makes him unpopular to a cultural minority. So too Solomons, who four years ago committed to a 10 year plan to restore rugby’s respect within the region.
One of the greatest nights in our unified rugby history was also the saddest because it showed – not how far we have come in unity – but just how far we need to go.
All hail the Kings. Long live the Kings.
Respect

526 Comments
25 Feb 2013, 05:19 am
Dragon Kings!
25 Feb 2013, 05:33 am
Bravehearts!
25 Feb 2013, 05:48 am
Go Kings. Prove these detractors wrong. After the Stormers you guys have all my support!
25 Feb 2013, 05:52 am
One win against worst Aussie team in comp and we have to bow at the feet of the Kings!! Perspective, please.
25 Feb 2013, 06:02 am
“One of the greatest nights in our unified rugby history was also the saddest because it showed – not how far we have come in unity – but just how far we need to go.”
Did we really need the Kings saga to show us this, Mark? We see this every year with the massive anti Stormers sentiment pro NZ fanbase at Newlands. We couldn’t solve that little unity issue in the Cape yet here you are looking for another pathetic excuse to drum up sympathy for your cronies down in PE.
25 Feb 2013, 06:25 am
He’s a good boy that Pocock. Even has a charity in Zimbabwe which he’s very hands on about and goes there every so often. As a white zimbo who’s family was forced to flee their farm to SA then onto Australia he’d have more reason to be bitter than a lot of expats. But he’s still proud of his African heritage and doesn’t live a bitter haters life. Good sort. In another lifetime might have taken the familiar route of varsity in SA then eventual rise to Bok colours.
As for The Kings….well that game just about gave me goosebumps. Had everything in terms of drama including a fresh faced 18 yr old schoolboy sensation being revealed to the world. Looks quality does that boy, reminded me of a certain fresh faced winger bursting out of obscurity down the touchline in Europe circa 2004.
25 Feb 2013, 06:28 am
And his teenage naivitee and excitement in the post match interview was so refreshing compared to the usual montonic “ja ja it was a game of two halves” scripted drool
25 Feb 2013, 06:28 am
Ill support any SA team, but justifying anything by bashing the Lions record is pathetic, because its not relevant. SARU made a mess of things and even if the Kings play in the final (ha) it still doesnt change the fact that they got in and the Lions forced out of the SR comp due to political interference. That will be the biggest stain on SA rugby history until SARU starts serving SA rugby.
I hope the Kings do well and if they dont I hope that they will get the support needed to become a competitive team. If all our teams do well SA wins. SARU should give support to struggling teams. Regardless of the outcome of the relegation games, the Lions and the Kings BOTH need support to become truly strong franchises, especially if both are probably going to play SR in 2015 anyway. Isnt that SARU’s role??? To ensure that SA rugby in general reach its full potential ?
So Keo, stop being a narrow minded ****.
25 Feb 2013, 06:46 am
come on keo…be a unifier, no need to call people out!
25 Feb 2013, 06:51 am
Mark’s just told the majotiy of the bloggers who faithfully post comments here to go *beep* themselves.
25 Feb 2013, 06:58 am
@Jeez-8: well said…your 2nd para is spot on.
25 Feb 2013, 07:08 am
with you there transie…i was hoping that after the kings first game we would be discussing what happened between the whitewash only…
25 Feb 2013, 07:16 am
Why not call out the cowards who are so full of anti sentiments even within a framework of a new S.A. franchise win suggesting the only reason Kings won was because they came up against the weaknesses of Australia whipping boys Force. Will be an interesting paradox if Force just by chance take Bulls close or even beat them in Pta heaven forbid.
25 Feb 2013, 07:33 am
I’ve just finished watching the Oscars and when I saw Jane Fonda tonight I realized Luke is the rugby equivalent of Hanoi Jane
25 Feb 2013, 07:46 am
Well done to the Kings. They made SA proud. I hope they can get a couple more wins. Well done to the fans aswell. They showed they belonged.
25 Feb 2013, 08:02 am
@skunk-15:
there was a group of lions supporters sitting close to me who obviously had bought into the notion that the kings would lose by a cricket score. their mood got more and more sombre as the game went on and it dawned them that the embarrassement that has long been foretold on the blogs was not forthcoming. they looked positively depressed at the final whistle, although they were applauding the kings at the end, to their credit. i felt a bit sorry for them, just a little bit
25 Feb 2013, 08:02 am
Great passion from the Kings and their fans on Saturday.
If anyone doubted what it means to them they don’t now.
Right now the Kings have got a very decent chance of embraboering the Briesers.
Good on you.
25 Feb 2013, 08:05 am
Great stuff, Kings.
Hope there are a couple more victories in store for you. Not against the Bulls though.
25 Feb 2013, 08:06 am
Kings showed more commitment , passion and good old fashioned ballas than the Stormers could even dream of….
People can say what they want about Luke, but he has the ability to get those around him into a state of do or die , far more than I ever saw from Schalk or JDV !!
25 Feb 2013, 08:15 am
I just wish I could believe that you actaully have SA rugby at heart Keo but deep down we all know that you are just buttering up the watsons because they are going to sell a lot of biographies one day and you want a piece of that action. You are about as real as Pamela Anderson boobies.
Well done Kings, I was born and lived in Durban for 25 years, i am a die hard Sharks fan but now live in Perth and have an Aussie passport and early Sunday morning I was still jumping up and down when Sergeal when over for his first try. Great great day for rugby.
25 Feb 2013, 08:19 am
Fantastic stuff from the Kings.
Keep it going – if they can win some more matches at home, this will really start getting the interest in rugby in the Eastern Cape going again, which would be fantastic for South African rugby in the long run.
25 Feb 2013, 08:24 am
Where’s Dusky?
25 Feb 2013, 08:25 am
@grant10-19: It was a good thing that Luke went off otherwise I am not sure the Kings would of won.
25 Feb 2013, 08:27 am
@grant10-19: Luke is one of those players/captain that takes all the responsibilty on himself, no man is an island and that would of been detrimental to the team on Saturday. More guys stepped up after went off. That No 19 Jacques Engelbrecht is a beast!
25 Feb 2013, 08:28 am
@WP-Forever-21: I am sure Saturday’s win already had an impression on the youngsters of Eastern Cape.
25 Feb 2013, 08:31 am
Keo, this article carries as much hate as those that opose the Kings. You are just the other side of the coin.
@Transformation-9: Keo can learn from you.
May this be the first of many wins, as long as it is not against the Sharks.
25 Feb 2013, 08:31 am
I must say i was against the Kings inclusion but they made me a believer on Saturday. Great team performance. But can they really go on and win another game? Perhaps against the Cheetahs or Rebels?
25 Feb 2013, 08:35 am
Finally the Eastern Cape returned to rugby in front of 33,000 rugby fans and they won against the Western Force playing with passion and like how rugby should be played, for each other.
The fact that the Southern Kings played in a jersey that had no title sponsor speaks volumes as a statement that SARU from Hoskins to Judas Roux has done little to nothing to assist or obtain sponsorship for the Southern Kings as a 50% shareholder in the entity.
If anything they are a liability to progressing the Southern Kings and I dare say a case could be made for these SARU directors to be personally accountable for not complying with the Companies Act and Kings Code and held responsible in terms of Section 124 of the Companies Act.
It is an indictment on SARU that they have been unable to establish a sponsorship or sponsorships for the Southern Kings.
More so it is a reflection of a sinister agenda of apathy.
What the Southern Kings needs is a fire cracker to establish these sponsorship deals and restore dignity to what has started out as a spectacular and inspiring return to rugby – a true team effort.
25 Feb 2013, 08:40 am
All quiet on the western front
If Kings had lost on Saturday this place would have been a hive of bustling Sharkishits nay sayings of gleeful I told you so’s. Seeing that they got little ammo to chuck at Kings or Luke or Cheeky today they rather lie low and build up some more anti sentiment bile and blame and blather for another opportunity down the line.
Strange how there’s little to say when there’s little to cry and complain about
25 Feb 2013, 08:49 am
So Keo I take it you no longer think that they were setup to fail.
25 Feb 2013, 08:55 am
@grant10-19: yeah, captain courageous…kudos to dries strauss though, he took over with aplomb, kept communicating with the guys as the emotions were very high…
25 Feb 2013, 08:56 am
vleis engelbrecht was the super sub we needed…he had a monster of a game.
25 Feb 2013, 08:59 am
@Transformation-31:
Watsons replacement was my MOM. That laaitjie can play.
25 Feb 2013, 08:59 am
I see a movie in the works.
Russel Crowe to play Luke Watson.
Al Pacino to play Solly.
Cheeky to play himself.
25 Feb 2013, 09:00 am
@stormersboy-34:
Cheeky will also be executive producer and director.
25 Feb 2013, 09:03 am
@WP-Forever-35: Naturally
25 Feb 2013, 09:04 am
@RL-30:
So guppy
I take it you no longer think they were set up to fail
25 Feb 2013, 09:06 am
There would’ve been more reason to celebrate if the Kings lost by 10 points but played with a 100% “transformed” team.
25 Feb 2013, 09:09 am
I dont buy it…
I dont buy the lie…
I dont buy the lie and deception that is the Kings…
The players played with honour, courage and conviction on Saturday…
They were honest rugby players all… climbing their own Everests…
A pity their franchise stands for the diametric opposite – deception, cowardice, dishonesty…
The liars can be as emotive as they would like… Most will not buy…
FucktheKings
25 Feb 2013, 09:12 am
@Transformation-32: @Mr Black-33: He was huge!
25 Feb 2013, 09:14 am
A piece of unashamed Kings propaganda! How much did you pocket from the Watsons to write this Keo?
25 Feb 2013, 09:16 am
Uhm. Keo. You yourself said the best chance of them winning a game this season would be the first game against the Force. We all knew there was a good chance of that happening with the Force being the weakest team they’ve ever been. What is this article about really? Like I said previously, the only ones who stirred ‘hatred’ towards the Kings were… you media-guys. And this article is just about adding more wood to the fire.
25 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@Transformation-31:
Dries Strauss is a warrior.
There were some that called him a donkey etc while he was playing for the Sharks but he will prove to be a great signing for the Kings.
Just what is needed in that Kings backline.
25 Feb 2013, 09:18 am
@stormersboy-34:
Will Ferrell to play Sheeky.
He’d have a lot of fun with it.
I can see the ” Landy in the Dam” scene brining home an Oscar.
I’d probably have supported the Kings was it not for certain people’s involvement therein and the political wrangling that took place to get them in.
Who knows, maybe I’ll warm to them.
Maybe next year if they are still there.
Good on the Grey boys though.
@WP-Forever-35: executive production enough for cheeky
25 Feb 2013, 09:19 am
That big can of schadenfreude is shaken and ready to froth over when the Cream of the Eastern Cape get whipped…
25 Feb 2013, 09:19 am
@John Galt-43: The number 8 was also very good. Du Preez or something like that.
25 Feb 2013, 09:20 am
@gunther-44:
Zack Galifianakis to play Puke.
25 Feb 2013, 09:22 am
@gunther: funny guy…
25 Feb 2013, 09:25 am
@Dilligafrican-49:
Seth Rogen for Lukas or alternatively Denzil Washington if we’re looking for a gritty performance.
Jonah Hill to play Brok Harris.
25 Feb 2013, 09:26 am
@Sasuke-48: cornel du preez…there’s an interchanging of roles in that lose trio as luke ran on the park with a 7 on his back a.la richie but he was often the one dropping back to cover kicks in the 8 role…
25 Feb 2013, 09:34 am
@gunther-51: Don’t think Brok will ever lose as much weight as Jonah.
William devane could work as sheeky.
Maybe there’ll be space for some bloggers – can see Skop as Marty Feldman, Grant as Julie Andrews and Paris Hilton’s mutt as Capo’s girl.
25 Feb 2013, 09:36 am
@Transformation-52: They worked well together as a trio. Very promising. Is Luke seriously injured? They need to find place for Engelbrecht in that loose trio.
25 Feb 2013, 09:36 am
Very proud of the players.
25 Feb 2013, 09:37 am
Here come the cream of Ghent punk face sharkishits nay saying schmuck a lucky mercenary hunting prats
The very reason the players playing with passionate resolution is because of the structure and direct transfer of input by coaching and management. Without Watson’s or Solomon there would be no Kings franchise to play for or a KIwI coach to coach the players to put there bodies on the line. The union is inspired from the top down with the buy in filtering into the players at the front line. In spite of all the negative negating naysayers coming from out the pathetic jealousy infestations from the poor pompous Sharkishits up the line.
25 Feb 2013, 09:38 am
@Dilligafrican-53:
25 Feb 2013, 09:40 am
@Transie, That flanker of the kings- unknown, unbrideld and farken impressive…AC should sign him!
25 Feb 2013, 09:41 am
most springboks produced by province;
Western Province 237
Lions 141
Blue Bulls 92
Cheetahs 71
Sharks 68
Griquas 47
EP Kings 28
Bulldogs 14
Cavaliers 10
Rhodesia 8
Pumas 7
Leopards 6
Eagles 5
Falcons 3
South West Africa 3
25 Feb 2013, 09:52 am
@gunther-44: Maaaaa! Meatloaf!
25 Feb 2013, 09:52 am
@Transformation-52: Congrats Transie. You must have partied like it was 1999.
What a historic moment.
I hope no arrests followed the celebrations.
@gunther-51: Jonah Hill. I would have thought Jack Black would be your casting director’s call? I asked Bakkies on Saturday to clarify something for me, but he couldn’t, maybe you can? Although you don’t live there…..But anyways: Who are the other members of OP’s ‘wolf pack’, the rugby players alluded to in various reports? The wild sporting stars who run it thick in the fast car, drugs, alcohol and women world in Pretoria? Hougie I guess is candidate? But I doubt Steyn, Spies, Potgieter etc would even be seen dead (yes, shittywordchoice)with this crowd unless they were paid to be seen with them?
Maybe youngsters? (and No, this is not a trick question, just helluva curious, because this isn’t exactly ‘new’ skinner.)
25 Feb 2013, 09:53 am
Well it’s Monday, and what a weekend it was. I could not be prouder of my home town team the Southern Kings. It was so emotional, when Sergeal ran over for that first try, some old ballies were wiping happy tears for the kid. It was the agressive crowd participation in every tackle, every run, everytime our boys touched the ball.
The game was there for all to see, but it was watching the players come to the crowds to give their thanks, and the sound wall of cheers, it was the walk after the match back to the parking areas that really touched me. People were literally dancing in the streets. I saw youngsters dub stepping, and old men skipping and moving. Yes it was one game, but a feeling to be savoured for a long time, because it was a long time coming.
25 Feb 2013, 09:54 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61:
Bakkies cant clarify anything
He no watch superrugby!
25 Feb 2013, 09:56 am
@Transformation-52: yeah, Luke is more of a 8 than 7 or 6, imo
& applying SA numbering their best loose trio appears to be:
6. Cornell du Preez
7. Jacques Engelbrecht
8. Luke Watson
But also bear in mind we have not yet seen Leonardi & Adongo perform for them at this S15 level. Either of them could still force their way into the starting XV, but appear not needed at present other than maybe on the bench.
Am I correct no foreigners played on Saturday, not even those on the bench? No cameo for Adongo or Parkes? A 100% SA effort?
25 Feb 2013, 09:58 am
@rossoneri-62:
Nice one!
25 Feb 2013, 09:59 am
@clownface-59: hiya clownface,
very interesting:
May I ask your source, & your definition of “produce”?
Thx in advance
25 Feb 2013, 10:05 am
Wouldn’t that be most young professional rugby players, woman, drinking, cars and the odd line of Charlie?
25 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
Keo is allowed his ” I told you so ” article.
To be fair, he called the win and if the majority of bloggers’ teams win they all come on and do the same, so why is he not allowed the same courtesy?
Many of us neutrals did not call the outcome for various reasons, some rugby related and some more personal, but I for one was sucked in by their passion they displayed and ended up being happy for the true Kings supporters and the side when the final whistle blew.
25 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
Look I don’t know who runs in his wolf pack.
Maybe it’s a wolf plank of one?
I do know that the celebrity pool in SA is very small and inncestuous.
Everyone knows each other etc. I would imagine in Pretoors it’s even smaller.
Hougie seems to have similar interests but he seemed to have been more her friend than his
These guys might be Lions players with a lot of time on their hands?
Sounds pretty much like YOU magazine reporting to me. Anything with a rugby player sells.
So draw your own conclusions.
25 Feb 2013, 10:10 am
@Angostura-66:
Fruit and Veg.
Porps and Peepsh.
25 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
@gunther-69:
These Bulls are corrupt
But Bakkies informs they are shining lights of halo-wearing decorum
25 Feb 2013, 10:13 am
EP have ‘produced’ far more than 28 Springboks in the more than a century of rugby contribution. Clown face facts up above are not true reference of how many Boks have been bred through EP rugby since long before some the other johnny come lately franchises belatedly came good.
25 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
@NZINCHINA-67:
Sound like a typical Friday night.
What’s the fuss?
@Dawn-71:
Corrupt in what way?
Kickbacks for contracts?
Awarding tenders to their wives companies?
25 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
What’s with all the beards at the Oscars?
(The movie award show not the trial)
25 Feb 2013, 10:18 am
@Dawn-74: Hollywood has been full of beards for many years, since the beginning in fact.
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=beard
25 Feb 2013, 10:18 am
@gunther-70: o ja, of course, but you forgot cheque book, & military/police draft & stationing
25 Feb 2013, 10:22 am
@gunther-69: I don’t know much about the Pretoria social scene, but somethings up (not new talk this….) and all I’m really worried about is a few careers.
I could tell you little bits about the Cape scene and heard though
25 Feb 2013, 10:24 am
Cry me a river Keo ..
You know as well as I do that the kings got into super rugby because of politics, no other reason.
Your argument about other teams getting in because of expansion is flawed, simply because the kings did not get in because of expansion, they got in at the expense of a team that is better than them .. and that is why they will be disliked by me and others for a long time.
The game on sat showed me two things … how bad ‘The Western Farce’ is and how passion can sometimes carry the day.
Well done to the kings, they won the game almost as much as the force lost it, and good on them .. they deserve all the joy involved with this dream start.
Unfortunately for them, and like keo was quick to point out, good for me … there will be allot more sad moments in the future than happy ones.
If the kings were there because of expansion and not because of politics and the greed of the watson clan I would have whole heartedly supported them .. as it stands now I unfortunately cannot.
As individuals I wish all their players well, there are some that shined really bright on Sat night, but as a team I’m afraid I cannot support you.
If that makes me a ‘bad’ South African, so be it … I’m just tired of political interference at all levels of our society and how the race card always gets played when it suites the powers that be and those who lust after power and money.
25 Feb 2013, 10:25 am
@gunther-73:
That’s what I would have thought.
25 Feb 2013, 10:28 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: Thanks….
not that i heard of…the cops in PE stay the hell away from worthy celebrations and this one was worth every second of the resultant headache…
it was amazing & to hear the players acknowledge the role we as the crowd played is just humbling… loved it
Keo, honestly, stop this crusade. Stop fuelling this whole thing. They’re a rugby team. That’s it. There will be people who love them and people who hate them, just like most other rugby teams. Let them get on with their business on the field. Actions speak louder than words. Remember that.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77:
No you can’t
25 Feb 2013, 10:30 am
@Paws-78: really mate, let go…
your lions stayed in super rugby from 2006 through CORRUPTION so cry me a river…
25 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
@gunther-82: Oh yes I can…..unless you are a part of the scene and heard crowd, in which case you already know
25 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
No Trans … they stayed there because no matter how k@k they were in super rugby they have always been one of the top 5 teams in SA …. that is a simple fact that you, keo and everyone else cannot get away from.
25 Feb 2013, 10:39 am
@Heavens Game-39: The Kings stand for that in your own warped mind. Deal with your own issues don’t make them Kings issues
25 Feb 2013, 10:46 am
XhosaKid, Transie and All Kings supporters Congratulations! Well done! Was very happy on Saturday, first my Sharks managed to win where previously they would have carried on with the choke, and then the Kings put the cherry on the top! Well done!
Many were eating humble pie this weekend me thinks
25 Feb 2013, 10:50 am
@Yetirat-81:
And I agree with Yetirat , you can stop the crusade keo … the kings are there now so let the cards fall where they may and lest see what happens at the end of the season.
Lets just hope that the rules won’t be changed down the line again ……
25 Feb 2013, 10:51 am
@Paws-78: The Kings haven’t lost 17 Super Rugby games in a row, the Lions have, so I don’t understand how come you say the Lions are better than the Kings.
25 Feb 2013, 10:52 am
@Ango: yes, 100% local is lekker!
25 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@XhosaKid-89: if 1 beats the other they are better, no?
25 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: Hougie was one of Reeva’s friends, apparently they went out briefly, not much of OPs friend, the way I understood it from reports.
25 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
@Pedigree: after watching carte blanche i’m counting my words online from now on…a boxwr nicknamed after a gun predominantly used by chicago mobs back in capone times.
25 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
boxer..
25 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
@Sharksgirl-92: Congrats on your team
They dated for 2 months I believe, and stayed friends. I’m just dillydallying about this talk of a group of young, rich men getting up to all sorts and acting like total fuckingtwats 24/7 simple because they are successful sportsmen.
Keen to see how much is revealed. (Especially if the truth is in total contrast to what certain folk project….and believe….)
25 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
A great Weekend Review – check it out – http://wp.me/P2QxT1-5j
25 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@Transformation-93:
Transie
The other segment on CB that showed how anonymous bloggers can still be found guilty of libel was interesting.
How did that girl put it ” if you aren’t willing to have them put your post on a billboard for all to see, then don’t post it”
25 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@XhosaKid-86:
Howzit buddy.
Hahahah speaking of warped little minds how awesome has Faf been you Telegraph reading know it all?
Class is in session.
25 Feb 2013, 11:03 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95:
How many games in a row have the Stormers now failed to get a bonus point?
25 Feb 2013, 11:04 am
@Transformation-93:
I will celebrate my freedom of speech, and my right to an opinion until such time as I make an allegation against someone that costs them millions in sponsorship
How many Kiwi assistants did Sexton bring with him? The fitness dude, the skills dude etc…anyone else?
Cos damn, I see a Kiwi flavour on the Kings cake……(and in their approach). Of course the sneaky and wise Solomons is doing his thing, but your outfit looks as though it has been smacked by a Kiwi hand. (The welts are there for all to see…is what I mean)
25 Feb 2013, 11:05 am
@Paws-78: Excellent, excellent post, Paws.
My sentiments exactly.
25 Feb 2013, 11:07 am
@gunther-98: Ha!! Ha!!!, LOL!!! He’s been great, I really had lost faith in him in the ODI’s, I was even pissed that he got selected for the Tests, I was thinking it was his friendship with the “clique” that got him in, then he saved that test in Australia, and boom!!!, he never looked back, good for him and Proteas.
25 Feb 2013, 11:07 am
XhosaKid ..
The kings have never beaten the Lions in a game of rugby .. I think that makes it rather clear.
The Lions have played in the A-section of the CC since I can remember, as a matter of fact they won it again in 2011. They make up the main bulk of the Lions regional team for super rugby.
The kings are made up of 3 teams that cannot make it out of the B section of the CC. The EP kings make up the bulk of the kings regional team, and although they are b-section champions, try as they might they just can’t make it into the A-div of the CC.
I think one can say this makes a very good and very strong argument that the Lions are a better team than the kings …
Like I said, it does not matter how k@k the Lions are in super rugby, they are still a better team than the kings currently.
As an kings supporter, I obviously don’t expect you to see the obvious … so you can just hold onto the k@k lions super rugby record for comfort.
I honestly hope that the Lions do get to play the kings in a promo / relegation game at the end of this super rugby season … that way if my Lions win I can prepare myself for most proberbly disapointing 2014 super rugby season, and if the kings win I can just relax and enjoy watching there games knowing they deserve to be there.
25 Feb 2013, 11:08 am
@Paws-85: ” No Trans … they stayed there because no
matter how k@k they were in super rugby
they have always been one of the top 5
teams in SA …. that is a simple fact that
you, keo and everyone else cannot get away
from.
there’s nothing to run away FROM! when the Cta franchise broke up you were handed a super rugby spot based presentations to KPMG & NOT rugby playing ability!
the franchise agreement signed by ALL the union Presidents declared that the team finishing LAST in 2006 will be relegated & the Spears will make their debut in Super rugby. that agreement wa tested & found VALID in the Cape High Court…
now tell me how come the LIONS never got relegated?
mixing currie cup with franchises is delusional cos they stopped using it as a yardstick YEARS ago.
25 Feb 2013, 11:09 am
@Mr Black-99: I think about the same amount as finals the Sharks have played in and failed to win?
I could be wrong. The Guppie number might be higher.
wink wink nudge nudge
25 Feb 2013, 11:10 am
… and to make the kings of 2013 better than the Lions of 2012 they have to win more than 3 games ;o)
25 Feb 2013, 11:10 am
@Paws-78: Get over yourfreakenself!!!, would’ve accepted if the Lions were kept out the Super Rugby by the Kings if the Kings had the type of record the Lions have had in the last 6 years?, would you?, would you have thought that’s ok?
25 Feb 2013, 11:11 am
@nortierd-97:
Correct we went through this one night after the WC, I mentioned to a few around here that were saying Paddy and Brycie were on the take/match fixing etc that it was libel and they could be traced through their ISP’s.
25 Feb 2013, 11:13 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-105:
Ha ha
Great come back sharkslady
25 Feb 2013, 11:15 am
@XhosaKid-102:
Good to have you back in the mix!
Sorry about the result on Friday night.
Are you stocking with the Stormers or are you on the kings train?
25 Feb 2013, 11:17 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95: Thank you Pedigree
The judge when giving his verdict on bail, questioned OP’s telling of events, everyone of those questions were exactly what I was asking myself when reading the affidavit! anyway it remains to be seen. My heart broke though when they interviewed her parents, that poor man! and when they showed her at the gates of the estate, my skin went cold, you were literally watching her drive to her death!
25 Feb 2013, 11:20 am
Super Rugby
Pos Team P W D L Pts
1 Brumbies 2 2 0 0 9
2 Chiefs 1 1 0 0 5
3 Kings 1 1 0 0 4
4 Blues 1 1 0 0 5
5 Bulls 1 1 0 0 4
6 Sharks 1 1 0 0 4
7 Reds 2 1 0 1 4
8 Rebels 2 1 0 1 4
9 Crusaders 0 0 0 0 4
10 Waratahs 1 0 0 1 4
11 Cheetahs 1 0 0 1 1
12 Force 2 0 0 2 1
13 Stormers 1 0 0 1 0
14 Highlanders 1 0 0 1 0
15 Hurricanes 1 0 0 1 0
Kings are the TOP SA Team ……………………………………………….Now that,
Oke Dokies,
makes a lot of you,
look a little silly.
25 Feb 2013, 11:20 am
@Paws-103:
Point 1. The Kings have not had the type of Super Rugby money the Lions have had and pissed away.
Point 2. Lions have used their Super Rugby money to bolster their CC unit, the Kings haven’t. The Kings played a Super Rugby game without a sponsor on their shirt.
Point 3. The Kings have played one Super Rugby game and have won it, Lions have lost 17 Super Rugby games in a row.
Point 4. The Kings deserve to get some Super Rugby money and be able to contract top players.
Point 5. Lets leave Lions out of Super Rugby for 10 years, and keep the Kings in, then on the 11th year, lets have a once off promo/relegation game between Kings & Lions, how about that ?
25 Feb 2013, 11:21 am
@Transformation-80: And that, as most people tend to forget is part of transformation. Transformation of rugby in the Eastern Cape, was always gonna be about more than just 15 players on the field. It’s about promoting the game of rugby, what was perceived as a sport for a certain group of the population, to a sport can be admired for its inclusive nature. Hats off to the people of the EC. You are well on your way to promoting rugby and the spirit of community in the EC.
25 Feb 2013, 11:22 am
No need to get over myself … that is the way I see it … and you, trans and others have your way of seeing things.
Lets just hope the rules don’t change and the Lions and kings get to meet in the play-off matches … it makes things so much easier and clean .. winner takes all.
Hopefully all teams will be included from 2016, and then we can go back to disliking teams for good old fashined reasons …. their supporters suck.
25 Feb 2013, 11:25 am
@gunther-110: I’m a Stormer for life, I don’t accept that we lost fair and square, the ref cheated
!!!!, I just don’t get the hatred directed at the Kings, if I was a Lions fan, I would directing my anger at the okes who ran the Lions down the drain, not at a third party like the Kings
25 Feb 2013, 11:27 am
@XhosaKid-113:
Stop trying to justify the Kings inclusion. Its futile, they are there, celebrate that.
I love Transies attitude this morning. Its all about the Kings and the supporters and the glory and the satisfaction. No negative i told you so bullshitt.
Go Transie jou fokkendoring.
25 Feb 2013, 11:27 am
@rossoneri-62: @XhosaKid-86: @Transformation-94:
Smile Boys and Girls,
Welcome to the Big Time.
25 Feb 2013, 11:29 am
It was lovely to be part of history in the making. The atmosphere in the stadium was electric and was a beautiful night for rugby. The attendance will even be more against the sharks.
25 Feb 2013, 11:30 am
@Sharksgirl-111:
Welcome back gorgeous.
25 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
@pedigree: Sexton will perform the role of head coach
and take charge of the forward pack with
some assistance from Barend Pieterse,
whilst his fellow Kiwi Brad Moar has been
appointed as attack coach with the
experienced Omar Mouneimne taking the
role of defensive specialist.
25 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
@Peter Mkata-119:
Derby games are more intense. Gonna be fun.
25 Feb 2013, 11:32 am
@Paws-106: They won’t win another game…
25 Feb 2013, 11:33 am
@Paws-115: What do you think of Point 5 of post 113. Therein lies the distortion that Lions and all other haters miss.
25 Feb 2013, 11:34 am
@cane-118: thanks Caner, t’was sweet to start in the “big time” with W…i said here last week the log will reflect Kings Played 1 Won 1 Lost 0
25 Feb 2013, 11:34 am
@Peter Mkata-119:
Games will get tougher Pete,
but there will be many more wins,
before the season is over.
25 Feb 2013, 11:38 am
The ref carried the Kings. Having made that point, I think the newcomers showed a lot of guts. It will be interesting to see whether they can cope once their momentum is halted.
25 Feb 2013, 11:38 am
@Paws-115: don’t get emotional; just answer my simple question. how did the Lions remain in Super rugby after finishing LAST in 2006?
*remember, domestic cups have zilch to do with franchise “qualification” in both SA & NZ.
25 Feb 2013, 11:40 am
@Lang Giel-127: lourens carried us? bwahahahahaha
are you hondo’s assistant?
25 Feb 2013, 11:42 am
-Kings win.
-The White Buffaloo returns a positive drug test.
- Oscar’s brother also before the Judicary.
- Policeman in charge Investigation into Reeva’s death has charges pending.
Only is SA Okes,
Only in SA.
25 Feb 2013, 11:42 am
i’m just glad we play the Sharks sans Bissy, Alberts, Whitehead & Keegan Cullen.
25 Feb 2013, 11:44 am
@Transformation-128: You’ll not get an answer but some rhetoric about that and this and that and this and so and so-so’s mum, Cheeky this, Cheeky that,,,,,blah blah blah. No honest or integrity at all, which is ironic if one considers that the main gripe against the Kings, is “lack of honesty & integrity “
25 Feb 2013, 11:48 am
@XhosaKid-124:
On what bases would the Lions be left out?
The A and B sections of the curry cup has been running for some time, in this time the Lions have managed to stay in the A-div, and the EP kings have never been able to get into the A-div … they are the best of the 2nd level.
…. and yes, I know that some will argue that you can’t use that as a yard stick, but in the absence of another yard stick this one will have to do, as the vast majourity of these players do make up the bulk of the super rugby franchise.
… and the main franchises have to share the super rugby money with there smaller unions .. not sure how EP fell out of that with the sharks. (this for trans about the lions using money to build cc squad ,, which leads to SR squad anyway)
In short … the Lions is just to strong a union to leave out of super rugby for 10 years, they have constantly been one of the top 5 unions in the history of SA rugby and will remain so .. purely rugby reasons, not polotical or administrative.
25 Feb 2013, 11:49 am
It just show how k@k the force are! let them be happy for a week, they will still loose all their remaing games
25 Feb 2013, 11:53 am
@pompies: our crowds are probably the most diverse in SA…i was @ Newlands for the Boks vs Argie match…i stuck out like a sore thumb in the grand stand…
that particular match reinforced Pissant’s refrain of “rugby in SA is predominantly supported by 50yr old white males”
justsayin
25 Feb 2013, 11:53 am
@cane-118: Thank you Cane. Many happy faces at the office today.
25 Feb 2013, 11:55 am
@Transformation-128:
They were still a better option than the alternative.
Are you seriously suggesting that EP was a stronger rugby union in 2006 than the Lions in 2006?
Do you honestly suggest that the spears had a better product to sell that the Lions at that stage based on rugby reasons?
25 Feb 2013, 11:57 am
@Transformation-131:
Trannie, one thing that intrigues me as I didn’t see the match. What would you say the racial breakdown of the crowd was in PE?
25 Feb 2013, 11:58 am
@Transformation-135:
If you love rugby, you love rugby and in my book that is enough to make everyone equal.
Problem with watching a test is the pricing of the tickets.
I can’t afford those prices, and even if I could, I would rather use the money on something else
25 Feb 2013, 12:01 pm
From Keo’s article:
“Grey High School, academically and culturally strong, is also Port Elizabeth’s most renowned sporting and rugby institution.”
Well some of you may not know…………
But Sir George Grey was also Governor of South Australia.
And after that, Governor of NZ (2 terms) and later Premier.
Perhaps the Super 15 Trophy, could be called The Grey Cup.
As he undoubtedly had a large influence on all 3 protagonists.
25 Feb 2013, 12:01 pm
For me to see that young boy not far from PE scoring those two tries after having showed a finger to the bulls amongst others. Imagine what the talk is during the breaks at some schools in EC. thanks to Cheeky and his team.
25 Feb 2013, 12:02 pm
Aussies getting a hiding by India…..1 wicket away from an innings loss……love it!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:02 pm
@Transformation-135: That was an odd experience wasn’t it.
25 Feb 2013, 12:03 pm
@Jeez-8: The Lions got “thrown out” For being the lowest ranked team.. there simply was not place for six teams.. if they managed to be above the Cheetahs, the cheetahs would have been gone this year.. So stop blaming politics!
I also do not agree the hand the kings we given, or the lions for that matter, but at least they played like they actually wanna be there… unlike some prima donnas I had to watch on Friday…
25 Feb 2013, 12:04 pm
Luke had those Kings snorting fire……best captain in SA by a country mile.
25 Feb 2013, 12:08 pm
@grant10-145:
4sure
25 Feb 2013, 12:08 pm
@nortierd-139:
You are not alone Nortie,
25 Feb 2013, 12:11 pm
No need to be nasty with sharkievarkie supporters ,keo.we know Hg heads off to France when things are tough and fernly fakes his death on here.
25 Feb 2013, 12:13 pm
Grant, Luke surprised me too. Am a big fan, he looked a bit unfit to me though. Imagine if he makes the Bok team. Some will commit suicide in here. Him making the team is not beyond the realms of possibility.
25 Feb 2013, 12:13 pm
@133
Great thing about sport is that a team can be better than the sum parts of the players. Otherwise we wouldn’t need to watch, we could just play top trumps.
While I was starting to warm to the Lions approach to the game, the fact that they were consistently woeful meant they should leave. I would rather have a new side getting whipped than the same side every year.
The lions had their turn & their management never did anything about it until it was too late.
I would be soooo angry to see the good stuff the management are doing now, because they are putting doubt in supporters minds that they may not be as uses as 10 years of non performance suggests.
25 Feb 2013, 12:14 pm
@133
Great thing about sport is that a team can be better than the sum parts of the players. Otherwise we wouldn’t need to watch, we could just play top trumps.
While I was starting to warm to the Lions approach to the game, the fact that they were consistently woeful meant they should leave. I would rather have a new side getting whipped than the same side every year.
The lions had their turn & their management never did anything about it until it was too late.
I would be soooo angry to see the good stuff the management are doing now, because they are putting doubt in supporters minds that they may not be as uses as 10 years of non performance suggests.
25 Feb 2013, 12:14 pm
It’s not often that a youngster denies the bulls.good on Petersen for doing just that.
25 Feb 2013, 12:16 pm
SAR VAULT: Super Sergeal
Feb
In the November 2012 issue of SA Rugby magazine, GARETH DUNCAN tipped Sergeal Petersen to become a star of South African rugby.
Grey PE wing Sergeal Petersen was the fastest South African schools rugby player this year – he has a personal best for the 100m sprint of 10.46sec – but SA Schools coach Chris October says there’s more to the 18-year-old than speed.
Petersen produced solid, all-round performances in SA Schools’ victories against France, Wales and England in August, and scored a try in each match.
‘We’ve seen star forwards, flyhalves, and centres coming out of the schoolboy ranks in recent years, but in Sergeal, South Africa has a wing who has the potential to be a real star,’ says October. ‘He has great pace and does well on attack and defence. He just needs to continue working hard and keep learning and improving after he’s matriculated.’
The speedster was born and bred in Humansdorp, a small town near Port Elizabeth. He first attended Laerskool Stulting, before accepting a sports bursary from Grey Junior School in his Grade 7 year. He then received a second sports scholarship to attend Grey High, where he played two years of 1st XV rugby.
This season, he grabbed 13 tries in 12 appearances for the school. His best performance came in their 23-19 surprise win over Paul Roos in Stellenbosch, where he scored a hat-trick.
‘Sergeal’s speed is his biggest asset,’ says Grey PE 1st XV coach and former Cheetahs lock Rory Duncan. ‘He carries the ball very well and usually takes two to three defenders down with him. If you give him a gap, he’s gone.
‘We tried to implement an expansive game plan this year, and Sergeal’s pace out wide helped to make it an effective one [Grey PE won 11 of their 15 games].’
Petersen has represented EP at U13 (2007), U16 (2010) and U18 (2012) levels. He was a standout performer at this year’s U18 Craven Week at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, helping EP achieve an unbeaten run. He also scored four tries in three games to finish as the tournament’s joint top try-scorer.
This form saw him make the 28-man SA Schools squad – the second time he’s received a national call- up for sport. In 2011, he represented South Africa in the 100m sprint at the Commonwealth Youth Games on the Isle of Man. Unfortunately, a hamstring injury during the second semi-final heat cut his debut international outing short and he decided to make rugby his main focus this year.
‘I just enjoy rugby more than athletics,’ he says. ‘Representing South Africa at the Commonwealth Youth Games was a great experience and it helped increase my speed. But rugby has always been my first love.’
Petersen has signed a two-year junior contract with the EP Kings from 2013, and will be based at the union’s academy. The player hopes he will be the first of many schoolboys to continue his career in the region.
‘Super Rugby participation is very important,’ he says. ‘If the Kings can stay in the competition, many top schoolboys will want to play their rugby in the Eastern Cape. It’s my dream to play Super Rugby one day.
‘I also want to make the Baby Boks squad next year,’ he continues. ‘I got to train with [SA U20 coach] Dawie Theron during my time with the SA Schools squad, and he helped me and the other players a lot in terms of how he views the game and its technical strategies.’
25 Feb 2013, 12:17 pm
@Peter Mkata-141:
Yeah, it was great to see Seagull Peterson diving in to score and afterwards to thank god and vodacom all in the same breath
25 Feb 2013, 12:20 pm
Pocock?….they don’t make Zimbabweans like that anymore,Keo.
25 Feb 2013, 12:22 pm
@Peter Mkata-149: I will pay a Keo subscription should Luke make bok team……it will be worth every cent!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:23 pm
@paws: 137:
is that your answer? they were still the better option?
fyi. tony mckeever called for promo/relegation games back in 2006 and SARU didn’t budge so how was that on MERIT?
25 Feb 2013, 12:23 pm
I KNOW I shouldn’t gloat but I’m a firm believer in “making hay while the sun shines” so please allow me to say how nice it is sitting “up here” and looking down on all the finger pointing and b.tching “down there”…
We’re sitting pretty with nine points out of a possible 10 and will remain “up here” thanks to SANZAR’s ridiculous “four bonus points for byes policy for another week at least!!!
Oh, life is good right now!!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:24 pm
@Peter Mkata-149: As long as his Heyneke-ness is coach, it’s unlikely (or impossible)
25 Feb 2013, 12:25 pm
@S_K-148:
Funny stuff that.
25 Feb 2013, 12:27 pm
@Paws-103: So no matter how k@k the lions stay in Superugby… that is good enough for you as a lions supporter? In admitting the lions is k@k, what hurt is there in giving the kings some exposure in the comp? Not like the lions will win it like alluded by yourself… just saying…
25 Feb 2013, 12:30 pm
@grant10-19: totally spot on grant.luke was inspirational in that 30 minutes he was on the field.Stormers surely lacks that type of leadership .
25 Feb 2013, 12:32 pm
A lot of understandable jubiliation here.
Let’s see how much jubilation remains in a few weeks time.
25 Feb 2013, 12:34 pm
@Tacitus-163: lets see how you feel after your tour from hell……
gloat as mush as you can….fill your chops….because fark me that tour looks like a beetch from hell
25 Feb 2013, 12:35 pm
@S_K-162: Stormers have 2 of the most uninspiring captains I have seen in a long while……Schalk and JDV…..both ‘ jokers ‘ and the funny okes on the team bus….no wonder we play like clowns.
25 Feb 2013, 12:36 pm
@grant10-164:
Luckily I haven’t predicted a successful tour for us. So there will be no disappointment from my side.
How are you feeling about the Stormers prospects for the next few weeks?
25 Feb 2013, 12:37 pm
So,Keo,Alan Solomons only needs two more victories to beat Meyer’s record ? Absolutely astonishing !
@Tacitus-163: Oh dear, monsieur le sulk has arrived. Please fock off off this thread. You just a negative d00s.
@pompies2-168:
Hello sunshine..
25 Feb 2013, 12:39 pm
@Tacitus-163: What do you think of the new Hekkies? Sergeal looks like he might upset your once famous pantoffel huh??
25 Feb 2013, 12:40 pm
@Provvas-170:
I’d say hold your horses a bit old chap.
25 Feb 2013, 12:41 pm
@Tacitus-169: No sunshine. Your negative cloud blocks it out. Instead of offering even a hollow congratulatory message to the Kings, you still bitching away.
25 Feb 2013, 12:42 pm
@pompies2-168: don’t worry,he will soon disappear as soon as the bulls starts touring.
@pompies2-172:
I’m on record that I don’t support the Kings concept. The fact that the Force are weaker than the Griquas Vodacom Cup team this year has no bearing on that position whatsoever.
Onto the Stormers game.. We played really k@k and did not deserve to win, this gameplan from AC will start to fall short once we loose another few “tight” ones..
But i need to know: If you kick the ball, and another player is in front of the ball…. and he DOES not retreat…. may he play it whatever happens after the kick? Where is the rule fundies.. You all know where I am going with this one.. all Chilli’s try..
25 Feb 2013, 12:44 pm
@Tacitus-171: Im talking pure speed on the track old Tac!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:44 pm
@Provvas-175:
Here’s another question for you:
If you are tackled 2 yards from the tryline, and are lying isolated on the ground while an arriving defender is on his feet trying to win the bal from youl, are you allowed to cling to it for 5 seconds until a support player arrives and dives over the line with the ball?
25 Feb 2013, 12:45 pm
@Provvas-176:
That depends on Sergeal’s speed, doesn’t it.
25 Feb 2013, 12:45 pm
@Tacitus-174:
Tac to be fair in the early day of super rugby the Bulls got thumped every game .
25 Feb 2013, 12:46 pm
Sergeal was great to watch. So too was SP Marais.
25 Feb 2013, 12:47 pm
@NZINCHINA-179:
So going by that argument, any region can be shoved into Super Rugby with the excuse that they need a couple of seasons to lift their standards.
The issue is the justification of their inclusion, and the fact that there are at least 2 better SA teams that are not participating – namely the Lions and the Griquas Vodacom Cup team…
25 Feb 2013, 12:48 pm
@Tacitus: we will lose plenty of games but hey it was lekker being @ the stadium & cheering those boys on…
plus knowing you were choking on bile at home
i recall you spewing some about “coke cans that will be thrown on the field because of cheeky’s unrealistic expectations?”
real vs imagined
25 Feb 2013, 12:49 pm
@Transformation-182:
If you think the expectation were unrealistic before, this result has just lifted those expectations into orbit.
25 Feb 2013, 12:51 pm
@Provvas-175:
Wrong call, should not have awarded the try.
25 Feb 2013, 12:51 pm
@Tacitus-177: Was hoping you want to bring up the “knock” Which on my PVR showed clearly that the was daylight between his hand and the ball… But if you look at the incident you talk about: Easy!! watch the live replay and not the slowmotion and those five seconds you talk about will seem less.. hehehhe
Habana went to ground close to the line less then your 2 yards, then saw he was short and then placed the ball backwards like he is allowed to do… it happens probably 100 times in a single game… No bulls player attempted to pick the ball up, they all just tried to wrestle the closest Stormers player…. thats how I saw it…
As for the alleged kick touching a stormer? No clear evidence that it touched him…. Where is Hotspot when you need it!!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:53 pm
@Provvas-185:
How about Jean’s professional foul, knocking the ball out of Hougaards hands right in front of the ref?
25 Feb 2013, 12:54 pm
@Tacitus-181:
Only a true fool would make such deductions from pre-season warm-up games…
@Tacitus-166: not feeling very good about Stormers…..the front row woes continue, that knocks on to the rest of the game plan….lineouts a shambles, 9 and 10 struggled to impose themselves…..12 and 13 far too alike …..15 struggled with line kicking…..
Aload of work required and sone big selection calls to be made….
it doesent get any easier with Sharks talking up revenge and then the Chiefs, saders and brumbies…..
Bleak I tell you…
@tac: ” the fact that there are at
least 2 better SA teams that are not
participating – namely the Lions and the
Griquas Vodacom Cup team…”
based on what. warm up games?
hahahaha and some here accused u of having “gravitas”
25 Feb 2013, 12:55 pm
@Transformation-189:
How about based on the ranking of the Lions in Griquas in the Currie Cup tournament vs the Kings..
25 Feb 2013, 12:56 pm
@grant10-156: Luke must just concentrate on his rugby. He is smart, rugby wise, and experienced compared to the current loose trio. Hanneikke will not see through his contract. He is dof remember dof rugby from the Bulls? LOL.
25 Feb 2013, 12:56 pm
@Tacitus-181: Lions do not deserve a SR spot based on their last 5-6 years in the comp.. Finish and klaar!! The Kings got it the wrong way I admit!! But I believe rugby is more needed in PE and eastern regions as in Johburg where halve the people support WP/ Bulls sharks anyway!!
Games need to be brought to a magnificent stadium like in the baai… great to see 33 000 people pitch… remind me how many pitched at Bloem? 14 000 i here you say? So stop looking inti the wall you created in the watsons. and support the region rather…
As for Luke, people may not like him, but he plays a hellova game of rugger!!
25 Feb 2013, 12:58 pm
@Provvas-192:
Well let’s just see how things go, shall we. It’s a long season ahead.
25 Feb 2013, 12:59 pm
@PissAnt-184: What does the rule exactly states?
Its like when a flyhalf kicks, the ref yells that the wing need to retreat if he was in front.. so is it a refs discretion? or what?
I know when someone charges down a kick they call play on and everyone is on side, but surely he did not Charge down the ball or intented to do so?
25 Feb 2013, 12:59 pm
@grant10-188:
Crusaders really in week 4? Wow. Tough opening run indeed.
25 Feb 2013, 13:00 pm
@Tacitus-186: Now you are getting technical.. like the Bulls props scrumming down/inwards and getting penalties their way resulting in 3 points every time?
25 Feb 2013, 13:02 pm
@Provvas-196:
Hmm, so your issue with the Bulls try was NOT technical?
I suggest we just stick with the final result then, and leave all these “technical issues”, no?
25 Feb 2013, 13:02 pm
Is this you Skop?
Renaldo Shane Tarentaal – February 25, 2013 at 11:46 Report commentComments Policy
Things is not going to be that tough on Oscar. I stand by him, in everything. I predicted four events that took place already, about the Oscar Pistorius case. I see hope for him, somehow. FOLLOW me on Twitter, for more updates on the case coming soon. Follow @Numerology_10 Pray both for Reeva and Oscar. Take care
??????
If so, Can you confirm if Deon Fourie will manage to throw in straight at least once against the Sharks? Thanks in advance.
25 Feb 2013, 13:03 pm
@Peter Mkata-191: I see Luke played at 7 on Fri….verastile oke….can do all 3 off the bench for boks…hier gaan n ding kom!!
25 Feb 2013, 13:04 pm
@Tacitus-195: saders week 5…..Brumbies week 4…I think..
25 Feb 2013, 13:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-198: Sorry wrong thread.
25 Feb 2013, 13:06 pm
@grant10-200:
The Stormes will be much better this weekend. I still give it to the Sharks, however.
Meaning the Chiefs game at Newlands will be a big one.
25 Feb 2013, 13:06 pm
@Provvas-194:
Two things to consider.
There is an off-side law in general play, where a player can be put on-side by the actions of an opponent, i.e. intentionally touching or playing the ball.
However in a kick the 10-meter off-side law applies, in this instance, an off-side player cannot be put on-side by the actions of an opponent.
Two examples, Willem Alberts try against England last year was the off-side law applied under general play, so legal try.
However, Chili could not have been put on-side by any action of Malherbe since the 10-meter off-side law applied.
Explained in detail here:
http://www.sareferees.com/News/law-discussion-ralepelles-try/2829833/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
25 Feb 2013, 13:08 pm
@Tacitus-197: What else is there hey!! I do not see a good year for my team with AC not thinking up new gameplans… But in all fairness, the Bulls were just as ****! They will be found wanting against a Chiefs or a organised Brumbies I believe, You??
If you watch a game like the Chiefs and Hoghlanders I suppose it is hard to see any good in this gauntlet run at the 10 channels that Sa teams do into infinity!!
25 Feb 2013, 13:08 pm
@PissAnt-184: that incompetent ref has just screw.ed teams that use the maul as an offensive weapon. Bullies and Brokebacks who take an eternity setting up their maul will get a ‘use it’ call followed by a quick 5 count guranteed! Antipodes have already circulated the memo.
25 Feb 2013, 13:10 pm
@Provvas-204:
I’m not that as impressed by the Chiefs Highlanders game. Great attacking play yes, but poor defense.
We can drag them down to our level, if we apply the pressure properly. That’s the only way we ever manage to beat All Black teams at test level too. Tightening the pressure screws and making it a slug fest.
25 Feb 2013, 13:11 pm
@RL-205:
Ja Lourens van der Merwe is a very poor ref. Has been so since he first arrived on the scene.
25 Feb 2013, 13:11 pm
@PissAnt-203: As always great insight Pissant!! Thanks!
25 Feb 2013, 13:14 pm
@Tacitus-207: On Saturday I did not perceive him as so poor though? He made mistakes both ways… like the throwin rule that he called against the Kings but not the Force…. I still think the Kings were the better team even if they lost to Griekwas.. LOL
25 Feb 2013, 13:16 pm
@Provvas-209:
Well, opinions are bound to differ.
25 Feb 2013, 13:19 pm
@RL-205:
I actually like Peyper – thought he did very well on Friday.
25 Feb 2013, 13:20 pm
@Tacitus-206:
You don’t have the forwards to be able to do that for a full 80 minutes, the Chiefs can bust you open and score three tries in 10 minutes, Steyn can’t kick penalties that quick.
25 Feb 2013, 13:22 pm
@PissAnt-203: PA, Go watch the Jean try again, also shold not have been, one clearly sees ther ball being knocked by the Stormer Scrummy before the try is scored. Just watch the Scrummies fingers lift when touching the ball, TMO called legal try, so mistakes both ways.
25 Feb 2013, 13:24 pm
@NZINCHINA-212:
I agree that we aren’t yet at the Chiefs or Crusaders level this year. We probably aren’t at the Sharks level either.
But I think we are as good as any of the next teams, including the Brumbies, Stormers, Highlanders etc.
25 Feb 2013, 13:25 pm
by Brenden Nel 25 February 2013, 12:20
Facing a mammoth task away from home against the defending champions, the Toyota Cheetahs will pin their hopes on the return of their talisman Heinrich Brussow this weekend in Hamilton.
Considering the power and pace employed by the Chiefs in their opening win over the Highlanders, it won’t be a surprise that they start as favourites in the clash, but the Cheetahs will be hoping the confidence they received out of the second-half comeback in Bloemfontein, as well as the addition of Brussow to the mix will turn things in their favour.
Still, despite the comeback, the Cheetahs left South Africa on Sunday knowing the mammoth task ahead of them this weekend, as their lineout continues to be an Achilles heel and they lost Waltie Vermeulen to injury.
Vermeulen’s injury is another setback for Naka Drotske’s side, especially after they already lost Andries Ferreira and Martin Muller to injury before the season began. Vermeulen is replaced by Griqua lock Ligtoring Landman, who left with the team headed for the Antipodes.
This means the Cheetahs will tour with just three locks as Landman joins Francois Uys and Lood de Jager as the only second row players on tour.
One positive though, is that Coenie Oosthuizen came through his comeback unscathed and is set to take his place in the front row this weekend, while the Cheetahs will be hoping the tour gels them into a unit like it did last year.
25 Feb 2013, 13:26 pm
@PissAnt-203:
Pissant, I think your Stormers are in trouble this season. We could well see them at 0 from 3 after 3 games, and 1 from 5 after 5 games.
Putting them under immense pressure before their tour has even started. I don’t think they will top the SA log again. And that means they will not be contending for the Cup come final time.
25 Feb 2013, 13:27 pm
@Tacitus-214:
I don’t like the pedestal you are putting the sharks on.
Is it some kind of inverse whoopass jedi mindgame?
25 Feb 2013, 13:28 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-213: No sir!!
Watched that specifically on my PVR… there was the blue color from a stormers jersey in the background between the ball and his hands the whole time he tried to handle the ball.. which clearly indicates he did not touch it…
25 Feb 2013, 13:28 pm
@gunther-217:
Gunther, I’ve rated the Sharks as a better team than the Stormers for the last 10 years. And specifically in the last 3 years.
If they have Bismark, Alberts, Kanko, Marcell Coetsee, Lambie, Frans Steyn and JP Pietersen all fit – together with Beast and Jannie, then they have the best team in SA by some distance.
25 Feb 2013, 13:29 pm
@Tacitus-214:
That sounds about right but I’m not so sure about the Crusaders this year, they’ve lost some key players and no captain fantastic who is worth 5 points a game at least.
25 Feb 2013, 13:30 pm
@Provvas-218:
Look pal, the Stormers have had a refereeing complaint as supposed reason for their losses to the Bulls going all the way back to Breyton Paulse’s forward pass to Chester Williams in the 98 final.
It seems that according to the Cape Tonians, the Bulls have NEVER beaten them fair and square. This is nothing new.
25 Feb 2013, 13:32 pm
very well written article. respect.
25 Feb 2013, 13:32 pm
Sharks will have the luxury of probably naming an unchanged 22 for Stormers match….
Cant see the Stormers going that route…..
add the pressure, away from home, the revenge factor…..
An Everest indeed for Stormers…
I may have the happiest girlfriend and the cleanest car come April May, June…..Mall shopping and washing the car seems to be my weekends come week 5 of the competetion.
25 Feb 2013, 13:34 pm
@Tacitus-216: Yes but we will go unnoticed until the last 5-6 weeks that we will be playing: Rebels away, Reds at Nuweland, Kings, Cheetahs , Kings and lastly Bulls..
Sounds like at least 30 points to my…
25 Feb 2013, 13:37 pm
@Tacitus-195: @Tacitus-202:
Guys, remember that this past weekend was week 2 already even though our teams played their opening matches.
No respite for Stormers after their bye in week 5:
23 Mar: Stormers v Brumbies
30 Mar: Stormers v Crusaders
6 Apr: Cheetahs v Stormers
13 Apr: Stormers v Sharks
A very tough program but if we can get between 20-25 points before we go on tour, I believe we will be in with a great chance to mak the play-off rounds.
25 Feb 2013, 13:37 pm
@grant10-223: What is going on with the Stormers seriously. They looked so disinterested in their own game.
25 Feb 2013, 13:38 pm
@Tacitus-221: Notice how nothing is being said about how MOrne outplayed Jantjies in every phacet of play?
@Tacitus-221: Funny how they always seem to be AGAINST US hey???
Image the Bulle received that try against them? The outcry…. I think its fair to say the bulls never beat us ever!! We are just behind on the scoreboard after 80 minutes odd… hehehe
@Tacitus-216:
Nah Stormers fans should not be that disappointed. Their line out was shocking and their kicking even worse. They left a good 15 to 18 points out there through quite simply piss-poor execution or converting easy opportunities into points.
This will improve – first game, some important key players coming back etc.
I am actually surprised Bulls did not put them away sooner.
That said, first 4 rounds will define their season, if they can come away with 2 out of 4 wins (cannot lose home games) they are still very much in the hunt.
I called a Bulls win – only thing that surprised me was how most wrote them off before the game.
25 Feb 2013, 13:40 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-227: FFS its one game!! Report back in a few weeks when Jnatjes actaully had some game time.. that is if he plays again now that Grant is back..
@grant10-223: To be honest: we couldn’t win the tournament leading from the front throughout……and we had quite a few bites at the cherry.
This might be considered a blessing. We might actually have to hit the playoffs the ‘hard way’. We have always been better at playing catchup than we have been leading from the front and being touted as ‘faves’ and ‘contenders’ from the get go….
We haven’t been able to win this thing going through the front door…..the back door might be kinder. Who knows? But I’m rather surprised at all the doom and gloom after one game.
Spelling as awful as Stormers on Friday
25 Feb 2013, 13:43 pm
@rossoneri-226: Congrats on your teams win, they really played above themselves and can be very proud. I will be honest, i had the KIngs losing by 3 on super bru.
As for Watson? I am not a fan nor a hater, I believe he should be left alone and judged on what he does on the field of play, however some crowing about him being Bok capt is a joke and no he was not the big hero on Saturday, infact your team took control when Engelbrecht replaced Watson.
Does that mean i am saying Watson played poorly? No but he sure was not the reason for the win.
Lets hope for your team and their supporters sake that they can build on that foundation, no matter who says what? that was a very good victory by a team playing with huge heart
25 Feb 2013, 13:44 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-227: Tyrone, I would rather talk about your spelling….. whatthefuck is a phacet? Sounds phallic to me? Breakfast in bed for you I guess….
Anyhow, Morne was good…behind a dominant pack. Nothing new there?
However, what this says is that your Lambie won’t be wearing the Bok jersey this year if Morne continues in this rich vein of kicking form. You know that…..
25 Feb 2013, 13:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-231:
The back door?
Pedi say it ain’t so.
25 Feb 2013, 13:46 pm
@Provvas-230: Hey i agre, but you okes are quick to give MOrne hell when he does have a poor game. It might not be you personally, but it is a fact.
So yes credit should have been given to Morne, none was given in here.
If you read way further back i also said it was funny to see Stormer supporters writing off Jantjies after 1 game? and that after not having played any warm up games etc with his new team mates.
25 Feb 2013, 13:46 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-227:
Most of those comments were made on Friday evening already.
It was clear to see that Morne outclassed, out kicked and outplayed Elton, and we said as much after the match.
25 Feb 2013, 13:49 pm
I believe it should actually be the Bulls/Morne fans who should do the crowing. Why should Stormer fans do it? We already congratulated the Bulls on their win and admitted that Jantjies was kak (ie Morne outplayed him).
What else do you want Stormer supporters to do?
25 Feb 2013, 13:51 pm
@gunther-235: And here I reckoned the guppies would be the ones reacting….How wrong can a girl be
25 Feb 2013, 13:51 pm
@gunther-235:
25 Feb 2013, 13:52 pm
@nama1-238: It is not about crowing , it is when trash a player for poor play? atleast have the nuts to give credit when that same player plays well, no matter the team he plays for.
25 Feb 2013, 13:52 pm
@nama1-238:
Bless you for you have sinned.
Say three Hail Mornes and five Our Kirchners.
25 Feb 2013, 13:53 pm
And in case you missed it on Friday, Saturday and Sunday here goes again.
Congrats to the Bulls, Sharks and King supporters and teams on your good start to the campaign.
Sharks especially, an away win is a great way to kick off.
Sorry Cheetahs and Stormers.
Stormers going to have a tough 2 weeks coming and I am expecting the worst, but hoping for the best
25 Feb 2013, 13:59 pm
@nortierd-243: That’s not enough…
25 Feb 2013, 13:59 pm
Still think we’re good enough to win anywhere in RSA.
But in order to do that we have to convert pressure into points.
Let’s see how in goes in the Tank.
25 Feb 2013, 14:00 pm
@Tacitus-216:
i think you’re right.
that scenario is quite possible
i hope they will at least put up a fight against the NZ teams especially to keep their points totals low as well wear them down.
25 Feb 2013, 14:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-239:
Pedi who knew you received visitors via your tradesman’s entrance?
I can only play what’s in front of me.
25 Feb 2013, 14:02 pm
@nortierd-243: And incase you missed it, you are only 1 of the Stormer supporters, I was referring to those that always badmouth the likes of Morne, Spies, etc etc
25 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
It is going to be tough not to pick the Bulls on Superbru… hehe. Talking about bitterness
25 Feb 2013, 14:03 pm
@wpstormerbok-245: Stormers are the top team in SA right now, and it was only the first match,lets wait till far more games have been played.
25 Feb 2013, 14:04 pm
@rossoneri-226: Prima donna syndrome…..seriously…they played the boring drivel last year and probably believed that Taute, Jantjes and Cilliers were all that was required to take the next step….
Stormers are very windgat in my opinion…….they have the talent but lack the grit and determination to really be considered a threat…..I have seen this movie over and over again…..
25 Feb 2013, 14:05 pm
So.
At this stage all realistic expectations are:
Sharks, Bulls, Cheetahs, Stormers, Kings
Nice.
25 Feb 2013, 14:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-246:
Those big island boys from Auckland are dying to have a crack at your Bully boys, unless you subdue them early they’re gonna carve you up.
25 Feb 2013, 14:07 pm
@shooter-244:

Let me know what else…… I am not worthy, I am a worm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-248:
Ok, I expected Morne to come back better in the SR, still disagree with HM for dragging him on the EYT though, though some extra R&R was deserved.
I’m glad he had a good game and Lambie was solid in the kicking department as well, so it all bodes well for the Boks.
25 Feb 2013, 14:08 pm
Jantjies outplayed himself more than anything.
Was a lame performance overall from Stormers though so we could do this with most players who started that game.
25 Feb 2013, 14:08 pm
@Peter Mkata-191: re Luke, don’t forget to add short
25 Feb 2013, 14:09 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-241:
So, are you saying that it was only Stormers supporters who thrashed him last year when he was kak for the BOKKE?
@gunther-242:
Don’t know those prayers.
25 Feb 2013, 14:14 pm
The kings played well that win was no fluke , anyone who watched the game will tell you that they played like a team in its 4th or 5th season. The only people who are unhappy have strangely been some Saffas.
Western force are not a bad team they just came up against a better side.
Whether or not the kings win another game is irrelevant they’ve already done better than the lions and there is still at least 15 games to go , I for one will make and effort to catch all their games based on what they’ve shown so far.
They could very well upset any team in the comp im picking them to do a number on the bulls on the 20th of April. #GoTheKings
25 Feb 2013, 14:17 pm
@boktillzero-258:
Mat Sexton was a very good Crusaders hooker in his day and now he has the Kings playing like a NZ side, exactly what the SA conference needs a bit of flair.
25 Feb 2013, 14:17 pm
@shooter-256:
He’s a little teapot
Short and stout,
Here is his handle,
Here is his spout ,
When he gets all steamed up,
Hear him shout,
Tip him over and pour him out!
25 Feb 2013, 14:18 pm
@nama1-257: I never said that, I said you okes. which refers to some bloggers in here.
25 Feb 2013, 14:20 pm
@gunther-260: So Luke walks into a bar and asks the barman, what’s Keo short for?
25 Feb 2013, 14:21 pm
@nortierd-254: I agree MOrne should not have gone on tour, but you are missing my point.
I have said, and it goes for those that always trash Morne, I do not recall giving a specific persons name, and simply put that if a player plays poorly and you say so, atleast have the nuts to praise when that same player plays well?? that is all i said.
25 Feb 2013, 14:24 pm
@gunther-260:
25 Feb 2013, 14:24 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-263: It’s called ominous dread syndrome…. the Morne haters are having bad dreams again.
25 Feb 2013, 14:25 pm
@gunther-260:
I see you are inhaling my exhaust fumes on bru AND the fantasy league.
25 Feb 2013, 14:28 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-263:
He played kak for the BOKKE. I’ll praise when he plays well for the BOKKE.
I don’t care much how he plays when playing for the Bulls.
25 Feb 2013, 14:29 pm
@NZINCHINA-259: Wasn’t that nice to watch. Some entertaining rugby.
@nama1-266:
I haven’t got my wheels up on the fantasy league.
I still need to pick a team.
As for the bru the super 15 is not won in feb.
Your record speaks for itself.
Enjoying this writing off of the Stormers in Round 2 only. Where was it before the season started?
Still early days boys relax.
25 Feb 2013, 14:31 pm
Gonna have to save this thread and many posts here for after the first century points difference rogering the Kings take…
Fark, the emo woe is me will be worse than the average post Stormer loss…
That will be farken funny…
25 Feb 2013, 14:34 pm
@gunther-269:
Still better than yours though.
25 Feb 2013, 14:34 pm
@nama1-266: Which fantasy league?
25 Feb 2013, 14:35 pm
@rossoneri-268:
Yip that’s why we watch the game to be entertained.
25 Feb 2013, 14:39 pm
@nama1-272:
Not historically.
Lets chat at the end of season when you resume your usual position amongst the ugle the dumb and the criminally insane.
25 Feb 2013, 14:41 pm
if msteyn is just going to hoof everything skywards the bulle will get punished by teams with shrewd counter-attacking options…
25 Feb 2013, 14:43 pm
@Sasuke-273:
/-)
Less said about round 2 ‘s pick the better.
I was so irritated I already made my round 3 picks Saturday night, reckon I can’t really do worse.
25 Feb 2013, 14:44 pm
@Sasuke-273:
Keo has one. There are prizes to be won apparently.
25 Feb 2013, 14:45 pm
@Transformation-276: you must watch a bit hey, he does passes.
25 Feb 2013, 14:49 pm
What’s the bookie odds on Sergeal the Seagull Petersen to score most tries in S15
According to the Blue Bulls’ website, Dewald Potgieter (knee, 3 to 4 weeks), JJ Engelbrecht (hip flexor, 10 days) and Deon Stegmann (hamstring, 10 days) are all out of the Loftus Versfeld clash due to injuries sustained against the Stormers last weekend
@nama1-278: Pizzas for all!
25 Feb 2013, 14:50 pm
@nortierd-277: Dude tell me about it! I was disgusted! Too scared to make picks now! I will wait until the last minute!
@nama1-278: Oh yes thats correct, forgot to check my points there.
25 Feb 2013, 14:51 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-281: Stegmann, there’s one guy who won’t make my fantasy team… i thought he broke himself at every tackle. That type of commitment I guess not good for league points……..
25 Feb 2013, 14:52 pm
@Sasuke-273:
Click on the ad under the article.
@gunther-275:
History will show that at the end of round 2, you were sucking hindtit…splittering and splattering on my exhaust fumes, gasping for air.
@nortierd-277:
Round 3:
Blues vs Saders
Tahs vs Rebels
Sharks vs Stormers
Will be difficult to choose.
Reds, Chiefs and Bulls are probably bankers.
25 Feb 2013, 14:54 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-281: yeah Stormers F’effed them up proper!
Although it takes little to injure Steggies, you just have to sneeze on him and his out for 4 weeks.
25 Feb 2013, 14:54 pm
@nama1-285:
Blues to take the Crusaders.
25 Feb 2013, 14:58 pm
@nama1-285:
Went for Canes over Reds
Using the dartboard, eyes closed and gut feel method.
Saders, Tah’s and Sharks, Bulls, Chiefs.
25 Feb 2013, 14:59 pm
@nama1-285:
Is this your converted Ricoffee tin sports exhaust?
Like I said we know how this will end.
With Gunther in first class snorting gak off Kim Kardashian’s twin peaks and Nama in steerage being puked on by a ginger toddler bearing a remarkable resemblance to Brok.
Take a snapshot Nams.
Even the bad days are good.
25 Feb 2013, 15:03 pm
@NZINCHINA-287:
I have that feeling.
25 Feb 2013, 15:04 pm
@NZINCHINA-287:
I think so too.
Saders sometimes are slow starters and with Mc Caw not there, I think the Blues should take this. However the Saders’ record in the competition leads one to not be 100% sure.
25 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
@Sasuke-286:
You know, I’ve started to think that the value a franchise sees in particular players may not be linked purely to their top skill level, but also to their durability.
Take Werner Kruger, for example. I don’t particularly rate his scrummaging ability, but the commentators mentioned on Friday that this was probably the first time in his career that they’ve seen him leave the field injured.
So the value for money the Bulls have been getting for his salary has been like 60 or 70 games, whereas the likes of Potgieter and Stegmann are out for about half of every season.
So steady performers that don’t get injured are probably worth as much or more than great performers who only play half of every season. Like Chilliboy, for example, who is incredibly injury prone.
So the key is probably to get the right combination of steady vs great but injury prone.
25 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
@NZINCHINA-287:
@gunther-290:
Well guys, me picking the Crusaders have made it official.
The Blues will win.
Call it Nortier’s Superbru kiss of death
25 Feb 2013, 15:08 pm
@nortierd-293:
We’ll need HG and Keo to pick them as wen to make it official.
If the Stormers lose at King’s Park and again against the Chiefs in Cape Town, I reckon they will have a huge task ahead of them for the rest of the competition.
To have a chance of topping the log you cannot really lose more than 3 games, I reckon. That will mean that the Stormers can’t lose anything else for the rest of the campaign, which is a tall order.
@nortierd-288:
That’s one way of selecting them.
I think I’ll go with the home teams this week.
@gunther-289:
Hahaha…we’ll see Gunther…we’ll see.
25 Feb 2013, 15:09 pm
@Tacitus-292:
It’s a very well having a Ferrari on your driveway but pointless if it spends its entire life with its bonnet in the air.
25 Feb 2013, 15:11 pm
@gunther-290:
@nama1-291:
@nortierd-293:
Without wanting to repeat myself lol GH is a master tactician and his input for the Blues this year will be significant , the last time he was involved in a technical role the Blues won the title they won’t this year but they are going to roll plenty of teams this year.
25 Feb 2013, 15:12 pm
@Tacitus-295:
Are you talking about the overall log or the conference log?
@gunther-51:
Omar Shariff to play Hoskins
@gunther-294:
@nama1-296:
I think I must hire a hacker to tap into TR’s computer.
25 Feb 2013, 15:13 pm
the “honest rugby supportets”have deffered their schadefreude
25 Feb 2013, 15:14 pm
@nama1-299:
I’m talking about getting a home semifinal.
Meaning ending one or two on the log. You can still top the conference Aussie style, despite being like 5th on the overall log, but that won’t get you anywhere near a trophy.
25 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
@Tacitus-292:
Exactly I’d like to see the younger back row forwards like Adendorf and Cook get a look in.
Steggies and Potgeiter have become sick notes.
25 Feb 2013, 15:16 pm
@Tacitus-292: Indeed although Chilli has improved that facet of his play, i think he played all 17 games last year for the Bulls.
25 Feb 2013, 15:16 pm
George Clooney – Anton Leonard
25 Feb 2013, 15:17 pm
@gunther-304:
SA Rugby magazine
SAR NEWS: Bulls trio JJ Engelbrecht (hip), Dewald Potgieter (knee) and Deon Stegmann (hamstring strain) will miss the Force match through injury.
25 Feb 2013, 15:17 pm
@nortierd-301:
Do that and you’ll join the other long pigs in the pot.
25 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
@nortierd-307:
Not a train smash. JJ isn’t a centre in any case, but Ludeke refuses to acknowledge it.
Olivier to 13 and Venter or Serfontein to 12.
Alternatively, Mapoe to 13 and Hougaard to wing.
25 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
@nortierd-307:
Guess Jan will get his run on start and to reinforce Gunther’s thoughts, the sick notes are already written
25 Feb 2013, 15:20 pm
@Transformation-302: Did you post that article of the club rugby match of the u21 PE SAPS and Swallows for these guys to enjoy? Yoh. I enjoy the passion of some of the EC rugby lovers, esspecially the ladies, but sometimes they can get carried away.
25 Feb 2013, 15:20 pm
@nortierd-310:
Not so sure. Serfontein has a minor injury. Should be ready by Wednesday but no need to rush him.
I think at the very least he will be on the bench, but the Bulls really seem to delay letting younsters leaprog established players.
For example, I would play Pollard ahead of Louis Fouche any day of the week, but the Bulls have this weird concept called loyalty, where they stick to guys out of habit or something.
Very frustrating, in my view.
25 Feb 2013, 15:21 pm
@gunther-308:
He picked very well for round 2
Had to laugh last night, he said his uncle gave him grief when he told him about Superbru. His uncle was disappointed that he did not put a flutter on his picks
VB did well too, jumped 105 spots.
25 Feb 2013, 15:23 pm
@Tacitus-312:
Yes Fouche is nowhere.
What’s the point of paying Pollard 1 bar a year and then wasting him in the Vodacom cup?
25 Feb 2013, 15:26 pm
@Tacitus-312:
True
My concern with the Bulls, and I don’t mean this in a nasty way, is it seems like they have two sets of criteria when buying players.
One- they rate them and intend to use them for their benefit.
Two- they rate them and buy them not for their own gain, but to stop them from playing against them in future where they might cause the Bulls damage.
They have the funds and are good at buying, so no issues from me there.
25 Feb 2013, 15:26 pm
@gunther-314:
As I said, frustrating. I can tell within 2 seasons whether a guy is going to make it in the big league or not. Sometimes within 1 season even. With rare exceptions.
Fouche aint got what it takes in the mental strength department.
And Engelbrecht doesn’t have the ball sense for centre. He juggles to many passes, runs the wrong lines in too many instances and generally is a strong runner and physical player, but doesn’t have the touch of a centre. Compare him to Brian o Driscoll for example and there’s no comparison.
JJ is a wing or nothing.
25 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
@nortierd-293: lol Tough one that. Blues look good but Crusaders are the Crusaders although they are still rusty.
@Tacitus-312:
Is Pollard playing for Tuks tonight?
First of all……congrats Bulls….you beat my team and I did not enjoy the game, not because we lost but just that my worst nightmare was true…..AC stil is going to play it safe and will not put his chips on the table when he needs to…(He thinks he is the new bok coach in the making)
Second of all…..WELL DONE KINGS!
Lets start of this way. I do not agree with the way the Kings got in…….BUT man was it time do kick the lions and cheethas in the nuts!!! The Cheetahs performance last year was purely from fear of being relegated and the lions was just stupid enough to believe a new space would be created for them.
I like the fact that now mediocre performance will not be rewarded and the last team will have to fight for their spot. It makes it interesting and also help the bigger teams since now more wins from bottom feeders will keep some points away from other teams just feasting on the lions and cheetahs every year. Hope this will lead to overall better SA teams and ultimately better Bokke squads!
25 Feb 2013, 15:28 pm
@nortierd-315:
No its not that. Unless you let a guy play, you’re going to lose him to the competition in any case before he reaches senior level. So this talk about them simply buying players to keep them away from other unions is nonsense.
The thing is just that they stay loyal to existing players for too long.
@nortierd-318:
No idea.
@Tacitus-303:
I think the teams with the most log points had around 70 the last two years. Now, take into account that teams play 16 league matches where they can get a maximum of 5 points. That gives you 80. Plus the 8 free points that teams get when they have their two byes. The maximum therefor is 88 log points.
That means you can drop up to five games and still top the log if you make sure that you score bonus points when you lose and when you win.
8 bonus points in 5 losing games are equal to two wins without bonuspoints.
On an aside. I see that the saders will play 10 games in a row before they have their next bye. It will be very hard on their players. Let’s see if they come up with the “fatigue” excuse later in the season.
25 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
I see Taute has a grown injury and will be out of the match against the Stormers.
25 Feb 2013, 15:33 pm
@nama1-322:
The Crusaders have never made excuses, even after having no home ground, they didn’t use it as an excuse after losing the final.
Imagine being Todd, your star player and captain is given a sabbatical, your AB wing goes on a booze binge and goes to rehab, all before your first game.
Your job is not secure and things outside your influence can determine your future, yet he just soldiers on without any complaint.
25 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
@rossoneri-311: no i haven’t it’s not online yet
25 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
groin!!!!
25 Feb 2013, 15:35 pm
@nama1-322:
We’ll see. Look at the win numbers. I think 12 wins are a minimum to get a top 2 spot. Last year the top spot Stormers ahd 14 wins with the 2nd placed Chiefs at 12 wins.
So if you lose more than 4 games, you aint gonna get a home semi.
If the Stormers lose their next two games, they can only afford one more loss for the rest of the season. And both the Brumbies and Crusaders are lined up immediately thereafter. And they still need to tour…
25 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
Tac wouldn’t have been here today if the Bulls had lost
Make the most of the gravitas, peeps
25 Feb 2013, 15:37 pm
@rossoneri-326:
Doesn’t Taute play for the Stormers?
Or is there more than one?
@rossoneri-323: Against the Sharks you mean. Could be blessing in disguise although he should of been dropped for Joe in any case.
@Dawn-328:
I like to engage from a position of power…
25 Feb 2013, 15:38 pm
@Tacitus-331:
I know you that well.
25 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
@Tacitus-320:
Kennedy Tsimba comes to mind.
He was quite good for the Cheetahs, got bought by the Bulls and after a couple of games on the bench disappeared from the radar.
kirchner scored the winning try for Griekwas against the Bulls Vodacom , next moment he is a Bull.
At that stage Roets was full back and Zane was surplus.
The fact that Roets retired unexpectedly caught everybody by surprise, Zane got a lucky break there and to be fair to him, he used it, but I don’t believe he would have gotten a chance if Roets didn’t suddenly decide to call it quits.
@Transformation-325: The police are saying there is nothing between the teams, the player’s mother just gave the ref a slap.
@nortierd-324:
Agree Nortie. They never complain about the schedule, travel, time zones, flight socks or whatever.
They just turn up and play the game and whether they win or lose, they do so graciously.
25 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@gunther-314: Grooming him for Ireland?
25 Feb 2013, 15:42 pm
@Dawn-329: Sorry Dawn. I meant against the Sharks. But yeah. He won’t be available. Groin injury. Joe will probably start, which means there is someone on the field to bail Jantjies out if he has a bad kicking day again.
25 Feb 2013, 15:42 pm
@Tacitus-312: Yip its called a pecking order and it allows players to bide their time and really push hard to get a starting spot. Fouche has done his time therefore he gets a bench spot ahead of Pollard.
25 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
@Sasuke-338:
That’s stupid, in my view. Because if doing your time still doesn’t bring out star quality, then you should make way for the younger guy who DOES have star quality.
That’s probably how we lost CJ Stander, only to be stuck with guys that break down every 2 games.
25 Feb 2013, 15:44 pm
@Sasuke-338:
When does pecking order become surplus?
Pointless buying too many players if you can’t use them or don’t plan on using them.
25 Feb 2013, 15:45 pm
@Tacitus-327:
Yes, 12 sounds about right.
Depends on whether you were able to collect bonus points in most of them though.
Also if you can get 2 bonus points in every game you lose, you may even be able to drop one more game and still end up on top.
25 Feb 2013, 15:47 pm
@nama1-341:
Well if I recall correctly the Chiefs scored plenty of bonuspoints, so if they didn’t maybe 12 woudlnt have been enough to get top spot. So maybe 12 plus bonuspoints or 13 without lots of bonuspoints is kind of the rule of thumb.
Then again, we know the Stormers can’t score 4 tries against decent opposition to save their lives at the moment.
25 Feb 2013, 15:47 pm
@Sasuke-338:
Maybe that’s why the Aussies pick teenagers if they have the talent.
They probably figure that somewhere in the past their forefathers already did time, so why punish the later generations
25 Feb 2013, 15:52 pm
@nortierd-318:
He’ll be on the bench, as he was last week…
25 Feb 2013, 15:53 pm
@rossoneri-337:
Joe should’ve started ahead of Taute on Friday already. Why he leapfrogged Joe I really don’t know.
25 Feb 2013, 15:54 pm
@mxhosa-344:
Thanks
Didn’t know he was even studying there.
Thought he came to Pretoria as a pro Bulls player and nothing else
25 Feb 2013, 15:55 pm
@nama1-345:
Joe Pietersen is a really good Super Rugby player. I’ve seldom seen him put a foot wrong. In fact, he is a much more polished performer than Taute, and probably has more pace than Taute too.
Taute just beats him in the physicality stakes and in hitting the line hard. I was glad to see Taute instead of Pietersen lined up against us on Friday.
25 Feb 2013, 15:59 pm
Hehehehe
Funny how some Bulls here work out when the stormers will be out assuming we will lose certain games! I remember same sentiment last year where the Bulls simply counted the blues as a win in the beginning of the campaign only to come up short and not knowing how to “predict” their season anymore.
Don’t count no chickens, because I have a feeling this year will not be that great for the SA sides.
Nothing that I saw made me happy for BOK rugby and I only got the feeling that aus and NZ are moving further away from us.
25 Feb 2013, 16:01 pm
@Hoops-348:
When one’s team doesn’t do well, one is always quick with the sentiment that its going to be a bad year for “SA sides”.
Newsflash: The Stormers do not equate to “SA sides”. They’re just one SA side.
25 Feb 2013, 16:01 pm
@Sasuke: so how did jaque potgieter get FASTTRACKED so quick @ the bulle leapfrogging baby bok cappie cj stander amongst many?
25 Feb 2013, 16:02 pm
@Transformation-350:
That was a big mistake in my view. I think Heyneke wanted a replacement for Danie Rossouw fast and saw in Potgieter a hard, lock/ball carrying flanker.
I would send him back to the Kings, personally.
25 Feb 2013, 16:03 pm
I see the Bulls paid a price for their victory with JJ, Slangkos and Steggies all out for the next game at least.
Good thing it’s against the Force this weekend. It won’t cost them.
25 Feb 2013, 16:04 pm
@stormersboy-352:
All positions that we have good cover in. And luckily none of them are long term injuries.
25 Feb 2013, 16:08 pm
@Tacitus-347:
I agree on all your points that’s why I said since last year already that Taute should not just be handed the no. 15 jersey. I started to have my suspicions that AC had him as the no. 1 FB when he started both pre-season warm up matches.
Some people suggested that the Lions made it a provision in the loan agreement that Taute and Jantjies MUST play in order for them to get enough game time. AC denied that but it seems there might be some truth in it.
25 Feb 2013, 16:11 pm
@Tacitus-353: Yes. Steggies is a bit unique as a player but you won’t be found out against the Force. Botha in for Dewald and Venter in for JJ. Venter looked good on Friday. Better than JJ to my mind.
Who will replace Stegmann?
25 Feb 2013, 16:15 pm
Who’s “slangkos”?
25 Feb 2013, 16:15 pm
@stormersboy-355:
If we need a like for like replacement I’d go with young Adendorf. Short and stocky and good on the deck. That would be the balanced approach.
If Ludeke wants to go with an all out attack, ball carrying approach because it’s the weak Force, we might see someone like Jean Cook starting, with Jacques Potgieter making a return off the bench.
25 Feb 2013, 16:16 pm
@Tacitus-351: That’s ok. We don’t want him. Besides Meyer has made “promises” to him only in a Bulls jersey. CJ must have been livid.
25 Feb 2013, 16:17 pm
Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer
Cape Town – The chances look reasonably good that Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer’s initial centre alliance last season, captain Jean de Villiers and Frans Steyn, will go head to head in No 12 jerseys when the Sharks host the Stormers in Durban on Saturday.
The home team will be able to approach the latest Super Rugby derby in a slightly more relaxed frame of mind than their opponents, considering that they quelled a spirited Cheetahs’ fight-back to win in Bloemfontein in their opener, whilst the unusually dozy, mistake-riddled Stormers crashed without even a losing bonus point to the more focused Bulls at Loftus.
Apart from the likelihood that they will be direct opponents in this “Currie Cup final 2012 rematch” – it will very much depend on whether Juan de Jongh is fit for duty for the Stormers this week – De Villiers and Steyn are also currently serving as acting captains of their franchises, with Schalk Burger and Keegan Daniel respectively sidelined.
(news24)
25 Feb 2013, 16:18 pm
@Dawn-328:
Come now.
We need Tac’s gravitas here or it would just be Stormers and Kings supporters dry humping each other.
25 Feb 2013, 16:20 pm
@Dawn-356:
Dewald Potgieter
25 Feb 2013, 16:20 pm
Gangnam style dancing by JdJ on the Kings Park turf again after scoring his customary try in a big match.
Go boytjie!!!
25 Feb 2013, 16:24 pm
@nama1-362:

I am not even going to be sucked in by ShaunB or HG or the other Sharks fans this week.
I think my motto this week will be ” n stil bek is n heel bek”
I am going away this weekend so won’t even be going online to see what is going to be said, maybe it’s a good thing though
25 Feb 2013, 16:26 pm
@rossoneri-358: how much do you think we bagged for pottie if griekwas pocketed a bar for bjorn?
25 Feb 2013, 16:27 pm
@Dawn-356: Victor called him slangkos when he was handing out the winners medals a few years ago when they last won the Super Rugby comp.
Usually guys with white hair like that are given a nickname like “wit rot” or to take it one step further “slangkos” or snake food (white rat).
So he shall forever be slangkos now.
25 Feb 2013, 16:28 pm
I don’t know why so many people are hating on the Kings because politics in SA rugby has always been there and unfortunately rugby in SA is not all about what happens in those four white lines its much more deeper and complexed than that and I feel a certain section of people are not necessarily hating the Kings but rather the person behind the Kings and also his son for the gesture he proposed on the springbok jersey.
25 Feb 2013, 16:29 pm
@Tacitus-357: Ja if Potgieter is back then just play all 3 big guys and steamroll them. It’s only the force, after all. It will be like a practice match. The focus should be on getting a bonus point.
25 Feb 2013, 16:30 pm
@Sage300-366: Very true. Must say the guys were playing their nuts off on Satuday and showed real commitment and pride but you hit the nail on the head with your post.
25 Feb 2013, 16:32 pm
@Transformation-364:
About enough to take care of Teapot’s salary for two months.
25 Feb 2013, 16:32 pm
@Sage300-366: It’s partly the Watsons, but mostly (in most cases) the perception that SARU have artificially elevated a region who couldn’t even get their CC team up to scratch into the big leagues because of a political agenda.
25 Feb 2013, 16:34 pm
Keep calm… and support the Kings
25 Feb 2013, 16:36 pm
@Transformation-364: Meyer was looking at him with greedy eyes. Hahahahaha. Alan must have been so happy to see him go. I don’t think Sexton could have coached the stupid out of him.
25 Feb 2013, 16:37 pm
@gunther-369: Teapot?
25 Feb 2013, 16:38 pm
@SpringbokSarah-371: Skies Saartjie maar daai kite gaan nie vlieg nie.
25 Feb 2013, 16:38 pm
@Sage300-366: we have been down this route before ,buddy. I think it’s accepted now that they hate King Cheeky because of his links to the ANC and the fact that the Watson family refused to support their apartheid government’s policies. no need to type the same old rubbish on here .
25 Feb 2013, 16:39 pm
@SpringbokSarah-371: I wish this was facebook and I could “like” your comment.
25 Feb 2013, 16:40 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-374: Skies of sies?
25 Feb 2013, 16:41 pm
@rossoneri-376: lol well I’ll take your mental “like” into consideration?
25 Feb 2013, 16:44 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-374: just been through Saturday’s posts and I noted that you were quite agressive with kings supporters.shame. not good for you lions okes to watch super rugby with your guts filled to the brim with brannas and coke.
25 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
@S_K-379: SK you should start reading more and you will find that I am in fact a Bulls supporter. Try and read past post 5 next time.
There are various reasons for people disliking the Kings. I have mine but like you say, we’ve been down this road alot so I’ll park it for now.
25 Feb 2013, 16:48 pm
@SpringbokSarah-371: be careful now! Kwagga might start to abuse you.
25 Feb 2013, 16:49 pm
Luke does nogal look like a teapot
25 Feb 2013, 16:51 pm
Why SK?
Does it stand for Soek K@k?
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-380: sorry ,kwagga.the way you behaved I could have sworn that you were a lion supporter.
@S_K-381: he’s entitled to his opinion but I’m not ashamed to say I am a Kings supporter. Bring on the abuse
@S_K-375: some people are quiet thick so over expressing a point works wonders..i don’t know why the big hoohaa about it as this is the first and last incident in SA rugby about politics in sport.
25 Feb 2013, 16:53 pm
@S_K-381: I usually only abuse my first beer when I am really thirsty but thats about it. Speaking of beer, almost time to go.
@nortierd-383:
. You are too farking clever ,nortierd .hilton botha got nothing on you!
@S_K-384: Eina fokkit!!
25 Feb 2013, 16:57 pm
@S_K-388:

I eat lawyers for breakfast.
Feel sorry for the guy though, he was hung out to dry.
I know what it’s like to try do the job without equipment etc., not easy
25 Feb 2013, 16:59 pm
@SpringbokSarah-385:
Don’t worry about that, there are a few King supporters and it’s great.
Your team did you proud on Saturday and many of us were genuinely glad for you.
Enjoy the moment, it was well deserved.
25 Feb 2013, 17:09 pm
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10200675699316487&set=a.1838917534288.113395.1281027853&type=1&theater
25 Feb 2013, 17:09 pm
A South African sportsman, Marc Batchelor, meanwhile described in detail the alleged threats made against him by Pistorius, alluded to in last week’s bail hearing.
Batchelor claimed he received two calls from the runner threatening to “—- him up” after a row.
“He phoned me up, saying ‘You piece of —-’, ‘You —-’, all that kind of stuff. He said he was going to —- me up.
“I just laughed at him. I told him, ‘Oscar, I can’t hit a man with no legs’.”
hmmmm.
25 Feb 2013, 17:10 pm
@NZINCHINA-259:
Definitely, the influence is there. Beautiful way of playing.
25 Feb 2013, 17:14 pm
@shooter-256:
Lol. Time will tell, hope meyer does not do a Jake White. He will not get away with it tis time around. I do not think Meyer will hang around. He had a poor start, I dont have much hope this year in all honesty.
25 Feb 2013, 17:17 pm
@nortierd-390: yeah,the minute they turned the bail hearing into a mini trial he was toast.no forensic reports basically turned him into a sitting duck.he ,though ,could have checked out the Italian property claim a bit more instead of quoting the sarie article and presented the court with evidence as to the public outrage.in my personal opinion the defence did a bit of grandstanding as to the question of him contaminating the crime scene.
25 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
@nortierd-391: I’m glad for me too
Stormers let me down badly, it’s nice that at least one of them pulled through
25 Feb 2013, 17:21 pm
the way those boys started defending (against the force’s weakish attack, admittedly) showed a lot more than the final score.
and the way they soaked up pressure and came back was a joy to watch.
imagine, a bunch of no-reputation, no-hope guys just playing their hearts out, and looking like they are enjoying themselves, rather than just earning a salary.
i’m a bulls fan, but they have just become my second favourite team. the other SA teams could do worse than to watch the spirit in which this game was played, and take some lessons.
25 Feb 2013, 17:23 pm
@S_K-396:
I’m sure he will wish he could do many things differently.
For starters, booking off sick on the 13 th of Feb would be the 1st thing that springs to mind
25 Feb 2013, 17:26 pm
@roobarb2-398: the Stormers can take a dozen or so of that lessons. no spirit at all!
25 Feb 2013, 17:27 pm
@SpringbokSarah-397:
Stormers played poor, from the kick off they started poor and bar 10 minutes in the second half, they were outplayed.
Was still enjoyable on Loftus, not the result, but the vibe.
I love the passion of the Bull supporters and the fact that they don’t boo opposition kickers is good to see.
Going to be a long 3 weeks for the Stormers, then I hope we can get something going
25 Feb 2013, 17:29 pm
@nortierd-399:
. That would have saved him a lot of kuk!
25 Feb 2013, 17:31 pm
@nama1-345:
Taute is a Bok. Don’t you know. Dersevedly or not another story.
25 Feb 2013, 17:33 pm
@nortierd-401: tell me about it… after the next two weeks I wouldn’t be surprised if the Kings are still lying above them! I’d be embarassed though
25 Feb 2013, 17:37 pm
@SpringbokSarah-404:
Kings will be on 8, they are assured of that, doubt we will have 1, but we live in hope
25 Feb 2013, 17:53 pm
Meisiekind has just returned and in his 1st game an opponent suffers from a groin injury….
25 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
@nortierd-405: lol all we have at this stage
25 Feb 2013, 18:02 pm
UJ vs Wits
Try festival deluxe
25 Feb 2013, 18:35 pm
So,the bulls grabbed Taute by his testicles? dirty farking cheats! it’s not enough that they bribe the ref and tmo…now they are fondling the opposition players balls to get an advantage as well !
25 Feb 2013, 18:48 pm
@S_K-409:
How do you know it wasn’t one of his team mates………. Sorry, forgot that they all struggled to hold on to the ball on Friday, so I guess it wasn’t one of them
25 Feb 2013, 19:01 pm
@nortierd-410: apparently he injured himself when he got tacked by meisiekind .
25 Feb 2013, 19:01 pm
so happy for the kings
25 Feb 2013, 19:02 pm
@nortierd-410: got his tackle tackled
25 Feb 2013, 19:03 pm
@S_K-411:
Meisiekind was probably giving him a “blow” by “blow” account of life in Japan and got carried away with excitement.
25 Feb 2013, 19:06 pm
@nortierd-414: sushi? They should check for dental marks.
25 Feb 2013, 19:09 pm
@S_K-415:
If they do find teeth marks, should he then be dubbed the Tooth Fairy?
25 Feb 2013, 19:11 pm
Only 8 minutes in, but Tukies is busy messing with Maties
25 Feb 2013, 19:12 pm
@S_K-409:
> So,the bulls grabbed Taute by his testicles?
We’ve got high standards at Loftus, if it they’re not hanging out from the bottom of your shorts we go looking for them
If they don’t match the pair hanging from your bakkie you’re under-endowed
25 Feb 2013, 19:14 pm
@victoriabok-418:
Hoesit VB
And if they don’t match the color of those hanging behind your bakkie, squeeze it until it also turns blue?
25 Feb 2013, 19:16 pm
@S_K-411:
Nope, it was in the Stormers showers after the match
He’s from the Lions he’s not quite used to the Stormers’ angry s.ex after a loss
25 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
@victoriabok-418: I was just wondering about your whereabouts ! I know you love these kinda stories .
25 Feb 2013, 19:18 pm
@nortierd-419:
No you hang them in cold water for a while, then they also shrink to manageable size otherwise they’ll drag behind your bakkie
25 Feb 2013, 19:19 pm
@S_K-421:
VB gained 105 places on the Keo Superbru group, so he doesn’t mix with us commoners anymore.
He only talks to those in the top 10
25 Feb 2013, 19:21 pm
@S_K-421:
Deon slipped in the shower when he approached fyndraai and grabbed him by the nuts to prevent falling
@victoriabok-420: I know that one of the kiwi okes asked you to come out of the closet ,but you refused. Come on Vicky,it’s only nortierd and I on here now. come on,you can do it !
@victoriabok-422:
Army eiers, blou en soos poeier
25 Feb 2013, 19:22 pm
@nortierd-423:
Luck pure luck
Jy moes nie die Stormers gekies het nie
25 Feb 2013, 19:22 pm
@nortierd-426:
Eiers was nog ok, maar daai Russian?
25 Feb 2013, 19:24 pm
@nortierd-423: Is it? I don’t do superbru,but congratulations to you ,Vicky .
25 Feb 2013, 19:25 pm
@victoriabok-427:
Stormers geoorskat, Bulls geonderskat.
Het net 2 uit 7 reg gehad, so daai was maar net een van vele bad picks
Geluk, jy het moer goed gedoen en TR is eerste, dis great
25 Feb 2013, 19:27 pm
@S_K-429:
You should have joined.
Nothing messes up your weekend like seeing all the sides you picked get rodgered
Lots of fun if you into self inflicted hurt
25 Feb 2013, 19:31 pm
@nortierd-430:
Die Fantasy League is beter wat jy moet spelers kies wat gaan presteer, soos Mafi, al speel hy vir die Force druk hy driëe
25 Feb 2013, 19:42 pm
@S_K-425:
Here’s a photo of the shower tackle on Taute
Note the smile on his face
He’s clearly enjoying it
AC taught his players the right technique, note the tackler’s head placement, eyes on the ball(s)
http://www.anorak.co.uk/348995/sports/kiwi-rugby-coach-ruben-wiki-tackles-half-time-streaker-epic-photo.html/
25 Feb 2013, 19:42 pm
@victoriabok-432:
Te veel dinkwerk.
Ek gaan die naweek Sun City toe, so in my gestripte moer toestand het ek al sommer Saterdag aand my rondte 3 picks gemaak.
Gaan nie Internet he die naweek nie so kan nie wag tot die laaste minuut nie.
Kan seker in elk geval nie swakker kies nie
25 Feb 2013, 19:46 pm
@nortierd-434:
Stormers of Sharks?
25 Feb 2013, 19:46 pm
@victoriabok-433:
Jig, lyk of sy neus reg in die man se poepenhol gedruk is
25 Feb 2013, 19:49 pm
@nortierd-436:
G’n wonder die ander ou lag nie
Hoop die kool en baked beans van gisteraand doen hulle werk
25 Feb 2013, 19:51 pm
@victoriabok-435:
Wat’s jou pick vir Saterdag?
25 Feb 2013, 19:57 pm
@victoriabok-438:
On a wing and a prayer
Crusaders, Hurricanes, Tah’s, Chiefs, Sharks en Bulls
25 Feb 2013, 20:13 pm
Tukkies camping on Maties try line for 15 min already at 16-16 at 54 minutes in
Look like the balance of power has swung around again this year from south to north both in varsity cup and SR rugby ook
25 Feb 2013, 20:14 pm
What a bunch of kak. Hey Mark you coke sniffing *** munching dumbass!!! Who is this cultural minority? U sound like a pretty rascist f@ck to me. The same as cheeky and luke. Go reevaluate why so many people hate the kings. U really are ignorent!
25 Feb 2013, 20:19 pm
And Maties get out of jail and still 16-16 at final 1/4 strategy break
Up and down the park at 2 converted tries each and no-one breaking the deadlock.
Halfway line Maties line out.
25 Feb 2013, 20:19 pm
> It makes him unpopular to a cultural minority
… which is also, unfortunately for you, the majority of the rugby public
25 Feb 2013, 20:22 pm
@skopdiekan-440:
Good game so far.
They had their chance to take the lead with some penalties, but botched 5 m line outs ala Stormers seems like the order of the day.
25 Feb 2013, 20:25 pm
> He refused and refuses to compromise on the Kings’ presence in a unified South African Rugby landscape.
…. or he demanded his turn to to have his snout in the money trough whilst his unwanted presence divided South African even further
25 Feb 2013, 20:25 pm
South Africans only but love their stampkar rugby these 2 varsity sides sizing each other up if there’s a choice between running at the opposition players or trying to find a team mate in a better position to look for a gap they’ll always chose to go head on into the opponent.
25 Feb 2013, 20:26 pm
@skopdiekan-442:
Pukke leading 21 to 13 v Ikeys and NMMU 8 to 5 v Shimlas at half time
25 Feb 2013, 20:28 pm
@skopdiekan-446:
The second try by Maties was nice to see. Good line by the centre, and the 1st match earlier was a try fest
25 Feb 2013, 20:29 pm
Got this article on Supersport. Is the tide turning?
——————————————————————————–
by Gavin Rich 25/02/2013, 12:00
Before anyone makes fun of the fuss being made of the Southern Kings winning their historic first ever Super Rugby match, perhaps we should put it in perspective.
When the Western Force first entered the competition in 2006, it took them seven games to get their first bonus point and it wasn’t until May that they won their first game. The Melbourne Rebels were thumped 43-0 in their first match in 2011. In both cases, they finished last in their first season before applying what they learned the following year and improving.
The problem with the Kings is that they may not be in a position to learn from this year as the promotion-relegation system means there is a good chance they could drop out. The expectation that the Kings will be the last team in the South African conference by the end of the season remains a realistic one.
They are a new team and have yet to build up their depth, so once injuries start to intervene, as inevitably they will, the Kings will be in trouble. To grow, they need to play Super Rugby, and for the Kings to have a reasonable chance of settling into the competition and becoming established, they really should be guaranteed at least three years.
The more I think about it the more I am convinced that the South African rugby administration, if they really had transformation at heart, should have gone to the Cheetahs and the Lions three or four years ago to inform them that the Kings were going to enter the competition in 2013 and would be given a fair crack at establishing themselves.
It would then have been up to the Cheetahs and Lions, who have consistently been the bottom two SA teams when they have played Super Rugby, to decide how to get around the problem. If you compare the record of the Lions and Cheetahs as separate entities to when they played together as the Cats, the view that the Cats formula was a disaster is far from accurate.
At least the Cats played in the odd Super semifinal, something that the Lions and Cheetahs on their own have never come close to doing.
It wouldn’t be a perfect solution, and first prize for Saru must surely be to get the Sanzar partners to arrive at a solution that enables six South African franchises to participate. But my experience this past weekend was enough to convince me that the administrators, for the good of the game and for the purpose of driving and accelerating transformation, simply have to do what they should have done but failed to do at the outset – they need to guarantee the Kings an extended stay.
I can imagine people getting worked up over that statement. After all, the Kings have played just one game, and there was a year when Chester William was coaching them that the Cats duped everyone by winning an opening match against the Bulls and then losing everything after that.
A similar thing can happen to the Kings, but their win over the Force isn’t really the point. It was the multiracial crowd, the scenes that we saw on television of different races mixing together to watch and then celebrate the Kings’ triumph, that got me excited.
I watched the game on television in Bloemfontein as I had travelled through to cover the Sharks’ clash with the Cheetahs. The previous night I had been at Loftus to watch the Bulls emphatically outplay the Stormers. At both stadiums I made the point to colleagues that the crowd was almost 100% white, and frankly the lack of numbers at Free State Stadium, regardless of race, is a problem.
When last did that stadium attract 32 000 spectators to a game against an Australian team like the Kings did? The timing of matches in the professional era hurts the Cheetahs more than most because many of their fans come from outlying areas. When games kicked off in mid-afternoon those supporters could make a day of it, but later kick-offs mean they either have to stay over in Bloemfontein or spend their late Saturday nights on the road.
The Kings, representing a large populated area like the Eastern Cape, have a ready and hungry rugby market, and most importantly it is, along with the Western Cape, the one part of the country where rugby has had historical appeal among the black communities.
Forget how many black players there are in the Kings team right now, their first quest must surely be to build the structures and establish a successful culture that will attract supporters and help inspire the many black players coming out of the excellent Eastern Cape schooling system to play for them.
That though can’t happen overnight, and it can’t happen in one season. If South African rugby wants the Kings to make the impact on the game in this country that drove their inclusion in the first place, then the administrators need to get real – a three year stay in the competition has to be a non-negotiable. I don’t see either the Lions or the Cheetahs enjoying enough success or support to make them indispensable as separate entities.
25 Feb 2013, 20:31 pm
447 nortier
Howzit! You related to Pukke 10,Gerhard??
25 Feb 2013, 20:32 pm
Million dollar man Pollard on for Tukkies.
25 Feb 2013, 20:32 pm
@Bigbok-441:
So are you, apparently. The word is spelled “ignorant”.
25 Feb 2013, 20:34 pm
Sharks are out for revenge.Stormers players will have to watch their balls again it would seem . The defeat to the WP u/21 team still not forgotten it seems.
25 Feb 2013, 20:37 pm
@David-452: Hey mr grammar man,I see you are fighting a losing battle with the okes on news24?those okes will eat you alive ,buddy.
25 Feb 2013, 20:37 pm
Whats your problem Bigbok you identify that strongly with the cultural minority that a little regpraatjie gets your nose put out of joint to that extent
25 Feb 2013, 20:38 pm
@Peter Mkata-449:
Some of us have been saying a similar thing for ages.
25 Feb 2013, 20:39 pm
@Rage-450:
No, don’t think so.
Sowed some wild oats in my time though, so if he becomes a Bok I might claim credit
25 Feb 2013, 20:40 pm
Maties to steal it at the death yet again…they really have an uncanny ability to pull games outta the fire..tremendous self belief..the Man United of SA rugby.
25 Feb 2013, 20:42 pm
Maties using more grey matter than Tukkies.
Take a shot at goal.
Tuks had plenty opportunity to do the same but messed it up
25 Feb 2013, 20:42 pm
@S_K-454:
I don’t post on News24. They’re a lost cause.
25 Feb 2013, 20:45 pm
Last movement and Tuks on Maties line again
25 Feb 2013, 20:47 pm
Oh sorry sir. Didnt know a washed up school teacher lurked here. Dumbasss. Yea dumbasss with three s’s must really irk u davie boy. Oops no capitol on your name
25 Feb 2013, 20:48 pm
Maties out of jail again
Tuks were on the post how didn’t they score?
Danie Craven’s ghost must have whispered something in the refs ear.
25 Feb 2013, 20:53 pm
@skopdiekan-463:
Tukkies was stupid enough not to go for posts as well.
Strange that the ref didn’t go to the TMO to see if they touched down against the post.
25 Feb 2013, 20:57 pm
The S.A. rugby landscape is a minefield of mixed up emotions attached to all types of prevalent ideological and cultural identities. Ain’t it a hoot that one man’s meat represent another man’s poison. Don’t look like it’s going to change for another century here at least.
25 Feb 2013, 21:15 pm
Yep Norte looked very close to a try from our side of the ruck. Tuks actually had more of the game but tried to dominate physically I think Maties can regard themselves lucky to win that game.
25 Feb 2013, 21:32 pm
@skopdiekan-466:
guess the ref had a better position, but it would have cost him nothing to go to the TMO just to make sure.
anyway, scoreboard says Maties won.
Enjoyed both matches
NMMU got the win the deserved last week, so glad for them and see Ikeys came back and narrowly lost
25 Feb 2013, 21:33 pm
Just seen that NMMU has defeated Shimlas. They(NMMU) are improving year on year. I believe it is not by luck but part of holistic plan by EP Kings. Well if true then one can only be impressed. Kings on the rise!!!
25 Feb 2013, 21:37 pm
@Peter Mkata-468:
yep, I had them to win by 5, so I’m happy with the 4 point win.
They deserved to beat Maties last week as well IMO
25 Feb 2013, 21:41 pm
@Bigbok-462: take it easy,mate.davy is just a prim and proper English boy,bud.harmless creature that one.could become your best buddy on here .
25 Feb 2013, 21:46 pm
Kings won, Madibaz won! Life is good in the Bay… Rugby on the Rise!
25 Feb 2013, 21:53 pm
@mxhosa-471:
I sincerely hope your supporters continue to turn up when the inevitable defeats start. SARU has stacked the deck against the Kings and disillusionment is the worst thing that can happen.
25 Feb 2013, 21:55 pm
@mxhosa-471: congrats,bud. just keep the sharks and bulls dirty hands away from your young talent.
25 Feb 2013, 21:56 pm
@David-472: you are beginning to come over as a party pooper now.let the boys of the bay enjoy their time in the sun.
25 Feb 2013, 22:03 pm
Kings have a great stadium
25 Feb 2013, 22:11 pm
@David-472:
We’re under no illusions David, but we’re enjoying SR… Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to the stadium on Saturday, but my soccer loving buddies are keen to see the Sharks on the 9th.
@S_K-473:
Those two have pilphering our young talent for the past ten years and sadly for those boys, most of them never seem to make it past their age-group teams and vodacom cup. But you do get some arrogant farkers like Andile Jho…
25 Feb 2013, 22:15 pm
@S_K-474:
I suppose I am. I’m just pissed at the attitude towards the Kings by loudmouthed idiots like Bigbok and others of his ilk, and hope that the Kings supporters prove that the region deserves a franchise, regardless of the first year results.
25 Feb 2013, 22:25 pm
The problem is this: players will always want to play for the bigger, richer teams who will pay more and have more chance of glory.
25 Feb 2013, 22:31 pm
@ShaunB-478:

Miracles do happen
I agree with you
Money, possible Bok honors and better exposure.
What I don’t like is when the bigger unions don’t use them.
Money in the bank is one thing, but not getting opportunities to play because there are established players ahead of him doesn’t help the player to the Union who lost him.
25 Feb 2013, 22:48 pm
@nortierd-479: the franchise system was meant to prevent that. I believe there should be an auction at the end of December, where the 5 teams get to bid and buy at least 3 surplus players from the relegated union (if they want to). It will add some excitement and fun. Not just to the richest bidder, but there should be some element of luck involved, like a draw.
25 Feb 2013, 23:09 pm
@ShaunB-480:
Interesting, but the current playing field regarding funds is not level.
The Sharks and Bulls seem to have much more funds available.
Good for them, they have the most successful brand and marketing, but can afford more than the others.
Do you propose a salary cap?
25 Feb 2013, 23:13 pm
@mxhosa-476: rugby’s been on the rise for a while now…grey going 11 from 15 games & Dale’s “Amadoda” cruising at 85% win ratio, our Craven Week team lead by sergeal with tries, going UNBEATEN last hear @ Nmb stadium, Madibaz improving steadily, Kings Academy U21 gaining promotion to currie cup premier.
we are well on our way to getting our rugby to tge summit.
25 Feb 2013, 23:29 pm
@petermkata: andazi noba wakhe wayifunda le
http://www.rugby365.com/article/50848-dale-college-rugby-2012
25 Feb 2013, 23:42 pm
@ShaunB-480:
> I believe there should be an auction at the end of December
They should have a draft system like the NFL or NHL
Junior players get ranked according to their performance at U/18 level
The lowest ranked team gets first pick and so on
The Kings and Cheetahs would have had first pick on Pollard and Carel Dup’s son
25 Feb 2013, 23:45 pm
@victoriabok-484: yes, that’s very much the type of system I was thinking of. Up to a max of 3 new players per team.
25 Feb 2013, 23:50 pm
@victoriabok-484: we already have 1st dibs on the MVP under age player…
25 Feb 2013, 23:51 pm
@ShaunB-485:
No, your rank the top 100 High School and u/19 players in the country
The draft is limited to that age group
The players all get contracted for two years, and get paid the same fixed salary
After the two years they’re free agents
Teams can sell or trade their picks as well
It will prevent player stockpiling and young players will get playing time in the smaller franchises
You could even make the draft CC based, with the clause to enable franchises to contract young draftees for Super rugby from non franchise CC unions
25 Feb 2013, 23:51 pm
@Transformation-486:
Pollard is already a Bull
25 Feb 2013, 23:53 pm
@victoriabok-484:
@ShaunB-485:
Then a salary cap system will have to be introduced.
Imagine Pollard and Du Plessis being the top two in their positions earning less than the nr’s 3-5 because they went to say the Cheetahs and Kings and the others to the Sharks, Bulls and Stormers.
25 Feb 2013, 23:58 pm
@victoriabok-487:
The problem lies in the parents acting on behalf of their precious young gold mines.
Every one rates his or her own child higher than the next.
Sadie is a perfect example.
Not happy with being classed as equal to the other youngsters at Province, felt he was superior and deserved more money, hence when the Bulls opened up their huge wallet he came running.
R1, 4 million down the drain for the Bulls for one years services not rendered
26 Feb 2013, 00:00 am
@victoriabok-488: who said anything about pollard?
Asked what he thought of Petersen’s
opening try, a delighted Kings boss Cheeky
Watson said: “It was brilliant. We love
people of character who express themselves
like that.”
Kings director of rugby Alan Solomons
heaped praise on Petersen, saying the
coaching staff always believed the teenager
could do it on the big stage.
“We had seen Sergeal play for EP under-19
and at Craven Week and he took to it like a
duck to water,” he said.
“We all thought … that Sergeal could do it.
We knew he had the talent. Now he has
proved himself. It shows that if you are
good enough you are old enough.”
Solomons said a chat to former EP Kings
star Rory Duncan, who is now the Grey High
first team coach, had also influenced the
coaching staff to give Petersen an early
chance at top flight rugby.
“Rory coached Sergeal at Grey last year and
he told me this guy can play at the top next
year. I have got a lot of respect for Rory
and his judgment and we brought Sergeal
into the squad on the basis of Rory’s
advice.”
Watson said he had been touched by the
support of the crowd and he now wanted
fans to pack the stadium for the Kings’ next
match against the Sharks in Port Elizabeth
on March 9.
hier kom ‘n ding.
Sharkys prepare for a festive occassion @ NMB stadium.
26 Feb 2013, 00:01 am
@victoriabok-487: the senile snoek won’t like that system very much. He is trying to convince everyone to stay at home with mommy and daddy.
Good idea, that system.
26 Feb 2013, 00:03 am
@nortierd-489:
I said they all get the same salary for two years, if they get sponsorships on top it will be ok but no money from the unions
26 Feb 2013, 00:04 am
@Transformation-491:
One game against the Farts doesn’t mean much
The next two weeks might give you some perspective
26 Feb 2013, 00:06 am
@victoriabok-493:
Yes VB I saw, but will the agents or parents be happy with that?
In this country they will probably run to the Constitutional Court and demand that their kid gets treated better and paid more because they feel he is better than the others.
26 Feb 2013, 00:08 am
“It was brilliant. We love
people of character who express themselves
like that.”
Cheeky just got a way with words! I can just admire this great King.
26 Feb 2013, 00:10 am
@Transformation-491:
> Sharkys prepare for a festive occassion @ NMB stadium.
Supersport is going to mount small flatscreens behind the goalposts, that way the Kings players won’t be missing so much of the game standing there
And they could watch both the action replays of the tries as well as Lambie’s(and Ludik’s when Lambie gets tired) conversions
26 Feb 2013, 00:11 am
@nortierd-495:
That’s where you need SARU to have some balls
If NZ rugby could contract all players, so could SARU for the first two years and hire them back to the Unions at the same rate
26 Feb 2013, 00:14 am
Alan Solomons is another great King. I would punt for him when Heyneke eventually fails as Bok coach.Not to be controversial ,but it’s a well-known fact that the Boks only are successful when an English speaking Saffa is at the helm.
26 Feb 2013, 00:16 am
@S_K-496:
> “It was brilliant. We love people of character who express themselves like that.”
> Cheeky
I hope the old pri.ck remembers it come say around June 29?
http://www.sapromo.com/sa/sport/crowds-boo-luke-watson-at-loftus-versveld
http://www.flyafrica.info/forums/showthread.php?17368-Luke-(puke)-Watson-receives-a-standing-ovation-at-Loftus
26 Feb 2013, 00:17 am
@victoriabok-494: i know that…at craven week which is pollard’s level sergeal is the current MVP, not jean-luc
26 Feb 2013, 00:18 am
@S_K-499:
Like he couldn’t kep his “Men in Black” team from striking before the semi final?
How many Super trophies has he won?
He’s a doos like Cheeky and vomit
26 Feb 2013, 00:20 am
@S_K-499:
Anyway it’s the Kiwi Se.xton doing all the coaching
26 Feb 2013, 00:21 am
@victoriabok-500:
. Do you have an arsenal of these links on standby,ready to bomb us with as soon as Cheeky’s or the Watson surname is mentioned?
26 Feb 2013, 00:23 am
@victoriabok-502: hahaha!a keyboard warrior from the wilds of Victoria ,Canada !! Heheheh.
26 Feb 2013, 00:25 am
@S_K-504:
Do you think it’s going to be any different at Loftus?
Unlike you we take the Boks and rugby seriously
26 Feb 2013, 00:28 am
Time to go .listening to the smooth sounds of Emeli Sandé by far better that to engage with a bitter and twisted individual. cheers and goodnight .
26 Feb 2013, 00:28 am
@S_K-505:
> from the wilds of Victoria ,Canada
Wilds?
Enlighten yourself, have a look here
http://www.victoriabcca.com/gallery/flash/flash.php
26 Feb 2013, 00:37 am
@victoriabok-503: lol Solly’s mastermind behind it all, he us the Alex Ferguson of this joint!
The Phil Jackson of this b.itch
Southern Kings Director of rugby Alan
Solomons has finalised his coaching team
which he describes as an “English soccer
management” set-up.
Preparations for the Kings’ debut Super
Rugby season next year have begun in
earnest in Port Elizabeth, with Solomons
heading up a structure which he compared
to the set-up at the Queensland Reds, and
former Crusaders hooker Matt Sexton taking
up the position of head coach.
“It is very similar to the system that the
Queensland Reds have got with Ewan
McKenzie as a Director of coaching, then
Richard Graham underneath him as head
coach,” he told this website.
Solomons explained that while slightly
different to the division of coaching roles at
most Super Rugby franchises, the structure
is favoured by many clubs in the English
Premiership.
“It is similar to what they have got
overseas, Dean Richards did it ages ago
with Leicester and I suppose you have got
the same at Harlequins where Conor O’Shea
is the Director of rugby.
“Mark McCall had the same thing at
Saracens when he was the head coach and
Brendan Venter was the Director of rugby, I
basically see it as an English soccer
management style,” he said.
Sexton will perform the role of head coach
and take charge of the forward pack with
some assistance from Barend Pieterse,
whilst his fellow Kiwi Brad Moar has been
appointed as attack coach with the
experienced Omar Mouneimne taking the
role of defensive specialist.
“Matt [Sexton] will be doing the forwards,
so he is ultimately responsible for the line-
outs, scrums and the mauling, and he will
be assisted in the line-outs by Barend
Pieterse who will also be assisting our
Vodacom Cup side.
“Brad will focus on our team attack and the
backline,” said Solomons.
The Kings boss said that he is looking
forward to working with Mouneimne who
was used by Nick Mallett as defence coach
during his time in Italy.
“Omar Mouneime is the defence and
breakdown coach. He was with Western
Province and the Stormers, he started out
as a collision coach and then developed
from there into a defence coach.
“He joined Nick Mallett in Italy where he
stayed for two or three years and went right
through until the World Cup,” he said.
With his coaching staff in place all that is
left for Solomons is to get down to the
serious business of preparing his squad for
their entry into Super Rugby which he
admits will be a significant challenge.
“There is a lot of hard work going in, we
appreciate that we have got a lot of hard
work ahead of us so we have got to work
very hard,” he said.
26 Feb 2013, 00:39 am
So Keo clearly read the Kings game thread of Saturday/Sunday very well. He clearly found it educational and instructive and now knows the tide has already turned, as any day’s history present day S.A. will reveal(farm-workers in the W.Cap, mineworkers and more in Gauteng region).
So his focus on the haters(“cultural minority”) and the legacy of the E.Cape(“full many a gem of purest ray serene, The dark unfathomed caves of ocean bear Full many a flower is born to blush unseen, And waste its sweetness on the desert air.) and the hero(sport activism) to millions of non-racial blacks, Cheeky, is in essence dictated to him and because he understands the dynamics of the situation he(Keo) obliges and does not disappoint by backing a winner which is really just non-racial rugby, as the world dictates.
Does he understand that that “cultural minority” is comprised of many English speakers as well as the Afrikaans speakers he seems to allude to?
As recently as late 2007 he(Keo) was a veritable pain in the Watson backside as he cosied up to White, so uncomfortably.
26 Feb 2013, 00:53 am
@David-456:
Are you even aware that G.Rich is barely on the periphery of what is correct and he too will never know.
Do you know that Blacks “can’t hear what you are saying”. All they know is that when they were children they ” had no freedom”.
More correctly, Blacks don’t want to hear what non-blacks are saying.
Blacks don’t want to understand the words that emanate from a culture of the unwanted, the culture of not belonging, the culture of fear, the culture of drugs and alcohol abuse, the culture of guns and thus the culture of playing god to who lives and who dies.
26 Feb 2013, 05:09 am
So where I saw a normal Port Elizabeth crowd(including family) or a genuine S.African crowd to put it in national context, Mr. not-so-Rich, Gavin saw “a multiracial crowd”. And that is part of the problem of all people of his ilk as they pontificate from their ivory towers.
When last, if ever, rich Gavin have you been to a sport’s venue in Langa, Gugulethu or Nyanga as opposed to both Newlands Grounds and C.T.Stadium? Maybe you would see things differently if you did.
What you also missed rich Gavin is that the Kings represent a large non-racial(’50s already) Black, suppressed sport’s region(you call the E.Cape) that generally vote ANC and because of those factors have not been given the more than a decade protective participation in Super rugby that the Lions and the Cheetahs have been given.
Thus every King’s game is a fight for mere survival and will be conducted with the passion, motivation, commitment and more of a hunted animal that merely wants to live another day.
What do you think propelled a mere lad, Humansdorp’s Petersen, over the try line with manly opponents hanging on to him? But every hunt does not end in survival as some of the hunted do succumb.
The Kings are an endangered rugby species in national rugby and all from the national administrators to fellow national opposition regional franchises to the large fraction of a S.African minority want them out of the way.
Rich Gavin you say drive and accelerate rugby development? Yet sentences before you expressed that national administrators do not have their heart in serious “transformation”, so what are you actually advising then? I will strongly put it to you that they sickly seek the exact opposite than develope rugby in that Eastern Cape region.
Those who control rugby in S.A., a “cultural minority” , are the real enemy. They should be exterminated so that the people of the Eastern Cape can continue to shout “Long Live the Kings”.
For how long can those who r e t a r d rugby ignore the faces on the bills of those persistently large, passionate, vociferous, committed crowds?
26 Feb 2013, 05:23 am
@ET.-511: Have you managed to persuade the Native Americans that you are one of them yet, Big Chief Shi.tting Bull? Because you are the “Culture of the Unwanted”s poster boy.
26 Feb 2013, 06:37 am
pedigree doggy poo-61:
Instead of spraying ‘jou pis’ like a .itch on heat and displaying your groupie ‘jagsheid’ to all the globe via the internet, why not address your seriously lacking rugby credibility?
Tell us groupie, what are ” … all the right reasons” you, as a ‘lightie’ growing up in your parentally desired racist environment, supported just racist sports(rugby, cricket) played at racist venues until the present? Have you ever been to Langa Stadium, Vygiekraal, City Park, Green Point Track(not Stadium), Florida Park, UWC, Dan Qeqe Stadium, Adcock Stadium and more where those sports were played too by the fathers of Kleinveld, Carr, De Jong, Philander, Kolisi, Bobo, Duminy, Barnes, Domingo, Peterson( X 3) and millions more?
If not, why not? Is it because of your closeted racist heritage?
Tell us too what are “… all the wrong reasons” that you know just ‘fokkol’ about Kwaru(clubs like Union, St.Cyprians, Spring Rose R.Cs etc.), E.P.R.U( St.Marks, Swans, Wallabies R.Cs etc – A..C’s. home union), Sedru, Tygerberg R.U., W.P. R. Board, City & Suburban R.U., W.P. Country Distr. and a host more?
What do you really know about Gavin, Ronnie ,Valence and Dan Watson(and teammates Peter.Mkata, Temba Ludwaba, Norman Xhoxho, Yeye, Speelman and more)?. If not, why not? Is it that protective, beneficial ‘apartheid’ ivory tower existence that rounded you with a questionable credibility, so well?
What about Jabaar, Fredricks, Majiets(X4), Lefty Adams, Tiffie Barnes, Yacoob Omar, Hardie Dollie and tons more? Have you or you folks seen them play sport? If not why not? I have seen countless of your racists from before and after Dawie Snyman and Hansie Cronje and others. It was shoved down our gullets by radio and tv day after day.
Are you still a “Coloured” woman now? If that has not worked why not claim to be “Indian”? They are so gentle.
And what is so wrong and off-putting that you have not tried to claim to be Venda(like Ramphele) or Zulu or Xhosa(your ‘gatgabba’ would like that)?
Credibility, ‘celeb’ groupie?
What, where, groupie?
26 Feb 2013, 06:43 am
Does he even know the ‘point ‘ that he wants to make as opposed to the ‘point’ that he knows he does not make?
That is what a Stormer defeat does to their miscreants.
Lost in ‘thought ‘ and lost in time.
26 Feb 2013, 08:00 am
Mark Keo
Let’s have the next King article for rugby reasons only please.
They have made their statement on the field by beating the Force.
Luke had a good game and made a big impact while he was on the field.
You will have 20 odd more weeks of them competing so it would be nice if we saw articles hence forward without having to mention the words “struggle”, “anti-King”, “Afrikaners”, “haters”, “Cheeky” and “past”
I doubt you will change the perceptions of the bloggers, but just speaking for myself, the Kings team did that already on Saturday by the way they played and gutsed it out.
They have gained my respect not by talk but by action.
No one can blame you for the “I told you so” article, but bear in mind that if they lose now, and they will, as will all other teams, then you will in all probability be seeing countless ” we told you so” posts heading in your direction.
Keep writing about them, they represent a franchise, but keep it only related to the on field performances and stick to the players standing out, then perhaps there will be less animosity between some bloggers here as well.
26 Feb 2013, 08:50 am
@ET.-512: @ET.-514: EXCELLENT POSTS!!!
I do not begrudge the players and supporters of the Eastern Cape a team to support…
However the Kings, as conceived and permitted by SARU, are a lie…
They are a bantustan team… Like the Bantustans were chunks of land demarcated to show that black South African’s had their “own” land… The Kings are a team formed by SARU to show that black rugby players have their “own” team…
They are both representative of separate development ideology… They are both divisive…
The Kings have come into being as a zero sum game between them & the Lions… The Kings “win” and the Lions “lose”… But the Kings haven’t won yet… Because the SARU baases have done nothing but use the Kings to show an illusion of transformation… To cover up the fact that they have failed at meaningful black rugby development.
I cannot agree more with the rest of your points on rich Gavin and other lying pseudo liberals on their sentiments and observations of a “multiracial” crowd and their nothing but NIMBY (Not in my back yard) support of the Kings because it is the “right thing to do”, coming from whitey liberals, who lets not forget support a party who’s leader branded the same people from the Eastern Cape as “Refugees” in their own country…
I cannot agree more with you exposing these self proclaimed liberals for the lying curs they are…
That is why your two posts are excellent… They expose hypocrisy.
26 Feb 2013, 08:57 am
Notier
26 Feb 2013, 09:07 am
Nortierd keo doesnt care about uniting all rugby supporters in SA. In fact he delights in causing tension. He is now the lapdog of cheeky and the kings. So whenever he gets the chance to say something about the lions and white rugby supporters he takes it. He couldve written an informed article about how the kings showed guts and glory and passion. But instead he chose to call out all the nay sayers. He is a coke sniffing little man. That really doesnt have any genuine rugby knowledge. He is more a politician and hangs around people with knowledge. He then steals their ideas and calls it his own. Pathetic!!! Remember the world cup. He had written us off even before we started. But when we lost(contreversially)his whole angle changed. What a true biggot and embarresment for sa rugby. Mark Keohane shame on u!!!
26 Feb 2013, 09:16 am
LOl. Racist ET and HG in bed together again, like two little Eastern Cape refugees in CT, they turn to each other in times of need.
26 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@Bigbok-519:
Bigbok
I am not going to even try to prescribe what he should or shouldn’t write in his weekly columns in the press, but when it comes to match reports I would prefer just sticking to the match details.
We all see the same footage and will either agree or disagree with various calls and worth of certain players during the match.
That is fine by me and that is a basis for banter etc.
We know we are not the most gracious losers in the world and will look for every reason under the sun first before coming to the realization that maybe our team didn’t play well enough to deserve to win.
I would just like to see the Kings now being treated as equals when match reports are written as in my opinion, they are now equals as they play against the same opposition as the other 4 SA sides.
26 Feb 2013, 09:40 am
@Bigbok-519: What got me was how he took 18 days to create and publish such a derogatory and biased article about a man who was no longer around to defend himself.
Cheap, cheap shot and smacks of cowardice.
26 Feb 2013, 09:46 am
@Bigbok-519: I agree with at least one statement here… That Keo is a bigot… A bigot like the rest of the lily liberal PC obsessed “enlightened” ones…
They try hard to camoflage their bigotry with “multiracialism” or “multiculturalism”, but for these NIMBY’s their bigotry is nothing if not skin deep…
26 Feb 2013, 10:03 am
Keo is fast to say how wrong we are. Yet he does nothing but bring disrepute to rugby in all forms and levels. Then he defends it by calling it journalism. Yet its only his kaak opinion. What a clown.
26 Feb 2013, 10:11 am
Nortierd i am not a fan of the Kings nor will i ever be. But i totally agree with u. Write a match report instead of propaganda. And i hope you enjoy your teams debut season.
26 Feb 2013, 10:16 am
@Bigbok-525:
Bigbok, I am not a King supporter, I support the Stormers.
I was happy for the true blood Kings supporters on Saturday even though I didn’t call the game correctly.
It was a game that grew on me the longer it went on, the Kings players really showed guts and determination and I liked that.