Long live the Kings
25 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day, writes the Kings turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.
They played in black but it was all Grey when it came to the Southern Kings historic and winning Super Rugby debut in Port Elizabeth.
Grey High School, academically and culturally strong, is also Port Elizabeth’s most renowned sporting and rugby institution.
Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons was schooled at Grey. Kings captain Luke Watson went to Grey and Saturday night’s two-try wing wonder Sergeal Petersen finished matric at Grey High just three months ago. The past, present and future of the region were all primary to a victory for the Southern and Eastern Cape, for South African rugby and for the country.
This was indeed a victory for the locals made possible by locals. It was a momentous occasion that demanded celebration and the necessary outpouring of emotion.
The Kings, as a squad, are limited in pedigree but not in passion.
The haters of the Kings called the team an embarrassment to South African rugby. This was before kick-off.
Those haters again displayed every quality of a bully and coward and stayed clear of social media forums on Saturday night. They would have taken the Kings 22-10 win against Australia’s Western Force personally. It is their way.
The haters will be back this week with boasts that the Kings won’t win again this season. This distorted thinking will give credence to their vindictiveness.
The haters don’t see the Lions winning 15 from 90 Super Rugby matches and losing 17 in succession as an embarrassment. The haters don’t recall the Bulls winning two out of 22 matches in Heyneke Meyer’s first two years as a Super Rugby coach. The haters don’t remember the Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks, Cats, Stormers and Bulls all taking 50-plus point beatings in the history of the tournament.
Never have so many South Africans done such a disservice to a South African Rugby franchise.
The argument that Super Rugby participation has to be earned is flawed. How did the Rebels and Force earn the right to play in the competition? They were included to grow the game in Australia.
The Sharks (as Natal) were given Currie Cup status in an expanded structure and went onto become the most successful South African province a decade later.
Griquas and the Pumas, as two examples, were given Currie Cup status by way of another expansion from six to eight teams.
The Kings were reluctantly and resentfully officially declared participants in the 2013 Super Rugby season in August 2012, and there was no guarantee beyond one season.
Few players of Super Rugby quality were willing to leave other provinces in South Africa or return from Europe to play for a region in which uncertainty was the only certainty.
It was assumed – among the anti Kings’ contingent – that the shame of defeat in every match would dull enthusiasm for Super Rugby in the region. It was never a consideration the Kings would lead the South African Conference after the first round of matches.
The Kings on a historic night in our rugby played without a jersey sponsor. They were made to feel like paupers.
They were treated like renegades and played like revolutionaries. They turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.
Brumbies loose-forward David Pocock tweeted his best wishes to the Southern Kings on Saturday afternoon and wished them all the best.
The Zimbabwean-born captain of the Wallabies, a man of integrity and substance, who has never forgotten his African roots and who once tweeted he never missed an issue of South African Rugby Magazine as a youngster, cared enough to known what the Kings would mean to the future of the game in Southern Africa.
Pocock, in 140 characters, showed more goodwill to the Kings than the National Governing Body has done in the last 140 months.
Cheeky Watson, an activist against apartheid in South Africa, continues to fight apartheid in South African Rugby. He refused and refuses to compromise on the Kings’ presence in a unified South African Rugby landscape.
It makes him unpopular to a cultural minority. So too Solomons, who four years ago committed to a 10 year plan to restore rugby’s respect within the region.
One of the greatest nights in our unified rugby history was also the saddest because it showed – not how far we have come in unity – but just how far we need to go.
All hail the Kings. Long live the Kings.
Respect

526 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
25 Feb 2013, 09:25 am
@Dilligafrican-49:
Seth Rogen for Lukas or alternatively Denzil Washington if we’re looking for a gritty performance.
Jonah Hill to play Brok Harris.
25 Feb 2013, 09:26 am
@Sasuke-48: cornel du preez…there’s an interchanging of roles in that lose trio as luke ran on the park with a 7 on his back a.la richie but he was often the one dropping back to cover kicks in the 8 role…
25 Feb 2013, 09:34 am
@gunther-51: Don’t think Brok will ever lose as much weight as Jonah.
William devane could work as sheeky.
Maybe there’ll be space for some bloggers – can see Skop as Marty Feldman, Grant as Julie Andrews and Paris Hilton’s mutt as Capo’s girl.
25 Feb 2013, 09:36 am
@Transformation-52: They worked well together as a trio. Very promising. Is Luke seriously injured? They need to find place for Engelbrecht in that loose trio.
25 Feb 2013, 09:36 am
Very proud of the players.
25 Feb 2013, 09:37 am
Here come the cream of Ghent punk face sharkishits nay saying schmuck a lucky mercenary hunting prats
The very reason the players playing with passionate resolution is because of the structure and direct transfer of input by coaching and management. Without Watson’s or Solomon there would be no Kings franchise to play for or a KIwI coach to coach the players to put there bodies on the line. The union is inspired from the top down with the buy in filtering into the players at the front line. In spite of all the negative negating naysayers coming from out the pathetic jealousy infestations from the poor pompous Sharkishits up the line.
25 Feb 2013, 09:38 am
@Dilligafrican-53:
25 Feb 2013, 09:40 am
@Transie, That flanker of the kings- unknown, unbrideld and farken impressive…AC should sign him!
25 Feb 2013, 09:41 am
most springboks produced by province;
Western Province 237
Lions 141
Blue Bulls 92
Cheetahs 71
Sharks 68
Griquas 47
EP Kings 28
Bulldogs 14
Cavaliers 10
Rhodesia 8
Pumas 7
Leopards 6
Eagles 5
Falcons 3
South West Africa 3
25 Feb 2013, 09:52 am
@gunther-44: Maaaaa! Meatloaf!
25 Feb 2013, 09:52 am
@Transformation-52: Congrats Transie. You must have partied like it was 1999.
What a historic moment.
I hope no arrests followed the celebrations.
@gunther-51: Jonah Hill. I would have thought Jack Black would be your casting director’s call? I asked Bakkies on Saturday to clarify something for me, but he couldn’t, maybe you can? Although you don’t live there…..But anyways: Who are the other members of OP’s ‘wolf pack’, the rugby players alluded to in various reports? The wild sporting stars who run it thick in the fast car, drugs, alcohol and women world in Pretoria? Hougie I guess is candidate? But I doubt Steyn, Spies, Potgieter etc would even be seen dead (yes, shittywordchoice)with this crowd unless they were paid to be seen with them?
Maybe youngsters? (and No, this is not a trick question, just helluva curious, because this isn’t exactly ‘new’ skinner.)
25 Feb 2013, 09:53 am
Well it’s Monday, and what a weekend it was. I could not be prouder of my home town team the Southern Kings. It was so emotional, when Sergeal ran over for that first try, some old ballies were wiping happy tears for the kid. It was the agressive crowd participation in every tackle, every run, everytime our boys touched the ball.
The game was there for all to see, but it was watching the players come to the crowds to give their thanks, and the sound wall of cheers, it was the walk after the match back to the parking areas that really touched me. People were literally dancing in the streets. I saw youngsters dub stepping, and old men skipping and moving. Yes it was one game, but a feeling to be savoured for a long time, because it was a long time coming.
25 Feb 2013, 09:54 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61:
Bakkies cant clarify anything
He no watch superrugby!
25 Feb 2013, 09:56 am
@Transformation-52: yeah, Luke is more of a 8 than 7 or 6, imo
& applying SA numbering their best loose trio appears to be:
6. Cornell du Preez
7. Jacques Engelbrecht
8. Luke Watson
But also bear in mind we have not yet seen Leonardi & Adongo perform for them at this S15 level. Either of them could still force their way into the starting XV, but appear not needed at present other than maybe on the bench.
Am I correct no foreigners played on Saturday, not even those on the bench? No cameo for Adongo or Parkes? A 100% SA effort?
25 Feb 2013, 09:58 am
@rossoneri-62:
Nice one!
25 Feb 2013, 09:59 am
@clownface-59: hiya clownface,
very interesting:
May I ask your source, & your definition of “produce”?
Thx in advance
25 Feb 2013, 10:05 am
Wouldn’t that be most young professional rugby players, woman, drinking, cars and the odd line of Charlie?
25 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
Keo is allowed his ” I told you so ” article.
To be fair, he called the win and if the majority of bloggers’ teams win they all come on and do the same, so why is he not allowed the same courtesy?
Many of us neutrals did not call the outcome for various reasons, some rugby related and some more personal, but I for one was sucked in by their passion they displayed and ended up being happy for the true Kings supporters and the side when the final whistle blew.
25 Feb 2013, 10:07 am
Look I don’t know who runs in his wolf pack.
Maybe it’s a wolf plank of one?
I do know that the celebrity pool in SA is very small and inncestuous.
Everyone knows each other etc. I would imagine in Pretoors it’s even smaller.
Hougie seems to have similar interests but he seemed to have been more her friend than his
These guys might be Lions players with a lot of time on their hands?
Sounds pretty much like YOU magazine reporting to me. Anything with a rugby player sells.
So draw your own conclusions.
25 Feb 2013, 10:10 am
@Angostura-66:
Fruit and Veg.
Porps and Peepsh.
25 Feb 2013, 10:12 am
@gunther-69:
These Bulls are corrupt
But Bakkies informs they are shining lights of halo-wearing decorum
25 Feb 2013, 10:13 am
EP have ‘produced’ far more than 28 Springboks in the more than a century of rugby contribution. Clown face facts up above are not true reference of how many Boks have been bred through EP rugby since long before some the other johnny come lately franchises belatedly came good.
25 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
@NZINCHINA-67:
Sound like a typical Friday night.
What’s the fuss?
@Dawn-71:
Corrupt in what way?
Kickbacks for contracts?
Awarding tenders to their wives companies?
25 Feb 2013, 10:14 am
What’s with all the beards at the Oscars?
(The movie award show not the trial)
25 Feb 2013, 10:18 am
@Dawn-74: Hollywood has been full of beards for many years, since the beginning in fact.
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=beard
25 Feb 2013, 10:18 am
@gunther-70: o ja, of course, but you forgot cheque book, & military/police draft & stationing
25 Feb 2013, 10:22 am
@gunther-69: I don’t know much about the Pretoria social scene, but somethings up (not new talk this….) and all I’m really worried about is a few careers.
I could tell you little bits about the Cape scene and heard though
25 Feb 2013, 10:24 am
Cry me a river Keo ..
You know as well as I do that the kings got into super rugby because of politics, no other reason.
Your argument about other teams getting in because of expansion is flawed, simply because the kings did not get in because of expansion, they got in at the expense of a team that is better than them .. and that is why they will be disliked by me and others for a long time.
The game on sat showed me two things … how bad ‘The Western Farce’ is and how passion can sometimes carry the day.
Well done to the kings, they won the game almost as much as the force lost it, and good on them .. they deserve all the joy involved with this dream start.
Unfortunately for them, and like keo was quick to point out, good for me … there will be allot more sad moments in the future than happy ones.
If the kings were there because of expansion and not because of politics and the greed of the watson clan I would have whole heartedly supported them .. as it stands now I unfortunately cannot.
As individuals I wish all their players well, there are some that shined really bright on Sat night, but as a team I’m afraid I cannot support you.
If that makes me a ‘bad’ South African, so be it … I’m just tired of political interference at all levels of our society and how the race card always gets played when it suites the powers that be and those who lust after power and money.
25 Feb 2013, 10:25 am
@gunther-73:
That’s what I would have thought.
25 Feb 2013, 10:28 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: Thanks….
not that i heard of…the cops in PE stay the hell away from worthy celebrations and this one was worth every second of the resultant headache…
it was amazing & to hear the players acknowledge the role we as the crowd played is just humbling… loved it
Keo, honestly, stop this crusade. Stop fuelling this whole thing. They’re a rugby team. That’s it. There will be people who love them and people who hate them, just like most other rugby teams. Let them get on with their business on the field. Actions speak louder than words. Remember that.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77:
No you can’t
25 Feb 2013, 10:30 am
@Paws-78: really mate, let go…
your lions stayed in super rugby from 2006 through CORRUPTION so cry me a river…
25 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
@gunther-82: Oh yes I can…..unless you are a part of the scene and heard crowd, in which case you already know
25 Feb 2013, 10:37 am
No Trans … they stayed there because no matter how k@k they were in super rugby they have always been one of the top 5 teams in SA …. that is a simple fact that you, keo and everyone else cannot get away from.
25 Feb 2013, 10:39 am
@Heavens Game-39: The Kings stand for that in your own warped mind. Deal with your own issues don’t make them Kings issues
25 Feb 2013, 10:46 am
XhosaKid, Transie and All Kings supporters Congratulations! Well done! Was very happy on Saturday, first my Sharks managed to win where previously they would have carried on with the choke, and then the Kings put the cherry on the top! Well done!
Many were eating humble pie this weekend me thinks
25 Feb 2013, 10:50 am
@Yetirat-81:
And I agree with Yetirat , you can stop the crusade keo … the kings are there now so let the cards fall where they may and lest see what happens at the end of the season.
Lets just hope that the rules won’t be changed down the line again ……
25 Feb 2013, 10:51 am
@Paws-78: The Kings haven’t lost 17 Super Rugby games in a row, the Lions have, so I don’t understand how come you say the Lions are better than the Kings.
25 Feb 2013, 10:52 am
@Ango: yes, 100% local is lekker!
25 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@XhosaKid-89: if 1 beats the other they are better, no?
25 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-61: Hougie was one of Reeva’s friends, apparently they went out briefly, not much of OPs friend, the way I understood it from reports.
25 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
@Pedigree: after watching carte blanche i’m counting my words online from now on…a boxwr nicknamed after a gun predominantly used by chicago mobs back in capone times.
25 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
boxer..
25 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
@Sharksgirl-92: Congrats on your team
They dated for 2 months I believe, and stayed friends. I’m just dillydallying about this talk of a group of young, rich men getting up to all sorts and acting like total fuckingtwats 24/7 simple because they are successful sportsmen.
Keen to see how much is revealed. (Especially if the truth is in total contrast to what certain folk project….and believe….)
25 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
A great Weekend Review – check it out – http://wp.me/P2QxT1-5j
25 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@Transformation-93:
Transie
The other segment on CB that showed how anonymous bloggers can still be found guilty of libel was interesting.
How did that girl put it ” if you aren’t willing to have them put your post on a billboard for all to see, then don’t post it”
25 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@XhosaKid-86:
Howzit buddy.
Hahahah speaking of warped little minds how awesome has Faf been you Telegraph reading know it all?
Class is in session.
25 Feb 2013, 11:03 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95:
How many games in a row have the Stormers now failed to get a bonus point?
25 Feb 2013, 11:04 am
@Transformation-93:
I will celebrate my freedom of speech, and my right to an opinion until such time as I make an allegation against someone that costs them millions in sponsorship
How many Kiwi assistants did Sexton bring with him? The fitness dude, the skills dude etc…anyone else?
Cos damn, I see a Kiwi flavour on the Kings cake……(and in their approach). Of course the sneaky and wise Solomons is doing his thing, but your outfit looks as though it has been smacked by a Kiwi hand. (The welts are there for all to see…is what I mean)
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All