Long live the Kings

MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day, writes the Kings turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.

They played in black but it was all Grey when it came to the Southern Kings historic and winning Super Rugby debut in Port Elizabeth.

Grey High School, academically and culturally strong, is also Port Elizabeth’s most renowned sporting and rugby institution.

Kings Director of Rugby Alan Solomons was schooled at Grey. Kings captain Luke Watson went to Grey and Saturday night’s two-try wing wonder Sergeal Petersen finished matric at Grey High just three months ago. The past, present and future of the region were all primary to a victory for the Southern and Eastern Cape, for South African rugby and for the country.

This was indeed a victory for the locals made possible by locals. It was a momentous occasion that demanded celebration and the necessary outpouring of emotion.

The Kings, as a squad, are limited in pedigree but not in passion.

The haters of the Kings called the team an embarrassment to South African rugby. This was before kick-off.

Those haters again displayed every quality of a bully and coward and stayed clear of social media forums on Saturday night. They would have taken the Kings 22-10 win against Australia’s Western Force personally. It is their way.

The haters will be back this week with boasts that the Kings won’t win again this season. This distorted thinking will give credence to their vindictiveness.

The haters don’t see the Lions winning 15 from 90 Super Rugby matches and losing 17 in succession as an embarrassment. The haters don’t recall the Bulls winning two out of 22 matches in Heyneke Meyer’s first two years as a Super Rugby coach. The haters don’t remember the Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks, Cats, Stormers and Bulls all taking 50-plus point beatings in the history of the tournament.

Never have so many South Africans done such a disservice to a South African Rugby franchise.

The argument that Super Rugby participation has to be earned is flawed. How did the Rebels and Force earn the right to play in the competition? They were included to grow the game in Australia.

The Sharks (as Natal) were given Currie Cup status in an expanded structure and went onto become the most successful South African province a decade later.

Griquas and the Pumas, as two examples, were given Currie Cup status by way of another expansion from six to eight teams.

The Kings were reluctantly and resentfully officially declared participants in the 2013 Super Rugby season in August 2012, and there was no guarantee beyond one season.

Few players of Super Rugby quality were willing to leave other provinces in South Africa or return from Europe to play for a region in which uncertainty was the only certainty.

It was assumed – among the anti Kings’ contingent – that the shame of defeat in every match would dull enthusiasm for Super Rugby in the region. It was never a consideration the Kings would lead the South African Conference after the first round of matches.

The Kings on a historic night in our rugby played without a jersey sponsor. They were made to feel like paupers.

They were treated like renegades and played like revolutionaries. They turned a night of potential ruin into a night to remember.

Brumbies loose-forward David Pocock tweeted his best wishes to the Southern Kings on Saturday afternoon and wished them all the best.

The Zimbabwean-born captain of the Wallabies, a man of integrity and substance, who has never forgotten his African roots and who once tweeted he never missed an issue of South African Rugby Magazine as a youngster, cared enough to known what the Kings would mean to the future of the game in Southern Africa.

Pocock, in 140 characters, showed more goodwill to the Kings than the National Governing Body has done in the last 140 months.

Cheeky Watson, an activist against apartheid in South Africa, continues to fight apartheid in South African Rugby. He refused and refuses to compromise on the Kings’ presence in a unified South African Rugby landscape.

It makes him unpopular to a cultural minority. So too Solomons, who four years ago committed to a 10 year plan to restore rugby’s respect within the region.

One of the greatest nights in our unified rugby history was also the saddest because it showed – not how far we have come in unity – but just how far we need to go.

All hail the Kings. Long live the Kings.

Respect

526 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All

• 401.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah-397:
    Stormers played poor, from the kick off they started poor and bar 10 minutes in the second half, they were outplayed.
    Was still enjoyable on Loftus, not the result, but the vibe.
    I love the passion of the Bull supporters and the fact that they don’t boo opposition kickers is good to see.
    Going to be a long 3 weeks for the Stormers, then I hope we can get something going
    :-D

• 402.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-399: :D . That would have saved him a lot of kuk!

• 403.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@nama1-345:

Taute is a Bok. Don’t you know. Dersevedly or not another story.

• 404.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-401: tell me about it… after the next two weeks I wouldn’t be surprised if the Kings are still lying above them! I’d be embarassed though

• 405.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah-404:
    Kings will be on 8, they are assured of that, doubt we will have 1, but we live in hope

• 406.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

Meisiekind has just returned and in his 1st game an opponent suffers from a groin injury….

• 407.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-405: lol all we have at this stage ;)

• 408.nortierd: Reply to this comment

UJ vs Wits
    Try festival deluxe

• 409.S_K: Reply to this comment

So,the bulls grabbed Taute by his testicles? dirty farking cheats! it’s not enough that they bribe the ref and tmo…now they are fondling the opposition players balls to get an advantage as well ! :D

• 410.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-409:
    How do you know it wasn’t one of his team mates………. Sorry, forgot that they all struggled to hold on to the ball on Friday, so I guess it wasn’t one of them

• 411.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-410: apparently he injured himself when he got tacked by meisiekind . :D

• 412.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

so happy for the kings

• 413.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-410: got his tackle tackled

• 414.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-411:
    Meisiekind was probably giving him a “blow” by “blow” account of life in Japan and got carried away with excitement.

• 415.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-414: sushi? They should check for dental marks. :D

• 416.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-415:
    If they do find teeth marks, should he then be dubbed the Tooth Fairy?

• 417.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Only 8 minutes in, but Tukies is busy messing with Maties

• 418.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@S_K-409:

> So,the bulls grabbed Taute by his testicles?

We’ve got high standards at Loftus, if it they’re not hanging out from the bottom of your shorts we go looking for them

If they don’t match the pair hanging from your bakkie you’re under-endowed

• 419.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-418:
    Hoesit VB
    And if they don’t match the color of those hanging behind your bakkie, squeeze it until it also turns blue?

• 420.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@S_K-411:

Nope, it was in the Stormers showers after the match

He’s from the Lions he’s not quite used to the Stormers’ angry s.ex after a loss

• 421.S_K: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-418: I was just wondering about your whereabouts ! I know you love these kinda stories . :D

• 422.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-419:

No you hang them in cold water for a while, then they also shrink to manageable size otherwise they’ll drag behind your bakkie :-)

• 423.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-421:
    VB gained 105 places on the Keo Superbru group, so he doesn’t mix with us commoners anymore.
    He only talks to those in the top 10
    :-D

• 424.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@S_K-421:

Deon slipped in the shower when he approached fyndraai and grabbed him by the nuts to prevent falling

• 425.S_K: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-420: I know that one of the kiwi okes asked you to come out of the closet ,but you refused. Come on Vicky,it’s only nortierd and I on here now. come on,you can do it ! :D

• 426.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-422:
    Army eiers, blou en soos poeier

• 427.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-423:

Luck pure luck

Jy moes nie die Stormers gekies het nie

• 428.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-426:

Eiers was nog ok, maar daai Russian?

• 429.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-423: Is it? I don’t do superbru,but congratulations to you ,Vicky .

• 430.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-427:
    Stormers geoorskat, Bulls geonderskat.
    Het net 2 uit 7 reg gehad, so daai was maar net een van vele bad picks
    Geluk, jy het moer goed gedoen en TR is eerste, dis great

• 431.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-429:
    You should have joined.
    Nothing messes up your weekend like seeing all the sides you picked get rodgered
    Lots of fun if you into self inflicted hurt

• 432.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-430:

Die Fantasy League is beter wat jy moet spelers kies wat gaan presteer, soos Mafi, al speel hy vir die Force druk hy driëe

• 433.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@S_K-425:

Here’s a photo of the shower tackle on Taute

Note the smile on his face :-)

He’s clearly enjoying it

AC taught his players the right technique, note the tackler’s head placement, eyes on the ball(s)

http://www.anorak.co.uk/348995/sports/kiwi-rugby-coach-ruben-wiki-tackles-half-time-streaker-epic-photo.html/

• 434.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-432:
    Te veel dinkwerk.
    Ek gaan die naweek Sun City toe, so in my gestripte moer toestand het ek al sommer Saterdag aand my rondte 3 picks gemaak.
    Gaan nie Internet he die naweek nie so kan nie wag tot die laaste minuut nie.
    Kan seker in elk geval nie swakker kies nie

• 435.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-434:

Stormers of Sharks?

• 436.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-433:
    Jig, lyk of sy neus reg in die man se poepenhol gedruk is

• 437.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-436:

G’n wonder die ander ou lag nie

Hoop die kool en baked beans van gisteraand doen hulle werk

• 438.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-435:

Wat’s jou pick vir Saterdag?

• 439.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-438:
    On a wing and a prayer
    Crusaders, Hurricanes, Tah’s, Chiefs, Sharks en Bulls

• 440.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Tukkies camping on Maties try line for 15 min already at 16-16 at 54 minutes in
    Look like the balance of power has swung around again this year from south to north both in varsity cup and SR rugby ook

• 441.Bigbok: Reply to this comment

What a bunch of kak. Hey Mark you coke sniffing *** munching dumbass!!! Who is this cultural minority? U sound like a pretty rascist f@ck to me. The same as cheeky and luke. Go reevaluate why so many people hate the kings. U really are ignorent!

• 442.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

And Maties get out of jail and still 16-16 at final 1/4 strategy break
    Up and down the park at 2 converted tries each and no-one breaking the deadlock.
    Halfway line Maties line out.

• 443.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

> It makes him unpopular to a cultural minority

… which is also, unfortunately for you, the majority of the rugby public

• 444.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-440:
    Good game so far.
    They had their chance to take the lead with some penalties, but botched 5 m line outs ala Stormers seems like the order of the day.

• 445.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

> He refused and refuses to compromise on the Kings’ presence in a unified South African Rugby landscape.

…. or he demanded his turn to to have his snout in the money trough whilst his unwanted presence divided South African even further

• 446.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

South Africans only but love their stampkar rugby these 2 varsity sides sizing each other up if there’s a choice between running at the opposition players or trying to find a team mate in a better position to look for a gap they’ll always chose to go head on into the opponent.

• 447.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-442:
    Pukke leading 21 to 13 v Ikeys and NMMU 8 to 5 v Shimlas at half time

• 448.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-446:
    The second try by Maties was nice to see. Good line by the centre, and the 1st match earlier was a try fest

• 449.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Got this article on Supersport. Is the tide turning?

——————————————————————————–

by Gavin Rich 25/02/2013, 12:00

Before anyone makes fun of the fuss being made of the Southern Kings winning their historic first ever Super Rugby match, perhaps we should put it in perspective.

When the Western Force first entered the competition in 2006, it took them seven games to get their first bonus point and it wasn’t until May that they won their first game. The Melbourne Rebels were thumped 43-0 in their first match in 2011. In both cases, they finished last in their first season before applying what they learned the following year and improving.

The problem with the Kings is that they may not be in a position to learn from this year as the promotion-relegation system means there is a good chance they could drop out. The expectation that the Kings will be the last team in the South African conference by the end of the season remains a realistic one.

They are a new team and have yet to build up their depth, so once injuries start to intervene, as inevitably they will, the Kings will be in trouble. To grow, they need to play Super Rugby, and for the Kings to have a reasonable chance of settling into the competition and becoming established, they really should be guaranteed at least three years.

The more I think about it the more I am convinced that the South African rugby administration, if they really had transformation at heart, should have gone to the Cheetahs and the Lions three or four years ago to inform them that the Kings were going to enter the competition in 2013 and would be given a fair crack at establishing themselves.

It would then have been up to the Cheetahs and Lions, who have consistently been the bottom two SA teams when they have played Super Rugby, to decide how to get around the problem. If you compare the record of the Lions and Cheetahs as separate entities to when they played together as the Cats, the view that the Cats formula was a disaster is far from accurate.

At least the Cats played in the odd Super semifinal, something that the Lions and Cheetahs on their own have never come close to doing.

It wouldn’t be a perfect solution, and first prize for Saru must surely be to get the Sanzar partners to arrive at a solution that enables six South African franchises to participate. But my experience this past weekend was enough to convince me that the administrators, for the good of the game and for the purpose of driving and accelerating transformation, simply have to do what they should have done but failed to do at the outset – they need to guarantee the Kings an extended stay.

I can imagine people getting worked up over that statement. After all, the Kings have played just one game, and there was a year when Chester William was coaching them that the Cats duped everyone by winning an opening match against the Bulls and then losing everything after that.

A similar thing can happen to the Kings, but their win over the Force isn’t really the point. It was the multiracial crowd, the scenes that we saw on television of different races mixing together to watch and then celebrate the Kings’ triumph, that got me excited.

I watched the game on television in Bloemfontein as I had travelled through to cover the Sharks’ clash with the Cheetahs. The previous night I had been at Loftus to watch the Bulls emphatically outplay the Stormers. At both stadiums I made the point to colleagues that the crowd was almost 100% white, and frankly the lack of numbers at Free State Stadium, regardless of race, is a problem.

When last did that stadium attract 32 000 spectators to a game against an Australian team like the Kings did? The timing of matches in the professional era hurts the Cheetahs more than most because many of their fans come from outlying areas. When games kicked off in mid-afternoon those supporters could make a day of it, but later kick-offs mean they either have to stay over in Bloemfontein or spend their late Saturday nights on the road.

The Kings, representing a large populated area like the Eastern Cape, have a ready and hungry rugby market, and most importantly it is, along with the Western Cape, the one part of the country where rugby has had historical appeal among the black communities.

Forget how many black players there are in the Kings team right now, their first quest must surely be to build the structures and establish a successful culture that will attract supporters and help inspire the many black players coming out of the excellent Eastern Cape schooling system to play for them.

That though can’t happen overnight, and it can’t happen in one season. If South African rugby wants the Kings to make the impact on the game in this country that drove their inclusion in the first place, then the administrators need to get real – a three year stay in the competition has to be a non-negotiable. I don’t see either the Lions or the Cheetahs enjoying enough success or support to make them indispensable as separate entities.

• 450.Rage: Reply to this comment

447 nortier

Howzit! You related to Pukke 10,Gerhard??

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.