Plumtree shows Bekker respect

John Plumtree singled out Andries Bekker’s lineout ability as just one of the Stormers strengths.

In a midweek press conference, Plumtree was in a good mood, joking with journalists ahead of a match that could be definitive to who wins the South African Conference.

Plumtree said there were few injury concerns after the win against the Cheetahs and added the match was a chance to redress the result of last year’s Currie Cup final when the Stormers (in the guise of Western Province) won in Durban. He said the Cup could only be won back in a different competition at a later stage of the year.

For now the emphasis was on Super Rugby and Plumtree said his team’s lineout would be under pressure against the likes of Andries Bekker. He was comfortable that Sharks hookers Craig Burden and Kyle Cooper performed well against the Cheetahs, but he felt the Stormers lineout would provide an even sterner examination.

Plumtree had everyone laughing when asked about the impact and importance of Pat Lambie, saying that the player is not that important and is just the posterboy of the Sharks. He did go on to say that an in-form Pat Lambie is the best thing the Sharks could ask for, and the fact that he has the experienced Frans Steyn outside him, reduces the pressure.

By Richard Ferguson

247 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

I did say from the very start that the stormers will have an average season. End 13th.

you can’t face Bulls, Sharks and Chiefs first up and expect to get a good start.

• 202.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-199:
    Yep, our defense won’t easily allow 50 points, but I am concerned that we will struggle this next 2 weeks, then hopefully kick into gear

• 203.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

i fully expect the racist skopishit to boycott this site and rugby for good now that he has called it racist and deserving of a government ban. see you skopishit.

• 204.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-200:
    I agree we will struggle the 1st few weeks, but still disagree that we will end 13th

• 205.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

What’s good for the goose is good for the gander rugby has failed in this country to breach it’s inherent racist separatist tendencies it should be banned as a vehicle that promotes separate minority fed ideology and idealism. All privilege white rugby religious ideology should be banned just like they banned blacks from playing in white teams for the better part of the past century. Pricks like ShaunB with his silver spoon fed pompous privileges should go play rugby on another colonial outpost where they either exterminated all the natives or else they have succumbed to embrace them.

• 206.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-200:

The Bulls started slow a few years ago and ended strong at Loftus

The Stormers will improve

• 207.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-193: you sound like louis luyt.

why does SARU have “Transformation Charter”?

why did they endeavour to synchronise their plan with that of the Ministry of Sport in terms of objectives & targets?

• 208.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-194: Then wtf do you want on a rugby site you egotistacle maniac who is more immature then a 2 year old child, ur mental and your mouth is only this big because you on behind a monitor, you are a disgrace to the human race.

• 209.Transformation: Reply to this comment

goeie nag mense

• 210.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

oh boy the mental child will again lose it tonight :lol: he is 70 going on 5.

• 211.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Yeah i am off too, good night to the decent folk,

• 212.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-206:

No, I’m not a Socialist like you

The Government should run the country and do it as efficiently and cheaply as possible, and stay out of business and citizens’ private lives

• 213.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-208:

• 214.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-211: before i go, the Government should fund the development of Oscar, Ryk, Cycling etc & pay billions to the IRB in guarantees for World Cups & then stay uninvolved? right.

you’re daft if you think i’m a “Socialist”

• 215.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-210:

• 216.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-211:
    @Transformation-213:
    You know the saying, never talk about sport, religion or politics.
    You fellows are going on 2 out of 3.
    Ice is cracking

• 217.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

You can’t stomach being called a racist because you are one that is your problem. You want to perpetuate your racist white religious indoctrination called rugby. It cuts at the core of your ideology. You pricks sit here in your heilige racist bigotry and you want to classify Cheeky or Luke Watson as promoters of racism when ACTUALLY The promoters of racism in rugby are you feeble white pompous privileged protected minority species.

• 218.Angostura: Reply to this comment

g’nite alleMAL :-)

• 219.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-213:

Do they get income tax in return from Oscar and Ryk on all their income and sponsorships?

Any government prepared to host a big event like the Olympics, SWC or RWC must know they’re going to take a knock financially

Still no reason to get involved in the professional part of sport

They can develop sports by giving funding, especially smaller sports with no real financial backing

• 220.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-216:

I see you’re singing your song again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwXrBe4QbMU

• 221.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-217:

• 222.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

skopishit is a filthy racist, this thread proves it once again. despicable senile snoek breath racist.

• 223.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

You are a filthy white racist ShaunB
    I’m wondering why most filthy white pompous english speaking colonialist racists come from that hive of filthy white pompous colonialism the last bastion of pompous snotty nosed upper crust english racism in banana boy country. It smacks of filth your pathetic ingrained pompous english snooty nosed racism. The actual pity of it is that filthy racist cn’ts the likes of you think people like the Watson’s are racist when the real truth of the matter is that cn’ts the likes of you are the worst proponents of snooty pompous filthy white degenerate racism under the sun. Bar none.

• 224.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

I love winding up snoek breath the racist.

• 225.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-103: Thankyou Charles

• 226.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Does this mean that I am not a racist,colonial,mercenary,sharkshit,sharkie varkie after all?.And do not sing carols.

• 227.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-124: Some probing questions here.

• 228.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-155: Thank you.You are indeed
    one of the good guys.

• 229.Fern: Reply to this comment

Here you go poops,I am sure you will enjoy and agree with this statement made by one of our ministers.

Lulu Xingwana made the remarks to Australian news channel ABC News.

“Young Afrikaner men are brought up in the Calvinist religion believing that they own a woman, they own a child, they own everything and therefore they can take that life because they own it,” she said.

• 230.Fern: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-228:
    That is reaching very far.
    That featherboa wearing,glitter in the hair bent little butterfly stormers supporter a good oke?
    Dont say I did not warn you

• 231.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Fern-230: Ex Cop.Understands human nature.

• 232.Fern: Reply to this comment

Rye he is prob going to whisper in your ear with his cheap redwine smelling breath “Ek doen dit nie sommer met enige ou nie” before attemting to stick a finger up your p ooper or caress your crown jewels.These stormers supporters are all the same madala.

• 233.Fern: Reply to this comment

Cheers everyone,have a good day/evening.

• 234.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-185: Gofuckyourself.

Prick.

• 235.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I heard Joost vd Westhuizen the other day and boy has he deteriorated.

Now I’m not a Joost fan at all, except that I recognize that he was arguably SA’s best 9 to date, but that can be debated another day. My heart went out to the man.

I will never forget when the Joost scandal broke a few years ago and I stated without the benefit of investigations etc that it was him on the video, I was accused of being against the Afrikaner.

I took 3 things to base my opinion on:

1. He stated that his ‘heart was with the Lord’
    2. I recognized his voice on the clip
    3. He stated then that the guy on the video willy is bigger than his

Humorous but I knew then it was a big divide in public opinion and a lot of it was pro Afrikaner.

Anyway I wish the man all the best. I would not wish that (his illness) on my enemy.

• 236.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-235: good man sheriff

• 237.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

What I do want to do is to take issue with point 1 in post 235.

SA sportsmen love to portray the image that they are ‘groot Christene’ as Afrikaners would say. I’m now talking in general.

The surname Pistorius is of German origin. Oscar’s father, Henke attended Afrikaans Hoër Seunskool or Affies. It was probably a case of the dad is Afrikaans and the mom English, which meant that the kids grew up speaking predominantly English. This is speculation on my part.

Point is: I am so glad the Oscar saga cannot be reduced to a pro or anti Afrikaner debate

I would like to submit here that the default culture of us but in particular white males is not Christian, but pagan. Now ‘Christian’ is derived from the Chr*st which is supposed to be an English translation of the Greek translation of Mashiach.

Mashiach is really a Hebrew (Jewish) concept. It speaks of a promise made by the Lord Himself to Abraham that ‘in you all the nations of the earth will be blessed’ Messiah is really God coming to tabernacle/dwell with us; it sounds over-simplistic but that is the bottomline of Torah and the Gospels.

Messiah said things like: Blessed are the poor! It is hard for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God! Seek first the Kingdom of God and its righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Pagans always crave THESE THINGS. Money, power, fame and as a result are arrogant, proud etc. That is the essence of the Western culture and taught and lived. They teach that if you are rich, you are blessed! If you are powerful, then you are blessed!

Not so.

Pagans have hijacked Messiah’s organic following and built cathedrals with intricate hierarchies. Messiah said: I call you friends.

Messiah was also what modern theory would refer to as a collectivist. When approached by his followers on how to pray He said: Our Father/Avinu …

Pagans are individualists, have little or no meaningful relationships, regard people as a means to an end and value personal achievement above all.

So when us Westerners get ‘saved’ as we say, that is, we accept Messiah, we have HUGE baggage. Most of our ingrained thinking is pagan, in other words, out of step/sync with Messiah. It is for that reason that the Bible talks about ‘renewing of the mind’

• 238.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I’m saying South Africa is not a Christian country, but a pagan one as are most countries in the world.

Whether it is the ANC with their ancestral worship or the National Party with is Nazi & occult false religion it’s not Christian. With that I mean it does not accurately reflect the values that Messiah stood for and no doubt still stand for.

What is anti-Semitism? It is really the DENIAL that Messiah was from the tribe of Judah (Jewish); the Roman Catholics started diluting the Hebrew/Jewish influence from what they call Christianity. I’ll write something on the Vatican in the near future…

Today most Protestants worship what they picture to be blond and blue eyed.

Not that I have seen Messiah in person but it is quite unlikely that he looked like that when he was on earth. He probably looked like any of the other guys. It is for this reason that they had to specifically ask when they came to arrest him: We seek Yeshua of Netzeret…

Use Google Images and type ‘Jewish males’ – see what I mean…

• 239.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Pistorious should have grabbed his bible before he went ballistic with his 9mm Beretta. Bit late turning to the bible now all the pagan worship in the world won’t save his godforsaken soul after the fact.

• 240.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

JC probably looked much like me except with less Ashkenazi mingled into his chromosome. A black version of Skoppie how’s that for a beautiful irony of misplaced ideological fantasy.

• 241.gunther: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-240:

A shortarsed beards unemployed bakkiebuilder with a chip on each shoulder?

Computer says nein.

• 242.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

See it will really help the message of Messiah if megachurch preachers can stop preaching feel good messages (psychology) and organisational dynamics.

What we need is to be reminded that Messiah’s return is imminent. What does that mean? It means that we are to expect Him any time whether He actually returns later today, tomorrow or 30 years from now.

You may regard the Bible ( in particular the Book of Revelation) as allegory but I would urge you not to. Someone was saying the other day that for every prophecy of Messiah 1st coming there are 8 prophecies about His 2nd coming. It’s a big deal and will be literal.

I have better things to do than you scare you, but we need the truth – it’s refreshing from all the lies and politically correct garbage.

Safety has become a major issue and will increasingly. Is it not interesting that Messiah’s name is Yeshua which means ‘salvation’ or ‘safety’ and so on. You must keep in mind that that Name was selected by the Father and an angel relayed the message to Miryam. In Hebrew thought one’s name speaks of your calling or function that you will fulfil.

Thus Yeshua would bring ‘safety’ or save His people from harm.

• 243.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-240:

Skoppie, are you Jewish? Have you accepted Yeshua as the Messiah yet?

I dont want to put you on the spot. It’s a sincere question – there will be no send 10 dollars to Sheriff’s account :lol:

Many Torah scholars are – realizing that the more than 300 prophecies that He fulfilled cannot be coincidence.

• 244.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

So Skop reckons JC was made in his image – now I really have heard it all.

• 245.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

At times, one has to say what you’re not saying to be clearer.

We all know that Jews have impacted the world with their brilliance. Is that part of the blessing of Abraham? Probably, but that’s not my point.

There is nothing special to be Jewish biologically. The significance of being Jewish lies in the spiritual domain. Jews (those from the tribe of Judah) are the descendants of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

When Moses was in the wilderness that is how YHVH (God) introduced Himself to him. I am the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. What He is saying is that I am the the One who originally dealt/covenanted with Abraham.

What was the distinguishing characteristic of Abraham? Abraham believed God and was called a friend of God eventhough he also came from a pagan background (Ur of the Chaldeans – probably where the Tower of Babel stood hundreds of years before); thus it was not Abraham physical features but his faith/what he believed that set him apart.

But as Jacob prophecied in Genesis 49v10: The scepter shall not depart from Judah (scepter is a symbolic ornamental rod borne in the hand by a ruling monarch as an item of royal insignia); thus clearly Judah (that is the Jews) play a significant custodian role in the big scheme of things.

Why? Because God promised Abraham and then backed it up with an oath that in him ‘all the nations of the earth will be blessed’ ; that is first and foremost the Messiah will come from his lineage.

As much as secular Jews have contributed to the good of the world many are involved in the most hideous things.

• 246.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-243: I have read on more than one occasion that he is, but that means nothing to me.

The point of my post…He criticises those who exercise their right to emigrate/live elsewhere in the world, insulting them in as worse a way as possible yet somebody posted on here one day that his own son lives in Italy.

I wonder whether he treats his own flesh-and-blood the same way?

If the son did emigrate I sure can’t blame him…

• 247.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-246:

Cannot comment on skoppie’s private/family affairs; was not aware that he has a son.

I prefer express my views and anyone can differ. That’s the joy of the exercise.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.