Coetzee backs Elton
27 Feb 2013
The Stormers have backed Elton Jantjies, selecting him to start against the Sharks.
Other changes to the team see Joe Pietersen in for the injured Jaco Taute, while Pat Cilliers drops to the bench and Frnas Malherbe starts.
Peter Grant and Louis Schreuder are on the bench, Dewaldt Duvenhage missing out completely.
Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Steven Kitshoff.Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Don Armand, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

35 Comments
27 Feb 2013, 14:15 pm
Malkop gaan dit verloor.
27 Feb 2013, 14:57 pm
So this will be the top contender for the Bok 10 jersey vs poor Lambie…
27 Feb 2013, 15:05 pm
Sanity prevailed!
27 Feb 2013, 15:08 pm
Top contender is Johan Goosen – best 10 last year in S15 according to statistics!
27 Feb 2013, 15:10 pm
Persisting with De Kock and Fourie… Wow Alistair. I mean I guess De Kock only fault is being average rather than terrible like Deon’s throws.
Gotta wonder why he persists with Elstadt at 7. Move him to four, let Carr or Armand start.
Hopefully this is will happen when Schalk is back.
27 Feb 2013, 16:45 pm
Move Bezhout to 2, Fourie to 6, Kolisi to 7 and and Elstadt to 4.
27 Feb 2013, 17:16 pm
It is up to the team to make sure that they put up a good performance and give the fans hope. It was not so much the lost last week that was the problem but the poor performance of the team and specifically players like Jantjies and Fourie.
It’s up to them now to rectify their mistakes. I’m not that confident but I’m hopeful that we can put one over the Sharks at the Tank…again. If all players come to the party, that is.
On de Kock, every team need a donkey in the pack and he is more than willing
to do the donkey work. True, he is no Etzebeth but…who is?
GO STOOOOOORRRRRRRRRMMEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
27 Feb 2013, 17:18 pm
@nama1-7:
Forgot to mention…Kolisi needs to up his game as well.
27 Feb 2013, 17:23 pm
@nama1-8: remember kolisi went to the “bush” in december, he is missing about a 1kg of his weight.
27 Feb 2013, 17:30 pm
@Transformation-9:
He’ll never be as strong as he used to be… Amandla ayo amke nejwabu
27 Feb 2013, 17:38 pm
@Transformation-9:
Forgot about that.
With proffesional dieticians, gym work and such, I would’ve thought that he would’ve
been back at his physical peak by now. Let’s see how he goes this weekend.
I suppose he and Coetzee will be assigned the same roles. Two young flankers, both aspiring for Bok honours later in the year playing in the same position. It will be a great duel.
As will be Vermeulen vs Kanko and Elstadt vs Deysel.
My guess is that the team that win the battle of the loose trio, will win the match.
27 Feb 2013, 17:54 pm
For me, playing Elstadt at 7 is like playing Bakkies at 7, hes an enforcer but no quick enough and he doesnt have the hands
Would prefer a pack like this
8 Carr
7 Vermeulen
6 Kolisi
5 Bekker
4 Elstadt
3 Malherbe
2 Fourie
1 Kitshoff
16 Buzidenhout
17 Cilliers
18 Steenkamp
19 Armand
27 Feb 2013, 17:56 pm
Vermeulen > Kankowski
Deysel > Elstadt
Kolisi & Coetzee equal will be really interesting to see who comes out on top
27 Feb 2013, 17:59 pm
@Rhys7-12:
Against the Sharks it might work because Deysel isn’t particularly Speedy Gonzales either.
27 Feb 2013, 18:27 pm
Heard so much about Groom and saw him play last weekend the 1st time and must say I don’t see anything special or fantastic. But then the whole Stormers team was rather pathetic last weekend
27 Feb 2013, 18:49 pm
This is a tough game to call. I would say based on strengths and weaknesses that the teams are fairly evenly matched. If Elton Jantjes can pull himself together in this game, this will likely be a tough game for the Sharks to win.
Stormers have some questions going into this one which is never a good thing for a game of this magnitude. The Sharks also do but are probably feeling slightly more confident. Judging by the Currie Cup final though, confidence can also be the Sharks worst enemy.
Despite my extraordinarily big mouth on here and my completely biased support of the Sharks, I just dont see them as out and out favorites to win this game. More like 50/50.
The other thing of course is that the Sharks have this frustrating habit of announcing a bunch of injuries two days before the game and so I am not 100% confident that the team announced will be the one to run on against the Stormers on the weekend.
Strength vs. Strength South African rugby. Should be a cracker ! Lets hope for a fair match with no stupid refereeing errors and no major injuries.
Best of luck Stormers, and GO SHARKS !
27 Feb 2013, 18:50 pm
@Jonk -based on which stats?
27 Feb 2013, 18:56 pm
@papaown-17: Did you know…..78.86 % of stats are made up on the spot
Goosen has a lot of potential without a doubt however early signs (probably too early to call) is that Morne Steyn will be 1st choice followed by Patrick Lambie. No bias – just being realistic. This could very well change before the end of the Super 15.
27 Feb 2013, 19:00 pm
@Dusky-16:
You know, I’ve just realised something just before making my picks for bru. We all agree that Stormers played very poorly last week. Yet, they only lost by 8 points, scored 2 tries against 1 and could’ve actually won the match if Elton just kicked over 3 of the 5 penalties that he missed. On the other hand, the Bulls were praised for playing very well.
So, after realising that, I feel a bit more optimistic about our chances on Saturday. So much so that I picked the Stormers to win on Saturday.
GO STOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRMEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
27 Feb 2013, 19:03 pm
@Dusky-18:
You just made up that stat, didn’t you?
27 Feb 2013, 19:06 pm
@nama1-19: I wouldn’t blame you for that. That is the nature of the SA rugby media and supporters.
The Bulls won on the scoreboard but I agree the game was different on the field (just like the 2007 Super 14 final) – I think you get where I am going with that ?
I must say the Bulls did dominate a bit in the forwards which would be a worry for me if I was AC. It looked similar in fact to the Currie Cup final where I think the better team on paper where just completely shell shocked by the intensity of the opposition. From the whistle the Bulls looked very physical and the Stormers just never managed to gather momentum.
That said, the Sharks have to play without two of their major strike runners in Willem Alberts and Bismark Du Plessis. This is the Stormers opportunity if there was ever one. Whatever you think of the Sharks, you must agree that winning in Durban for opposition has been difficult.
Could well go to the Stormers.
27 Feb 2013, 19:06 pm
@nama1-20: Nooooo….me ? Never !
27 Feb 2013, 19:12 pm
@nama1-19: Joe Pietersen = most underrated fullback in SA. He has had his off days, but in my opinion a far better option at 15 than Lambie or Kirchner and currently a better option than Taute as well.
Through injury, the Stormers have an improvement in their team that they may not even realize.
He had an absolute cracker of a game in the Currie Cup final and I would go as far as to say that game turned around for WP when he came onto the field.
If I were a Bok selector, it wouldn’t be as easy for me to overlook him to be honest. He is welcome in Durban
27 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
@Dusky-16:
Nice post Dusky
Still think the Sharks are favorites, very solid team with no weaknesses.
Good luck to your Sharks on Saturday
27 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
@Dusky-21:
Sure, Durban is a difficult place to beat the Sharks for any visiting team.
They have, player for player, a very good team. No player can be regarded as a weak link on paper. Then they lso ahave an ally in the humidity and heat this time of the year. No doubts that they are favorites to win but as I’ve said, I believe that we do have a realistic chance of causing an upset on Saturday.
27 Feb 2013, 19:23 pm
@nama1-19:

Don’t start putting doubts in my mind now please
n gekoerde moer is a dangerous thing when making picks.
I was so disgusted with my free fall last week I made my round 3 picks Saturday evening.
No idea of the team sheets, injuries or any other facts that might sway a decision.
Gut feel , hope and wishful thinking only.
27 Feb 2013, 19:23 pm
@Dusky-23:
I’m a big Joe fan, Dusky. His S15 season did fizzle out towards the end but at the start of the season, he was terrific.
That’s why I was so pissed of when AC made Taute the default no. 1 FB of the team. He should’ve earned his stripes before they made him the no. 1.
27 Feb 2013, 19:27 pm
@nortierd-26:
I did that a few times last year, making picks while pissed/pissed of on the Saturday night. Sometimes it turned out OK.
27 Feb 2013, 21:26 pm
Deon Fourie is the Sharks’ bloody agent in the Stormers camp. He could prove to be the match winner. Hi Skop.
28 Feb 2013, 10:06 am
Wow great to finally land here. it was obvious that AC was gonna play Elton and I’m glad. Strange that Elton @ the Stomers seems to be static when receiving the ball ala PG, he doesn’t attack the ball like he used to at the Lions. Can it be a coaching thing that occurs in the Cape? And the one time the Stomers backline looked potent JDV was on the wing, makes one wonder. Fourie should not be making the team as a hooker, hes terrible to say the list
28 Feb 2013, 10:51 am
Preview of the Sharks vs. Stormers match – http://wp.me/P2QxT1-5x
28 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
Surprise, surprise

AC backs Jantjies!
“We quota boys oughta stick togethet”
or
“you know it’s not my decision, don’t you?”
28 Feb 2013, 12:33 pm
Hmmm, does anyone wonder what Duvenhage has done wrong to not even be in the starting line-up? He was really good for most of last year and also can take some pressure of Jantjies in terms of kicking. I thought Groom was really lethargic on Friday, just really out of his depth, would have been the first change I made as coach. I was really hoping our backline would fire, but the service was slow, the running sideways and into players rather than into gaps, and just pretty unpolished. Hoping that Jantjies can get the backline going a bit better this week, but we need more runners both sides of the man with the ball and someone to straighten and then PASS, not just run into the opposition player.
1 Mar 2013, 08:59 am
Where is Brock Harris ? Is he injured ?
1 Mar 2013, 09:02 am
@Dusky-16: Well spoken. I disagree on the 50/50 call though , home ground should see the sharks have the advantage – more like 60/40