X-factor Frans to fire
27 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes Frans Steyn, against the Stormers, will show Heyneke Meyer why he should start at No 12 for the Boks.
Jean de Villiers has been an outstanding Springbok but I don’t see him making the 2015 World Cup and I think this year will be his last at the highest level. De Villiers will still add value to the Boks in 2013 but not necessarily in a starting capacity.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer raved about De Villiers’s contribution as captain of the Boks in 2012 and indicated he would invest more in De Villiers this season, but the form of Steyn at No 12 could make it hard for Meyer to select De Villiers in his favourite inside centre position.
Steyn has always been used as a fullback and inside centre at the Sharks. On occasion he has played outside centre, wing and even flyhalf, but in his three years at Racing Metro he made the midfield his own and was primarily selected for his physicality in the centres.
Steyn, when he helped win South Africa the World Cup as a 20 year-old, was already a big unit but he is physically imposing in stature and his kicking game and all-round skill level means his physicality is often not acknowledged.
He is a beast in the midfield and weighs over 100 kilograms and is well conditioned. He is strong in contact and he is the only midfielder in South Africa who can consistently stand up in the tackle and offload effectively.
Steyn’s linekicking game makes him a gem at inside centre. He is strong enough to take it to the line and has strong distribution skills. But it’s that monster boot of his that keeps the defence honest and also keeps them hesitant. He provides a foil to Pat Lambie at No 10 and having two such capable out of hand kickers makes it a nightmare for any opposition fullback.
Last year I asked 102-Test Springbok fullback legend Percy Montgomery who he would select at inside centre for the Boks. He said he would pick Steyn ahead of De Villiers but he felt De Villiers at No 13 or on the wing still offered South Africa options and he added he would select both in his run on XV.
But it was Steyn who got his nod at 12 because of how difficult his selection made it for any opposition back three.
‘Jean has fantastic qualities but he has never had a line kicking game. As a fullback you know he is never going to play for field position by way of his boot and you can positionally defend the back three axis relatively confidently against a 10/12 combination in which the 12 doesn’t have a kicking game,’ said Montgomery. ‘It changes the dynamic completely when a side has a 12 like Frans who can kick the ball further than most international 10s and he can cause a lot of uncertainty to a back three, especially if that back three includes wingers who don’t have strong kicking games. He gets the ball one channel out and he can chase you around from side to side and force back a pressured clearance, in which he gains 30-50 metres and his team gets the ball back.
‘I think he is a gem at inside centre and that is where I’d play him all the time with the Boks. He has matured his game in France and he has added composure to the physicality he has always naturally had. He has also taken ownership of his game and has been rewarded with the captaincy at the Sharks.’
Steyn will benefit from playing inside centre consistently this season and Lambie, if fit, being the regular No 10.
De Villiers will play either No 13 or No 12 against the Sharks on Saturday, depending on the fitness of fellow Bok Juan de Jongh, but either way he and Steyn will enjoy a rare head to head battle that should give Meyer an insight into what will best work for the Boks this season and more specifically in his build-up to the 2015 World Cup.
Currently I would pick De Villiers at outside centre for the Boks in 2013 and Steyn at No 12.
Saturday in Durban will tell you why.
Steyn, like Dan Carter, is gold among the world’s backline elite. He has the X-factor.

698 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All
27 Feb 2013, 19:49 pm
@mxhosa-550: tuilagi wabeka ujdv ngempundu phantsi twice…
27 Feb 2013, 20:01 pm
@Transformation-551:
Do remember in 2009 when Roberts kept running through our midfield, it was Adi Jacobs’ fault. But when he did it again at the 2011 nobody was to blame, he was hailed as one of the most destructive runners, instead.
27 Feb 2013, 20:10 pm
@mxhosa-552: um, @ the world cup he ran through MSteyn he was a turnstile.
27 Feb 2013, 20:27 pm
Jean de Villiers’s best years are behind him. I’ll agree to that.
And then the Bok captaincy will be up for grabs. With the front runners being Schalk, Bissie and Adriaan Strauss.
So we could have two hookers fighting over the no.1 hooker berth and the captaincy.
So where have I seen this movie before?
27 Feb 2013, 22:29 pm
@China Bell-21: “Are we selecting a midfield for their line-kicking ability? I get tears in my eyes ”
you killing me guy
i thought the same thing. when will we shift our mindset into having attack and intelligent minded players in the backline and not focus soo much on their kicking ability? FFS
How effective was Ma’a Nonu or SBW as a kicking 12?
27 Feb 2013, 23:09 pm
Frans is nowhere near SBWs class
he is an ordinary cart horse donkey who has no real distribution skills
like his bro he has a big boot, that is it
please don’t compare Saffa players to kiwi players, ours have intelligence and skill
thanks.
27 Feb 2013, 23:14 pm
@the curse-556: THen why not Fcukoff outa here you pompous arrogant prick, go back and chat with your own kind, and BTW you aint a curse, ur a ****,
27 Feb 2013, 23:55 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-557: Tyrone,Tyrone !!Just like you when you stripped your moer when Nikita called you a polluter ??
27 Feb 2013, 23:57 pm
Frans did not contribute at the WC due to his overweight problem.Msteyn and the scrummie(can’t remember his name ) cost us big time against the Aussies. Steyn defended like a fairy against the Aussies .
28 Feb 2013, 00:02 am
@the curse-556: His own fans verbally abused him when he started experimenting with drop goals from his own 22.He subsequently left for France after all that abuse.Note the guppy trait?-when things get to tough they take comfort in the delights of France.Well,apart from that ,these guppies are now trying to create the impression that they always loved Fransie. Bunch of hypocrites if you ask me.
28 Feb 2013, 00:03 am
@papaown-555:
Exactly.
You have a #9 and #10 that can kick when need be. If you have to rely on a # 12 as well then you have limited your attack.
28 Feb 2013, 00:15 am
@S_K-560: S-K is Super-Kak?
28 Feb 2013, 00:49 am
@Markel77-562: heita you farking Basque terrorist! Long time no hear! All good.
28 Feb 2013, 01:21 am
@S_K-563: All good gracias. How are you? still looking for food in the waste containers? JUAS JUAS
28 Feb 2013, 01:50 am
sharks are gonna get you
hahahaha. truth Hirt huh?
nice rant though bro, careful you don’t choke on the words like you mr team chokes in finals
it fatal
lmfao
28 Feb 2013, 01:52 am
farken predictive text
28 Feb 2013, 02:42 am
@ nama, brass and david
de Jongh has proved nothing at S15 level, he did nothing of note in the whole of the S15 last year and this in the side that topped the log. At test level he has done even less. He went awol against England on the EOYT.
nama – no size is not the most important aspect but the reality of modern day test rugby is that a centre needs to be big. The ideal test centre has to be big and skillful
Smith weighs 94kg, BOD weighs 95kg – hardly small
28 Feb 2013, 04:43 am
@Saffex-567: You talking the biggest load of kak man…..JDJ and Aplon have consistently shown defensice prowess against all comers…..how the fark can they be defensively vulnerable when they played starring roles in a stormers team that conceded the least trys for 2 superrugby seasons in a row? Stop your inane attemps at character assasination….you truly are looking dof man…
28 Feb 2013, 07:09 am
Pops flatlining memtally again…
28 Feb 2013, 07:10 am
ag nee man
‘mentally’
28 Feb 2013, 07:42 am
My forecasts for this weekend (I’ll probably get half wrong again):
Crusaders to edge the Blues by 2
Waratahs to comfortably beat Rebels by 14
Reds to beat Hurricanes by 5
Bulls to KLAP the Force by at least 20
Sharks to beat the Stormers by 5
28 Feb 2013, 08:10 am
@WP-Forever-571: and the Chiefs vs Cheetahs to difficult to call?
28 Feb 2013, 08:11 am
@Angostura-572: to = too
28 Feb 2013, 08:14 am
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-557: spoken like a true “Unpronouncable Symbol Previously Driven Outta Here By A GIRLIE”
28 Feb 2013, 08:16 am
@Angostura-574: No one drove me out anywhere you fake Sharks supporter.
28 Feb 2013, 08:18 am
@Angostura-574: eish
unpronounceable
28 Feb 2013, 08:18 am
@WP-Forever-571: Not so sure about the Sharks match and the Saders match? Saders were very poor in their warm up matches and have not played a SR match yet so they will struggle i think, also the Blues are a much improved team.
28 Feb 2013, 08:22 am
@Angostura-572:
An easy call, Chiefs to win by plenty.
28 Feb 2013, 08:28 am
@NZINCHINA-578: I think so too, Chiefs by about 30
28 Feb 2013, 08:33 am
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-575: hahaa
you, dynamite black & white lingerie valkyrie, you
28 Feb 2013, 08:35 am
@NZINCHINA-578: sure looks like it
28 Feb 2013, 08:38 am
HG says
Frans = SBW
(or >)
28 Feb 2013, 08:46 am
scot
france
eng
bulls
sharks
28 Feb 2013, 08:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-583:
is this some sort of code?
28 Feb 2013, 08:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-583:
???
28 Feb 2013, 08:53 am
@Dawn-582:
Sharkie & Angostura= Jack Lemmon Walter Matthau
28 Feb 2013, 09:01 am
@gunther-584:
games of significance this weekend and next
28 Feb 2013, 09:05 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-587:
Are you still on your self imposed boycott of the exiting rugby?
28 Feb 2013, 09:06 am
@nortierd-588:
Exiting = exciting ( read Chiefs, Blues and Crusaders )
28 Feb 2013, 09:08 am
@Angostura-572:
Chiefs by 25.
@nortierd-589:
ja, not a fan of WWRE
@nortierd-589: Well he did say Sharks, so that is exciting rugby
28 Feb 2013, 09:09 am
Bakkies. lmfao
me flatlining mentally? hahaha I’m not the one who repeats myself incessantly day after day about a conspiracy that means I don’t watch a sport I love.
you on te other hand
28 Feb 2013, 09:13 am
@nortierd-588:
It’s his penance.
That and a Bluebulls hairshirt.
@Angostura-574:
That is solid gold.
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-592:

True, but I don’t think Saturday will be too exciting in the rugby stakes.
High drama, lots of swearing and things being thrown at TV sets.
28 Feb 2013, 09:15 am
@nortierd-596:
28 Feb 2013, 09:17 am
@gunther-594:

Jeez Gunther, then I must wonder what the Stormers supporters did to deserve what our team puts us through every year.
The Bulls, even when given penance, have 3 trophies to show for their sins.
Means that the Stormers and Sharks must have really been bad if no amount of Hail Mary’s seem to help.
28 Feb 2013, 09:19 am
Pops. gtfoh
cheap shot trolling comments about saffas (check)
warped perception mistaking cheating and thuggery for skill & intelligence (check)
routinely breaking out the offensive, racist & crass insults (wait for it, wait for it)
i stand by my earlier statement. going on historical data you dod seem close to a mental flatline.
28 Feb 2013, 09:21 am
@gunther-594:
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All