X-factor Frans to fire
27 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes Frans Steyn, against the Stormers, will show Heyneke Meyer why he should start at No 12 for the Boks.
Jean de Villiers has been an outstanding Springbok but I don’t see him making the 2015 World Cup and I think this year will be his last at the highest level. De Villiers will still add value to the Boks in 2013 but not necessarily in a starting capacity.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer raved about De Villiers’s contribution as captain of the Boks in 2012 and indicated he would invest more in De Villiers this season, but the form of Steyn at No 12 could make it hard for Meyer to select De Villiers in his favourite inside centre position.
Steyn has always been used as a fullback and inside centre at the Sharks. On occasion he has played outside centre, wing and even flyhalf, but in his three years at Racing Metro he made the midfield his own and was primarily selected for his physicality in the centres.
Steyn, when he helped win South Africa the World Cup as a 20 year-old, was already a big unit but he is physically imposing in stature and his kicking game and all-round skill level means his physicality is often not acknowledged.
He is a beast in the midfield and weighs over 100 kilograms and is well conditioned. He is strong in contact and he is the only midfielder in South Africa who can consistently stand up in the tackle and offload effectively.
Steyn’s linekicking game makes him a gem at inside centre. He is strong enough to take it to the line and has strong distribution skills. But it’s that monster boot of his that keeps the defence honest and also keeps them hesitant. He provides a foil to Pat Lambie at No 10 and having two such capable out of hand kickers makes it a nightmare for any opposition fullback.
Last year I asked 102-Test Springbok fullback legend Percy Montgomery who he would select at inside centre for the Boks. He said he would pick Steyn ahead of De Villiers but he felt De Villiers at No 13 or on the wing still offered South Africa options and he added he would select both in his run on XV.
But it was Steyn who got his nod at 12 because of how difficult his selection made it for any opposition back three.
‘Jean has fantastic qualities but he has never had a line kicking game. As a fullback you know he is never going to play for field position by way of his boot and you can positionally defend the back three axis relatively confidently against a 10/12 combination in which the 12 doesn’t have a kicking game,’ said Montgomery. ‘It changes the dynamic completely when a side has a 12 like Frans who can kick the ball further than most international 10s and he can cause a lot of uncertainty to a back three, especially if that back three includes wingers who don’t have strong kicking games. He gets the ball one channel out and he can chase you around from side to side and force back a pressured clearance, in which he gains 30-50 metres and his team gets the ball back.
‘I think he is a gem at inside centre and that is where I’d play him all the time with the Boks. He has matured his game in France and he has added composure to the physicality he has always naturally had. He has also taken ownership of his game and has been rewarded with the captaincy at the Sharks.’
Steyn will benefit from playing inside centre consistently this season and Lambie, if fit, being the regular No 10.
De Villiers will play either No 13 or No 12 against the Sharks on Saturday, depending on the fitness of fellow Bok Juan de Jongh, but either way he and Steyn will enjoy a rare head to head battle that should give Meyer an insight into what will best work for the Boks this season and more specifically in his build-up to the 2015 World Cup.
Currently I would pick De Villiers at outside centre for the Boks in 2013 and Steyn at No 12.
Saturday in Durban will tell you why.
Steyn, like Dan Carter, is gold among the world’s backline elite. He has the X-factor.

698 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All
28 Feb 2013, 10:50 am
@Te Rangatira-649: kia ora bro… yeah, have changed my mind and tipped them, very wearily of course, mainly due to the Saders playing their first comp game..
also tipped the Stormers, think Elton will be better this week…
28 Feb 2013, 10:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-647:

Space balls instead of Star Wars
28 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
@nortierd-652: is that your young uns on your superbru profile Nortie?
28 Feb 2013, 10:55 am
@the curse-651:
Kia ora Pops…..can’t give out class A info….got to keep it under wraps Didn’t see the Sharks or Stormers play…. I think Lambie is better…..
28 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
@the curse-651: Nice tipping Pops
Saders traditionally slow starters. If there is an opportunity in this comp to snatch a win, it’s now.
However, as for the Stormers vs Guppies
I am afraid to say, you have wasted a Pick
We are not worthy of being on the same field as the BOOM.
Elton vs The Baby *****?
Kids vs Jannie and Beast?
28 Feb 2013, 10:56 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-655: Oh dear. J-e-s-u-s is a banned word?
Sorry if my comment was offensive.
28 Feb 2013, 10:57 am
@the curse-653:
Yep, my daughter.
Photo was taken Friday on our way to Loftus
28 Feb 2013, 10:58 am
@nortierd-652:
Look, I do believe that Skop at times might cover his air vents with tin foil…..to prevent alien radiation etc.
But I must withdraw my comment on him being an alien – he is after all a Stormers fan, a comrade
28 Feb 2013, 11:00 am
@Te Rangatira-654: I didnt see those sides play either, but have faith in the Stormers who could have won last week with making their kicks… dont think theyll miss as many this week..
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-655: I won both picks last friday, then had 5 straight losses beginning with the Bulls game… so am already playing catch ups
28 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-633: If you whant political instability may I suggest you move to Italy
No other country can begin to claim that distinction from Italy
28 Feb 2013, 11:01 am
@nortierd-657: lucky she got her mums looks huh?
28 Feb 2013, 11:03 am
@Sharksgirl-660:
Italy, the country that brings you the best cars, but then also balances it out with the worst drivers
28 Feb 2013, 11:04 am
@the curse-659:
I like the Stormers when Estebeth is there and Kolisi is at the top of his game,
28 Feb 2013, 11:04 am
@the curse-661:

Very lucky
28 Feb 2013, 11:05 am
@BudYza do I pose some kind of threat to your rugby prowess on this site or something to that effect? For a start it would help not to fabricate **** about what I rely on or call on you to rely on.
Kindly point out where I said one should rely on Wiki for de Jongh’s stats or quoted them for that matter? Where did I state that my recollection of his weight being given as 94kg was a source of reference?
I dont give a toss about what you think of my take on de Jongh vs Jordaan, what I am telling you is that Jordaan is bigger than de Jongh end of.
I am also telling you that in my opinion de Jongh is too small for test rugby and a complete liability at that level. Take that as defining or twisting the facts in the breeze, whatever that is meant to mean.
Unlike you, I know my stats, so it was merley a case of me pointing out your slip where you informed us that Jordaan and de Jongh were the same weight. I seem to have hit a nerve, get over it.
A simple question, do you count yourself as one of those intelligent and objective people you refer to, a simple yes or no will do?
28 Feb 2013, 11:07 am
@Te Rangatira-663: I think a side that topped the conference last year, was it two or three losses all season, will know how to bounce back and will be up for this game..
from all accounts Sharks werent great last week either..
@nortierd-664: so you must be punching above your weight too Nortie?
28 Feb 2013, 11:20 am
@grant
You obviously need a bit of a rugby education. Its one thing making an open field tackle in space, something Aplon and de Jongh are good at. The issue with both of them is that they are liabilities when it comes to front on defence.
de Jongh is hardly going to hit a man front on and drive him back now is he? Equally he is hardly going to commit to contact on attack and offload to his support runners now is he?
Therein lies the issue with de Jongh who was a no show for most of last years S15 – this in a side that topped the log. de Jongh is a skilful little guy who every now and again is able to execute a break as he did in the CC final. In space he is good, but the reality of modern test rugby is that space is at a premium. Test centres spend 85% of their time in traffic – in traffic you need skill and size to succeed, hence the fact we see de Jongh go AWOL at test level as he did against England.
You dont see 88kg outside centres playing test rugby for a reason – get it?
28 Feb 2013, 11:24 am
@the curse-659:
Pops, Stormers can win…….but Sharks have try scoring ability…which pushes me their way….
28 Feb 2013, 11:25 am
@Te Rangatira-668: makes sense bro, but local derbies can go either way regardless of lead in form… I cant do worse then I did last week, so no wucking forries
28 Feb 2013, 11:29 am
@the curse-650: What… Paddle, Shitcreek or Mummy… Your Mummy?
Howzat?
28 Feb 2013, 11:31 am
@the curse-666: I guess it’s do or die for Stormers – imagine being 9 points behind Bulls already with champions coming to town and Crusaders looming on the horizont later and that’s all while still in the comfort of home continent. Not good for confidence.
On the other hand, if they do somehow win (and they can), it will be a farken huge blow to the main rival from Indian ocean shore.
28 Feb 2013, 11:34 am
@Heavens Game-670: so, you still think making jokes about dead family is funny?
fair enough
28 Feb 2013, 11:40 am
@Heavens Game-670: guess it shows how weak you really are if all you can come back with is jokes about dead people..
I do pity you…
@polaris-671: yeah agreed, I think they will have targeted two from their first four games to stay in touch, so I think theyll see this one as a must win game..
28 Feb 2013, 11:43 am
@Te Rangatira-668: Hi, TR, I see you are on your way to have a home semi. Big lead.
28 Feb 2013, 12:27 pm
@Saffex-665:
A little upset are you? That’s very funny. Do you need a brown paper bag?
The only threat you pose is to your own credibility which, let’s be frank shall we, is not exactly something to write home about and you have less chance of hitting my nerves than Deon Fourie has of hitting his jumpers. A clue for you: my comments have been relaxed and free of invective and expletives. Yours?
You made unsubstantiated claims that de Jongh gets knocked backwards in tackles and suggested Paul Jordaan doesn’t because he is somehow much bigger. I then posted stats to point out the holes in your argument and that they are very similar in size. Yes, Jordaan is slightly taller and has beefed up a bit, according to you, but the fact remains you are splitting hairs. There is not a big difference between the two players and their momentum, technique and position when tackling or being tackled will have more effect on the direction of the resultant collision than a couple of extra inches or kgs.
I also said that if you wanted to use the size argument it would hold water selecting Jan Serfontein over de Jongh and Jordaan who are both smaller players.
As you’re suddenly so keen to get your facts right, remember you also stated that Jordaan is a more illusive runner than de Jongh. Can you please back that claim up with facts and stats from – “somewhere”? Anywhere?
28 Feb 2013, 13:25 pm
Sheez one leaves for a few hours in order to make a positive contribution to the economy (my economy of course) and it’s Groundhogblog.
HG insulting decent people…..
Someone saying size does matter…..
etc
etc.
Howdy Sharksgirl
Italy has a colourful political landscape to say the least
Ours however, is just ‘special’ on so many levels. And I refer not only to the ruling party….I refer to the bigger circus, the clowns, tigers, tightrope walkers, fat ladies, bearded ladies, sneaky dwarves, dancing cats, old ladies, fire eating men etc etc etc.
We have them all.
28 Feb 2013, 13:38 pm
@the curse-672: A funny as Lazarus… You know, that really funny one about Fern faking a death…?
Farken get off your high horse, twat.
28 Feb 2013, 13:47 pm
it’s a known fact that fern faked his own death on here HG
but nice of you to ride in and save your boyfriend
still, dead mum jokes aren’t half as funny as admitting to g.ay ***. with Thai lady boys
I imagine you did a lot of receiving rather than pitching huh?
28 Feb 2013, 13:48 pm
speaking of high horses, seems you rode in rather too quickly on yours didnt you g.ayboy?
28 Feb 2013, 14:20 pm
@BudYza
So now you have me down as upset do you? Would that be because I used the word ‘****’ you poor little man?
There is little point in debating with a clown who’s fabrications know no boundaries. Do you think that by making it up, your counter will somehow carry more weight?
Where did I suggest that Jordaan would not get pushed back in a tackle and more importantly where did I say that Jordaan was a more illusive runner than de Jongh? You seem to get a kick out of lying and therefore may I suggest that in response you stick to the facts – for being exposed as a liar is hardly going to carry sway moving forward now is it?
Now be a gent and try keep this clean, for you dont want me throwing in any more expletives and getting all emotional about this little debate now do you? ****, you know what they say about those that resort to expletives!!
28 Feb 2013, 14:37 pm
@the curse-669:
You aren’t to badly placed, still in a good position.
I on the other hand hit rock bottom and then managed to fall another couple of meters.
See TR is keeping us in suspense with his picks.
28 Feb 2013, 14:41 pm
Nortie
I’m thinking of an ac/dc song
it’s a long way, to the top.
28 Feb 2013, 14:46 pm
@the curse-682:
Ha ha
I was thinking of another song, ” the only way is up, baby”
28 Feb 2013, 14:47 pm
I think TRs not gonna make his picks until the last moment
two rounds down and the paranoia and pressure of leading the comp is getting to him already
28 Feb 2013, 14:49 pm
later boet. time to ten in for te night. cheers
28 Feb 2013, 14:50 pm
@the curse-678: Ga.ysex…? Maybe, but I would classify it more as a mistaken dip though…
To be honest though this Ladyboy called herself “Poppa” and more maori than Thai – more Fa’afafine than Kathoey….
Was “she” actually you?
Could big bad Ole HG maybe have rogered Fats Domino pooper hisself…Fark thats a bad mistake
28 Feb 2013, 14:51 pm
@the curse-684:

Was thinking of getting someone to hack his computer to spy on his picks, but he is on to me
Keeping his picks till the last minute, how spiteful.
28 Feb 2013, 14:51 pm
@the curse-685:
28 Feb 2013, 16:00 pm
STORMERS c=====e
ASPIRATION H
____________ _,,_H__
(__((__((___() //| |
(__((__((___()()_____________________________________// | HG |
(__((__((___()()()————————————’ |_____|
28 Feb 2013, 16:01 pm
@Heavens Game-689: Dammit… ASCII Art farked and on wrong thread
28 Feb 2013, 18:39 pm
Vir jou aandag
SA Rugby magazine
TOMORROW on http://www.sarugbymag.co.za: Gareth Duncan speaks to BAKKIES BOTHA about life in France
28 Feb 2013, 19:17 pm
@Saffex-680:
Your original post was to make the point that de Jongh was not big enough. You used Jordaan as one example to ‘prove’ your case. You added that Jordaan is an elusive runner thereby implying de Jongh is not. You tried vainly to suggest de Jongh is not robust enough and your thesis has proved to have more convoluted holes in it than 12 year old Swiss cheese. Twist and turn and squirm all you like. All you have proved is that you judge rugby players more by the colour of their skins than by the colour of their skills.
28 Feb 2013, 23:26 pm
nope. never been to Thailand HG, but you seem to know all the back alleys huh? sounds like you hold a candle for this maori boy. eish
why anyone would admit to sleeping with a lady boy is beyond me. Have you been tested for disease?
I guess the banshee is really a Manshe huh?
28 Feb 2013, 23:26 pm
@BudYza
You really are a pathetic individual now playing the race card – is that your best shot?
You brought up intelligent and objective but clearly display neither. Your lack of substance shines bright.
In my original post, I said nothing of comparing Jordaan to de Jongh, I merely mentioned Jordaan as a good prospect. I have gone on to correct your ill informed presentation of the respective players sizes. You had them as the same size, I provided evidence to the contrary.
I implied nothing about de Jongh when I said Jordaan was an illusive runner. Don’t confuse your stupidity with misdirected implications.
Race card, how pathetic you are. Man up and put up a better fight wee man
1 Mar 2013, 09:00 am
ExSaffa
Why should I not play the race card that everyone knows is your one card trick. This truth may be inconvenient for you and leave your racism exposed but it is still the truth. Attack the truth and me as much as you can but the truth will always remain. You know this which is why you protest so much you’re not comfortable with being exposed in public. If you were not racist you could perhaps learn a lesson here and use rational valid reasons for rating players in future. But you will not learn a lesson because to do so would be to admit that you are racist. A conundrum that only integrity and humility can solve. A pity you have neither.
You are an amateur debater because you are a mass debater.
1 Mar 2013, 09:03 am
You are a bore. You are the weakest link. Goodbye.
1 Mar 2013, 12:17 pm
@BudYza
The only reason you are playing the race card is because I have exposed you for the scummy liar that you are.
Only a desperate fool, backed into a corner would resort to such pathetic underhand tactics, especially considering you know stuff all about me.
I am not even going to rise to the pathetic racism allegation, hell you should be ashamed of yourself. Its just a pity this thread has died a death for your fellow posters could then see what a pathetic individual you are.
Grow some balls man, you waste of space
2 Mar 2013, 10:09 am
What a gutless yellow livered eunuch worm of an excuse for a man are you. You claimed de Jongh was too small but Jordaan is a fine prospect when they are basically the same size. So you lied you useless ignorant fool. if you are not lying please quote all the many examples where de Jongh gets “smashed back in tackles”. Again a barefaced lie from a dishonest coward of a human being. I called you on it for what it was a prejudiced lie slamming a player dishonestly because he is coloured and promoting another player similar in every aspect because he is white. You can squirm as much as you like like the worm you are on a hook but you will remain a racist scumbag no matter how you try and twist and turn. All it proves is that you are not only a racist but a typically cowardly racist hiding your prejudice behind alleged rugby knowledge and using that to criticize coloured and black players and praise white players. Butt your lack of any real rugby knowledge is as obvious as your racist attitude. Your record speaks for itself you nutless empty sack of bluster and bravado.
I have challenged you and proved you are nothing but a dishonest and gutless racist. I now dismiss you with the contempt you deserve.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] Show All