X-factor Frans to fire

MARK KEOHANE writes Frans Steyn, against the Stormers, will show Heyneke Meyer why he should start at No 12 for the Boks.

Jean de Villiers has been an outstanding Springbok but I don’t see him making the 2015 World Cup and I think this year will be his last at the highest level. De Villiers will still add value to the Boks in 2013 but not necessarily in a starting capacity.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer raved about De Villiers’s contribution as captain of the Boks in 2012 and indicated he would invest more in De Villiers this season, but the form of Steyn at No 12 could make it hard for Meyer to select De Villiers in his favourite inside centre position.

Steyn has always been used as a fullback and inside centre at the Sharks. On occasion he has played outside centre, wing and even flyhalf, but in his three years at Racing Metro he made the midfield his own and was primarily selected for his physicality in the centres.

Steyn, when he helped win South Africa the World Cup as a 20 year-old, was already a big unit but he is physically imposing in stature and his kicking game and all-round skill level means his physicality is often not acknowledged.

He is a beast in the midfield and weighs over 100 kilograms and is well conditioned. He is strong in contact and he is the only midfielder in South Africa who can consistently stand up in the tackle and offload effectively.

Steyn’s linekicking game makes him a gem at inside centre. He is strong enough to take it to the line and has strong distribution skills. But it’s that monster boot of his that keeps the defence honest and also keeps them hesitant. He provides a foil to Pat Lambie at No 10 and having two such capable out of hand kickers makes it a nightmare for any opposition fullback.

Last year I asked 102-Test Springbok fullback legend Percy Montgomery who he would select at inside centre for the Boks. He said he would pick Steyn ahead of De Villiers but he felt De Villiers at No 13 or on the wing still offered South Africa options and he added he would select both in his run on XV.

But it was Steyn who got his nod at 12 because of how difficult his selection made it for any opposition back three.

‘Jean has fantastic qualities but he has never had a line kicking game. As a fullback you know he is never going to play for field position by way of his boot and you can positionally defend the back three axis relatively confidently against a 10/12 combination in which the 12 doesn’t have a kicking game,’ said Montgomery. ‘It changes the dynamic completely when a side has a 12 like Frans who can kick the ball further than most international 10s and he can cause a lot of uncertainty to a back three, especially if that back three includes wingers who don’t have strong kicking games. He gets the ball one channel out and he can chase you around from side to side and force back a pressured clearance, in which he gains 30-50 metres and his team gets the ball back.

‘I think he is a gem at inside centre and that is where I’d play him all the time with the Boks. He has matured his game in France and he has added composure to the physicality he has always naturally had. He has also taken ownership of his game and has been rewarded with the captaincy at the Sharks.’

Steyn will benefit from playing inside centre consistently this season and Lambie, if fit, being the regular No 10.

De Villiers will play either No 13 or No 12 against the Sharks on Saturday, depending on the fitness of fellow Bok Juan de Jongh, but either way he and Steyn will enjoy a rare head to head battle that should give Meyer an insight into what will best work for the Boks this season and more specifically in his build-up to the 2015 World Cup.

Currently I would pick De Villiers at outside centre for the Boks in 2013 and Steyn at No 12.

Saturday in Durban will tell you why.

Steyn, like Dan Carter, is gold among the world’s backline elite. He has the X-factor.

698 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 201.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-177:

Tragic story, the Vanderbijlpark one.

But in that case the man was ambushed in his garage by two armed men coming back home. If he himself was armed – by all means, use lethal force.

I fail to see the relevance to a situation where you think there’s an intruder in your house, you never see the intruder, you do not know that the suspected intruder is armed…

• 202.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-190: Oh and for the record? I am not anti Jean or saying that he should be dropped, I am forcasting why some of your mates in here will be bad mouthing Fransie.

• 203.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-201:

I mean: “you do not know whether the suspected intruder is armed or not”

• 204.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-190: Oh Captain, My Captain (of Industry…), calm those hormones, cuzzie :lol:

• 205.nama1: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-185:
    Exactly, but this Shark fool, formerly Sharks-Lover, want to tell the world that we are jealous because Fransie will get selected ahead of him for the Bokke.

Only Shark supporters who quantify the Bok team by the number of Sharks players in it.

HG’s histerics last year wrt the “traditional Noord/Suid conspiracy” is proof of that. :lol:

• 206.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-196:

Then so be it. I’m no lawyer.

All I know is that I can conceive of a hypothetical situation where one can be under genuine threat if there are armed guys in your bathroom. Oscar’s may not be such a case, but if there are 2 guys in the bathroom with guns, then if you open the door first, you’re gonna be dead.

Next time that someone is REALLY in such a situation, Oscar’s verdict will be on record, and will serve as a reference for whatever decision the future judge will arrive at in that hypothetical future case.

• 207.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-195: So you agree then that we don’t really care if Frans plays ahead of Jean?

• 208.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-205: you lot are just jealous. Shame on you.

• 209.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Saffex-189: JDJ has never dissapointed…..defensively he fronts in a super team with the best defensive record for last 2 seasons….his defence is a strength. dont come with that kak man!

• 210.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-169:

If that is the future of the Springboks backline, then god help us.

Goosen and Serfontein yes.

• 211.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-206:

If you are in mortal danger, no problem. SA law (as far as I know) does not recognise the “stand your ground” principle, i.e., if you can escape the situation you should.

Now, from the floorplans they have shown it would have been far simpler for him to simply wake the madam and leave the room. Nel is going to have a field day with him in the box.

• 212.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-206:

I fail to see how someone who is facing such a situation as you describe will consider that Oscar’s verdict is on record. He will rather be extremely fearful for his own life or that of a loved one and will act accordingly.

It is really quite simple, Tac. If you feel that you need to take the life of your attacker to protect your own or somebody else’s life or to prevent serious bodily harm – then do so. It is really that simple. As long as you can show afterwards that you were truly in fear of your life, that your response was appropriate to the threat – then the police and courts will back you.

• 213.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-211:

I would guess that’s why they’ve emphasized the “He wasn’t wearing his legs” position. To illustrate that he couldn’t have fled.

In any case, we don’t have all the facts. We have as little facts as they could get away with releasing during the bail hearing.

• 214.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@grant10-209: they not looking so super atm

• 215.coma: Reply to this comment

9. Hougaard – playing non kicking game
    10. Lambie
    11. Habana
    12. FSteyn
    13. Jordaan
    14. Rhule
    15. JPP

Taute must be the most over-hyped, overrated player in SA at the moment.

• 216.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-184:

You know I’ve never engaged in communication with the person in subject, but In silently reading his/her comments tongue in cheek , I can say that the person you relying too in this ocasion is one of the biggestdickheads in the history of this site

• 217.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-205: Conspiracies are fluid… Since my 2nd team now is officially the Big Bull Warrior Priests in Light Blue of Cathedral Loftus – the team of the City of my Abode – I admit error in that brief flight of fancy…

This SharkBulletjie believes the current conspiracy afoot to be all Capey… Its the East West, Cheeky is best conspiracy…

• 218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Los vir Oscar nou

• 219.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I would have played JDJ at 13 last year, for the record.

I’d still play him this year,

• 220.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-216: Replying not Relying

• 221.DumpsterDiver: Reply to this comment

I agree with Frans Steyn as our No. 12, he has the skill set, but then we really should be looking at a bit of pace at 10 and 13 – we have it at 13 with de Jongh and Jordaan, but look how more difficult teams like All Blacks and Wallabies are to defend against when you have the likes our Carter, Cooper etc in the team. They are attacking threats in an individual capacity as well, whereas someone like Morne Steyn is at best a good distributor on attack, similarly Grant – simply a lack of pace. Would make a similar comparison at fullback – Lambie vs Dagg – both very gifted, but Dagg is very quick and Lambie not. Would play Frans at 12 if Goosen is our starting 10, but maybe not with Morne Steyn.

• 222.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-217:

“Since my 2nd team now is officially the Big Bull Warrior Priests in Light Blue of Cathedral Loftus ”

• 223.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-213: well, he managed to walk about 15m without a problem….

But anyways, he will have his day of reckoning in the court.

• 224.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-216: Not quite sure who you referring to… But if you are referring to Nama, dont mind him too much… He struggles slightly – like his hero JdV, he is always slightly off the pace…

I blame it on either an overexposure to the Richtersveld Sun or one of them Gods must be Crazy coke bottles clubbing him on the noggin as an adolescent…

Boggled his brains slightly… So, not his fault.

• 225.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-216:

Why dont you just say what you mean

• 226.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Na laasweek praat ek liewer k@k na die game.

• 227.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-223:

• 228.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-213:

Have you seen the floor plan?

To go from the balcony to the position from where he fired the four shots, he had to go past his bed (where his prosthesis was) AND the exit from the bedroom.

• 229.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I think the Stormers are going to be on 0 points after 2 starts in the 2013 tournament.

And the third game is going to go down to the wire. As will the fifth game, against the Crusaders.

• 230.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-222: Even got me a light blue jersey which I wore with pride while watching the underdogs roger the favoured Conference Title holders and CC Champs silly on Friday…

Black, White and Light Blue… Eish!

• 231.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-226: lol.

• 232.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-229:

Are you expecting the Sharks to open a can of whoopass?

• 233.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-230:

All you need now is the blue KKK outfit

“@Heavens Game-217:
    “Since my 2nd team now is officially the Big Bull Warrior Priests in Light Blue of Cathedral Loftus ”

• 234.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-225:
    Because people don’t throw your bags out of windows because of lies; they throw them out because of the truth…….so may i continue saying what i dont mean !!!!

• 235.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-228:

I’m tired of this now. Because we’re all armchair lawyers here.

But tell me this. If you hear a noise in your bathroom, are you expected to wake the entire household from their peaceful sleep, run out into the street and call the armed response every time?

You’re going to feel like a bit of an idiot if it was just a shampoo that fell from the windowsill.

Surely it makes more sense to go and investigate. You’ll be nervous, but not yet completely terrified. Then when you get there, you see the door is closed and you hear more noise from the bathroom. (While utterly convinced that your wife is still in bed next to you).

At that point, who knows what a “reasonable man would do?

If you heard a pistol slide being racked on the other side of the door, what is reasonable then?

If you hear one guy say to the other – “Ok, let’s bust in and shoot these suckers in their bed!”, what is reasonable then?

The scenarios are legion, and not as clear cut as an armchair debater in a nice, safe environment makes it out to be.

• 236.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-232: a whole case full

• 237.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

And if you p1$$ him off enough he will slip a drop goal from his own goal line. (I wonder what the stats say about his drop goals these days??)

Heavy respect from a Stormerstrooper to a Sardine side. Awesome on paper. As long as they don’t play like they been nibbling on vrot rooi aas or fall for the press reports hook line and sinker.

Lambie, Steyn, Petersen and (in time) Jack Russel Reinach

• 238.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-226:
    Stem 100% saam
    n Stil bek is n heel bek

• 239.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-229:
    I reluctantly agree with you, odds are 0 after 3, Chiefs are going to be tough.
    Am hoping we start getting our butts in gear after the bye.

• 240.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-210: so hendrik what would your future picks be for the other 5 positions?

• 241.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-235:

I am speaking partly as a jurist and partly as a police reservist.

It really is as simple as “I felt that my life and/or the life of another was in serious and imminent threat of being taken and in line with that fear I used force proportional to the level of the threat”.

As long as you can justify that – shoot. Simple really.

• 242.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@nama1-87: Tim-Nanai Williams too.

• 243.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-234:

Weird

• 244.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-241:

Yes, it is the reasonable man test.

• 245.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-222: he is such an amoeba!

during the june tests & beginning of RC he was crying that meyer is a genius for only picking eben & jean.. then meyer made the cardinal sin of dropping keegan cullen for fatspermwhale vermuelen & a few sharkies to.the bench & we had a full blown conspiracy until the EOYT….

Spineless.

• 246.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-53:

Actually I would pay to see a Lambie, Steyn, Serfontein partnership… Or even better a Lambie, Steyn, Serfontein and JPP partnership…

Thats what I mean!!

• 247.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-242: in the cape he would be known as Natnaai Willemse

• 248.grant10: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs:
    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane

Substitutes: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Rynhard Landman, 19 Johannes Prinsloo, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Riaan Smith, 22 Ryno Benjamin

• 249.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-235:

@WP-Forever-241:

Listen

You are actually agreeing with each other so just quit it both of you

PS: WTF is a jurist

• 250.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-214: Did JDJ play???

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.