X-factor Frans to fire
27 Feb 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes Frans Steyn, against the Stormers, will show Heyneke Meyer why he should start at No 12 for the Boks.
Jean de Villiers has been an outstanding Springbok but I don’t see him making the 2015 World Cup and I think this year will be his last at the highest level. De Villiers will still add value to the Boks in 2013 but not necessarily in a starting capacity.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer raved about De Villiers’s contribution as captain of the Boks in 2012 and indicated he would invest more in De Villiers this season, but the form of Steyn at No 12 could make it hard for Meyer to select De Villiers in his favourite inside centre position.
Steyn has always been used as a fullback and inside centre at the Sharks. On occasion he has played outside centre, wing and even flyhalf, but in his three years at Racing Metro he made the midfield his own and was primarily selected for his physicality in the centres.
Steyn, when he helped win South Africa the World Cup as a 20 year-old, was already a big unit but he is physically imposing in stature and his kicking game and all-round skill level means his physicality is often not acknowledged.
He is a beast in the midfield and weighs over 100 kilograms and is well conditioned. He is strong in contact and he is the only midfielder in South Africa who can consistently stand up in the tackle and offload effectively.
Steyn’s linekicking game makes him a gem at inside centre. He is strong enough to take it to the line and has strong distribution skills. But it’s that monster boot of his that keeps the defence honest and also keeps them hesitant. He provides a foil to Pat Lambie at No 10 and having two such capable out of hand kickers makes it a nightmare for any opposition fullback.
Last year I asked 102-Test Springbok fullback legend Percy Montgomery who he would select at inside centre for the Boks. He said he would pick Steyn ahead of De Villiers but he felt De Villiers at No 13 or on the wing still offered South Africa options and he added he would select both in his run on XV.
But it was Steyn who got his nod at 12 because of how difficult his selection made it for any opposition back three.
‘Jean has fantastic qualities but he has never had a line kicking game. As a fullback you know he is never going to play for field position by way of his boot and you can positionally defend the back three axis relatively confidently against a 10/12 combination in which the 12 doesn’t have a kicking game,’ said Montgomery. ‘It changes the dynamic completely when a side has a 12 like Frans who can kick the ball further than most international 10s and he can cause a lot of uncertainty to a back three, especially if that back three includes wingers who don’t have strong kicking games. He gets the ball one channel out and he can chase you around from side to side and force back a pressured clearance, in which he gains 30-50 metres and his team gets the ball back.
‘I think he is a gem at inside centre and that is where I’d play him all the time with the Boks. He has matured his game in France and he has added composure to the physicality he has always naturally had. He has also taken ownership of his game and has been rewarded with the captaincy at the Sharks.’
Steyn will benefit from playing inside centre consistently this season and Lambie, if fit, being the regular No 10.
De Villiers will play either No 13 or No 12 against the Sharks on Saturday, depending on the fitness of fellow Bok Juan de Jongh, but either way he and Steyn will enjoy a rare head to head battle that should give Meyer an insight into what will best work for the Boks this season and more specifically in his build-up to the 2015 World Cup.
Currently I would pick De Villiers at outside centre for the Boks in 2013 and Steyn at No 12.
Saturday in Durban will tell you why.
Steyn, like Dan Carter, is gold among the world’s backline elite. He has the X-factor.

698 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All
27 Feb 2013, 14:57 pm
@Fern-399:

That too.
27 Feb 2013, 14:58 pm
@Fern-396: Ja. And Transie is a Stormer supporter through and through…
27 Feb 2013, 15:00 pm
@Heavens Game-402:
RL can support The Sharks in the Super rugby because his team is not in the tournament.
Transie cannot support gor eg the stormers in The Heineken Cup because they dont play in that tournament so he has to choose another team.
Same thing and very simple.
27 Feb 2013, 15:07 pm
@Tacitus-394:
If anger had a colour, then right now it will probably be ‘white’
Because it is so hard for people to let go of their ‘white supremacy’ beliefs, they get frustrated with what is happening in SA, most notably in the political arena.
They convince themselves that during Apartheid there a lot more peace, order and stability. You must remember I move in cross cultural circles so I listen to what people say, how they say, what they don’t say and so on.
Many fear intruders (read Blacks) and this fear becomes anger and hatred. I’m not convinced that we have progressed since 1994. Fear is like a magnet; the very thing you fear comes upon you.
Hence the need for safety (if you know what I mean)
27 Feb 2013, 15:08 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-398: Ja, we farked… Player for player Sharks are definitely substandard….
Frontrow: Beast, Burden and Jannie vs Ginger Ninja, Fourie and Malherbe
Verdict: Sharks will be in Turbo reverse all game long…
Locks: Steenkamp and Bekker vs Bresler and Franco
Verdict: We farked… Stormers air superiority definitely.
Loosies: Coetzee, Deysel, Kanko vs Elstadt, Vermeulen, Kolisi
Verdict: Looks like Domination for the awesome Storming loose trio by far
Halfbacks: Reinach and Lambie vs Groom and Jantjies
Verdict: Chuckling even at the thought that Bambi got even half a chance here
Centers: JdV and De Allende vs Steyn and Jordaan
Verdict: Dont make me farken larf – A fatty and midget against the Gods Gift to Rugby Center pairing. Sharks are fcked.
Back 3: Ludik, JPP and Mvovo vs Habana, Petersen and Aplon
Verdict: Sharks are no hopers against the might of Habana and the awesome skill and power of Joe…
Verdict overall: The Conference Title holders and Currie Cup Champs to win by a Country mile vs the Dirtbin Mercenaries…
Surely?
27 Feb 2013, 15:10 pm
@Sheriff-392: the minister is a dimwit
why do we even concern ourselves with the garbage she spews?
27 Feb 2013, 15:10 pm
@Fern-403: RL is a Sharky now… He will find that once a Sharky always a Sharky…. He cannot go back to vanilla after eating chocolate.
Transie is just one confused umfanawami… (I reckon it could be high BP due to weight problems… or something along those lines… Maybe too many silver bullets consumed to try impress Rossoneri
)
27 Feb 2013, 15:11 pm
@Heavens Game-405:
What is the big hype about table mountain anyway.
Want to see real mountains?
Drakensberg Mountains
But we know how sensitive and overhyped these bent little butterflies from the fairest cape are.
Rangerman is 8 days in Moz on a spearfishing trip,I wish him good viz and long bottom time.
27 Feb 2013, 15:12 pm
@Heavens Game-407:
True.
transie is a wannabe struglle hero.
27 Feb 2013, 15:13 pm
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-398: eish, go easy on the love
27 Feb 2013, 15:15 pm
@Fern-408: Ja… The Visdorpie residents seem to have a chip on the shoulder…
Maybe its because they see that maybe they actually not as South African as the rest of us…
“I wish him good viz and long bottom time”… Eish, I know what you mean by that for Dangerman, but fark I swear thats exactly what Gio says to Joe before Blondie hops into the changeroom shower cubicle with Duane..
27 Feb 2013, 15:17 pm
@Fern-409: A sheeky fanboy…
27 Feb 2013, 15:18 pm
@Angostura-406:
Because it’s in the public domain. It’s out there for us to consider.
We can say: no that’s incorrect OR I agree
At a strategic level, SA needs a major intervention: conflict resolution, diversity and ethics must be at the top of the agenda.
@Sasuke-391: yes, it means a plascon wall & all. The fear of losing seems to be AC’s problem?
JDJ can’t defend?
What a load of hogwash.
He is a defensive pillar in the Stormers’ system, at 12 or 13.
In any case, defense is more than just tackling. It is also about shutting down space for the offense, regardless of a rush or a drift defense.
And there are very few midfielders with JDJ’s pace off the mark.
Seriously, this JDJ nonsense is getting really boring.
27 Feb 2013, 15:19 pm
@Heavens Game-411:
Faark and that squatter camp next to the airport.
So much for their local leaders.
CT is far over rated,water is cold,wind blowing.
Their womanfolk are in serious need of straight men though…
27 Feb 2013, 15:20 pm
@Fern-416:
Gansbaai is good though,Willie is a Gansbaaier.
27 Feb 2013, 15:21 pm
Pistorius murder trial could reach end with a plea bargain
Paralympian Oscar Pistorius is accused of …show more murdering his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp on Valentine’s Day. Picture: SAPA …show less
IMAGE 1 of 1OSCAR Pistorius could end his murder trial the same way mercenary recruiter Mark Thatcher and the killers of Brett Kebble ended theirs – with a plea bargain.
27 February 2013 | PAUL KIRK
null
Not rated yet.
Yesterday, sources close to the Pistorius family told The Citizen that informal discussions had taken place with regard to a possible plea bargain deal with the National Prosecuting Authority (NPA).
In return for Pistorius confessing to culpable homicide, the hope is that the NPA might not insist on jail time for the hero of the 2012 London Olympics.
NPA spokesman Medupi Simasuki told The Citizen: “We are open to formal approaches with regard to a plea bargain deal. At this point in time, however, we would not consider any deal that does not involve the charges as they currently stand.”
Pistorius was charged with premeditated murder after he shot his girlfriend, Reeva Steenkamp, in his home on Valentine’s Day. He claims that he mistook her for a burglar.
Yesterday, The New Yorker carried an article by American author, lawyer and legal analyst for CNN, Jeffrey Toobin, speculating that Pistorius would probably end his legal problems by entering into a plea- bargain deal.
Toobin speculated that the NPA might accept a plea bargain because the prosecution could have a hard time proving motive.
“Pistorius and Steenkamp were a relatively new couple,” he said. “There were no reports of public tension, much less murderous violence, between them…”
Toobin said the decision to grant bail would increase the chances of a plea bargain. “Since he is not in prison, he will be in no hurry to go to trial; his lawyers can spend time chipping away at the government’s case, hiring experts, demanding more information and generally working to render the events of that night a little more muddy.”
Pistorius has already hired private pathologist Dr Reggie Perumal, and The Citizen understands that his legal team might also appoint private forensics and ballistics experts.
Legal expert Professor Shadrack Gutto of the University of South Africa said plea bargains were generally used when neither side was willing to risk the uncertainty of a criminal trial.
Premeditated murder carries a minimum life sentence. Culpable homicide and murder with extenuating circumstances do not carry minimum sentences.
“It is certainly within the power of the State to change the charge of premeditated murder to a lesser charge if they do come to some sort of agreement in a plea bargain,” Gutto said.
“I do not believe that this is the sort of case that should end up in anything less than a murder or a culpable homicide conviction.
“It would send the wrong message: that the wealthy and powerful and famous can escape justice.
I think that anything less than culpable homicide would result in widespread public outrage,” he said.
Kenny Oldwage, Pistorius’s lawyer, did not respond to questions left on his phone, which was switched off.
He also had not responded to a text message at the time of going to print.
27 Feb 2013, 15:22 pm
@willievz-415:
9. Nic Groom
10. Elton Jantjies
11. Bryan Habana
12. Peter Grant
13. Juan de Jongh
14. Gio Aplon
15. Joe Pietersen
27 Feb 2013, 15:24 pm
Shark Wankathon
27 Feb 2013, 15:24 pm
@grant10-418:
Interesting.
27 Feb 2013, 15:25 pm
@grant10-418:
When last have you strolled on the beach flaunting your mangina?
What does the DA do for all the squatters next to the airport in terms of housing?
@Heavens Game-192: Why aare you guys
picking on one of ours.One of the FEW
@Tacitus-421:
BS
He fired no warning shot,I think he is in trouble.
27 Feb 2013, 15:26 pm
@Heavens Game-393: me, a Stormers supporter? bwahahaha
nice of you to defend your new legHUMPER tl tl.tl
@grant10-418:
No way the NPA will go for a culpable homicide plea.
Pistorius’s version of events in a sworn affidavit already admits all the elements of culpable homicide.
@Tacitus-229:
I agree 100%.
But as the Sharks showed last year, they can finish 6th on the log and still have a shot at the title.
27 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
@Heavens Game-400:
Hence the need to have four of them… You can watch rugby, while they keep each other comapany.
27 Feb 2013, 15:27 pm
@WP-Forever-419: Interesting.
A 10/12 split that gives you a left and right boot.
Also a 12 that won’t necessary collide with defense, but rather spread it wider on early phases. The point of breakdown will be further down the touchline, so you need quicker loosies (Elstadt at 7 is not going to work with that midfield combo) and possibly persist with the mobile hooker (whose lineout throwing is not up to standard).
Worth a try (no pun intended).
27 Feb 2013, 15:28 pm
@WP-Forever-426:
This may well be his spin doctor hard at work.
27 Feb 2013, 15:29 pm
@willievz-415: With you there 100%. I reckon we were lone voices in the wilderness about JdJ… Still are it seems… And neither of us are Stormers supporters…
27 Feb 2013, 15:29 pm
I would love to stay put the pool,a couple of cold beers and the braai awaits.
Have a lekker evening everyone.
27 Feb 2013, 15:30 pm
@Fern-416: Such an overrated Town for such an Awesome team…
27 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
@grant10-418:
That’s his defense trying to muddy the water.
The prosecution doesn’t even have all the evidence.
He’s going down to Funkytown.
27 Feb 2013, 15:31 pm
@ryecatcher-423: WTF Kehla…You having a bit of a wobble?
27 Feb 2013, 15:32 pm
@Transformation-425: You know its true unfanawami… You a brokeback with the best of them… A soap chaser extraordinaire
27 Feb 2013, 15:33 pm
@mxhosa-428: Sheezus!!
27 Feb 2013, 15:33 pm
@willievz-429: hey Willie. Grant @ 12 won’t work. He doesn’t have quick enough hands.
27 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
@Fern-432: Cheers Chunter…
27 Feb 2013, 15:34 pm
@Heavens Game-436:
Stop posting like that,they are going to get aroused.
27 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
@willievz-429:
Boots all over the place!
I really like the idea of Grant at 12 and de Jongh at 13.
27 Feb 2013, 15:36 pm
@Fern-440: Shy.te… You make me feel dirty now.
27 Feb 2013, 15:37 pm
@Fern-422: You mean in Delft? Currently busy with a map of the Delft area highlighting finished projects, current projects and proposed projects.
27 Feb 2013, 15:37 pm
@pompies2-438: Hi Pompies.
Not sure about that.
Having said that, I won’t pick him at 12. I’d pick JDJ at 12.
27 Feb 2013, 15:38 pm
@Heavens Game-436: he be a bone smuggler?
27 Feb 2013, 15:39 pm
@grant10-418:
That would be a travesty of justice.
To think that someone’s life is reduced to pack of say 10 page document with a few signatures would be unacceptable to me.
She was sent into eternity and her family has the pain and grief for the rest of their lives. I already see her ‘Jhb dad’ says that he could have saved her.
He bought the gun(s), pulled the trigger so he needs to stand trial.
Life is not just about his reputation, income and training schedules.
27 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@Sasuke-443: Housing projects. I see there is also a TRA set up.
27 Feb 2013, 15:40 pm
@WP-Forever-441:
Good for kicking corners.
But need taller 13 and back 3 for skop en jag.
27 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
@willievz-444: His depth @ 10 is too much and this has a negative on the attacking strategy of the Stormers. Putting him @ 12 would compound this effect. Having JdJ @ 12 would be interesting if you had a 10 playing close to advantage line. Might present an issue when on defense, especially with Jantjies there.
Hows Sussex treating you btw?
27 Feb 2013, 15:41 pm
@Dilligafrican-445: Yeah… Thats Transie my umfanawami…
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All