Sharks to see off Stormers

MARK KEOHANE writes Stormers fans must prepare for more Super Rugby misery in Durban.

The Sharks will beat the Stormers in Durban. It won’t be an easy victory but when these two teams play one point is emphatic enough in the chase to being the best South African team in the competition.

The Sharks were magnificent in beating the Stormers in Cape Town in the 2012 semi-final season and in turn the Stormers, in the guise of Western Province in the Currie Cup final, were as magnificent in winning the title in Durban.

The Sharks were surprisingly edgy and tentative in the final quarter in Bloemfontein to hang on against the Cheetahs, but then the Cheetahs did beat the Stormers in Bloemfontein in a pre-season match.

I know Elton Jantjies will be better but the Stormers are missing the colossal presence of lock Eben Etzebeth more even than the Sharks are missing the influence of Bok hooker Bismark du Plessis.

The Sharks pack is good enough to get an edge, especially in the collisions, but it’s the Sharks back division that will trouble the Stormers more than the Bulls did.

Pat Lambie asks more attacking questions at flyhalf and Frans Steyn has a physicality at No 12 that wasn’t there in the Bulls line-up.

The back three of the Sharks, as a unit, also shades the visitors.

It is going to be difficult for the Stormers and while away defeats aren’t a train smash in the tournament, it does add to the pressure of a ‘must win’ situation when playing at home.

The Bulls will win easily against the Force and get the bonus point and the Cheetahs will be competitive against the Chiefs and may just get a bonus point for tries scored if the game opens up as expected. The Chiefs will win and get five league points.

The Kings will enjoy their second great weekend in the competition because of the bye. Thereafter it will become decidedly tougher and demanding for a squad blessed with passion and desire but very limited on pedigree at this level.

For those who like to forget when I do get it right, 3/3 last week in relation to the SA teams. That’s right I couldn’t find too many on Twitter and the inbox was predictably empty with the clever guys who offered such articulate abuse at me picking the Bulls and Kings to win.

I expect another slow post match response when the Sharks do the business in Durban.

731 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All

• 551.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-548: eish, we are all over sky for these dumbasses that are cops in our country! why would anyone think it’s a good idea to cuff a human being to the back of the police van & drag them to the police station? :cry:

• 552.ET.: Reply to this comment

“bas” has 2 X ‘s’ and is written as, bass.

As for “tards” is the ‘a’ cofused with a ‘u’?

• 553.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@ET.-552:

> and is written as, bass.

You’re also fishing expert now?

• 554.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-550:

Ohhh! Hay ke ndiyabona. Kutheni zange bamfundise indlela yothetha nabantu basethyini ngokuya wayezabalaza?

• 555.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Angostura

What respect is their for and from most here when some stupidly make rugby jokes such as ” It’s going to be a rugbyMarikana for my Stormers ” as seen in post 65 on this thread and all who read it were absolutely silent? Not a murmur raised about said person’s moral standards.

Where is the connection between 47 mineworker deaths just striking to improve their slave wage lot? Where is and was the sensitivity then and even now or am I to believe no one read that?
    Why not insensitively also simply invoke those other political tragedies of Sharpeville and Soweto(June 16th) to make a non-existent childish point.?

Where and what are the moral values mainly of the perpetrator group when ‘esteemed’ globally acclaimed sports persons just just grab a gun and pump 4 bullets into someone, anyone?

South Africans, especially those who benefited from ‘apartheid’, are in sore need of new moral standards and yet 20 years post its seeming ‘end’(don’t believe this) it is still the same business as usual.

• 556.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

This ET charachter should seriously eat more roughage. And go for some oral treatment.

In the meantime use some listermint. Colonic irrigation highly recommended.

• 557.ET.: Reply to this comment

Rip Van Winkle was that not done countless times by ‘apartheid’ cops(not that it is ever acceptable) whose bullying and lack of sensitivity must surely influence those of lesser knowledge even today?

Evil and stupidity and insensitivity and clique dynamics all die hard even as you too overlooked the “rugbyMarikana for my Stormers” comment by your ‘gatgabba’.

• 558.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

ET: Put more roughage in your daily nutrition. And at least 2l of water per day.

From the contents you spurting out here I will strongly suggest at least six months colonic irrigation treatment

• 559.ET.: Reply to this comment

You have just confirmed your low moral values, aptly.

• 560.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

What’s that smell? Oh yes, its ET. You sure know how to clear a room. **** off, ET.

• 561.ET.: Reply to this comment

“room” of hypocritical racists?

Sure as hell I do.
    Now ditto to you too.

• 562.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-546: @Angostura-548:

If these two women cannot respect themselves then who is anyone to deem it necessary to respect such vulgar, obscene specimens?
    Check on the Kings game thread who it dawned upon to refer to the haters with that ugly sexual N-word. in plural form, that ends with ‘.ers’ as in “n***ers. And don’t stop there on your daily excursions through these pages Were either or both of you not disgusted by that ? Where does your objection appear?

Who is daily more vulgar than ‘doggy poo’ with obscene words(like ******* and more ) liberally inserted in those sentences without spaces? Why do you think she does that except to hide such vulgarity? She has even admitted to such on a rare occasion or two. Have I heard either of you even peep like a sick chicken about that?

From the very outset I said she was a barely touched up version of that vulgar “Helen” who constantly stuffed various loaves of french bread and more up or into every conceivable blood oozing human ******* and more. Did either or both of you become selectively moralistic about that? Where and when?

Get out of you ouma’s world and show me where lions, rats, cats, dogs, hogs, horses, mules(like you) , ostriches or more treat there gender opposites any differently or more respectfully?

Women in my living proximity DO NOT conduct themselves with such vulgarity and obscenity or go about trying to be ‘smartarsed’ as they go about looking deliberately for trouble. Accordingly they elicit the respect in which they conduct themselves – like for like.
    In science there are many rules but there are always exceptions to the rules and those too have to be taken cognisance of and applied in a given situation.

So ‘gatgabba boytjies’ get off your high horse and apply your brush evenly and in a balanced manner if you want to be sanctimoniously accepted as you pontificate from your podiums.

Are you trying to convince yourselves, and no one else, that vulgarity from all disturbs you more than the insensitive, sick linking of a potential losing rugby game to the 47 deaths of mine workers doing so to earn a living wage as opposed to their slave wages? ” … rugbyMaikana of my Stormers ”

How sure are you that you are not in need of a more balanced and higher moral standard as you bumble your way through life thinking you are so holier than most if not all?

If people cannot respect themselves, any gender, then why should I respect them as they go about searching high and low for disrespect as they address themselves for my attention for that?

You have earned a failing grade for the attempt at sanctimonious morality.

As for other presumptuous references I have not touched on, it is just more emotional garbage. Like everything else in those posts, save it for any of your brats that care to want to hear it all.

• 563.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.-562:

I have just seen post 546 and thus address it stat.

The stars (*******) refer to the word o r i f i c e s

• 564.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-550:

Only a coward conducts himself in this manner.

Do you even know what you were trying to write in that first sentence of 546?

• 565.Fern: Reply to this comment

http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/murder-probe-begins-in-daveyton-1.1478908#.UTAkBGthiSM
    Here is a link you will enjoy pooper.
    On Tuesday a Zimbabwean taxi driver was cuffed behind a policevan in Daveytown and dragged for 500m,he died later from head injuries.

• 566.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-565:

I just watched the video clip in the NZ Herald, crikey you don’t want to get arrested in SA.

• 567.KEA: Reply to this comment

Thanks for programs like boots and all, especially when someone like Watson comes in to clarify the laws of rugby, take note Supersport commentators, try reading ‘Rugby Rules for Dummies’.
    I think I was spot on Saturday saying the Bulls front row were milking the penalty’s in the scrums, they must have been taking lessons from the drama boys who play in black.
    Before anybody jumps on the bandwagon, the Stormers deserved to lose the game, the ref doesn’t deserve another game, my opinion, take it or leave it.

• 568.Fern: Reply to this comment

China I feel very sorry for the man and his family who have now lost a family,ember and breadwinner.
    I am just glad no white cops were allowed so the race/apartheid card cannot be pulled.
    It is simple police brutality.
    Thankfully there are still good cops out there.

• 569.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-568:

If the cops had been white you could just imagine the headlines now, surely those guys will get prosecuted?

• 570.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KEA-567:
    are you suggesting the Bulls cheat like the AB’s do?
    i dont think so.

• 571.Fern: Reply to this comment

China imagine if Oscar’s gf wasn’t white…

• 572.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

terrible actions by those police officers
    so much incompetency, especially at the top
    ubuntu my arse, i hope justice will prevail

• 573.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-562: justifying your use of derogatory language towards women ET, they asked for it neh?

as you were.

• 574.Fern: Reply to this comment

China the price of petrol is also gonna rise with R1 so people are going to battle even more,it also affects food prices.
    Lotd of people living hand to mouth and cannot save money

• 575.Transformation: Reply to this comment

geez, ok Fern go the whole hog why don’t you. you walking on eggshells mate? :roll:

• 576.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-570: even if andre watson would sit on boots ‘n all and show video evidence you still would not believe the bulls cheat :mrgreen:

• 577.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern-574:
    Hi Fernly….just paid my overdue taxes….Paye & Gst…now I am poor after the money grabbing Govt have extorted from me

• 578.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-502:

Are you excited about the arrivals of Bryan Habana, Danie Rossouw and possibly John Smit next season?

I’ve read quite a lot about the players who are likely to arrive next season, and that’s quite exciting. Joe van Niekerk and I are the only South Africans here, so it would be great to get a couple of more okes who can help us braai for the team. :grin:

When do you plan on coming back home?
    I’ve committed to Toulon until June 2015. Then that will be the end of Bakkies Botha and rugby. I told my kids that will be the last major move of my career and I won’t break that promise. :-(

seems more likely that we wont see Bakkies in a Bok jersey again. really would have been nice to see him do a swan song.

• 579.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-570:

Only one more week until the big poly boys tear the Bulls apart.

• 580.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-569:
    China…you up for the game…Heres hoping we smash the Cantab, …take no prisoners

• 581.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-574:

It’s a s hitty world we all live in Fern.

• 582.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-576:
    i disagree.
    great idea though, it would be nice to see boots n all or the supersport team prior to a game dedicate a segment to cheating in general.

• 583.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-578:
    Can imagine the Braaivleis fires in France.
    If he still is in form come 2015 he might make one more World Cup, who knows?

• 584.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-579:
    Oh yes…a win tonight for the Blues will see Houston seeing the 10th as a tough task for the Bulls…considering how they travel

• 585.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-580:

Am I what buddy I’ve got the local Chinese beer chilling in the fridge, are you going to the garden of Eden tonight?

• 586.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-579:
    please China, is the Blues your team?
    they might luck a win but there certainly wont be any tearing.

• 587.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-585:
    Nah…I’m still at work…my life revolves around this place…not healthy ,but taking off to the GC &Brisbane next month for a relax

• 588.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-586:

They certainly are Houston, I’ve been with them since inception and the glory days.

• 589.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-581:
    Nope,speak for yourself.
    The Republic of Chunt du Fernly is always mellow and hassle free.
    @Te Rangatira-577:
    Howzit,I hate it when they take my money and enrich themselves and not plough it back in a meaningfull manner.

• 590.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-583:
    Nortied Bro…you still picking those wankers from Canterbury?

• 591.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-583:
    2015 a bridge too far i think but he certainly could bring a lot to the Boks this year or next as well take some heat off Yster.

• 592.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-587:

Nice one that’s a great place to relax, although what a summer you’re having back home the best one in decades they tell me, the farmers are farked though.

• 593.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-590:
    What can I say TR
    Good luck to your team, you took your damn sweet time making your round 3 decisions.
    With great power comes great responsibility

• 594.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nobody is honest in SA anymore…now they’ve found traces of, wait for it, KANGAROO meat, zebra, giraffe in biltong & dry wors :shock:

aaaaaaaaaargh!

we don’t have kangaroos in our country!!!!!!

• 595.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern-589:
    Well Fernly…the system is an arrse….we’re getting ripped off. Over here with all the benefits we pay out to the non productive is a joke.

• 596.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-591:

He could set the world record for the most yellow cards/ citings if he plays for another season.

• 597.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-592:
    Today is the first rainy day in 3 weeks,the temp has been between 28 and 35 deg C in Pretoria.
    Harsh if you work outside the whole day like me,but no complaints it’s better than a office.

• 598.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-584:
    well if the Crusaders soften them up nicely it should even out the travel disadvantage.
    still gonna be a hard day at the office. Bulls need to keep it tight, take the points when it comes and pick the Blues off one by one towards the end.

• 599.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-591:
    By his own account he will still be playing in 2015, so if he is on form and still playing, he will always have an outside chance

• 600.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-595:

Over a million on welfare, what a disgrace. The DPB being the most ridiculous.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.