Sharks to see off Stormers

MARK KEOHANE writes Stormers fans must prepare for more Super Rugby misery in Durban.

The Sharks will beat the Stormers in Durban. It won’t be an easy victory but when these two teams play one point is emphatic enough in the chase to being the best South African team in the competition.

The Sharks were magnificent in beating the Stormers in Cape Town in the 2012 semi-final season and in turn the Stormers, in the guise of Western Province in the Currie Cup final, were as magnificent in winning the title in Durban.

The Sharks were surprisingly edgy and tentative in the final quarter in Bloemfontein to hang on against the Cheetahs, but then the Cheetahs did beat the Stormers in Bloemfontein in a pre-season match.

I know Elton Jantjies will be better but the Stormers are missing the colossal presence of lock Eben Etzebeth more even than the Sharks are missing the influence of Bok hooker Bismark du Plessis.

The Sharks pack is good enough to get an edge, especially in the collisions, but it’s the Sharks back division that will trouble the Stormers more than the Bulls did.

Pat Lambie asks more attacking questions at flyhalf and Frans Steyn has a physicality at No 12 that wasn’t there in the Bulls line-up.

The back three of the Sharks, as a unit, also shades the visitors.

It is going to be difficult for the Stormers and while away defeats aren’t a train smash in the tournament, it does add to the pressure of a ‘must win’ situation when playing at home.

The Bulls will win easily against the Force and get the bonus point and the Cheetahs will be competitive against the Chiefs and may just get a bonus point for tries scored if the game opens up as expected. The Chiefs will win and get five league points.

The Kings will enjoy their second great weekend in the competition because of the bye. Thereafter it will become decidedly tougher and demanding for a squad blessed with passion and desire but very limited on pedigree at this level.

For those who like to forget when I do get it right, 3/3 last week in relation to the SA teams. That’s right I couldn’t find too many on Twitter and the inbox was predictably empty with the clever guys who offered such articulate abuse at me picking the Bulls and Kings to win.

I expect another slow post match response when the Sharks do the business in Durban.

731 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 » Show All

• 601.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-593:
    My picks and scores are similar to the Cursed….hopefully he goes better than last week…

• 602.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@ET.-562:
    ET., with respect:

One can be critical of others without having to resort to obscenities.

Also, there are things men just don’t do:
    METAPHORICALLY speaking, if a woman (or a child, or a frail elderly person) slaps a man, one would not expect such man to punch, head butt, & kick such woman (or child or elderly person), AND to claim that such action is somehow justified. Any perceived infringement of the man’s persona (physical, or as in this case, by way written word) must be commensurate with the threat or hurt sought to be countered, bearing in mind the relative circumstances of the parties involved.

And turning to you specifically, you mostly seem to find it impossible to post anything that is not dripping with anger & vengeance. I find it a real pity, because you make many valid points & present much food for thought, but unfortunately your contributions are predominantly worthless (at this forum) for the simple reason that your style & manners are such that most readers are not at all receptive to your message. Tis a real pity; it is so counter productive; it is such a waste of time & effort. You mostly achieve exactly the opposite of what you set out to do, yet somehow you cannot see it.

• 603.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-597:

Don’t forget your sunscreen Fernly.

• 604.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-594:
    No they found that these types of meat was advertised as kudu biltong.
    I make my own biltong so no prob.
    @Te Rangatira-595:
    My medical aid sent me a email saying my payment per month is going up because I got a salary increase…
    I have last been to the doctor 2 years ago with flu and have not taken a day off work for being sick in 5 years.

• 605.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-588:
    well the glory’s long gone
    i hope we break you

• 606.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-603:
    I wear a jeanpant and longsleeve shirt everyday with a big floppy hat and my collar tucked up no matter how hot it is.

• 607.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-592:
    Yep beauty weather…haven’t heard much about any drought…I could do with some farm kill mutton…the stuff at the butchers is dried out and not very tasty

• 608.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-601:
    Yep, saw you both have the Blues by 10
    Think it’s only the Blues game we differ on.
    Remember my picks went in last Saturday already.
    Let’s call them angry picks

• 609.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-605:

I’m glad you said hope.

• 610.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-606:

No “red neck” for you then.

• 611.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-594:
    Ozzie frozen meat traders probably passing it off as beef.

• 612.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-607:

Stay away from the horse lasange.

• 613.Fern: Reply to this comment

The pension that our Gov pay out to people on pension is about R1250/pm.
    Disgusting,politicians should be forced to put their kids in public schools and use public hospitals,maybe then the services in these will get better.

• 614.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern-604:
    Your a bit like me Fernly…I can’t remember the last day I had off sick…do hangovers count as sick days?

• 615.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611: @NZINCHINA-612:
    That’s why there is a product called Tabasco.
    Skop must be laughing his @rse off thinking to himself ” I told you so”

• 616.Fern: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-614:
    Nope,classed as a injury outside working hours.

• 617.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-608:
    I hope you do well Nortie…but probably not in the first game up

• 618.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern-616:
    haha…yeah man…I could probably claim some type of benefit for that over here…

• 619.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-615:

Ha it must have been happening for years, what a shambles.

• 620.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-596:
    he might, but he’s certainly never hit a man unconcious from behind and then kneeded the prone and comatose player in the head once he had hit the floor.

if Bakkies wants to take you he takes you fairly, front on. anything else is just a lion toying with his meal.

@nortierd-599:
    it would be nice but only if he’s there on merit, form and fitness withstanding.

• 621.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-617:
    The Blues at home, already one game played, confidence up after last weeks win, you should be good for that one, but I pretty much always back the Crusaders

• 622.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-611:
    Howzit Houston…not as much pressure on the Bulls this week with the Force at Loftus….can’t see them losing that one…

• 623.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-620:

Was the head butt on the little scrummy not from behind, in any case lets not go down this path again today, we think he’s filthy you think he’s an angel lets concentrate on the big match coming up

• 624.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-621:
    Ek het Saders met 9
    Canes met 12
    Chiefs met 15
    Tahs met 7
    Bulle met 12
    Sharks met 15

• 625.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-620:
    I’m sure Jimmy Cowan would dispute that, but let’s rather leave it at that……

• 626.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-615:
    i suppose the fuss is to do with the deception.
    i would have a problem if the meat was labelled as such.

• 627.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-624:

Chiefs by more that that.

• 628.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-624:
    We are very close, I have the Saders by 2 and the Bulls by a much higher margin, but the others are pretty similar.
    Nice cool day today up here?

• 629.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-627:
    As long as they win,that is my first and main concern.
    I dont have time to watch all the games or study form so it’s a lot of thumbsuck when I pick.

• 630.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-621:
    For me…the Crusaders are just another foreign team….

• 631.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-628:
    Ja,atleast not raining now so that means I can work.

• 632.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-629:

Fair call, not so sure about the Canes or Blues some good match ups this weekend.

• 633.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-630:

The only NZ team I really like to beat.

• 634.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-602:
    Nice post
    Saw the posts of last night now and find it strange that Keo makes an appearance if someone doesn’t agree with him, but let’s these types of comments slide.
    He should consider hiring a moderator.

• 635.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-630:
    Oh until they get to the finals….then I’m on the bandwagon

• 636.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-632:
    If it rains this weekend I will prob watch all the games and watch the reruns of the ones being played during workinghours today.

• 637.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-631:
    My last day of leave, will watch the Blues, go away for the weekend, and from Monday it’s back to office.

• 638.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-573: There should be a like button for this comment. Well said.

“Like”!

• 639.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-635:
    :-D

• 640.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-633:
    It goes back a long way….Yes China…..met Blackadder one year down the Viaduct…don’t think I left a good impression….

• 641.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-637:
    Atleast we have 2 longweekends this month,but they will be working weekends for me.
    Atleast doing some work for myself:-)

• 642.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-622:
    yes, it should be a good work out for next weekend.
    gives the Bulls an opportunity to work on the little things.

@NZINCHINA-623:
    @nortierd-625:
    that was the ‘lion toying with his meal’ part.
    no intention to injure by Bakkies
    he was just letting know Jimmy know he liked the way he plays
    not comparable to what Hore did.

• 643.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Fern-636:

No such luck where I am I’m reliant on good Internet feeds otherwise I’m goosed.

• 644.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-626:
    i would NOT have a problem if the meat was labelled as such.

• 645.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Fern-641:
    Good to hear.
    I will be busy with the BRICS conference later in the month, hopefully get called up for that

• 646.Fern: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-643:
    How is the internet on your side regarding speed and cost?

• 647.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Condolences to the family of the deceased.

But I had to give a wry smile while reading the sixth paragraph, HG! …

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2285192/Swimmer-mauled-death-Great-White-shark-New-Zealand-beach-despite-police-rescue-bid.html

• 648.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-645:
    Where is it being held?

• 649.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-640:

So did I mate outside the white lady at 3am many years ago, I though he was a bit of a d ick to be honest

• 650.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Fern-636: I got

Blues by 11 , just my gut feel, Blues much improved
    Canes by 7
    Chiefs by 20
    Tahs by 12
    Bulls by 25
    Stormers by 13

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.