Champion Chiefs slay Cheetahs
2 Mar 2013
Gareth Anscombe scored 20 points for the Chiefs in their annihilation of the Cheetahs.
The Chiefs won 45 – 3 after leading 10 – 3 at half time.
It was a game of two halves for the Cheetahs, as they dominated possession and territory stats in the first half. That did not translate into points on the board though, as Johan Goosen missed three kicks at goal, which would have seen the Cheetahs lead at half time.
Instead, the Chiefs used their minimal attacking opportunity to score a try through Liam Messam in the first half, to lead somewhat against the run of play at the break.
The second half was a completely different story though as the Chiefs blitzed five converted tries to run away with the match, Gareth Anscombe following up his 21 points last weekend against the Highlanders with another 20 point haul, not missing a kick all match and getting in on the try scoring action.
The Cheetahs will rue the chances they had in the first half, and will have to go back to the drawing board to look at their play in the second half, where they simply had no ball in hand.
After looking good in the first half, the Cheetahs loose forwards seemed to have run out of steam, while the backline was terrible to say the least. Sarel Pretorius had the exact opposite effect on the game as he had against the Sharks last week, with his poor passing and decision making costing the Cheetahs plenty of possession.
Amongst the rest of the backs, only Rob Ebersohn got go forward with Raymond Rhule and Johann Sadie running laterally and not gaining any ground.
Positives for the Cheetahs was their lineout play, where they dominated proceedings and got possession from the set piece with ease.
As for the Chiefs, their running backs were unstoppable, Aaron Cruden being the commander, popping up passes for outside backs to run attacking angles. Their biggest concern would be the 10 breakdown infringements they had, and will have to work on that before facing the Stormers in Cape Town next weekend.
The Cheetahs’ tour does not get any easier as they next face the Highlanders in Dunedin.

401 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
2 Mar 2013, 10:14 am
@skopdiekan-99: “Chiefs were given a life line”
yawn, Bakkies. the old.
WTF is up with these horrible pink ballerinas all over the pitch yet again?
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-98: and this is only his 3rd game @ 15.
2 Mar 2013, 10:15 am
the same old, that is.
2 Mar 2013, 10:17 am
Why are you replacing your captain in the 78th minute? One wonders.
Try Tameifuna
New Zealand rugby has brought an ugly element into the game of rugby, and that is holding players off the ball. It started with the Crusaders, then the All Blacks, and now the Chiefs. Its bad for the game and needs to be stamped out immediately.
@Transformation-103: He is a serious talent, and another try Chiefs
2 Mar 2013, 10:18 am
Skop predicted a Cheetahs win – there’s still time! It’s going to be the mother of all comebacks
2 Mar 2013, 10:18 am
That monster is at least 150kg of Maori fat.
Cheatahs moered solid.
2 Mar 2013, 10:19 am
Cheetahs slaughtered, although they showed far more heart in the 1st half.
Bad luck
@pauli boy-100: ..
No it started with the Bleating and Cheating Lions and now everyone does it.
@kaksioek-108:
2 Mar 2013, 10:20 am
@RL-109:
Not with that name …Samoan I think
2 Mar 2013, 10:20 am
everyone talking about Kings are going to get pasting…this is the same Cheetahs team that ran the Sharks close last week, today they got MOERED!!!!
45 – 3
2 Mar 2013, 10:21 am
@pauli boy-106: I see the standard response when a Saffa team loses to a kiwi side is in full swing
repeat the post another couple of times bru, it wont change the score
eish..
2 Mar 2013, 10:22 am
Tameifuna = Tongan
Considering Taumalolo is his Uncle and plays for Tonga.
Wild Guess…
2 Mar 2013, 10:23 am
@RL-109: best you learn to distinguish between the different pacific islanders bru.. Taimefuna is not Maori.. his uncle is Arizona Tamalolo
best to shush huh?
2 Mar 2013, 10:24 am
The Bulls are next on the chopping block next weekend.
2 Mar 2013, 10:25 am
Cheetahs should start Van Zyl and Smit at half back and play Rhule into the gap between Ebersohn and Sadie and rather play Willie Le Roux off bench or at 15.
Goose should be eased into pivotal role till he finds his rhythm
Start: Le Roux Sadie Rhule Ebersohn Smit Goosen Van Zyl
Bench : Pretorius Jansen
@Transformation-114: nc nc nc you duplictious transformer – your queens still need to tour and they still have 5 kiwi teams to contend with.
When the Chiefs visit expect a 50 pointer and at least 15000 capechiefs.
Predictable cheetahs play.their super record doesn’t lie. Weather their earlier running rugby and after that any team can go big against them…maybe except the sharks. Kings can easily take this cheetah side .chiefs will be tough but I don’t believe they will concede nearly 50 points.
2 Mar 2013, 10:27 am
Eish
& the Cheetahs started so well
No doubt, the Chiefs very, very dangerous
Only good things I can take out of this game is a try by Messam, & the fact the result would suit the Kings (relatively speaking in the SA Conference)
2 Mar 2013, 10:28 am
And Daniller on bench
@RL-120: um, DUPLICITOUS get it right domkop westrand illiterate.
@the curse-117: I take it back, 150kg of poached Togan meat.
2 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
@ the curse 115.
I’m new to the sight so excuse the re post.
Holding players off the ball is something ive noticed when watching NZ rugby and I don’t like it. I don’t see other sides doing this. Do you not agree? Pity your standard response is so defensive.
eish…
2 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
The NZ sides are going to run all over the SAFFA teams this season, fitter faster more skilled.
2 Mar 2013, 10:30 am
@RL-120: 32 thou plus the 15 thou should fill up the stadium nicely,would you say?
. Btw is it not international rugby commitments for your kuk lions today?
2 Mar 2013, 10:30 am
Cheetahs will upset a few fans here. Can’t see why not. Back at home after Australasia tour we will see trans tasman teams go down.
2 Mar 2013, 10:34 am
@RL-125: Tameifuna was born in NZ and playe NX u/20 in 2011
@RL-125: poached? born in NZ is poached? ok then…
@pauli boy-126: all teams do it, as much as you protest otherwise.. welcome by the way
@Baylion-130: NX=NZ
2 Mar 2013, 10:35 am
Good result for the Kings.
2 Mar 2013, 10:35 am
@S_K-128: tens of thousands of your smelly capesader and capecheif cousins live in the Eastern Cape.
2 Mar 2013, 10:36 am
35.Transformation:
2 Mar 2013, 09:32 am
hawies fourie needs variety in this backline man! yhe chiefs are ok with just drifting wide on defence…rhule & le roux need to run on the closed shoulder or johan or run decoys & at least confuse the D.
cheetahs can still win this… 79 possession, 76% territory.
- See more at: http://keo.co.za/2013/03/02/chiefs-0-cheetahs-0-08h35-ko/comment-page-1/#comments
Bwahahahahahaha…in keeping within the spirit of Ubuntu I shall say nothing more…
2 Mar 2013, 10:41 am
@RL-134: haha.answer my question you guppy-loving red p ussy ! Who are your lions playing in their self-styled lions international series?
2 Mar 2013, 10:43 am
@NZINCHINA-127: all except the queens. Ask transformer, they are going to take the Highlanders and two other convict teams – the Cheetahs are also two in the bag for them.
2 Mar 2013, 10:46 am
@RL-137: havent the kings already got as many points as the Lions did all last season?
2 Mar 2013, 10:50 am
@the curse-138: Kings look ok after one game but 8 or 12 after 2nd bye still is less than 25.
2 more wins needed.
@RL-134: it’s CAPECHIEFS you dumb guppy-loving red p ussy! Probably a Brakpan or Boksburg special !
Cheetahs are stuck in the amateur era. The way they play and the way they are coached. I’d love to see what John Mitchell would do with a team like the Cheetahs. Biggest problem in SA rugby is the quality of coaching at S15 level.
Its not just the Cheetahs backline play that is abysmal……the Stormers are just as poor.
@the curse-138: Long way to go still. Excluding the bye points they don’t even have as many point as the Lions had in 2010
2 Mar 2013, 10:51 am
@polaris-139: did the lions get that many? fark, was a massive year for them
@the curse-138: they need 2 more wins to equal Mitch’s leeusers and 3 more to equal last years Blues.
@BrumbiesBoy-135: the score was 10 – 3 at halftime when i made the comment, the cheetahs were still in the game…what are you laughing at really?
2 Mar 2013, 10:53 am
@the curse-138:
. The Kings also need just one more victory to equal the great messiah Heyneken’s record of two wins in his first 22 games.
2 Mar 2013, 10:54 am
Naka will come out again, telling all the journos that defense cost them.
We know Naka….. you are riding that horse since 2007.
Sarel was shocking and Johan still not up too par.
2 Mar 2013, 10:55 am
It is CAPECHIEF you CAPO areshole!
2 Mar 2013, 10:55 am
@RL-144: they already bettered the toothless wonders 2010 record.
2 Mar 2013, 10:56 am
@the curse-143: They did beat Sharks, btw. And usual suspects Cheetahs/Rebels.
Of course, still the kakkest Super team in recent years. However, Kings have played sofar only THE weakest team in the comp (although Stormers are placed even lower
), vs the likes of Chiefs and Blues it would be an upset to lose by less than 50.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All