Champion Chiefs slay Cheetahs

Gareth Anscombe scored 20 points for the Chiefs in their annihilation of the Cheetahs.

The Chiefs won 45 – 3 after leading 10 – 3 at half time.

It was a game of two halves for the Cheetahs, as they dominated possession and territory stats in the first half. That did not translate into points on the board though, as Johan Goosen missed three kicks at goal, which would have seen the Cheetahs lead at half time.

Instead, the Chiefs used their minimal attacking opportunity to score a try through Liam Messam in the first half, to lead somewhat against the run of play at the break.

The second half was a completely different story though as the Chiefs blitzed five converted tries to run away with the match, Gareth Anscombe following up his 21 points last weekend against the Highlanders with another 20 point haul, not missing a kick all match and getting in on the try scoring action.

The Cheetahs will rue the chances they had in the first half, and will have to go back to the drawing board to look at their play in the second half, where they simply had no ball in hand.

After looking good in the first half, the Cheetahs loose forwards seemed to have run out of steam, while the backline was terrible to say the least. Sarel Pretorius had the exact opposite effect on the game as he had against the Sharks last week, with his poor passing and decision making costing the Cheetahs plenty of possession.

Amongst the rest of the backs, only Rob Ebersohn got go forward with Raymond Rhule and Johann Sadie running laterally and not gaining any ground.

Positives for the Cheetahs was their lineout play, where they dominated proceedings and got possession from the set piece with ease.

As for the Chiefs, their running backs were unstoppable, Aaron Cruden being the commander, popping up passes for outside backs to run attacking angles. Their biggest concern would be the 10 breakdown infringements they had, and will have to work on that before facing the Stormers in Cape Town next weekend.

The Cheetahs’ tour does not get any easier as they next face the Highlanders in Dunedin.

401 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Very quiet from the Brokebacks today…

Are all the Mofos in France with Poppa…

Crying over spilt milk…

• 202.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-198: the All Blacks are better than Arg and the Boks. Simple answer. The difference arises when the teams are more evenly matched. That is when an advantage may arise, unfair or not, it is the system and shouldn’t be used as an excuse.

• 203.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Transie are you a Kingsader?

Who will you support when the Kings play the Crusaders?

• 204.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Fern-177:
    Concern is the Sharks bench, the Stormers will come back strongly the 2nd half with Grant, Armand and V.d. Heever, the Sharks forwards need another loose forward/Lock to hold up against, no idea what’s rugby logic behind picking Ndungane?

• 205.Fern: Reply to this comment

HG,Lambie makes time the same way Jouba,Lem and Chunt du Fernly did.
    Mark of a class player.

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-200: Why are you surprised…

This is exactly why this is a Stormfront Propaganda site….

Its and “interest” thing…

And although the Stormers face the Sharks today, the interest has waned because the poor Visdorpie souls really believe they are going to lose…

However, should they freakishly win, there will group frottage like never before tonight and next week…

The Stormers of course will morph into the greatest…

After AC walks on water all the way back from Durban harbour to Cape Town…

He might even be seen as a burning bush flying over Table Mountain too…

But yes, a distinct lack of interest from the unofficial Stormfront Cheerleader sit – Keo.co.za on any rugby outside of the Cape – East or West…

• 207.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-204: Never fear when PS Du Toit is near…

• 208.cane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-198:
    That’s because god is on our side.

Or the devil……………………………take your pick.

Perhaps both.

• 209.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern-205: Ja, exactly… The Chunt had so much time on his hands, he could down a beer before receiving the ball every time :wink:

• 210.Fern: Reply to this comment

Sharks defence is going to be huge,serving daisycutters the whole day long,none of this raking at the t I ts like the stormers do.

• 211.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-195:
    It all depends on the match referee, against NZ teams the SA referees aren’t usually at a full swing with their cheating like they do against the Aussie teams.
    In case of a neutral referee the Stormes will be taught a lesson which may be a blessing for them. since it will force several selection changes.

• 212.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern-210: “raking at the t I ts” :lol:

Beyootiful!

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• 213.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Everything hinges around Jantjies.. If Jantjies implodes again then its good night nurse for Stormers..

if Jantjies can pick up his frail and forlorn emaciated psyche sufficiently for the showdown and not blink when the floodgates prepare to open and shower the illumination of expectancy at his vulnerable persona, then its a dogfight on the cards … and everyone knows the bite in the underdog that Stormers terriers possess is way more ferocious than those overrated namby pamby little sharkshit bunch of molly coddled money grubbing mercenary poefta cowards sitting in their fluffy cocoon of molly coddled money makes the world go round delusional daydreaming.

If Jantjies can hold his head and young front row can stand and deliver against the seasoned money go lucky mercenaries.. then game is on and the rough and tough Storming brigade will have these overrated guppies for after dinner delicacies.

• 214.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Over and out…

Looks like all the Stormers supporters are rather emotional and may have pulled one collective Poepstring together…

Cheers Chunty…

And may the Black and White win tonight in the best Bananaboy Cavalier fashion…

A Bonus Point will be the Cherry right on top of the Brokeback…

• 215.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-203: on thursday i was accused of being a Stormers supporter, today it’s the Saders hehehe…

i support ONLY the KINGS!!!!!!!!!

Kings 4 LIFE!!!!!

• 216.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

PS du Toit is a born and bred and nurtured CAPIE.. this how these godforsaken bloody chickenshit Sharkshits go about their business ripping off other franchises wealth and fortune when they toddlers in the cradle…

It ain’t gonna work.. the money go round bananarama queens gonna see their overrated gatte with the mercenary turncoat traitors wishing they would have stayed at home to play for the team that means something relevant in rugby circles not that pisswilly little bunch of ravenous rip off artists who can’t breed a proper rugby player anywhere in sight even if you paid them to do so.

• 217.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-215: so who did you support before the Kings were even a wet dream?

Crusaders? :-)

Oh and we know you are in bed with the Stormers gang on here ;-)

• 218.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

boring mercenary outdated 19th century monologue about to happen for the next 10 hours. players should still be attached to their mothers’ t.its accourding to this senile snoek-breathed mercenary dwelling in Jhb goat.

• 219.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

the cowards gone… watch as the cowards fade and the bravehearts stand up to be counted..

Sharkshits got everything to lose.. all their overrated credibility hanging on a hope and a prayer thread.. and Stormers got everything to gain…

So up and at them Stormers.. fck these overrated money grubbing mercenaries back into their sardine blik in front of their baying bloodthirsty money grubbing mercenary believing pompous pompom fans.

• 220.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

the deluded old goat has been prophesising the ‘downfall’ of the Sharkshits for a decade now. Yet the Sharkshits keep beating the vaunted Stormershits…… 7 times out of 10 games now…. and counting.

• 221.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-217: i didn’t support ANYONE!

I certainly couldn’t when nobody stood up when my Spears wear shafted by Oregan Hoskins & SARU in 2006 allowing the Lions back in when they were supposed to be relegated!

my Kings are in and will always be my team.

my dad supports the Stormers, my old lady the Bulls, my younger brother the Sharks…

• 222.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

keep singing your mercenary humping sharkshit tune… after Sharkshits eat their own dirt in front of their own bloodthirsty money grubbing fans tonight then PsDT gonna wish to high heaven he would have stayed TRUE to his home bred tradition and not run for the goddamn money like Steyn and Ludick and Kankowski and Deysel and Du Plessis and Jordaan and Bosman and Reinach and almost every other money grubbing foreign legion sharkshit did.

• 223.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-221: eish bra that is one conflicted family!

Fortunately my whole family supports one team.

• 224.cane: Reply to this comment

6 tries to zero.
    The Cheetahs were better than that.

Far better.
    This whole Competition is an affront to the natural order of things.

Make the Competition larger……………………….much larger.

2 distinct Leagues, (a naughty word I know).

League One;
    6 SA teams, 1 Namibian,1 Zimbo, plus 3 Arg teams.

League Two;
    5 NZ, 5 Oz, plus one based in Suva.

The Leagues do not meet untill the Semi-final stage.
    1st plays second.
    Second plays 1st.

After the League round robin games ………………two weeks between matches.

• 225.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

what will the deluded goat say if his vaunted Stormershit supermen lose to the Bulls, Sharks and the Chiefs first three games up? Firmly rooted to the bottom of the table, what will this crowing f’ckadilly say then?

• 226.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@cane-224: **** idea.

• 227.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Lions B are going to lose because any team that plays such negative, boring rugby deserves to lose.

• 228.cane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-221:

KingZ Rule.

• 229.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-223: it makes it for goid banter come rugby season :D

• 230.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-206:
    well i hope the Sharkies drill them deep today
    you know their rugby’s kak when the convo shifts to wine and mountain trails
    ****** gatknuipers :lol:

• 231.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-222: You tell ‘em Skop!

Five and a half hours until the match. I can’t wait.

• 232.cane: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-226:

Most of mine usually are…………………………………………but WTF……………………………..this is the WWW.

• 233.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-229: I can imagine. Your brother seems to have his head screwed on right.

• 234.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@cane-232: didn’t mean to be so critical but Nam, Zim will not be able to put out any competitive teams, and Arg won’t be able to put out 3 of them.

• 235.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-221:
    hehehe i like your old lady transie

Daars ‘n vrou wat weet wat aangaan
    Agter elke man
    Al staan sy daar en die trane loop
    Saggies oor haar wang
    Almal maak tog foute
    Saam maak ons ‘n span
    Solank as daar ‘n vrou staan
    Agter elke man

• 236.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-230: A PK of note?

;-)

• 237.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-224:
    nice idea actually but the problem lies deeper with the reffing and officials too.

• 238.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Seldom will you see something more hypocritical than a Lions B fan calling the Sharks mercenaries.

• 239.RL: Reply to this comment

@cane-224: knowing SANZAR it will be a super 16 competition with no conferences. Jurie Roux to bully the antipodeshits and demand 42% of the pie.

• 240.cane: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-234:

Given time, I’m sure Argentina could do 3 teams. As for Nam and Zim, give them a chance. Plenty of Boks from those countries.

Zimbabwe in particular, was once a reasonable rugby Nation.

Even Kenya perhaps…………………………..Whatever, ……………………………..the travel factor is one of the main reasons for Northern Hemisphere player drift.

• 241.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-237:

45…………………………………..3.

No Ref can take credit for that.

• 242.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-238:

We all know where the Sharks do their shopping.

So it’s Lions B vs Cheetahs B at Kings Park today. LMFAO

• 243.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-213: So it’s all Jantjies? Not Fourie rubbish throw ins? Also not that your scrum is rubbish and cannot supply the guy with a decent platform? Also Bekker doing fckall all game rather than parking in the backline? Also not your loosies being absent during the game allthough I still want to watch the game you watched last week where you say that Kol, Elstadt and Duvenhage was better than the Bulls loosies. All Jantjies huh? Get real man.

• 244.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-236:
    beslis
    enigste manier om wind uit n windgat uit te kry
    true story

• 245.cane: Reply to this comment

@RL-239:

True enough RL, it’s all about money.
    Always has been.

• 246.Rage: Reply to this comment

Stormers/Sharks thread…when Keo???? I’d love to get stuck into a few guppies before kickoff

• 247.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-241:
    you give the Kiwi refs no credit
    they deserve better than that…

• 248.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-243: skopshit makes a habit out of targeting and crucifying a single player in a team as the mother of all evil and the sole, single reason for a team performing poorly.

• 249.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@Rage-246: hahaha big man before the kick off hey? :-)

I bet you are nervous down there at the bottom of the log.

• 250.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-248: The fact that he never mentioned Fourie and Bekker in his tirades is what worries me. Last year Duvenhage was **** and Groom, Shruder was the next best thing. Now Duvenhage needs to play flyhalf.
    Jantjies is easy, he’s a “mercenary” let’s fck him over.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.